Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Report Cards

Year


Previous Table of contents Next

Atomic Energy of Canada Limited

Atomic Energy of Canada Limited (AECL) supplies nuclear technology and services to utilities, and designs and builds CANDU reactors. AECL also provides research and development support and construction management services, designs and engineers specialized technology, manages nuclear waste and decommissions reactors.

2009–2010 report card at a glance

Rating: B+ (Above average)

  • AECL completed all of its requests by their due date, for a deemed refusal rate of zero percent.
  • The average request completion time was 33.08 days.
  • AECL benefited in 2009–2010 from having eliminated the previous year the backlog of requests that had been growing since 2007, when the corporation first became subject to the Access to Information Act.
  • AECL proactively released information, resulting in fewer formal access requests.
  • AECL held training sessions for some third-party stakeholders to explain the Act, which facilitated outgoing consultations.
  • AECL had three complaints registered against it with the Office of the Information Commissioner, all of which are pending.
  • There were no administrative complaints against AECL in the last two years, compared to 22 in 2007–2008. This significantly reduced AECL’s access to information workload, enabling the corporation to provide better service to requesters.
  • AECL could better ensure it receives timely responses to its outgoing consultations by contacting the institution being consulted at the outset of the consultation period rather than close to the deadline.
  • AECL did not notify the Office of the Information Commissioner of any of the 13 extensions it took that were for more than 30 days.

Quick facts

Number of requests carried over from 2008–2009
4
Number of new requests
108
Number of requests completed
111
Deemed refusal rate*
0%
Average time to complete a request (in days)
33.08
Number of incoming consultation requests
35
Number of pages reviewed for requests completed
12,521
Number of complaints registered with the Office of the Information Commissioner
3
Number of complaints the Office of the Information Commissioner resolved**
0
Number of full-time equivalents responsible exclusively for access to information, as of March 31, 2010
1.5
 

*Percentage of carried over and new requests delayed beyond the deadlines (30 days and extended) set out in the Access to Information Act. (See Appendix C for the formula the Office of the Information Commissioner used to calculate this rate.)

**A complaint is resolved when the Office of the Information Commissioner finds it has merit, and the institution resolves it to the Commissioner’s satisfaction.

2009–2010 report card 

Atomic Energy of Canada Limited (AECL) had a successful year in access to information in 2009–2010. Having spent the previous year clearing the backlog that had built up in 2007–2008 and carrying over only four requests into 2009–2010, AECL was in a good position to take on 108 new requests. Access staff completed all but one of the total caseload of 112 requests during the year, and completed each request by its due date (including 16 extensions), for a deemed refusal rate of zero percent. The average request completion time was 33.08 days. AECL had 1.5 full-time employees working exclusively on access to information in 2009–2010, which the corporation deemed adequate for managing the workload.

AECL’s access to information staff encountered difficulties in 2007–2008, the first year the institution was subject to the Access to Information Act. Senior executives were concerned about releasing records pertaining to Canada’s nuclear energy administration into an unknown public environment. Scientists were equally concerned about protecting the integrity of their research. Compounding the problem, requests were delayed in the shipping/receiving area because there was no formal access to information office and no one knew where else to send them. This lack of organization created a general uneasiness that, in turn, led AECL management to route all responses through the corporation’s communications unit in Toronto.

The situation changed for the better when AECL hired an experienced access coordinator who was familiar with AECL. AECL employees were trained in the legal and administrative implications of the Act, which went a long way to reducing the collective level of concern, particularly among senior executives and members of the board of directors. The access to information office was eventually moved from External Relations and Communications to the office of the General Counsel and Corporate Secretary, which AECL reports has helped diminish excessive scrutiny of files.

Access to information workload, 2007–2008 to 2009–2010

This graph shows the sources of AECL’s workload since it became subject to the Access to Information Act on September 1, 2007. AECL carried over a large backlog into its second year of operation, but was subsequently able to bring it down to a manageable level. This allowed AECL to handle its new request caseload in 2009–2010, which had increased 28 percent from the previous year.

