Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Report Cards


Year


Previous Table of contents Next

Institutions assessed in 2008–2009

Telefilm Canada

In partnership with the Government of Canada, Telefilm Canada provides financial and other support to the Canadian film, television and new media industries. Telefilm Canada meets the diverse needs of these industries through a wide range of programs to support the development to the marketing of finished products in Canada and abroad.

2008–2009 report card at a glance

No Rating

The Office of the Information Commissioner decided not to rate Telefilm Canada on its compliance with the Act in 2008–2009, which was an atypical year for the institution. In particular, since 33 of the 39 complaints against Telefilm Canada were pending at the end of the year, the Office of the Information Commission did not have a complete set of data on which to base its assessment.

  • The deemed refusal rate was 0 percent and the average completion time was 117 days.
  • In the past two years, Telefilm Canada has received an exceptionally high number of requests. The institution hired an external consultant as well as an additional employee to deal with this increase.
  • The institution required extensions for more than 43 percent of requests to handle the volume and consult with other federal institutions.
  • The institution submitted a notice of extension of more than 30 days to the Office of the Information Commissioner 60 percent of the time.
  • According to the 12 notices of extension the Office of the Information Commissioner received, all extensions were for 180 days or more, with 660 days being the maximum.
  • Telefilm Canada managed to cut its backlog in half by the end of the year.
  • At the end of 2008–2009, 33 complaints were pending. Consequently, the sample of resolved files was insufficient to determine Telefilm Canada’s compliance.
  • The complexity of the requests received has grown in the past two years.
  • The situation returned somewhat to normal in 2009–2010. Telefilm Canada aims to respond to most requests within the 30-day time limit.

Some facts about access to information operations at Telefilm Canada in 2008–2009

Number of requests carried over from 2007–2008
34
Number of new requests
46
Number of requests completed
65
Deemed refusal rate
0%*
Average time to complete a request (in days)
117
Number of consultation requests
5
Number of complaints registered with the Office of the Information Commissioner
39
Number of complaints the Office of the Information Commissioner resolved
4**
Number of full-time equivalents in access to information office, as of March 31, 2009
1.3
 

* Percentage of carried over and new requests delayed beyond the deadlines (30 days and extended) set out in the Access to Information Act. (See Appendix B for the formula the Office of the Information Commissioner used to calculate this rate.)

** A complaint is resolved when the Office of the Information Commissioner finds it has merit, and the institution resolves it to the Commissioner’s satisfaction.


2008–2009 report card

Although Telefilm Canada has been subject to the Access to Information Act since its enactment, this is the first time a report card is being prepared for the institution. Telefilm Canada is a small Crown corporation that generally receives a low and steady number of access to information requests—20 or so per year—that it deals with informally for the most part. However, the volume doubled in 2007–2008, with most requests originating from the same group of requesters. This increase slowed slightly in 2008–2009. Telefilm Canada began the year with a considerable backlog of requests, but managed to cut it in half by the end of the year.

Telefilm Canada did not have sufficient staff to handle the surge in requests within the time limit set out by the Act. As a result, the institution hired an external consultant as well as an additional employee. To tackle this significant challenge, Telefilm Canada also required extensions for more than 43 percent of the requests received to consult with other institutions and to offset the serious hindrance to its operations as a result of the large number of documents requested or the extent of research required.

The Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) received 39 complaints in total against Telefilm Canada during the reporting period, which accounts for 85 percent of the requests received by the institution. Most of these complaints pertained to exemptions under the Act (refusal complaints), followed by complaints about extensions. By the end of the period, 33 complaints were pending. Consequently, the sample of resolved files is insufficient to determine Telefilm Canada’s performance.

According to 12 notices of extension the OIC received, all extensions were for 180 days or more, with 660 days being the maximum. The OIC received six complaints about extensions, resolving four and with two pending at the end of the period.

The institution generally handles access requests informally and only responds formally to a handful per year. Telefilm Canada submits that this approach follows the “duty to assist” principle, since the institution attaches additional information to documents to provide clarity and to better serve the needs of the requesters.

