Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Report Cards


Year


Previous Table of contents Next

Institutions assessed in 2008–2009

Canadian Security Intelligence Service

The Canadian Intelligence Security Agency (CSIS) collects, analyzes and retains information and intelligence about activities that may threaten the security of Canada, and reports to and advises the Government of Canada on these matters.

2008–2009 report card at a glance

whole star whole star empty star empty star empty star
D

  • Deemed refusal rate was 20.9 percent.
  • Average time to complete a request was 86 days.
  • Staffing instability may have contributed to administrative errors, which negatively affected the compliance rate.
  • CSIS submitted notices to the Office of the Information Commissioner about extensions of more than 30 days 57 percent of the time.
  • The Office of the Information Commissioner resolved five out of six delay-related complaints registered against CSIS in 2008–2009.
  • CSIS receives more consultation requests than access to information requests.
  • CSIS has a strong information management structure.
  • The access to information office was successful in recruiting new staff after a large turnover, despite high security requirements.
  • One employee now plays a quality assurance role, overseeing both individual release packages and access operations in general.
  • CSIS proactively releases regularly requested records.
  • A software upgrade was scheduled for January 2010.
  • A compliance officer monitors the advancement of files and notifies the coordinator, as required.
  • CSIS carried eight overdue requests over into 2009–2010.

Some facts about access to information operations at CSIS in 2008–2009

Number of requests carried over from 2007–2008
37
Number of new requests
150
Number of requests completed
140
Deemed refusal rate
20.9%*
Average time to complete a request (in days)
86
Number of consultation requests
182
Number of complaints registered with the Office of the Information Commissioner
13
Number of complaints the Office of the Information Commissioner resolved
6**
Number of full-time equivalents in access to information office, as of March 31, 2009
15
 

* Percentage of carried over and new requests delayed beyond the deadlines (30 days and extended) set out in the Access to Information Act. (See Appendix B for the formula the Office of the Information Commissioner used to calculate this rate.)

** A complaint is resolved when the Office of the Information Commissioner finds it has merit, and the institution resolves it to the Commissioner’s satisfaction.


2008–2009 report card

The Canadian Security Intelligence Service’s (CSIS) compliance with the Access to Information Act in 2008–2009, its first year as part of the report card process, was disappointing. Its deemed refusal rate was 20.9 percent, and the average time to complete a request was 86 days. In addition, more than one quarter of the requests CSIS completed late were overdue by more than 90 days. However, CSIS also received more consultation requests than access requests in 2008–2009, essentially doubling the workload for the 15 full-time equivalents in the access to information office.

CSIS started the year with a significant staff turnover, but was able to recruit up to nearly a full staff complement as the year progressed. CSIS’s operating environment requires access personnel to have high security clearances. Access officials reported that this hampers recruiting efforts, which are already a challenge, given the shortage of qualified candidates.

The unfamiliarity of new staff with the case management system resulted in administrative errors. There is now a quality control function within the access to information office to oversee the integrity of both the disclosure packages and access to information operations as a whole, to avert further administrative mishaps. In addition, the coordinator reports that reinvigorated support across the organization for the access program will result in better staff retention.

CSIS has instituted a proactive approach to dealing with records that are requested regularly, and has allotted a full-time resource to this function. CSIS reports that it has already seen its deemed refusal rate go down in 2009–2010.

The institution’s information management practices contribute positively to the access to information function. CSIS employees must pre-code every record they create—right down to each email—for security and classification requirements. This facilitates easy retrieval in most cases.

CSIS has what should be an administrative advantage in the form of the Integrated Threat Assessment Centre. This consolidated, on-site group of representatives from federal, provincial and territorial institutions should smooth the consultation process on intergovernmental requests. Nonetheless, CSIS reports that consultations do contribute to its high deemed refusal rate and that it has developed a proactive process to improve the situation.

CSIS has recently undertaken training to help staff avoid administrative errors, upgraded its software and introduced the quality control function, all of which should help improve CSIS’s compliance in 2009–2010. CSIS itself has set as its goal to achieve a five-star rating for 2009–2010.

Recommendations

1. The Office of Information Commissioner recommends that the coordinator of the Canadian Security Intelligence Service access to information office ensure that its staff receives the administrative training necessary to avoid technical mishaps.

Response

During the period under review, 40 percent of CSIS access to information analysts were new and were not intimately familiar with all of the features of the ATIP Flow software. They have become more experienced with the software and the technical mishaps noted during the review ought not to recur.

In January 2010, CSIS will be migrating to the next generation of processing software, Access Pro. All access to information staff will receive formal training.

