Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Report Cards


Year


Previous Table of contents Next

Institutions assessed in 2008–2009

Fisheries and Oceans Canada

Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) is a national and international leader in marine safety and in the management of oceans and freshwater resources. DFO develops and implements policies and programs in support of Canada’s scientific, ecological, social and economic interests in oceans and fresh waters, and works towards ensuring these resources benefit current and future generations.

2008–2009 report card at a glance

whole star whole star whole star empty star empty star
C

  • Deemed refusal rate was 13.2 percent.
  • Average time to complete a request was 86 days. At the same time, more than 50 percent of the extensions DFO took to consult with other institutions were for more than 150 days.
  • This average level of compliance is consistent with report card assessments in several other years.
  • DFO has a backlog, but it did reduce it in 2008–2009 and is striving to eliminate it by the end of March 2010.
  • Leadership supported hiring and training access to information staff:
    • DFO launched a recruitment and retention program to attract and retain staff, and filled several positions in 2008–2009.
    • The access to information office, through a strong training committee, also delivered training, both for its own staff and for employees throughout the institution.
  • A plan has been launched to modernize the technology used in the access to information office. As part of this plan, DFO is upgrading its case management software. The institution has also launched a five-year plan to improve information management systems.
  • DFO fully complied with the requirement to submit notices of extensions of more than 30 days to the Office of the Information Commissioner.

Some facts about access to information operations at DFO in 2008–2009

Number of requests carried over from 2007–2008
103
Number of new requests
396
Number of requests completed
409
Deemed refusal rate
13.2%*
Average time to complete a request (in days)
86
Number of consultation requests
155
Number of complaints registered with the Office of the Information Commissioner
33
Number of complaints the Office of the Information Commissioner resolved
11**
Number of full-time equivalents in access to information office, as of March 31, 2009
18.8
 

* Percentage of carried over and new requests delayed beyond the deadlines (30 days and extended) set out in the Access to Information Act. (See Appendix B for the formula the Office of the Information Commissioner used to calculate this rate.)

** A complaint is resolved when the Office of the Information Commissioner finds it has merit, and the institution resolves it to the Commissioner’s satisfaction.


2008–2009 report card

Access to information officials at Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) stated during the report card interview that access to information is endorsed at all levels, starting with senior management, yet it was unclear to the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) whether the institution has a concrete plan in place specifically designed to achieve better compliance with the Access to Information Act. The institution has been assessed as part of the report card process almost every year since 1999, and has never achieved the optimal level of compliance.

In 2008–2009, DFO’s deemed refusal rate was 13.2 percent. DFO continued to operate under the burden of a backlog of access to information requests in 2008–2009. The files that remain are requests for large volumes of records, or large batches of requests from a single requestor.

It is commendable that DFO decreased its backlog in 2008–2009 (and hopes to eliminate it by the end of March 2010), through the work of consultants. This is particularly noteworthy since DFO’s average number of pages per request is between 1,000 and 1,500. Furthermore, DFO continued to process upwards of 20 requests that each involved 30,000 pages.

The institution stressed that it experienced a chronic shortage of experienced senior access to information analysts in 2008–2009. In response, DFO initiated a recruitment and development program to aid retention of knowledgeable access to information staff, and completed several staffing actions in 2008–2009. A portion of the senior access to information staff time was spent training junior analysts in 2008–2009. The institution has a strong access to information and privacy training committee to provide training to all DFO staff.

Information management was a challenge for DFO in one regard. A portion of its records are located primarily in the regions. When certain key employees left records-holding units last year, institutional knowledge (such as where records were located) was lost with them. The entire process for searching for records was compromised by such circumstances. DFO launched a three-year plan to improve the technology used in the access to information office, including its case management software, as well as a five-year plan to improve information management systems across the institution.

DFO’s average completion time of 86 days is of some concern to the OIC, as is the fact that more than 50 percent of the extensions it took under paragraph 9(1)(b) of the Act to consult with other institutions were for more than 150 days.

