Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Report Cards


Year


Previous Table of contents Next

Institutions assessed in 2008–2009

Public Safety Canada

Public Safety Canada coordinates and supports the efforts of federal organizations to ensure national security and the safety of Canadians. It works with various stakeholders on issues of emergency management, national security, law enforcement, crime prevention and the protection of Canada’s borders.

2008–2009 report card at a glance

whole star whole star whole star half star empty star
C

  • Deemed refusal rate was 8.5 percent.
  • Average completion time was 75 days.
  • Access officials report a significant increase in requests over the past two years.
  • Delegated authority is diffuse. The new delegation order implemented in 2009 extends authority for one exemption to the coordinator, but the approval process remains protracted.
  • Large staff turnover (50 percent) had a negative effect on compliance.
  • Narrow interpretations of requests led to many responses to requests of “no records found.”
  • Extensions taken under section 9(1)(b) accounted for 93 percent of extensions overall: 61 percent were for more than 90 days.
  • Public Safety Canada applies the necessary exemptions when responses to consultation requests are delayed.
  • The institution submitted the required notices of extensions of more than 30 days to the Office of the Information Commissioner 82 percent of the time.
  • The number of administrative complaints decreased over three years. The number of resolved complaints decreased over the same period.

Some facts about access to information operations at Public Safety Canada in 2008–2009

Number of requests carried over from 2007–2008
59
Number of new requests
235
Number of requests completed
241
Deemed refusal rate
8.5%*
Average time to complete a request (in days)
75
Number of consultation requests
198
Number of complaints registered with the Office of the Information Commissioner
18
Number of complaints the Office of the Information Commissioner resolved
4**
Number of full-time equivalents in access to information office, as of March 31, 2009
6.5
 

* Percentage of carried over and new requests delayed beyond the deadlines (30 days and extended) set out in the Access to Information Act. (See Appendix B for the formula the Office of the Information Commissioner used to calculate this rate.)

** A complaint is resolved when the Office of the Information Commissioner finds it has merit, and the institution resolves it to the Commissioner’s satisfaction.


2008–2009 report card

Public Safety Canada achieved a deemed refusal rate of 8.5 percent for 2008–2009. This is a noteworthy achievement in its own right, since the volume of consultation requests Public Safety Canada received was 84 percent of its request volume. During the report card interview, access to information officials noted that the number of requests it receives has grown substantially over the past several years. The 2008–2009 deemed refusal rate is also a considerable improvement from the grades the institution’s predecessor, Emergency Preparedness Canada, received in the past.

The authority to sign off on release packages remains with the deputy minister, the associate deputy minister, all assistant deputy ministers, and other senior officials, as set out in the delegation order. The average completion time of 75 days reflects a protracted approval process. Public Safety Canada subsequently gave authority for one type of exemption to the access coordinator but is still very clearly of the view that senior managers are the best placed to approve release packages.

A 50 percent turnover in staff had a negative impact on Public Safety Canada’s ability to process files efficiently. Access officials reported that training new staff was time-intensive, and it resulted in an increased workload for the remaining staff.

Narrow interpretations of requests led to many responses of “no records found,” when, according to access officials, there would have been responsive records had the request been interpreted more broadly. The access to information office challenged such narrow interpretations and provided training to help employees respond to access requests within the spirit of the Act.

The access to information office uses time extensions under paragraph 9(1)(a) of the Act in fewer than five percent of cases. However, Public Safety Canada officials said that they often consult other federal institutions within the public safety portfolio (93 percent of all extensions were taken under paragraph 9(1)(b) of the Access to Information Act), as well as with other federal, provincial and municipal institutions, which is often time consuming: 61 percent of the extensions taken to consult with other institutions were for more than 90 days. In light of this, Public Safety Canada has adopted a firm stance concerning consultations it sends to other institutions when the other institution fails to respond in time: Public Safety Canada will, when reasonable, use its own judgment and apply the necessary exemptions itself.

Public Safety Canada has considerably improved its compliance with the Access to Information Act, since receiving a failing grade in 2005. With the number of requests growing, however, the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) encourages Public Safety Canada to monitor its progress and ensure it can maintain, or even improve, its compliance.

Recommendations

1. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that the minister revisit the delegation order to ensure greater autonomy of the access to information coordinator in the release of records and eliminate additional levels of approval.

Response

The minister revised the delegations in 2009. The new delegations clarify the administrative authorities for the access to information coordinator. The access to information coordinator was also given the authority to exempt personal information in accordance with section 19 of the Act.