With a gradually better understanding of the law, an open channel of communication between the access coordinator and the executive cadre, a smaller volume of new requests in 2008–2009, which allowed access staff to get ahead of the backlog, an experienced coordinator and growing confidence in the process on the part of senior management, the institution evolved to achieve above average performance in 2009–2010. The improvement in access operations is also shown in the number and type of complaints the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) received about AECL over the last three years: the OIC received only three exclusion complaints in 2009–2010 (all pending), compared to 22 administrative complaints in 2007–2008 (all of which were resolved). There was one mark against AECL, however, and that is that it did not notify the OIC of any of the extensions it took in 2009–2010 that were for longer than 30 days, as required by the Act.

Exemptions and exclusions applied by the institution, 2009–2010

This graph shows how often AECL applied the various exemptions and exclusions in the Act to the records it released in 2009–2010. AECL used the exemptions under section 21 (advice) and section 19 (personal information) the most often. Its application of exclusions was limited, with the exception of its own exclusion (section 68.2), which it used 10 times during the year. Section 68.2 excludes from release all records AECL holds, with two exceptions: information about its general administration and about the operation of nuclear facilities regulated by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission.

AECL has its own exclusion under the Act. Section 68.2 excludes from release all records AECL holds, with two exceptions: information about its general administration and about the operation of nuclear facilities regulated by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission. In light of this exclusion, AECL was initially reluctant to allow the OIC to review any excluded records that were the subject of a complaint. The OIC worked with the access to information coordinator during 2009–2010 to correct the misperception that AECL was not required to provide the OIC with all the records it needs to investigate complaints.

A minor concern is AECL’s approach to outgoing consultations. Currently, access officials do not negotiate a timeline with the institution being consulted at the start of the consultation period. Rather, they only get in touch when the deadline is near, which may result in unnecessary delays. Natural Resources Canada also responds to requests related to the nuclear energy sector, such as those pertaining to medical isotopes, and it was the source of the majority of the 35 consultation requests that AECL received in 2009–2010.

AECL has put a number of measures in place that have led to the efficient processing of requests. For example, the offices that hold the records submit their responsive documents to the access office with no initial recommendations, but receive a copy of the proposed disclosure package, which they accept, according to AECL, without question in an estimated 95 percent of cases. There are also five days built into the process for any senior management review of potentially sensitive files, after which the coordinator releases the information. The coordinator has fully delegated authority for access to information decisions, with two exceptions: the President and CEO retained the authority to release personal information that is publicly available (under paragraph 19(2)(b) of the Act), and the President and CEO may also decide to release third-party information, in areas such as public health and safety, and the protection of the environment, that would otherwise be exempt under subsection 20(6).

AECL has made outreach efforts in communities where it has a presence. This best practice has resulted in access officials being able to save both time and resources. For example, AECL met with community leaders and residents of Port Hope, Ontario, who wanted more information about the remediation of soil contaminated with low-level radiation. In response, AECL made both institutional and personal information accessible informally, promoting transparency, assisting citizens and also averting numerous formal access and privacy requests. AECL also delivered training to some of its third-party stakeholders to apprise them of the implications of the Act, which facilitated consultations.

The access to information and privacy office has seen its overall workload increase due to an influx of privacy requests from its own employees, specifically with regard to AECL’s historical radiation testing. Employees are seeking their personal dosemetry records, which indicate radiation absorption levels. These records are also subject to provincial health records legislation, which has meant that AECL staff has had to undertake negotiations on behalf of employees to get them released.

Continued diligent stewardship of AECL’s access to information office will ensure its future success. Its current approach to its obligations has earned AECL an above average performance rating of B+ for 2009–2010.

