Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

 

1. The evidence of delay

Timeliness is the cornerstone of the Access to Information Act. This obligation was reaffirmed a few years ago by the passage of the Federal Accountability Act, which introduced a duty for federal institutions to assist requesters and respond to their requests for information without delay.

The 2008–2009 statistical report published by the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat (TBS) states that 57.1 percent of all requests7 are responded to within the statutory period of 30 days. This is clearly not the performance that the legislator had intended. Actually, we often hear from access to information commentators that it is taking increasingly longer to process access requests, a sign that the system is broken.

In fact, 44 percent of the complaints received by the Office of the Information Commissioner in 2008–2009 related to delays and the time extensions that institutions had taken to process requests. Moreover nearly three out of four delay-related complaints completed with a finding in 2008–2009 were resolved with merit.

How do we explain this performance? What is the extent of delays in responding to access requests? And what are the reasons?

TBS collects information on how institutions administer the Act. This data is published once a year in aggregated form. Federal institutions also table their individual statistical reports to Parliament annually. This is the only publicly available data set on access to information requests that offers a glimpse into the way federal institutions administer the Act.

The problem with aggregated data is that it evens out the performance of institutions, subsuming the performance of those that fare well with that of less performing ones. This results in a rather skewed picture of the situation. For instance, Citizenship and Immigration Canada received 41 percent of all requests made in 2008–2009. On average, CIC responded to requests within 34 days. As shown below (Figures 1 and 2), the picture worsens when CIC statistics are not counted.

The disadvantage of this aggregated data is that it does not provide the level of detail required to compare and contrast the performance of institutions. It does not give any insight into the number and the duration of delays, and whether they were legitimate. Nor does it provide any information on what happens to requests that have not been completed beyond 121 days.

Figure 1 Time to complete a request in 2008–2009

Figure 1 Time to complete a request in 2008–2009

Figure 2 Time to complete a request in 2008–2009, without statistics from CIC

Figure 2 Time to complete a request in 2008–2009, without statistics from CIC

 

To supplement existing data and derive enough information to further analyze the issue, the Office of the Information Commissioner expanded the sample of institutions this year to 24 institutions. This sample accounts for 88 percent of all access requests made to the federal government. The quantitative data came from institutions’ responses to our questionnaire and printouts from each institution’s case management system.

The questionnaire included three time indicators, namely the deemed-refusal rate, the average completion time and the number of requests the institution responded to after the statutory deadlines. These indicators taken together expose different facets of timeliness.

The OIC has long used the deemed refusal rate to measure an institution’s compliance with statutory timelines. Pursuant to the Act, requesters have a right to timely access to information. As a result, a delayed response is considered to be a deemed refusal. In 2008–2009, the OIC received 261 complaints about deemed refusals; among those that were completed with a finding, 80 percent were resolved with merit.

The goal for institutions is to have as few deemed refusals as possible. As illustrated in Figure 3, the range of deemed refusals between institutions is large. This variance may be attributable to a number of factors including the level of resources, the length or complexity of approval processes as well as records management practices within the institution. Most institutions, however, mention inter-institutional consultations as an important factor in delays and a great source of frustration, because this delay is often out of their control. These factors are discussed at greater length in the following chapter on systemic issues.

Figure 3 Deemed refusal rate, 24 institutions, 2008–2009

Figure 3 Deemed refusal rate, 24 institutions, 2008–2009

 

Click to enlarge

 

Deemed refusals signal delays. However, they provide little information about the duration of delays. Figure 4 provides an additional level of information about institutions’ response time. As illustrated, Canadians may frequently have to wait much more than 30 days to receive a response to their requests. Of the 24 institutions surveyed, 7 responded to access requests within 31 and 60 days on average; 6 responded between 61 and 90 days; 6 more responded between 91 and 120 days, while the last 5 institutions reached levels as high as 157 and 163 days on average. The complexity of requests has an obvious impact on the time an institution takes to process those requests, as do consultations and the volume of pages to review. However, time extensions are the main culprit for average completion time beyond 30 days.