However, Public Safety Canada believes that the appropriate officials to exercise delegated authority for most exemptions are the assistant deputy ministers responsible for the subject matter of the records.

Public Safety Canada has improved the timeliness of its approval process by tracking approvals much more closely. This has resulted in fewer delays at the approvals stage.

2. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Public Safety Canada strive to reduce its deemed refusal rate to zero.

Response

The department has made significant improvements since receiving a grade of “F” in 2005, and has sustained 90 percent on-time responses over the past two reporting years. Public Safety Canada shares the goal of reducing deemed refusals to zero and will continue to examine and refine its processes with the ultimate goal of full compliance. Public Safety Canada will resume the practice of making timely access to information performance a commitment in the performance management agreement of each executive in the department. Public Safety Canada will establish processes for ensuring accountability for the completeness of records retrieval and the interpretation of requests.

3. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Public Safety Canada develop protocols with other federal institutions to facilitate timely consultations.

Response

Informal arrangements are already in place with many of the departments with which we consult on a regular basis. Public Safety Canada will examine the feasibility of developing such protocols with agencies in the public safety portfolio, and departments with which we regularly consult.

4. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Public Safety Canada develop a training plan for its employees.

Response

Public Safety Canada values access to information training and sees it as an essential component in improving the quality and timeliness of our access to information process. This fiscal year, the coordination of access to information training sessions is being managed through the department’s Learning and Development Centre, ensuring the widest possible dissemination of the availability of this training within the institution. Since July 2009, the Access to Information and Privacy Unit has delivered training to 113 employees, 80 of whom received access training.

The materials that form the basis of our training are also available to all departmental employees on our intranet site. Training for departmental officials having delegated responsibilities is available upon request. Employees of the unit continually attend training, through Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat and other avenues, and funding for the International Association of Privacy Professionals’ Certification Program is also made available. The unit has committed to delivering 10 awareness sessions over the current year (2009–2010).

5.The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Public Safety Canada comply with the Act and notify the Office of the Information Commissioner of all the extensions it takes for more than 30 days.

Response

The unit has procedures in place to ensure notification to the Office of the Information Commissioner of extensions beyond 30 days. The time extension template includes a copy to the Office of the Information Commissioner. Public Safety Canada was unaware of any deficiency in this area until receipt of the OIC’s report. A reminder of this statutory requirement has been issued to all employees of the unit.

 

How long requests completed late were overdue, 2008–2009

Public Safety Canada reported that it completed 10 of the requests it received in 2008–2009 after their due date. This graph shows that the institution closed four of them in 30 or fewer days, five of them in 31 to 60 days and one in more than 90 days.

How long requests completed late were overdue, 2008–2009

Number and length of time extensions reported in 2008–2009

This graph shows the number and length of the time extensions Public Safety Canada reported to have taken in 2008–2009. Public Safety Canada supplied this information in the notices it sent to the OIC under subsection 9(2) of the Access to Information Act. Public Safety Canada submitted the notices 82 percent of the time in 2008–2009; the OIC expects this figure to be 100 percent in 2009–2010.

Number and length of time extensions reported in 2008–2009

Number and outcome of delay-related complaints to the OIC, 2006–2007 to 2008–2009

These graphs show the number and outcome of two types of complaint registered against Public Safety Canada in the last three reporting periods: complaints about deemed refusals (access to information requests that Public Safety Canada delayed beyond the deadlines—30 days and extended—set out in the Access to Information Act) and complaints about Public Safety Canada’s use of the time extensions allowed under the Act. Resolved complaints are those that the OIC finds to have merit and that the institution resolves to the Commissioner’s satisfaction.

Deemed refusal complaints

Deemed refusal complaints

The total number of deemed refusal complaints decreased over the three-year period (15; 2; 2). All of the deemed refusal complaints were resolved in 2006–2007 and 2007–2008.

Time extension complaints

Time extension complaints

The number of time extension complaints decreased from 2007–2008 to 2008–2009 (36; 11), while the number of resolved time extension complaints decreased in all three years (15; 8; 3).


Number and outcome of complaints to the OIC, 2006–2007 to 2008–2009

This table sets out the number and outcome of the complaints the OIC registered against Public Safety Canada in each of the last three reporting periods. Resolved complaints are those that the OIC finds to have merit and that the institution resolves to the Commissioner’s satisfaction.

