Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Report Cards 2008-2009

Year


Previous Table of Content Next

Health Canada

Recommendations

1. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that the deputy minister of Health Canada continue to take a strong leadership role in establishing a culture of compliance throughout the institution. Such a role requires the unwavering endorsement of the minister.

Response

Since February 2009, senior management at Health Canada has been fully engaged in access to information issues in the department. Senior Management Board’s endorsement of an access to information action plan for the department, and its continual support of the access to information function, clearly illustrate that access to information is a priority for the department.

Since February 2009, Health Canada’s senior management has been actively supporting the transformation of access to information at Health Canada and ensuring that key compliance issues are being addressed in a truly transformative and collaborative fashion.

Follow-up

Building on a transformational and collaborative approach, the Department’s Senior Management Board’s endorsed the ATI Action Plan in June 2010, with the goal of achieving 90% compliance with the Access to Information Act by November 2011. The Department has implemented the ATI Action Plan and is seeing progress against milestones and targets.

2. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Health Canada strictly follow the delegated authority of the access to information coordinator and eliminate additional levels of approval. 

Response

Health Canada continues to follow the delegated authority of the access to information coordinator and has eliminated additional levels of approval.

Health Canada eliminated the HI-SENS approval process. This practice has been replaced with a notification process that results in overall improved compliance.

Follow-up

Health Canada continues to follow the delegated authority of the access to information coordinator. The Hi-SENS approval process that was replaced by the notification process has resulted in increased timeliness and improved compliance. As part of the ATI Action Plan, Health Canada is working to reduce the number of files tagged Hi-SENS, further improving timeliness. 

3. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Health Canada develop a clear plan to tackle the backlog of access requests.

Response

Health Canada continues to address its backlog of access requests via a two-fold approach:

  • Health Canada has maintained its concentrated effort on the closure of all outstanding 2007 files. It began the fiscal year with 73 outstanding files and now has only 17 files left to complete.
  • Health Canada has established a fast-track request processing stream, and will be dedicating a resource to access to information timelines management.

These efforts will decrease the number of new deemed refusals and will provide the continued concentrated effort required to tackle the growth of the backlog.

Follow-up

As part of the ATI Action Plan, endorsed by Senior Management Board in June 2010, Health Canada implemented an ATI Backlog Reduction Action Plan with the goal of eliminating the backlog by March 31, 2011. To date, the Division has shown success in attaining the set targets, and expect to close all outstanding 2007 backlog files by the end of October 2010.

4. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Health Canada document and review the criteria it uses for extensions to ensure that the extensions are reasonable and legitimate.

Response

Health Canada has examined and reviewed the criteria it uses when invoking extensions to ensure that they are reasonable and legitimate.

Health Canada has implemented a graduated approval process for the invoking of extensions, and requires that its staff both document and justify any time extensions taken.

This review was undertaken last year and the focus on the appropriate taking of extensions continues to be a focus of Health Canada.

This recommendation is not necessary.

Follow-up

Health Canada continues to document and review the criteria it uses for extensions to ensure that the extensions are reasonable and legitimate.

5. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Health Canada identify and implement the necessary enhancement to records management systems to ensure a quick and proper search of records in response to an access to information request.

Response

Health Canada is in the process of implementing a number of departmental records management initiatives. These would support more efficient search and retrieval responses for records related to access to information requests and include the following:

  • a storage management strategy, in line with the Government of Canada information management guidelines;
  • testing of a powerful search engine in January 2010 that, if supported, may increase office of primary interest search capability;
  • building a new business enterprise software that has single instance storage and a potential file classification system for data over the next two years; and
  • implementing the Directive on Recordkeeping announced by Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat/ Library and Archives Canada.
Follow-up

Health Canada’s IM Action Plan is at the heart of an IM Strategy/Plan which is under development. The plan contains the following management initiatives to improve the overall management of information resulting in more accurate and timely response to access to information requests:

  • Updating HC IM suite of policy instruments
  • IM awareness, learning and engagement activities
  • an E-storage management strategy
  • Implementation of an Enterprise Content Management Solution (1200 user branch pilot is currently in progress. Departmental expansion is under consideration)
  • Testing continues on the implementation and use of an Enterprise Information Search engine that, if supported, may increase our searching capability
  • Work continues on the departmental implementation of the GoC-wide Directive on Recordkeeping to improve our understanding of our physical information holdings.

6. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Health Canada strive to reduce its deemed refusal rate to zero.

Response

Health Canada continues to strive to reduce its deemed refusal rate to zero.

Since the fall of 2008, the department has seen an 85 percent increase in files closed year-to-date, compared to last fiscal, closing 1,072 files between April 1, 2009, and January 8, 2010, compared to 579 files the previous year.

The access to information office has also experienced a significant drop, from 50 percent to 10 percent, in turnover of operations staff (projected to be 20 percent by year-end).

Health Canada developed the three-phase Access to Information Transformation Action Plan. Implementation began in the fall of 2008.

