Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Report Cards

Year


Previous Table of contents Next

Chapter 2. Turning Things Around: Progress Report on Previous Recommendations and Commitments

In last year's special report, the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) made recommendations to institutions on how to improve their performance and to the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat to address systemic issues across the government. The OIC also made commitments to improve in some of its areas of responsibility. The following offers a progress report on each of these items.

2008–2009 Report Cards

The OIC began preparing report cards to measure institutional performance with the Access to Information Act in 1999. In 2007, the OIC redesigned the process to gather information that would provide a more complete picture of each institution's performance and allow the OIC to make more targeted recommendations.

Last year, the OIC assessed the performance of 24 federal institutions and made recommendations to each to improve performance. The institutions responded with plans for how they would proceed to achieve better results. Of the 24 institutions assessed, 13 performed below average or worse. The OIC asked these 13 to provide a progress report on their efforts to respond to the recommendations. Table 3 summarizes those reports. The full text can be viewed on the OIC's website. Although it is too early to estimate or fully measure the progress towards stronger compliance with the Act, work is clearly under way to implement most of the recommendations.

The OIC will re-assess all 24 institutions next year, including reviewing the practices about which the OIC and institutions have differing views.

Progress implementing recommendations in the 2008–2009 report cards*

*The recommendations are organized into the themes. Some recommendations cover more than one theme. In addition, some institutions did not receive a recommendation under one or more themes. Finally, the three red "not initiated" boxes reflect recommendations with which the institution did not agree.

Highlights of progress towards greater compliance with the Act

The following are highlights of the positive work reported by the institutions with below average of worse performance for 2008-2009.

Increase in resources

  • Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada re-allocated $2.7 million to access to information functions. The institution also hired nine experienced consultants to work on reducing the large backlog of unanswered requests and created 10 new full-time positions.
  • Transport Canada and Correctional Service of Canada now have a full complement of staff.

Improvements in response times

  • The Canadian Security Intelligence Service (CSIS) and Natural Resources Canada (NRCan) reported having significantly improved their deemed refusal rate during 2010-2011. As of October 2010, CSIS had completed 100 percent of requests on time. During the third quarter, NRCan completed approximately 93 percent of requests on time.
  • The Privy Council Office (PCO) and National Defence reported having significantly reduced their average request completion time. The PCO average decreased from 157 days in 2008–2009 to 94 days in 2010–2011. National Defence reduced its average completion time from 125 days to 86, as of October 2010.

Change in the delegation order

  • The President of the Canadian Food Inspection Agency and the Commissioner of the Canada Revenue Agency each approved a revised delegation of authority order that provides more authority to the respective institution's access to information coordinator.

Streamlining review and approval processes

  • Health Canada replaced its Hi-SENS approval process with a notification process, and reports that this change has resulted in increased timeliness and improved compliance.
  • The Canadian International Development Agency implemented a new process whereby the Minister’s Office is informed of records to be disclosed 72 hours in advance, but does not approve the release package.

Backlog reduction

  • Environment Canada and the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA) reported having significantly reduced their backlog of unanswered requests, with CIDA having completed 99 of 102 such requests and planning to complete the three remaining files by March 31, 2011.

Closer monitoring of performance

  • The Canada Revenue Agency developed a comprehensive redress plan to address issues of staffing, training, processing of requests and the backlog.
  • The Canadian Food Inspection Agency reported having made significant progress on the deliverables outlined in the multi-year action plan it updated in 2009. These measures include allocating adequate resources to the access function, fully delegating authority for access decisions to the access to information manager, reducing the backlog of unanswered requests by 50 percent, and taking a more streamlined approach to processing requests.

Recommendations to the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat

The OIC identified a number of systemic issues in last year's special report: delegation orders, leadership, time extensions, consultations and resources, and made several recommendations to the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat (TBS) to address them. Appendix B contains the full TBS response. The following is a summary.

Delegation Orders

The OIC recommended that TBS assess the extent to which institutions implement best practices related to the delegation of powers, duties and functions under section 73 of the Access to Information Act with the view to achieving appropriate, efficient and transparent delegation orders. TBS reports that it has reviewed the delegation orders of the 24 institutions the OIC assessed last year and found that the delegation order is not a determining factor in meeting timelines but can eliminate unnecessary levels of approval.