  Resolved Not
substantiated
Discontinued Pending Total
2006–2007
Administrative 30 3 14 0 47
Refusals 1 3 5 2 11
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 0 0
Total 31 6 19 2 58
2007–2008
Administrative 10 7 21 0 38
Refusals 7 4 1 7 19
Cabinet confidences 0 1 0 4 5
Total 17 12 22 11 62
2008–2009
Administrative 3 2 8 0 13
Refusals 1 1 1 1 4
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 1 1
Total 4 3 9 2 18

The number of administrative complaints decreased over three years (47; 38; 13), as did the overall number of resolved complaints (31; 17; 4).

Previous Table of contents Next

Date modified:

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiches de rendement


Année



Institutions évaluées en 2008–2009

Sécurité publique Canada

Sécurité publique Canada coordonne et soutient les efforts des organismes fédéraux responsables de la sécurité nationale et de la sécurité des Canadiens. Le Ministère collabore avec différents intervenants sur les questions de gestion des urgences, de sécurité nationale, d’application de la Loi, de prévention du crime et de protection des frontières du Canada.

Faits saillants de la fiche de rendement pour 2008–2009

whole star whole star whole star half star empty star
C

  • Le taux de présomption de refus était de 8,5 %.
  • Le délai de traitement moyen était de 75 jours.
  • Les agents de l’accès rapportent une hausse considérable des demandes au cours des deux dernières années.
  • Délégation de pouvoirs diffuse. La nouvelle ordonnance de délégation mise en œuvre en 2009 accorde au coordonnateur les pouvoirs relatifs à un type d’exception, mais le processus d’approbation reste prolongé.
  • Un roulement important du personnel (50 %) a nui à la conformité.
  • En raison des interprétations étroites des demandes, nombre d’entre elles on reçu pour réponse qu’aucun document n’avait été trouvé.
  • Les prorogations invoquées en vertu de l’alinéa 9(1)b) représentent 93 % de toutes les prorogations : 61 % de celles-ci constituent un délai de plus de 90 jours.
  • Sécurité publique Canada applique les exceptions nécessaires en cas de délai des réponses aux demandes de consultation.
  • L’institution a soumis les avis de prorogations supérieures à 30 jours requises au Commissariat à l’information dans 82 % des cas.
  • Le nombre de plaintes administratives a connu une baisse au cours des trois dernières années. Le nombre de plaintes résolues a diminué au cours de cette période.

Quelques faits sur les activités d’accès à l’information à Sécurité publique en 2008–2009

Nombre de demandes reportées de 2007–2008
59
Nombre de nouvelles demandes
235
Nombre de demandes traitées
241
Taux de présomption de refus
8,5 %*
Délai de traitement moyen des demandes (jours)
75**
Nombre de demandes de consultation
198
Nombre de plaintes déposées au Commissariat à l’information
18
Nombre de demandes résolues par le Commissariat à l’information
4**
Nombre d’équivalents temps plein au bureau d’accès à l’information, au 31 mars 2009
6,5
 

* Pourcentage de demandes reportées et de nouvelles demandes retardées au-delà des délais (30 jours et prorogés) stipulés par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. (Voir l’Appendice B pour accéder à la formule utilisée par le Commissariat dans le calcul de ce taux.)

** Une plainte est résolue lorsque le Commissariat à l’information juge qu’elle est fondée et que l’institution la règle de façon satisfaisante aux yeux du commissaire.


Fiche de rendement pour 2008–2009

Sécurité publique Canada a atteint un taux de présomption de refus de 8,5 % en 2008–2009. Il y a lieu de mentionner cette réussite, à juste titre, puisque le volume de demandes de consultation reçues par Sécurité publique Canada représentait 84 % de toutes ses demandes. Au cours de l’entrevue relative à la fiche de rendement, les agents de l’accès à l’information ont noté que le nombre de demandes reçues s’est fortement accru au cours des dernières années. Le taux de présomption de refus de 2008–2009 constitue également une nette amélioration par rapport aux résultats obtenus auparavant par Protection civile Canada, le prédécesseur de l’institution.

Le pouvoir de signature des documents de communication continue d’appartenir au ministre, au sous-ministre délégué, à tous les sous-ministres adjoints et aux autres cadres supérieurs, comme il est stipulé dans l’ordonnance de délégation. Le délai de traitement moyen de 75 jours témoigne d’un processus d’approbation prolongé. Sécurité publique Canada a ensuite accordé le pouvoir d’un type d’exception au coordonnateur, mais il appert que les cadres supérieurs sont les personnes les mieux placées pour approuver les documents à communiquer.