Telefilm Canada finds that the requests it has been receiving recently are increasingly complex, often requiring interpretation of multiple pieces of legislation, archival research and international consultations.

The past two years have been unusual for Telefilm Canada in terms of the volume of requests. The institution put in place temporary measures to offset this surge. The situation returned to somewhat normal at the beginning of 2009–2010, with a substantial drop in the number of requests. Telefilm Canada indicated that its performance, particularly the average time it takes to complete requests, will improve in 2009−2010. Telefilm Canada aims to respond to most requests within the initial 30-day time limit. The OIC will follow this progress with great interest.

Recommendations

1. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Telefilm Canada review and continue to document the criteria it uses for extensions to ensure they are legitimate and reasonable.

Response

Telefilm Canada reviewed each complete request received by the institution as soon as possible. In each case where it was determined that a notice of extension of the completion time was necessary, Telefilm Canada sent the applicant, within 30 days of receipt of the complete request, a notice of reasonable extension in accordance with the criteria set out in section 9 of the Access to Information Act.

Telefilm Canada will continue to review each request and document the criteria it uses for extensions. It will also continue to exercise caution and diligence by taking into consideration the OIC’s requirements that a file be completed within the time limit set out in the notice of extension.

2. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Telefilm Canada reduce its average completion time for requests.

Response

Telefilm Canada is a small Crown corporation with roughly 200 employees, and generally receives around 20 requests per year. These require less than one person/year to handle. In 2008–2009, Telefilm Canada handled 65 formal access to information requests, a 325 percent jump in volume. To manage the increase, Telefilm Canada used an external consulting company and added one person/year to the resources it dedicates to handling access to information files. The nature of most requests appears to be more complex due to the need to interpret several pieces of legislation, conduct archival research, and hold national and international consultations. Also, the systematic filing of complaints (39 in 2008–2009 alone) by a small group of applicants on the heels of the vast majority of requests had a hard-hitting effect on Telefilm Canada’s already crippled capacity to deal with the sudden surge in requests. Given this phenomenal workload and the necessary consultations, Telefilm Canada was forced into longer extensions, in accordance with section 9 of the Access to Information Act. Without these extensions, our institution’s operations would have been seriously hampered.

Barring the unexpected, Telefilm Canada anticipates the volume of new requests to gradually return to normal in 2009–2010. In the first nine months of the 2009–2010 fiscal year, Telefilm Canada received 15 new access to information requests, most of which were completed in less than 30 days. Telefilm Canada plans to continue its commitment to process documents required for an access request as soon as possible. Unless the volume and/or complexity of requests changes or consultations are required, for instance, Telefilm Canada expects to complete most requests it receives within the initial 30-day time limit.

3. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Telefilm Canada institute requirements for documenting the rationale for claiming all exemptions, for the exercise of discretion and for the consideration of exceptions to mandatory consultations.

Response

For each request, Telefilm Canada incorporates the information required to apply the relevant provisions of the Access to Information Act and is strict in doing so for all its files. The files need only be consulted for answers to questions about exemptions, discretion and consultations.

Telefilm Canada plans to continue to document its files to be able to justify all requests for claiming exemption, for the exercise of discretion and for the consideration of exceptions to mandatory consultations.

4. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Telefilm Canada comply with the Act and notify the OIC of all extensions exceeding 30 days.

Response

Telefilm Canada systematically and regularly mails to the OIC copies of all notices of extension sent to the applicant in cases for which an extension beyond 30 days was necessary.

To more conclusively monitor the transmission and reception of notices of extension exceeding 30 days, Telefilm Canada proposes to systematically send the notices to the OIC by fax or courier in future.


Number and length of time extensions reported in 2008–2009

This graph shows the number and length of extensions Telefilm Canada reported to have taken in 2008–2009. Telefilm Canada supplied this information in the notices it submitted to the OIC under subsection 9(2) of the Access to Information Act. Telefilm Canada submitted the notices 60 percent of the time 2008–2009; the OIC expects this figure to be 100 percent in 2009–2010.

