Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Report Cards


Year


Previous Table of contents Next

Institutions assessed in 2008–2009

Correctional Service of Canada

The Correctional Service of Canada (CSC) manages correctional institutions of various security levels housing offenders serving sentences of two years or more. CSC also supervises offenders under conditional release in the community. CSC contributes to public safety by actively encouraging and assisting offenders to become law-abiding citizens, providing programs for them during their sentences.

2008–2009 report card at a glance

whole star empty star empty star empty star empty star
F

  • The deemed refusal rate was 47 percent.
  • The average time to complete a request was 110 days.
  • There was a major reorganization of the access to information office.
  • Analysts worked on both access and privacy requests. The high number of privacy requests meant less time was available to process access files. (This problem has since been fixed by having analysts working on either access or privacy requests, but not both.)
  • Almost 50 percent of requests were completed late; 22 percent of these were completed more than 90 days after their original due date.
  • CSC had no redaction software.
  • Records retrieval was not always prompt. CSC officials report that responding to access requests was not always a top priority for middle management, given their competing duties.
  • CSC submitted the required notices of extensions longer than 30 days to the Office of the Information Commissioner 45 percent of the time.
  • 2008–2009 was a transition year, in the middle of a three-year improvement plan: CSC hired and trained a number of new staff, and reorganized and relocated the access to information office.
  • Senior management demonstrated its commitment to compliance with the Access to Information Act, allocating new resources to the access to information office: $1.7 million in funding and 22 new positions as of April 1, 2008.
  • CSC’s commissioner and assistant commissioner responsible for access have committed to taking steps to emphasize to senior management and staff the importance of respecting the provisions of the Access to Information Act, meeting the legislated timelines and following correct procedures.
  • CSC reports that measures it has taken recently have led to better compliance in 2009–2010. CSC is aiming for significant improvement within two years.

Some facts about access to information operations at CSC in 2008–2009

Number of requests carried over from 2007–2008
126
Number of new requests
408
Number of requests completed
455
Deemed refusal rate
47%*
Average time to complete a request (in days)
110
Number of consultation requests
69
Number of complaints registered with the Office of the Information Commissioner
57
Number of complaints the Office of the Information Commissioner resolved
14**
Number of full-time equivalents in access to information office, as of March 31, 2009
10.5
 

* Percentage of carried over and new requests delayed beyond the deadlines (30 days and extended) set out in the Access to Information Act. (See Appendix B for the formula the Office of the Information Commissioner used to calculate this rate.)

** A complaint is resolved when the Office of the Information Commissioner finds it has merit, and the institution resolves it to the Commissioner’s satisfaction.


2008–2009 report card

Access to information officials at the Correctional Service of Canada (CSC) acknowledged that its unacceptably high deemed refusal rate of 47 percent in 2008–2009 was due, in large part, to a reorganization of the access to information office. In addition, analysts worked on both privacy and access requests in 2008–2009, and an increase in workload associated with the former affected their ability to process access requests in a timely manner.

The average completion time for requests in 2008–2009 was 110 days. Moreover, almost 50 percent of the requests CSC received and completed in 2008–2009 were still open beyond their due date, and it took more than 90 days after that deadline to complete 22 percent of those requests. The Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) is very concerned to see CSC letting a large percentage of files become overdue and then not completing those files quickly.

CSC’s access to information office did not use electronic redaction software in 2008–2009, relying instead on a manual method, coupled with redacting photocopiers. Access officials confirmed that they intend to start using case management software in 2010–2011 to improve efficiency.

Prompt records retrieval is a problem for CSC. Access to information officials reported that middle managers do not always make responding to access to information requests their top priority, given other competing interests related to the safety and security of the public, offenders and employees. The OIC is concerned that these officials do not understand their obligations under the Access to Information Act, particularly related to releasing records on time, and looks to CSC’s senior management and the minister to clearly communicate the importance of meeting these legislated requirements.

CSC access to information officials reported that they emphasize during staff access awareness sessions that access to information responsibilities are governed by legislation and that access requests are to be considered a priority.

