Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Report Cards

Year


Previous Table of contents Next

Canadian Broadcasting Corporation

The Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (CBC) is Canada’s national public broadcaster. It produces, procures and distributes Canadian programming in English, French and eight Aboriginal languages.

2009–2010 report card at a glance

Rating: F (Unsatisfactory)

  • The CBC’s deemed refusal rate was 57.7 percent.
  • The CBC took an average of 158 days to complete a request. It completed only 39 percent of new requests within 30 days.
  • The Office of the Information Commissioner received 134 complaints against the CBC, the most among the institutions reviewed this year.
  • The CBC notified the Office of the Information Commissioner in the one case in which it took an extension of more than 30 days.
  • The CBC has had difficultly recruiting experienced access to information employees.
  • The CBC had a significant backlog of requests at the beginning of 2009–2010, which it had reduced by 60 percent by the end of the year.
  • The number of administrative complaints against the CBC has dropped significantly over the three years it has been subject to the Access to Information Act: from 456 in 2007–2008 to 29 in 2009–2010.

Quick facts

Number of requests carried over from 2008–2009
108
Number of new requests
247
Number of requests completed
315
Deemed refusal rate*
57.7%
Average time to complete a request (in days)
158
Number of incoming consultation requests
38
Number of pages reviewed for requests completed
44,054
Number of complaints registered with the Office of the Information Commissioner
134
Number of complaints on hold pending litigation, as of March 31, 2010**
108
Number of complaints the Office of the Information Commissioner resolved***
36
Number of full-time equivalents responsible for both access to information and privacy, as of March 31, 2010
7.63
 

* Percentage of carried over and new requests delayed beyond the deadlines (30 days and extended) set out in the Access to Information Act. (See Appendix C for the formula the Office of the Information Commissioner used to calculate this rate.)

** Includes complaints from 2007–2008, 2008–2009 and 2009–2010

*** A complaint is resolved when the Office of the Information Commissioner finds it has merit, and the institution resolves it to the Commissioner’s satisfaction.

2009–2010 report card

Despite some signs of improvements in performance over previous years, the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (CBC) still did not live up to its access to information obligations in 2009–2010. It took an average of 158 days—more than five times the legislated 30 days—to complete a request and had a deemed refusal rate of 57.7 percent. It completed only 39 percent of requests within 30 days. It also reported that it completed 99 requests after the due date. Of these, 22 percent were late by more than 90 days.

How long requests completed late were overdue, 2009–2010

The large backlog of 108 requests the CBC faced at the beginning of 2009–2010 increased its access to information workload by nearly half. In all, the CBC processed more than 44,000 pages over the year and responded to 38 consultation requests from other federal institutions. The institution’s caseload was further compounded by the 134 complaints the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) received against the CBC, of which 105 were about its refusal to release records.

The CBC extended only one request for more than 30 days and did notify the OIC, as it is required to do under the Act. Having taken a limited number of extensions overall and only consulting other federal institutions occasionally, the prolonged turnaround time for requests at the CBC points to an initial unfamiliarity with these provisions of the Act, internal delays in the retrieval, review and approval processes as well as the age of the requests in its backlog.

The CBC reported that information management continues to challenge the access function, with office locations spread out across the country and no central system to facilitate records retrieval. Despite the fact that the network of access to information liaisons has been in place since the CBC became subject to the Act on September 1, 2007, and has made progress, CBC access officials said the access function is still new to the organization, and there continues to be a learning curve for all involved. The CBC access coordinator provided training sessions to senior management and the network of liaison officers to promote awareness and impart an understanding of the legislative obligations under the Act. However, there was little training for other working levels across the CBC.

Access to information workload, 2007–2008 to 2009–2010

This graph shows the sources of the CBC’s workload since it became subject to the Access to Information Act on September 1, 2007. The backlog of requests the CBC carried over into 2008–2009 outnumbered the new requests it received that year and had a significant impact on its workload. The situation improved in 2009–2010, with the number carried over dropping considerably.

The CBC estimated in the lead-up to becoming subject to the Act that it would receive 40 requests per month, and prepared to respond to this volume of requests. It staffed its access office with an experienced manager, two experienced analysts and one part-time support staff. As it happened, the CBC received 335 requests in its first month alone. Amid its struggle to process these requests, the CBC issued a news release a few months later to describe the steps it was taking to try to meet its obligations. The situation was compounded when waiting requesters complained to the OIC about the delays. The CBC engaged additional employees to process requests but others left, given the difficult circumstances.