Number and length of time extensions reported in 2008–2009

Number and outcome of delay-related complaints to the OIC (2007–2008 to 2008–2009)

This graph shows the number and outcome of complaints registered against Telefilm Canada in the last two reporting periods about its use of the time extensions allowed under the Act. Resolved complaints are those that the Office of the Information Commissioner finds to have merit and that the institution resolves to the Commissioner’s satisfaction.

Time extension complaints

Time extension complaints

Telefilm Canada received no extension complaints in 2007–2008. The considerable increase in the use of extensions by Telefilm Canada in 2008–2009 led to six complaints that year.


Number and outcome of complaints to the OIC, 2007–2008 to 2008–2009

This table sets out the number and outcome of the complaints the OIC registered against Telefilm Canada in each of the last two reporting periods. Resolved complaints are those that the OIC finds to have merit and that the institution resolves to the Commissioner’s satisfaction.

  Resolved Not
substantiated
Discontinued Pending Total
2007–2008
Administrative 0 0 0 2 2
Refusals 0 1 0 6 7
Cabinet confidences 1 0 0 0 1
Total 1 1 0 8 10
2008–2009
Administrative 4 0 0 4 8
Refusals 0 1 1 29 31
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 0 0
Total 4 1 1 33 39

Telefilm Canada did not receive any complaints in 2006–2007. In 2007–2008, the OIC received a total of 10 complaints; this jumped to 39 in 2008–2009. Most of the complaints (7 of 10; 31 of 39) pertained to refusal of access (application of exemptions). Nearly all the complaints in 2008–2009 (33 of 39) were pending at the end of the year.

Previous Table of contents Next

Date modified:

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiches de rendement


Année



Institutions évaluées en 2008–2009

Téléfilm Canada

En partenariat avec le gouvernement du Canada, Téléfilm Canada offre du soutien financier et autre à l’industrie canadienne du film, de la télévision et des nouveaux médias. Grâce à ses différents programmes, Téléfilm Canada est en mesure de répondre aux besoins variés des industries qu’elle dessert, depuis le développement jusqu’à la mise en marché du produit fini, tant au Canada qu’à l’étranger.

Faits saillants de la fiche de rendement pour 2008–2009

Aucun classement

Le Commissariat a décidé de ne pas noter Téléfilm Canada sur sa conformité à la Loi en 2008–2009, puisque cet exercice a été anormal pour l’institution. Notamment, comme 33 des 39 plaintes déposées contre Téléfilm Canada étaient en suspens à la fin de l’exercice, le Commissariat n’avait pas suffisamment de données pour se prononcer sur la conformité.

  • Le taux de présomption de refus était de 0 % et le délai de traitement moyen des demandes de 117 jours.
  • Au cours des deux dernières années, Téléfilm Canada a reçu un nombre exceptionnellement élevé de demandes. L’institution a retenu les services d’un consultant externe et a embauché un employé supplémentaire pour faire face à cette augmentation.
  • L’institution a prorogé les délais de plus de 43 % des demandes pour traiter le volume de demandes et procéder aux consultations avec d’autres institutions fédérales.
  • L’institution a soumis les avis de prorogations de plus de 30 jours au Commissariat à l’information dans 60 % des cas.
  • Selon les 12 avis de prorogations reçus par le Commissariat, toutes les prorogations étaient de 180 jours et plus, et pouvaient aller jusqu’à 660 jours.
  • Téléfilm Canada a réussi à diminuer son arriéré de moitié à la fin de l’année.
  • À la fin de la période, 33 plaintes étaient en suspens. Par conséquent, l’échantillon de dossiers résolus n’est pas suffisant pour se prononcer sur le rendement de Téléfilm Canada.
  • La complexité des demandes reçues a augmenté au cours des deux dernières années.
  • La situation est revenue légèrement à la normale en 2009–2010. Téléfilm Canada vise à répondre à la plupart des demandes dans un délai de 30 jours.

