Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Report Cards

Year


Previous Table of contents Next

Office of the Auditor General of Canada

The Auditor General is an Officer of Parliament, who is independent from the government and reports directly to Parliament. The Office of the Auditor General of Canada (OAG) conducts legislative auditing and, in certain cases, monitors federal departments and agencies, Crown corporations, territorial governments and other entities. The OAG’s main legislative auditing duties involve carrying out financial audits, performance audits, special examinations, sustainable development monitoring and environmental petitions, and assessments of agency performance reports.

2009–2010 report card at a glance

Rating: A (Outstanding)

  • The OAG’s deemed refusal rate was 4.5 percent, having completed one request after its due date. The OAG sent a partial release of information to the requester while awaiting the results of a consultation.
  • The OAG’s average request completion time was 20.8 days.
  • The OAG received almost twice as many consultation requests as access requests.
  • The access to information coordinator has fully delegated authority for access decisions, which is respected throughout the institution.
  • The institution did not take any extensions of more than 30 days, and therefore had no obligation to notify the Office of the Information Commissioner.
  • The OAG has a stable access unit and sufficient resources to continue to comply with the legislation.
  • The OAG has made a significant investment in software, enabling the coordinator to process requests efficiently.

Quick facts

Number of requests carried over from 2008–2009
3
Number of new requests
19
Number of requests completed
20
Deemed refusal rate*
4.5%
Average time to complete a request (in days)
20.8
Number of incoming consultation requests
36
Number of pages reviewed for requests completed
2,613
Number of complaints registered with the Office of the Information Commissioner
7
Number of complaints the Office of the Information Commissioner resolved**
6
Number of full-time equivalents responsible exclusively for access to information, as of March 31, 2010
0.95
 

* Percentage of carried over and new requests delayed beyond the deadlines (30 days and extended) set out in the Access to Information Act. (See Appendix C for the formula the Office of the Information Commissioner used to calculate this rate.)

** A complaint is resolved when the Office of the Information Commissioner finds it has merit, and the institution resolves it to the Commissioner’s satisfaction.

2009–2010 report card 

This graph shows the sources of the OAG’s workload since it became subject to the Access to Information Act on April 1, 2007. In 2009–2010, the OAG received fewer new requests than it did the previous year, but carried over more requests. Requests for consultations from other institutions greatly contributed to the OAG’s workload each year. In 2009–2010, the OAG received almost twice as many consultation requests as access requests.

The Office of the Auditor General of Canada’s (OAG) access to information office demonstrated commendable performance in fulfilling its responsibilities under the Access to Information Act in 2009–2010. It had an average request completion time of 20.8 days and required no time extensions to complete requests. It reported that it completed only one request after its due date, the result of consultation-related delays. In that case, the OAG provided a partial release of information to the requester while awaiting the results of the consultation.

Access to information workload, 2007–2008 to 2009–2010

The OAG made a smooth transition to being subject to the Act. In the months leading up to the April 1, 2007, start-up, the OAG’s executive committee developed a framework and vision for the new access to information office. In building its capacity, the institution consulted frequently with the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat, as well as with access to information coordinators in other institutions. The OAG posted information on its intranet on access to information processes and guidelines. It also posted contact information for the access to information office on its website; however, the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) is of the view that this web presence should be expanded to provide the public with more comprehensive information about access.

The access office is staffed with one full-time resource, who had worked in access to information prior to coming to the OAG. The office also has a back-up resource who can help when the OAG receives a larger than expected volume of requests and who covers vacation periods. A consultant provided initial training on access to information, but the coordinator now delivers training to a broad spectrum of employees, including new employees and senior management. The access office reports to the Director, Knowledge Services and Access to Information and Privacy, and is overseen by the Chief Knowledge Officer, reflecting the cultural importance of information to the OAG. With recent investments in access and information management software, the unit is well resourced.

Exemptions and exclusions applied by the institution, 2009–2010

This graph shows how often the OAG applied the various exemptions and exclusions in the Act to the records it released in 2009–2010. It used the section 16.1 exemption (investigations) most often.

