Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Report Cards

Year


Previous Table of contents Next

Chapter 1. The Federal Accountability Act: Limited Benefits for Transparency

The Access to Information Act provides Canadians with a general right of access to federal government information. To protect this right and encompass the entire spectrum of records institutions hold, the Act must rest on strong foundations, including broad coverage, explicit and narrow safeguards to protect sensitive information, and a compliance model that ensures timely, accurate and complete responses to access requests.

The Federal Accountability Act (FedAA), which received Royal Assent on December 12, 2006, introduced incongruous amendments to the access law—increasing the number of institutions covered while adding institution-specific exemptions and exclusions that limited its scope. These changes introduced a patchwork regime to the Access to Information Act that is gradually eroding its status as a law of general application and moving it away from modern access to information regimes.

New Institutions

The desired coverage of access to information legislation has long been a subject of study and debate in Canada, and has been called "the most complex, amorphous and perplexing topic in [Freedom of Information] theory and practice." There are no commonly agreed upon criteria, in Canada or on the part of international organizations, for determining which bodies should be covered by access laws. Commentators usually advocate for general definitions that reflect the principles of openness and accountability embedded in access to information laws. As a result, the criteria governments use to define organizations subject to these laws tend to be general enough to ensure broad coverage—taking into account how organizations are constituted, their functions or the services they provide, how they are funded and the degree of control the government has over them.

A principled-approach to entity coverage

In Canada, criteria used to determine which institutions are covered by the Access to Information Act should reflect the principles of openness and accountability embedded in the Act and its quasi-constitutional nature. The Act should be amended to explicitly prescribe criteria to be used in determining entity coverage along the following lines:

  • institutions publicly funded in whole or in part by the Government of Canada, including those with the ability to raise funds through public borrowing;
  • institutions publicly controlled in whole or in part by the Government of Canada, including those for which the government appoints a majority of the members of the governing body; and
  • institutions that perform a public function, including those in the areas of health and safety, the environment and economic security.

In Canada, the institutions covered by the Access to Information Act are listed in Schedule I or are Crown corporations (and any of their wholly owned subsidiaries), as defined in section 83 of the Financial Administration Act. The Access to Information Act does not set out criteria for including institutions in Schedule I, nor are any listed in a policy as a guideline. As a result, it remains unclear how the government chose the new institutions that were to be covered due to the FedAA. As it turned out, seven Crown corporations, six Agents of Parliament, five foundations and a number of other organizations that spend taxpayers’ money or perform public functions were added.1 Most of the new institutions introduced are wholly owned subsidiaries of Crown corporations. As a group, these institutions accounted for about 4 percent of all requests the government received in 2007–2008, 3 percent in 2008–2009 and 2 percent in 2009–2010.

Even now, not all organizations that spend taxpayers' money or perform public functions are covered by the Act. For example, the House of Commons, Senate and courts are not covered—in contrast to a recommendation from a parliamentary committee made as early as 1987 that they be included.2 Former Information Commissioner Robert Marleau also advocated in favour of their inclusion in 2009.

Beyond these are numerous other institutions that are not covered by the Act (see Appendix A for more details). These are institutions—known as "other corporate interests"—in which the federal government has an interest or of which it participates in the oversight, including mixed enterprises, joint enterprises, international organizations, shared governance corporations and corporations under the terms of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act. TheAnnual Report to Parliament—Crown Corporations and Other Corporate Interests of Canada 2010, published by the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat defines these terms and lists these institutions. The OIC could not assess through public documents the amount of funding the Government of Canada provides to these organizations each year.

Table 1. Current number of "other corporate interests" of the Government of Canada

Type July 31, 2010 July 31, 2009
Mixed enterprises - -
Joint enterprises 2 2
International organizations 15 15
Shared governance corporations 97 99
Corporations under the terms of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act 55 50

Source: Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat

It is when looking at which of these institutions are covered by the Act that the patchwork approach to the coverage becomes most noticeable. Only 15 percent of the organizations in which the government has a corporate interest are covered by the Act. For example, the Canadian Wheat Board, the International Centre for Human Rights and Democratic Development, and port authorities across Canada are covered. However, the Canada Health Infoway Inc., airport authorities and the Vancouver Organizing Committee for the 2010 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games are not. Of perhaps greater concern is that none of the joint governance corporations in the environment and health portfolios-areas in which Canadians should expect a high degree of transparency-are covered by the Act.

