Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Report Cards


Year


Previous Table of contents Next

Institutions assessed in 2008–2009

Canadian International Development Agency

The Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA) delivers Canada’s official development assistance around the world, working to reduce poverty, promote human rights and support sustainable development.

2008–2009 report card at a glance

whole star empty star empty star empty star empty star
F

  • Deemed refusal rate was 37.7 percent.
  • Average completion time was 157 days.
  • All but the most basic disclosure packages are sent to the minister’s office for approval.
  • Lengthy extensions of more than 30 days were common: 45 percent were for more than 90 days.
  • Difficulty retrieving records, due to the international scope of CIDA’s work, complicates the tasking process.
  • A backlog of 102 cases had accumulated from the previous fiscal year, which CIDA reduced by 18 in 2008–2009.
  • The number of pages reviewed doubled in 2008–2009.
  • CIDA set up agreements with its key partners—Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada, the Department of Justice Canada, National Defence and the Privy Council Office—to facilitate timely consultations.
  • Recognizing that its compliance was not satisfactory in 2008–2009, CIDA has instituted a comprehensive action plan to address many of the issues that negatively affected its compliance rate, including taking the following actions:
    • changing the approval process, such that the minister’s office will be informed of a disclosure of documents 72 hours before release; and
    • allocating additional resources for new staff to eliminate the backlog, reduce individual workload and deliver training for access to information staff and awareness sessions for employees.

Some facts about access to information operations at CIDA in 2008–2009

Number of requests carried over from 2007–2008
102
Number of new requests
150
Number of requests completed
168
Deemed refusal rate
37.7%*
Average time to complete a request (in days)
157
Number of consultation requests
86
Number of complaints registered with the Office of the Information Commissioner
11
Number of complaints the Office of the Information Commissioner resolved
4**
Number of full-time equivalents in access to information office, as of March 31, 2009
8.29
 

* Percentage of carried over and new requests delayed beyond the deadlines (30 days and extended) set out in the Access to Information Act. (See Appendix B for the formula the Office of the Information Commissioner used to calculate this rate.)

** A complaint is resolved when the Office of the Information Commissioner finds it has merit, and the institution resolves it to the Commissioner’s satisfaction.


2008–2009 report card

Much of the effort of the new management and staff in the access to information office at the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA) in 2008–2009 was spent instituting policies and procedures to reassure members of the minister’s office about release packages in order to reduce the level of approvals required for the majority of them. The minister’s office saw all but the most basic administrative requests, amounting to about 98 percent of the 150 requests CIDA received. The fact that the minister’s office had to approve the release of documents had an impact on CIDA’s ability to meet its legislative deadlines and ran counter to the access to information coordinator’s fully delegated authority. CIDA access to information officials, however, reported that they do not allot any extra time for the minister’s approval. This institution had a deemed refusal rate of 37.7 percent in 2008–2009—its first year as part of the report card process—along with an average completion time of 157 days and a backlog of 102 cases (although it did reduce the latter by 18 cases in 2008–2009). Lengthy extensions were common: 45 percent of the extensions CIDA took in 2008–2009 were for more than 90 days.

CIDA officials reported that their access to information capacity was challenged considerably once Canada entered the war in Afghanistan. While a staff of two could previously handle all of CIDA’s requests, it now requires 10 permanent staff members to manage the caseload. The number of pages processed doubled, even though the number of requests stabilized. The nature of CIDA’s widespread, international operations sometimes makes finding records difficult.

CIDA frequently needs to consult with other institutions, other countries and foreign agencies. The requests with an international scope are particularly time-consuming to process and contribute to delays. The situation has been no better domestically, since consultations with other federal institutions are so prolonged that CIDA releases whatever records are ready and closes files before knowing the results of the consultations. CIDA took steps to address this in 2009 by setting up agreements with key partners to facilitate timely consultations.

CIDA has launched an action plan that leverages the full support of management to establish standards, and train and educate staff at all levels, in order to build confidence in access to information operations. It is hoped that this plan will help improve operations that limit compliance, including changing the approval process.

Now that it has stable funding for 10 staff, CIDA hopes to retain them through a career development program that involves, among other things, introducing analysts to progressively more complex files and not promoting employees beyond their capabilities until their skill sets are sufficient.

