Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Report Cards

Year


Previous Table of contents Next

VIA Rail Canada Inc.

VIA Rail Canada Inc. operates the nation’s passenger rail services on behalf of the Government of Canada, providing intercity passenger services, and maintaining regional and essential remote passenger rail transportation. VIA works to provide a safe and efficient rail passenger service in Canada.

2009–2010 report card at a glance

Rating: B (Above average)

  • VIA’s deemed refusal rate was 10.7 percent, stemming from three requests it completed after their due date.
  • The average completion time for a request was 26.1 days.
  • VIA has committed to increasing the number of access to information awareness training sessions it holds for employees.
  • VIA did not take any extensions of more than 30 days, and therefore had no obligation to notify the Office of the Information Commissioner.
  • Turnover in key positions has been a challenge for VIA’s access to information office.
  • VIA plans to launch a standardized information management system.
  • VIA has made comprehensive information about the access to information process available to the public on its website.

Quick facts

Number of requests carried over from 2008–2009
0
Number of new requests
28
Number of requests completed
28
Deemed refusal rate*
10.7%
Average time to complete a request (in days)
26.1
Number of incoming consultation requests
0
Number of pages reviewed for requests completed
1,815
Number of complaints registered with the Office of the Information Commissioner
2
Number of complaints the Office of the Information Commissioner resolved**
0
Number of full-time equivalents responsible for both access to information and privacy, as of March 31, 2010
1.5
 

* Percentage of carried over and new requests delayed beyond the deadlines (30 days and extended) set out in the Access to Information Act. (See Appendix C for the formula the Office of the Information Commissioner used to calculate this rate.)

** A complaint is resolved when the Office of the Information Commissioner finds it has merit, and the institution resolves it to the Commissioner’s satisfaction.

2009–2010 report card

VIA Rail Canada Inc. had to contend with significant budget cuts in 2009–2010, which, in combination with a decreasing number of access requests, forced it to restructure its access to information operations. The coordinator role, which was initially a full-time position, was absorbed into the legal division, such that the General Counsel and Secretary is now the third coordinator VIA has had since it became subject to the Act on September 1, 2007. VIA had an excellent average request completion rate of 26.1 days for the year. However, it did complete three requests past their due date, which equals a deemed refusal rate of 10.7 percent. VIA responded to these three late requests within 30 days of their due date.

Access to information workload, 2007–2008 to 2009–2010

This graph shows the sources of VIA’s workload since it became subject to the Access to Information Act on September 1, 2007. In 2008–2009, VIA’s first full year under the Act, it received a large number of new requests. In 2009–2010, VIA’s access to information workload dropped by more than half.

When it became subject to the Act, VIA engaged a consultant to train management and those employees directly involved in or affected by access to information requests. These efforts have been sporadic over the three years, with senior members of the access office only receiving training in 2010–2011. Consequently, although they have been able to efficiently respond to the majority of access to information requests, they did not know about some standard procedures, such as preparing partial releases of records while waiting for the results of a consultation. Access officials report that they plan to impose more thorough and company-wide training by early 2011.

VIA developed a very comprehensive manual on access to information policies and procedures, which also includes information about training, forms, and copies of the delegation order and the Access to Information Act. The Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) considers this thorough guide, in particular the section providing a step-by-step process for completing a request, a best practice. VIA is also to be commended for making detailed information available to the public on its website, including a basic explanation of the Act, a downloadable request form and instructions on how to make a formal request. VIA posted this information as soon as it became subject to the Act, as a service to its customers.

Access officials note that, before commencing the retrieval of any documents, they clarify all requests, via email or telephone. They then send call-out forms to the appropriate departments within VIA. At the same time, they informally ask departments to identify any other groups that might be holding the requested information. The officials report that the majority of employees are accommodating and cooperative, and promptly comply with their requests.

VIA does not have a case management system. Instead, it keeps manual track of all its case-specific data. Access officials did report that the company has a strong information management culture. In particular, an archivist has preserved the institution’s documentation since VIA’s inception in 1978. There are plans to set up an integrated, institution-wide system to reflect the archival process. This will introduce a common way of coding and organizing corporate information that will be conducive to easy records retrieval.

Exemptions and exclusions applied by the institution, 2009–2010

This graph shows how often VIA applied the various exemptions and exclusions in the Act contains to the records it released in 2009–2010. More than half of the exemptions VIA used were under sections 20 (third-party information) and 21 (advice).

