Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Report Cards


Year


Previous Table of contents Next

Institutions assessed in 2008–2009

Human Resources and Skills Development Canada

Human Resources and Skills Development Canada (HRSDC) is the focal point for social policies and programs in Canada. The institution is responsible for strengthening Canada’s social foundations by fostering the welfare of citizens, families and communities, as well as their participation in society.

2008–2009 report card at a glance

whole star whole star whole star empty star empty star
C

  • Deemed refusal rate was 10.2 percent.
  • Average completion time was 80 days.
  • The merger of the access to information functions of Service Canada and HRSDC resulted in initial problems in processing access requests, as was expected by the institution. However, officials said that they believe the merger will be beneficial for requesters over the long term.
  • Amalgamation of the two offices resulted in some staff departures, but the staffing levels have since stabilized.
  • The backlog inherited from Service Canada affected HRSDC’s overall compliance; however, the backlog has since been cleared.
  • The delegation of authority was diffuse; however, in September 2009, HRSDC’s corporate secretary communicated to all senior executives that access to information officials retain the delegated authority for releases.
  • HRSDC submitted the notices to the Office of the Information Commissioner about extensions of more than 30 days 98 percent of the time.

Some facts about access to information operations at HRSDC in 2008–2009

Number of requests carried over from 2007–2008
78
Number of new requests
295
Number of requests completed
406
Deemed refusal rate
10.2%*
Average time to complete a request (in days)
80
Number of consultation requests
129
Number of complaints registered with the Office of the Information Commissioner
11
Number of complaints the Office of the Information Commissioner resolved
4**
Number of full-time equivalents in access to information office, as of March 31, 2009
15
 

* Percentage of carried over and new requests delayed beyond the deadlines (30 days and extended) set out in the Access to Information Act. (See Appendix B for the formula the Office of the Information Commissioner used to calculate this rate.)

** A complaint is resolved when the Office of the Information Commissioner finds it has merit, and the institution resolves it to the Commissioner’s satisfaction.


2008–2009 report card

Human Resources and Skills Development Canada (HRSDC) experienced an atypical year in 2008–2009: its access to information office merged with that of Service Canada three months into the year. The case of HRSDC illustrates the challenges to an institution of a merger, particularly when there is little time to plan.

HRSDC’s merger meant that physical and human resources as well as distinct administrative processes had to be reconciled, all while still having to process requests. HRSDC also inherited a large backlog from Service Canada. HRSDC reported that records related to an access request were left behind during the move but were later recovered.

The integration of the two institutions’ access to information functions required the amalgamation of two teams of analysts with varying levels of experience and expertise. The reorganization led to staff departures, including at the management level, which resulted in HRSDC having three successive access coordinators in a year.

At the time of the merger, the access to information and privacy operations unit comprised 26 employees, which later stabilized at 22, in terms of both management and staff. HRSDC indicated that the merger will be beneficial for requesters over the long term.

Although the merger and the physical move led to delays in processing requests, the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) is encouraged to see that HRSDC sustained at least an average level of compliance; its deemed refusal rate was 10.2 percent. However, the OIC is concerned that this may have been possible through the use of time extensions under paragraph 9(1)(a) of the Access to Information Act, which allow institutions to take more time for requests that involve searches through or for a large volume of records that result in “unreasonable interference with operations.”

The OIC is also concerned about HRSDC’s delegation order, which gives everyone from the deputy ministers to the director and manager of the access office the authority to release records, which can cause delays. However, in September 2009, HRSDC’s corporate secretary communicated to all senior executives that access to information officials retain the delegated authority for releases.

HRSDC has been assessed as part of the report card process on a number of occasions, most recently in 2004–2005, and with varying success. While recognizing that 2008–2009 was an odd year for the institution, the OIC expects its compliance to improve in coming years. A first encouraging sign is that HRSDC virtually eliminated its backlog in January 2010.

Recommendations

1. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Human Resources and Skills Development Canada revise the delegation order to clearly show that the access to information coordinator and officers have the delegated authority without reference to other officials for decisions made under the Access to Information Act.

Response

HRSDC’s practice is that decisions on the release of information in response to access requests are largely taken at the access director and manager level, as provided for in the current delegation instrument.