As a result of a business case developed in 2006–2007, the access to information office is in the middle of a three-year plan that has seen it increase its number of staff by 22 (for both access to information and privacy operations). This hiring has meant orienting new staff to the organization, delivering intensive training and physically relocating the access to information office to bigger accommodations.

In CSC’s view, it has overcome the worst of the obstacles it faced to achieving better compliance with the Access to Information Act, and it has been able to focus on gaining efficiencies in access to information processes. More staff helped reduce the average workload per analyst, freeing up senior staff to provide additional training to employees in the program areas. CSC—which was first part of the report card process in 2002—aims to significantly improve its compliance within two years. The OIC will follow up on this transition, in the hope that CSC soon returns to the excellent level of compliance it achieved in 2003–2004 and 2004–2005.

Recommendations

1. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that the commissioner of the Correctional Service of Canada continue to take a strong leadership role in establishing a culture of compliance throughout the Correctional Service of Canada. Such a role requires the unwavering endorsement of the minister.

Response

The commissioner approved the allocation of $1.7 million to the Access to Information and Privacy Division, effective April 1, 2008. As a result, the number of full-time equivalents in the Division increased by 22. In 2008–2009, the division undertook a massive hiring process, delivered intensive training and physically relocated to improved accommodations.

The commissioner will send a memorandum to the members of the executive committee stressing the importance of respecting the provisions of the Access to Information Act and setting out his expectations that timelines and procedures are to be respected.

2. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that the Correctional Service of Canada senior management communicate its clear expectation that the Correctional Service of Canada must achieve full compliance with the Access to Information Act.

Response

CSC understood that compliance in 2008–2009 would be a challenge, while the Division was being reorganized and rebuilt. The Division is now fully staffed with trained analysts, and compliance rates have steadily increased in 2009–2010: 77 percent in the first quarter, 89 percent in the second and 92 percent in the third.

The assistant commissioner responsible for access to information will issue a memorandum providing detailed instructions on the procedures and timelines to provide responses to the Access to Information and Privacy Division to achieve full compliance with the Act.

3. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that CSC organize the Access to Information and Privacy Division to process privacy requests in such a way that access to information compliance is not jeopardized.

Response

This has already been completed. As a result of the increased funding, the Division created PM-04-level positions and dedicated the senior analysts to processing access to information requests. This has resulted in increased compliance rates in 2009–2010.

4. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that the Correctional Service of Canada reduce the average completion time for requests.

Response

CSC’s compliance rate of meeting legislated timeframes has increased significantly to date in 2009–2010 (see above).

Offices of primary interest will be reminded of the requirement to respect timelines to provide records to the Access to Information and Privacy Division. Analysts have been reminded of their role in ensuring that legislated timeframes are met. Compliance rates will be monitored on a weekly basis by the division’s management team and on a monthly basis by the director general, rights, redress and resolution.

5. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that the Correctional Service of Canada comply with the Act and notify the Office of the Information Commissioner of all the extensions it takes for more than 30 days.

Response

We agree with this recommendation. Analysts will ensure that the copy generated in the template is sent to the OIC for every extension over 30 days.

 

How long requests completed late were overdue, 2008–2009

CSC reported that it completed 171 of the requests it received in 2008–2009 after their due date. This graph shows how long these requests stayed open beyond that deadline. It is of concern that 52 percent of these requests were late by more than 30 days.

How long requests completed late were overdue, 2008–2009

[D]

Number and length of time extensions reported in 2008–2009

This graph shows the number and length of the time extensions CSC reported to have taken in 2008–2009. CSC supplied this information in the notices it sent to the OIC under subsection 9(2) of the Access to Information Act. CSC submitted the notices 45 percent of the time in 2008–2009; the OIC expects this figure to be 100 percent in 2009–2010.

