Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Report Cards


Year


Previous Table of contents Next

Institutions assessed in 2008–2009

Industry Canada

Industry Canada’s mission is to foster a growing, competitive and knowledge-based Canadian economy. Industry Canada works to improve conditions for investment, improve Canada’s innovation performance, increase Canada’s share of global trade, and build a fair, efficient and competitive marketplace.

2008–2009 report card at a glance

whole star whole star whole star whole star empty star
B

  • Deemed refusal rate was 8.7 percent.
  • Average completion time was 46 days.
  • Requests increased by 93 percent from 2007–2008.
  • Industry Canada completed 58 percent of new requests in 30 days; four requests were overdue.
  • Industry Canada submitted notices of extensions it took for more than 30 days 83 percent of the time.
  • Industry Canada is implementing a comprehensive information management agenda to enhance this capacity and facilitate efficient records retrieval.
  • Industry Canada has developed and implemented a number of practices for records holders to facilitate the efficient retrieval of records and processing of requests.
  • Industry Canada negotiates with applicants to streamline their requests and thereby reduce costs. It also releases responses to requests on CD-ROM.

Some facts about access to information operations at Industry Canada in 2008–2009

Number of requests carried over from 2007–2008
118
Number of new requests
660
Number of requests completed
526
Deemed refusal rate
8.7%*
Average time to complete a request (in days)
46
Number of consultation requests
135
Number of complaints registered with the Office of the Information Commissioner
79
Number of complaints the Office of the Information Commissioner resolved
15**
Number of full-time equivalents in access to information office, as of March 31, 2009
14
 

* Percentage of carried over and new requests delayed beyond the deadlines (30 days and extended) set out in the Access to Information Act. (See Appendix B for the formula the Office of the Information Commissioner used to calculate this rate.)

** A complaint is resolved when the Office of the Information Commissioner finds it has merit, and the institution resolves it to the Commissioner’s satisfaction.


2008–2009 report card

Industry Canada’s compliance with the Access to Information Act was good in 2008–2009, despite the institution’s having experienced a 93 percent increase in requests. Its deemed refusal rate was 8.7 percent and it took, on average, 46 days to complete a request. Industry Canada was able to complete 58 percent of its requests within the 30-day statutory time limit in 2008–2009. However, it carried a backlog of 252 requests over into 2009–2010.

A new delegation of authority as of July 2009 added a layer of approval for access requests at the senior executive level. Industry Canada assured the Office of the Information ommissioner (OIC) that, nonetheless, the authority to release information packages remains with the director and managers of the access program. The OIC is of the view that delegation orders should be appropriate, efficient and transparent. Industry Canada should ensure that any additional level of approvals does not lead to delays.

Industry Canada reported being delayed by other federal institutions’ turnaround times when doing mandatory consultations, citing, for example, an average turnaround time of 120 days with the Privy Council Office. Industry Canada took 52 percent of its time extensions for longer than 90 days. Industry Canada reports that time extensions taken are based on multiple factors, such as the number of consultations required on a given file, the volume of information to be reviewed, previous similar cases, and the need to confirm the timing of consultations with certain key organizations.

Information management continues to be a challenge at Industry Canada, since the institution has no central registry for its vast and diverse record holdings. Industry Canada is implementing a comprehensive information management agenda, designed to enhance its capacity in this area and improve access to information and records.

To improve efficiency and clarity at the records retrieval stage, Industry Canada has records holders use a template to identify information requiring consultations and possible severances, and any other information germane to the request.

It also asks records holders to write out a rationale for any exemptions, consultations or possible severances, rather than simply quoting the relevant subject of the Access to Information Act. This allows records holders to provide any useful context and background that may affect decisions made about the release of records.

Industry Canada had a failing grade on its first report card in 2003–2004, so its four-star rating, and its low deemed refusal rate and average completion time in 2008–2009 are noteworthy. The OIC looks to the leadership at Industry Canada to maintain and, in fact, improve on that record. In coming years, the OIC will look to see what effect the new delegation order, the information management initiatives, the hiring of a consultant to work on the backlog, and the growing number of requests have on Industry Canada’s ability to comply with the Act.