Quelques faits sur les activités d’accès à l’information de Téléfilm Canada en 2008–2009

Nombre de demandes reportées de 2007–2008
34
Nombre de nouvelles demandes
46
Nombre de demandes traitées
65
Taux de présomption de refus
0 %*
Délai de traitement moyen des demandes (jours)
117
Nombre de demandes de consultation
5
Nombre de plaintes déposées au Commissariat à l’information
39
Nombre de demandes résolues par le Commissariat à l’information
4**
Nombre d’équivalents temps plein au bureau d’accès à l’information, au 31 mars 2009
1,3
 

* Pourcentage de demandes reportées et de nouvelles demandes retardées au-delà des délais (30 jours et prorogés) stipulés par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. (Voir l’Appendice B pour accéder à la formule utilisée par le Commissariat dans le calcul de ce taux.)

** Une plainte est résolue lorsque le Commissariat à l’information juge qu’elle est fondée et que l’institution la règle de façon satisfaisante aux yeux du commissaire.


Fiche de rendement pour 2008–2009

Bien que Téléfilm Canada soit assujettie à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information depuis son adoption, c’est la première fois que l’institution fait l’objet d’une fiche de rendement. Téléfilm Canada est une petite société d’État qui reçoit normalement un nombre restreint et stable de demandes d’accès à l’information, soit une vingtaine par année, qu’elle a, pour la plupart, traité d’une manière informelle. Le nombre de demandes a doublé au cours de l’exercice 2007–2008. Ces demandes provenaient pour la plupart d’un seul et même groupe de demandeurs. L’augmentation s’est poursuivie à un rythme moins rapide en 2008–2009 et Téléfilm Canada avait un arriéré important de demandes en début d’année. L’institution a réussi à diminuer cet arriéré de moitié à la fin de l’année.

Téléfilm Canada n’avait pas en place suffisamment de personnel pour traiter le nombre accru de demandes dans le délai prescrit par la Loi. Par conséquent, l’institution a retenu les services d’un consultant externe et a embauché une employée supplémentaire. Face à ce défi de taille, Téléfilm Canada a également prorogé le délai de plus de 43 % des demandes reçues pour consulter d’autres institutions et pour entrave sérieuse au fonctionnement de l’institution en raison du grand nombre de documents demandés ou de l’ampleur des recherches à effectuer. À la fin de la période de référence, Téléfilm Canada a diminué de moitié son arriéré de demandes.

Le Commissariat à l’information a reçu au total 39 plaintes contre Téléfilm Canada durant la période de référence, ce qui correspond à 85 % de toutes les demandes reçues par l’institution. La plupart de ces plaintes portaient sur l’application des exceptions en vertu de la Loi (plaintes de refus), suivi des plaintes relatives aux prorogations de délais. À la fin de la période, 33 plaintes étaient en suspens. Par conséquent, l’échantillon de dossiers réglés n’est pas suffisant pour se prononcer sur le rendement de Téléfilm Canada.

Selon les 12 avis de prorogations reçus par le Commissariat, toutes les prorogations étaient de 180 jours et plus, et pouvaient aller jusqu’à 660 jours. Le Commissariat a reçu 6 plaintes sur les prorogations; 4 étaient fondées et résolues, et deux étaient toujours en suspens à la fin de la période.

L’institution privilégie le traitement informel des demandes d’accès et répond annuellement à de nombreuses demandes de renseignements de façon officieuse. Téléfilm Canada soutient que cette approche suit le principe de « l’obligation de prêter assistance », en ce sens qu’elle joint de l’information supplémentaire aux documents, notamment afin d’en assurer la clarté et de mieux subvenir aux besoins des demandeurs.

Téléfilm Canada est d’avis que les demandes qu’elle reçoit récemment sont de plus en plus complexes étant donné qu’elles nécessitent souvent l’interprétation de lois multiples, la recherche de documents d’archive ainsi que des consultations internationales.