The action plan addresses challenges in meeting legislative requirements and includes governance of access to information at Health Canada, partnerships with both internal clients and other government institutions, supporting release readiness and teamwork, integration of collaborations with offices of primary interest, and the need to strengthen the access to information operations workforce.

Follow-up

Health Canada’s ATI Transformation initiatives, ATI Action Plan and ATI Backlog Reduction Action Plan aim to reduce the deemed refusal rate by eliminating the backlog of previous fiscal years, and preventing new late files from going into deemed refusal. The target deemed refusal rate is 15% by end of the 2010-2011 fiscal year and to 10% by November 2011.

The action plan continues to address challenges in meeting legislative requirements including improved governance of access to information at Health Canada, partnerships with internal clients and collaboration with other government institutions, supporting release readiness and teamwork, integration of collaborations with offices of primary interest, and strengthening the access to information operations workforce through targeted recruitment.

Previous Table of Content Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiche de rendement

Année


Précédent Table des matières Suivant

Santé Canada

Recommandations

1. Le Commissariat à l'information recommande que le sous-ministre de Santé Canada continue d'avoir un leadership solide pour l'adoption d'une culture de conformité au sein de l'institution. Un tel rôle nécessite un appui inconditionnel du ministre.

Réponse

Depuis février 2009, la haute direction de Santé Canada a été entièrement engagée à régler les problèmes d'accès à l'information au sein du Ministère. L'adoption d'un plan d'action pour l'accès à l'information par le Conseil de la haute direction et son appui continuel à la fonction d'accès à l'information illustrent clairement que l'accès à l'information est une priorité pour l'institution.

Depuis février 2009, la haute direction de Santé Canada soutient activement l'amélioration de l'accès à l'information au sein du Ministère et veille à ce que les principaux problèmes de conformité soient réglés de manière réellement transformatrice et collaborative.

Suivi

À la suite d'une démarche transformatrice et collaborative, le Conseil de la haute direction du Ministère a adopté un plan d'action en matière d'AI en juin 2010, dans le but de respecter à 90 % la Loi sur l'accès à l'information d'ici novembre 2011. Le Ministère a mis en œuvre ce plan d'action et note des avancées en ce qui concerne les jalons et les objectifs.

2. Le Commissariat à l'information recommande que Santé Canada respecte scrupuleusement le pouvoir délégué du coordonnateur de l'accès à l'information et qu'il élimine les niveaux d'approbation additionnels.

Réponse

Santé Canada continue de respecter le pouvoir délégué du coordonnateur de l'accès à l'information et il a éliminé les niveaux d'approbation additionnels.

Santé Canada a éliminé le processus d'approbation pour les dossiers de nature très délicate. Cette pratique a été remplacée par un processus d'avis qui permet une meilleure conformité générale.

Suivi

Santé Canada continue à respecter le pouvoir délégué du coordonnateur de l'accès à l'information. Le remplacement du processus d'approbation pour les dossiers de nature très délicate par un processus d'avis s'est traduit par une augmentation de la rapidité d'exécution et par une meilleure conformité. Dans le cadre de son plan d'action pour l'accès à l'information, Santé Canada travaille à réduire le nombre de dossiers classés comme très délicats dans le but d'accélérer encore le traitement.

3. Le Commissariat à l'information recommande que Santé Canada élabore un plan clair pour s'attaquer aux arriérés des demandes d'accès à l'information.

Réponse

Santé Canada continue de s'occuper des arriérés des demandes d'accès par une approche en deux volets :

§ Santé Canada a maintenu ses efforts concentrés sur la fermeture de tous les dossiers en suspens de 2007. Il a commencé l'exercice financier avec 73 dossiers en suspens et il lui en reste 17 à régler.

§ Santé Canada a mis sur pied un mode de traitement rapide des demandes et il affectera une personne à la gestion des échéances pour l'accès à l'information. Ces efforts diminueront le nombre de nouvelles présomptions de refus et permettront de concentrer les efforts nécessaires pour s'attaquer à l'accumulation d'arriérés.

Suivi

Dans le cadre de son plan d'action pour l'accès à l'information, adopté par le Conseil de la haute direction en juin 2010, Santé Canada a mis en œuvre un plan de réduction des arriérés en matière d'accès à l'information, avec pour but de les éliminer d'ici au 31 mars 2011. Jusqu'à présent, la Division est parvenue à atteindre les objectifs fixés et s'attend à fermer tous les dossiers en suspens de 2007 d'ici la fin d'octobre 2010.

4. Le Commissariat à l'information recommande que Santé Canada documente et revoie les critères qu'il utilise pour les prorogations afin de veiller à ce qu'elles soient raisonnables et légitimes.

Réponse

Santé Canada a examiné et revu les critères utilisés pour justifier les prorogations afin qu'elles soient raisonnables et légitimes.

Santé Canada a mis en œuvre un processus d'approbation graduel pour les prorogations et il exige que le personnel documente et justifie toute prorogation de délai.

Cet examen a été réalisé l'an dernier et l'accent mis sur les prorogations appropriées continue d'être une priorité pour Santé Canada.

