Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Report Cards

Year


Previous Table of contents Next

Chapter 3. A Tale of Best and Worst Performers: 2009-2010 Report Cards

For the 2009–2010 report cards, the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) examined institutions that had only recently become subject to the Access to Information Act. The new institutions are different in a number of regards from the departments and agencies the OIC usually assesses and bring a different perspective on access to information operations.

This year's cohort comprises Crown corporations and Agents of Parliament. Crown corporations operate in a largely private sector environment and have both commercial and public policy objectives.6 These corporations are wholly owned by the Crown but are managed by a board of directors appointed by the government. They obtain public funds through various funding vehicles, depending on their governing statute and the Financial Administration Act. In 2010, total parliamentary funding for all Crown corporations was $6.666 billion. Of the five the OIC assessed, Atomic Energy Canada Limited, the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation and the National Arts Centre Corporation each receive part of their funding through parliamentary appropriations. VIA Rail Canada Inc. receives its funding from the Government of Canada based on cash flow requirements, and the Canada Post Corporation receives compensation for certain programs it undertakes on behalf of the government, such the Food Mail Program, and may also borrow funds from the Government of Canada's Consolidated Revenue Fund.

Agents of Parliament, such as the Auditor General and Information and Privacy Commissioners, are independent officers who scrutinize the activities of government in relation to duties assigned to institutions by statute. They report directly to Parliament, not to an individual minister, and receive their funding through parliamentary appropriations. The appointment of these Agents usually involves the House of Commons, the Senate or both, who deliberate on recommendations by the government.

The OIC selected for assessment institutions about which it had received more than five complaints since they had become subject to the Act. Despite having varying fiscal years, each institution reported their results for the report card process from the period from April 1, 2009 to March 31, 2010, as per a Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat directive. The institutions' complete responses to the OIC questionnaire are posted on the OIC website.

General Findings

Table 5 provides the 2009–2010 ratings by institution. The OIC assigned scores ranging from A to F, based on how well the institutions met a series of criteria (see Appendix C). These include timeliness and compliance with statutory obligations, as well as qualitative data.

Table 5. Rating for institution assessed, 2009-2010
Institutions Letter grade Overall performance rating
National Arts Centre Corporation A Outstanding
Office of the Auditor General of Canada A Outstanding
Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada* A Outstanding
Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada A Outstanding
Atomic Energy Canada Limited B+ Above average
VIA Rail Canada Inc. B Above average
Canadian Broadcasting Corporation F Unsatisfactory
Canada Post Corporation Off chart Red alert

*The performance of the Office of the Information Commissioner was assessed by Mario Dion, the Information Commissioner ad hoc at the time of reporting.

The institutions falls into two groups in terms of their performance in 2009–2010: the National Arts Centre Corporation (NAC), Office of the Auditor General (OAG), Office of the Information Commissioner, Office of the Privacy Commissioner (OPC), Atomic Energy of Canada Limited (AECL) and VIA Rail Canada Inc. which achieved an above average or better rating; and the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (CBC) and Canada Post Corporation, which received an unsatisfactory grade or worse.

Although this year's cohort is small and accounts for less than 2 percent of all access requests the federal government received in 2009-2010, it features the largest proportion of top performers since the OIC started issuing report cards in 1999. The six institutions with above average or higher ratings exhibited many of the key components that the OIC has identified in previous report cards as being directly responsible for enhanced access to information compliance-notably, strong leadership, appropriate delegation orders and adequate resources. These institutions have also demonstrated distinctive characteristics and approaches that contributed to the strong compliance levels they were able to achieve.

On the other hand, it would seem that the CBC and Canada Post did not fully recognize the significance of the Act and the principles of freedom of information. This translated into high rates of requests being completed beyond the legislated deadline (known as deemed refusals), lengthy average completion times and protracted approval processes, all of which put them at the bottom of the performance scale. Much improvement is required.

No new systemic issues emerged.7 As noted, the best performers have the right ingredients in place to fulfil their obligations under the Act, including, above all, leadership. The worst performing institutions did not give access to information the priority it deserves as a legislated responsibility.

Requesters have the right under the Act to timely access to information. Consequently, a delayed response is considered to be a deemed refusal to release the requested information. The Act allows 30 days to complete a request in normal circumstances and makes it possible to extend that period in specific situations. Since institutions must comply with the law, a deemed refusal rate of zero-that is, all requests are completed within 30 days or within the extended time period-should be the universal goal. The cohort of institutions surveyed for 2009-2010 includes some of the best and the worst deemed refusal rates since the OIC started doing report cards.