The number of requests responded to after the statutory deadlines—and how late those responses were—is a critical indicator of an institution’s commitment to complete requests as quickly as possible. We found that once a response to a request is late, there is no guarantee that it will be answered quickly after that.

Figure 4 Average time to complete a request, 24 institutions, 2008–2009

Figure 4 Average time to complete a request, 24 institutions, 2008–2009

 

Click to enlarge

 

Figure 5 How long requests completed late were overdue, 24 institutions, 2008–2009

Figure 5 How long requests completed late were overdue, 24 institutions, 2008–2009

 

Click to enlarge

 

As illustrated in Figure 5, of the 2,216 requests that the 24 institutions completed after their original due date (either 30 days or an extended deadline), 594 (27 percent) took more than 60 days to close. During interviews, officials from at least one institution said that they are likely to choose to complete a request that is still on time over one that is already late, in order to improve their report card rating. We find this practice somewhat troubling and we are concerned that there could be more instances of institutions placing less emphasis on overdue requests than on more recent requests.

Overall, looking at the results from this year’s report cards, some institutions (with ratings between 4 and 5) are performing well with respect to the timeliness of their responses to access requests. They have sound and efficient processes in place and make the best of the tools at their disposal. As a result, they have provided timely services to requesters with limited meritorious complaints. By contrast, about half of the institutions surveyed have had a below average or unsatisfactory performance.

What are the immediate causes of delay in responding to access requests?

The inappropriate use of time extensions is a leading and well recognized cause of delays. Federal institutions must complete access requests within 30 days of receipt. Extended time may be claimed if there are many records to examine, other federal institutions to consult or third parties to notify. The legislators’ intent was that extensions would be for a “reasonable” period of time, so that requesters would still have timely access to information. However, the Act sets no limits on how long an extension can be and does not prescribe criteria for what constitutes “reasonable.” It leaves it to institutions to determine what would be reasonable based on the particular circumstances of the request.

With limited scrutiny, time extensions have become more frequent and longer over the years. Looking at complaints registered in 2008–2009, institutions’ use of time extensions is the most important ground for complaining (31 percent) to the Information Commis­sioner. For 70 percent of the complaints completed with a finding, time extensions were not applied appropriately. The Office of the Information Commissioner will probe the use and duration of time extensions as part of the systemic investigation that it is conducting pursuant to subsection 30(3) of the Act.

As mentioned earlier, inter-institutional consultations are also a well recognized source of delays. Federal institutions frequently consult other institutions before determining whether to exempt, exclude or disclose records. In order to do so, they may claim a time extension to allow the other institution(s) to provide their views. The time needed to complete the consultation in order to release the information to the requester then depends on the efficiency and goodwill of the institution being consulted. There are currently neither requirements nor incentives to quickly process consultation requests, even where required by government policy.

Prolonged delays due to consultations have therefore given rise to various circumventing tactics to manage the risk of delays, which are cause for concern. For example, institutions may routinely take longer time extensions than warranted to ensure that requests requiring consultations are completed within the set timelines. They may encourage requesters to narrow the scope of their requests to exclude records rather than risk lengthy delays due to consultations—a tactic that, in some cases, might also limit the information to which requesters may be entitled. Alternatively, institutions may choose to close request files before consultations are completed, therefore jeopardizing future follow-ups on the request.

It is difficult at this time to accurately assess the impact of inter-institutional consultations on delays because there are still no statistics on this issue. We will examine the volume of consultations, particularly mandatory consultations, as part of our systemic investigation into delays and time extensions.

Recent high-profile complaints to the Information Commissioner have highlighted yet another source of delays in responses to access requests. The scope of our systemic investigation into delays and time extensions will therefore be expanded to examine alleged political or other improper interferences with the processing of access requests and with established delegated authorities.

Last year’s special report called on TBS to improve the scope of statistics collected annually, particularly regarding completion time, extensions and consultations. Although the Secretariat has carried out some groundwork to collect additional statistics in 2010–2011, implementation has been delayed. In practical terms, informative and comparative data on performance will not be publicly available in the near future. Yet this information is crucial to holding institutions accountable for their performance under the Act.