Leadership

The OIC recommended that TBS develop criteria as part of the Management Accountability Framework to ensure it is measuring the overall performance of federal institutions in meeting their obligations under the Access to Information Act. TBS responded that it has added new requirements focusing on governance and capacity that are intended to evaluate the ability of institutions to administer the access program.

Time Extensions

In the last two special reports, the OIC recommended that TBS collect enriched annual statistics to provide a more accurate picture of institutions' use of time extensions. Beginning in April 2011, TBS will be expanding its requirements for statistical data. It will compile and publish the results in the fall of 2012.

Consultations

In the last two special reports, the OIC recommended that TBS assess the magnitude of the consultations that federal institutions carry out with each other in the course of responding to access requests and the impact of such consultations on institutions' workloads, with a view to allocating appropriate resources to this function. TBS took no specific action in 2009-2010 to assess the impact of consultations. As part of the new requirements for the collection of statistical data, however, institutions will report on consultations. The results will be published in the fall of 2012.

Resources

In the last two special reports, the OIC recommended that TBS develop and implement an integrated human resources action plan to address the government-wide shortage of access to information staff. TBS launched an initiative in the spring of 2010 to develop work descriptions and competencies to standardize the work across the public service. It also plans to launch a collective staffing process.

Office of the Information Commissioner Commitments

Classification of Complaints: New Disposition Categories

In its 2007-2008 special report, the OIC committed to reviewing the way it classifies complaints to develop and implement a new set of disposition categories. The OIC uses these categories to describe the outcome of complaint investigations.

In 2009-2010, the OIC consulted its employees, access to information coordinators and members of the public regarding proposed categories. The new disposition categories are simpler, more accurate and adhere to the terminology of section 37 of the Access to Information Act. The following are the categories the OIC began using on April 1, 2010:

  • Well founded
    • well founded with recommendations—resolved
    • well founded with recommendations—not resolved
    • well founded, resolved without recommendations
  • Not well founded
  • Settled
  • Discontinued

The OIC is confident that these new dispositions will yield better reporting data for future report cards, given the more precise classifications.

Practice Direction on Time Extensions

In its 2008-2009 special report, the OIC committed to publishing a practice direction on time extensions taken by institutions to prevent interference with the institution's operations due to the need to search through or for a large volume of records (as per paragraph 9(1)(a) of the Act). Following consultations with various stakeholders, including access to information coordinators and requesters, the OIC will publish the practice direction by the end of March 2011.

Extension Notices

In the 2008-2009 special report, the OIC observed that institutions did not consistently comply with the statutory requirement in paragraph 9(2) of the Act to notify the OIC of all time extensions longer than 30 days. In addition, the notices that institutions did send varied in terms of content and the justifications for the extensions taken. The OIC concluded that more compliance and clarity were required to make this monitoring tool as useful as was intended, and made the following three commitments in that regard:

  • to develop and implement a template for the notification of time extensions and explore ways to send notices using electronic tools;
  • to publish a practice direction on the notification procedures under paragraph 9(2) of the Act; and
  • to review and assess the extension notices.

As part of the initiative to improve the reporting of time extensions, OIC employees who are responsible for processing the notices were trained to identify irregularities and to consistently input the information the notices contain into a database. The OIC also reviewed and assessed the extension notices it received during 2009-2010. The monitoring of the notices yielded valuable information regarding individual institutions' use of time extensions. The OIC will begin to publish this information online, in a reusable format, in April 2011. This will allow institutions to track their own performance and monitor their progress compared to other institutions. Table 4, below, contains an example of the aggregated information about time extensions, which the OIC will also begin to publish this spring.

Extension notices, 2010–2011 (first, second and third quarters)

The OIC will develop a template notification form. The OIC is also exploring electronic notification options to facilitate notification as well as the processing of the notices, with a view to implementing an electronic filing process in 2011-2012.

