Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Report Cards


Year


Previous Table of contents Next

Institutions assessed in 2008–2009

Transport Canada

Transport Canada is responsible for transportation policies and programs. It ensures that air, marine, road and rail transportation are safe, secure, efficient and environmentally responsible. Transport Canada works with other government departments and jurisdictions, and with industry to ensure that all parts of Canada’s transportation system work well.

2008–2009 report card at a glance

whole star whole star half star empty star empty star
D

  • Deemed refusal rate was 17.6 percent.
  • Average completion time was 60 days.
  • Severe staffing problems have hampered compliance rates: approximately half of the staff in the access to information office departed in 2008–2009.
  • While the access office was short of staff, access officials could not make any progress reducing the backlog of requests; nor could they deliver widespread training across the institution.
  • Transport Canada began to recruit new candidates from within the institution who had transferable skill sets. Training about access to information will be required, but not to develop institutional knowledge.
  • Transport Canada submitted the required notices of extensions of more than 30 days to the Office of the Information Commissioner 47 percent of the time.
  • The access to information office is represented at senior executive meetings, during which outstanding files are discussed, with the intention of advancing them.
  • Transport Canada has a strong delegation order that gives the access to information director and chief exclusive authority to release records.
  • Senior management has identified the access program as a critical needs area. This has resulted in additional resources for new staff, a dedicated team to address the backlog and an increased budget for 2010–2011.

Some facts about access to information operations at Transport Canada in 2008–2009

Number of requests carried over from 2007–2008
221
Number of new requests
1,069
Number of requests completed
1,043
Deemed refusal rate
17.6%*
Average time to complete a request (in days)
60
Number of consultation requests
178
Number of complaints registered with the Office of the Information Commissioner
52
Number of complaints the Office of the Information Commissioner resolved
8**
Number of full-time equivalents in access to information office, as of March 31, 2009
16.4
 

* Percentage of carried over and new requests delayed beyond the deadlines (30 days and extended) set out in the Access to Information Act. (See Appendix B for the formula the Office of the Information Commissioner used to calculate this rate.)

** A complaint is resolved when the Office of the Information Commissioner finds it has merit, and the institution resolves it to the Commissioner’s satisfaction.


2008–2009 report card

Transport Canada achieved only average compliance with the Access to Information Act in 2008–2009, with a 17.6 percent deemed refusal rate. However, this does not accurately reflect the current state of the institution’s access to information program. Transport Canada acknowledges that its statistics are inflated because of “pleasure craft” requests, which seek the identity of a boat’s owner and are more straightforward to process than other access requests. Consequently, these requests substantially raised Transport Canada’s “completed” request figure for the first six months of the fiscal year, until the institution stopped treating them as access requests in September 2008.

Transport Canada faced serious human resource problems in 2008–2009, when approximately half of the staff in its access to information office departed. Concerned with the reason for the exodus, senior management conducted exit interviews. These identified office morale as the predominant reason for the departures. Subsequently, the access to information office began recruiting new personnel from other areas of the institution, focusing on pertinent skills and competencies rather than technical expertise in administering the Act. This strategy will require significant training of employees, yet simultaneously deliver the institutional knowledge lacking in new access to information staff transferring in from other institutions.

As access staff dealt with a significant backlog of requests in 2008–2009, in addition to the usual stream of new requests, they had to decline numerous requests from program branches for training. Access officials recognize the importance to their success of access awareness at all levels of the institution, and have sought additional resources to fund an educational component to meet this important demand.

Mandatory consultations with certain institutions are a source of frustration for Transport Canada officials who report that, even though they contact the institutions with which they must consult for an estimate of how much time it will take to review the records, these institutions often do not meet these deadlines. This affects Transport Canada’s compliance rate, since the institution does not close these files until it gets a response to its consultation request.

The access to information office is represented at Transport Canada’s senior executive meetings, at which outstanding access requests are identified to the responsible branch executive in order to elicit the necessary aid to advance them. Transport Canada also has a strong delegation order, which fosters autonomy for the access function, giving the access to information director and chief exclusive authority to release records.

Transport Canada was part of the Office of the Information Commissioner’s (OIC) inaugural report card process in 1999, and in several subsequent years. It has never fully complied with the Access to Information Act, and its compliance in 2008–2009 was not as good as it had been in the past. In order for Transport Canada to bring about meaningful change, sustained support from the senior executive cadre and increased awareness of access legislation at the working level across the institution are necessary. The OIC calls on Transport Canada to implement measures to address these issues and bring about improved and sustainable compliance as soon as possible.