Number and length of time extensions reported in 2008–2009

[D]

Number and outcome of delay-related complaints to the OIC, 2006–2007 to 2008–2009

These graphs show the number and outcome of two types of complaint registered against CSC in the last three reporting periods: complaints about deemed refusals (access to information requests that CSC delayed beyond the deadlines—30 days and extended—set out in the Access to Information Act) and complaints about CSC’s use of the time extensions allowed under the Act. Resolved complaints are those that the OIC finds have merit and that the institution resolves to the Commissioner’s satisfaction.

Deemed refusal complaints

Deemed refusal complaints

[D]

There was a large increase in deemed refusal complaints between 2006–2007 and 2007–2008 (from 2 to 14). Although the total went down (to 9) in 2008–2009, it did not return to the 2006–2007 level, and the proportion of complaints the OIC resolved remained large (89 percent in 2008–2009).

Time extension complaints

Time extension complaints

[D]

CSC had no resolved time extensions complaints in the last three reporting periods, but three complaints were pending at the end of both 2007–2008 and 2008–2009.


Number and outcome of complaints to the OIC, 2006–2007 to 2008–2009

This table sets out the number and outcome of the complaints the OIC registered against CSC in each of the last three reporting periods. Resolved complaints are those that the OIC finds have merit and that the institution resolves to the Commissioner’s satisfaction.

  Resolved Not
substantiated
Discontinued Pending Total
2006–2007
Administrative 2 6 2 0 10
Refusals 5 7 0 4 16
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 0 0
Total 7 13 2 4 26
2007–2008
Administrative 12 10 5 0 27
Refusals 3 2 5 14 24
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 0 0
Total 15 12 10 14 51
2008–2009
Administrative 10 1 5 3 19
Refusals 4 3 2 28 37
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 1 1
Total 14 4 7 32 57

There has been an overall increase in complaints of 119 percent since 2006–2007, and an increase in refusal complaints of 131 percent. The number of resolved complaints doubled over the same period (from 7 to 14). In 2008–2009, refusal complaints accounted for nearly two thirds of the total (37 of 57). That same year, the OIC resolved one quarter of the complaints overall and 53 percent of the 19 complaints in the administrative category, which included delay-related complaints (about overdue requests and time extensions).

 

Previous Table of contents Next

Date modified:

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiches de rendement


Année



Institutions évaluées en 2008–2009

Service correctionnel du Canada

Le Service correctionnel du Canada (SCC) s’occupe de la gestion d’établissements correctionnels de divers niveaux de sécurité hébergeant des délinquants qui purgent des peines d’emprisonnement de deux ans ou plus. Le SCC supervise également les délinquants en liberté sous condition dans la collectivité. Le SCC contribue à la protection de la société en encourageant activement et en aidant les délinquants à devenir des citoyens respectueux des lois, en leur offrant des programmes pendant la durée de leurs sentences.

Faits saillants de la fiche de rendement pour 2008–2009

whole star empty star empty star empty star empty star
F

  • Le taux de présomption de refus était de 47 %.
  • Le délai de traitement moyen des demandes était de 110 jours.
  • On a assisté à une réorganisation majeure du bureau d’accès à l’information.
  • Les analystes ont traité tant les demandes d’accès que les demandes de renseignements personnels. Le nombre élevé de demandes de renseignements personnels a fait en sorte de réduire le temps alloué au traitement des dossiers d’accès. (Ce problème a été réglé depuis par l’assignation des analystes à l’un ou l’autre des types de demandes, accès ou renseignements personnels, mais pas aux deux.)
  • Près de 50 % des demandes ont été traitées en retard; 22 % d’entre elles ont été traitées plus de 90 jours après leur échéance initiale.
  • Le SCC ne disposait d’aucun logiciel d’expurgation.
  • La récupération des dossiers était parfois lente. Les représentants du SCC déclarent que la réponse aux demandes d’accès ne constituait pas toujours une priorité pour les gestionnaires intermédiaires, étant donné leurs responsabilités concurrentes.
  • Le SCC a soumis les avis de prorogations requises supérieures à 30 jours au Commissariat à l’information dans 45 % des cas.
  • L’année 2008–2009 a été une année de transition au coeur d’un plan d’amélioration triennal : le SCC a embauché et formé des nouveaux employés, et a réorganisé et déménagé le bureau d’accès à l’information.
  • La haute direction a démontré son engagement envers la conformité à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, en assignant de nouveaux employés au bureau d’accès à l’information : financement de 1,7 million de dollars et 22 nouveaux postes depuis le 1er avril 2008.
  • Le commissaire et le sous-commissionnaire du SCC responsables de l’accès se sont engagés à prendre les mesures pour souligner l’importance, auprès de la haute direction et du personnel, du respect des dispositions de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, en respectant les délais prévus par la Loi et en suivant les procédures appropriées.
  • Le SCC signale que les mesures prises récemment se sont traduites par une meilleure conformité en 2009–2010. Le SCC poursuit un objectif d’amélioration considérable d’ici les deux prochaines années.

