Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Report Cards

Year


Previous Table of contents Next

Introduction

The Access to Information Act gives Canadian citizens, residents and companies the right to request and receive information that federal institutions hold, including documents, pictures, letters and emails. The right of access is limited by a number of exemptions and exclusions that permit, and in some instances require, institutions to withhold portions of records requested under the Act. These exemptions and exclusions balance freedom of information with the need to protect individual privacy, commercial confidentiality, national security and the frank communications necessary for effective policy-making.

The Office of the Information Commissioner helps ensure that federal institutions respect the Act and provide timely access to information, to keep the federal government accountable to Canadians.

In the Three-Year Plan for Report Cards, the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) set out to take an in-depth look at delays in the response of federal institutions to requests under the Access to Information Act. In the first year of the plan, the OIC examined a large sample of federal institutions, which accounted for 88 percent of all the requests the government received in 2008–2009. That exercise confirmed that chronic delays had yet to be properly addressed and continued to erode requesters' right to information. This report contains a progress report on the work undertaken by the institutions who were the worst performers among the 2008–2009 cohort to improve their compliance with the Act.

In the second year of the plan, the OIC selected for review Crown corporations and Agents of Parliament that were brought under the Access to Information Act as a result of the Federal Accountability Act. These institutions, listed below, have never been reviewed before and were selected because the OIC had received more than five complaints about them since they had become subject to the Act in 2007:

  • Atomic Energy Canada Limited
  • Canada Post Corporation
  • Canadian Broadcasting Corporation
  • National Arts Centre Corporation
  • Office of the Auditor General of Canada
  • Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada (report card prepared by the Information Commissioner ad hoc)
  • Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada
  • VIA Rail Canada Inc.

Chapter 1 examines the changes to the Access to Information Act introduced by the Federal Accountability Act-the new institutions covered and the exemptions and exclusions added. Chapter 2 offers a progress report on the implementation of the recommendations the OIC made to institutions that performed below average or worse in 2008–2009 and to the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat, as well as actions that the OIC undertook to improve in some of its areas of responsibility. Finally, Chapter 3 presents the report cards for the eight institutions assessed for 2009–2010.

The information in this report comes from a number of sources, including institutions' responses to the OIC's questionnaire, which asked for both statistics and narrative answers to specific questions, as well as interviews with key access to information officials to follow up on their answers to the questionnaire. The OIC supplemented that information with printouts from institutions' case management systems, institutions' annual reports on access to information and its own files. The OIC brings a unique perspective to its assessment of institutions' overall performance. The conclusions in this report stem from its expertise and analysis of all the information these sources brought to light.

Previous Table of contents Next

Date modified:

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiche de rendement

Année


Précédent Table des matières Suivant

Introduction

La Loi sur l'accès à l'information accorde à tout citoyen, résident ou société au Canada, le droit de demander et d'obtenir des renseignements détenus par une institution fédérale, notamment des documents, des images, des lettres et des courriels. Le droit à l'accès à l'information est limité par un certain nombre d'exceptions et d'exclusions qui permettent aux institutions et, dans certaines circonstances, qui exigent d'elles de soustraire à la communication des parties des documents demandés en application de la Loi. Ces exceptions et exclusions établissent un équilibre entre l'accès à l'information et le besoin de protéger la vie privée d'une personne, les secrets commerciaux, la sécurité nationale et les communications franches nécessaires à l'élaboration efficace des politiques.

Le Commissariat à l'information aide à s'assurer que les institutions fédérales respectent la Loi et fournissent un accès à l'information en temps opportun afin que le gouvernement fédéral continue à rendre des comptes aux Canadiens.

Dans le plan triennal relatif aux fiches de rendement, le Commissariat à l'information s'est engagé à examiner attentivement les retards dans les réponses des institutions fédérales aux demandes présentées en application de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. Au cours de la première année du plan, le Commissariat a examiné un vaste éventail d'institutions fédérales, qui avaient reçu 88 % de toutes les demandes présentées au gouvernement en 2008‑2009. Cet exercice a confirmé que le problème des retards chroniques n'avait pas encore été abordé de manière appropriée et continuait de miner le droit à l'information des demandeurs. Le présent rapport rend compte des mesures prises par les institutions qui ont affiché le pire rendement de la cohorte 2008‑2009 en vue d'améliorer leur conformité à la Loi.

Au cours de la deuxième année du plan, le Commissariat a choisi d'évaluer des sociétés d'État et des agents du Parlement assujettis à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information en raison de la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité. Ces institutions, qui figurent ci-dessous, n'ont jamais été évaluées auparavant et ont été choisies parce que le Commissariat avait reçu plus de cinq plaintes à leur égard depuis l'entrée en vigueur de la Loi en 2007 :

  • Bureau du vérificateur général du Canada
  • Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée du Canada
  • Commissariat à l'information du Canada (fiche de rendement préparée par le commissaire à l'information ad hoc)
  • Énergie atomique du Canada limitée
  • Société canadienne des postes
  • Société du Centre national des Arts
  • Société Radio-Canada
  • VIA Rail Canada Inc.

Le chapitre 1 porte sur les changements apportés à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information en raison de la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité - nouvelles institutions assujetties et exceptions et exclusions ajoutées. Le chapitre 2 présente les progrès réalisés relativement à la mise en œuvre des recommandations que le Commissariat a formulées à l'intention des institutions qui ont obtenu un résultat inférieur à la moyenne ou pire en 2008‑2009 et au Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada, ainsi que les mesures que le Commissariat a prises en vue d'améliorer certains de ses domaines de responsabilité. Enfin, le chapitre 3 contient les fiches de rendement des huit institutions évaluées en 2009‑2010.

L'information contenue dans le présent rapport provient de diverses sources, y compris des réponses des institutions au questionnaire du Commissariat demandant des statistiques et des réponses descriptives à des questions précises, ainsi que des entrevues avec des responsables clés de l'accès à l'information dans la foulée du questionnaire. Le Commissariat a complété l'information reçue avec des imprimés des systèmes de gestion des cas et les rapports annuels sur l'accès à l'information des institutions ainsi qu'avec ses propres dossiers. Le Commissariat apporte une perspective unique à l'évaluation du rendement global des institutions. Les conclusions du présent rapport découlent de son expertise et de l'analyse de tous les renseignements que ces sources ont fait ressortir.

Précédent Table des matières Suivant