Senior officials are also named in the instrument. In a department the size of HRSDC, and one with its complex structure (responsible for a wide range of policies, programs, services, and having a national headquarters in the National Capital Region, as well as several diverse local and regional offices throughout Canada), the access director is well served by having the support of senior portfolio management.

In September 2009, the corporate secretary of HRSDC communicated to all senior executives that “the Director, Access to Information and Privacy (ATIP) Division retains the authority to determine whether documents should be released, as per the delegation signed by the Minister of HRSD.”

An enhanced protocol was prepared and communicated to all senior staff on their responsibilities with respect to scoping and providing records in response to access requests in an effective and timely manner.

It is noteworthy that HRSDC continues to be proactive with regard to the exercise of authority at the director level.

2. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Human Resources and Skills Development Canada develop a clear plan to tackle the backlog of access requests.

Response

The backlog has been cleared.

As of January 14, 2010, eight active requests were in deemed refusal status, generally due to unusually large volumes and/or extensive required consultations, for example with the Privy Council Office.

HRSDC will continue to proactively manage access to information operations in order to ensure that appropriate action is taken on all requests and to avoid backlogs.

3. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Human Resources and Skills Development Canada strive to reduce its deemed refusal rate to zero.

Response

HRSDC continues to strive to reduce its deemed refusal rate to zero and maintains its zero tolerance policy for late responses.

The following activities as well as other approaches to facilitate awareness and compliance will continue into the future:

  • Reports on access to information re distributed weekly to all senior executives and presented weekly to the senior management table.
  • In October 2009, the quarterly access to information management report was implemented and is distributed, as above, to all executive heads.
  • In the summer of 2009, a protocol was developed and forms were updated to assist offices of primary interest in meeting their objectives with respect to access-related deadlines, as mentioned above.

4. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Human Resources and Skills Development Canada review the criteria it uses for extensions taken under paragraph 9(1)(a) to ensure that the extensions are reasonable and legitimate.

Response

Generally, HRSDC determines whether or not a 9(1)(a) extension is warranted based on volume of records to review. The benchmark used is 300 pages of records (as per an approach suggested by the OIC in the past). Input will be sought from the OIC on best practices in this regard.

 

How long requests completed late were overdue, 2008–2009

HRSDC reported that it completed 17 of the requests it received in 2008–2009 after their due date. This graph shows how long these requests stayed open beyond that deadline.

How long requests completed late were overdue, 2008–2009

Number and length of time extensions reported in 2008–2009

This graph shows the number and length of the time extensions HRSDC reported to have taken in 2008–2009. The institution supplied this information in the notices it sent to the OIC under subsection 9(2) of the Access to Information Act. HRSDC submitted these notices 98 percent of the time.

Number and length of time extensions reported in 2008–2009

Number and outcome of delay-related complaints to the OIC, 2006–2007 to 2008–2009

These graphs show the number and outcome of two types of complaint registered against HRSDC in the last three reporting periods: complaints about deemed refusals (access to information requests that HRSDC delayed beyond the deadlines—30 days and extended—set out in the Access to Information Act) and complaints about HRSDC’s use of the time extensions allowed under the Act. Resolved complaints are those that the OIC finds have merit and that the institution resolves to the Commissioner’s satisfaction.

Deemed refusal complaints

Deemed refusal complaints

In 2008–2009, the OIC resolved two out of three deemed refusal complaints it registered against HRSDC.

Time extension complaints

Time extension complaints

HRSDC received no time extension complaints in the first two reporting periods and only two in the third.


Number and outcome of complaints to the OIC, 2006–2007 to 2008–2009

This table sets out the number and outcome of the complaints the OIC registered against HRSDC in each of the last three reporting periods. Resolved complaints are those that the OIC finds to have merit and that the institution resolves to the Commissioner’s satisfaction.

  Resolved Not
substantiated
Discontinued Pending Total
2006–2007
Administrative 2 1 1 1 5
Refusals 2 1 0 1 4
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 0 0
Total 4 2 1 2 9
2007–2008
Administrative 1 1 3 0 5
Refusals 1 4 1 0 6
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 0 0
Total 2 5 4 0 11
2008–2009
Administrative 3 1 1 0 5
Refusals 1 0 0 4 5
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 1 1
Total 4 1 1 5 11

The overall number of complaints against HRSDC varied little over the three years (9; 11; 11), as did the number of resolved complaints (4; 2; 4), although there were 5 files pending at the end of 2008–2009.