Number and outcome of complaints received by the OIC, 2007–2008 to 2009–2010
Resolved Not substantiated Discontinued Pending Total
2007–2008
Administrative 22 0 0 0 22
Refusals 2 2 0 0 4
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 0 0
Total 24 2 0 0 26
2008–2009
Administrative 0 0 0 0 0
Refusals 0 1 0 2 3
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 0 0
Total 0 1 0 2 3
2009–2010
Administrative 0 0 0 0 0
Refusals 0 0 0 3 3
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 0 0
Total 0 0 0 3 3

This table sets out the number and outcome of the complaints the OIC registered against AECL in each of the three reporting periods since AECL became subject to the Act on September 1, 2007. Resolved complaints are those that the OIC finds to have merit and that the institution resolves to the Commissioner’s satisfaction. In 2009–2010, the OIC received three refusal complaints against AECL, all of which are still under investigation. Since there were also only three complaints in 2008–2009, it may be that the volume has stabilized. In any event, the number of complaints in these two years is a noteworthy improvement from 2007–2008, when the OIC received 26 complaints about AECL. Also noteworthy is that AECL was not the subject of any administrative complaints in 2008–2009 and 2009–2010, after receiving 22 in 2007–2008. This reduction in complaints likely reflects AECL’s growing familiarity with the Act, and has significantly reduced AECL’s workload, enabling it to provide better service to requesters.

Recommendations

1. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Atomic Energy of Canada Limited comply with the Act and notify the Office of the Information Commissioner of the extensions it takes for more than 30 days.

Response

The access to information office will ensure that it provides a copy of any extension notices of more than 30 days to the Office of the Information Commissioner.

2. In order to more accurately estimate an appropriate turnaround time for consultations and avoid delays, the Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that the Atomic Energy of Canada Limited access to information office implement a procedure to contact, at the earliest opportunity, institutions that it will be consulting to negotiate a response date.

Response

In order to avoid any delays, the access to information office will put into procedure that it will contact any institution within five business days after sending a consultation notice in regards to release.

Previous Table of contents Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiche de rendement

Année


Précédent Table des matières Suivant

Énergie atomique du Canada limitée

Énergie atomique du Canada limitée (EACL) fournit la technologie et les services nucléaires aux centrales électriques et conçoit et fabrique les réacteurs CANDU. EACL offre également du soutien en recherche et développement ainsi que des services en gestion de projets de construction, conçoit et met sur pied des technologies spécialisées, gère les déchets nucléaires et le déclasse les réacteurs.

En bref

Nombre de demandes reportées de 2008-2009
4
Nombre de nouvelles demandes
108
Nombre de demandes traitées
111
Taux de présomption de refus*
0 %
Délai de traitement moyen des demandes (jours)
33,08
Nombre de demandes de consultation
35
Nombre de pages examinées dans le cadre des demandes traitées
12 521
Nombre de plaintes déposées au Commissariat à l’information
3
Nombre de plaintes résolues par le Commissariat à l’information**
0
Nombre d’équivalents temps plein responsables exclusivement de l’accès à l’information, au 31 mars 2010
1,5
 

Faits saillants de la fiche de rendement pour 2009-2010

Note : B+ (Supérieur à la moyenne)

  • EACL a traité toutes ses demandes avant leur date d’échéance, ce qui donne un taux de présomption de refus de 0 %.
  • Le délai de traitement moyen des demandes était de 33,08 jours.
  • En 2009-2010, EACL a tiré profit du fait qu’elle avait éliminé, au cours de l’année précédente, son arriéré de demandes, qui ne cessait d’augmenter depuis 2007, date à laquelle la société a été assujettie à la Loisur l’accès à l’information.
  • EACL a fait preuve d’initiative dans la communication de renseignements, ce qui a réduit le nombre de demandes d’accès officielles qu’elle a reçues.
  • EACL a tenu des séances de formation à l’intention de certains tiers intervenants afin de leur expliquer la Loi, ce qui a facilité ses consultations externes.
  • EACL a fait l’objet de trois plaintes au Commissariat à l’information, toutes étant en suspens à l’heure actuelle.
  • Aucune plainte administrative n’a été déposée contre EACL dans les deux dernières années, comparativement à 22 en 2007-2008. La charge de travail d’EACL relative à l’accès à l’information s’en est trouvée sensiblement réduite, ce qui a permis à la société d’offrir de meilleurs services aux demandeurs.
  • EACL pourrait recevoir une réponse plus rapide à ses demandes de consultation externe si elle communiquait avec l’institution qu’elle consulte au tout début de la période de consultation plutôt qu’à l’approche de la date d’échéance.
  • EACL n’a informé le Commissariat à l’information d’aucune des 13 prorogations de plus de 30 jours.