New Exemptions and Exclusions

The purpose of the Access to Information Act is to codify the right of access to information held by the government. It is not to codify the government's right of refusal. Access should be the normal course. Exemptions should be exceptional and must be confined to those specifically set out in the statute.3

Typically, when expanded coverage of access legislation is considered, new institutions argue in short order that the existing exemptions may not adequately protect their interests. Limitations on access to records under the control of any institution to be added to the Act were advocated by the Access to Information Review Task Force in 2002.4

Once the government determined which institutions would be covered by the Act through amendments introduced in the FedAA, it proposed a number of new and institution-specific protections that limited access to information holdings, justifying them on the basis of their unique characteristics. As shown in Table 2, these limitations included 10 new exemptions. Seven are mandatory, do not require the institution to show that injury would result from disclosure of the information in question, are not time-limited and contain no public interest or consent overrides (see box, "Exemptions under the Access to Information Act"). Three exemptions are discretionary but contain no injury test, and one of these two protects records for 15 years. The FedAA also added two new institution-specific exclusions.

Exemptions under the Access to Information Act

The Access to Information Act contains two types of exemptions, commonly referred to as mandatory and discretionary. Mandatory exemptions begin with the phrase, "The head of the institution shall refuse to disclose." Discretionary exemptions begin with, "The head of the institution may refuse to disclose."

In addition, the Act contains two types of test, commonly referred to as a class test and an injury test. A class test is used to identify categories of information to which certain exemptions of the Act may be applied. An injury test is used to determine whether a record contains information the disclosure of which could reasonably be expected to cause injury.

The Act also contains consent and public interest overrides in specific circumstances. This means that the head of the institution, after being satisfied that an exemption applies, may disclose the information with the consent of the person to whom the information relates or when the disclosure is in the public interest.

Table 2. Exemptions and exclusions added to the Access to Information Act by the Federal Accountability Act

New exemptions
Mandatory
Section Exemption Institutions
16.1 Records relating to investigations, examinations and audits

Auditor General

Commissioner of Official Languages

Information Commissioner

Privacy Commissioner

16.2 Records relating to investigations Commissioner of Lobbying
16.4 Records relating to investigations or conciliation Public Sector Integrity Commissioner
16.5 Records relating to the Public Servant Disclosure Protection Act All government institutions
20.1 Advice or information relating to investments Public Sector Investment Board
20.2 Advice or information relating to investments Canada Pension Plan Investment Board
20.4 Contracts for the service of a performing artist or the identity of a donor National Art Centre Corporation
Discretionary
16.3 Investigations, examinations and reviews under the Canada Elections Act Chief Electoral Officer
18.1 Economic interest of certain government institutions

Canada Post Corporation

Export Development Canada

Public Sector Pension Investment Board

Via Rail Canada Inc.

22.1 Draft internal audits All government institutions
New exclusions
Section Exemption Institutions
68.1 Information that relates to journalistic, creative or programming activities Canadian Broadcasting Corporation
68.2 Information that is under the control of the institution other than about general administration or operation of any nuclear facility Atomic Energy of Canada Limited

Representatives from some of the institutions that the OIC surveyed for the 2009–2010 report cards appeared before the House of Commons Legislative Committee on Bill C-2 (the Federal Accountability Act), as well as the Senate Standing Committee on Legal and Constitutional Affairs to discuss the implications of their institution becoming subject to the Access to Information Act. Among the concerns expressed by these officials was the need to protect journalistic and programming activities, commercial competitive activities, and audit and investigation records.

Most of the exemptions and exclusions listed in Table 2 parallel other limitations already in the Act that apply to all government institutions. The need for specific limitations is questionable when a more general scheme exists. For example, the Act now contains two ways of dealing with investigative records, depending on from which institution information is requested. On the one hand, all institutions that carry out investigative functions may apply various discretionary exemptions with and without an injury test. On the other, Agents of Parliament have their own mandatory exemption for records associated with investigations that provides more than the general protection the other exemptions offer. This is despite the fact that the investigative functions of Agents of Parliament are similar to those of other institutions. In the months preceding the adoption of the FedAA, former Information Commissioner John Reid said in a special report that "the contention that the newly added institutions require more secrecy for their investigative and audit function than do our police, security and intelligence agencies, has no merit." Similar dual regimes were introduced for records related to economic interests and third-party information.

