Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Report Cards

Year


Previous Table of contents Next

Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada

Mario Dion, the Information Commissioner ad hoc at the time of reporting, prepared this document at the request of the Information Commissioner, to ensure that a completely independent review of the Office of the Information Commissioner’s access to information operations was carried out. In preparing this assessment, the Information Commissioner ad hoc used the same methodology as was used for other organizations reviewed in this year’s process to ensure consistency in approach and comparability of results. 

The Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada (OIC) investigates complaints about federal institutions’ handling of access to information requests. The Commissioner also provides arm’s-length oversight of the federal government’s access to information practices and advocates for greater freedom of information in Canada.

2009–2010 report card at a glance

Rating: A (Outstanding)

  • The OIC’s deemed refusal rate was zero percent.
  • The average completion time for an access to information request was 32.97 days, since a long extension (180 days) was required to complete a file of more than 50,000 pages.
  • One of the three extensions taken was for more than 30 days, and the Information Commissioner ad hoc was notified, as is required.
  • Only one complaint against the OIC was filed with the Information Commissioner ad hoc in 2009–2010, and it was found to be not substantiated.
  • The access to information office is autonomous and provides strong leadership within the OIC to ensure access requests are dealt with efficiently in the spirit of the greatest possible access.

Quick facts

Number of requests carried over from 2008–2009
5
Number of new requests
28
Number of requests completed
31
Deemed refusal rate*
0%
Average time to complete a request (in days)
32.97
Number of incoming consultation requests
4
Number of pages reviewed for requests completed
55,589
Number of complaints registered with the Information Commissioner ad hoc**
1
Number of complaints the Information Commissioner ad hoc resolved***
0
Number of full-time equivalents responsible exclusively for access to information, as of March 31, 2010
4
 

* Percentage of carried over and new requests delayed beyond the deadlines (30 days and extended) set out in the Access to Information Act. (See Appendix C for the formula the Information Commissioner ad hoc used to calculate this rate.)

**The office of the Information Commissioner ad hoc was established in 2007 to receive and independently investigate any complaint made under section 30 of the Access to Information Act arising in response to access requests made in accordance with the Act to the Office of the Information Commissioner.

*** A complaint is resolved when the Information Commissioner ad hoc finds it has merit, and the institution resolves it to the Commissioner ad hoc’s satisfaction.

2009–2010 report card

The Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada’s access to information office had an excellent year in 2009–2010. The investments made in previous years to recruit a sufficient number of qualified officers and develop an efficient case management system, coupled with a corporate culture favourable to the access legislation, led to optimum performance in 2009–2010. The OIC received 28 new requests. Although this was a marked reduction from the 113 requests it received in 2008–2009 and the 93 in 2007–2008, one of the requests required 50,000 pages to be reviewed, which very significantly increased the workload in the first half of the year. In addition, the OIC carried over five requests from 2008–2009 and received four consultation requests.

Access to information workload, 2007–2008 to 2009–2010

This graph shows the sources of the OIC’s workload since it became subject to the Access to Information Act on April 1, 2007. The OIC received a large number of requests in the first two years it was subject to the Act, but kept its backlog at five or fewer requests throughout the period.

The OIC had a deemed refusal rate of zero percent for 2009–2010 and took only three extensions, of 14, 15 and 180 days—the latter to deal with that very large request. The OIC notified the Information Commissioner ad hoc of that extension in keeping with the requirement in the Access to Information Act to do so. There was only one complaint filed against the OIC during the year, and the Commissioner ad hoc found it to be not substantiated.

The OIC recognizes the value of information to Canadians and has adopted a number of measures to foster active support for the access function. All members of the executive category have in their performance agreement a standing commitment to actively contribute to the OIC’s successful administration of the access requests submitted to the OIC. The OIC has also adopted six pillars of access program delivery, including the full implementation of the duty to assist requesters, the application of discretionary exemptions only when the harm is identifiable and imminent, and the minimal use of extensions. The previous Commissioner ad hoc stated in his 2009–2010 annual report that the OIC sets an example for other federal institutions in effectively processing requests.

Upon becoming subject to access legislation, the OIC’s senior management communicated to employees the importance of responsiveness and compliance with the Act. Individual access training for each employee was delivered in advance of the April 1, 2007, start-up date. The OIC placed the access to information function in the Policy, Communications and Operations Branch to avoid conflicts of interest, since it was likely that most requests would relate to the investigations the OIC conducts. The access to information office is part of the Information Management Division but manages its own budget.