Based on the information derived from this year’s expanded report cards process, the next chapter provides an in-depth look at a number of significant issues that affect the performance of the access to information system, particularly in providing timely service delivery to Canadians.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

 

1. Preuves relatives aux retards

La promptitude de la communication est la pierre angulaire de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Cette obligation a été réaffirmée il y a quelques années par l’adoption de la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité, en vertu de laquelle les institutions fédérales ont le devoir de prêter assistance aux demandeurs et de répondre sans tarder à leurs demandes d’information.

Dans son rapport statistique pour 2008–2009, le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada (SCT) indique que les institutions ont répondu à 57,1 % de toutes les demandes7 dans la période de 30 jours prévue par la Loi. Il va de soi que ce n’est pas le rendement souhaité par le législateur. Les commentateurs de l’accès à l’information dénoncent fréquemment les délais croissants du traitement des demandes d’accès, un signe que le système est déficient.

En fait, 44 % des plaintes reçues par le Commissariat à l’information en 2008– 2009 portaient sur des retards et des prorogations dont les institutions s’étaient prévalues pour traiter les demandes d’accès. En outre, parmi toutes les plaintes liées aux retards ayant mené à des conclusions, presque trois sur quatre se sont révélées fondées.

Comment expliquons nous ce rendement? Quelle est l’ampleur des retards dans les réponses aux demandes d’accès? Quelles en sont les raisons?

Le SCT recueille de l’information sur la manière dont les institutions administrent la Loi. Ces données sont publiées une fois l’an sous forme cumulative. Les institutions fédérales déposent également une fois l’an devant le Parlement un rapport statistique individuel. C’est le seul ensemble de données qui offre au public un aperçu de la manière dont les institutions fédérales administrent la Loi.

Le problème que posent les données cumulatives est qu’elles nivellent le rendement des institutions. Les bons rendements se fondent avec les moins bons, ce qui fausse le tableau de la situation. À titre d’exemple, Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada a reçu 41 % de toutes les demandes formulées en 2008–2009. CIC a répondu aux demandes dans une moyenne de 34 jours. Tel qu’il est illustré ci dessous (figures 1 et 2), la situation empire lorsque les statistiques de CIC ne sont pas prises en compte.

Le désavantage de ces données cumulatives est qu’elles n’indiquent pas le niveau de détail requis pour comparer et opposer le rendement des institutions. Elles n’offrent aucune indication quant au nombre et à la durée des retards, et s’ils étaient légitimes ou non. Enfin, on ignore tout sur ce qui se produit avec les demandes non réglées après 121 jours.

Pour suppléer aux données existantes et dégager suffisamment d’éléments d’information pour une analyse plus approfondie, le Commissariat a élargi son échantillon cette année à 24 institutions. Cet échantillon représente 88 % de toutes les demandes d’accès faites auprès de l’administration fédérale. Les données quantitatives proviennent du questionnaire que les institutions ont rempli et des imprimés de leurs systèmes de gestion des cas.

Figure 1: Temps requis pour traiter une demande en 2008–2009
 

Figure 1: Temps requis pour traiter une demande en 2008–2009

Figure 2: Temps requis pour traiter une demande en 2008–2009, sans les statistiques de CIC

Figure 2: Temps requis pour traiter une demande en 2008–2009, sans les statistiques de CIC

 

Le questionnaire comportait trois indicateurs temporels, à savoir le taux de présomption de refus, le délai de traitement moyen et le nombre de demandes auxquelles l’institution a répondu une fois épuisée l’échéance prévue par la Loi. Ces indicateurs, pris ensemble, exposent différentes facettes de la rapidité de réponse.

 

Le Commissariat utilise depuis longtemps le taux de présomption de refus pour mesurer la conformité d’une institution aux échéances prévues par la Loi. Conformément à la Loi, les demandeurs ont le droit d’accéder rapidement à l’information. Par conséquent, une réponse en retard est considérée comme une présomption de refus. En 2008–2009, le Commissariat a reçu 261 plaintes sur de telles présomptions; 80 % des plaintes ayant mené à des conclusions se sont révélées fondées.