The access coordinator has fully delegated authority for access decisions and, as a member of the executive cadre, is in a good position to instill access awareness at the very top levels of the institution. The message is that transparency equates to good governance. Review and revision of VIA’s delegation order is required, however, since the President has delegated powers, duties and functions that are under the OIC’s jurisdiction not VIA’s. These include responsibilities under section 32 of the Access to Information Act (notice of intention to investigate).

There is no sign-off from departments as part of the approval process. The access coordinator makes the final decision on the information to be released. The communications department is informed when there is a sensitive issue at hand, but VIA reports no interference in the release of documents.

Following a large volume of requests in 2008–2009, VIA’s workload levelled off to a more manageable level in 2009–2010: 28 new requests, the majority of which came from the media or corporations. VIA carried no requests over from the previous fiscal year and received no consultation requests. VIA access officials report that they have adequate resources to manage the volume of requests that have come in so far in 2010–2011. There are also resources available should they require external assistance.

VIA sees Canadian taxpayers as its shareholders and considers itself accountable to them, demonstrating this by, among other ways, granting access to its records. VIA also aims to avoid expensive and time-consuming court proceedings through the prompt release of as much information as possible. An additional benefit of this approach is that officials spend less time dealing with complaints to the OIC than they otherwise would. In 2009–2010, two complaints were filed against VIA, both pertaining to responses indicating that there were no records that matched the request. The outcome of these two complaints is pending.

Overall, VIA has exhibited a solid commitment to comply with the Access to Information Act. With a stable access to information office, the institution will become more knowledgeable about using time extensions and procedures such as the partial release of documents, which will help them complete all their requests by the due date and get more records out to requesters more quickly. Based largely on an average completion time of 26.1 days and the institution’s dedication to provide timely access to information, VIA’s rating for 2009–2010 is B.

Number and outcome of complaints received by the OIC, 2007–2008 to 2009–2010
Resolved Not substantiated Discontinued Pending Total
2007–2008
Administrative 0 0 0 0 0
Refusals 0 1 0 1 2
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 0 0
Total 0 1 0 1 2
2008–2009
Administrative 0 0 0 0 0
Refusals 0 0 2 0 2
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 0 0
Total 0 0 2 0 2
2009–2010
Administrative 0 0 0 0 0
Refusals 0 0 0 2 2
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 0 0
Total 0 0 0 2 2

This table sets out the number and outcome of the complaints the OIC registered against VIA in each of the three reporting periods since VIA became subject to the Act on September 1, 2007. Resolved complaints are those that the OIC finds to have merit and that the institution resolves to the Commissioner’s satisfaction. There have been two complaints against VIA each year. As of the end of 2009–2010, there were three complaints pending, while the other three were either discontinued or found to be not substantiated.

Recommendations

1. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that VIA Rail Canada Inc. reduce its deemed refusal rate to zero.

Response

VIA Rail will review its current procedures in order to streamline its process and curtail delays.

2. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that VIA Rail Canada Inc. review its delegation instrument, since certain powers, duties and functions have been delegated that do not come under VIA’s jurisdiction.

Response

VIA Rail will update and modify its delegation instrument.

Previous Table of contents Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiche de rendement

Année


Précédent Table des matières Suivant

VIA Rail Canada Inc.

VIA Rail Canada Inc. assure les services nationaux de transport ferroviaire voyageurs pour le compte du gouvernement du Canada. Il offre des services voyageurs interurbains et assure des services de transport ferroviaire voyageurs régionaux et essentiels dans les localités éloignées. VIA a pour mandat d’offrir un service ferroviaire voyageurs sûr et efficace au Canada.

En bref

Nombre de demandes reportées de 2008-2009
0
Nombre de nouvelles demandes
28
Nombre de demandes traitées
28
Taux de présomption de refus*
10,7 %
Délai de traitement moyen des demandes (jours)
26,1
Nombre de demandes de consultation
0
Nombre de pages examinées dans le cadre des demandes traitées
1 815
Nombre de plaintes déposées au Commissariat à l’information
2
Nombre de plaintes résolues par le Commissariat à l’information**
0
Nombre d’équivalents temps plein responsables de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels, au 31 mars 2010
1,5
 

Faits saillants de la fiche de rendement pour 2009-2010

Note : B (Supérieur à la moyenne)

  • VIA présente un taux de présomption de refus de 10,7 % en raison de trois demandes traitées après la date limite.
  • Le délai de traitement moyen des demandes était de 26,1 jours.
  • VIA s’est engagée à accroître le nombre de séances de formation et de sensibilisation sur l’accès à l’information qu’elle offre à ses employés.
  • VIA n’a usé d’aucune prorogation de plus de 30 jours, et n’a donc pas eu à en informer le Commissariat à l’information.
  • Le roulement de personnel dans des postes clés a occasionné des difficultés pour le bureau d’accès à l’information de VIA
  • VIA projette de mettre en place un système normalisé de gestion de l’information.
  • VIA a publié sur son site Web des renseignements détaillés au sujet du processus d’accès à l’information.