The net effect has been an additional level of complexity in the Act. This has also caused uncertainty in the legal interpretation of these new limitations and, consequently, an increase in complaints and litigation. For example, the new institutions accounted for 26.1 percent of all the complaints the OIC registered in 2007-2008, 14.6 percent in 2008-2009 and 11.7 percent in 2009-2010.5A large proportion of these complaints were against the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (CBC). The OIC has put its investigations into some of these complaints on hold due to legal proceedings brought by the CBC. The institution is challenging the Commissioner's powers in relation to the investigation of these complaints. At the time of writing, 181 complaints against the CBC were on hold pending resolution of this litigation.

All in all, the new limitations in the Act erode the general principle of there being a universal right of access to information under the control of federal institutions. The exemptions and exclusions also run counter to the common direction that modern access to information legislation is taking, with all limitations being discretionary and including an injury test and a public interest override.

A principled approach to the right of access

In order to reflect the principles of openness and accountability embedded in the Access to Information Act, as well as its quasi-constitutional nature, exemptions to a universal right of access should have the following characteristics:

  • They should be discretionary.
  • They should require a demonstration that a defined injury, harm or prejudice would probably result from disclosure.
  • They should be subject to a public interest override.

A Comparison

How does the performance of the new institutions compare to that of the others? As illustrated by Figure 1, while the new FedAA institutions answered a larger proportion of requests in 30 days or fewer than their federal counterparts in 2009– 2010, they also responded to proportionally more in 61 days and longer.

Completion time, 2009–2010

In terms of how much information is disclosed, Figure 2 illustrates that the FedAA institutions tend to release proportionally less information than do the others, which likely reflects the new exemptions and exclusions introduced for these institutions under the FedAA. Chapter 3 provides detailed information on the exemptions and exclusions of the eight institutions surveyed for 2009–2010.

Release of information, 2009–2010

Although the FedAA institutions account for only a small percentage of the requests the federal government receives annually, they are the subject of a larger proportion of registered complaints with the OIC than that request volume would suggest (Figure 3).

Requests and complaints, 2007–2008 to 2009–2010

Although the FedAA was a laudable effort to expand coverage of the Act, it did not go far enough to include all institutions that spend taxpayers' money or perform public functions. This was the result of the government taking a piecemeal approach to expanding coverage rather than following guiding principles that respect the basic tenets of the Act. Most troubling is the addition of new exemptions and exclusions that shelter a portion of these new institutions' information from access and create dualities throughout the Act. Overall, the changes brought in by the FedAA have led to limited benefits for transparency.


1 The Office of the Lobbying Commissioner, an Agent of Parliament, only became subject to the Act in July 2008.

2 Open and Shut: Enhancing the Right to Know and the Right to Privacy, Report of the Standing Committee on Justice and Solicitor General on the Review of the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act, 1987, Recommendation 2.3, p. 9.

3 Canada (Information Commissioner) v. Canada (Minister of Employment and Immigration), [1986] 3 F.C. 63 (T.D.)

4 Making it Work, op. cit., note 9, p. 25.

5 Including complaints registered against the Office of the Information Commissioner.

Previous Table of contents Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiche de rendement

Année


Précédent Table des matières Suivant

Chapitre 1. La Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité : gains limités sur le plan de la transparence

La Loi sur l'accès à l'information accorde aux Canadiens un droit général d'accès à l'information du gouvernement fédéral. Afin de protéger ce droit et d'inclure toute la gamme des documents des institutions, la Loi doit s'appuyer sur des bases solides, notamment une application à grande échelle, des mesures de protection explicites et serrées visant à protéger l'information sensible ainsi qu'un modèle de conformité qui permet de fournir des réponses opportunes, exactes et exhaustives aux demandes de communication.

La Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité, qui a reçu la sanction royale le 12 décembre 2006, a apporté des modifications disparates à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information (augmentation du nombre d'institutions visées et ajout d'exceptions et d'exclusions propres à certaines institutions pour en limiter la portée). Ces changements ont donné lieu à un régime décousu dans le contexte de Loi sur l'accès à l'information qui érode petit à petit son statut de loi d'application générale et l'éloigne des régimes modernes d'accès à l'information.

Nouvelles institutions

La portée désirée de la législation en matière d'accès à l'information a longtemps été un sujet d'étude et de débats au Canada. On l'a décrite comme étant le sujet le plus complexe, informe et nébuleux en théorie et en pratique. Il n'y a aucun critère largement accepté, ni au Canada ni au sein des organisations internationales, pour déterminer quels organismes devraient être assujettis aux lois sur l'accès à l'information. Les observateurs prônent habituellement l'adoption de définitions générales qui reflètent les principes de transparence et de responsabilité enchâssés dans les lois sur l'accès à l'information. Par conséquent, les critères qu'utilisent les gouvernements pour établir les organisations assujetties à ces lois tendent à être suffisamment généraux pour assurer une vaste portée - compte tenu de la composition des organisations, de leurs fonctions ou des services qu'elles offrent, de la façon dont elles sont financées et de la mesure dans laquelle le gouvernement a une emprise sur elles.

Une approche fondée sur des principes pour des entités assujettis

Au Canada, les critères utilisés en vue de déterminer les institutions assujetties à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information devraient refléter les principes de transparence et de responsabilité enchâssés dans la Loi et sa nature quasi constitutionnelle. La Loi devrait être modifiée afin d'établir explicitement les critères à utiliser pour déterminer les entités qui y sont assujetties à peu près comme suit :

  • les institutions financées en tout ou en partie par le gouvernement du Canada, y compris celles pouvant réunir des fonds par l'intermédiaire d'emprunts publics;
  • les institutions relevant en tout ou en partie du gouvernement du Canada, y compris celles pour lesquelles le gouvernement nomme la majorité des membres des instances qui les régissent;
  • les institutions dotées d'une fonction publique, y compris celles dont les activités touchent au domaine de la santé et de la sécurité, de l'environnement et de la sécurité économique.

Au Canada, les institutions assujetties à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information figurent à l'annexe I ou sont des sociétés d'État (et chacune de leurs filiales en propriété exclusive), selon la définition fournie à l'article 83 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques. La Loi sur l'accès à l'information ne fait pas état de critères relatifs à l'inclusion des institutions à l'annexe I, et ceux-ci ne figurent pas dans une politique à titre de ligne directrice. Par conséquent, on ne sait pas exactement comment le gouvernement a choisi les nouvelles institutions assujetties en raison de la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité. Quoi qu'il en soit, on a ajouté sept sociétés d'État, six agents du Parlement, cinq fondations et d'autres organisations qui dépensent l'argent des contribuables ou qui assument des fonctions publiques1. La majorité des nouvelles institutions sont des filiales en propriété exclusive de sociétés d'État. Ensemble, ces institutions représentaient approximativement 4 % de toutes les demandes que le gouvernement a reçues en 2007–2008, 3 % en 2008–2009 et 2 % en 2009–2010.

Même aujourd'hui, les organisations qui dépensent l'argent des contribuables ou qui exercent des fonctions publiques ne sont pas toutes assujetties à la Loi. Par exemple, la Chambre des communes, le Sénat et les tribunaux ne le sont pas - même si une recommandation en ce sens avait été formulée en 1987 par un comité parlementaire2. Un ancien commissaire à l'information, Robert Marleau, était également en faveur de leur inclusion en 2009.

Outre celles-ci, de nombreuses autres institutions ne sont pas assujetties à la Loi (voir l'appendice A pour de plus amples détails). Ce sont des institutions - appelées « autres sociétés dans lesquelles le Canada détient des intérêts » - dans lesquelles le gouvernement fédéral détient un intérêt ou participe à la surveillance, y compris des entreprises mixtes, des entreprises en coparticipation, des organisations internationales, des sociétés à régie partagée et des sociétés visées par les dispositions de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité. Le Rapport annuel au Parlement - Les sociétés d'État et autres sociétés dans lesquelles le Canada détient des intérêts 2010, publié par le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada, définit ces expressions et dresse la liste de ces institutions. Le Commissariat ne pouvait pas évaluer, au moyen des documents publics, le montant du financement que le gouvernement du Canada fournit à ces organisations chaque année.