Les institutions devraient viser le moins de présomptions de refus possible. Comme le démontre la figure 3, l’écart dans les pourcentages des présomptions est plutôt marqué. Cela peut être attribuable à divers facteurs, dont le niveau de ressources, la durée ou la complexité des processus d’approbation et les pratiques de gestion au sein de l’institution. Toutefois, la plupart des responsables dénoncent les consultations interinstitutionnelles comme étant un facteur appréciable de retard et une grande source de frustration, car elles sont souvent hors de leur contrôle. Nous discutons plus en détail de ces facteurs dans le chapitre suivant sur les problèmes systémiques.

Figure 3 Taux de présomption de refus, 24 institutions, 2008–2009

Figure 3 Taux de présomption de refus, 24 institutions, 2008–2009

| Click here for a larger view of Figure 3

Qui dit présomption de refus dit retard. Toutefois, on en sait peu sur la durée des retards. La figure 4 offre plus d’information sur le délai de réponse des institutions. Tel qu’il est illustré, les Canadiens doivent fréquemment attendre plus de 30 jours pour recevoir une réponse à leur demande. En tout, sept des 24 institutions examinées ont répondu aux demandes d’accès dans une moyenne de 31 à 60 jours; six ont répondu entre 61 et 90 jours; six autres, entre 91 et 120 jours, tandis que les cinq dernières ont atteint des moyennes aussi élevées que 157 et 163 jours. La complexité des demandes a des répercussions évidentes sur le temps que prend une institution pour les traiter, tout comme les consultations et le volume de pages à examiner. Toutefois, les prorogations de délai sont la principale cause des délais de traitement moyens qui s’étirent sur plus de 30 jours.

Le nombre de demandes auxquelles on a répondu après les échéances prévues par la Loi – et le retard de ces réponses – est un indicateur crucial de l’engagement des institutions à traiter les demandes le plus rapidement possible. Nous nous sommes rendu compte que, lorsqu’une réponse à une demande est en retard, il n’existe aucune garantie qu’on y répondra rapidement par la suite.

Figure 4 Délai de traitement moyen des demandes, 24 institutions, 2008–2009

Figure 4 Délai de traitement moyen des demandes, 24 institutions, 2008–2009

| Click here for a larger view of Figure 4

 

Figure 5 Délai de traitement des demandes une fois l’échéance passée, 24 institutions, 2008–2009

Figure 5 Délai de traitement des demandes une fois l’échéance passée, 24 institutions, 2008–2009

| Click here for a larger view of Figure 5

Comme le démontre la figure 5, les 24 institutions ont réglé 2 216 demandes après la date d’échéance originale (soit 30 jours ou un délai prorogé). De ce nombre, 594 (27 %) ont été réglées après plus de 60 jours. Durant les entrevues, les responsables d’au moins une institution ont révélé qu’ils tendent à privilégier une demande qui n’est pas en retard plutôt qu’une demande déjà en retard, pour améliorer leur fiche de rendement. Nous trouvons cette pratique quelque peu troublante, et nous redoutons que d’autres institutions n’accordent moins d’importance aux demandes en retard qu’aux demandes plus récentes.

Dans l’ensemble, si l’on se fie aux résultats des fiches de rendement de cette année, certaines institutions (avec des classements entre 4 et 5) ont un bon rendement pour ce qui est de la rapidité de réponse aux demandes d’accès. Elles appliquent des processus sains et efficaces et tirent le maximum des outils à leur disposition. Par conséquent, elles ont réussi à offrir des services en temps opportun aux demandeurs et ont reçu peu de plaintes fondées. Par opposition, environ la moitié des institutions examinées affichent un rendement sous la moyenne ou insatisfaisant.

Quelles sont les causes immédiates des retards dans les réponses aux demandes d’accès?