Recommendations

1. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that the deputy minister ensure that Transport Canada’s effort to rebuild the access to information office is well supported and monitored through strong leadership.

Response

The deputy minister has provided her full support to rebuilding efforts. It should be noted that, effective January 4, 2010, the access to information organization now reports to the departmental chief information officer. The deputy minister has a keen interest in access to information issues and also indicated support to implement measures identified as necessary to improve operational performance. In addition, the deputy minister receives regular reports on the backlog in order to monitor progress in that area.

Following the reorganization, the access to information office was integrated into the Information Management Services Directorate. This move will provide additional resources and operational support to the access to information office. The Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat has commented on this as a positive development.

2. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Transport Canada strive to reduce its deemed refusal rate to zero.

Response

Transport Canada is committed to complying with the legislation.

The access to information teams are structured to deal with current files. The work strategy is to meet statutory deadlines by working on these files on a priority basis.

3. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that the access to information coordinator at Transport Canada allocate resources to eliminate its backlog of requests.

Response

A backlog team was formed after the new staff were in place.

We are anticipating hiring a senior analyst from another department to complete the team. Other access to information analysts working on current files are expected to contribute on a limited basis to processing backlog files.

4. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Transport Canada develop protocols with other federal institutions to facilitate timely consultations.

Response

This is being contemplated as a last-resort solution, since the problem is not widespread.

The access to information office works closely with other institutions to reduce the time taken to complete consultations. Some departments, given their own internal complexities and interdependencies, will take longer to respond.

5. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Transport Canada comply with the Access to Information Act and notify the Office of the Information Commissioner of all the extensions it takes for more than 30 days.

Response

The lapses in notification were mainly due to inexperience and the lack of a coordinated approach.

New procedures and practices are being implemented. The new team structure ensures consistency in processing, since team leaders meet regularly with the director and chief to discuss processes and methodology.

 

How long requests completed late were overdue, 2008–2009

Transport Canada reported that it completed 106 of the requests it received in 2008–2009 after their due date. This graph shows how long these requests stayed open beyond that deadline.

How long requests completed late were overdue, 2008–2009

Number and length of time extensions reported in 2008–2009

This graph shows the number and length of the time extensions Transport Canada reported to have taken in 2008–2009. Transport Canada supplied this information in the notices it sent to the OIC under subsection 9(2) of the Access to Information Act. Transport Canada submitted the notices 47 percent of the time in 2008–2009; the OIC expects this figure to be 100 percent in 2009–2010.

Number and length of time extensions reported in 2008–2009

Number and outcome of delay-related complaints to the OIC, 2006–2007 to 2008–2009

These graphs show the number and outcome of two types of complaint registered against Transport Canada in the last three reporting periods: complaints about deemed refusals (access to information requests that Transport Canada delayed beyond the deadlines—30 days and extended—set out in the Access to Information Act) and complaints about Transport Canada’s use of the time extensions allowed under the Act. Resolved complaints are those that the OIC finds to have merit and that the institution resolves to the Commissioner’s satisfaction.

Deemed refusal complaints

Deemed refusal complaints

The number of deemed refusal complaints decreased significantly over the first two years (from 31 to 7), but increased again the subsequent year to 18. The number of resolved deemed refusal complaints decreased over the period (21; 6; 2).

Time extension complaints

Time extension complaints

The number of time extension complaints rose (1; 10; 17) each year; however, the proportion of resolved complaints to the total decreased significantly from 2006–2007 to 2007–2008 (from 100 percent to 20 percent) and then remained steady (at 24 percent).


Number and outcome of complaints to the OIC, 2006–2007 to 2008–2009

This table sets out the number and outcome of the complaints the OIC registered against Transport Canada in each of the last three reporting periods. Resolved complaints are those that the OIC finds to have merit and that the institution resolves to the Commissioner’s satisfaction.

  Resolved Not
substantiated
Discontinued Pending Total
2006–2007
Administrative 22 2 13 0 37
Refusals 6 1 1 4 12
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 0 0
Total 28 3 14 4 49
2007–2008
Administrative 11 2 6 2 21
Refusals 5 5 0 9 19
Cabinet confidences 0 1 0 0 1
Total 16 8 6 11 41
2008–2009
Administrative 6 4 19 7 36
Refusals 2 2 1 8 13
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 3 3
Total 8 6 20 18 52

The number of overall complaints decreased from 2006–2007 to 2007–2008 (from 49 to 41) but increased again the following year to 52; the number of administrative complaints followed the same pattern (37; 21; 36). The proportion of resolved complaints to total complaints decreased each year (57 percent; 39 percent; 15 percent).

