Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Report Cards


Year


Previous Table of contents Next

4. Institutional report cards

For the period 2008–2009, the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) selected a large sample of 24 institutions covered by the Access to Information Act to analyze their performance in terms of the timeliness of their responses to access requests. This group of institutions received 88 percent of all federal access requests in 2008–2009. They were selected on the basis of complaints the OIC received during the reference period. All institutions against which we received at least five delay-related complaints (requests completed late and problems due to the time extensions that institutions claimed to process requests) were selected. The institutions’ responses to our assessment questionnaire are posted on the OIC website.

We followed up on the 10 institutions surveyed for our 2007–2008 Special Report in order to report on their implementation of action plans to address issues that were identified last year.

The table below provides the 2008–2009 rating by institution. Scores ranging from one to five stars (or from F to A), as explained in Appendix B, have been assigned to institutions based on their overall compliance. In response to feedback from institutions, our assessment framework retained both the deemed refusal rate and the letter grade. We also looked at a broader picture of institutional compliance, such as whether institutions met their statutory obligation to notify the Information Commissioner every time they invoked a time extension for more than 30 days and the length of time it took to process overdue requests after the due date.

For 2008–2009, the Department of Justice Canada and Citizenship and Immigration Canada (CIC) achieved a perfect score. The former maintained its performance from last year. As the institution that received the largest volume of access requests of any federal government institution, CIC tied first place.

Three institutions achieved greater success in 2008–2009 than in the previous reporting year: Canada Border Services Agency, Public Works and Government Services Canada and the Royal Canadian Mounted Police. The goal for these institutions is to sustain their efforts, as there is room for additional improvements.

Institutions that scored an average and above average performance all faced varying challenges during the year but were able to maintain a reasonable performance.

The performance of 12 institutions was below average or unsatisfactory in 2008–2009 for a variety of reasons. These institutions accounted for 9,047 (or 27 percent) of a total of 34,041 access requests made to the federal government. (This percentage increases to 45 percent if we remove the large share of requests sent to CIC, the majority of which are privacy-related and as such can be processed more expeditiously.) Most of these institutions struggled with increases in requests, insufficient resources, and/or drawn- out review and approval processes. They also made extensive use of time extensions, many of which were applied inappropriately.

Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada’s performance was so poor that the OIC could not rate it against its established criteria. This is all the more troublesome given the high number of mandatory consultations that this department receives. As a result, other institutions and requesters are held hostage by the department’s dismal performance.

Finally, following the review process, the OIC decided not to rate Telefilm Canada on its compliance with the Act in 2008–2009, which was an atypical year for the institution. In particular, since 33 of the 39 complaints against Telefilm Canada were pending at the end of the year, the OIC did not have a complete set of data on which to base its assessment.

2008–2009 Rating by institution

Institutions Rating Letter Grade Overall performance rating
Department of Justice Canada 5 A Outstanding
Citizenship and Immigration Canada 5 A Outstanding
Public Works and Government Services Canada 4.5 B Above average
Canada Border Services Agency 4.5 B Above average
Industry Canada 4 B Above average
Public Safety Canada 3.5 C Average
Royal Canadian Mounted Police 3 C Average
Fisheries and Oceans Canada 3 C Average
Indian and Northern Affairs Canada 3 C Average
Human Resources and Skills Development Canada 3 C Average
Transport Canada 2.5 D Below average
Canada Revenue Agency 2.5 D Below average
National Defence 2.5 D Below average
Canadian Security Intelligence Service 2 D Below average
Health Canada 2 D Below average
Canadian Food Inspection Agency 2 D Below average
Privy Council Office 2 D Below average
Natural Resources Canada 1 F Unsatisfactory
Canadian International Development Agency 1 F Unsatisfactory
Correctional Service of Canada 1 F Unsatisfactory
Canadian Heritage 1 F Unsatisfactory
Environment Canada 1 F Unsatisfactory
Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada 0 Off chart Red alert
Telefilm Canada n/a n/a n/a

Previous Table of contents Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiches de rendement


Année



4. Fiches de rendement des institutions

Pour 2008–2009, le Commissariat à l’information a retenu un vaste échantillon de 24 institutions assujetties à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information en vue d’analyser leur rendement sur le plan de la rapidité du traitement des demandes d’accès. Ce groupe a reçu 88 % des demandes d’accès déposées auprès de l’administration fédérale en 2008–2009. Le Commissariat à l’information a basé son choix sur les plaintes qu’il a reçues pendant la période de référence. Toutes les institutions ayant fait l’objet d’au moins cinq plaintes relatives au délai (demandes résolues en retard et problèmes causés par les prorogations demandées pour traiter certaines demandes) ont été retenues. Les réponses des institutions au questionnaire d’évaluation se trouvent sur le site Web du Commissariat à l’information.