L’utilisation inappropriée des prorogations de délai est l’une des causes de retard les plus importantes et les mieux reconnues. Les institutions fédérales doivent traiter les demandes d’accès dans les 30 jours suivant leur réception. On peut demander une prorogation s’il y a un grand nombre de documents à examiner ou s’il faut consulter d’autres institutions fédérales ou aviser des tiers. Selon l’intention du législateur, la durée de prorogation doit être justifiée afin que les demandeurs accèdent à l’information en temps opportun. Toutefois, la Loi ne prescrit aucune limite pour la durée de la prorogation et n’établit aucun critère pour les justifications. Le législateur a laissé le soin aux institutions de déterminer ce qui serait raisonnable en fonction des circonstances particulières de la demande.

Étant donné le peu d’examen dont elles font l’objet, les prorogations de délai sont devenues plus fréquentes et plus longues au fil des ans. D’après les plaintes enregistrées en 2008–2009, on constate que les prorogations constituent le plus important motif de plainte (31 %) auprès du Commissaire à l’information. Dans 70 % des cas ayant mené à des conclusions, les prorogations n’avaient pas été appliquées adéquatement. Le Commissariat examinera l’utilisation et la durée des prorogations dans le cadre de son enquête systémique, effectuée en vertu du paragraphe 30(3) de la Loi.

Tel qu’il a été mentionné précédemment, les consultations interinstitutionnelles représentent elles aussi une source de retard reconnue. Les institutions fédérales consultent fréquemment d’autres institutions avant de déterminer s’il faut exempter, exclure ou communiquer des documents. Pour y parvenir, elles peuvent demander une prorogation afin de permettre à d’autres institutions de donner leur point de vue. Le temps nécessaire pour mener la consultation afin de communiquer l’information au demandeur dépend alors de l’efficacité et de la bonne volonté de l’institution consultée. À l’heure actuelle, il n’existe aucune obligation, ni incitation à traiter rapidement les demandes de consultation, même là où l’exige la politique gouvernementale.

Les délais prolongés en raison de consultations ont donc donné lieu à diverses tactiques d’esquive pour gérer les risques de retard, lesquelles soulèvent certaines préoccupations. À titre d’exemple, les institutions pourraient régulièrement prendre des prorogations plus longues qu’il n’en faut, pour s’assurer que les demandes nécessitant des consultations soient réglées dans les délais prescrits. Elles pourraient encourager les demandeurs à réduire la portée de leur demande pour exclure certains documents plutôt que de risquer de longs délais attribuables aux consultations, une tactique qui, dans certains cas, pourrait limiter la quantité d’information à laquelle les demandeurs ont droit. Les institutions pourraient également choisir de fermer les demandes avant la fin des consultations, ce qui mettrait en péril les suivis futurs de telles demandes.

Il est difficile pour le moment d’évaluer avec précision les répercussions que les consultations interinstitutionnelles engendrent sur les retards, car on ne dispose d’aucune statistique à ce sujet. Nous examinerons le volume de consultations, particulièrement celles qui sont obligatoires, dans le cadre de notre enquête systémique sur les retards et les prorogations de délai.

Largement médiatisées, certaines plaintes récemment déposées auprès du Commissariat suggèrent une autre source de retard dans les réponses aux demandes d’accès. Par conséquent, nous élargirons le cadre de notre enquête systémique sur les retards et les prorogations de délai pour englober la question des ingérences présumées, de nature politique ou autre, dans le traitement des demandes d’accès et la délégation des pouvoirs.

Dans notre rapport spécial de l’an dernier, nous invitions le SCT à améliorer la portée des statistiques recueillies chaque année, particulièrement au chapitre du délai d’exécution, des prorogations et des consultations. Bien que le Secrétariat ait réalisé certaines étapes préparatoires pour recueillir des statistiques additionnelles en 2010–2011, la mise en œuvre du projet a été repoussée. Sur le plan pratique, cela signifie que les données informatives et comparatives concernant le rendement ne seront pas rendues publiques dans un proche avenir. Pourtant, il s’agit de données cruciales pour rendre les institutions responsables de leur rendement aux termes de la Loi.

Prenant appui sur l’information découlant du processus élargi des fiches de rendement de cette année, le prochain chapitre approfondit un certain nombre de questions qui ont une incidence marquée sur le rendement du système d’accès à l’information, particulièrement pour ce qui est d’offrir un service rapide aux Canadiens.