The OAG has its own exemption under paragraph 16.1(1)(a) of the Access to Information Act, under which no audit-related documents may be disclosed. At the same time, the OIC must be able to investigate complaints against the OAG and be satisfied that access officials have used the exemption properly—a task made particularly challenging due to the large number of documents involved in most audit-related requests. In March 2010, the OIC and the OAG developed a protocol requiring the OAG to provide the OIC with only a sample of documents when the paragraph 16.1(1)(a) exemption is involved, which the OIC then reviews. Under the protocol, the OIC reserves the right to obtain or review additional documents when required. The application of this protocol is in the preliminary phases, and will be reviewed as needed.

Prior to the OAG coming under the Act, the Auditor General emphasized the importance of the exclusion of audit documents to the House of Commons Legislative Committee on Bill C-2. The Auditor General noted that, without the exclusion, the OAG’s ability to audit and provide a comprehensive and reliable product to Parliament would be compromised, and that, if audit records could be disclosed, the OAG might not receive the required level of candour and openness from those interviewed during audits.

As soon the OAG became subject to the Act, it began to receive requests for audit material, suggesting that requesters might have been attempting to obtain information about other institutions via requests to the OAG. The number of such requests has subsequently decreased, an indication that requesters may now understand that audit documents are exempted from release.

The OAG has a streamlined records retrieval process, an efficient records system and a network of collaborative, cooperative and disciplined employees throughout the organization that help respond to requests. The OAG’s culture of accountability and transparency—resulting from the organization’s auditing role, which requires free access to information in a timely manner—bolsters the work of the access office.

The access to information coordinator has fully delegated authority for access decisions, and reports that the organization has no formal approval process for or interference with release packages. The coordinator informs the Chief Knowledge Officer of any sensitive files but ultimately decides what is released. This, combined with a manageable workload, contributes to the timely release of documents. Although the OAG received twice as many consultation requests as access requests (due to it auditing so many organizations that are themselves subject to the Access to Information Act), this apparently does not have a negative effect on performance.

Senior management at the OAG considers release of information as its default activity and recognizes that transparency is an essential feature of public sector accountability. This attitude is reflected in the organization’s access to information statistics. Based on a favourable average request completion time, a commitment of resources and a model system for retrieval and release of records, the OAG receives a grade of A for 2009–2010.

The OIC commends the leadership of the OAG for meeting its obligations under the Access to Information Act, and for its strong culture of transparency. The OAG is well positioned to continue meeting its commitments.

In light of the OAG’s outstanding performance, the OIC challenges it to assume a leadership role in the access to information community. Sharing its established best practices and taking action to publish completed requests online will contribute to progress community-wide.

Number and outcome of complaints received by the OIC, 2007–2008 to 2009–2010

Resolved Not substantiated Discontinued Pending Total
2007–2008
Administrative 0 0 1 0 1
Refusals 0 1 1 0 2
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 0 0
Total 0 1 2 0 3
2008–2009
Administrative 0 0 0 0 0
Refusals 0 0 0 0 0
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 0 0
Total 0 0 0 0 0
2009–2010
Administrative 0 0 0 0 0
Refusals 0 0 0 7 7
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 0 0
Total 0 0 0 7 7

This table sets out the number and outcome of the complaints the OIC registered against the OAG in each of the three reporting periods since the OAG became subject to the Act on April 1, 2007. Resolved complaints are those that the OIC finds to have merit and that the institution resolves to the Commissioner’s satisfaction. The OIC received seven complaints about the OAG in 2009–2010, an increase from the three complaints it received over the two previous years. Six of the 2009–2010 complaints have since been found to be not substantiated, with the outcome of the seventh pending.

Recommendations

1. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that the Office of the Auditor General reduce its deemed refusal rate to zero.

Response

In the 2011–2012 fiscal year, the OAG will continue to work toward a deemed refusal rate of zero.

2. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that the Office of the Auditor General provide requesters with more detailed information about the access to information function on its website.