Individual initiatives at DFO seem to the OIC to hold the promise of improved compliance in coming years. However, the institution’s track record has not been stellar. The OIC calls on the leadership at DFO to make a concerted and organized effort to improve compliance and for senior managers to clearly communicate to all employees the importance of timely responses to access to information requests.

Recommendations

1. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that the deputy minister of Fisheries and Oceans Canada continue to take a strong leadership role in establishing a culture of compliance throughout the institution. Such a role requires the leadership of the minister.

Response

Agreed. DFO’s access to information office is fortunate to have the continuing support of both the deputy minister and the minister.

DFO’s training and awareness initiatives, targeting every level of the organization, will highlight the importance the minister and deputy minister attach to this commitment.

2. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Fisheries and Oceans Canada strive to reduce its deemed refusal rate to zero.

Response

Agreed. DFO has a strategy in place with the objective of continuous improvement of our compliance rate and reducing our deemed refusal rate.

The ongoing strategy includes the following:

  • a recruitment and retention program to address the shortage of trained analysts in the federal access to information community; DFO is building its capacity in order to achieve enduring results;
  • a review and streamlining of process flows;
  • a national training program for DFO staff across the department to build awareness of access and privacy;
  • a working group comprised of the department’s access to information, information management, library services and communications groups to review and promote awareness of information management and access to information, especially with respect to record-keeping practices at DFO;
  • the access to information and privacy modernization three-year capital plan initiated in 2009 to evaluate and procure replacement software for current and obsolete case management and redaction system; it is anticipated that the new system will allow such things as the provision of records from the program electronically, and faster searching and processing capabilities; and
  • ensuring access to information staff have the tools they need to work efficiently and effectively.

3. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Fisheries and Oceans Canada develop and implement a clear plan to tackle the backlog of access requests.

Response

Agreed. DFO has been working systematically to reduce the backlog of requests in deemed refusal and was in fact successful in closing more than 20 overdue files last fiscal year, consisting of more than 118,000 pages of records.

DFO plans to continue the systematic reduction of files in a deemed refusal state, and has invested additional resources to do so. The Access to Information and Privacy Secretariat is working towards a goal of eliminating the backlog by March 31, 2010.

4. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that the deputy minister of Fisheries and Oceans Canada devote the resources to meet the time requirements of the Access to Information Act and reduce the average completion time.

Response

Agreed. The deputy minister has consistently supported the Access to Information and Privacy Secretariat through the appropriate annual resource levels, and the provision of additional resources when requested through a substantiated business case.

DFO’s average completion time is mainly affected by delays in obtaining responses from other government departments. Eliminating the backlog mentioned above should significantly reduce the department’s average completion time.

5. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Fisheries and Oceans Canada identify and implement the necessary enhancements to records management systems to ensure a quick and proper search of records in response to an access to information request.

Response

Agreed. Information management has been recognized as a departmental priority for 2010–2011.

DFO has established a five-year strategy for information management and is planning to adopt next-generation information solutions. The department’s vision for information is “Information used for decision-making and program delivery at DFO/Canadian Coast Guard is accurate, relevant, comprehensive and timely.” The strategy includes a strengthened evaluation function to provide advice on performance measurement and to evaluate the effectiveness of programs producing objective information for decision making. In addition, DFO has established a strategy for identifying and addressing any gaps between its current Info Source submission and annual report, and Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat expectations.

 

How long requests completed late were overdue, 2008–2009

DFO reported that it completed 27 of the requests it received in 2008–2009 after their due date. This graph shows how long these requests stayed open beyond that deadline

How long requests completed late were overdue, 2008–2009

Number and length of time extensions reported in 2008–2009

This graph shows the number and length of the time extensions DFO reported to have taken in 2008–2009. DFO supplied this information in the notices it sent to the OIC under subsection 9(2) of the Access to Information Act. DFO fully complied with the requirement to submit these notices.