Also in these early months, the CBC commissioned a report from an access to information expert that outlined the key challenges ahead. The expert noted that the range and nature of requests received were not unique to CBC and could be expected to continue. As it turned out, however, the number decreased: after receiving 547 requests in seven months in 2007–2008, the CBC received fewer than half as many (221) in 2008–2009 and only slightly more (247) in 2009–2010, indicating that the volume of requests may have stabilized.

In its 2009–2010 Freedom of Information Audit, the Canadian Newspaper Association found the CBC to be one of the least-open federal institutions. Access officials report that staff at all levels put a priority on programming but, overall, the institution is growing increasingly respectful and supportive of the legislation.

Exemptions and exclusions applied by the institution, 2009–2010

This graph shows how often the CBC applied the various exemptions and exclusions in the Act to the records it released in 2009–2010. The CBC used the exemptions under section 18 (economic interest) and section 21 (advice) most often and applied its section 68.1 exclusion 94 times. This exclusion pertains to records concerning the CBC’s journalistic, creative or programming activities.

The access coordinator (whose full title is Compliance Officer, Associate Corporate Secretary and Access to Information and Privacy Coordinator) and director share fully delegated authority for access to information decisions, with the important exception that only the coordinator may apply the CBC-specific exclusion that protects information of a programming, creative or journalistic nature (section 68.1). The CBC delegated identical authority to the two positions to ensure that the function is properly covered at all times, but it remains unclear to the OIC how this works in daily operations.

In terms of approvals, the access to information office forwards the relevant part of each proposed disclosure package to the appropriate vice-president—none of whom have delegated authority—for review before it is released. The CBC reported that the two-day turnaround for this step receives significant respect but also acknowledged that there are many competing pressures for attention at the executive level. There is a procedure by which the access to information director follows up when the two-day period expires, but with no clear indication that the files are released even when the vice-president does not meet this deadline, the OIC questions whether the consultation is for review or approval.

The access office staff has grown to include more than seven full-time equivalents, including a director with access experience in other government institutions. CBC notes that it is difficult to recruit experienced access to information employees. Access officials are currently developing a policy and procedures manual as well as a training program so that all employees can better understand their obligations.

Although the OIC is concerned with the CBC’s overall performance for 2009–2010, there are indications that the institution is trying to improve its operations to increase its compliance with the Act. The CBC reduced its backlog of access requests by 60 percent in 2009–2010. In addition, the average completion time for new requests in 2010 to date is 51 days, and delay complaints have diminished significantly recently.

Nonetheless, the OIC has assessed the CBC as having an F rating for 2009–2010, due to the very high deemed refusal rate and long average completion time.

Number and outcome of complaints received by the OIC, 2007–2008 to 2009–2010
  Resolved Not substantiated Discontinued Pending Total
2007–2008
Administrative 411 28 7 10 456
Refusals 0 21 1 56 78
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 0 0
Total 411 49 8 66 534
2008–2009
Administrative 32 6 2 0 40
Refusals 19 4 5 153 181
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 0 0
Total 51 10 7 153 221
2009–2010
Administrative 3 1 0 25 29
Refusals 33 0 3 69 105
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 0 0
Total 36 1 3 94 134
 

This table sets out the number and outcome of the complaints the OIC registered against the CBC in each of the three reporting periods since the CBC became subject to the Act on September 1, 2007. Resolved complaints are those that the OIC finds to have merit and that the institution resolves to the Commissioner’s satisfaction. Of all the institutions that became subject to the Act in 2007, the CBC has the highest aggregate number of complaints, at 889. It also had the highest number of complaints for 2009–2010 (134). More than three quarters (78 percent) of complaints in 2009–2010 were for refusal to disclose records. Most of the refusal complaints are still under investigation, but 91.6 percent of those that were completed were resolved. Three were discontinued. The number of administrative complaints against the CBC has significantly dropped over the last three years: from 456 in 2007–2008 to 29 in 2009–2010. This reduction in complaints has significantly reduced the CBC’s access to information workload. During 2009–2010, the OIC received 33 complaints on the CBC’s use of the section 68.1 exclusion, and this number has increased steadily since then. At the time of this writing, 181 such complaints were on hold due to legal proceedings. In Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (CBC) v. the Information Commissioner of Canada, the CBC maintained that, since the records were excluded under the Act, the Commissioner did not have a right to examine them during the investigation of a complaint. The Federal Court did not agree, ruling that the Commissioner has the authority to order the CBC to produce records if it would not do so willingly. The Federal Court decision is currently under appeal.