Quelques faits sur les activités d’accès à l’information au SCC en 2008–2009

Nombre de demandes reportées de 2007–2008
126
Nombre de nouvelles demandes
408
Nombre de demandes traitées
455
Taux de présomption de refus
47 %*
Délai de traitement moyen des demandes (jours)
110
Nombre de demandes de consultation
69
Nombre de plaintes déposées au Commissariat à l’information
57
Nombre de demandes résolues par le Commissariat à l’information
14**
Nombre d’équivalents temps plein au bureau d’accès à l’information, au 31 mars 2009
10,5
 

* Pourcentage de demandes reportées et de nouvelles demandes retardées au-delà des délais (30 jours et prorogés) stipulés par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. (Voir l’Appendice B pour accéder à la formule utilisée par le Commissariat dans le calcul de ce taux.)

** Une plainte est résolue lorsque le Commissariat à l’information juge qu’elle est fondée et que l’institution la règle de façon satisfaisante aux yeux du commissaire.


Fiche de rendement pour 2008–2009

Les agents de l’accès à l’information au Service correctionnel du Canada (SCC) reconnaissent que le taux de présomption de refus inacceptable de 47 % en 2008–2009 est attribuable, en grande partie, à la réorganisation du bureau d’accès à l’information. En outre, le fait que les analystes aient travaillé à la fois aux demandes d’accès et aux demandes de renseignements personnels en 2008–2009, jumelé à l’augmentation de la charge de travail, a nui à leur capacité à traiter rapidement les demandes d’accès.

Le délai de traitement moyen des demandes en 2008–2009 était de 110 jours. De plus, près de 50 % des demandes reçues et traitées par le SCC en 2008–2009 sont restées en suspens au-delà de leur échéance et il a fallu plus de 90 jours après cette échéance pour traiter 22 % de ces demandes. Le Commissariat à l’information est très préoccupé de constater que le SCC laisse un grand pourcentage de ces dossiers dépasser leur échéance et qu’il ne traite pas ces dossiers rapidement.

Le bureau d’accès à l’information du SCC n’utilisait aucun logiciel d’expurgation électronique en 2008–2009, se fiant plutôt à la méthode manuelle, conjuguée à des photocopieurs permettant de retrancher les renseignements. Les agents de l’accès ont confirmé leur intention de commencer à utiliser un logiciel de gestion de cas en 2010–2011 afin d’améliorer leur rendement.

La rapidité de récupération de documents représente un problème au SCC. Les agents de l’accès à l’information indiquent que les gestionnaires intermédiaires n’accordent pas toujours une haute priorité aux demandes d’accès à l’information en raison de leurs autres responsabilités concurrentes relativement à la sécurité et la protection de la population, des délinquants et des employés. Le Commissariat à l’information s’inquiète que ces agents ne comprennent pas leurs obligations en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, surtout en matière de communication des dossiers en temps utile, et compte sur la haute direction et le ministre pour communiquer clairement l’importance du respect de ces exigences prévues par la Loi.

Les agents de l’accès à l’information du SCC ont rapporté qu’ils soulignaient, pendant les séances de sensibilisation du personnel, que les responsabilités en matière d’accès à l’information étaient régies par la Loi et que les demandes d’accès devraient être considérées comme une priorité.