Le roulement de 50 % du personnel a nui à la capacité de traitement efficace des dossiers à Sécurité publique Canada. Les agents de l’accès ont rapporté que la formation du nouveau personnel était longue et qu’elle a entraîné une augmentation de la charge de travail du reste du personnel.

En raison d’une interprétation étroite des demandes, nombre d’entre elles ont reçu comme réponse qu’aucun document n’avait été trouvé, tandis que, selon les agents de l’accès, des dossiers auraient été repérés si l’interprétation de la demande avait été plus large. Le bureau d’accès à l’information a remis en cause de telles interprétations étroites et a offert une formation pour aider les employés à répondre aux demandes d’accès en respectant l’esprit de la Loi.

Le bureau d’accès à l’information invoque les prorogations en vertu de l’alinéa 9(1)a) de la Loi dans moins de 5 % des cas. Toutefois, les représentants de Sécurité publique Canada affirment qu’ils consultent fréquemment les autres institutions fédérales relevant du portefeuille de la Sécurité publique (93 % de toutes les prorogations ont été prises en vertu de l’alinéa 9(1)b) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information) et d’autres institutions fédérales, provinciales et municipales, ce qui gruge beaucoup de temps : 61 % des prorogations invoquées pour la consultation d’autres institutions étaient supérieures à 90 jours. C’est pourquoi Sécurité publique Canada a adopté une position ferme à l’égard des consultations soumises aux autres institutions : lorsque ces dernières omettent de lui répondre en temps utile, Sécurité publique Canada fera preuve de jugement et appliquera elle-même les prorogations nécessaires.

Sécurité publique Canada a considérablement amélioré sa conformité à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information depuis la réception de sa note insatisfaisante en 2005. Toutefois, considérant l’augmentation du nombre de demandes, le Commissariat à l’information encourage Sécurité publique Canada à surveiller son progrès et à assurer le maintien, voire l’amélioration, de sa conformité.

Recommandations

1. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que le ministre révise l’ordonnance de délégation afin d’assurer une plus grande autonomie au coordonnateur de l’accès à l’information en matière de communication des dossiers et d’éliminer les niveaux d’approbations additionnels.

Réponse

Le ministre a révisé les délégations en 2009. Les nouvelles délégations précisent les pouvoirs administratifs du coordonnateur de l’accès à l’information. Le coordonnateur de l’accès à l’information a également obtenu le pouvoir de retrancher les renseignements personnels conformément à l’article 19 de la Loi.

Toutefois, Sécurité publique Canada considère que les agents appropriés pour l’exercice du pouvoir délégué pour la plupart des exceptions sont les sousministres adjoints responsables des sujets couverts par les documents.

Sécurité publique Canada a amélioré la rapidité de son processus d’approbation en assurant un suivi plus serré des approbations. Cette mesure a réduit les délais à l’étape de l’approbation.

2. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que Sécurité publique Canada s’efforce de réduire le taux de présomption de refus à zéro.

Réponse

Le Ministère s’est grandement amélioré depuis qu’il a reçu la note « F » en 2005, et a maintenu un taux de 90 % pour le respect des échéances des réponses au cours des deux dernières années de référence. Sécurité publique Canada partage l’objectif de réduction des présomptions de refus à zéro, et continuera à examiner et à préciser ses processus en ciblant la pleine conformité. Sécurité publique Canada reprendra sa pratique de faire du rendement de l’accès à l’information en temps voulu un engagement dans les accords de gestion du rendement de tous les cadres du Ministère. Sécurité publique Canada établira des processus visant à assurer la responsabilisation de l’exhaustivité de la récupération des dossiers et de l’interprétation des demandes.

3. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande à Sécurité publique Canada d’élaborer des protocoles avec d’autres institutions fédérales afin d’accélérer le processus de consultation.

Réponse

Des ententes informelles sont déjà en vigueur avec de nombreux ministères que nous consultons de façon régulière. Sécurité publique Canada évaluera la possibilité d’établir de tels protocoles avec des organismes relevant du portefeuille de la Sécurité publique et les ministères que nous consultons régulièrement.

4. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que Sécurité publique Canada élabore un plan de formation pour ses employés.

Réponse

Sécurité publique Canada privilégie la formation sur l’accès à l’information et la considère comme un élément essentiel de l’amélioration de la qualité et de la rapidité de notre processus d’accès à l’information. Pendant l’exercice financier en cours, la coordination des séances de formation sur l’accès à l’information est assurée par le centre d’apprentissage et de perfectionnement du Ministère, offrant la plus grande transmission de la formation au sein de l’institution. Depuis juillet 2009, l’unité de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels a donné une formation à 113 employés, et 80 d’entre eux ont reçu une formation sur l’accès.