Recommendations

1. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that the President of the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation demonstrate leadership in establishing access to information as an institutional priority without exception. Access to information is a mandatory program and its associated legislated duties within a federal institution must be paramount.

Response

The President of the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation has and continues to demonstrate leadership in establishing access to information as an institutional priority. The Corporation’s proactive electronic posting is a recent example of this.

The President’s strong personal commitment to ensuring that transparency and accountability remain institutional priorities will be cascaded on an ongoing basis to all levels of the Corporation through its vice-presidents and their teams of senior managers. To re-emphasize the importance attached to the Access to Information Act (ATIA) by the Corporation, the President will continue to post electronic bulletins to employees during the new fiscal year explaining access to information developments and underlining the importance of the Act and his expectation that it will be complied with.

2. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation formulate and implement a clear, comprehensive and multi-year plan to improve the delivery of access to information services and improve compliance, including clarification of the retrieval, review and approval processes.

Response

In the slightly more than three years since becoming subject to the ATIA, the Corporation has quantifiably improved its delivery of access to information services and its compliance with the Act. The reduction in delay complaints made against the Corporation from 388 in 2007–2008, to 8 in 2009–2010 and to 0 as of December 8, 2010, reflects this. To ensure this progress continues, we have already implemented detailed quarterly reporting to the Chair of our Board of Directors, the President, and all vice-presidents and equivalents, on the status of all requests in their areas of responsibility, and we have also established monthly access to information newsletters to disseminate best practices across the organization.

A multi-year plan is being developed to ensure that internal ATIA processes for retrieval, review and approval are streamlined and as efficient as possible; that related process manuals used by access to information office staff and the Corporation’s network of access to information liaison officers remain current; that timely dissemination of best practices continues to occur; and that ATIA awareness, education and training products are systematically developed, maintained and delivered.

3. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation initiate training to promote access to information awareness across the entire institution.

Response

As confirmed in this report, training was provided to senior management and our network of access to information liaison officers throughout the Corporation in the period leading up to September 1, 2007, when we became subject to the ATIA. This year the access to information office began, and will continue, producing and disseminating a monthly newsletter to our internal network of access to information liaison officers, with the request that they distribute it further in their respective business areas.

As part of the multi-year plan referred to above, broad ATIA awareness and training needs will be assessed and a plan to respond to them will be developed by the end of the first quarter of the coming fiscal year. In the meantime, the access to information office will continue to respond to requests for awareness and training sessions.

4. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation reduce its deemed refusal rate to zero.

Response

We agree with the aim of this recommendation. This said, mistakes will inevitably occur that will cause some files to be answered late in spite of all best measures and practices. A deemed refusal rate of less than 5 percent appears to be a realistic target.

Reports detailing on-time and not on-time performance will continue to be submitted to the access to information coordinator on a weekly basis. Bi-weekly one-on-one meetings between the director and individual team leaders/analysts to review active requests and the timeliness of their processing will continue.

Our most recent newsletter to our internal network of access to information liaison officers dealt with extensions under the ATIA and explained when, why and how such extensions are to be asked for through the access to information office.

PreviousTable of contentsNext

Date modified:

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiche de rendement

Année


Précédent Table des matières Suivant

Société Radio-Canada

La Société Radio-Canada (Radio-Canada) est le radiodiffuseur public national du Canada. Cette société produit, acquiert et diffuse des programmes canadiens en anglais, en français et en huit langues autochtones.

En bref

Nombre de demandes reportées de 2008-2009
108
Nombre de nouvelles demandes
247
Nombre de demandes traitées
315
Taux de présomption de refus*
57.7%
Délai de traitement moyen des demandes (jours)
158
Nombre de demandes de consultation
38
Nombre de pages examinées dans le cadre des demandes traitées
44 054
Nombre de plaintes déposées au Commissariat à l’information
134
Nombre de plaintes en suspens pendant les procédures judiciaires
105
Nombre de plaintes résolues par le Commissariat à l’information**
36
Nombre d’équivalents temps plein responsables de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels, au 31 mars 2010
7.63
 

Faits saillants de la fiche de rendement pour 2009-2010

Note : F (Insatisfaisant)