Deemed refusal rate, 2009–2010

As illustrated in Figure 5, access to information requesters can expect a quick turnaround on their requests from most institutions surveyed this year. In many cases, turnaround times are less than the basic deadline of 30 days set out in the Act. The CBC's and Canada Post's average completion times were much longer, but extensions were not a factor. The CBC, in fact, only took one extension in the reporting period. Canada Post reported that it did not take extensions to manage its workload. Internal delays in the processing of access requests are the main culprit in the delays.

Average time to complete a request, 2009–2010

Finally, in terms of workload, as Figure 6 illustrates, the CBC dealt with a much higher workload than the others, with AECL and Canada Post distant seconds. None of the institutions surveyed this year commented on lacking resources to fulfill their obligations under the Act.

Workload, 2009–2010

Building Capacity

In addition to reviewing whether these selected institutions responded to their requests in a timely fashion, the OIC collected, through its questionnaire and follow-up interview, valuable information on their start-up efforts, including the challenges they encountered being newly subject to the Act. In particular, the OIC looked at how institutions managed in terms of finding and training staff, developing the tools necessary for an effective access program and fostering internal support for the function.

Personnel

Several institutions hired an experienced access coordinator and staffed the analyst positions with employees who were familiar with institutional operations: analysts could readily locate records and the coordinator could ably apply the Act, resulting in an efficient approach to responding to requests. Citing a lack of in-house expertise when initially subjected to the Act, three of the institutions (AECL, Canada Post and VIA) engaged consultants to establish their access offices and operations. This included establishing budgets, networks and communication processes, and delivering training to staff. In some cases, the consultants remained with these institutions to process incoming requests or to play training and advisory roles that continue to this day.

Training and Tools

Institutions universally reported that training was an immediate priority. However, who delivered the training and how varied greatly, as did the target audiences. Institutions offered various levels of training-ranging from that aimed at access to information analysts who needed specific instruction on how to apply the Act, to general training for senior executives and liaison officers. In certain institutions, access officials reported that they had to familiarize all staff about the obligations associated with access to information legislation. However, given time constraints and workload, this was not always accomplished, leading to gaps in employee familiarity with the need for efficient responses to tasking requests for records-gaps that persist in some institutions. Access staff usually posted policies, procedures and guidelines on the institution's intranet site as easily accessible resources for employees. Most institutions developed their own policies, guidelines and procedures or are in the process of doing so.

Internal Support

The culture of the subject institutions, since they are new to the Act, was of considerable interest to the OIC. Each member of this year’s cohort has had historically to report on its business and results each year, but has never had to reveal the details of its operations. Becoming subject to the Act has changed that, since details of their operations and decisions can suddenly be made public.

The Office of the Privacy Commissioner and the OIC reported that it was not a great stretch for them to become subject to the Act because an appreciation of the value that information has for its holders was already part of the corporate culture. Similarly, the Office of the Auditor General reported that the access to information function complemented its mandate, since auditors expect a high level of transparency from the organizations they audit. As a result, it was quite amenable to exposing its own organization to the same level of scrutiny. The open outlook inherent in the mandates of these three institutions had a direct and positive impact on their performance. The outlook at both Canada Post and the CBC was different. Officials there emphasized that their operations were unique and more complex than those of other institutions and, consequently, required additional protections—for competitive commercial activities, and journalistic and programming activities, respectively. An evident apprehension about disclosing information resulted in significant delays in responding to access to information requests at both institutions.


6 A Crown corporation can either be an agent or a non-agent of the Crown. Agent corporations are conferred the immunities, privileges and prerogatives of the Crown, such as immunity from taxes. Atomic Energy of Canada Limited, Canada Post and the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation have agent status. The National Arts Centre Corporation and VIA Rail Canada Inc. are non-agents. See Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat, Agent status and Crown corporations: http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/gov-gouv/agent-mandataire/agent-mandataire-eng.asp.

7 In the previous special reports, the OIC identified six systemic issues: leadership, time extensions and consultations, resources, records management and delegation orders.