The review brought to the fore the need for analysts to better understand ATIP Flow, in particular the use of the Stop Clock feature. It is expected that the two two-day training sessions, in addition to the close mentoring that is already under way, will remedy this shortcoming.

All access to information employees were reminded of the ATIP Flow software Stop Clock feature, more specifically on how not to remove the action accidentally.

2. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that the Canadian Security Intelligence Service reduce its deemed refusal rate to zero.

Response

The carry over of eight outstanding requests in deemed refusal from the 2008–2009 reporting period has made it impossible to achieve the ideal OIC compliance rate of less than five percent in 2009–2010. Nonetheless, CSIS remains committed to reducing its deemed refusal rate, which currently stands at seven percent. This figure includes the eight requests already in deemed refusal from the last reporting period. If it were not for these eight requests, the deemed refusal rate would stand at one percent, which is very close to the OIC’s ideal compliance rate.

The progress of all requests is closely monitored by the access compliance officer. All requests nearing the time limit are brought to the attention of the access coordinator.

The Stop Clock feature of the ATIP Flow software is utilized to its fullest. The legislated time period allowed to process the requests has been optimized.

Time extensions are more realistic and are tailored accordingly.

During our access to information training sessions, key stakeholders and offices of primary interest are reminded of our legislative obligations and of the necessity of providing timely responses and document turnaround.

3. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that the Canadian Security Intelligence Service reduce the average amount of time it takes to respond to requests.

Response

In many instances, the content and sensitivity of the records requested require extensive internal and external consultations. Although the access to information office has some control over the internal consultations, we do not set the priorities of other departments. Nevertheless, efforts will be made to remind our partners to respond to our consultation requests in a timely manner.

It is important to consider that despite the high staff turnover and various long-term absences among some staff, CSIS has no request backlog to deal with. Ninety-nine percent of all requests received by CSIS after April 1, 2009, have been processed within the legislated time limits.

Considerable effort has been devoted to reducing the average time required to process a request. This average currently stands at 38 days, which is a marked improvement over last year’s average of 86 days.

CSIS anticipates that the results achieved from implementation of the actions described under recommendation 2, above, will reduce the average amount of time to respond to requests.

4. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that the Canadian Security Intelligence Service comply with the Act and notify the Office of the Information Commissioner of all the extensions it takes for more than 30 days..

Response

This shortcoming has been explicitly addressed with access to information staff during the course of regular meetings. All access to information employees were reminded of the obligation to notify the OIC of all extensions that go beyond 30 days.

The access compliance officer will conduct regular audits to ensure that the OIC notifications are not overlooked in the future.

As an additional safeguard, the access coordinator will receive a weekly status report from the access clerk on this specific task.

How long requests completed late were overdue, 2008–2009

CSIS reported that it completed 22 of the requests it received in 2008–2009 after their due date. This graph shows how long these requests stayed open beyond that deadline.

How long requests completed late were overdue, 2008–2009

Number and length of time extensions reported in 2008–2009

This graph shows the number and length of the time extensions CSIS reported to have taken in 2008–2009. CSIS supplied this information in the notices it sent to the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) under subsection 9(2) of the Access to Information Act. CSIS submitted the notices 57 percent of the time in 2008–2009; the OIC expects this figure to be 100 percent in 2009–2010.

Number and length of time extensions reported in 2008–2009

Number and outcome of delay-related complaints to the OIC, 2006–2007 to 2008–2009

These graphs show the number and outcome of two types of complaint registered against CSIS in 2008–2009: complaints about deemed refusals (access to information requests that CSIS delayed beyond the deadlines—30 days and extended—set out in the Access to Information Act) and complaints about CSIS’s use of the time extensions allowed under the Act. Resolved complaints are those that the OIC finds to have merit and that the institution resolves to the Commissioner’s satisfaction.

Deemed refusal complaints

Deemed refusal complaints

The OIC resolved every deemed refusal complaint registered against CSIS in the last three years (7).

Time extension complaints

Time extension complaints

The number and outcome of time extension complaints against CSIS were mixed in the last three years.


Number and outcome of complaints to the OIC, 2006–2007 to 2008–2009

This table sets out the complaints the OIC registered against CSIS in each of the last three reporting periods. Resolved complaints are those that the OIC finds to have merit and that the institution resolves to the Commissioner’s satisfaction.