  • Radio-Canada a affiché un taux de présomption de refus de 57,7 %.
  • Il a fallu en moyenne 158 jours à Radio-Canada pour traiter une demande. Elle a traité seulement 39 % des nouvelles demandes en 30 jours et moins.
  • Le Commissariat à l’information a reçu 134 plaintes contre Radio-Canada, soit le plus grand nombre relevé parmi les institutions visées par l’examen de cette année.
  • Radio-Canada a informé le Commissariat à l’information d’une seule prorogation de plus de 30 jours.
  • Radio-Canada a eu de la difficulté à recruter des employés d’expérience dans le domaine de l’accès à l’information.
  • Radio-Canada avait un important arriéré de demandes au début de 2009-2010, qu’elle a réduit de 60 % avant la fin de l’année.
  • Le nombre de plaintes administratives déposées contre Radio-Canada a considérablement diminué depuis les trois années au cours desquelles elle a été assujettie à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information : de 456 en 2007-2008, il est passé à 29 en 2009-2010.

* Pourcentage de demandes reportées et de nouvelles demandes retardées au-delà des délais (30 jours et prorogés) prescrits par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. (Voir l’annexe C pour connaître la formule utilisée par le Commissariat à l’information pour le calcul de ce taux.)

** Comprend les plaintes de 2007–2008, 2008–2009 et 2009–2010

*** Une plainte est résolue lorsque le Commissariat à l’information estime qu’elle est fondée et que l’institution la règle de façon satisfaisante aux yeux de la commissaire.

Fiche de rendement pour 2009-2010

Malgré les signes d’amélioration de son rendement par rapport aux années précédentes, la Société Radio-Canada (SRC) ne respecte toujours pas ses obligations en matière d’accès à l’information en 2009-2010. La société a pris en moyenne 158 jours pour traiter une demande, soit cinq fois plus de temps que le délai de 30 jours prévu par la Loi, et a affiché un taux de présomption de refus de 57,7 %. Elle n’a traité que 39 % des demandes en 30 jours et moins. Elle a aussi indiqué qu’elle avait traité 99 demandes après la date limite. De ce nombre, 22 % des demandes affichaient un retard de plus de 90 jours.

Retard des demandes traitées en 2009

Radio-Canada dit avoir traité 99 demandes reçues en 2009-2010 après la date limite. Ce graphique montre pendant combien de jours ces demandes sont demeurées actives au-delà de cette échéance. Il est préoccupant de constater que 62 % de ces demandes affichaient un retard de plus de 30 jours et 22 % de plus de 90 jours.

L’important arriéré de 108 demandes que Radio-Canada a reporté au début de l’année 2009-2010 a alourdi sa charge de travail en matière d’accès à l’information de près de 50 %. En tout, Radio-Canada a traité plus de 44 000 pages au cours de l’année et a répondu à 38 demandes de consultation d’autres institutions fédérales. La charge de travail de l’institution a encore augmenté en raison des 134 plaintes déposées au Commissariat à l’information contre Radio-Canada, dont 105 portaient sur son refus de communiquer les documents.

Radio-Canada a prorogé le délai d’une seule demande de plus de 30 jours et en a informé le Commissariat à l’information, comme l’exige la Loi. Étant donné que Radio-Canada n’a usé, en général, que d’un nombre limité de prorogations et qu’elle n’a consulté d’autres institutions qu’occasionnellement, le long délai de traitement des demandes à Radio-Canada indique une méconnaissance initiale des dispositions pertinentes de la Loi, des retards internes dans les processus de récupération, d’examen et d’approbation ainsi qu’un important arriéré de demandes en retard.

Radio-Canada affirme que la gestion de l’information continue de nuire à sa fonction d’accès, ses bureaux étant disséminés aux quatre coins du pays et n’ayant aucun système central pour faciliter la récupération des documents. Malgré le fait qu’un réseau d’agents de liaison pour l’accès à l’information soit en place depuis que Radio-Canada est assujettie à la Loi, le 1er septembre 2007, et qu’elle ait fait des progrès depuis, les responsables de l’accès de Radio-Canada disent que cette fonction est encore nouvelle pour l’organisation, et que chaque employé concerné continue d’en apprendre à ce sujet. Le coordonnateur de l’accès de Radio-Canada a offert des séances de formation aux membres de la haute direction et du réseau d’agents de liaison pour les sensibiliser davantage et leur faire comprendre leurs obligations en vertu de la Loi. Cependant, Radio-Canada a fourni peu de formation au reste des employés de la société.