Previous Table of contents Next

Date modified:

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiche de rendement

Année


Précédent Table des matières Suivant

Chapitre 3. Les meilleurs et les pires : fiches de rendement 2009–2010

En ce qui a trait aux fiches de rendement de 2009–2010, le Commissariat à l'information a évalué des institutions qui n'ont été assujetties à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information que récemment. Les nouvelles institutions sont différentes à de nombreux égards des ministères et organismes que le Commissariat évalue habituellement et offrent un nouveau point de vue des activités en matière d'accès à l'information.

La cohorte de cette année comprend des sociétés d'État et des agents du Parlement. Les sociétés d'État mènent leurs activités dans un environnement essentiellement privé, mais elles ont des objectifs stratégiques qui sont à la fois commerciaux et publics6. Ces sociétés appartiennent exclusivement à l'État, mais sont gérées par un conseil d'administration nommé par le gouvernement. Elles sont financées par l'État de diverses façons, selon la loi qui régit leurs activités et la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques. En 2010, le montant total des crédits parlementaires accordés à toutes les sociétés d'État était de 6,666 milliards de dollars. Parmi les cinq institutions que le Commissariat a évaluées, Énergie atomique du Canada limitée, la Société Radio-Canada et la Société du Centre national des Arts ont toutes reçu une partie de leur financement par le truchement des crédits parlementaires. VIA Rail Canada Inc. reçoit du financement du gouvernement du Canada en fonction des besoins de trésorerie, et la Société canadienne des postes reçoit une compensation pour certains programmes dont elle se charge au nom du gouvernement, comme le Programme d'approvisionnement alimentaire par la poste, et peut également emprunter des fonds au Trésor du gouvernement du Canada.

Les agents du Parlement, comme le vérificateur général et les commissaires à l'information et à la protection de la vie privée, sont des agents indépendants qui surveillent minutieusement les activités du gouvernement liées à des fonctions confiées à des institutions par la loi. Ils relèvent directement du Parlement et non d'un ministre particulier et reçoivent du financement par le truchement de crédits parlementaires . La nomination de ces agents passe habituellement par la Chambre des communes, le Sénat, ou les deux, qui doivent délibérer des recommandations du gouvernement.

Le Commissariat a choisi d'évaluer des institutions pour lesquelles il avait reçu plus de cinq plaintes depuis qu'elles étaient assujetties à la Loi. Bien qu'elles aient des exercices financiers différents, chacune des institutions a rendu compte de ses résultats aux fins du processus de fiches de rendement pour la période du 1er avril 2009 au 31 mars 2010, conformément à une directive du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada. Toutes les réponses des institutions au questionnaire du Commissariat sont affichées sur le site Web de ce dernier.

Constatations générales

Le tableau 5 indique les notes décernées aux institutions pour 2009–2010. Le Commissariat a attribué des notes allant de A à F, selon la mesure dans laquelle les institutions répondaient à une série de critères (voir l'appendice C). Parmi ces critères, il y avait les délais et la conformité par rapport aux obligations imposées par la Loi, ainsi que des données qualitatives.

Tableau 5. Notes décernées aux institutions évaluées pour 2009–2010
Institutions Note Rendement global
Bureau du vérificateur général du Canada A Exceptionnel
Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée du Canada A Exceptionnel
Commissariat à l'information du Canada* A Exceptionnel
Société du Centre national des Arts A Exceptionnel
Énergie atomique du Canada limitée B+ Supérieur à la moyenne
VIA Rail Canada Inc. B Supérieur à la moyenne
Société Radio-Canada F Insatisfaisant
Société canadienne des postes Hors norme Alerte rouge

*Le rendement du Commissariat à l'information du Canada a été évalué par Mario Dion, le commissaire à l'information ad hoc au moment d'établir le rapport.

Les institutions sont divisées en deux groupes selon leur rendement en 2009–2010 : la Société du Centre national des Arts (CNA), le Bureau du vérificateur général (BVG), le Commissariat à l'information, le Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée (CPVP), Énergie atomique du Canada limitée (EACL) et Via Rail Inc., qui ont obtenu une note supérieure à la moyenne ou mieux, et la Société Radio-Canada et la Société canadienne des postes, qui ont obtenu une note insatisfaisante ou pire.