Tableau 1. Nombre actuel d'autres sociétés dans lesquelles le gouvernement du Canada détient des intérêts

Type

31 juillet 2010 31 juillet 2009

Entreprises mixtes

- -

Entreprises en coparticipation

2 2

Organisations internationales

15 15

Sociétés à régie partagée

97 99

Sociétés visées par les dispositions de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité

55 50

Source : Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada

C'est en examinant les institutions assujetties à la Loi que l'on peut le plus voir à quel point la portée est décousue. Seulement 15 % des organisations dans lesquelles le gouvernement du Canada détient des intérêts sont assujetties à la Loi. Par exemple, la Commission canadienne du blé, le Centre international des droits de la personne et du développement démocratique et les autorités portuaires de l'ensemble du Canada y sont assujettis. Toutefois, l'Inforoute Santé du Canada, les autorités aéroportuaires et le Comité d'organisation des Jeux olympiques et paralympiques d'hiver de 2010 à Vancouver ne le sont pas. Ce qui est peut-être encore plus préoccupant, c'est qu'aucune des sociétés à régie partagée dans les domaines de l'environnement et de la santé - domaines pour lesquels les Canadiens devraient s'attendre à un niveau élevé de transparence - n'est assujettie à la Loi.

Nouvelles exceptions et exclusions

[L]a Loi sur l'accès à l'information vise à codifier le droit d'accès aux renseignements détenus par le gouvernement. Il ne s'agit pas de codifier le droit du gouvernement de refuser cet accès. L'accès devrait être la règle et les exemptions qui constituent l'exception doivent être expressément prévues par la Loi3.

De manière générale, lorsque l'on envisage d'élargir la portée de la législation en matière d'accès à l'information, les nouvelles institutions affirment que les exceptions en place pourraient ne pas protéger leurs intérêts de manière adéquate. Les limites liées à l'accès aux documents relevant de toute institution qui doit être assujettie à la Loi ont été défendues par le Groupe d'étude de l'accès à l'information, en 20024.

Après avoir déterminé les institutions assujetties à la Loi, par l'intermédiaire de modifications découlant de la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité, le gouvernement a proposé un certain nombre de protections nouvelles et propres à certaines institutions qui limitaient l'accès aux ressources documentaires, et les a justifiées en fonction de leurs caractéristiques uniques. Comme le montre le tableau 2 (à la page suivante), ces limites comprennent dix nouvelles exceptions. Sept d'entre elles sont obligatoires, n'exigent pas que l'institution indique quels préjudices entraînerait la communication des renseignements en question, ne sont pas limitées dans le temps et ne contiennent aucune disposition dérogatoire relative au consentement et à l'intérêt public (voir l'encadré ci-dessous intitulé « Exceptions aux termes de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information »). Trois exceptions sont discrétionnaires, mais ne contiennent aucun critère de préjudice, et l'une d'elles protège les documents pendant 15 ans. La Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité a également ajouté deux nouvelles exclusions propres à certaines institutions.

Exceptions aux termes de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information

La Loi sur l'accès à l'information comprend deux types d'exceptions, communément appelées « exceptions obligatoires » et « exceptions discrétionnaires ». Les exceptions obligatoires commencent par la locution suivante : « Le responsable de l'institution est tenu de refuser la communication ». Les exceptions discrétionnaires commencent par la locution suivante : « Le responsable de l'institution peut refuser la communication ».

En outre, la Loi comprend deux types de critères, communément appelés le critère objectif et le critère de préjudice. Un critère objectif est utilisé en vue de cerner les catégories d'information auxquelles certaines exceptions de la Loi peuvent s'appliquer. Un critère de préjudice est utilisé pour déterminer si un document contient des renseignements dont la divulgation risquerait vraisemblablement de porter préjudice.

La Loi contient également des dispositions dérogatoires relatives au consentement et à l'intérêt public dans certaines circonstances. Cela signifie que le responsable de l'institution, même s'il est convaincu qu'une exception s'applique, peut communiquer les renseignements avec le consentement de la personne concernée par les renseignements ou lorsque la communication est d'intérêt public.