Number and length of time extensions reported in 2008–2009

Number and outcome of delay-related complaints to the OIC, 2006–2007 to 2008–2009

These graphs show the number and outcome for two types of complaint registered against DFO in the last three reporting periods: complaints about deemed refusals (access to information requests that DFO delayed beyond the deadlines—30 days and extended—set out in the Access to Information Act) and complaints about DFO’s use of the time extensions allowed under the Act. Resolved complaints are those that the OIC finds to have merit and that the institution resolves to the Commissioner’s satisfaction.

Deemed refusal complaints

Deemed refusal complaints

DFO received a small but increasing number of deemed refusal complaints each year (1; 2; 5). The proportion of resolved deemed refusal complaints to the total was high in each of the three years (100 percent; 50 percent; 60 percent).

Time extension complaints

Time extension complaints

The total number of time extension complaints increased each year (6; 9; 11). In contrast, the number of resolved complaints decreased by 60 percent from 2006–2007 to 2007–2008; however, it more than tripled by 2008–2009 (from 2 to 7).


Number and outcome of complaints to the OIC, 2006–2007 to 2008–2009

This table sets out the complaints the OIC registered against DFO in each of the last three reporting periods. Resolved complaints are those that the OIC finds to have merit and that the institution resolves to the Commissioner’s satisfaction.

  Resolved Not
substantiated
Discontinued Pending Total
2006–2007
Administrative 6 1 1 0 8
Refusals 10 12 2 3 27
Cabinet confidences 6 1 0 0 7
Total 22 14 3 3 42
2007–2008
Administrative 3 5 4 0 12
Refusals 6 2 1 10 19
Cabinet confidences 0 2 0 1 3
Total 9 9 5 11 34
2008–2009
Administrative 11 4 4 1 20
Refusals 0 1 2 10 13
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 0 0
Total 11 5 6 11 33

The total number of administrative complaints against DFO increased each year (8, 12, 20), and the number of resolved administrative complaints increased from 3 in 2007–2008 to 11 in 2008–2009.

Previous Table of contents Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiches de rendement


Année



Institutions évaluées en 2008–2009

Pêches et Océans Canada

Le ministère des Pêches et des Océans (MPO) est un chef de file national et international en matière de sécurité maritime et de gestion des ressources marines et d’eau douce. Le MPO élabore et met en œuvre des politiques et des programmes appuyant les intérêts scientifiques, écologiques, sociaux et économiques du Canada liés aux océans et aux eaux intérieures, et il voit à ce que les ressources marines et d’eau douce du Canada profitent aux générations actuelles et futures.

Faits saillants de la fiche de rendement pour 2008–2009

whole star whole star whole star empty star empty star
C

  • Le taux de présomption de refus atteignait 13,2 %.
  • Le délai de traitement moyen des demandes était de 86 jours. Parallèlement, plus de 50 % des prorogations prises par le MPO pour consulter d’autres institutions s’étiraient sur plus de 150 jours.
  • Ce niveau moyen de conformité est compatible avec les évaluations des fiches de rendement de plusieurs autres années.
  • Le MPO est aux prises avec un arriéré de cas à traiter, sauf qu’il l’a réduit en 2008–2009 et qu’il s’efforce de l’éliminer d’ici la fin de mars 2010.
  • La direction a soutenu l’embauche et la formation d’employés chargés de l’accès à l’information :
    • Le MPO a lancé un programme de recrutement et de maintien en poste pour attirer et retenir du personnel ainsi que pour doter plusieurs postes en 2008–2009.
    • Le bureau d’accès à l’information a également offert de la formation, par l’entremise d’un solide comité créé à cette fin, à son propre personnel et aux employés de toute l’institution.
  • Le MPO a lancé un plan de modernisation de la technologie utilisée dans le bureau d’accès à l’information. Dans le cadre de ce plan, le MPO met à niveau son logiciel de gestion des cas. L’institution a également lancé un plan quinquennal pour améliorer les systèmes de gestion de l’information.
  • Le MPO s’est entièrement conformé à l’obligation de soumettre au Commissariat à l’information des avis de prorogation de plus de 30 jours.