Charge de travail liée à l’accès à l’information de 2007-2008 à 2009-2010

Ce graphique montre la distribution de la charge de travail de Radio-Canada depuis qu’elle est assujettie à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, soit depuis le 1er septembre 2007. L’arriéré de demandes reportées de 2007-2008 surpassait en nombre le volume de nouvelles demandes reçues par Radio-Canada en 2008-2009 et a eu des répercussions importantes sur la charge de travail. La situation s’est améliorée en 2009-2010, le nombre de demandes reportées ayant sensiblement diminué.

Avant l’assujettissement de l’institution à la Loi, Radio-Canada avait estimé qu’elle recevrait 40 demandes par mois et s’était donc préparée à répondre à ce volume de demandes. Elle a pourvu son bureau d’accès d’un gestionnaire d’expérience, de deux analystes d’expérience et d’un employé de soutien à temps partiel. Or, pendant le premier mois seulement, Radio-Canada a reçu 335 demandes. Comme elle se démenait pour traiter ces demandes, Radio-Canada a publié un communiqué de presse quelques mois plus tard afin d’expliquer les mesures qu’elle prendrait pour respecter ses obligations. La situation s’est ensuite aggravée quand des demandeurs en attente se sont plaints des retards au Commissariat. Radio-Canada a embauché des employés supplémentaires pour traiter les demandes, mais d’autres employés sont partis étant donné les circonstances difficiles.

Au cours de ces premiers mois, Radio-Canada a commandé à un expert en accès à l’information un rapport qui brossait le tableau des principales difficultés à venir. L’expert a déclaré que la portée et la nature des demandes reçues n’étaient pas propres à Radio-Canada, et qu’elle pouvait s’attendre à ce que la situation demeure la même. Toutefois, le nombre de demandes a finalement diminué : après avoir reçu 547 demandes en sept mois en 2007-2008, Radio-Canada en a reçu un peu moins de la moitié (221) en 2008-2009 et un peu plus en 2009-2010 (247), ce qui indique que le volume de demandes pourrait s’être stabilisé.

Dans une vérification de l’accès à l’information en 2009-2010, l’Association canadienne des journaux constatait que Radio-Canada était l’une des institutions fédérales les moins transparentes. Les responsables de l’accès affirment que la programmation constitue la priorité de tout le personnel, mais que, de façon générale, l’institution appuie de plus en plus la Loi et s’y conforme.

Exceptions et exclusions invoquées par l’institution en 2009-2010

Ce graphique montre combien de fois Radio-Canada a invoqué les diverses exceptions et exclusions prévues par la Loi dans les documents qu’elle a communiqués en 2009-2010. Radio-Canada a invoqué le plus souvent les exceptions prévues aux articles 18 (Intérêts économiques) et 21 (Avis) et a appliqué à 94 occasions l’exclusion prévue à l’article 68.1. Cette dernière s’applique aux documents découlant des activités de journalisme de création ou de programmation de la société.

Le coordonnateur de l’accès (dont le titre complet est agent responsable de la conformité, secrétaire général associé et coordonnateur de l’accès à l’information et à la protection des renseignements personnels) et le directeur se partagent les pleins pouvoirs délégués pour prendre les décisions en matière d’accès à l’information. Toutefois, seul le coordonnateur peut invoquer l’exclusion propre à Radio-Canada qui protège les informations se rapportant à ses activités de journalisme, de création ou de programmation (article 68.1). Radio-Canada a délégué des pouvoirs identiques à deux postes afin de s’assurer que cette fonction soit exercée correctement en tout temps, mais le Commissariat ne sait pas vraiment comment ce partage fonctionne dans les activités quotidiennes.

En ce qui concerne les approbations, le bureau d’accès à l’information envoie la partie pertinente de chaque ensemble de documents proposé au vice-président concerné — aucun d’entre eux n’a de pouvoir délégué —, qui le passe en revue avant sa communication. Radio-Canada affirme que le délai de traitement de deux jours associé à cette étape est bien respecté, mais reconnaît que de nombreuses pressions concurrentes exigent l’attention de la direction. Radio-Canada a adopté une procédure voulant que le directeur de l’accès à l’information assure un suivi à l’expiration du délai de deux jours. Cependant, comme rien n’indique que les documents sont communiqués si le vice-président ne respecte pas ce délai, le Commissariat se demande si cette consultation sert d’examen ou d’approbation.

