Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Report Cards


Year


Previous Table of contents Next

3. OIC commitments

New commitments

Time extensions to prevent interference with the institution’s operations due to a search through or for a large volume of records.

During the report cards process, we noted an important variance in institutions’ interpretation and application of paragraph 9(1) a). The last guidance the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) offered on the application of this paragraph was in 1999. Given the increasing use of this type of extension and the length of time often claimed, we feel that it is time to clarify our interpretation of the meaning of “large number of records,” and “unreasonably interfere with operations of the government institution” in the course of our investigations in paragraph 9(1)(a).

Commitment 1

In 2010–2011, the Office of the Information Commissioner will publish a practice direction on time extensions taken by institutions under paragraph 9(1)(a).

Notices of extension

Institutions are required by law to notify the Information Commissioner of any time extension they take for more than 30 days. This notice informs us about the use and duration of time extensions longer than 30 days at the same time as requesters find out about the extension. As the individual report cards show, institutions do not consistently comply with this requirement. In addition, the notices that institutions send vary in terms of content and how they justify the extensions taken. More compliance and clarity are required to give this monitoring tool the usefulness which was intended by the legislator as a check and balance mechanism in the absence of legislated timelines. Some institutions suggested that the OIC introduce an electronic means of submitting the notices. This would allow institutions to keep better track of the notices they send and also mean they would be submitted and received in real time, not after the fact.

Commitment 2

The Office of the Information Commissioner will develop and implement by the end of 2010–2011 a template for the notification of time extensions that will provide sufficient information for monitoring their use and length. It will also explore ways to make the notification process more efficient by using electronic tools.

Commitment 3

In 2010–2011, the Office of the Information Commissioner will publish a practice direction on the notification procedures under paragraph 9(2) of the Act.

Commitment 4

The Office of the Information Commissioner will assign an official to review and assess the extension notices that institutions file with the OIC, and will carry out follow-up actions, as required.

Follow-up on previous commitments

Classification of complaints

The OIC committed to reviewing the disposition categories it uses for closed complaints to provide a more accurate picture of institutional performance. Following a consultation with various stakeholders, including access to information coordinators and users, the OIC will implement the revised disposition categories for fiscal year 2010–2011.

Releasing information under the act

This year we conducted a preliminary measurement on a small sample of refusal complaints that were closed with a finding in 2009–2010 to determine whether the level of disclosure within institutions increased after the OIC intervened. The sample of files reviewed showed that, as a result of the investigation, the number of pages withheld in their entirety decreased by 35 percent and the number of pages fully released increased by 117 percent.

Therefore, starting in April 2010, we will routinely capture data in investigation files to track the overall degree of disclosure subsequent to complaints submitted to the OIC. In particular, we will track the release of additional pages and the timing of the release.

Report cards process

To be as open and transparent as possible, the OIC committed to publishing a three-year plan for report cards. The plan we published in July 2009 sets out the report cards process for the three fiscal years from 2008–2009 to 2010–2011 as well as a planned systemic investigation into delays and time extensions. This plan will be updated in April 2010 to take into account recently announced budgetary restraints and reporting burden on institutions. The scope of the systemic investigation will also be revised in light of recent allegations of political interference with the processing of access requests.

Previous Table of contents Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiches de rendement


Année



3. Engagements du Commissariat à l’information

Nouveaux engagements

Prorogation du délai pour éviter d’entraver le fonctionnement de l’institution en raison du grand nombre de documents à chercher ou à examiner

Au cours de l’établissement des fiches de rendement, nous avons noté un écart important dans la façon dont les institutions interprètent et appliquent l’alinéa 9(1)a). Les dernières directives du Commissariat à l’information concernant l’application de cet alinéa datent de 1999. Étant donné le recours accru à ce genre de prorogation et la longueur du délai demandé, nous croyons qu’il nous faut préciser le sens des expressions « grand nombre de documents » et « entraverait de façon sérieuse le fonctionnement de l’institution » dans le cadre de l’examen de l’alinéa 9(1)a).

Engagement 1

En 2010–2011, le Commissariat à l’information publiera une directive sur les pratiques concernant les prorogations demandées par les institutions en vertu de l’alinéa 9(1)a).

Avis de prorogation

La Loi oblige les institutions à aviser le commissaire à l’information de toute prorogation de délai dépassant 30 jours. Cet avis a pour but de nous informer de la raison et de la durée des prorogations de plus de 30 jours au même moment que les institutions en informent les demandeurs. Comme le montrent les fiches de rendement, les institutions ne respectent pas systématiquement cette exigence. De plus, les avis envoyés diffèrent en ce qui a trait à leur contenu et à la justification de la prorogation. Il faut accroître les niveaux de conformité et de précision pour que cet outil de supervision puisse remplir adéquatement sa fonction de contrepoids prévue par le législateur en l’absence de délais prévus par la Loi. Certaines institutions ont proposé au Commissariat à l’information de mettre en place un système électronique de transmission d’avis, qui leur permettrait d’envoyer les avis en temps réel, plutôt qu’après coup, et d’assurer un meilleur suivi par la suite.

Engagement 2

D’ici la fin de 2010–2011, le Commissariat à l’information élaborera un modèle d’avis de prorogation qui contiendra suffisamment d’information pour superviser l’utilisation des prorogations et leur durée. Par le fait même, il étudiera des façons d’améliorer l’efficacité du processus de notification à l’aide d’outils électroniques.

Engagement 3

En 2010-2011, le Commissariat à l’information publiera une directive sur les pratiques concernant le processus de notification énoncé au paragraphe 9(2) de la Loi.

Engagement 4

Le Commissariat à l’information affectera un agent à l’examen et à l’évaluation des avis de prorogation déposés par les institutions, qui sera également chargé de faire un suivi, au besoin.

Le point sur les engagements précédents

Classement des plaintes

Le Commissariat s’était engagé à examiner les catégories de classement des plaintes réglées afin de refléter plus fidèlement le rendement des institutions. À la suite d’une consultation auprès de divers intervenants, y compris les coordonnateurs et les utilisateurs de l’accès à l’information, le Commissariat mettra en place de nouvelles catégories de classement pour 2010–2011.

Communication d’information aux termes de la Loi

Nous avons examiné cette année un petit échantillon de plaintes de refus dont le dossier a fait l’objet d’une conclusion en 2009–2010 pour déterminer si le niveau de communication au sein des institutions avait augmenté à la suite de l’intervention du Commissariat. Notre examen révèle qu’après enquête, le nombre de pages entièrement soustraites à la communication a diminué de 35 %, tandis que le nombre de pages entièrement divulguées a augmenté de 117 %.

Par conséquent, à compter d’avril 2010, nous recueillerons régulièrement des données dans les dossiers d’enquête pour surveiller le niveau général de communication à la suite des plaintes déposées au Commissariat à l’information. Nous surveillerons notamment la communication de pages supplémentaires et le moment choisi pour le faire.

Établissement des fiches de rendement

Par souci d’ouverture et de transparence, le Commissariat s’est engagé à publier un plan triennal pour les fiches de rendement. Publié en juillet 2009, ce plan décrit le processus d’établissement des fiches de rendement pour 2008–2009, 2009– 2010 et 2010–2011 ainsi que l’enquête systémique prévue sur les délais et les prorogations. Le plan sera mis à jour en avril 2010 pour tenir compte des contraintes budgétaires récemment annoncées et des exigences imposées aux institutions en matière de rapport. La portée de l’enquête systémique sera également revue à la suite des récentes allégations d’ingérence politique dans le traitement des demandes d’accès.