* Pourcentage de demandes reportées et de nouvelles demandes retardées au-delà des délais (30 jours et prorogés) prescrits par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. (Voir l’annexe C pour connaître la formule utilisée par le Commissariat à l’information pour le calcul de ce taux.)

**Une plainte est résolue lorsque le Commissariat à l’information estime qu’elle est fondée et que l’institution la règle de façon satisfaisante aux yeux de la commissaire.

Fiche de rendement pour 2009-2010

L’année 2009-2010 a été bonne sur le plan de l’accès à l’information pour Énergie atomique du Canada limitée (EACL). Après avoir passé l’année précédente à éliminer l’arriéré qui s’était formé en 2007-2008 et n’ayant reporté que quatre demandes en 2009-2010, EACL était bien placée pour assumer les 108 nouvelles demandes qu’elle a reçues. Le personnel chargé de l’accès à l’information a traité l’ensemble des 112 demandes, à l’exception d’une seule, au cours de l’année, et a traité chaque demande avant sa date d’échéance (en comptant 16 prorogations), ce qui donne un taux de présomption de refus de 0 %. Son délai de traitement moyen des demandes était de 33,08 jours. EACL employait 1,5 employé à plein temps qui s’est consacré exclusivement à l’accès à l’information en 2009-2010, effectif que la société juge suffisant pour gérer la charge de travail.

Charge de travail liée à l’accès à l’information de 2007-2008 à 2009-2010

Ce graphique montre la distribution de la charge de travail d’EACL depuis qu’elle est assujettie à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, soit depuis le 1er septembre 2007. Pendant sa deuxième année d’opération, EACL a dû traiter un important arriéré de demandes, mais elle a ensuite été capable de le ramener à un niveau raisonnable. Cela a permis à EACL de traiter le volume de nouvelles demandes reçues en 2009-2010, qui avait augmenté de 28 % par rapport à l’année précédente.

Le personnel de l’accès à l’information d’EACL a éprouvé des difficultés en 2007-2008, soit la première année où l’institution était assujettie à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Les cadres supérieurs étaient anxieux de communiquer des documents relatifs à l’administration de l’énergie nucléaire au Canada dans un environnement public inconnu. Les scientifiques craignaient également pour l’intégrité de leurs recherches. De plus, le traitement des demandes était retardé à l’étape de l’envoi et de la réception, parce qu’il n’existait pas de bureau officiel d’accès à l’information et que personne ne savait où envoyer ces demandes. Cette absence de leadership et d’organisation a créé un malaise général qui, à son tour, a poussé la direction d’EACL à acheminer toutes les réponses par l’intermédiaire de l’unité des communications de la société à Toronto.

La situation s’est améliorée lorsqu’EACL a embauché un coordonnateur de l’accès expérimenté qui connaissait bien l’institution. Les employés d’EACL ont reçu une formation sur les implications juridiques et administratives de la Loi, ce qui a permis de réduire considérablement l’inquiétude collective, en particulier parmi les cadres supérieurs et les membres du conseil d’administration. Le bureau d’accès à l’information, auparavant sous Relations extérieures et communications, relève maintenant de l’avocat général principal et secrétaire général, ce qui, selon EACL, a contribué à réduire les excès dans l’examen des dossiers.