Response

  • The OAG will continue to expand its access to information presence on its external website.
  • The OAG will consult with other federal government departments and review the access information made available on their websites.
  • The OAG will review the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat’s recent recommendations and make changes to its web presence. The goal is to have this review completed and implemented by the end of May 2011.
Previous Table of contents Next

Date modified:

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiche de rendement

Année


Précédent Table des matières Suivant

Bureau du vérificateur général du Canada

Le vérificateur général est un agent du Parlement; il est indépendant du gouvernement et relève directement du Parlement. Le Bureau du vérificateur général du Canada (BVG) réalise des vérifications législatives et, dans certains cas, surveille les ministères et les organismes fédéraux, les sociétés d’État, les gouvernements territoriaux et d’autres entités. Les principales fonctions de vérification législative du BVG ont trait à la réalisation de vérifications financières, de vérifications du rendement, d’examens spéciaux, d’activités de surveillance du développement durable, de pétitions environnementales et d’évaluations de rapports sur le rendement des organismes.

En bref

Nombre de demandes reportées de 2008-2009
3
Nombre de nouvelles demandes
19
Nombre de demandes traitées
20
Taux de présomption de refus*
4,5 %
Délai de traitement moyen des demandes (jours)
20,8
Nombre de demandes de consultation
36
Nombre de pages examinées dans le cadre des demandes traitées
2 613
Nombre de plaintes déposées au Commissariat à l’information
7
Nombre de plaintes résolues par le Commissariat à l’information**
6
Nombre d’équivalents temps plein responsables exclusivement de l’accès à l’information, au 31 mars 2010
0,95
 

Faits saillants de la fiche de rendement pour 2009-2010

Note : A (Exceptionnel)

  • Étant donné qu’il a fini de traiter une demande après la date limite, le BVG affiche un taux de présomption de refus de 4,5 %. Le BVG a communiqué une partie des renseignements au demandeur en attendant les résultats de la consultation.
  • Le délai de traitement moyen des demandes au BVG était de 20,8 jours.
  • Le BVG a reçu près de deux fois plus de demandes de consultation que de demandes d’accès.
  • Le coordonnateur de l’accès à l’information possède les pleins pouvoirs délégués pour prendre les décisions en matière d’accès, qui sont respectées dans toute l’institution.
  • L’institution n’a pas usé de prorogations de plus de 30 jours, et n’était donc pas obligée d’en informer le Commissariat à l’information.
  • Le BVG dispose d’une unité d’accès à l’information stable et de ressources suffisantes pour continuer à se conformer à la Loi.
  • Le BVG a beaucoup investi dans les logiciels, ce qui permet au coordonnateur de traiter rapidement les demandes.

* Pourcentage de demandes reportées et de nouvelles demandes retardées au-delà des délais (30 jours et prorogés) prescrits par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. (Voir l’annexe C pour connaître la formule utilisée par le Commissariat à l’information pour le calcul de ce taux.)

**Une plainte est résolue lorsque le Commissariat à l’information estime qu’elle est fondée et que l’institution la règle de façon satisfaisante aux yeux de la commissaire.

Fiche de rendement pour 2009-2010

En 2009-2010, le bureau d’accès à l’information du Bureau du vérificateur général du Canada (BVG) a obtenu un rendement digne d’éloges relativement à l’exécution de ses responsabilités en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Il lui a fallu en moyenne 20,8 jours pour traiter une demande et il n’a eu besoin d’aucune prorogation de délai. Il souligne avoir fini de traiter une seule demande après la date limite, en raison de retards liés à la consultation. Dans ce cas, le BVG a communiqué une partie des renseignements au demandeur en attendant les résultats de la consultation.

Charge de travail liée à l’accès à l’information de 2007-2008 à 2009-2010

Ce graphique montre la distribution de la charge de travail du BVG depuis qu’il est assujetti à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, soit depuis le 1er avril 2007. En 2009-2010, le BVG a reçu moins de nouvelles demandes que l’année précédente, mais a traité plus de demandes reportées. Chaque année, les demandes de consultation adressées par d’autres institutions contribuent grandement à la charge de travail du BVG. En 2009-2010, le BVG a reçu près de deux fois plus de demandes de consultation que de demandes d’accès.