D’autres employés se sont ajoutés au personnel du bureau d’accès, qui compte plus de sept équivalents temps plein, dont un directeur expérimenté en accès à l’information pour avoir travaillé dans d’autres institutions fédérales. Radio-Canada fait remarquer qu’il est difficile de recruter des employés d’expérience dans le domaine de l’accès à l’information. Les responsables de l’accès développent actuellement un guide de politiques et procédures ainsi qu’un programme de formation pour que tous les employés comprennent mieux leurs obligations.

Bien que le Commissariat soit préoccupé par le rendement de Radio-Canada en 2009-2010, on peut constater que l’institution fait des efforts pour améliorer son fonctionnement et accroître sa conformité à la Loi. Radio-Canada a réduit son arriéré de demandes d’accès de 60 % en 2009-2010. De plus, le délai de traitement moyen des nouvelles demandes à ce jour pour 2010 est de 51 jours, et le nombre de plaintes pour retard a considérablement diminué dernièrement.

Néanmoins, le Commissariat a accordé la note « F » à Radio-Canada pour 2009-2010, en raison du taux de présomption de refus très élevé et de la longueur du délai de traitement moyen.

Nombre et issue des plaintes déposées au Commissariat à l’information de 2007-2008 à 2009-2010
   Résolues Non fondées Abandonnées En suspens Total
2007–2008
Administratives 411 28 7 10 456
Refus 0 21 1 56 78
Documents confidentiels du Cabinet 0 0 0 0 0
Total 411 49 8 66 534
2008–2009
Administratives 32 6 2 0 40
Refus 19 4 5 153 181
Documents confidentiels du Cabinet 0 0 0 0 0
Total 51 10 7 153 221
2009–2010
Administratives 3 1 0 25 29
Refus 33 0 3 69 105
Documents confidentiels du Cabinet 0 0 0 0 0
Total 36 1 3 94 134

Ce tableau indique le nombre et l’issue des plaintes déposées contre Radio-Canada au Commissariat à l’information dans chacune des trois périodes de référence depuis que l’institution est assujettie à la Loi, soit depuis le 1er septembre 2007. Les plaintes résolues sont celles que le Commissariat estime fondées et que l’institution a résolues de façon satisfaisante aux yeux de la commissaire. De toutes les institutions qui ont été assujetties à la Loi en 2007, Radio-Canada présente le plus grand nombre total de plaintes avec 889 plaintes. C’est également elle qui a reçu le plus grand nombre de plaintes en 2009-2010, avec 134 plaintes. Plus des trois quarts (78 %) des plaintes déposées en 2009-2010 concernaient un refus de communiquer les documents. La plupart des plaintes pour refus font toujours l’objet d’une enquête, mais 91,6 % des plaintes entendues ont été résolues. Trois ont été abandonnées. Le nombre de plaintes administratives déposées contre Radio-Canada a considérablement diminué dans les trois dernières années : de 456 en 2007-2008, il est passé à 29 en 2009-2010. Cette diminution a considérablement allégé la charge de travail en matière d’accès à l’information de Radio-Canada. Au cours de l’exercice 2009–2010, le Commissariat a reçu 105 plaintes sur l’emploi que fait Radio-Canada de l’exclusion prévue à l’article 68.1, et ce nombre a constamment augmenté depuis. Ces plaintes sont actuellement en suspens en raison d’actions en justice. Dans la cause impliquant Radio-Canada et la commissaire à l'information du Canada, Radio-Canada soutenait que, comme les documents étaient exclus en vertu de la Loi, la commissaire n’avait pas le droit de les examiner dans le cadre d’une enquête relative à une plainte. La Cour fédérale n’était pas de cet avis, déclarant que la commissaire détient la compétence d’ordonner à Radio-Canada de produire des documents si elle ne le fait pas volontairement. La décision de la Cour fédérale fait actuellement l’objet d’un appel.

Recommandations

1. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que le président de Radio-Canada fasse preuve de leadership en faisant de l’accès à l’information une priorité institutionnelle, sans exception. L’accès à l’information est un programme obligatoire, et les exigences législatives connexes doivent avoir préséance au sein des institutions fédérales.