Tableau 2. Exceptions et exclusions ajoutées à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information par la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité

Nouvelles exceptions
Obligatoires
Article Exception Institutions
16.1 Documents se rapportant à des examens, enquêtes ou vérifications

Vérificateur général

Commissaire aux langues officielles

Commissaire à l'information

Commissaire à la protection de la vie privée

16.2 Documents se rapportant à des enquêtes Commissaire au lobbying
16.4 Documents se rapportant à des enquêtes ou une conciliation Commissaire à l'intégrité du secteur public
16.5 Documents se rapportant à la Loi sur la protection des fonctionnaires divulgateurs d'actes répréhensibles Toutes les institutions fédérales
20.1 Conseils ou renseignements en matière d'investissement Office d'investissement des régimes de pensions du secteur public
20.2 Conseils ou renseignements en matière d'investissement Office d'investissement du Régime de pensions du Canada
20.4 Modalités d'un contrat de services d'un artiste de spectacle ou l'identité d'un donateur Société du Centre national des Arts
Discrétionnaires
16.3 Examens, enquêtes et révisions aux termes de la Loi électorale du Canada Directeur général des élections
18.1 Intérêts économiques de certaines institutions fédérales

Société canadienne des postes

Exportation et développement Canada

Office d'investissement des régimes de pensions du secteur public

Via Rail Canada Inc.

22.1 Vérifications internes (préliminaires) Toutes les institutions fédérales
Nouvelles exclusions
Article Exclusion Institutions
68.1 Renseignements qui se rapportent à des activités de journalisme, de création ou de programmation Société Radio-Canada
68.2 Renseignements qui relèvent de l'institution outre son administration générale ou l'exploitation de toute installation nucléaire Énergie atomique du Canada limitée

Des représentants de certaines institutions que le Commissariat a évaluées aux fins des fiches de rendement de 2009-2010 ont comparu devant le Comité législatif de la Chambre des communes chargé du projet de loi C-2 (la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité), et le Comité permanent des affaires juridiques et constitutionnelles du Sénat afin de discuter des répercussions liées au fait que leur institution serait assujettie à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. Parmi les préoccupations qu'ont exprimées ces représentants, il y avait le besoin de protéger les activités de journalisme et de programmation, les activités commerciales dans un contexte de concurrence ainsi que les documents de vérification et d'enquête.

La plupart des exceptions et des exclusions figurant au tableau 2 vont dans le sens d'autres limites déjà prévues dans la Loi qui s'appliquent à toutes les institutions fédérales. On peut douter de la nécessité de certaines limites lorsqu'un régime plus général est déjà en place. Par exemple, la Loi contient maintenant deux façons de traiter les documents d'enquête, selon l'institution à qui on demande les renseignements. D'une part, toutes les institutions qui exercent des fonctions d'enquête peuvent appliquer différentes exceptions discrétionnaires avec et sans critère de préjudice. D'autre part, les agents du Parlement disposent de leur propre exception obligatoire relativement aux documents liés à des enquêtes qui assure une meilleure protection que celle offerte par les autres exceptions, et ce, malgré le fait que les fonctions d'enquête des agents du Parlement sont semblables à celles des autres institutions. Au cours des mois qui ont précédé l'adoption de la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité, un ancien commissaire à l'information, John Reid, a affirmé, dans un rapport spécial, que « [l]'allégation selon laquelle des institutions nouvellement ajoutées ont davantage besoin d'agir sous le sceau du secret pour exercer leurs fonctions d'enquête et de vérification que nos instances de police, de sécurité et de renseignements n'est pas valable. » Des systèmes à deux volets semblables ont été créés pour les documents liés aux intérêts économiques et aux renseignements de tiers.