Le BVG a été assujetti à Loi de façon graduelle. Dans les mois qui ont précédé le début de l’assujettissement de l’institution à la Loi, soit le 1er avril 2007, le Conseil de direction du BVG a établi un cadre et une vision pour le nouveau bureau d’accès à l’information. Afin de renforcer ses capacités, le BVG a consulté à maintes reprises le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, ainsi que les coordonnateurs de l’accès l’information d’autres institutions. Le BVG a publié de l’information sur les processus d’accès à l’information ainsi que des directives sur son site intranet. Il a aussi publié les coordonnées de son bureau d’accès à l’information sur son site Web. Cependant, le Commissariat à l’information est d’avis que le BVG devrait accroître cette présence sur le Web pour fournir au public des renseignements plus complets sur l’accès à l’information.

Le bureau d’accès emploie une ressource à temps plein, qui avait déjà travaillé dans le milieu de l’accès à l’information avant de se joindre au BVG. Le bureau dispose aussi d’une autre ressource qui lui prête main-forte lorsque le BVG reçoit un volume de demandes plus important que prévu et qui la remplace pendant les vacances. Un expert-conseil a offert la formation initiale sur l’accès à l’information, mais celle-ci est maintenant dispensée par le coordonnateur à un large éventail d’employés, y compris les nouveaux employés et les cadres supérieurs. Le bureau d’accès relève d’un directeur, Service des connaissances et de l’accès à l’information et à la protection des renseignements personnels (AIPRP) et est placé sous la surveillance du directeur principal des connaissances, ce qui montre l’importance que le BVG attache à l’information. Grâce à des investissements récents dans des logiciels de gestion de l’accès et de l’information, l’unité est maintenant bien outillée.

Exceptions et exclusions invoquées par l’institution en 2009-2010

Ce graphique montre combien de fois le BVG a invoqué les diverses exceptions et exclusions de la Loi dans les documents qu’il a communiqués en 2009-2010. Il a invoqué le plus souvent l’exception (enquêtes) prévue à l’article 16.1.

Le BVG peut invoquer une exception qui lui est propre, en vertu de l’alinéa 16.1(1)a) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, selon lequel aucun document se rattachant à une vérification ne peut être communiqué. En même temps, le Commissariat doit pouvoir enquêter sur les plaintes contre le BVG et être convaincu que les responsables de l’accès invoquent correctement cette exception, une tâche rendue particulièrement ardue par le grand nombre de documents visés par la plupart des demandes relatives à une vérification. En mars 2010, le Commissariat et le BVG ont établi un protocole exigeant de ce dernier qu’il présente à l’examen du Commissariat un échantillon seulement des documents lorsque l’exception prévue par l’alinéa 16.1(1)a) s’applique. En vertu de ce protocole, le Commissariat se réserve le droit d’obtenir ou d’examiner des documents supplémentaires au besoin. L’application de ce protocole en est au stade préliminaire et il sera révisé au besoin.

Avant même l’assujettissement du BVG à la Loi, le vérificateur général avait insisté sur l’importance de soustraire les documents de vérification à la communication dans sa présentation au Comité législatif de la Chambre des communes sur le projet de loi C-2. Le vérificateur général observait que, en l’absence de cette exception, la capacité du BVG en matière de vérification et de production d’ouvrages complets et fiables au Parlement serait compromise, et que, si les dossiers de vérification pouvaient être communiqués, il était possible que le BVG n’obtienne pas le degré requis de franchise et d’ouverture de la part des personnes interviewées pendant les vérifications.

Aussitôt le BVG a été assujetti à la Loi, il a commencé à recevoir des demandes concernant des documents de vérification, ce qui laisse croire que les demandeurs tentaient peut-être ainsi d’obtenir des renseignements sur d’autres institutions. Le nombre de demandes de ce genre a diminué par la suite, signe que les demandeurs comprennent maintenant que les documents de vérification sont soustraits à la communication.