Réponse

Le président de Radio-Canada fait preuve de leadership, et continuera de le faire, en faisant de l’accès à l’information une priorité institutionnelle. L’initiative dont la société fait preuve avec la publication électronique en est un exemple récent.

L’engagement soutenu du président à l’égard des principes de transparence et de responsabilisation en tant que priorités institutionnelles sera continuellement communiqué à tous les échelons de la société par l’entremise des vice-présidents et de leurs équipes de cadres supérieurs. Pour réaffirmer l’importance que la société accorde à la Loisur l’accès à l’information, le président continuera de publier des bulletins électroniques à l’intention des employés au cours de la nouvelle année financière afin de leur présenter les progrès en matière d’accès à l’information et de leur faire comprendre l’importance de la Loi, et qu’il s’attend à ce qu’elle soit respectée.

2. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que Radio-Canada établisse et mette en œuvre un plan pluriannuel clair et détaillé pour améliorer la prestation des services d’accès à l’information et la conformité à la Loi, de même que les processus de récupération, d’examen et d’approbation.

Réponse

Depuis l’assujettissement de l’institution à la Loi, il y a un peu plus de trois ans, la société a considérablement amélioré la prestation de ses services d’accès à l’information et son degré de conformité à la Loi. La réduction du nombre de plaintes relatives aux retards déposées contre Radio-Canada, qui est passé de 388 en 2007-2008 à 8 en 2009-2010 et à 0 en date du 8 décembre 2010, le montre bien. Pour veiller à ce que ces progrès ne s’arrêtent pas là, nous avons déjà mis en œuvre un régime de production de rapports trimestriels détaillés à l’intention du président de notre conseil d’administration, du président de la société et de tous les vice-présidents et leurs équivalents pour les informer de l’état de chaque demande touchant leur sphère de compétence, et nous publions des bulletins mensuels sur l’accès à l’information pour faire connaître les pratiques exemplaires au sein de l’organisation.

Nous rédigeons actuellement un plan pluriannuel pour rendre les processus internes de récupération, d’examen et d’approbation en vertu de la Loi aussi simples et efficaces que possible, que les guides sur ces processus utilisés par le personnel du bureau d’accès à l’information et le réseau des agents de liaison pour l’accès à l’information demeurent à jour, que la diffusion rapide des pratiques exemplaires persiste et que des produits de sensibilisation, d’information et de formation sur la Loi soient systématiquement conçus, mis à jour et distribués.

3. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que Radio-Canada organise une série de formations pour promouvoir l’accès à l’information dans l’ensemble de l’institution.

Réponse

Comme le confirme ce rapport, les cadres supérieurs et notre réseau d’agents de liaison pour l’accès à l’information ont reçu de la formation dans la période précédant le 1er septembre 2007, lorsque nous avons été assujettis à la Loi. Cette année, le bureau d’accès à l’information a commencé, et continuera, à produire et à diffuser un bulletin mensuel à l’intention de notre réseau interne d’agents de liaison pour l’accès à l’information et leur demandant de le redistribuer dans leur secteur d’activité respectif.

Dans le cadre du plan pluriannuel mentionné ci-dessus, Radio-Canada évaluera ses besoins généraux en sensibilisation et en formation relativement à la Loi et établira un plan destiné à y répondre d’ici la fin du premier trimestre de l’année financière à venir. Entre-temps, le bureau d’accès à l’information continuera de répondre aux demandes de séances de sensibilisation et de formation.

4. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que Radio-Canada réduise son taux de présomption de refus pour l’amener à zéro.

Réponse

Nous sommes d’accord avec l’objectif de cette recommandation. Cela étant dit, il se produira nécessairement des erreurs qui entraîneront des retards dans le traitement de certaines demandes malgré toutes les mesures et les meilleures pratiques possible. Un taux de présomption de refus de moins de 5 % semble un objectif réaliste.

Le coordonnateur de l’accès à l’information continuera de recevoir chaque semaine des rapports détaillés sur les demandes traitées à temps et en retard. Le directeur et les chefs d’équipe ou les analystes continueront de se réunir toutes les deux semaines afin d’examiner les demandes actives et la rapidité de leur traitement.

Notre tout dernier bulletin à l’intention du réseau interne des agents de liaison pour l’accès à l’information portait sur les prorogations en vertu de la Loi et expliquait à quel moment, pour quelles raisons et de quelle manière ces prorogations doivent être invoquées par l’intermédiaire du bureau d’accès à l’information.

Précédent Table des matières Suivant