* Pourcentage de demandes reportées et de nouvelles demandes retardées au-delà des délais (30 jours et prorogés) prescrits par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. (Voir l’annexe C pour connaître la formule utilisée par le Commissariat à l’information pour le calcul de ce taux.)

**Une plainte est résolue lorsque le Commissariat à l’information estime qu’elle est fondée et que l’institution la règle de façon satisfaisante aux yeux de la commissaire.

Fiche de rendement pour 2009-2010

VIA Rail Canada Inc. a subi d’importantes réductions budgétaires en 2009-2010, ce qui, combiné au nombre décroissant de demandes d’accès à l’information, l’a obligée à restructurer ses activités liées à cette fonction. Le poste de coordonnateur, à l’origine un poste à temps plein, a été absorbé par les services juridiques, de sorte que l’avocat général et secrétaire est maintenant le troisième coordonnateur de l’accès à VIA depuis que l’institution est assujettie à la Loi, soit depuis le 1er septembre 2007. VIA présente un excellent délai de traitement moyen des demandes de 26,1 jours pour l’exercice. Elle a traité toutefois trois demandes après la date limite, ce qui lui vaut un taux de présomption de refus de 10,7 %. VIA a répondu à ces trois demandes dans les 30 jours suivant la date limite.

Charge de travail liée à l’accès à l’information de 2007-2008 à 2009-2010

Ce graphique montre la distribution de la charge de travail de VIA depuis qu’elle est assujettie à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, soit depuis le 1er septembre 2007. En 2008-2009, la première année complète suivant l’application de la Loi à l’institution, VIA a reçu un grand nombre de nouvelles demandes. En 2009-2010, la charge de travail de VIA liée à l’accès à l’information a diminué de plus de la moitié.

Lorsqu’elle a été assujettie la Loi, VIA a embauché un expert-conseil pour former les cadres et les employés qui participent directement au traitement des demandes d’accès à l’information ou qui sont concernés par ces demandes. Les efforts déployés pour la formation ont été inégaux au cours des trois dernières années, les cadres supérieurs du bureau d’accès n’ayant reçu une formation qu’en 2010-2011. En conséquence, bien que les employés aient été en mesure de répondre efficacement à la plupart des demandes d’accès à l’information, ils ignoraient certaines procédures normalisées, comme la manière de préparer les dossiers aux fins de communication partielle en attendant les résultats d’une consultation. Les responsables de l’accès à l’information ont déclaré qu’ils prévoyaient imposer une formation plus approfondie à un plus grand nombre d’employés d’ici 2011.

VIA a rédigé un guide très complet sur les politiques et les procédures relatives à l’accès à l’information, qui comprend des renseignements sur la formation, des formulaires et une copie de l’ordonnance de délégation de pouvoirs et de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Le Commissariat à l’information estime que ce guide exhaustif, et tout particulièrement la section expliquant chaque étape du traitement des demandes, constitue une pratique exemplaire. VIA doit également être féliciter pour avoir publié de l’information détaillée sur son site Web, y compris une explication des fondements de la Loi, un formulaire de demande téléchargeable et des directives pour la présentation d’une demande officielle. Dès qu’elle a été assujettie à la Loi, VIA a publié ces renseignements à l’intention de ses clients.

Les responsables de l’accès à l’information affirment qu’avant d’amorcer la récupération des documents, ils demandent des précisions au sujet des demandes, par courriel ou par téléphone. Ils envoient ensuite des formulaires de demande aux divers services de VIA et les invitent à indiquer les autres groupes qui pourraient avoir les renseignements demandés en leur possession. Les responsables signalent que la plupart des employés collaborent bien, et répondent rapidement à leur demande.

Exceptions et exclusions invoquées par l’institution en 2009-2010

Ce graphique montre combien de fois VIA a invoqué les diverses exceptions et exclusions de la Loi dans les documents qu’elle a communiqués en 2009-2010. Plus de la moitié des exceptions appliquées par VIA étaient liées aux articles 20 (Renseignements de tiers) et 21 (Avis).

VIA ne possède pas de système de gestion des dossiers. Au lieu de cela, on y consigne manuellement toutes les données relatives aux dossiers. Cette méthode n’est pas propice au respect des obligations en matière de rapports. Les responsables de l’accès affirment que l’institution possède une solide culture de gestion de l’information. Un archiviste conserve notamment les documents de l’institution depuis les débuts de VIA, en 1978. L’entreprise projette de mettre en œuvre un système intégré dans l’ensemble de l’institution pour refléter ce processus d’archivage. Le système introduira une procédure commune de codage et d’organisation de l’information détenue par l’institution, ce qui facilitera la récupération des documents.

