Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Report Cards 2008-2009

Year


Previous Table of Content Next

Environment Canada

Recommendations

1. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that the deputy minister of Environment Canada allocate sufficient resources on a permanent basis to stabilize and ensure a full access to information staff complement and meet the requirements of the Access to Information Act.

Response

Environment Canada recognizes that in order to meet the requirements of the Access to Information Act, financial resources and qualified access to information personnel are required. Despite ongoing efforts, the access to information office has been unable to fill all its vacant positions through selection processes due to high staff turnover (retirement, relocation, promotions in other government departments) and a government-wide shortage of access to information personnel. Recognizing this situation, the Corporate Secretariat has designed and implemented the ATIP Professional Development Program while pursuing ongoing staffing actions. Environment Canada is also using the services of consultants to process requests.

Two PM-04 senior advisors were hired in November 2009 and one junior policy analyst was hired on January 4, 2010. Four junior analysts recruited through the ATIP Professional Development Program are expected to be in place by early February 2010. A new selection process is being launched to increase capacity at the PM-04 level.

Follow-up

Environment Canada is continuing its efforts to fill vacant positions within the ATIP Secretariat. Over the last three months, Environment Canada has filled two administrative positions and one senior advisor position as a result of competitive processes. As selection processes at the senior advisor level continue to be largely unproductive, Environment Canada is focusing its efforts on recruiting through the department’s ATIP Professional Development Program.

The Department is encouraged by the results of the Professional Development Program to date. The ATIP Secretariat is already benefiting from the recruitment of four participants to the program in winter/spring 2010 and is awaiting the arrival of one additional recruit who will be joining the program shortly. Environment Canada is also preparing to launch an anticipatory staffing process which is expected to be posted in November 2010. Our intention is to create a pool of prequalified candidates to fill junior positions as participants in the developmental program progress to more senior positions within the program. Although we recognize that for the short term there will remain a gap in capacity at the Senior Advisor level, the department will reap long term benefits from this program as staff will have both a thorough knowledge of the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act and an in-depth knowledge of the Department. This is also a long-term measure that is aimed at improving recruitment and retention issues as well as addressing the succession planning needs within the ATIP Secretariat. 

2. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Environment Canada develop a clear plan to tackle the backlog of access requests.

Response

Environment Canada recognizes the need to reduce the backlog of requests and has hired consultants to focus on processing older files. While progress has been made, this project will be ongoing, since many files require consultations with other government departments or third parties.

Until Environment Canada has sufficient personnel to take over the processing of the backlog files, it will continue to use the services of consultants to accomplish this task.

Follow-up

Despite a significant increase in the number of Access to Information requests received this fiscal year to date, Environment Canada has successfully reduced the number of backlog requests. Of the remaining access requests in our backlog, the vast majority are awaiting consultation responses or are in the final review stage. The average completion time for new requests has also decreased this fiscal year to date. In order to sustain this momentum, Environment Canada is continuing to employ the services of consultants to supplement the work of departmental staff.

3. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Environment Canada identify and implement the necessary enhancements to records management systems to ensure a quick and proper search of records in response to an access to information request.

Response

Records Management Services is in the rebuilding process at Environment Canada.

A new chief of records management services has been hired for February 1, 2010. Policies and procedures, awareness sessions and training are being rolled out across the department. A SharePoint technology-based document collaboration and storage system is currently being implemented across the department.

Follow-up

The Records Management Services of Environment Canada are in the process of re-organising.  A move to create a more professional service, aligned with the Library Services is underway.  As well a Program to implement projects that will meet the requirements of the Directive on Record Keeping has been launched. This will include the piloting of Sharepoint 2010 as an Electronic Document and Records Management system of the future for EC.  An Inventory of all Environment Canada records holdings, an updated File Plan and other projects will all combine to improve Records Management and align Environment Canada with the Directive by the 2014 deadline, contingent upon full resourcing.