Previous Table of contents Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiche de rendement

Année


Précédent Table des matières Suivant

Chapitre 2. Changer les choses : Rapport sur les progrès accomplis sur les recommandations et les engagements antérieurs

Dans le rapport spécial de l'année dernière, le Commissariat à l'information a formulé des recommandations à l'intention des institutions sur la façon d'améliorer leur rendement ainsi qu'à l'intention du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada afin qu'il aborde les problèmes systémiques dans l'ensemble du gouvernement. Le Commissariat s'est également engagé à améliorer certains de ses domaines de responsabilité. Voici un rapport sur les progrès accomplis relativement à chacun de ces éléments.

Fiches de rendement de 2008–2009

En 1999, le Commissariat a commencé à préparer des fiches de rendement afin de mesurer le rendement des institutions en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. En 2007, le Commissariat a revu le processus afin de recueillir de l'information qui brosserait un tableau plus complet du rendement de chaque institution et qui lui permettrait de formuler des recommandations plus ciblées.

L'année dernière, le Commissariat a évalué le rendement de 24 institutions fédérales et formulé des recommandations à chacune d'elles de sorte qu'elles améliorent leur rendement. Les institutions ont élaboré des plans en vue d'obtenir de meilleurs résultats. En tout, 13 des 24 institutions évaluées affichaient un rendement sous la moyenne ou inférieur. Le Commissariat a demandé à ces 13 institutions de fournir un rapport sur les efforts qu'elles ont déployés en vue de mettre en œuvre les recommandations. Le tableau 3 résume ces rapports. Le texte intégral se trouve sur le site Web du Commissariat. Même s'il est trop tôt pour évaluer ou pleinement mesurer le progrès vers une plus grande conformité à la Loi, il est clair que l'on travaille à mettre en œuvre la plupart des recommandations.

Le Commissariat évaluera à nouveau les 24 institutions l'année prochaine, en examinant notamment les pratiques à l'égard desquelles le Commissariat et les institutions ont un point de vue différent.

Progrès relatifs à la mise en œuvre des recommandations formulées dans les fiches de rendement de 2008–2009*

*Les recommandations sont regroupées par thème. Certaines recommandations touchent plus d’un thème. De plus, certaines institutions n’ont pas reçu de recommandation pour un ou plusieurs thèmes. Enfin, les trois carrés rouges (non amorcé) indiquent les recommandations auxquelles l’institution n’a pas souscrit. Le Commissariat réévaluera les 24 institutions l’an prochain, incluant les items « non amorcé ». Les réponses complètes des institutions sont disponibles au lien suivant : http://www.oic-ci.ca/fra/rp-pr_spe-rep_rap-spe_rep-car_fic-ren_2009-2010_5.aspx

Faits saillants des progrès en vue d'une plus grande conformité à la Loi

Voici les faits saillants des mesures positives prises par les institutions ayant obtenu un rendement sous la moyenne ou inférieur en 2008–2009.

Augmentation des ressources

  • Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada a réaffecté 2,7 millions de dollars aux fonctions d'accès à l'information. L'institution a également embauché neuf consultants chevronnés afin qu'ils travaillent à la réduction de l'important arriéré de demandes sans réponse et créé dix nouveaux postes à temps plein.
  • Transports Canada et le Service correctionnel du Canada disposent désormais d'un effectif complet.

Amélioration des délais de traitement

  • Le Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité (SCRS) et Ressources naturelles Canada (RNCan) ont signalé avoir amélioré de manière importante leur taux de présomptions de refus au cours de 2010–2011. En octobre 2010, le SCRS avait traité 100 % des demandes dans les délais prescrits. Au cours du troisième trimestre, RNCan a traité environ 93 % des demandes dans les délais.
  • Le Bureau du Conseil privé (BCP) et Défense nationale ont signalé avoir réduit de manière importante leur délai moyen de traitement des demandes. La moyenne du BCP est passée de 157 jours en 2008–2009 à 94 jours en 2010–2011. En octobre 2010, la Défense nationale avait fait passer son délai de traitement moyen de 125 à 86 jours.

Changement d'ordonnance de délégation de pouvoirs

  • La présidente de l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments et la commissaire de l'Agence du revenu du Canada ont chacune approuvé une ordonnance de délégation de pouvoirs révisée qui confère plus de pouvoir au coordonnateur de l'accès à l'information de l'institution.