  Resolved Not
substantiated
Discontinued Pending Total
2006–2007
Administrative 2 0 0 0 2
Refusals 2 2 0 0 4
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 0 0
Total 4 2 0 0 6
2007–2008
Administrative 3 1 1 0 5
Refusals 1 2 0 1 4
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 1 1
Total 4 3 1 2 10
2008–2009
Administrative 5 0 1 0 6
Refusals 1 2 1 3 7
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 0 0
Total 6 2 2 3 13

The overall number of complaints registered against CSIS increased in the last three years (6; 10; 13).

Previous Table of contents Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiches de rendement


Année



Institutions évaluées en 2008–2009

Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité

Le Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité (SCRS) recueille, analyse et conserve l’information et les renseignements sur les activités qui pourraient menacer la sécurité du Canada pour ensuite en faire état au gouvernement du Canada et le conseiller à ce sujet.

Faits saillants de la fiche de rendement pour 2008–2009

whole star whole star empty star empty star empty star
D

  • Le taux de présomption de refus était de 20,9 %.
  • Le délai de traitement moyen des demandes était de 86 jours.
  • L’instabilité du personnel pourrait avoir contribué aux erreurs administratives, lesquelles ont nui au taux de conformité.
  • Le SCRS a soumis des avis au Commissariat à l’information relativement aux prorogations supérieures à 30 jours dans 57 % des cas.
  • Le Commissariat à l’information a résolu 5 des 6 plaintes relatives au délai déposées contre le SCRS en 2008–2009.
  • Le SCRS reçoit davantage de demandes de consultation que de demandes d’accès à l’information.
  • Le SCRS possède une structure de gestion de l’information solide.
  • Le bureau d’accès à l’information a réussi à recruter de nouveaux employés à la suite d’un important remaniement, malgré les exigences élevées en matière de sécurité.
  • Un employé est maintenant assigné à l’assurance de la qualité, supervisant les documents de communication individuels et l’ensemble des opérations d’accès.
  • Le SCRS communique de façon proactive les demandes régulières de documents.
  • Une mise à jour du logiciel est prévue pour janvier 2010.
  • Un agent de conformité supervise le cheminement des dossiers et avise le coordonnateur, au besoin.
  • Le SCRS a reporté 8 demandes en retard à l’exercice 2009–2010.

Quelques faits sur les activités d’accès à l’information au SCRS en 2008–2009

Nombre de demandes reportées de 2007–2008
37
Nombre de nouvelles demandes
150
Nombre de demandes traitées
140
Taux de présomption de refus
20,9 %*
Délai de traitement moyen des demandes (jours)
86**
Nombre de demandes de consultation
182
Nombre de plaintes déposées au Commissariat à l’information
13
Nombre de demandes résolues par le Commissariat à l’information
6**
Nombre d’équivalents temps plein au bureau d’accès à l’information, au 31 mars 2009
15
 

* Pourcentage de demandes reportées et de nouvelles demandes retardées au-delà des délais (30 jours et prorogés) stipulés par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. (Voir l’Appendice B pour accéder à la formule utilisée par le Commissariat dans le calcul de ce taux.)

** Une plainte est résolue lorsque le Commissariat à l’information juge qu’elle est fondée et que l’institution la règle de façon satisfaisante aux yeux du commissaire.


Fiche de rendement pour 2008–2009

La conformité du Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité (SCRS) à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information en 2008–2009, soit la première année que le service fait l’objet d’une fiche de rendement, a été décevante. Son taux de présomption de refus était de 20,9 %, et le délai de traitement moyen des demandes était de 86 jours. En outre, plus du quart des demandes traitées en retard par le SCRS ont dépassé l’échéance de plus de 90 jours. Toutefois, le SCRS a également reçu davantage de demandes de consultation que de demandes d’accès en 2008–2009, doublant ainsi la charge de travail des 15 équivalents temps plein du bureau d’accès à l’information.

Le SCRS a commencé l’année avec un important remaniement du personnel, et n’a pu recruter un effectif complet qu’en cours d’année. Le milieu de travail du SCRS requiert que le personnel responsable de l’accès ait des autorisations de sécurité élevées. Selon les agents de l’accès, cela nuit aux efforts de recrutement, compte tenu de la pénurie de candidats qualifiés.

L’inexpérience du nouveau personnel à l’égard du système de gestion de cas a entraîné des erreurs administratives. Une fonction de contrôle de la qualité a été instaurée au bureau d’accès à l’information pour superviser l’intégrité des documents communiqués et des activités d’accès à l’information, afin d’éviter d’autres erreurs administratives. En outre, le coordonnateur note que le soutien renforcé dans l’ensemble de l’organisme à l’égard du programme d’accès entraînera une meilleure fidélisation de l’effectif.