Previous Table of contents Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiches de rendement


Année



Institutions évaluées en 2008–2009

Transports Canada

Transports Canada est responsable des politiques et des programmes de transport. Il veille à ce que le transport aérien, maritime, routier et ferroviaire soit sécuritaire, sûr, efficace et respectueux de l’environnement. Transports Canada travaille de concert avec d’autres ministères et administrations et avec l’industrie pour assurer le bon fonctionnement du système de transport dans toutes les régions du Canada.

Faits saillants de la fiche de rendement pour 2008–2009

whole star whole star half star empty star empty star
D

  • Le taux de présomption de refus a été de 17,6 %.
  • Le délai de traitement moyen a été de 60 jours.
  • De sérieux problèmes de dotation ont nui au taux de conformité : environ la moitié du personnel du bureau d’accès à l’information a quitté en 2008–2009.
  • Étant donné que le bureau d’accès à l’information a connu une pénurie de personnel, les responsables de l’accès à l’information n’ont pu faire de progrès en vue de réduire l’arriéré de demandes, ni offrir une formation étendue dans tous les secteurs de l’institution.
  • Transports Canada a commencé à recruter au sein même de l’institution de nouveaux candidats possédant un ensemble de compétences transférables. Ceux-ci devront recevoir une formation portant sur l’accès à l’information, mais il ne sera pas nécessaire de parfaire leur savoir institutionnel.
  • Transports Canada a soumis les avis requis pour les prorogations de plus de 30 jours au Commissariat à l’information dans 47 % des cas.
  • Le bureau d’accès à l’information est représenté aux réunions de la haute direction, pendant lesquelles on discute des dossiers en suspens, en vue de les faire avancer.
  • Transports Canada dispose d’une solide ordonnance de délégation qui accorde au directeur et au chef de l’accès à l’information le pouvoir exclusif de communiquer des documents.
  • La haute direction a reconnu le programme d’accès à l’information comme un secteur de besoins prioritaires. Cela s’est traduit par l’affectation de ressources supplémentaires pour de nouveaux postes, une équipe vouée au traitement de l’arriéré de demandes, ainsi qu’une augmentation du budget pour 2010–2011.

Quelques faits sur les activités d’accès à l’information à Transports Canada en 2008–2009

Nombre de demandes reportées de 2007–2008
221
Nombre de nouvelles demandes
1 069
Nombre de demandes traitées
1 043
Taux de présomption de refus
17,6 %*
Délai de traitement moyen des demandes (jours)
60
Nombre de demandes de consultation
178
Nombre de plaintes déposées au Commissariat à l’information
52
Nombre de demandes résolues par le Commissariat à l’information
8**
Nombre d’équivalents temps plein au bureau d’accès à l’information, au 31 mars 2009
16,4
 

* Pourcentage de demandes reportées et de nouvelles demandes retardées au-delà des délais (30 jours et prorogés) stipulés par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. (Voir l’Appendice B pour accéder à la formule utilisée par le Commissariat dans le calcul de ce taux.)

** Une plainte est résolue lorsque le Commissariat à l’information juge qu’elle est fondée et que l’institution la règle de façon satisfaisante aux yeux du commissaire.


Fiche de rendement pour 2008–2009

En 2008–2009, Transports Canada n’a atteint qu’un niveau moyen de conformité à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, avec un taux de présomption de refus de 17,6 %. Cependant, cela ne reflète pas fidèlement l’état actuel du programme d’accès à l’information de l’institution. Transports Canada reconnaît que ses statistiques sont gonflées en raison des demandes liées aux « embarcations de plaisance », qui visent à identifier le propriétaire d’un bateau et qui sont plus simples à traiter que les autres demandes d’accès à l’information. Par conséquent, ces demandes contribuent à hausser sensiblement le nombre de demandes « traitées » par Transports Canada au cours des six premiers mois de l’exercice, c’est-à-dire jusqu’au moment où l’institution a cessé de les considérer comme des demandes d’accès, soit en septembre 2008.

Transports Canada a éprouvé de sérieux problèmes de ressources humaines en 2008–2009, tandis qu’environ la moitié du personnel du bureau d’accès à l’information a quitté. Soucieux de connaître les motifs de cet exode, les gestionnaires ont procédé à des entrevues de départ. Celles-ci ont révélé que le moral au sein du bureau était la principale raison de ces départs. Subséquemment, le bureau d’accès à l’information a commencé à recruter de nouveaux employés dans d’autres secteurs de l’institution, en mettant l’accent sur les compétences et les qualités pertinentes plutôt que sur l’expertise technique liée à l’administration de la Loi. Cette stratégie nécessitera une formation plus poussée des employés; en revanche, ces derniers possèdent déjà le savoir institutionnel que n’auraient pas des agents d’accès à l’information recrutés dans d’autres institutions.