Recommendations

1. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that, given the additional level of authority added to the delegation order, Industry Canada’s access to information coordinator ensure that requests are approved and released with no additional delays.

Response

In keeping with Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat policy and recommendations, Industry Canada has implemented a delegation instrument that includes specific senior executives for purposes of providing support and advice to the executive management of the department, if and when required.

For practical and functional purposes, the director and managers of Information and Privacy Rights Administration (IPRA) exercise full authority for all powers, duties and functions pursuant to access legislation that are required to perform the daily operations and to ensure compliance.

The delegation instrument currently provides full autonomy to the director and the managers of IPRA. In reviewing Industry Canada’s business practices and approval processes there has been no change or impact in responding to access requests as a result of the existing delegation order.

2. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Industry Canada develop a clear plan to tackle the backlog of access requests in order to improve overall compliance with the Act.

Response

IPRA has developed a strategy and implemented various initiatives to address the backlog situation. However, given the large backlog, any results in reducing it will take some time before taking effect.

For example, in the short-term, the department is doing the following:

  • hiring a consultant to help with the backlog;
  • communicating with applicants to confirm continued interest in requests received prior to 2008;
  • negotiating with applicants to reduce scope and/or volume of material on large files;
  • amalgamating requests when possible to maximize efficiency and processing; and
  • authorizing overtime for staff to focus on specific files.

In the long-term, the department has initiated the following:

  • staffing actions to fill vacant positions;
  • ongoing review and streamlining of internal business practices to reduce delays;
  • continuing negotiations with applicants to better respond to requests in more timely fashion; and
  • increasing communication and awareness with Industry Canada employees to improve response times and deliverables.

3. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Industry Canada strive to reduce its deemed refusal rate to zero.

Response

Industry Canada continues to endeavour to respect compliance and to reduce the number of deemed refusal cases. Actions that have been implemented to date:

  • negotiating with applicants to reduce scope and offering alternatives, be it previously released information, publicly accessible documentation or informal discussions with program officials;
  • increasing access awareness and training with Industry Canada employees to improve response times and deliverables;
  • working closely with program officials to develop workplans and strategies for improving responses to requests;
  • communicating and negotiating with third parties and other stakeholders (i.e. other jurisdictions) concerning the disclosure of their information in response to requests;
  • providing applicants with information on CD-ROM; and
  • updating the access case management tool to improve efficiency.

4. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Industry Canada review and continue to document the criteria it uses for extensions to ensure that they are reasonable and legitimate.

Response

Industry Canada determines reasonable legal time extensions based on multiple factors on a case-by-case basis. For example, the department will consider the number of consultations required on a given file, the volume of information to be consulted, and the time taken on previous similar cases. Industry Canada will also confer with certain key organizations on the timeliness of their consultation responses. As a standard practice, IPRA advisors will document the supporting facts as noted for each request.

5. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Industry Canada comply with the Act and notify the Office of the Information Commissioner of all the extensions it takes for more than 30 days.

Response

Industry Canada has an established business practice of sending copies of extension notices to the OIC when extensions for more than 30 days are taken, except in cases when extending pursuant to paragraph 9(1)(c). Existing form letters automatically include the cc to the OIC.

 

How long requests completed late were overdue, 2008–2009

Industry Canada reported that it completed only four of the requests it received in 2008–2009 after their due date. This graph shows that the institution closed two of them in fewer than 30 days but that it took more than 90 days to close the other two.

How long requests completed late were overdue, 2008–2009

Number and length of time extensions reported in 2008–2009

This graph shows the number and length of the time extensions Industry Canada reported to have taken in 2008–2009. Industry Canada supplied this information in the notices it sent to the OIC under subsection 9(2) of the Access to Information Act. Industry Canada submitted the notices 83 percent of the time in 2008–2009; the OIC expects this figure to be 100 percent in 2009–2010.