Le SCRS a instauré une approche proactive pour le traitement des documents qui font régulièrement l’objet d’une demande, et a assigné un employé à temps plein à cette fonction. Le SCRS observe déjà une baisse de son taux de présomption de refus en 2009–2010.

Les pratiques de gestion de l’information de l’institution contribuent favorablement à la fonction d’accès à l’information. Les employés du SCRS doivent précoder tous les documents qu’ils créent, même chaque courriel, pour répondre aux exigences en matière de sécurité et de classification. Dans la plupart des cas, cette pratique facilite la récupération.

Le SCRS jouit d’un certain avantage administratif avec le Centre d’évaluation intégrée des menaces. Ce groupe consolidé de représentants sur place provenant d’institutions fédérales, provinciales et territoriales devrait alléger le processus de consultation à l’égard des demandes interministérielles. Néanmoins, le SCRS indique que les consultations contribuent à son taux de présomption de refus et qu’il a élaboré un processus proactif visant à améliorer la situation.

Le SCRS a récemment dispensé une formation visant à aider le personnel à éviter les erreurs administratives, à mettre à jour le logiciel et à mettre en place la fonction de contrôle de la qualité. Toutes ces compétences devraient permettre l’augmentation de la conformité du SCRS en 2009–2010. Le SCRS a lui-même établi des objectifs visant à atteindre un classement cinq étoiles en 2009–2010.

Recommandations

1. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que le coordonnateur du bureau d’accès à l’information du Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité s’assure que son personnel reçoit la formation administrative nécessaire pour éviter les problèmes techniques.

Réponse

Pendant la période faisant l’objet de l’examen, 40 % des analystes de l’accès à l’information du SCRS étaient des nouveaux employés sans connaissance approfondie de toutes les fonctions du logiciel ATIP Flow. Ils se sont maintenant familiarisés avec le logiciel et les problèmes techniques relevés pendant l’examen ne devraient pas se reproduire.

En janvier 2010, le SCRS passera à la nouvelle génération du logiciel de gestion Access Pro. Tout le personnel responsable de l’accès à l’information recevra une formation officielle.

L’examen a également tenu compte de la nécessité pour les analystes de mieux comprendre le logiciel ATIP Flow, notamment l’utilisation de la fonction d’arrêt du chronomètre. Il est attendu que les séances de formation de deux jours, en plus de l’encadrement étroit présentement en cours, viendront pallier cette lacune.

Tous les employés responsables de l’accès à l’information ont reçu un rappel au sujet de la fonction d’arrêt du chronomètre du logiciel ATIP Flow, plus précisément sur la façon d’éviter de supprimer l’action accidentellement.

2. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que le Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité s’efforce de réduire le taux de présomption de refus à zéro.

Réponse

En raison du report de huit demandes faisant l’objet d’une présomption de refus en suspens de la période de rapport de 2008–2009, le SCRS n’a pu atteindre le taux de conformité idéal inférieur à 5 % préconisé par le Commissariat en 2009–2010. Néanmoins, le SCRS demeure engagé à réduire son taux de présomption de refus, lequel s’élève actuellement à 7 %. Cette valeur tient compte des huit demandes faisant déjà l’objet d’une présomption de refus à la dernière période de référence. Sans ces huit demandes, le taux de présomption de refus s’élèverait à 1 %, très près du taux de conformité idéal fixé par le Commissariat.

Le progrès de toutes les requêtes est étroitement supervisé par l’agent de conformité de l’accès. Toutes les demandes dont l’échéance est imminente sont signalées au coordonnateur de l’accès.

La fonction d’arrêt du chronomètre du logiciel ATIP Flow est pleinement utilisée. La période de temps prescrite par la loi pour le traitement des demandes a été optimisée.

Les prorogations sont plus réalistes et personnalisées en conséquence.

Pendant nos séances de formation sur l’accès à l’information, nous rappelons aux intervenants clés et aux bureaux de première responsabilité nos obligations législatives et la nécessité d’offrir des réponses et des délais d’obtention de documents rapides.

3. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que le Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité réduise son temps moyen de réponse aux demandes.

Réponse

Dans de nombreux cas, le contenu et le caractère confidentiel des documents faisant l’objet d’une demande requièrent des consultations internes et externes exhaustives. Bien que le bureau d’accès à l’information exerce un certain contrôle sur les consultations internes, nous n’établissons pas les priorités des autres ministères. Néanmoins, nous déploierons des efforts pour rappeler à nos partenaires de répondre à nos demandes de consultation en temps opportun.