Tout cela a pour effet de rendre la Loi encore plus complexe. De plus, l'interprétation juridique de ces nouvelles limites est incertaine et, par conséquent, il y a eu une augmentation des plaintes et des litiges. Par exemple, les nouvelles institutions étaient visées par 26,1 % de toutes les plaintes reçues par le Commissariat en 2007-2008, 14,6 % en 2008-2009 et 11,7 % en 2009-2010 5. Une grande partie de ces plaintes concernaient la Société Radio-Canada. Le Commissariat a mis les enquêtes qu’il menait relativement à certaine de ces plaintes en suspens en raison d’une procédure judiciaire intentée par la Société. L'institution conteste les pouvoirs de la commissaire concernant l'enquête menée à l'égard de ces plaintes. (Au moment de la rédaction du présent rapport, le Commissariat avait dû mettre en suspens 181 plaintes contre la Société Radio-Canada jusqu'à ce que ce litige soit réglé.)

Somme toute, les nouvelles limites de la Loi érodent le principe général selon lequel il y a un droit universel d'accès à l'information relevant des institutions fédérales. Les exceptions et les exclusions vont également à l'encontre de la tendance générale que suit la législation moderne en matière d'accès à l'information, à savoir des limites discrétionnaires comportant un critère de préjudice et une dérogation fondée sur l'intérêt public.

Même si l'adoption de la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité était un effort louable en vue d'élargir la portée de la Loi, elle n'a pas permis d'inclure toutes les institutions qui dépensent l'argent des contribuables ou qui exercent des fonctions publiques. Cela est attribuable au fait que le gouvernement a adopté une approche fragmentée à l'égard de l'expansion de la portée plutôt que de suivre des principes directeurs respectant les fondements de la Loi. Le plus troublant, c'est l'ajout de nouvelles exceptions et exclusions qui mettent à l'abri une partie des renseignements de ces nouvelles institutions de l'accès à l'information et qui créent des doubles standards dans la Loi. De manière générale, les changements découlant de la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité ont entraîné des gains limités sur le plan de la transparence.

Une approche fondée sur les principes pour le droit d'accès à l'information

Afin de refléter les principes de transparence et de responsabilité enchâssés dans la Loi sur l'accès à l'information ainsi que sa nature quasi constitutionnelle, les exceptions à un droit universel d'accès à l'information devraient avoir les caractéristiques suivantes :

  • Elles devraient être discrétionnaires.
  • Elles devraient exiger une démonstration qu'un préjudice découlerait probablement de la communication.
  • Elles devraient être assujetties à une disposition dérogatoire fondée sur l'intérêt public.

Comparaison

Comment comparer le rendement des nouvelles institutions aux autres? Comme l'illustre la figure 1, même si les nouvelles institutions assujetties à la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité ont répondu à un plus grand nombre de demandes en 30 jours ou moins que leurs homologues fédéraux, elles ont également répondu, toutes proportions gardées, à plus de demandes en 61 jours et plus.

Délai de traitement en 2009-2010

En ce qui a trait à la quantité de renseignements communiqués, la figure 2 illustre que les institutions assujetties en vertu de la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité tendent à divulguer moins de renseignements, toutes proportions gardées, que les autres, ce qui est probablement attribuable aux nouvelles exceptions et exclusions mises en œuvre à l'intention de ces institutions aux termes de la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité. Le chapitre 3 fournit de l'information détaillée sur les exceptions et exclusions applicables aux huit institutions évaluées en 2009-2010.

Divulgation de renseignements en 2009-2010

Même si les institutions assujetties en vertu de la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité n'ont reçu qu'un petit pourcentage des demandes adressées au gouvernement fédéral chaque année, elles font l'objet d'une plus grande partie des plaintes déposées au Commissariat que le laisserait croire le volume de demandes.

Demandes et plaintes de 2007-2008 à 2009-2010


1 Le Commissariat au lobbying, un agent du Parlement, n’a été assujetti à la Loi qu’en juillet 2008.

2 Rapport du Comité permanent de la justice et du solliciteur général sur l’examen de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels intitulé Une question à deux volets : Comment améliorer le droit d’accès à l’information tout en renforçant les mesures de protection des renseignements personnels, 1987, recommandation 2.3, p. 9.

3 Canada (Commissaire à l’information) c. Canada (Ministre de l’Emploi et de l’Immigration), [1986] 3 C.F. 63 (1re inst.)

4 Comment mieux servir les Canadiens, op. cit., note 9, p. 25.

5 Cela comprend les plaintes formulées contre le Commissariat à l’information.

Précédent Table des matières Suivant