Le BVG a mis en place un processus simplifié de récupération des documents, un système de dossiers efficient et un réseau d’employés impliqués et disciplinés répartis dans toute l’organisation pour aider à répondre aux demandes. La culture de responsabilisation et de transparence – inhérente au rôle de vérification de l’organisation, qui exige un accès libre et rapide à l’information – soutient le travail du bureau d’accès.

Le coordonnateur de l’accès à l’information possède le plein pouvoir délégué pour prendre les décisions relatives à l’accès, et affirme que l’organisation ne possède aucun processus officiel d’approbation et ne subit aucune ingérence quant aux ensembles de documents à communiquer. Le coordonnateur informe le directeur principal des connaissances des dossiers de nature délicate, mais a le dernier mot sur les renseignements communiqués. Cette formule, combinée à une charge de travail raisonnable, contribue à la communication rapide des documents. Bien que le BVG reçoive deux fois plus de demandes de consultation que de demandes d’accès (étant donné qu’il vérifie un si grand nombre d’organisations elles-mêmes assujetties à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information), son rendement ne semble pas en souffrir.

La haute direction du BVG considère la communication de renseignements comme sa principale activité et reconnaît que la transparence est une caractéristique essentielle de la responsabilisation du secteur public. Cette attitude transparaît dans les statistiques sur l’accès à l’information de l’organisation. En raison d’un bon délai de traitement moyen, de l’affectation des ressources appropriées et d’un système exemplaire de récupération et de communication des documents, le BVG reçoit la note « A » pour 2009-2010.

Le Commissariat à l’information félicite le BVG pour son rôle exemplaire dans le respect des obligations en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et sa solide culture de transparence. Le BVG est bien placé pour continuer à exercer ses responsabilités.

Compte tenu du rendement remarquable du BVG, le Commissariat à l’information le convie à assumer un rôle de chef de file dans le milieu de l’accès à l’information. Le partage de ses pratiques exemplaires et la publication en ligne des demandes qu’elle a traitées contribueront aux progrès de toute la collectivité.

Nombre et issue des plaintes déposées au Commissariat à l’information de 2007-2008 à 2009-2010
  Résolues Non fondées Abandonnées En suspens Total
2007–2008
Administratives 0 0 1 0 1
Refus 0 1 1 0 2
Documents confidentiels du Cabinet 0 0 0 0 0
Total 0 1 2 0 3
2008–2009
Administratives 0 0 0 0 0
Refus 0 0 0 0 0
Documents confidentiels du Cabinet 0 0 0 0 0
Total 0 0 0 0 0
2009–2010
Administratives 0 0 0 0 0
Refus 0 0 0 7 7
Documents confidentiels du Cabinet 0 0 0 0 0
Total 0 0 0 7 7

Ce tableau indique le nombre et l’issue des plaintes déposées contre le BVG au Commissariat à l’information dans chacune des trois périodes de référence depuis que l’institution est assujettie à la Loi, soit depuis le 1er avril 2007. Les plaintes résolues sont celles que le Commissariat à l’information estime fondées et que l’institution a résolues de façon satisfaisante aux yeux de la commissaire. Le Commissariat a reçu sept plaintes contre le BVG en 2009-2010, une hausse comparativement aux trois plaintes reçues au cours des deux années précédentes. Six des plaintes déposées en 2009-2010 ont été jugées non fondées et l’issue de la septième est en suspens.

Recommandations

1. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que le Bureau du vérificateur général réduise son taux de présomption de refus pour l’amener à zéro.

Réponse

Pendant l’exercice 2011-2012, le BVG continuera de s’efforcer à atteindre un taux de présomption de refus de zéro.

2. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que le Bureau du vérificateur général fournisse aux demandeurs de plus amples renseignements sur la fonction d’accès à l’information sur son site Web.

Réponse

  • Le BVG continuera d’augmenter le contenu de son site Web se rapportant à l’accès à l’information.
  • Le BVG consultera d’autres ministères du gouvernement fédéral et examinera les informations publiées sur leur site Web.
  • Le BVG examinera les dernières recommandations du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor et apportera des changements relatifs à sa présence sur le Web, le but étant que cet examen soit terminé d’ici la fin mai 2011.
Précédent Table des matières Suivant