Il faudrait tenir compte du fait que le SCRS n’accuse aucun arriéré de demandes, malgré l’important roulement de personnel et les diverses absences de longue durée de certains employés. Ce sont 90 % de toutes les demandes reçues par le SCRS après le 1er avril 2009 qui ont été traitées dans les délais prescrits par la Loi.

Des efforts considérables ont été consacrés à la réduction du temps moyen requis pour le traitement d’une demande. À l’heure actuelle, cette moyenne correspond à 38 jours, une nette amélioration par rapport à la moyenne de 86 jours de l’an dernier.

Le SCRS s’attend à ce que les résultats de la mise en œuvre des actions décrites dans la recommandation 2, ci-dessus, réduisent le temps moyen de réponse aux demandes.

4. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que le Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité se conforme à la Loi et avise le Commissariat de toute prorogation excédant 30 jours.

Réponse

Cette lacune a déjà été abordée explicitement avec le personnel responsable de l’accès à l’information dans le cadre des rencontres régulières. On a rappelé à tous les employés responsables de l’accès à l’information l’obligation d’aviser le Commissariat des prorogations supérieures à 30 jours.

L’agent de conformité de l’accès procédera à des vérifications régulières afin de s’assurer que les avis au Commissariat ne sont pas omis à l’avenir.

À titre de mesure de sécurité supplémentaire, le commis aux demandes d’accès assigné à cette tâche précise transmettra au coordonnateur de l’accès un rapport de situation hebdomadaire.


Importance du délai des demandes traitées en retard, 2008–2009

Le SCRS a indiqué qu’il a traité 43 demandes reçues en 2008–2009 après leur date d’échéance. Ce graphique illustre la durée pendant laquelle ces demandes sont restées au suspens au-delà de cette échéance.

Importance du délai des demandes traitées en retard, 2008–2009

Nombre et durée des prorogations signalées en 2008–2009

Ce graphique illustre le nombre et la durée des prorogations signalées par le SCRS en 2008–2009. Le SCRS a fait état de cette information dans les avis envoyés au Commissariat en vertu du paragraphe 9(2) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Le SCRS a soumis les avis dans 57 % des cas en 2008–2009; le Commissariat s’attend à ce que ce nombre atteigne 100 % en 2009–2010.

Nombre et durée des prorogations signalées en 2008–2009

Nombre et issue des plaintes relatives au délai déposées au Commissariat de 2006–2007 à 2008–2009

Ces graphiques illustrent le nombre et l’issue de deux types de plaintes déposées contre le SCRS en 2008-2009 : plaintes relatives à la présomption de refus (demandes d’accès à l’information reportées par le SCRS au-delà des délais – 30 jours et prorogés – stipulés par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information) et plaintes relatives à l’utilisation des prorogations par le SCRS en vertu de la Loi. Les plaintes résolues sont celles que le Commissariat estime fondées et que l’institution règle à la satisfaction du commissaire.

Plaintes sur la présomption de refus

Plaintes sur la présomption de refus

Le Commissariat a résolu toutes les plaintes sur la présomption de refus déposées contre le SCRS au cours des trois derniers exercices (7).

Plaintes sur le délai de prorogation

Plaintes sur le délai de prorogation

Le nombre et l’issue des plaintes sur le délai de prorogation déposées contre le SCRS étaient variables au cours des trois derniers exercices.


Nombre et issue des plaintes déposées au Commissariat de 2006–2007 à 2008–2009

Ce tableau illustre le nombre et l’issue des plaintes déposées au Commissariat contre Sécurité publique Canada dans chacune des trois dernières périodes de référence. Les plaintes résolues sont celles que le Commissariat estime fondées et que l’institution règle à la satisfaction du commissaire.

  Résolues Non fondées Abandonnées En suspens Total
2006–2007
Questions administratives 2 0 0 0 2
Refus 2 2 0 0 4
Documents confidentiels
du Cabinet
0 0 0 0 0
Total 4 2 0 0 6
2007–2008
Questions administratives 3 1 1 0 5
Refus 1 2 0 1 4
Documents confidentiels
du Cabinet
0 0 0 1 1
Total 4 3 1 2 10
2008–2009
Questions administratives 5 0 1 0 6
Refus 1 2 1 3 7
Documents confidentiels
du Cabinet
0 0 0 0 0
Total 6 2 2 3 13

Le nombre global de plaintes déposées contre le SCRS a augmenté au cours des trois derniers exercices (6; 10; 13).