Étant donné que le personnel de l’accès à l’information a dû composer avec un important arriéré de demandes en 2008–2009, en plus du contingent habituel de nouvelles demandes, il a été obligé de refuser plusieurs requêtes provenant des directions de programmes pour de la formation. Les responsables de l’accès à l’information savent qu’il est important pour la réussite de leur programme que le personnel, à tous les niveaux de l’institution, soit sensibilisé aux questions d’accès à l’information, et ils ont demandé des ressources supplémentaires pour financer leurs activités éducatives en vue de répondre à cette importante demande.

Les consultations obligatoires auprès de certaines institutions sont une source de frustration pour les responsables de Transports Canada, qui affirment que même s’ils entrent en contact avec les institutions qu’ils sont tenus de consulter pour obtenir une estimation du temps que demandera l’examen des dossiers soumis, il arrive souvent que ces institutions ne respectent pas les échéances. Cela se répercute sur le taux de conformité de Transports Canada puisque l’institution ne peut clore un dossier tant qu’elle n’a pas reçu de réponse à sa demande de consultation.

Le bureau d’accès à l’information est représenté aux réunions de la haute direction de Transports Canada, où les demandes d’accès en suspens sont portées à l’attention des dirigeants des directions concernées afin d’obtenir l’aide requise pour faire avancer le traitement du dossier. Transports Canada dispose aussi d’une solide ordonnance de délégation qui favorise l’autonomie de la fonction d’accès à l’information en confiant au directeur et au chef de l’accès à l’information le pouvoir exclusif de communiquer des documents.

Transports Canada a participé au processus des fiches de rendement du Commissariat à l’information dès le début, en 1999, et lors de plusieurs exercices subséquents. Il ne s’est jamais pleinement conformé à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et sa conformité en 2008– 2009 était en deçà de ce qu’elle a été dans le passé. Pour que Transports Canada puisse apporter des changements significatifs, il importe d’avoir le soutien durable de la haute direction et d’intensifier les efforts de sensibilisation à la législation en matière d’accès à l’information au niveau des opérations partout dans l’institution. Le Commissariat invite Transports Canada à mettre en œuvre des mesures pour régler ces questions et atteindre, le plus rapidement possible et de manière durable, un meilleur niveau de conformité.

Recommandations

1. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que le sous-ministre s’assure que les efforts de Transports Canada visant à rebâtir le bureau d’accès à l’information fassent l’objet d’un soutien et d’un suivi adéquats en démontrant un solide leadership.

Réponse

La sous-ministre a apporté son soutien entier aux efforts de reconstruction du bureau d’accès à l’information. Il importe de signaler que, depuis le 4 janvier 2010, l’organisation responsable de l’accès à l’information relève du dirigeant principal de l’information du Ministère. La sousministre porte un grand intérêt aux questions d’accès à l’information et elle a donné son appui à la mise en œuvre des mesures jugées nécessaires pour améliorer le rendement des opérations. En outre, la sous-ministre reçoit régulièrement des rapports sur l’arriéré de demandes afin de suivre les progrès accomplis dans ce domaine.

Comme suite à la réorganisation, le bureau d’accès à l’information a été intégré à la Direction générale des services de gestion de la technologie et de l’information. Cette mesure permettra d’offrir des ressources et un soutien opérationnel supplémentaires au bureau d’accès à l’information. Le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada a qualifié cette mesure d’initiative positive.

2. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que Transports Canada s’efforce de réduire le taux de présomption de refus à zéro.

Réponse

Transports Canada s’est engagé à se conformer à la Loi.

Les équipes responsables de l’accès à l’information sont structurées de manière à assurer le traitement des dossiers courants. La stratégie de travail vise à respecter les échéances énoncées dans la Loi en travaillant en priorité au traitement de ces dossiers.

3. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que le coordonnateur de l’accès à l’information de Transports Canada affecte des ressources au traitement de la totalité de l’arriéré de demandes.

Réponse

Une équipe chargée de traiter l’arriéré de demandes a été constituée après l’entrée en fonction des nouveaux employés.

Nous prévoyons embaucher un analyste principal d’un autre ministère pour compléter l’équipe. D’autres analystes en accès à l’information travaillant au traitement des dossiers courants doivent aussi contribuer de façon limitée au traitement des dossiers en retard.

4. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que Transports Canada élabore des protocoles avec d’autres institutions fédérales afin de faciliter les consultations en temps opportun.

Réponse

Cette mesure est considérée comme une solution de dernier recours étant donné que le problème n’est pas généralisé.

Le bureau d’accès à l’information collabore étroitement avec d’autres institutions en vue de réduire le temps requis pour mener à terme les consultations. En raison de facteurs de complexité et d’interdépendance internes, certains ministères mettent plus de temps à répondre.

5. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que Transports Canada se conforme à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information en avisant le Commissariat à l’information de toute prorogation à laquelle il a recours pour plus de 30 jours.

Réponse

Les retards dans l’envoi de ces avis sont principalement attribuables au manque d’expérience et à l’absence d’approche coordonnée.

De nouvelles procédures et pratiques sont en voie d’adoption. La nouvelle structure par équipe assurera une uniformité de traitement puisque les chefs d’équipe se réuniront régulièrement avec le directeur et le chef de l’accès à l’information pour discuter des processus et de la méthodologie.

Importance du délai des demandes traitées en retard, 2008–2009

Transports Canada a indiqué qu’il a traité 106 demandes reçues en 2008–2009 après leur date d’échéance. Le graphique illustre la période durant laquelle ces demandes sont demeurées en suspens au-delà de l’échéance.

Importance du délai des demandes traitées en retard, 2008–2009

Nombre et durée des prorogations signalées en 2008–2009

Ce graphique illustre le nombre et la durée des prorogations signalées par Transports Canada en 2008–2009. Transports Canada a fait état de cette information dans les avis envoyés au Commissariat en vertu du paragraphe 9(2) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Transports Canada a soumis ces avis dans 47 % des cas en 2008–2009; le Commissariat s’attend à ce que ce nombre atteigne 100 % en 2009–2010.

Nombre et durée des prorogations signalées en 2008–2009

Nombre et issue des plaintes relatives au délai déposées au Commissariat de 2006–2007 à 2008–2009

Ces graphiques illustrent le nombre et l’issue de deux types de plaintes déposées contre Transports Canada au cours des trois dernières périodes de référence : plaintes au sujet de la présomption de refus (demandes d’accès à l’information que Transports Canada a retardées au-delà des délais – 30 jours et prorogés – stipulés par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information) et plaintes concernant l’utilisation par Transports Canada des prorogations autorisées en vertu de la Loi. Les plaintes résolues sont celles que le Commissariat estime fondées et que l’institution règle à la satisfaction du commissaire.

Plaintes sur la présomption de refus

Plaintes sur la présomption de refus

Le nombre de plaintes liées à une présomption de refus a diminué sensiblement durant les deux premiers exercices (de 31 à 7), mais il a augmenté à nouveau au cours de l’exercice subséquent, à 18. Le nombre de plaintes liées à une présomption de refus qui ont été résolues a diminué pendant la période (21; 6; 2).

Plaintes sur le délai de prorogation

Plaintes sur le délai de prorogation

Le nombre de plaintes liées à une prorogation a augmenté (1; 7; 17) à chaque exercice; cependant, la proportion des plaintes résolues a diminué sensiblement de 2006–2007 à 2007–2008 (de 100 % à 20 %) pour se stabiliser ensuite (à 24 %).


Nombre et issue des plaintes déposées au Commissariat de 2006–2007 à 2008–2009

Ce tableau illustre le nombre et l’issue des plaintes déposées au Commissariat contre Transports Canada dans chacune des trois dernières périodes de référence. Les plaintes résolues sont celles que le Commissariat estime fondées et que l’institution règle à la satisfaction du commissaire.

  Résolues Non fondées Abandonnées En suspens Total
2006–2007
Questions administratives 22 2 13 0 37
Refus 6 1 1 4 12
Documents confidentiels
du Cabinet
0 0 0 0 0
Total 28 3 14 4 49
2007–2008
Questions administratives 11 2 6 2 21
Refus 5 5 0 9 19
Documents confidentiels
du Cabinet
0 1 0 0 1
Total 16 8 6 11 41
2008–2009
Questions administratives 6 4 19 7 36
Refus 2 2 1 8 13
Documents confidentiels
du Cabinet
0 0 0 3 3
Total 8 6 20 18 52

Le nombre total de plaintes a diminué de 2006–2007 à 2007–2008 (de 49 à 41), mais il a augmenté à nouveau au cours de l’exercice suivant (52); comme ce fut le cas du nombre de plaintes liées à des questions administratives (37; 21; 36). La proportion des plaintes résolues a diminué à chaque exercice (57 %; 39 %; 15 %).