Simplification des processus d'examen et d'approbation

  • Santé Canada a remplacé son processus d'approbation des dossiers de nature très délicate par un processus d'avis, et affirme que ce changement a entraîné une amélioration des délais et de la conformité.
  • L'Agence canadienne de développement international a mis en œuvre un nouveau processus en vertu duquel le Cabinet du ministre est informé des documents à communiquer 72 heures à l'avance, mais ne les approuve pas.

Réduction de l'arriéré

  • Environnement Canada et l'Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI) ont signalé avoir réduit de manière importante leur arriéré de demandes sans réponse. L'ACDI a traité 99 de ces 102 demandes et prévoit avoir traité les trois autres demandes d'ici le 31 mars 2011.

Surveillance plus étroite du rendement

  • L'Agence du revenu du Canada a élaboré un plan de redressement exhaustif en vue de régler les problèmes en matière de dotation, de formation, de traitement des demandes et d'arriéré.
  • L'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments a indiqué avoir fait d'importants progrès quant aux produits livrables mentionnés dans le plan d'action pluriannuel qu'elle a mis à jour en 2009. Ces mesures comprennent l'affectation de ressources adéquates à la fonction d'accès à l'information, la délégation de tout le pouvoir décisionnel en matière d'accès au gestionnaire de l'accès à l'information, la réduction de l'arriéré de demandes sans réponse de 50 % et l'adoption d'une approche simplifiée pour le traitement des demandes.

Recommandations au Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada

Le Commissariat à l'information a cerné un certain nombre de problèmes systémiques dans le rapport spécial de l'année dernière (ordonnances de délégation de pouvoirs, leadership, prorogations de délai, consultations et ressources) et a formulé plusieurs recommandations au Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada (SCT) à ce sujet. L'appendice B contient la réponse intégrale du SCT. En voici un résumé.

Ordonnances de délégation de pouvoirs

Le Commissariat a recommandé que le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor évalue la mesure dans laquelle les institutions mettent en œuvre les pratiques exemplaires concernant la délégation de certains pouvoirs, tâches et fonctions aux termes de l'article 73 de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information, l'objectif étant d'obtenir des ordonnances de délégation de pouvoirs qui sont pertinentes, efficaces et transparentes. Le SCT indique qu'il a examiné les ordonnances de délégation de pouvoirs des 24 institutions évaluées par le Commissariat l'année dernière et a conclu que ce n'était pas un facteur déterminant du respect des délais, mais qu'elle pouvait permettre d'éliminer certains niveaux d'approbation inutiles.

Leadership

Le Commissariat a recommandé que le SCT élabore des critères dans le Cadre de responsabilisation de gestion afin de voir à ce qu'il mesure le rendement global des institutions fédérales à l'égard de leurs obligations aux termes de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. Le SCT a répondu qu'il avait ajouté de nouvelles exigences ayant trait à la gouvernance et à la capacité qui visent à évaluer la capacité des institutions à appliquer le programme d'accès à l'information.

Prorogations de délai

Dans les deux derniers rapports spéciaux, le Commissariat a recommandé que le SCT recueille davantage de données statistiques annuelles afin de brosser un tableau plus juste du recours aux prorogations de délai. À compter d'avril 2011, le SCT élargira ses exigences en matière de données statistiques. Il compilera et publiera les résultats à l'automne 2012.

Consultations

Dans les deux derniers rapports spéciaux, le Commissariat a recommandé que le SCT évalue l'ampleur des consultations entre les institutions fédérales en vue de répondre aux demandes de communication ainsi que l'incidence de ces consultations sur la charge de travail des institutions, dans le but d'affecter les ressources appropriées à cette fonction. Le SCT n'a pris aucune mesure précise en 2009–2010 pour évaluer l'incidence de ces consultations. Toutefois, dans le cadre des nouvelles exigences liées à la collecte de données statistiques, les institutions feront rapport sur les consultations. Les résultats seront publiés à l'automne 2012.

