Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Report Cards


Year


Previous Table of contents Next

Introduction

This year’s special report takes timeliness as its chief focus. It looks at how well 24 federal institutions—representing 88 percent of all access requests— handled those requests in 2008–2009 and examines the factors that affect the capacity of the system as a whole to deliver timely service to Canadians.3

The results of the previous report cards process had showed that timeliness is no longer the norm for federal institutions, nor an ideal, in answering access to information requests. In light of this, the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) set as the goal for its Three-Year Plan on Report Cards and Systemic Issues to probe the root causes of this problem in order to devise appropriate solutions.

This year’s exercise—unprecedented in scope—is meant to offer a fact-based assessment of the situation with a view to improving timeliness. In the absence of legislated reform, it is imperative to gather reliable and detailed information to accurately assess institutions’ compliance with the Act and to develop better mechanisms for holding institutions accountable before the Canadian public.

This is particularly timely, since the Minister of Justice indicated to the House of Commons Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics in October 2009 that the government would look at administrative alternatives to remedy the shortcomings of the Act. We strongly recommend that the government make it a priority to address the rampant problem of delays, which can be significantly reduced through administrative measures with the concerted will of all key players.

Chapter 1 of the report provides a fact-based assessment of the extent and immediate causes of delay across the system. Chapter 2 takes stock of the progress achieved in implementing last year’s recommendations to deal with various issues that have a significant impact on timeliness across government. This chapter also reports on another systemic issue impeding access, which surfaced during this year’s exercise. Chapter 3 describes actions that the OIC will undertake within its mandate to address delay issues. Chapter 4 presents the report cards of the 24 institutions assessed this year.

The information in this report comes from a number of sources, including institutions’ responses to our questionnaire, which asked for both statistics and narrative answers to specific questions, as well as from interviews with key access to information officials following up on their answers to the questionnaire. We supplemented that information with printouts from institutions’ case management systems, institutions’ annual reports on access to information, and our own files. Our conclusions stem from our analysis of all the information these sources brought to light.

The Access to Information Act gives Canadian citizens, residents and companies the right to request and receive information that federal institutions have, including documents, pictures, letters, emails and memos. There are some limitations, however: for example, institutions may withhold all or portions of records that contain personal information, Cabinet confidences or information that, if released, could harm Canada’s security.

The Office of the Information Commissioner helps ensure that federal institutions respect the Act and provide timely access to information, to keep the federal government accountable to Canadians.


 

Previous Table of contents Next

Date modified:

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiches de rendement


Année



Introduction

Le rapport spécial de cette année porte avant tout sur la rapidité des réponses aux demandes d’accès à l’information. Nous examinons l’efficacité dont 24 institutions fédérales – représentant 88 % de toutes les demandes d’accès – ont fait preuve en 2008–2009. Nous analysons également les facteurs qui ont une incidence sur la capacité globale du système d’offrir un service rapide aux Canadiens.3

Les fiches de rendement de l’année dernière ont démontré que la rapidité de réponse aux demandes d’accès à l’information n’est plus la norme pour les institutions fédérales, ni même un idéal à atteindre. Dans un tel contexte, le Commissariat s’est fixé comme objectif, dans son plan triennal sur les fiches de rendement et les problèmes systémiques, d’examiner les causes sous-jacentes à ce problème afin de concevoir des solutions appropriées.

D’une ampleur sans précédent, l’exercice de cette année offre une évaluation de la situation fondée sur des faits, dans le but d’accélérer l’accès à l’information. En l’absence d’une réforme législative, il est impératif de recueillir des éléments d’information fiables et détaillés pour mesurer avec précision la conformité des institutions à la Loi et élaborer des mécanismes pour mieux les responsabiliser devant le public canadien.

Notre exercice est d’autant plus opportun que le ministre de la Justice a indiqué, en octobre 2009, devant le Comité permanent de l’accès à l’information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l’éthique, que le gouvernement examinerait des solutions administratives pour remédier aux lacunes législatives. Nous recommandons fortement que le gouvernement s’attaque en priorité au problème endémique des retards, qu’on pourrait réduire de manière appréciable en appliquant des mesures administratives dans le cadre d’un effort concerté avec tous les intervenants clés.

Le chapitre 1 du présent rapport offre, à partir des faits observés, une évaluation de l’ampleur et des causes immédiates des retards à l’échelle du système. Au chapitre 2, nous faisons le point sur les progrès réalisés à ce jour dans la mise en œuvre des recommandations de l’année dernière pour corriger les divers problèmes ayant une incidence marquée sur la rapidité d’exécution dans l’ensemble de l’administration. Nous y faisons également état d’un autre problème systémique faisant entrave à l’accès, mis au jour lors de l’exercice de cette année. Le chapitre 3 décrit les mesures qu’entreprendra le Commissariat dans le cadre de son mandat pour s’attaquer aux problèmes liés aux retards. Enfin, le chapitre 4 présente les fiches de rendement des 24 institutions évaluées cette année.

L’information contenue dans le présent rapport provient de plusieurs sources, y compris les réponses des institutions à un questionnaire, qui sollicitait des statistiques et des réponses descriptives à certaines questions précises, suivi d’entrevues auprès de responsables clés de l’accès à l’information. Nous avons également consulté les imprimés des systèmes institutionnels de gestion des cas, les rapports annuels des institutions sur l’accès à l’information et nos propres dossiers. Nos conclusions sont issues de l’analyse que nous avons faite de tous les éléments d’information mis en lumière par ces sources.

La Loi sur l’accès à l’information accorde à tout citoyen, résident ou société au Canada le droit de demander et d’obtenir des renseignements détenus par une institution fédérale, notamment des documents, des images, des lettres, des courriels et des notes de service. Il existe toutefois certaines restrictions. À titre d’exemple, les institutions peuvent retenir en tout ou en partie des documents contenant des renseignements personnels, des documents confidentiels du Cabinet ou de l’information qui, si elle était communiquée, pourrait nuire à la sécurité du Canada.

Le Commissariat à l’information veille à ce que les institutions fédérales respectent la Loi et offrent un accès opportun à l’information, afin que le gouvernement rende compte de son administration à la population canadienne.