Quelques faits sur les activités d’accès à l’information à Patrimoine canadien en 2008–2009

Nombre de demandes reportées de 2007–2008
103
Nombre de nouvelles demandes
396
Nombre de demandes traitées
409
Taux de présomption de refus
13,2 %*
Délai de traitement moyen des demandes (jours)
86**
Nombre de demandes de consultation
155
Nombre de plaintes déposées au Commissariat à l’information
33
Nombre de demandes résolues par le Commissariat à l’information
11**
Nombre d’équivalents temps plein au bureau d’accès à l’information, au 31 mars 2009
18,8
 

* Pourcentage de demandes reportées et de nouvelles demandes retardées au-delà des délais (30 jours et prorogés) stipulés par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. (Voir l’Appendice B pour accéder à la formule utilisée par le Commissariat dans le calcul de ce taux.)

** Une plainte est résolue lorsque le Commissariat à l’information juge qu’elle est fondée et que l’institution la règle de façon satisfaisante aux yeux du commissaire.


Fiche de rendement pour 2008–2009

Les responsables de l’accès à l’information du MPO ont déclaré, lors de l’entrevue menée dans le cadre de la fiche de rendement, que l’accès à l’information est soutenu à tous les niveaux, en commençant par la haute direction. Cela dit, le Commissariat à l’information ne sait trop si l’institution dispose d’un plan concret expressément conçu pour favoriser une meilleure conformité à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. L’institution a fait l’objet d’une évaluation dans le cadre du processus lié aux fiches de rendement pratiquement à tous les ans depuis 1999, et elle n’a jamais atteint le niveau de conformité optimal.

En 2008–2009, le taux de présomption de refus du MPO était de 13,2 %. L’institution a poursuivi ses opérations avec le fardeau d’un arriéré de demandes d’accès à l’information en 2008–2009. Les dossiers restants concernent des demandes visant de grandes quantités de documents. Sinon, il s’agit d’imposants lots de demandes provenant d’un seul demandeur.

On peut féliciter le MPO d’avoir diminué son arriéré en 2008–2009 (l’institution souhaite l’éliminer d’ici la fin de mars 2010) grâce à l’appui de consultants. La chose est particulièrement notable quand on sait que le nombre moyen de pages par demande se situe entre 1 000 et 1 500. De plus, le MPO a continué de traiter plus de 20 demandes dont chacune comportait 30 000 pages.

L’institution a insisté sur le fait qu’elle a dû composer en 2008–2009 avec une pénurie chronique d’analystes principaux expérimentés en accès à l’information. Pour y remédier, le MPO a amorcé un programme de recrutement et de perfectionnement pour promouvoir le maintien en poste de personnel chevronné dans le domaine de l’accès à l’information, et il a réalisé plusieurs mesures de dotation en 2008–2009. Le personnel principal d’accès à l’information a consacré une partie de son temps, durant la même année, à former des analystes subalternes. L’institution dispose d’un solide comité de formation sur l’accès à l’information et la protection des renseignements personnels qui offre de la formation à tout le personnel du MPO.

La gestion de l’information a posé un défi au MPO pour un aspect en particulier. Une partie de ses documents se trouve essentiellement dans les régions. Lorsque certains employés clés ont quitté les unités de conservation des dossiers l’an dernier, du savoir institutionnel (comme la connaissance de l’emplacement des dossiers) a disparu avec eux. Une telle situation compromet le processus entier de recherche des documents. Le MPO a lancé un plan triennal d’amélioration de la technologie utilisée par le bureau d’accès à l’information, y compris son logiciel de gestion des cas, de même qu’un plan quinquennal d’amélioration des systèmes de gestion dans toute l’institution.

Le délai de traitement moyen du MPO, qui s’élève à 86 jours, inquiète quelque peu le Commissariat à l’information, tout comme le fait que plus de 50 % des prorogations prises en vertu de l’alinéa 9(1)b) de la Loi pour consulter d’autres institutions s’étiraient sur plus de 150 jours.