An internal awareness campaign to promote best practices in records management and ATIP has been undertaken. As a result, Environment Canada has significantly improved its records retrieval time from the 2008-2009 reporting period. At mid year, 2010-2011, the average retrieval time for Environment Canada programs was 15 days.

4. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Environment Canada comply with the Act and notify the Office of the Information Commissioner of all the extensions it takes for more than 30 days.

Response

Environment Canada has an established procedure to send copies of extensions of more than 30 days to the Office of the Information Commissioner.

Particular attention will be given to ensure compliance with the established procedures.

Follow-up

Environment Canada has strengthened its procedures to ensure that copies of all extension letters of more than 30 days are sent to the Office of the Information Commissioner. A log has been created to track extension letters that are sent to the Office of the Information Commissioner. In order to ensure it is complete, the log is verified on a monthly basis. It is our hope that this strengthened process has eliminated the administrative errors. 

Previous Table of Content Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiche de rendement

Année


Précédent Table des matières Suivant

Environnement Canada

Recommandations

1. Le Commissariat à l'information recommande que le sous-ministre d'Environnement Canada affecte en permanence des ressources suffisantes pour stabiliser et assurer un effectif complet au bureau d'accès à l'information et se conformer aux exigences de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information.

Réponse

Environnement Canada reconnaît que, pour se conformer aux exigences de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information, des ressources financières et un personnel qualifié en matière d'accès à l'information sont requis. En dépit des efforts actuels, le bureau d'accès à l'information a été incapable de pourvoir tous ses postes vacants en recourant au processus de dotation à cause d'un taux de roulement élevé (départ à la retraite, réinstallation, promotions dans d'autres ministères) et d'une pénurie pangouvernementale de personnel compétent en accès à l'information. Conscient de cette situation, le Secrétariat ministériel a élaboré et mis en œuvre un programme de perfectionnement professionnel axé sur l'accès à l'information et la protection des renseignements personnels, parallèlement aux mesures de dotation en cours. Environnement Canada fait aussi appel aux services de consultants pour le traitement des demandes.

Deux conseillers supérieurs de niveau PM-04 ont été embauchés en novembre 2009 et un analyste subalterne en politiques a été embauché le 4 janvier 2010. Quatre analystes subalternes recrutés dans le cadre du programme de perfectionnement professionnel en accès à l'information et protection des renseignements personnels devaient entrer en fonction au début de février 2010. Un nouveau processus doit être lancé prochainement pour renforcer la capacité au niveau PM-04.

Suivi

Environnement Canada poursuit ses efforts pour pourvoir les postes vacants au Secrétariat de l'AIPRP. Ces trois derniers mois, le Ministère a doté deux postes administratifs et un poste de conseiller principal par voie de concours. Les processus de sélection pour les postes de conseiller principal étant très peu productifs, Environnement Canada axe ses efforts sur le recrutement par l'intermédiaire de son programme de perfectionnement professionnel en AIPRP.

Le Ministère est encouragé par les résultats de ce programme jusqu'ici. Le Secrétariat de l'AIPRP profite déjà du recrutement de quatre participants au programme à l'hiver‑printemps 2010 et attend l'arrivée d'une recrue supplémentaire qui se joindra bientôt au programme. Environnement Canada se prépare également à lancer un processus de dotation par anticipation, qui devrait être affiché en novembre 2010. Son intention est de former un bassin de candidats qualifiés pour pourvoir les postes subalternes, à mesure que les participants au programme de perfectionnement passent à des postes plus élevés au sein du programme. Bien que le Ministère soit conscient qu'à court terme, il n'y aura pas suffisamment de conseillers principaux, les bénéfices de ce programme se feront sentir à long terme, car le personnel possédera alors à la fois une connaissance exhaustive de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et une connaissance approfondie du Ministère. Il s'agit aussi d'une mesure qui vise l'amélioration à long terme du recrutement et du maintien en poste, ainsi que la satisfaction des besoins de planification de la relève au sein du Secrétariat de l'AIPRP.