Exemptions and exclusions applied by the institution, 2009–2010

This graph shows how often the OIC applied the various exemptions and exclusions in the Act to the records it released in 2009–2010. The OIC used the mandatory exemption under subsection 19(1) (personal information) the most often. It is interesting to note, however, that the number of times the OIC used this exemption could have been higher had it not sought consent of individuals to disclose their information whenever possible under the exception contained in subsection 19(2). The other exemption that regularly applies to records the OIC produces falls under paragraph 16.1(1)(c). This requires the OIC to exempt from disclosure any record that contains information that was obtained or created in the course of an investigation, while the investigation is ongoing. The OIC applied this exemption 13 times.

In the lead-up to becoming subject to the Act, the OIC developed policies and procedures, and distributed them to all employees. To preserve the integrity and the independence of the process and ensure that all complaints are properly addressed, an Information Commissioner ad hoc was delegated the authority to deal with complaints made under the Act about the OIC’s handling of its own access requests. This office has always functioned with ad hoc commissioners without a statutory or regulatory basis formally referring to such a position. As noted by previous commissioners ad hoc, it is necessary to maintain this office to ensure that someone independent investigates the complaints against the OIC. The former Commissioner ad hoc also noted last year that it was time to consider a formal legal basis for this position.

The OIC received funding from the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat to assist with start-up and the ongoing costs of its access function. Guidelines were also developed to assist the access office in interpreting the new provision found in paragraph 16.1(1)(c).

Access officials report that all areas of the institution cooperate fully in retrieving requested records within the very short standard deadline of five days set out in internal policy. Final disclosure is unfettered in terms of reviews and approvals. A status report on all active access to information requests is delivered to all senior managers weekly for their information.

The access to information office consists of four full-time employees who work autonomously, and a director, who is also responsible for two other groups within the OIC. It is interesting to note that the resources assigned to the access to information office provide support to other parts of the OIC when the workload declines. The office has the full confidence of the head of the institution. There is no two-step process by which the originating office reviews the final proposed disclosure package. The access coordinator is delegated to administer all exemptions under the Act, including exclusions under section 69 for Cabinet confidences.

Number and outcome of complaints received by the Information Commissioner ad hoc, 2007–2008 to 2009–2010

Resolved Not substantiated Discontinued Pending Total
2007–2008
Administrative 0 3 2 3 8
Refusals 1 1 0 0 2
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 0 0
Total 1 4 2 3 10
2008–2009
Administrative 0 0 0 2 2
Refusals 3 7 0 1 11
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 0 0
Total 3 7 0 3 13
2009–2010
Administrative 0 0 0 0 0
Refusals 0 1 0 0 1
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 0 0
Total 0 1 0 0 1
 

This table sets out the number and outcome of the complaints the Information Commissioner ad hoc received about the OIC in each of the three reporting periods since the OIC became subject to the Act on April 1, 2007. Overall, the number of complaints against the OIC was low, including only one in 2009–2010, which was found to be not substantiated

Report card response

From its inception, the OIC Access to Information and Privacy (ATIP) program has been of paramount importance to the OIC. As such, we have invested resources to ensure that the appropriate tools are made available to personnel, that we have the full complement of staff required, that full delegation is accorded to the ATIP coordinator so the decision-making process remains free of interference, and that our ATIP program is a model of exceptional timeliness.

We have also moved rapidly to ensure the necessary institutional support to the ATIP program. That is, prior to becoming subject to the Act, we created an Information Management Division to maximize synergies between the ATIP Secretariat, Records Management and Information Technology. This partnership has been a successful one and has resulted in enhanced adaptation of technology, sound records management, and improved access to information—all of which constitute the backbone of the effective delivery of our ATIP program.

During the year 2010–2011, which was not covered by the report cards, we have further embraced transparency at the OIC, through various initiatives to support open government and open data. For example, the OIC website now has a summary list of all completed access requests, and copies can be requested electronically. We are also posting on our website real-time statistics on our investigations in both a permanent and a re-usable format in keeping with open data. We will also be consulting with our stakeholders and the general public to determine which of our corporate documents are of interest, in order to proactively provide access to that information.

We remain committed to fulfilling our obligations under the Act. We will continue to operate in the most transparent way possible and to ensure that our ATIP program meets the highest standards of service delivery to Canadians.