Previous Table of contents Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiches de rendement


Année



Institutions évaluées en 2008–2009

Ressources humaines et Développement des compétences Canada

Ressources humaines et Développement des compétences Canada (RHDCC) constitue le carrefour des politiques et des programmes sociaux au Canada. L’institution est responsable de renforcer les assises sociales du Canada en favorisant le mieux-être des citoyens, des familles et des collectivités et leur participation à la société.

Faits saillants de la fiche de rendement pour 2008–2009

whole star whole star whole star empty star empty star
C

  • Le taux de présomption de refus était de 10,2 %.
  • Le délai de traitement moyen était de 80 jours.
  • La fusion des fonctions d’accès à l’information de Service Canada et de RHDCC a entraîné des problèmes au départ pour le traitement des demandes d’accès, comme l’avait prévu l’institution. Toutefois, les fonctionnaires ont dit estimer que la fusion sera bénéfique pour les demandeurs à long terme.
  • Le regroupement des deux bureaux a provoqué le départ de certains employés, mais les niveaux de dotation se sont stabilisés depuis.
  • Les arriérés provenant de Service Canada ont nui à la conformité globale de RHDCC; toutefois, les arriérés ont depuis été traités.
  • La délégation de pouvoirs était diffuse; toutefois, en septembre 2009, le Secrétariat ministériel de RHDCC a avisé tous les cadres supérieurs que les gestionnaires de l’accès à l’information conservaient la délégation de pouvoirs relativement aux communications.
  • RHDCC a soumis des avis au Commissariat à l’information relativement aux prorogations supérieures à 30 jours dans 98 % des cas.

Quelques faits sur les activités d’accès à l’information à RHDCC en 2008–2009

Nombre de demandes reportées de 2007–2008
78
Nombre de nouvelles demandes
295
Nombre de demandes traitées
406
Taux de présomption de refus
10,2 %*
Délai de traitement moyen des demandes (jours)
80
Nombre de demandes de consultation
129
Nombre de plaintes déposées au Commissariat à l’information
11
Nombre de demandes résolues par le Commissariat à l’information
4**
Nombre d’équivalents temps plein au bureau d’accès à l’information, au 31 mars 2009
15
 

* Pourcentage de demandes reportées et de nouvelles demandes retardées au-delà des délais (30 jours et prorogés) stipulés par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. (Voir l’Appendice B pour accéder à la formule utilisée par le Commissariat dans le calcul de ce taux.)

** Une plainte est résolue lorsque le Commissariat à l’information juge qu’elle est fondée et que l’institution la règle de façon satisfaisante aux yeux du commissaire.


Fiche de rendement pour 2008–2009

Ressources humaines et Développement des compétences Canada (RHDCC) a connu une année hors du commun en 2008–2009 : son bureau d’accès à l’information a fusionné avec celui de Service Canada trois mois après le début de l’exercice. Le cas de RHDCC illustre les défis que représente une fusion pour une institution, particulièrement lorsqu’il y a peu de temps pour la planifier.

La fusion de RHDCC signifiait qu’il fallait procéder à l’harmonisation des ressources physiques et humaines ainsi que des processus administratifs distincts, tout en maintenant le traitement des demandes. RHDCC a également hérité d’un important arriéré de Service Canada. RHDCC a signalé que les dossiers liés aux demandes d’accès ont été laissés de côté pendant le déménagement, mais ont été récupérés par la suite.

L’intégration des fonctions d’accès à l’information des deux institutions a nécessité le regroupement de deux équipes d’analystes de divers niveaux d’expérience et d’expertise. La réorganisation a provoqué le départ de nombreux employés, y compris au niveau des gestionnaires, et le passage successif de trois coordonnateurs de l’accès au sein de RHDCC en un an.

Au moment de la fusion, l’unité de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels comptait 26 personnes, puis 22 personnes, tant des gestionnaires que des employés. RHDCC estime que la fusion sera bénéfique pour les demandeurs à long terme.

