Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Report Cards


Year


Previous Table of contents Next

Follow-up on an institution assessed in 2007–2008

Library and Archives Canada

Library and Archives Canada is responsible for preserving the documentary heritage of Canada for the benefit of current and future generations, serving as a source of enduring knowledge accessible to all. Library and Archives Canada facilitates Canada’s cooperation among communities involved in the acquisition, preservation and diffusion of knowledge, and serves as the memory bank for the Government of Canada and its institutions.

Follow-up on 2007–2008 report card

Library and Archives Canada received a strong report card in 2007–2008, with an above average rating of 4.5 stars and a deemed refusal rate of just 2.1 percent, which was the best of all the institutions surveyed. The Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) said, however, that the institution’s ample use of time extensions might have contributed to this impressive result. The OIC recommended to Library and Archives Canada that it reduce its reliance on lengthy time extensions for consulting with other federal institutions, which it did in 2008–2009 by continuing to work in close collaboration with National Defence and the Canadian Security Intelligence Service. This close collaboration is, indeed, a good practice that shortens consultation time. The institution also worked on implementing an information management strategy to facilitate the retrieval of records and actively participated in developing Treasury Board’s Directive on Recordkeeping. Library and Archives Canada’s success may also be attributed to its treating requests informally whenever possible. The bottom line at Library and Archives Canada is that access to information is a mandatory service to Canadians; hence, senior officials recognize, support and fund the access to information function. The access to information office also takes a business-like approach to ensuring that requests are dealt with in the most effective and efficient manner. Overall, the OIC is satisfied with how Library and Archives Canada implemented the recommendations in the 2007–2008 report card.

Given Library and Archives Canada’s excellent progress in ensuring compliance with the Access to Information Act, and the small number of delay-related complaints (complaints about requests completed late and problems associated with time extensions that institutions take to process requests) to the OIC during 2008–2009, the OIC did not select this institution for this year’s report card process.

Previous Table of contents Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiches de rendement


Année



Suivi d’une institution évaluée en 2007–2008

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada a la responsabilité de conserver le patrimoine documentaire canadien pour les générations présentes et futures et d’être une source de savoir permanent accessible à tous. Bibliothèque et Archives Canada facilite la collaboration des divers milieux canadiens intéressés par l’acquisition, la conservation et la diffusion du savoir, en plus de préserver la mémoire de l’administration fédérale et de ses institutions.

Suivi de la fiche de rendement pour 2007–2008

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada a reçu une bonne note pour sa fiche de rendement en 2007– 2008, avec un classement supérieur à la moyenne de 4,5 étoiles et un taux de présomption de refus de seulement 2,1 %, soit le meilleur taux de toutes les institutions examinées. Cela dit, le Commissariat à l’information a indiqué que le recours prononcé de l’institution aux prorogations de délai peut avoir contribué à ce résultat impressionnant. Le Commissariat a recommandé à Bibliothèque et Archives Canada de moins utiliser les longues prorogations pour ses consultations auprès d’autres institutions fédérales, ce qu’il a fait en 2008–2009 en continuant de travailler en étroite collaboration avec la Défense nationale et le Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité. Pour tout dire, l’étroite collaboration est une bonne pratique qui réduit les délais de consultation. L’institution s’est également affairée à mettre en œuvre une stratégie de gestion de l’information pour faciliter la récupération des documents, en plus de participer activement à l’élaboration de la Directive sur la tenue de documents du Conseil du Trésor. Le succès de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada peut également être attribuable au fait que l’institution traite les demandes de manière informelle dans la mesure du possible. Pour cette institution, l’accès à l’information est un service obligatoire aux Canadiens, de sorte que les cadres de direction reconnaissent, appuient et financent la fonction d’accès à l’information. Le bureau d’accès à l’information adopte également une approche d’entreprise en veillant à ce que les demandes soient prises en compte de la manière la plus efficiente et efficace qui soit. Dans l’ensemble, le Commissariat à l’information est satisfait de la manière dont Bibliothèque et Archives Canada a mis en œuvre les recommandations qu’il a formulées dans la fiche de rendement de 2007–2008.

Compte tenu de l’excellent progrès démontré par Bibliothèque et Archives Canada en matière de conformité à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, et du petit nombre de plaintes déposées devant le Commissariat en 2008–2009 en raison des délais (plaintes quant aux demandes réglées en retard et problèmes liés aux prorogations que prennent les institutions pour traiter les demandes), le Commissariat n’a pas retenu l’institution pour le processus de la fiche de rendement de l’année en cours.