Les documents qui servent de base à notre formation sont également disponibles à tous les employés du Ministère sur notre site intranet. La formation pour les représentants ministériels à qui on a délégué des responsabilités est disponible sur demande. Les employés de l’unité suivent une formation continue, par l’entremise du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada et d’autres sources, et le financement est assuré par le programme de certification de l’International Association of Privacy Professionals. L’unité s’est engagée à offrir 10 séances sur la sensibilisation pendant l’exercice en cours (2009–2010).

5. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que Sécurité publique Canada se conforme à la Loi et avise le Commissariat de toute prorogation excédant 30 jours.

Réponse

L’unité a mis des procédures en place pour s’assurer que le Commissariat à l’information est avisé des prorogations supérieures à 30 jours. Le modèle de prorogation comprend une copie à l’intention du Commissariat à l’information. Sécurité publique Canada ignorait tout de ces lacunes jusqu’à la réception du rapport du Commissariat à l’information. Un rappel de cette exigence de la Loi a été transmis à tous les employés de l’unité.


Importance du délai des demandes traitées en retard, 2008–2009

Sécurité publique Canada indique qu’il a traité 10 demandes reçues en 2008–2009 après leur date d’échéance. Ce graphique illustre que l’institution a fermé quatre d’entre elles en 30 jours ou moins, cinq en 60 jours ou moins et une demande dans un délai supérieur à 90 jours.

Importance du délai des demandes traitées en retard, 2008–2009

Nombre et durée des prorogations signalées en 2008–2009

Ce graphique illustre le nombre et la durée des prorogations signalées par Sécurité publique Canada en 2008–2009. Sécurité publique Canada a fait état de cette information dans les avis envoyés au Commissariat en vertu du paragraphe 9(2) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Sécurité publique Canada a soumis les avis dans 82 % des cas en 2008–2009; le Commissariat s’attend à ce que ce nombre atteigne 100 % en 2009–2010.

Nombre et durée des prorogations signalées en 2008–2009

Nombre et issue des plaintes relatives au délai déposées au Commissariat de 2006–2007 à 2008–2009

Ces graphiques illustrent le nombre et l’issue de deux types de plaintes déposées contre Sécurité publique Canada au cours des trois dernières périodes de référence : plaintes relatives à la présomption de refus (demandes d’accès à l’information retardées par Sécurité publique Canada au-delà des délais – 30 jours et prorogés – stipulés par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information) et plaintes relatives à l’utilisation des prorogations par Sécurité publique Canada en vertu de la Loi. Les plaintes résolues sont celles que le Commissariat estime fondées et que l’institution règle à la satisfaction du commissaire.

Plaintes sur la présomption de refus

Plaintes sur la présomption de refus

Le nombre total de plaintes sur la présomption de refus a diminué au cours de la période de trois ans (15; 2; 2). Toutes les plaintes sur la présomption de refus ont été résolues en 2006–2007 et en 2007–2008.

Plaintes sur le délai de prorogation

Plaintes sur le délai de prorogation

Le nombre de plaintes sur le délai de prorogation a diminué de 2007–2008 à 2008–2009 (36; 11), tandis que le nombre de plaintes sur le délai de prorogation résolues a diminué pour les trois exercices (15; 8; 3).


Nombre et issue des plaintes déposées au Commissariat de 2006–2007 à 2008–2009

Ce tableau illustre le nombre et l’issue des plaintes déposées au Commissariat contre Sécurité publique Canada dans chacune des trois dernières périodes de référence. Les plaintes résolues sont celles que le Commissariat estime fondées et que l’institution règle à la satisfaction du commissaire.

  Résolues Non fondées Abandonnées En suspens Total
2006–2007
Questions administratives 30 3 14 0 47
Refus 1 3 5 2 11
Documents confidentiels
du Cabinet
0 0 0 0 0
Total 31 6 19 2 58
2007–2008
Questions administratives 10 7 21 0 38
Refus 7 4 1 7 19
Documents confidentiels
du Cabinet
0 1 0 4 5
Total 17 12 22 11 62
2008–2009
Questions administratives 3 2 8 0 13
Refus 1 1 1 1 4
Documents confidentiels
du Cabinet
0 0 0 1 1
Total 4 3 9 2 18

Le nombre de plaintes administratives a connu une baisse sur trois ans (47; 38; 13), tout comme le nombre de l’ensemble des plaintes résolues (31; 17; 4).