Bien que la fusion et le déménagement physique aient causé un arriéré au niveau du traitement des demandes, le Commissariat à l’information est encouragé de constater que RHDCC a maintenu au moins un niveau moyen de conformité; son taux de présomption de refus était de 10,2 %. Toutefois, le Commissariat est préoccupé du fait que ce taux ait été atteint grâce aux prorogations en vertu de l’alinéa 9(1)a) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information qui permet aux institutions de prendre plus de temps pour les demandes qui exigent des recherches de nombreux documents ou dans un grand nombre de documents, et qui « entraverait de façon sérieuse le fonctionnement de l’institution.

Le Commissariat est également inquiet de l’ordonnance de délégation de RHDCC, laquelle accorde à quiconque, des sousministres au directeur et au gestionnaire du bureau d’accès à l’information, les pouvoirs de communication de dossiers, ce qui peut entraîner des retards. Toutefois, en septembre 2009, le Secrétariat ministériel de RHDCC a avisé tous les cadres supérieurs que les fonctionnaires de l’accès à l’information conservaient la délégation de pouvoirs relativement aux communications.

RHDCC a fait l’objet d’un examen dans le cadre des processus de fiche de rendement à plusieurs occasions, plus récemment en 2004–2005 avec divers degrés de réussite. Tout en reconnaissant que l’exercice 2008–2009 est hors du commun pour l’institution, le Commissariat à l’information s’attend à une hausse de la conformité au cours des prochaines années. Premier signe positif, RHDCC avait pratiquement éliminé ses arriérés dès janvier 2010.

Recommandations

1. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que Ressources humaines et Développement des compétences Canada révise l’ordonnance de délégation afin d’illustrer clairement que le coordonnateur et les agents de l’accès à l’information détiennent la délégation de pouvoirs sans référence aux autres représentants quant aux décisions prises en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Réponse

La pratique de RHDCC veut que les décisions de communication d’information en réponse aux demandes d’accès soient en grande partie prises au niveau du directeur et des gestionnaires de l’accès, comme l’entend l’instrument de délégation en vigueur actuellement.

Les cadres supérieurs sont également nommés dans cet instrument. Dans un ministère de la taille de RHDCC, ayant une structure aussi complexe (responsable d’une vaste gamme de politiques, de programmes, de services et dont l’administration centrale se trouve dans la région de la capitale nationale, en plus des nombreux bureaux locaux et régionaux partout au Canada), le directeur de l’accès est bien servi s’il obtient le soutien de la haute gestion du portefeuille.

En septembre 2009, le Secrétariat ministériel de RHDCC avisait tous les cadres supérieurs que le directeur, Division de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels (DAIPRP), disposait des pouvoirs de décider de la communication des documents, conformément à la délégation signée par le ministre de DRHC.

Un protocole amélioré a été préparé et communiqué à tous les cadres supérieurs relativement à leurs responsabilités en matière d’établissement de la portée et de la transmission de dossiers en réponse aux demandes d’accès de manière efficace et en temps opportun.

Il y a lieu de mentionner que RHDCC continue d’être proactif quant à l’exercice de ses pouvoirs au niveau de la direction.

2. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que Ressources humaines et Développement des compétences Canada élabore un plan précis pour traiter des arriérés de demandes d’accès.

Réponse

Les arriérés ont été traités.

Au 14 janvier 2010, huit demandes actives étaient assorties d’un état de présomption de refus, principalement en raison des volumes importants inhabituels ou des consultations considérables requises, par exemple auprès du Bureau du Conseil privé.

RHDCC continuera de gérer de façon proactive les activités d’accès à l’information afin de s’assurer que les mesures adéquates sont prises pour toutes les demandes et d’éviter les arriérés.

3. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que Ressources humaines et Développement des compétences Canada s’efforce de réduire son taux de présomption de refus à zéro.

Réponse

RHDCC continue de s’efforcer de réduire le taux de présomption de refus à zéro et de maintenir sa politique de tolérance zéro envers les réponses en retard.