Le Commissariat a le sentiment que les initiatives individuelles au MPO pourraient donner lieu à une amélioration de la conformité dans les années à venir. Toutefois, la feuille de route de l’institution n’a pas été particulièrement reluisante. Le Commissariat exhorte les dirigeants du MPO à fournir un effort concerté pour améliorer la conformité et invite les cadres supérieurs à communiquer clairement à tous les employés l’importance de répondre en temps opportun aux demandes d’accès à l’information.

Recommandations

1. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que le sous-ministre de Pêches et Océans Canada continue de manifester un solide leadership relativement à l’établissement d’une culture de conformité dans toute l’institution. Un tel rôle nécessite également le leadership du ministre.

Réponse

D’accord. Le bureau d’accès à l’information du MPO a la chance de pouvoir compter sur le soutien continu et du sous-ministre et du ministre.

Les initiatives du MPO axées sur la formation et la sensibilisation, qui ciblent tous les paliers de l’organisation, mettent en lumière l’importance que le ministre et le sous-ministre accordent à cet engagement.

2. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que Pêches et Océans Canada s’efforce de réduire le taux de présomption de refus à zéro.

Réponse

D’accord. Le MPO a une stratégie en place qui vise l’amélioration continue de son taux de conformité et la réduction de son taux de présomption de refus.

La stratégie permanente comprend les éléments suivants :

  • un programme de recrutement et de maintien en fonction pour contrer la pénurie d’analystes formés dans le milieu fédéral de l’accès à l’information; le MPO est à renforcer sa capacité afin d’atteindre des résultats durables;
  • l’examen et la rationalisation des processus;
  • un programme de formation national pour le personnel du MPO afin de le sensibiliser aux questions d’accès à l’information et de protection des renseignements personnels;
  • un groupe de travail composé de représentants ministériels de l’accès à l’information, de la gestion de l’information, des services de bibliothèque et des groupes de communication pour examiner les processus de gestion de l’information et d’accès à l’information ainsi que pour sensibiliser le personnel à la question, particulièrement en ce qui touche les pratiques de tenue des dossiers au MPO;
  • un plan d’investissement triennal axé sur la modernisation de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels amorcé en 2009 pour évaluer et acquérir un logiciel de remplacement des systèmes actuels et obsolètes de gestion des cas et d’expurgation; on prévoit que le nouveau système permettra, entre autres, la prestation de documents électroniques du programme, ainsi que des capacités accélérées de recherche et de traitement;
  • la garantie que le personnel chargé de l’accès à l’information dispose des outils nécessaires pour travailler de manière efficiente et efficace.

3. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que Pêches et Océans Canada élabore et mette en œuvre un plan clair pour réduire l’arriéré de demandes d’accès.

Réponse

D’accord. Le MPO a travaillé de manière systématique pour réduire l’arriéré de demandes en présomption de refus et a réussi lors du dernier exercice à fermer plus de 20 dossiers en retard, qui comportaient plus de 118 000 pages de documents.

Le MPO prévoit continuer de réduire systématiquement les dossiers en présomption de refus, et il a investi des ressources additionnelles pour y parvenir. Le Secrétariat de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels tend vers un objectif d’élimination de l’arriéré d’ici le 31 mars 2010.

4. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que le sous-ministre de Pêches et Océans Canada consacre les ressources nécessaires au respect des obligations de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information en matière d’échéanciers pour ainsi réduire le délai de traite- ment moyen.

Réponse

D’accord. Le sous-ministre a toujours soutenu le Secrétariat de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels en lui attribuant des niveaux de ressources annuels en quantité adéquate et des ressources additionnelles lorsqu’une analyse de rentabilisation le justifiait.

Le délai de traitement moyen du MPO souffre essentiellement de retards dans l’obtention de réponses d’autres ministères. L’élimination de l’arriéré susmentionné devrait réduire cette moyenne de façon marquée.

5. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que Pêches et Océans Canada définisse et mette en place les améliorations nécessaires aux systèmes de gestion des documents pour assurer une recherche rapide et adéquate en réponse à une demande d’accès à l’information.

Réponse

D’accord. La gestion de l’information figure parmi les priorités ministérielles de 2010–2011.