PreviousTable of contentsNext

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiche de rendement

Année


Précédent Table des matières Suivant

Commissariat à l’information du Canada

Mario Dion, commissaire à l’information ad hoc au moment de la préparation du rapport, a préparé ce document à la demande de la commissaire à l’information afin que les activités relatives à l’accès à l’information du Commissariat à l’information du Canada soient soumises à un examen entièrement indépendant. Afin de garantir l’uniformité de la démarche et la comparabilité des résultats, le commissaire à l’information ad hoc a appliqué les mêmes méthodes d’évaluation que celles employées pour les autres organisations examinées dans le cadre de l’exercice de cette année. 

Le Commissariat à l’information du Canada enquête sur les plaintes relatives à la gestion des demandes d’accès à l’information déposées contre les institutions fédérales. La commissaire surveille également, de façon indépendante, les pratiques du gouvernement fédéral en matière d’accès à l’information et prône la liberté de l’information au Canada.

En bref

Nombre de demandes reportées de 2008-2009
5
Nombre de nouvelles demandes
28
Nombre de demandes traitées
31
Taux de présomption de refus*
0 %
Délai de traitement moyen des demandes (jours)
32,97
Nombre de demandes de consultation
4
Nombre de pages examinées dans le cadre des demandes traitées
55 589
Nombre de plaintes déposées auprès du commissaire à l’information ad hoc**
1
Nombre de plaintes résolues par le commissaire à l’information ad hoc***
0
Nombre d’équivalents temps plein responsables exclusivement de l’accès à l’information, au 31 mars 2010
4
 

Faits saillants de la fiche de rendement pour 2009-2010

Note : A (Exceptionnel)

  • Le Commissariat à l’information présente un taux de présomption de refus de 0 %.
  • En raison d’une longue prorogation (180 jours) requise pour traiter un dossier de plus de 50 000 pages, le délai de traitement moyen des demandes d’accès à l’information était de 32,97 jours.
  • Une des trois prorogations était d’une durée de plus de 30 jours, et le commissaire à l’information ad hoc en a été informé comme il se doit.
  • Une seule plainte a été déposée contre le Commissariat auprès du commissaire à l’information ad hoc en 2009-2010, et cette plainte a été jugée non fondée.
  • Le bureau d’accès à l’information est autonome et assume un grand leadership au sein du Commissariat afin que les demandes d’accès soient traitées avec efficience dans un contexte de grande ouverture.

* Pourcentage de demandes reportées et de nouvelles demandes retardées au-delà des délais (30 jours et prorogés) prescrits par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. (Voir l’annexe C pour connaître la formule utilisée par le Commissariat à l’information ad hoc pour le calcul de ce taux.)

** Le commissaire à l’information ad hoc a été créé en 2007 pour recevoir les plaintes déposées au titre de l’article 30 de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, et faire enquête de manière indépendante relativement aux demandes d’accès présentées au Commissariat à l’information conformément à la Loi.

*** Une plainte est résolue lorsque le commissaire à l’information ad hoc estime qu’elle est fondée et que l’institution la règle de façon satisfaisante aux yeux du commissaire ad hoc.

Fiche de rendement pour 2009-2010

L’année 2009-2010 a été excellente pour le bureau d’accès à l’information du Commissariat à l’information du Canada. Les investissements réalisés dans les années précédentes pour recruter des responsables qualifiés en nombre suffisant et mettre en place un système de gestion des dossiers efficace, de même qu’une culture organisationnelle favorable aux lois sur l’accès à l’information, lui ont permis d’obtenir un rendement optimal en 2009-2010. Le Commissariat a reçu 28 nouvelles demandes. Bien qu’il s’agisse d’une nette diminution par rapport aux 113 demandes qu’il a reçues en 2008-2009 et aux 93 reçues en 2007-2008, l’une des demandes a nécessité l’examen de 50 000 pages, ce qui a considérablement augmenté sa charge de travail pendant le premier semestre de l’année. De plus, le Commissariat a traité cinq demandes reportées de 2008-2009 et a reçu quatre demandes de consultation.

Charge de travail liée à l’accès à l’information de 2007-2008 à 2009-2010

Ce graphique montre la distribution de la charge de travail du Commissariat à l’information depuis qu’il est assujetti à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, soit depuis le 1er avril 2007. Le Commissariat a reçu un grand nombre de demandes dans les deux premières années suivant l’assujettissement de l’institution à la Loi, mais a maintenu son arriéré à cinq demandes ou moins pendant cette période.