Number and length of time extensions reported in 2008–2009

Number and outcome of delay-related complaints to the OIC, 2006–2007 to 2008–2009

These graphs show the number and outcome of two types of complaint registered against Industry Canada in the last three reporting periods: complaints about deemed refusals (access to information requests that Industry Canada delayed beyond the deadlines—30 days and extended—set out in the Access to Information Act) and complaints about Industry Canada’s use of the time extensions allowed under the Act. Resolved complaints are those that the OIC finds to have merit and that the institution resolves to the Commissioner’s satisfaction.

Deemed refusal complaints

Deemed refusal complaints

The overall number of deemed refusal complaints decreased from 2006–2007 to 2007–2008, then increased slightly the subsequent year (11; 4; 6). The proportion of resolved deemed refusal complaints to the total was high in all three years (55 percent; 75 percent; 100 percent).

Time extension complaints

Time extension complaints

The number of time extension complaints increased significantly each year (2; 10; 31), while the proportion of resolved complaints to the total decreased (50 percent; 30 percent; 19 percent).


Number and outcome of complaints to the OIC, 2006–2007 to 2008–2009

This table sets out the number and outcome of the complaints the OIC registered against Industry Canada in each of the last three reporting periods. Resolved complaints are those that the OIC finds to have merit and that the institution resolves to the Commissioner’s satisfaction.

  Resolved Not
substantiated
Discontinued Pending Total
2006–2007
Administrative 7 7 0 0 14
Refusals 3 2 1 0 6
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 0 0
Total 10 9 1 0 20
2007–2008
Administrative 10 5 2 1 18
Refusals 1 3 1 3 8
Cabinet confidences 0 3 0 3 6
Total 1 11 3 7 32
2008–2009
Administrative 15 13 11 2 41
Refusals 0 0 2 36 38
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 0 0
Total 15 13 13 38 79

In each of the three years, there was a near-even split between resolved and not substantiated complaints (10:9; 11:11; 15:13). The number of resolved refusal complaints declined over the three years (3; 1; 0), but 36 refusal complaints were pending at the end of 2008–2009.

Previous Table of contents Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiches de rendement


Année



Institutions évaluées en 2008–2009

Industrie Canada

Industrie Canada a pour mission de favoriser l’essor d’une économie canadienne concurrentielle et axée sur le savoir. Industrie Canada travaille à instaurer un climat favorable à l’investissement, à stimuler l’innovation, à accroître la présence canadienne sur les marchés mondiaux et à créer un marché équitable, efficace et concurrentiel.

Faits saillants de la fiche de rendement pour 2008–2009

whole star whole star whole star whole star empty star
B

  • Le taux de présomption de refus était de 8,7 %.
  • Le délai de traitement moyen était de 46 jours.
  • Les demandes ont augmenté de 93 % par rapport à 2007–2008.
  • Industrie Canada a traité 58 % des nouvelles demandes en 30 jours; quatre demandes ont accusé un retard.
  • Industrie Canada a soumis des avis de prorogations pour les délais de plus de 30 jours dans 83 % des cas.
  • Industrie Canada met en place un programme complet de gestion de l’information pour accroître sa capacité et favoriser la récupération efficace des dossiers.
  • Industrie Canada a élaboré et mis en œuvre un certain nombre de pratiques à l’intention des détenteurs de dossiers pour favoriser l’efficacité de la récupération de dossiers et du traitement des demandes.
  • Industrie Canada négocie avec les demandeurs pour simplifier leurs demandes et ainsi réduire les coûts. Elle communique également les réponses aux demandes sur CD-ROM.

Quelques faits sur les activités d’accès à l’information à Industrie Canada en 2008–2009

Nombre de demandes reportées de 2007–2008
118
Nombre de nouvelles demandes
660
Nombre de demandes traitées
526
Taux de présomption de refus
8,7 %*
Délai de traitement moyen des demandes (jours)
46
Nombre de demandes de consultation
135
Nombre de plaintes déposées au Commissariat à l’information
79
Nombre de demandes résolues par le Commissariat à l’information
15**
Nombre d’équivalents temps plein au bureau d’accès à l’information, au 31 mars 2009
14
 

* Pourcentage de demandes reportées et de nouvelles demandes retardées au-delà des délais (30 jours et prorogés) stipulés par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. (Voir l’Appendice B pour accéder à la formule utilisée par le Commissariat dans le calcul de ce taux.)