Les activités ci-dessous, ainsi que d’autres approches pour faciliter la sensibilisation et la conformité, seront maintenues à l’avenir :

  • Des rapports d’accès à l’information sont distribués chaque semaine à tous les cadres supérieurs et présentés chaque semaine aux réunions de haute direction.
  • En octobre 2009, le rapport de gestion trimestriel d’accès à l’information a été instauré et distribué, comme il est mentionné ci-dessus, à tous les cadres dirigeants.
  • À l’été de 2009, un protocole a été élaboré et les formulaires ont été mis à jour pour aider les bureaux de première responsabilité à atteindre les objectifs en matière de respect des échéances d’accès, comme il est mentionné ci-dessus.

4. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que Ressources humaines et Développement des compétences Canada révise ses critères de prorogations invoquées en vertu de l’alinéa 9(1)a) afin de veiller au caractère raisonnable et légitime des prorogations.

Réponse

En règle générale, RHDCC détermine si une prorogation en vertu de l’alinéa 9(1)a) est justifiée selon le volume de documents à examiner. La référence retenue est 300 pages de dossiers (selon une approche suggérée par le C ommissariat antérieurement). Les commentaires du Commissariat seront sollicités quant aux meilleures pratiques à cet égard.


Importance du délai des demandes traitées en retard, 2008–2009

RHDCC rapporte avoir traité 17 demandes reçues en 2008–2009 après leur date d’échéance. Ce graphique illustre la durée pendant laquelle ces demandes sont restées en suspens au-delà de cette échéance.

Importance du délai des demandes traitées en retard, 2008–2009

Nombre et durée des prorogations signalées en 2008–2009

Ce graphique illustre le nombre et la durée des prorogations signalées par RHDCC en 2008–2009. L’institution a fait état de cette information dans les avis envoyés au Commissariat en vertu du paragraphe 9(2) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. RHDCC a soumis ces avis dans 98 % des cas.

Nombre et durée des prorogations signalées en 2008–2009

Nombre et issue des plaintes relatives au délai déposées au Commissariat de 2006–2007 à 2008–2009

Ces graphiques illustrent le nombre et l’issue de deux types de plaintes déposées contre le MPO au cours des trois dernières périodes de référence : plaintes au sujet de la présomption de refus (demandes d’accès à l’information que le MPO a retardées au delà des délais – 30 jours et prorogés – stipulés par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information) et plaintes concernant l’utilisation par le MPO des prorogations autorisées en vertu de la Loi. Les plaintes résolues sont celles que le Commissariat estime fondées et que l’institution règle à la satisfaction du commissaire.

Plaintes sur la présomption de refus

Plaintes sur la présomption de refus

En 2008–2009, le Commissariat a résolu deux plaintes sur trois déposées contre RHDCC portant sur la présomption de refus.

Plaintes sur le délai de prorogation

Plaintes sur le délai de prorogation

RHDCC n’a reçu aucune plainte sur le délai de prorogation dans les deux premières périodes de référence et seulement deux plaintes dans la troisième période.


Nombre et issue des plaintes déposées au Commissariat de 2006–2007 à 2008–2009

Ce tableau illustre le nombre et l’issue des plaintes déposées au Commissariat contre RHDCC dans chacune des trois dernières périodes de référence. Les plaintes résolues sont celles que le Commissariat estime fondées et que l’institution règle à la satisfaction du commissaire.

  Résolues Non fondées Abandonnées En suspens Total
2006–2007
Questions administratives 2 1 1 1 5
Refus 2 1 0 1 4
Documents confidentiels
du Cabinet
0 0 0 0 0
Total 4 2 1 2 9
2007–2008
Questions administratives 1 1 3 0 5
Refus 1 4 1 0 6
Documents confidentiels
du Cabinet
0 0 0 0 0
Total 2 5 4 0 11
2008–2009
Questions administratives 3 1 1 0 5
Refus 1 0 0 4 5
Documents confidentiels
du Cabinet
0 0 0 1 1
Total 4 1 1 5 11

Le nombre de plaintes déposées contre RHDCC est demeuré plutôt stable au cours des trois exercices (9; 11; 11), de même que le nombre de plaintes résolues (4; 2; 4), bien que 5 plaintes étaient en suspens à la fin de 2008– 2009.