Les deux derniers exercices ont été atypiques pour Téléfilm Canada pour ce qui est du volume de demandes d’accès à l’information. L’institution a mis en place des mesures provisoires afin de pallier la hausse de demandes. La situation est revenue légèrement à la normale au début de 2009–2010 avec une réduction substantielle du nombre de demandes. Téléfilm Canada a indiqué que le rendement de l’institution, particulièrement le délai de traitement moyen des demandes, s’améliorera en 2009–2010. Téléfilm Canada vise à répondre à la plupart des demandes dans le délai initial de 30 jours. Le Commissariat suivra les progrès de l’institution avec grand intérêt.

Recommandations

1. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que Téléfilm Canada examine et continue de documenter les critères justifiant les prorogations prises afin de s’assurer qu’elles sont légitimes et raisonnables.

Réponse

Téléfilm Canada examine chaque demande complète aussitôt que possible. Lorsqu’il a été déterminé qu’un avis de prorogation du délai de traitement était nécessaire, Téléfilm Canada a transmis à l’auteur de la demande, dans les 30 jours suivant la réception de la demande complète, un avis de prorogation raisonnable, en conformité avec les critères énoncés à l’article 9 de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Téléfilm Canada continuera d’examiner la situation propre à chaque demande et de documenter les critères justifiant les prorogations. Téléfilm Canada continuera également de faire preuve de prudence et de diligence, en prenant en considération les exigences du Commissariat à l’information voulant que le traitement d’un dossier soit terminé à l’intérieur du délai fixé par l’avis de prorogation.

2. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que Téléfilm Canada réduise son délai de traitement moyen des demandes.

Réponse

Téléfilm Canada est une petite société d’État qui compte environ 200 employés. En temps normal, Téléfilm Canada reçoit une vingtaine de demandes par année ce qui requiert moins d’une personne/ année. Au cours de 2008–2009, Téléfilm Canada a traité 65 demandes officielles d’accès à l’information, ce qui représente une augmentation de 325 % par rapport au volume habituel. Afin de gérer le nombre accru de demandes, Téléfilm Canada a eu recours à une firme de consultants externes et a ajouté une personne/année à ses ressources vouées au traitement des dossiers liés à l’accès à l’information. La nature de la majorité de ces demandes s’est avérée plus complexe, en raison de la nécessité d’interpréter plusieurs lois, de la recherche de documents d’archive, ainsi que de consultations nationales et internationales. Aussi, le dépôt de plaintes (39 en 2008–2009 seulement) de façon systématique par un petit groupe de demandeurs à l’origine de la vaste majorité des demandes, a durement affecté la capacité déjà lourdement hypothéquée de Téléfilm Canada à traiter la hausse soudaine du nombre de demandes. Compte tenu notamment de la charge de travail phénoménale que représentait le nombre accru de demandes ainsi que les consultations nécessaires, Téléfilm Canada a été contraint de se prévaloir de prorogations plus longues, en conformité avec l’article 9 de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Dans les circonstances, l’absence de prorogations de cette envergure aurait entravé de façon sérieuse le fonctionnement de notre institution.

À moins d’impondérables, Téléfilm Canada anticipe un retour graduel à un volume normal de nouvelles demandes d’accès au cours de l’exercice 2009–2010. Ainsi, au cours des neuf premiers mois de l’année financière 2009–2010, Téléfilm Canada a reçu 15 nouvelles demandes d’accès à l’information, la majorité desquelles ont été traitées en moins de 30 jours. Téléfilm entend poursuivre son engagement à traiter les documents visés par une demande d’accès dès que possible. À moins de circonstances particulières − telles que le volume ou la complexité des demandes, ou encore la nécessité de consultations − Téléfilm Canada s’attend à l’avenir à pouvoir traiter la plupart des demandes qu’elle reçoit à l’intérieur du délai initial de 30 jours.

3. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que Téléfilm Canada établisse une obligation de justifier toutes les demandes d’exceptions, d’exercice du pouvoir discrétionnaire et d’examen des exceptions aux consultations obligatoires.

Réponse

Lors du traitement de chaque demande, Téléfilm Canada incorpore à chaque dossier les informations nécessaires à l’application des dispositions pertinentes de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Téléfilm Canada gère ses dossiers de façon rigoureuse. Une consultation du dossier est suffisante afin de permettre de répondre à toutes les questions liées notamment aux exceptions, à l’exercice du pouvoir discrétionnaire ainsi qu’aux consultations. Téléfilm Canada entend continuer à bien documenter ses dossiers lui permettant ainsi de pouvoir continuer de justifier toute demande d’exceptions, d’exercice du pouvoir discrétionnaire et d’examen des exceptions aux consultations obligatoires.

4. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que Téléfilm Canada se conforme aux exigences de la Loi et l’avise de toutes les prorogations dépassant 30 jours.

Réponse

Téléfilm Canada a systématiquement et ponctuellement transmis au Commissariat à l’information une copie de l’avis de prorogation communiqué au demandeur, par la poste, et ce, dans tous les dossiers pour lesquels une prorogation supérieure à 30 jours était nécessaire.

Afin d’assurer un suivi plus concluant de la transmission au Commissariat à l’information et de la réception par ce dernier des avis de prorogations dépassant 30 jours, Téléfilm Canada propose d’avoir recours systématiquement au télécopieur ou à un service de messagerie.

Nombre et durée des prorogations signalées en 2008–2009

Ce graphique illustre le nombre et la durée des prorogations signalées par Téléfilm Canada en 2008–2009. Téléfilm Canada a fait état de cette information dans les avis envoyés au Commissariat en vertu du paragraphe 9(2) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Téléfilm Canada a soumis les avis dans 60 % des cas en 2008–2009. Le Commissariat s’attend à ce que ce nombre atteigne 100 % en 2009–2010.

Nombre et durée des prorogations signalées en 2008–2009

Nombre et issue des plaintes relatives au délai déposées au Commissariat de 2007–2008 à 2008–2009

Ce graphique illustre le nombre et l’issue des plaintes déposées contre Téléfilm Canada au cours des deux dernières périodes de référence concernant l’utilisation des prorogations permises par la Loi. Les plaintes résolues sont celles que le Commissariat estime fondées et que l’institution règle à la satisfaction du commissaire.

Plaintes sur le délai de prorogation

Plaintes sur le délai de prorogation

Téléfilm Canada n’a pas fait l’objet de plaintes sur le délai de prorogation en 2007-2008. À la lumière de l’augmentation importante de l’utilisation de prorogations par Téléfilm Canada, une hausse dans le nombre de plaintes a suivi (6).


Nombre et issue des plaintes déposées au Commissariat de 2007–2008 à 2008–2009

Ce tableau illustre le nombre et l’issue des plaintes déposées au Commissariat contre Téléfilm Canada dans chacune des deux dernières périodes de référence. Les plaintes résolues sont celles que le Commissariat estime fondées et que l’institution règle à la satisfaction du commissaire.

  Résolues Non fondées Abandonnées En suspens Total
2007–2008
Questions administratives 0 0 0 2 2
Refus 0 1 0 6 7
Documents confidentiels
du Cabinet
1 0 0 0 1
Total 1 1 0 8 10
2008–2009
Questions administratives 4 0 0 4 8
Refus 0 1 1 29 31
Documents confidentiels
du Cabinet
0 0 0 0 0
Total 4 1 1 33 39

Téléfilm Canada n’a pas fait l’objet de plaintes en 2006–2007. En 2007–2008, il y a eu 10 plaintes puis un sommet de 39 plaintes en 2008–2009. La plupart des plaintes (7 sur 10; 31 sur 39) ont trait à des refus de divulgation (application des exceptions). La quasi-totalité était en suspens à la fin de 2008–2009 (33 sur 39).