** Une plainte est résolue lorsque le Commissariat à l’information juge qu’elle est fondée et que l’institution la règle de façon satisfaisante aux yeux du commissaire.


Fiche de rendement pour 2008–2009

La conformité d’Industrie Canada à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information a été bonne en 2008–2009, malgré le fait que l’institution a connu une hausse de 93 % des demandes. Le taux de présomption de refus était de 8,7 %, et il a fallu en moyenne 46 jours pour traiter une demande. Industrie Canada a été en mesure de traiter 58 % des demandes dans le délai de 30 jours prescrit par la Loi en 2008–2009. Toutefois, elle a reporté un arriéré de 252 demandes à 2009–2010.

Une nouvelle délégation de pouvoirs en date de juillet 2009 a ajouté un niveau d’approbation pour les demandes d’accès auprès des cadres supérieurs. Néanmoins Industrie Canada a assuré au Commissariat à l’information que le directeur et les gestionnaires du programme d’accès étaient investis des pouvoirs de communication de documents. Le Commissariat estime que ces ordonnances de délégation devraient être appropriées, efficaces et transparentes. Industrie Canada doit s’assurer que tout autre niveau d’approbation supplémentaire n’entraîne pas de retard.

Industrie Canada affirme avoir été retardé par les délais de réponses des autres institutions fédérales dans le cadre des consultations obligatoires, citant, par exemple, un délai de réponse moyen de 120 jours au Bureau du Conseil privé. Dans 52 % des cas, les prorogations invoquées par Industrie Canada ont excédé le délai de 90 jours. Industrie Canada, signale que les prorogations invoquées se basent sur de multiples facteurs, comme le nombre de consultations requises pour un dossier donné, le volume d’information à examiner, les cas précédents semblables, et le besoin de confirmer le moment des consultations auprès de certaines organisations clés.

La gestion de l’information continue de représenter un défi à Industrie Canada, puisque l’institution n’a aucun registre central pour y consigner sa vaste collection diversifiée de dossiers. Industrie Canada met en œuvre un programme complet de gestion de l’information, conçu pour accroître sa capacité en la matière et améliorer l’accès à l’information et aux dossiers.

Pour améliorer l’efficacité et la clarté des dossiers à l’étape de la récupération, Industrie Canada a demandé aux détenteurs de dossiers de recourir à un modèle pour cerner les demandes nécessitant des consultations et des prélèvements possibles, ainsi que toute autre information se rapportant à la demande.

Industrie Canada a également demandé aux détenteurs de dossiers de rédiger les motifs des exceptions, consultations ou prélèvements possibles, plutôt que de se limiter à citer la disposition pertinente de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Cette mesure permet aux détenteurs de dossiers de fournir tout contexte et arrière-plan pouvant avoir des répercussions sur les décisions relatives à la communication des dossiers.

Industrie Canada n’a pas obtenu la note de passage dans le cadre de sa première fiche de rendement en 2003–2004. Par conséquent, son classement 4 étoiles, son faible taux de présomption de refus ainsi que son délai moyen de traitement des demandes en 2008–2009 ne passent pas inaperçus. Le Commissariat à l’information se fie au leadership d’Industrie Canada pour maintenir et améliorer ce classement. Au cours des prochaines années, le Commissariat cherchera à établir les effets de la nouvelle ordonnance de délégation, des initiatives de gestion de l’information, de l’embauche d’un consultant assigné aux arriérés et du nombre croissant de demandes sur la capacité d’Industrie Canada à se conformer à la Loi.

Recommandations

1. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que, compte tenu du niveau d’autorisation supplémentaire ajouté à l’ordonnance de délégation, le coordonnateur de l’accès à l’information d’Industrie Canada s’assure que les demandes sont approuvées et communiquées sans retard supplémentaire.