Ressources

Dans les deux derniers rapports spéciaux, le Commissariat a recommandé que le SCT élabore et mette en œuvre un plan d'action intégré en matière de ressources humaines afin de remédier à la pénurie de personnel de l'accès à l'information dans l'ensemble du gouvernement. Au printemps 2010, le SCT a lancé un projet d'élaboration de descriptions de travail et de compétences afin de normaliser le travail dans l'ensemble de la fonction publique. Il prévoit également lancer un processus de dotation collective.

Engagements du Commissariat à l'information

Classement des plaintes : nouvelles catégories

Dans son rapport spécial de 2007–2008, le Commissariat s'est engagé à examiner la façon dont il classe les plaintes afin d'élaborer et de mettre en œuvre un nouvel ensemble de catégories de classement des plaintes. Le Commissariat utilise ces catégories afin de décrire l'issue des enquêtes sur les plaintes.

En 2009–2010, le Commissariat a consulté ses employés, les coordonnateurs de l'accès à l'information et les membres du public concernant les catégories proposées. Les nouvelles catégories de classement des plaintes sont plus simples, plus justes et respectent la terminologie de l'article 37 de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. Voici les catégories que le Commissariat a commencé à utiliser le 1er avril 2010 :

  • Bien fondée
    • bien fondée avec recommandations - réglée
    • bien fondée avec recommandations - non réglée
    • bien fondée, réglée sans recommandations
  • Non fondée
  • Réglée
  • Abandonnée

Le Commissariat est convaincu que ces nouvelles catégories de classement permettront de recueillir de meilleures données pour les prochaines fiches de rendement, puisque ces catégories sont plus précises.

Directives sur les prorogations de délai

Dans son rapport spécial de 2008–2009, le Commissariat s'est engagé à publier des directives sur les prorogations de délai utilisées par les institutions pour éviter de nuire à leurs activités quand elles doivent faire des recherches dans un grand volume de documents (conformément à l'alinéa 9(1)a) de la Loi). Après avoir consulté divers intervenants, y compris des coordonnateurs de l'accès à l'information et des demandeurs, le Commissariat publiera des directives à ce sujet d'ici la fin mars 2011.

Avis de prorogation

Dans son rapport spécial de 2008–2009, le Commissariat a constaté que les institutions ne se conformaient pas systématiquement à l'exigence énoncée au paragraphe 9(2) de la Loi selon laquelle il faut aviser le Commissariat de toute prorogation de délai de plus de 30 jours. De plus, le contenu et les justifications n'étaient pas uniformes. Le Commissariat a conclu que, pour que cet outil de surveillance soit aussi utile que souhaité, il fallait plus de conformité et de clarté. Il a pris les trois engagements suivants à cet égard :

  • élaborer et mettre en œuvre un modèle d'avis de prorogation de délai et examiner des façons d'envoyer ces avis par voie électronique;
  • publier des directives sur les procédures d'avis conformément au paragraphe 9(2) de la Loi;
  • examiner et évaluer les avis de prorogation.

En vue d'améliorer le signalement des prorogations de délai, les employés du Commissariat chargés du traitement des avis ont reçu une formation pour être en mesure de relever les irrégularités et de saisir uniformément les renseignements contenus dans les avis dans une base de données. Le Commissariat a également examiné et évalué les avis de prorogation qu'il a reçus au cours de 2009–2010. Cet examen a permis d'obtenir de l'information utile concernant l'utilisation des prorogations de délai par chacune des institutions. Le Commissariat commencera à publier ces renseignements en ligne, sous une forme réutilisable, en avril 2011. Cela permettra aux institutions de faire le suivi de leur propre rendement et de surveiller leur progrès par rapport à celui d'autres institutions. Le tableau 4 ci-dessous contient un exemple de renseignements regroupés concernant les prorogations de délai que le Commissariat commencera également à publier au printemps.

Le Commissariat élaborera un modèle de formulaire d'avis. Il cherche également à mettre en place des avis électroniques afin de faciliter le processus et le traitement des avis. L'objectif est de mettre en œuvre un processus de présentation électronique en 2011–2012.

Avis de prorogation, 2010–2011 (premier, deuxième et troisième trimestres)

*Certains avis ne font pas mention du motif de la prorogation.


Précédent Table des matières Suivant