2. Le Commissariat à l'information recommande qu'Environnement Canada élabore un plan explicite pour traiter l'arriéré de demandes d'accès.

Réponse

Environnement Canada reconnaît la nécessité de réduire l'arriéré de demandes d'accès et a retenu les services de consultants pour traiter en priorité les dossiers les plus en retard. Bien que des progrès aient été faits, ce projet se poursuivra parce que de nombreux dossiers nécessitent des consultations auprès d'autres ministères ou de tiers.

Environnement Canada continuera de faire appel aux services de consultants pour accomplir cette tâche jusqu'à ce qu'il ait un personnel suffisant pour assumer le traitement des dossiers accumulés.

Suivi

Malgré une augmentation marquée du nombre de demandes d'accès à l'information durant le présent exercice, Environnement Canada est parvenu à réduire le volume d'arriérés de demandes. La grande majorité des demandes d'accès toujours en suspens sont en attente de réponses de consultations ou en sont au dernier stade d'examen. Jusqu'à présent, le délai moyen de traitement des nouvelles demandes a également baissé pour l'exercice en cours. Afin de maintenir cette dynamique, Environnement Canada continue à recourir aux services de consultants pour appuyer son personnel.

3. Le Commissariat à l'information recommande qu'Environnement Canada détermine et apporte les améliorations requises aux systèmes de gestion des dossiers afin d'assurer une récupération rapide des dossiers appropriés en réponse à une demande d'accès à l'information.

Réponse

Le service de gestion des documents d'Environnement Canada est en voie de réorganisation.

Un nouveau chef du service de gestion des documents a été embauché le 1er février 2010. Le travail a débuté au niveau des politiques et des procédures, des séances d'information et de la formation dans tout le Ministère. Un système informatisé de collaboration et d'entreposage des documents, SharePoint, est en voie d'implantation au Ministère.

Suivi

Le service de gestion des documents d'Environnement Canada est en cours de réorganisation. Un mouvement visant à améliorer le professionnalisme du service, dans la ligne de ce qui a été fait au service de bibliothèque, est en cours. De même, un programme de mise en œuvre de projets qui répondront aux exigences de la Directive sur la tenue de documents a été lancé. Ce programme comprendra l'expérimentation de Sharepoint 2010 comme système de gestion des dossiers et des documents électroniques de l'avenir à EC. La conjonction de l'inventaire des fonds documentaires d'Environnement Canada, de la mise à jour de la disposition des dossiers et d'autres projets améliorera la gestion des documents et permettra au Ministère de se conformer à la Directive d'ici l'échéance de 2014, à la condition qu'il dispose de toutes les ressources nécessaires.

Le Ministère a entrepris une campagne interne de sensibilisation visant à promouvoir les pratiques exemplaires en matière de gestion documentaire et d'AIPRP. Le Ministère a pu ainsi améliorer considérablement son délai de récupération des documents par rapport à la période de référence de 2008‑2009. À la moitié de l'exercice 2010‑2011, le délai moyen de récupération en ce qui a trait aux programmes d'Environnement Canada était de 15 jours.

4. Le Commissariat à l'information recommande qu'Environnement Canada se conforme à la Loi et avise le Commissariat à l'information de toutes les prorogations auxquelles il a recours pour une durée de plus de 30 jours.

Réponse

Environnement Canada a une procédure établie pour transmettre au Commissariat à l'information une copie des prorogations de plus de 30 jours.

Une attention particulière sera portée pour assurer la conformité aux procédures établies.

Suivi

Environnement Canada a affermi ses procédures afin de transmettre au Commissariat à l'information une copie des lettres d'avis de prorogation de plus de 30 jours. Il a également créé un registre de suivi des lettres de prorogation envoyées à la commissaire. Ce registre est vérifié une fois par mois pour s'assurer qu'il est complet. Le Ministère espère que ce processus renforcé a permis d'éliminer les erreurs administratives.

Précédent Table des matières Suivant