Réponse

Conformément à la politique et aux recommandations du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada, Industrie Canada a mis en œuvre un instrument de délégation qui comprend des cadres supérieurs désignés aux fins de soutien et de conseil à la haute direction du ministère, le cas échéant.

À des fins pratiques et fonctionnelles, le directeur et les gestionnaires d’Administration des droits à l’information et à la protection des renseignements personnels (ADIPRP) ont la pleine autorité de tous les pouvoirs, tâches et fonctions relativement à la Loi sur l’accès requis pour exécuter les activités quotidiennes et veiller à la conformité.

L’instrument de délégation fournit actuellement la pleine autonomie au directeur et aux gestionnaires d’ADIPRP. L’examen des pratiques opérationnelles et des processus d’approbation d’Industrie Canada ne révèle aucun changement ni aucune répercussion dans les réponses aux demandes d’accès en raison de l’ordonnance de délégation actuelle.

2. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande qu’Industrie Canada élabore un plan clair pour traiter les arriérés des demandes d’accès afin d’améliorer sa conformité globale à la Loi.

Réponse

ADIPRP a élaboré une stratégie et mis en œuvre diverses initiatives pour traiter des arriérés. Toutefois, compte tenu de leur importance, il faudra être patient avant de constater une réduction.

Par exemple, à court terme, le Ministère entreprend ce qui suit :

  • embauche d’un consultant pour aider à réduire les arriérés;
  • communication avec les demandeurs pour confirmer l’intérêt envers les demandes reçues avant 2008;
  • négociation avec les demandeurs pour réduire la portée ou l’ampleur des documents dans les dossiers volumineux;
  • fusion des demandes lorsque possible pour maximiser l’efficacité et le traitement;
  • autorisation des heures supplémentaires pour permettre au personnel de se concentrer sur des dossiers précis.

À long terme, le Ministère a entrepris ce qui suit :

  • mesures de dotation pour pourvoir les postes vacants;
  • examen et simplification continus des pratiques opérationnelles internes pour réduire les retards;
  • maintien des négociations auprès des demandeurs afin de mieux répondre aux demandes de façon plus opportune;
  • amélioration de la communication et de la sensibilisation auprès des employés d’Industrie Canada pour améliorer les délais de réponses et les réalisations attendues.

3. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande qu’Industrie Canada s’efforce de réduire son taux de présomption de refus à zéro.

Réponse

Industrie Canada continue de viser la conformité et la réduction du nombre de cas de présomption de refus. Mesures mises en place à ce jour :

  • négociation avec les demandeurs pour réduire la portée et offrir des solutions, ne serait-ce que des renseignements communiqués précédemment, de la documentation accessible au public ou des discussions informelles avec les représentants de programme;
  • améliorer la sensibilisation et la formation sur l’accès auprès des employés d’Industrie Canada pour améliorer les délais de réponses et les réalisations attendues;
  • travailler étroitement avec les représentants de programme pour élaborer des plans de travail et des stratégies aux fins d’amélioration des réponses;
  • communiquer et négocier avec des tiers et des intervenants (c’est-à-dire d’autres instances) à propos de la divulgation de l’information en réponse aux demandes;
  • soumettre les renseignements aux demandeurs sur CD-ROM;
  • mettre à jour l’outil de gestion des cas pour améliorer l’efficacité.

4. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande qu’Industrie Canada examine et continue de documenter les critères de recours aux prorogations pour en assurer le caractère raisonnable et légitime.

Réponse

Industrie Canada détermine un délai de prorogation raisonnable selon divers facteurs au cas par cas. Par exemple, le Ministère envisagera le nombre de consultations requises pour un dossier donné, le volume d’information à consulter et le temps accordé aux demandes précédentes semblables. Industrie Canada consultera également certaines organisations clés au sujet de la rapidité des réponses aux demandes de consultation. À titre de norme de pratique, les conseillers d’ADIPRP documenteront les faits à l’appui comme il est indiqué pour chaque demande.

5. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande qu’Industrie Canada se conforme à la Loi et avise le Commissariat de toute prorogation excédant 30 jours.

Réponse

Industrie Canada a pour pratique d’envoyer des copies des avis de prorogations au Commissariat lorsqu’une prorogation de plus de 30 jours est prise, à l’exception des cas de prorogation en vertu de l’alinéa 9(1)c). Les formulaires de lettres actuels comprennent automatiquement une copie conforme au Commissariat.


Importance du délai des demandes traitées en retard, 2008–2009

Industrie Canada a indiqué qu’il a traité uniquement quatre demandes reçues en 2008–2009 après leur date d’échéance. Ce graphique illustre que l’institution a fermé deux d’entre elles en moins de 30 jours, les deux autres ayant nécessité un délai de traitement de plus de 90 jours.

Importance du délai des demandes traitées en retard, 2008–2009

Nombre et durée des prorogations signalées en 2008–2009

Ce graphique illustre le nombre et la durée des prorogations signalées par Industrie Canada en 2008–2009. Industrie Canada a fait état de cette information dans les avis envoyés au Commissariat en vertu du paragraphe 9(2) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Industrie Canada a soumis les avis dans 45 % des cas en 2008–2009; le Commissariat s’attend à ce que ce nombre atteigne 100 % en 2009–2010.

Nombre et durée des prorogations signalées en 2008–2009

Nombre et issue des plaintes relatives au délai déposées au Commissariat de 2006–2007 à 2008–2009

Ces graphiques illustrent le nombre et l’issue de deux types de plaintes déposées contre Industrie Canada au cours des trois dernières périodes de référence : plaintes sur la présomption de refus (demandes d’accès à l’information reportées par Industrie Canada au-delà des délais – 30 jours et prorogés – énoncés dans la Loi sur l’accès à l’information) et plaintes relatives à l’utilisation des prorogations par Industrie Canada en vertu de la Loi. Les plaintes résolues sont celles que le Commissariat estime fondées et que l’institution règle à la satisfaction du commissaire.

Plaintes sur la présomption de refus

Plaintes sur la présomption de refus

Le nombre global de plaintes sur la présomption de refus a diminué de 2006–2007 à 2007–2008, puis a légèrement augmenté pour l’exercice suivant (11; 4; 6). La proportion de plaintes résolues pour cette catégorie est demeurée élevée pour les trois exercices (55 %; 75 %; 100 %).

Plaintes sur le délai de prorogation

Plaintes sur le délai de prorogation

Le nombre de plaintes sur le délai de prorogation a augmenté considérablement à chaque exercice (2; 10; 31) alors que la proportion des plaintes résolues a diminué (50 %; 30 %; 19 %).


Nombre et issue des plaintes déposées au Commissariat de 2006–2007 à 2008–2009

Ce tableau illustre le nombre et l’issue des plaintes déposées au Commissariat contre Industrie Canada dans chacune des trois dernières périodes de référence. Les plaintes résolues sont celles que le Commissariat estime fondées et que l’institution règle à la satisfaction du commissaire.

  Résolues Non fondées Abandonnées En suspens Total
2006–2007
Questions administratives 7 7 0 0 14
Refus 3 2 1 0 6
Documents confidentiels
du Cabinet
0 0 0 0 0
Total 10 9 1 0 20
2007–2008
Questions administratives 10 5 2 1 18
Refus 1 3 1 3 8
Documents confidentiels
du Cabinet
0 3 0 3 6
Total 11 11 3 7 32
2008–2009
Questions administratives 15 13 11 2 41
Refus 0 0 2 36 48
Documents confidentiels
du Cabinet
0 0 0 0 0
Total 15 13 13 38 79

Au cours des trois derniers exercices, il y a une répartition presque parfaite entre les plaintes résolues et non fondées (10 : 9; 11 : 11; 15 : 13). Le nombre de plaintes sur la présomption de refus a diminué au cours des trois derniers exercices (3; 1; 0), mais 36 plaintes liées à un refus sont demeurées en suspens à la fin de 2008– 2009.