Même si la cohorte de cette année était de petite taille et représentait moins de 2 % de toutes les demandes d'accès que le gouvernement fédéral a reçues en 2009–2010, elle comprend la plus importante proportion d'institutions ayant obtenu les meilleurs résultats depuis que le Commissariat a commencé à établir des fiches de rendement en 1999. Les six institutions ayant obtenu des notes supérieures à la moyenne ou mieux réunissaient bon nombre des éléments clés que le Commissariat a recensés dans des fiches de rendement antérieures comme étant directement liés à l'amélioration de la conformité à l'égard l'accès à l'information - notamment, un leadership fort, des ordonnances de délégation de pouvoirs appropriées et des ressources adéquates. Ces institutions ont également démontré des caractéristiques et des approches distinctives qui ont contribué aux niveaux de conformité élevés qu'elles ont pu atteindre.

En revanche, il semble que la Société Radio-Canada et la Société canadienne des postes ne reconnaissaient pas pleinement l'importance de la Loi et des principes d'accès à l'information. Cela a entraîné des taux élevés de demandes traitées après les échéances prévues dans la Loi (appelées présomptions de refus), de longs délais de traitement moyens et des processus d'approbation prolongés, qui explique leur classement au bas de l'échelle de rendement. Beaucoup d'améliorations devront être apportées.

Aucun nouveau problème systémique n'a été observé7. Comme il a été mentionné, les institutions qui ont affiché les meilleurs résultats ont réuni les bons ingrédients afin de remplir leurs obligations en vertu de la Loi, notamment, et surtout, le leadership. Les institutions qui ont obtenu les moins bons résultats n'ont pas accordé à l'accès à l'information la priorité qu'il mérite en tant que responsabilité imposée par la Loi.

En vertu de la Loi, les demandeurs ont le droit d'accéder à l'information en temps opportun. Par conséquent, une réponse tardive est considérée comme une présomption de refus de communiquer l'information demandée. La Loi accorde 30 jours pour traiter une demande dans des circonstances normales, et il est possible de prolonger cette période dans certaines situations. Depuis que les institutions doivent se conformer à la loi, un taux de présomption de refus de zéro - c'est–à–dire que toutes les demandes sont traitées dans les 30 jours ou pendant la période prolongée - devrait être l'objectif universel. La cohorte d'institutions évaluées en 2009–2010 comprend certains des meilleurs et des pires taux de présomption de refus depuis que le Commissariat a commencé à établir des fiches de rendement (voir la figure 4).

Taux de présomption de refus en 2009–2010

Comme l'illustre la figure 5, les personnes qui souhaitent avoir accès à l'information peuvent s'attendre à un traitement rapide de leurs demandes de la plupart des institutions évaluées cette année. Dans bon nombre de cas, les délais de traitement sont inférieurs au délai de base de 30 jours établi par la Loi. Les délais de traitement moyens de la Société Radio-Canada et de la Société canadienne des postes étaient beaucoup plus longs, mais les prorogations n'étaient pas en cause. En fait, la Société Radio-Canada n'a eu recours qu'à une seule prorogation au cours de la période visée. La Société canadienne des postes a affirmé qu'elle n'a pas eu recours à des prorogations pour gérer sa charge de travail. La situation est plutôt attribuable essentiellement aux délais internes liés au traitement des demandes d'accès à l'information.

Délai moyen pour traiter une demande en 2009–2010

Enfin, en ce qui a trait à la charge de travail, la figure 6 démontre que la Société Radio-Canada a dû composer avec une charge de travail beaucoup plus grande que celle des autres institutions, EACL et la Société canadienne des postes étant bons deuxièmes. Aucune des institutions évaluées cette année n'a fait état d'un manque de ressources pour remplir ses obligations aux termes de la Loi.

Charge de travail en 2009–2010

Renforcer la capacité

En plus d'examiner si les institutions choisies répondaient à leurs demandes en temps opportun, le Commissariat a recueilli, par le truchement d'un questionnaire et d'une entrevue de suivi, de l'information utile sur les efforts déployés en vue d'amorcer le processus, y compris les difficultés auxquelles elles ont fait face à titre d'entités nouvellement assujetties à la Loi. Plus particulièrement, le Commissariat a examiné de quelle façon les institutions ont trouvé et formé du personnel, élaboré les outils nécessaires à un programme efficace d'accès à l'information et favorisé un appui interne à l'égard de cette fonction.