Nous avons fait un suivi auprès des 10 institutions examinées dans le cadre du rapport spécial de 2007–2008 afin de rendre compte de la mise en œuvre de plans d’action pour traiter les questions soulevées au dernier exercice.

Le tableau ci-dessous présente le classement de chaque institution pour 2008–2009. Des notes, allant de une à cinq étoiles (ou de F à A), comme l’explique l’Appendice B, ont été attribuées aux institutions en fonction leur conformité globale. À la demande des institutions, le cadre d’évaluation comprend le taux de présomption de refus et la note alphabétique. Nous avons aussi étudié la conformité globale des institutions, notamment le respect de l’obligation légale qui consiste à aviser le commissaire à l’information de toute prorogation de plus de 30 jours ainsi que le délai de traitement des demandes une fois l’échéance passée.

Pour 2008–2009, le ministère de la Justice Canada ainsi que Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada ont obtenu une note parfaite. Dans le cas du ministère de la Justice, il s’agit d’un exploit répété par rapport à l’exercice précédent. En tant qu’institution fédérale ayant reçu le plus de demandes d’accès, Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada arrive à égalité au premier rang.

En 2008–2009, trois institutions ont amélioré leur classement par rapport au dernier rapport : l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada, Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada ainsi que la Gendarmerie royale du Canada. Ces institutions doivent poursuivre leurs efforts, puisqu’il y a toujours place à l’amélioration.

Les institutions dont le rendement est dans la moyenne ou supérieur à la moyenne ont toutes fait face à différents défis au cours de l’exercice, mais elles ont été en mesure de donner un rendement acceptable.

Au total, 12 institutions affichent un rendement inférieur à la moyenne ou insatisfaisant pour 2008–2009, pour diverses raisons. Ces institutions ont reçu 9 047 (ou 27 %) des 34 041 demandes d’accès déposées auprès de l’administration. (Ce pourcentage grimpe à 45 % si l’on extrait le grand nombre de demandes envoyées à Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada qui, pour la plupart, portaient sur des renseignements personnels et pouvaient donc être traitées plus rapidement). La majorité de ces institutions ont connu des difficultés en raison de l’augmentation du nombre de demandes, du manque de ressources ou de longs processus d’examen et d’approbation. Par ailleurs, elles ont eu abondamment recours aux prorogations, souvent de manière inappropriée.

Le rendement d’Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada était trop faible pour être évalué en fonction des critères établis. La situation est d’autant plus inquiétante si l’on considère le nombre élevé de consultations obligatoires que ce ministère reçoit. D’autres institutions et les demandeurs subissent donc les contrecoups d’un aussi faible rendement.

À la suite de son examen, le Commissariat a choisi de ne pas évaluer la conformité de Téléfilm Canada pour 2008–2009, qui s’est révélée une année atypique pour l’institution. De plus, comme 33 des 39 plaintes contre Téléfilm Canada étaient en suspens à la fin de l’exercice, le Commissariat ne disposait pas de données complètes pour étayer l’évaluation.

Institution Classement Note Rendement global
Ministère de la Justice Canada 5 A Exceptionnel
Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada 5 A Exceptionnel
Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada 4,5 B Supérieur à la moyenne
Agence des services frontaliers du Canada 4,5 B Supérieur à la moyenne
Industrie Canada 4 B Supérieur à la moyenne
Sécurité publique Canada 3,5 C Dans la moyenne
Gendarmerie royale du Canada 3 C Dans la moyenne
Pêches et Océans Canada 3 C Dans la moyenne
Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada 3 C Dans la moyenne
Ressources humaines et Développement des compétences Canada 3 C Dans la moyenne
Transports Canada 2,5 D Sous la moyenne
Agence du revenu du Canada 2,5 D Sous la moyenne
Défense nationale 2,5 D Sous la moyenne
Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité 2 D Sous la moyenne
Santé Canada 2 D Sous la moyenne
Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments 2 D Sous la moyenne
Bureau du Conseil privé 2 D Sous la moyenne
Ressources naturelles Canada 1 F Sous la moyenne
Agence canadienne de développement international 1 F Insatisfaisant
Service correctionnel du Canada 1 F Insatisfaisant
Patrimoine canadien 1 F Insatisfaisant
Environnement Canada 1 F Insatisfaisant
Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada 0 Hors critères Alerte rouge
Téléfilm Canada s. o. s. o. s. o.