Grâce à une meilleure compréhension graduelle de la Loi, à une communication libre entre le coordonnateur de l’accès et l’effectif de la direction, à la réduction du volume de nouvelles demandes en 2008-2009 qui a permis au personnel responsable de l’accès à l’information de s’attaquer à l’arriéré de demandes, à un coordonnateur expérimenté et à une confiance croissante dans le processus de la part de la haute direction, l’institution a fait des progrès pour finalement obtenir un rendement supérieur à la moyenne en 2009-2010. L’amélioration de ses activités relatives à l’accès se ressent aussi dans le nombre et le genre de plaintes déposées contre EACL au Commissariat à l’information au cours des trois dernières années. Le Commissariat a reçu seulement trois plaintes relatives aux exclusions en 2009-2010 (toutes en suspens), comparativement à 22 plaintes administratives en 2007-2008 (ayant toutes été résolues). Cependant, un élément laisse une tache au dossier d’EACL : la société n’a informé le Commissariat d’aucune de ses prorogations de plus de 30 jours en 2009-2010, comme l’exige la Loi.

Exceptions et exclusions invoquées par l’institution en 2009-2010

Ce graphique montre combien de fois EACL a invoqué les diverses exceptions et exclusions de la Loi dans les documents qu’elle a communiqués en 2009-2010. EACL a invoqué le plus souvent les exceptions prévues à l’article 21 (Avis) et à l’article 19 (Renseignements personnels). Elle a peu invoqué les diverses exclusions, à l’exception de celle qui lui est propre (article 68.2), qu’elle a appliquée à 10 occasions au cours de l’année. L’article 68.2 soustrait à la communication tous les documents détenus par EACL, à deux exceptions près : les renseignements concernant son administration générale et ceux se rapportant à l’exploitation des installations nucléaires réglementées par la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire.

La Loi prévoit une exclusion spécifique à la société. L’article 68.2 soustrait à la communication tous les documents détenus par EACL, à deux exceptions près : les renseignements concernant son administration générale et ceux se rapportant à l’exploitation des installations nucléaires réglementées par la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire. Étant donné cette exclusion, EACL était d’abord réticente à l’idée de permettre au Commissariat d’examiner des documents exclus qui faisaient l’objet d’une plainte. En 2009-2010, le Commissariat a collaboré avec le coordonnateur de l’accès à l’information afin de corriger la perception erronée selon laquelle EACL n’était pas tenue de fournir au Commissariat tous les documents dont ce dernier avait besoin pour enquêter sur les plaintes.

Le processus de consultation externe d’EACL pose un léger problème. Actuellement, les responsables de l’accès à l’information ne négocient pas de délai avec l’institution consultée au tout début de la période de consultation. Ils communiquent plutôt avec elle à l’approche de l’échéance, ce qui peut entraîner des retards inutiles. Ressources naturelles Canada traite également des demandes d’accès à l’information relatives au secteur de l’énergie nucléaire, notamment au sujet des isotopes employés à des fins médicales, et était l’auteur de la plupart des 35 demandes de consultation qu’EACL a reçues en 2009-2010.

EACL a adopté un certain nombre de mesures favorisant l’efficacité du traitement des demandes. Par exemple, les bureaux qui possèdent les documents visés soumettent les documents pertinents au bureau d’accès sans formuler de recommandations initiales, mais reçoivent un exemplaire de l’ensemble proposé de pièces à communiquer, qu’ils acceptent d’office, selon EACL, dans environ 95 % des cas. Par ailleurs, le processus prévoit explicitement un délai de cinq jours pour que la haute direction examine les dossiers pouvant renfermer des renseignements de nature délicate, après quoi le coordonnateur communique les renseignements demandés. Le coordonnateur possède les pleins pouvoirs délégués pour prendre les décisions en matière d’accès à l’information, à deux exceptions près : le président-directeur général a conservé le pouvoir de communiquer les renseignements personnels accessibles au public (en vertu de l’alinéa 19(2)b) de la Loi) et peut aussi décider de communiquer des renseignements relatifs à un tiers, se rapportant notamment à la santé et à la sécurité publique ou à la protection de l’environnement, qui pourraient autrement faire l’objet d’une exception selon le paragraphe 20(6).