À la suite d’un plan de mise en œuvre élaboré en 2006–2007, le bureau d’accès à l’information est à mi-chemin d’un plan triennal qui a fait accroître son effectif de 22 employés (pour les opérations d’accès à l’information et de renseignements personnels). Cette embauche a nécessité l’intégration de nouveaux employés au sein de l’organisme, une formation intensive et le déménagement du bureau d’accès à l’information dans un plus grand espace.

Le SCC estime avoir surmonté les obstacles vers l’atteinte d’une meilleure conformité à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, et avoir été en mesure de concentrer ses efforts sur l’augmentation du rendement des processus d’accès à l’information. L’augmentation de l’effectif a permis de réduire la charge de travail de chaque analyste, libérant les cadres supérieurs pour assurer une formation additionnelle aux employés des secteurs de programme. Le SCC, qui a participé au processus de fiche de rendement pour la première fois en 2002, prévoit améliorer considérablement sa conformité d’ici deux ans. Le Commissariat à l’information fera le suivi de cette transition en espérant que le SCC retrouve bientôt le niveau d’excellence qu’il a atteint en 2003–2004 et en 2004–2005.

Recommandations

1. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que le commissaire du Service correctionnel du Canada continue d’assurer un leadership solide dans l’établissement d’une culture de conformité dans l’ensemble du Service correctionnel du Canada. Un tel rôle requiert un appui inconditionnel du ministre.

Réponse

Le commissaire a approuvé l’attribution de 1,7 million de dollars à la Division de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels, à compter du 1er avril 2008. Par conséquent, la Division compte maintenant 22 équivalents temps plein de plus. En 2008–2009, la Division a entrepris le processus d’embauche massive, une formation intensive et le déménagement de l’organisme dans un plus grand espace.

Le commissaire transmettra une note de service aux membres du comité de direction soulignant l’importance du respect des dispositions de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et établissant ses attentes à l’égard du respect des échéances et des procédures.

2. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que la haute direction du Service correctionnel du Canada communique clairement ses attentes à l’égard de la pleine conformité du Service correctionnel du Canada à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Réponse

Le SCC avait prévu que la conformité en 2008–2009 représenterait un défi pendant la réorganisation et la reconstruction de la Division. Cette dernière dispose maintenant d’un effectif complet composé d’analystes formés, et les taux de conformité ont connu une croissance constante en 2009–2010 : 77 % au premier trimestre, 89 % au second et 92 % au troisième trimestre.

Le commissaire adjoint responsable de l’accès à l’information émettra une note de service décrivant en détail les instructions sur les procédures et les échéances servant aux réponses à la Division de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels afin d’atteindre la pleine conformité à la Loi.

3. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que le SCC organise la Division de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels de sorte qu’elle traite les demandes de renseignements personnels sans compromettre la conformité à l’accès à l’information.

Réponse

Cela a déjà été fait. Grâce à l’augmentation du financement, la Division a créé des postes de niveau PM 04 et a consacré les analystes principaux au traitement des demandes d’accès à l’information. La conformité en a été améliorée en 2009–2010.

4. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que le Service correctionnel du Canada réduise le délai moyen de traitement des demandes.

Réponse

Le taux de conformité du SCC à l’égard du respect des délais prévus par la Loi a considérablement augmenté à ce jour en 2009–2010 (voir ci-dessus).

Nous rappellerons aux bureaux de première responsabilité l’exigence du respect des délais de transmission des dossiers à la Division de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels. Nous avons rappelé aux analystes leur responsabilité de respecter les délais prévus par la Loi. Les taux de conformité seront contrôlés de façon hebdomadaire par l’équipe de gestion de la Division, et mensuellement par le directeur des Droits, des recours et des résolutions.

5. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que le Service correctionnel du Canada se conforme à la Loi et avise le Commissariat à l’information de toute prorogation excédant 30 jours.