Le coordonnateur de l’accès possède les pleins pouvoirs délégués pour prendre les décisions en matière d’accès et, en tant que membre de l’effectif de la direction, est bien placé pour sensibiliser la haute direction à l’accès à l’information. Le message véhiculé est le suivant : la transparence est garante d’une bonne gouvernance. Toutefois, VIA devra procéder à un examen et à une révision de son ordonnance de délégation de pouvoirs, étant donné que le président assume des pouvoirs, des tâches et des fonctions qui relèvent de la compétence du Commissariat, et non de VIA, notamment les responsabilités prévues à l’article 32 de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information (Avis d’enquête).

Le processus d’approbation n’exige pas la signature des divers services de VIA. Le coordonnateur de l’accès prend la décision finale en ce qui concerne les renseignements à communiquer. Le service des communications est informé lorsqu’une question délicate est soulevée, mais VIA ne rapporte aucune ingérence liée à la diffusion de documents.

Après un grand volume de demandes en 2008-2009, la charge de travail de VIA a diminué et est devenue plus facile à gérer en 2009-2010. L’institution a alors reçu 28 nouvelles demandes, la plupart provenant des médias ou de sociétés. VIA n’a traité aucune demande reportée de l’exercice précédent et n’a reçu aucune demande de consultation. Les responsables de l’accès de VIA affirment posséder les ressources nécessaires à la gestion du volume de demandes reçues jusqu’à maintenant en 2010-2011. Ils ont également accès à d’autres ressources, si le besoin d’aide externe se faisait sentir.

VIA considère les contribuables canadiens comme des actionnaires à qui elle doit rendre des comptes, entre autres, en garantissant l’accès à ses documents. VIA cherche aussi à éviter les actions en justice, dispendieuses et chronophages, en communiquant sans délai le plus d’information possible. Un autre avantage de cette formule est que les responsables passent ainsi moins de temps à régler les plaintes déposées auprès du Commissariat. En 2009-2010, deux plaintes ont été déposées contre VIA, les deux se rattachant à la réponse de VIA selon laquelle il n’existait aucun document correspondant à la demande. Le dénouement de ces deux plaintes n’est pas encore connu.

En somme, VIA est résolue à se conformer à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Grâce à un bureau d’accès à l’information stable, l’institution finira par mieux savoir comment user des prorogations de délai et des procédures telles que la communication partielle des documents, ce qui l’aidera à répondre aux demandes dans les délais prescrits et à faire parvenir aux demandeurs un plus grand nombre de documents plus rapidement. En grande partie à cause du délai de traitement moyen de 26,1 jours et de la volonté de l’institution de fournir rapidement un accès à l’information, VIA reçoit la note « B » pour 2009-2010.

Nombre et issue des plaintes déposées au Commissariat à l’information de 2007-2008 à 2009-2010
  RésoluesNon fondéesAbandonnéesEn suspensTotal
2007–2008
Administratives00000
Refus01012
Documents confidentiels du Cabinet00000
Total01012
2008–2009
Administratives00000
Refus00202
Documents confidentiels du Cabinet00000
Total00202
2009–2010
Administratives00000
Refus00022
Documents confidentiels du Cabinet00000
Total00022

Ce tableau indique le nombre et l’issue des plaintes déposées contre VIA au Commissariat à l’information dans chacune des trois périodes de référence depuis que l’institution est assujettie à la  Loi, soit depuis le 1er septembre 2007. Les plaintes résolues sont celles que le Commissariat estime fondées et que l’institution a résolues de façon satisfaisante aux yeux de la commissaire. Deux plaintes ont été déposées contre VIA au cours de chacun des exercices. À la fin de 2009-2010, trois plaintes étaient en suspens, tandis que les trois autres avaient soit été abandonnées, soit été jugées non fondées.

Recommandations

1. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que VIA Rail Canada Inc. réduise son taux de présomption de refus pour l’amener à zéro.

Réponse

VIA Rail révisera ses procédures actuelles afin de simplifier le processus et de réduire les retards.

2. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que VIA Rail Canada Inc. revoie son instrument de délégation, étant donné que certains pouvoirs, tâches et fonctions ne relèvent pas de la compétence de VIA.

Réponse

VIA Rail modifiera son instrument de délégation en conséquence.

PrécédentTable des matièresSuivant