Le Commissariat à l’information a affiché un taux de présomption de refus de 0 % pour 2009-2010 et a seulement usé de trois prorogations, de 14, 15 et 180 jours, cette dernière étant nécessaire pour traiter une très grosse demande. Le Commissariat a informé le commissaire à l’information ad hoc des prorogations, conformément à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Une seule plainte a été déposée contre le Commissariat à l’information au cours de cette année, et le commissaire ad hoc a jugé qu’elle était non fondée.

Le Commissariat est conscient de la valeur de l’information pour les Canadiens et a adopté un certain nombre de mesures pour favoriser un soutien actif de la fonction d’accès. Dans leur accord de rendement, tous les membres de l’effectif de la direction s’engagent à contribuer activement à la bonne administration des demandes d’accès présentées à l’institution. Le Commissariat a également adopté six piliers en lien avec l’exécution des programmes d’accès, comme la pleine exécution de l’obligation de prêter assistance aux demandeurs, l’application d’exceptions discrétionnaires seulement lorsqu’un préjudice est reconnu et imminent et l’emploi minimal des prorogations. Le commissaire ad hoc précédent a déclaré dans son rapport annuel de 2009-2010 que, grâce à un traitement efficace des demandes, le Commissariat donne l’exemple aux autres institutions fédérales.

Lorsque le Commissariat a été assujetti à la Loi, la haute direction du Commissariat a sensibilisé les employés à l’importance de s’adapter et de se conformer à la Loi. La formation sur l’accès offerte à tous les employés a été dispensée avant même la date d’entrée en vigueur, le 1er avril 2007. Comme il était probable que la plupart des demandes se rapporteraient aux enquêtes réalisées par le Commissariat, celui-ci a confié la fonction d’accès à l’information à la Direction des politiques, des communications et des opérations afin d’éviter tout conflit d’intérêts. Le bureau d’accès à l’information fait partie de la Division de la gestion de l’information, mais gère son propre budget.

Dans la période qui a précédé l’assujettissement à la Loi, le Commissariat a mis au point des politiques et des procédures et les a communiquées à tous ses employés. Pour préserver l’intégrité et l’indépendance du processus et veiller à ce que les plaintes soient correctement traitées, on a délégué à un commissaire à l’information ad hoc le pouvoir de traiter les plaintes déposées en vertu de la Loi relativement à la gestion des demandes d’accès adressées au Commissariat. Il y a toujours eu des commissaires ad hoc, même si ce poste ne repose sur aucun fondement officiel sur le plan de la loi ou de la réglementation. Comme les commissaires ad hoc précédents l’ont fait remarquer, le maintien d’un tel poste est nécessaire pour qu’une entité indépendante enquête sur les plaintes contre le Commissariat. L’ancien commissaire ad hoc a aussi observé l’an dernier qu’il était temps d’envisager l’établissement d’un fondement juridique officiel pour ce poste.

Exceptions et exclusions invoquées par l’institution en 2009-2010

Ce graphique montre combien de fois le Commissariat à l’information a invoqué les diverses exceptions et exclusions prévues par la Loi dans les documents qu’il a communiqués en 2009-2010. L’institution a invoqué le plus souvent l’exception obligatoire prévue au paragraphe 19(1) (Renseignements personnels). Il est intéressant de noter, toutefois, que la Commissariat aurait pu l’invoquer plus souvent s’il n’avait pas demandé aux personnes concernées leur consentement pour divulguer les renseignements les touchant chaque fois que cela était possible en vertu de l’exception prévue au paragraphe 19(2). L’autre exception fréquemment invoquée dans les documents que produit le Commissariat relève de l’alinéa 16.1(1)c). Cette disposition exige du Commissariat qu’il soustraie à la communication tout document contenant des renseignements créés ou obtenus dans le cadre d’une enquête, aussi longtemps que l’enquête se poursuit. Le Commissariat a invoqué cette exception à 13 occasions.

Pour l’aider à assumer le coût de lancement et les coûts permanents de sa fonction d’accès, le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada a octroyé des fonds au Commissariat. Par ailleurs, celui-ci a établi des directives pour aider le bureau d’accès à interpréter la nouvelle disposition qui se trouve à l’alinéa 16.1(1)c).