Réponse

Nous sommes d’accord avec cette recommandation. Les analystes s’assureront que la copie générée par le modèle est transmise au Commissariat pour toutes les prorogations supérieures à 30 jours.

Importance du délai des demandes traitées en retard, 2008–2009

Le SCC a indiqué qu’il a traité 171 des demandes reçues en 2008–2009 après leur date d’échéance. Ce graphique illustre l a durée pendant laquelle ces demandes sont restées en suspens au-delà de cette échéance. Il y a lieu de se préoccuper du fait que 52 % de ces demandes ont subi des délais de plus de 30 jours.

Importance du délai des demandes traitées en retard, 2008–2009

Nombre et durée des prorogations signalées en 2008–2009

Ce graphique illustre le nombre et la durée des prorogations signalées par le Service correctionnel du Canada en 2008–2009. Le SCC a fait état de cette information dans les avis envoyés au Commissariat en vertu du paragraphe 9(2) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Le SCC a soumis les avis dans 45 % des cas en 2008–2009; le Commissariat à l’information s’attend à ce que ce nombre atteigne 100 % en 2009–2010.

Nombre et durée des prorogations signalées en 2008–2009

Nombre et issue des plaintes relatives au délai déposées au Commissariat de 2006–2007 à 2008–2009

Ces graphiques illustrent le nombre et de l’issue de deux types de plaintes déposées contre le SCC au cours des trois dernières périodes de référence : plaintes au sujet de la présomption de refus (demandes d’accès à l’information que le SCC a retardé au-delà des délais – 30 jours et prorogés – stipulés par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information) et plaintes concernant l’utilisation par le SCC des délais autorisés en vertu de la Loi. Les plaintes résolues sont celles que le Commissariat estime fondées et que l’institution règle à la satisfaction du Commissariat.

Plaintes sur la présomption de refus

Plaintes sur la présomption de refus

On a assisté à une forte augmentation des plaintes sur la présomption de refus entre 2006–2007 et 2007–2008 (de 2 à 14). Bien que le total ait diminué pour se situer (à 9) en 2008–2009, il n’a pas rejoint le niveau de 2006–2007, et la proportion des plaintes résolues par le Commissariat est restée élevée (89 % en 2008–2009).

Plaintes sur le délai de prorogation

Plaintes sur le délai de prorogation

Le SCC n’avait aucune plainte sur le délai de prorogation de résolue pour les trois dernières périodes de référence, mais trois plaintes étaient en suspens à la fin des exercices 2007–2008 et 2008– 2009.


Nombre et issue des plaintes déposées au Commissariat de 2006–2007 à 2008–2009

Ce tableau illustre le nombre et l’issue des plaintes déposées au Commissariat contre le SCC dans chacune des trois dernières périodes de référence. Les plaintes résolues sont celles que le Commissariat estime fondées et que l’institution règle à la satisfaction du commissaire.

  Résolues Non fondées Abandonnées En suspens Total
2006–2007
Questions administratives 2 6 2 0 10
Refus 5 7 0 4 16
Documents confidentiels
du Cabinet
0 0 0 0 0
Total 7 13 2 4 26
2007–2008
Questions administratives 12 10 5 0 27
Refus 3 2 5 14 24
Documents confidentiels
du Cabinet
0 0 0 0 0
Total 15 12 10 14 51
2008–2009
Questions administratives 10 1 5 3 19
Refus 4 3 2 28 37
Documents confidentiels
du Cabinet
0 0 0 1 1
Total 14 4 7 32 57

Il y a eu une augmentation globale des plaintes de 119 % depuis 2006–2007 et une augmentation des plaintes pour refus de 131 %. Le nombre de plaintes résolues a doublé au cours de la même période (passage de 7 à 14). En 2008–2009, les plaintes pour refus représentaient près des deux tiers du nombre total de plaintes (37 sur 57). La même année, le Commissariat a résolu le quart de l’ensemble des plaintes et 53 % des 19 plaintes administratives, qui incluent les plaintes au sujet des délais (demandes traitées en retard et prorogations des délais).