Le MPO est à mettre en place une stratégie quinquennale de gestion de l’information. Il prévoit adopter des solutions d’information de la prochaine génération. La vision du Ministère en matière d’information est la suivante : L’information soutenant la prise de décisions et la prestation des programmes du MPO/de la Garde côtière canadienne est exacte, pertinente, complète et disponible au moment opportun. La stratégie comporte une fonction d’évaluation raffermie pour fournir des conseils sur la mesure du rendement et évaluer l’efficacité avec laquelle les programmes produisent de l’information objective à des fins décisionnelles. De plus, le MPO a élaboré une stratégie pour cerner et corriger les écarts entre sa présentation actuelle dans Info Source et son rapport annuel d’une part, et les attentes du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada d’autre part.


Importance du délai des demandes traitées en retard, 2008–2009

Le MPO a indiqué qu’il a traité 27 des demandes reçues en 2008–2009 après leur date d’échéance. Ce graphique illustre la durée pendant laquelle ces demandes sont restées en suspens au delà de cette échéance.

Importance du délai des demandes traitées en retard, 2008–2009

Nombre et durée des prorogations signalées en 2008–2009

Ce graphique illustre le nombre et la durée des prorogations signalées par le MPO en 2008–2009. Le MPO a fait état de cette information dans les avis envoyés au Commissariat aux termes du paragraphe 9(2) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Le MPO s’est entièrement conformé à l’obligation de soumettre ces avis.

Nombre et durée des prorogations signalées en 2008–2009

Nombre et issue des plaintes relatives au délai déposées au Commissariat de 2006–2007 à 2008–2009

Ces graphiques illustrent le nombre et l’issue de deux types de plaintes déposées contre le MPO au cours des trois dernières périodes de référence : plaintes au sujet de la présomption de refus (demandes d’accès à l’information que le MPO a retardées au delà des délais – 30 jours et prorogés – stipulés par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information) et plaintes concernant l’utilisation par le MPO des prorogations autorisées en vertu de la Loi. Les plaintes résolues sont celles que le Commissariat estime fondées et que l’institution règle à la satisfaction du commissaire.

Plaintes sur la présomption de refus

Plaintes sur la présomption de refus

Le MPO a reçu annuellement un nombre faible mais croissant de plaintes sur la présomption de refus (1; 2; 5). La proportion de plaintes résolues à ce chapitre était élevée dans chacun des trois exercices (100 %; 50 %; 60 %).

Plaintes sur le délai de prorogation

Plaintes sur le délai de prorogation

Le nombre total de plaintes sur le délai de prorogation s’est accru d’un exercice à l’autre (6; 9; 11). Par contraste, le nombre de plaintes résolues a diminué de 60 % de 2006–2007 à 2007–2008; toutefois, il a plus que triplé en 2008–2009 (de 2 à 7).


Nombre et issue des plaintes déposées au Commissariat de 2006–2007 à 2008–2009

Ce tableau illustre le nombre et l’issue des plaintes déposées au Commissariat contre le MPO dans chacune des trois dernières périodes de référence. Les plaintes résolues sont celles que le Commissariat estime fondées et que l’institution règle à la satisfaction du commissaire.

  Résolues Non fondées Abandonnées En suspens Total
2006–2007
Questions administratives 6 1 1 0 8
Refus 10 12 2 3 27
Documents confidentiels
du Cabinet
6 1 0 0 7
Total 22 14 3 3 42
2007–2008
Questions administratives 3 5 4 0 12
Refus 6 2 1 10 19
Documents confidentiels
du Cabinet
0 2 0 1 3
Total 9 9 5 11 34
2008–2009
Questions administratives 11 4 4 1 20
Refus 0 1 2 10 13
Documents confidentiels
du Cabinet
0 0 0 0 0
Total 11 5 6 11 33

Le nombre total de plaintes sur les questions administratives qui ont été déposées contre le MPO s’est accru d’un exercice à l’autre (8, 12, 20), et le nombre de plaintes résolues à ce chapitre est passé de 3 en 2007–2008 à 11 en 2008–2009.