EACL a organisé des activités de sensibilisation dans les collectivités où elle est présente. Cette pratique exemplaire a fait en sorte que les responsables de l’accès à l’information ont pu économiser à la fois temps et ressources. Par exemple, EACL a rencontré les dirigeants et les habitants de Port Hope, en Ontario, qui voulaient en savoir plus sur la remise en état des sols contaminés par un rayonnement de faible activité. En réponse, EACL a officieusement divulgué des renseignements institutionnels et personnels afin de promouvoir la transparence, d’aider les citoyens et de prévenir de nombreuses demandes officielles d’accès à l’information et de communication de renseignements personnels. EACL a également offert de la formation à certains tiers intervenants pour les informer des implications de la Loi, ce qui a facilité les consultations.

Le bureau d’accès à l’information et de protection des renseignements personnels a reçu des demandes de communication de renseignements personnels de ses propres employés, en particulier à l’égard des essais de rayonnement historiques d’EACL, ce qui a augmenté sa charge de travail globale. Les employés désirent consulter leur propre dossier de dosimétrie, qui indique les taux d’absorption de rayonnement. Ces documents sont également soumis aux lois provinciales sur les dossiers médicaux, ce qui signifie que le personnel d’EACL a dû entreprendre des négociations au nom des employés pour que ceux-ci leur soient communiqués.

L’intendance minutieuse dont fait continuellement preuve le bureau d’accès à l’information d’EACL assurera son succès futur. Sa ligne de conduite actuelle face à ses obligations a mérité à EACL la note « B+ » pour un rendement supérieur à la moyenne en 2009-2010.

 
Nombre et issue des plaintes déposées au Commissariat à l’information de 2007-2008 à 2009-2010
 RésoluesNon fondéesAbandonnéesEn suspensTotal
2007–2008
Administratives1750022
Refus22004
Documents confidentiels du Cabinet00000
Total2420026
2008–2009
Administratives00000
Refus01023
Documents confidentiels du Cabinet00000
Total01023
2009–2010
Administratives00000
Refus00033
Documents confidentiels du Cabinet00000
Total00033

Ce tableau indique le nombre et l’issue des plaintes déposées contre EACL au Commissariat à l’information dans chacune des trois périodes de référence depuis que l’institution est assujettie à la Loi, soit depuis le 1er septembre 2007. Les plaintes résolues sont celles que le Commissariat estime fondées et que l’institution a résolues de façon satisfaisante aux yeux de la commissaire. En 2009-2010, le Commissariat a reçu trois plaintes de refus contre EACL, qui font toutes l’objet d’une enquête à l’heure actuelle. Comme seulement trois plaintes ont également été déposées en 2008-2009, on peut penser que la situation s’est stabilisée. Quoi qu’il en soit, le nombre de plaintes reçues pendant ces deux années constitue une amélioration notable par rapport à 2007-2008, où le Commissariat avait reçu 26 plaintes contre EACL. Il convient aussi de remarquer qu’EACL n’a fait l’objet d’aucune plainte administrative en 2008-2009 et 2009-2010, par rapport à 22 en 2007-2008. Cette réduction du nombre de plaintes est sans doute attribuable à une meilleure connaissance de la Loi par EACL, et a considérablement réduit sa charge de travail, lui permettant d’offrir un meilleur service aux demandeurs.

Recommandations

1. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande qu’Énergie atomique du Canada limitée se conforme à la Loi et informe le Commissariat à l’information des prorogations de plus de 30 jours.

Réponse

Le bureau d’accès à l’information fournira une copie des avis de prorogation de plus de 30 jours au Commissariat à l’information.

2. Afin d’établir avec plus d’exactitude un délai de consultation approprié et d’éviter les retards, le Commissariat à l’information recommande qu’Énergie atomique du Canada limitée mette en œuvre une procédure pour communiquer, dès que possible, avec les institutions qu’elle consultera afin de convenir avec elles d’un délai de réponse.

Réponse

En vue d’éviter tout retard, le bureau d’accès à l’information mettra en place une procédure selon laquelle il communiquera avec l’institution dans les cinq jours ouvrables suivant l’envoi d’un avis de consultation ayant trait à la communication de renseignements.

PrécédentTable des matièresSuivant