Les responsables de l’accès disent que tous les secteurs de l’institution collaborent entièrement à la récupération des documents dans le très court délai normalisé de cinq jours précisé dans la politique interne. La communication finale n’est pas entravée par des examens ou des approbations. Chaque semaine, la haute direction se voit remettre, à titre d’information, un rapport de la situation des demandes actives d’accès à l’information.

Le bureau d’accès à l’information compte quatre employés à temps plein qui travaillent de façon autonome, et un directeur, qui est également responsable de deux autres groupes au sein du Commissariat. Il est intéressant de noter que les ressources affectées au bureau d’accès à l’information aident les autres secteurs du Commissariat lorsque leur charge de travail diminue. Le bureau jouit de l’entière confiance de la responsable de l’institution. Il n’y a pas de processus en deux étapes par lequel le secteur d’origine vérifie l’ensemble final des pièces à communiquer. Le coordonnateur de l’accès s’est vu déléguer le pouvoir d’administrer toutes les exceptions prévues par la Loi, y compris les exclusions au titre de l’article 69, qui traite des documents confidentiels du Cabinet.

Nombre et issue des plaintes déposées au commissaire à l’information ad hoc de 2007-2008 à 2009-2010
Résolues Non fondées Abandonnées En suspens Total
2007-2008
Administratives 0 3 2 3 8
Refus 1 1 0 0 2
Documents confidentiels du Cabinet 0 0 0 0 0
Total 1 4 2 3 10
2008-2009
Administratives 0 0 0 2 2
Refus 3 7 0 1 11
Documents confidentiels du Cabinet 0 0 0 0 0
Total 3 7 0 3 13
2009-2010
Administratives 0 0 0 0 0
Refus 0 1 0 0 1
Documents confidentiels du Cabinet 0 0 0 0 0
Total 0 1 0 0 1

Ce tableau indique le nombre et l’issue des plaintes déposées contre le Commissariat à l’information au commissaire à l’information ad hoc dans chacune des trois périodes de référence depuis que l’institution est assujettie à la Loi, soit depuis le 1er avril 2007. En général, les plaintes contre le Commissariat étaient peu nombreuses. Il y en a eu une seule en 2009-2010, qui s’est avérée non fondée.

Réponse à la fiche de rendement

Le Commissariat à l’information du Canada accorde une importance capitale à son programme d’accès à l’information et à la protection des renseignements personnels (AIPRP) depuis sa création. C’est pourquoi nous avons investi des ressources pour s’assurer que nos employés disposent des outils appropriés, que son effectif soit complet, que le coordonnateur de l’AIPRP jouisse d’une pleine délégation des pouvoirs pour continuer d’assurer l’indépendance du processus décisionnel et que notre programme d’AIPRP soit un modèle au chapitre de la rapidité d’exécution.

Nous avons également agi promptement pour accorder l’appui organisationnel requis au programme d’AIPRP. Avant d’être assujettis à la Loi, nous avons créé la Division de la gestion de l’information pour maximiser les synergies entre le Secrétariat de l’AIPRP et les services de gestion des documents et de technologie de l’information. Ce partenariat s’est avéré fructueux et a mené à une plus grande adaptation technologique, à une saine gestion des documents et à un accès amélioré à l’information, trois éléments à la base de l’exécution efficace de notre programme d’AIPRP.

Au cours de l’exercice 2010-2011, qui n’était pas visé par les fiches de rendement, nous avons fait preuve d’une transparence accrue en mettant en œuvre diverses initiatives destinées à appuyer un gouvernement transparent et des données ouvertes. Par exemple, le site Web du Commissariat renferme maintenant une liste sommaire de toutes les demandes d’accès à l’information traitées, et il est possible de demander des copies par voie électronique. Le site contient aussi des statistiques en temps réel sur nos enquêtes en formats permanent et réutilisable, conformément au principe de données ouvertes. Nous consulterons également nos intervenants et le grand public pour déterminer lesquels de nos documents organisationnels présentent un intérêt afin d’offrir l’accès à ces renseignements de façon proactive.

Nous demeurons déterminés à remplir nos obligations en vertu de la Loi. Nous continuerons à faire preuve de la plus grande transparence possible et de veiller à ce que notre programme d’AIPRP respecte les normes les plus élevées en matière de prestation de services aux Canadiens.

Précédent Table des matières Suivant