Personnel

Plusieurs institutions ont embauché un coordonnateur de l'accès à l'information chevronné et ont doté les postes d'analyste avec des employés qui connaissaient bien les activités de l'institution. Ainsi, les analystes pouvaient rapidement trouver les documents, et le coordonnateur était en mesure d'appliquer la Loi, ce qui a donné lieu à une approche efficiente à l'égard du traitement des demandes. Trois des institutions (EACL, Postes Canada et VIA), affirmant qu'elles manquaient d'expertise à l'interne au moment où elles ont été assujetties à la Loi, ont embauché des consultants afin qu'ils mettent sur pied les bureaux d'accès à l'information et en déterminent les activités. Cela comprenait l'établissement des budgets, des réseaux et des processus de communication ainsi que la formation du personnel. Dans certains cas, les consultants sont restés au sein de ces institutions afin de traiter les demandes reçues ou de jouer un rôle en matière de formation et de consultation, qu'ils assument encore à ce jour.

Formation et outils

Les institutions ont toutes indiqué que la formation était une priorité. Toutefois, les choix quant au responsable de la formation et à la façon dont celle–ci devait être dispensée différaient grandement, tout comme les publics cibles. Les institutions offraient différents niveaux de formation - de la formation des analystes de l'accès à l'information, qui avaient besoin de directives précises sur la façon d'appliquer la Loi, à la formation générale des cadres supérieurs et des agents de liaison. Dans certaines institutions, les responsables de l'accès à l'information ont indiqué qu'ils devaient informer tout le personnel des obligations liées à la législation en matière d'accès à l'information. Toutefois, vu les contraintes de temps et la charge de travail, cela n'a pas toujours été fait, ce qui explique des lacunes sur le plan de la sensibilisation des employés à la nécessité de traiter efficacement les demandes de documents - lacunes qui persistent dans certaines institutions. Le personnel affecté à l'accès à l'information affichait généralement les politiques, les procédures et les lignes directrices sur le site intranet de l'institution pour que les employés aient facilement accès à ces ressources. La plupart des institutions ont élaboré leurs propres politiques, lignes directrices et procédures ou sont en voie de le faire.

Appui à l'interne

Comme ces institutions étaient nouvellement assujetties à la Loi, le Commissariat était particulièrement intéressé à connaître leur culture à l'égard de l'accès à l'information. Toutes les institutions de la cohorte de cette année ont eu par le passé à rendre compte annuellement sur leurs activités et résultats, mais elles n'ont jamais eu à révéler les détails de leurs activités. Le fait d'être assujettie à la Loi a changé la donne, puisque certains détails de leurs activités et décisions peuvent soudainement être rendus publics.

Le Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée et le Commissariat à l'information ont indiqué que cela ne leur demandait pas de gros efforts supplémentaires d'être assujettis à la Loi, puisque la reconnaissance de la valeur que cette information représente pour les détenteurs faisait déjà partie de la culture institutionnelle. De même, le Bureau du vérificateur général a mentionné que la fonction d'accès à l'information était complémentaire à son mandat, puisque les vérificateurs s'attendent à un niveau élevé de transparence de la part des organisations qu'ils vérifient. Par conséquent, il était naturel que l'organisation fasse l'objet d'un examen aussi minutieux. L'ouverture intrinsèque aux mandats de ces trois institutions a eu une incidence directe et positive sur leur rendement. Le point de vue de la Société canadienne des postes et de la Société Radio–Canada était différent. Les représentants de ces dernières ont insisté sur le caractère unique et plus complexe de leurs activités par rapport à celles des autres institutions et, par conséquent, sur la nécessité d'autres protections - pour les activités commerciales de nature concurrentielle, et les activités de journalisme et de programmation respectivement. Une appréhension évidente de la communication de renseignements a entraîné des retards importants dans le traitement des demandes d'accès à l'information dans les deux institutions.


6 Une société d’État peut avoir ou non qualité de mandataire de l’État. Les mandataires jouissent des mêmes immunités, privilèges et prérogatives que l’État, comme l’immunité fiscale. Énergie atomique du Canada limitée, la Société canadienne des postes et Radio Canada sont des mandataires. La Société du Centre national des Arts et VIA Rail Canada Inc. n’en sont pas. Voir le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada, La qualité de mandataire et les sociétés d’État : http://www.tbs-sct. gc.ca/gov-gouv/agent-mandataire/agent-mandataire-fra.asp.

7 Dans les rapports spéciaux précédents, le Commissariat a cerné six problèmes systémiques : leadership, prorogations de délai, consultations, ressources, gestion des dossiers et ordonnances de délégation de pouvoirs.

Précédent Table des matières Suivant