Cette recommandation n'est pas nécessaire.

Suivi

Santé Canada continue à documenter et à revoir les critères qu'il utilise pour recourir à des prorogations afin que ces dernières soient raisonnables et légitimes.

5. Le Commissariat à l'information recommande que Santé Canada cerne et mette en œuvre des améliorations nécessaires aux systèmes de gestion des dossiers afin de veiller à ce que les dossiers soient trouvés rapidement et facilement en réponse à une demande d'accès à l'information.

Réponse

Santé Canada travaille à la mise en œuvre d'initiatives ministérielles de gestion des dossiers. Ces initiatives appuieront l'efficacité de la recherche et des réponses de récupération des dossiers aux demandes d'accès à l'information. Ces initiatives comprennent les démarches suivantes :

§ une stratégie de gestion du stockage conforme aux directives du gouvernement fédéral en matière de gestion de l'information;

§ l'essai en janvier 2010 d'un puissant moteur de recherche qui, s'il convient, pourrait augmenter la capacité de recherche du bureau de première responsabilité;

§ la création au cours des deux prochains exercices d'un nouveau logiciel opérationnel à stockage d'instance simple et d'un possible système de classement des dossiers;

§ la mise en œuvre de la Directive sur la tenue des documents annoncée par le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada et Bibliothèque et Archives Canada.

Suivi

Le plan d'action pour la gestion de l'information de Santé Canada est au cœur d'une stratégie de gestion de l'information en cours d'élaboration. Dans le but d'améliorer la gestion globale de l'information afin que le Ministère puisse apporter des réponses plus précises et plus rapides aux demandes d'accès à l'information, ce plan comporte les initiatives de gestion suivantes :

  • Mise à jour de l'ensemble d'outils stratégiques de gestion de l'information du Ministère;
  • Activités de sensibilisation, d'apprentissage et d'engagement en matière de gestion de l'information;
  • Élaboration d'une stratégie de gestion du stockage électronique;
  • Mise en œuvre d'une solution de gestion du contenu de l'entreprise (un projet-pilote est actuellement mené avec 1 200 utilisateurs d'une direction générale. On envisage d'étendre le projet à l'ensemble du Ministère);
  • Poursuite des essais sur la mise en œuvre et l'utilisation d'un moteur de recherche d'information opérationnelle qui, s'il convient, pourrait accroître la capacité de recherche du Ministère;
  • Poursuite des travaux sur la mise en œuvre au sein du Ministère de la Directive sur la tenue de documents qui vise à permettre au Ministère de mieux connaître son fonds documentaire physique.

6. Le Commissariat à l'information recommande que Santé Canada s'efforce de réduire le taux de présomption de refus à zéro.

Réponse

Santé Canada s'efforce de réduire à zéro son taux de présomption de refus.

Depuis l'automne 2008, il y a eu une hausse de 85 % des dossiers fermés au Ministère : 1 072 dossiers ont été fermés du 1 er avril 2009 au 8 janvier 2010, par rapport aux 579 dossiers fermés au cours de l'exercice précédent.

Le bureau d'accès à l'information a aussi connu une baisse importante du taux de roulement au sein du personnel opérationnel; le taux est passé de 50 % à 10 % (le taux devrait être de 20 % à la fin de l'exercice).

Santé Canada a élaboré le plan d'action pour la transformation de l'accès à l'information en trois étapes, dont la mise en œuvre a commencé à l'automne 2008.

Le plan d'action tient compte des défis à relever pour satisfaire les exigences de la Loi et comprend la gouvernance de l'accès à l'information au sein de Santé Canada, les partenariats avec les clients internes et les autres institutions fédérales, le soutien pour la préparation des renseignements à communiquer et pour le travail d'équipe, l'intégration de collaborations avec des bureaux de première responsabilité ainsi que la nécessité de renforcer l'effectif pour les activités d'accès à l'information.

Suivi

Les initiatives de transformation de l'accès à l'information, le plan d'action pour l'accès à l'information et le plan pour la réduction des arriérés en matière d'accès à l'information de Santé Canada ont pour but de réduire le taux de présomption de refus en éliminant les arriérés des exercices précédents et d'empêcher de nouveaux dossiers en retard de passer à l'état de présomption de refus. L'objectif en matière de taux de présomption de refus est de 15 % d'ici la fin de l'exercice 2010-2011 et de 10 % d'ici novembre 2011.

Le plan d'action continue de s'attaquer aux problèmes que pose le respect des exigences législatives, dont l'amélioration de la gouvernance de l'accès à l'information à Santé Canada, les partenariats avec les clients internes et la collaboration avec les autres organismes gouvernementaux, le soutien pour la préparation des renseignements à communiquer et pour le travail d'équipe, l'intégration de collaborations avec des bureaux de première responsabilité ainsi que la nécessité de renforcer l'effectif pour les activités d'accès à l'information par le truchement d'un recrutement ciblé.

Précédent Table des matières Suivant