Information management is another area that has received attention recently. CIDA renewed its hardware and software to standardize document storage. There is also a newly instituted communications process: the communications division manages requests for further public enquiry concurrently with the access to information process so as not to delay the release of records.

Despite its currently poor level of compliance, CIDA access to information officials said that they are confident they will be able to demonstrate the achievements of the action plan as it unfolds. The Office of the Information (OIC) expects to see the fruits of this plan in the coming years.

Recommendations

1. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that the office of the Minister for International Cooperation strictly follow the delegation order in order to eliminate inappropriate levels of approval.

Response

CIDA has consulted with other government departments and has identified best approvals practices.

A new process will be put in place whereby the minister’s office will be informed of a disclosure of documents 72 hours before release.

2. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that the Canadian International Development Agency develop and implement a multi-year plan to improve compliance with the Access to Information Act, with particular attention to eliminating the backlog.

Response

CIDA’s access to information program has proactively taken steps to improve compliance and eliminate its backlog.

CIDA is developing a multi-year plan to improve compliance with the Act and prevent a future backlog. CIDA is concurrently implementing focused measures to eliminate the backlog by the end of the 2009–2010 fiscal year.

In the short term, CIDA hired (in July 2009) two consultants to work on the backlog. In addition, senior management is actively involved in updating internal procedures, carrying out proper staffing actions, restructuring the access to information office, and delivering awareness and training sessions to CIDA’s managers and staff.

On an ongoing basis, CIDA will put new procedures, training and awareness initiatives in place and update the multi-year plan to improve compliance with the Access to Information Act on an annual basis.

3. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that the Canadian International Development Agency develop protocols with other federal institutions to facilitate timely consultations.

Response

CIDA’s access to information program has come to agreement with other federal institutions to facilitate timely consultations. Access advisors are asked to discuss extensions for some types of request for consultations with other federal institutions, when required, and to follow up with the consultee on a regular basis once the deadline has been reached.

We have already reached agreement with key partners: Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada, National Defence and the ?Department of Justice Canada. An agreement has been in place with the Privy Council Office with regard to exclusions since December 15, 2009.

4. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that the Canadian International Development Agency’s director of access to information ensure that, when closing access request files related to outstanding mandatory consultations, requesters are informed that additional records may be forthcoming, that they will be informed of the outcome of the consultations even if no additional records were to be released, and that they have the right to complain to the Office of the Information Commissioner at each stage of the process.

Response

A process to inform requesters when closing access request files with outstanding mandatory consultations and informing them of their right to complain to the OIC at each stage of the process has been in place since the fall of 2009.

A special paragraph is included in the response to inform requesters whether there are any outstanding records in consultations, and all of our correspondence includes the paragraph informing requesters that they have the right to complain to the OIC at each stage of the process.

5. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that the Canadian International Development Agency contact the institution it intends to consult for an estimate of the turnaround time and only extend the request by the specified amount of time.

Response

Refer to our response to recommendation 3, above.

6. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that the Canadian International Development Agency comply with the Act and notify the Office of the Information Commissioner of all the extensions it takes for more than 30 days.

Response

A process notifying the OIC of all the extensions of more than 30 days has always been in place.

CIDA will continue to follow the notification process, which includes informing the OIC of all the extensions it takes for more than 30 days.

 

How long requests completed late were overdue, 2008–2009

CIDA reported that it completed 30 of the requests it received in 2008–2009 after their due date. This graph shows how long these requests stayed open beyond that deadline.

How long requests completed late were overdue, 2008–2009

Number and length of time extensions reported in 2008–2009

This graph shows the number and length of the time extensions CIDA reported to have taken in 2008–2009. CIDA supplied this information in the notices it sent to the OIC under subsection 9(2) of the Access to Information Act. CIDA submitted the notices 79 percent of the time in 2008–2009; the OIC expects this figure to be 100 percent in 2009–2010.

Number and length of time extensions reported in 2008–2009

Number and outcome of delay-related complaints to the OIC, 2006–2007 to 2008–2009

These graphs show the number and outcome of two types of complaint registered against CIDA in the last three reporting periods: complaints about deemed refusals (access to information requests that CIDA delayed beyond the deadlines—30 days and extended—set out in the Access to Information Act) and complaints about CIDA’s use of the time extensions allowed under the Act. Resolved complaints are those that the OIC finds have merit and that the institution resolves to the Commissioner’s satisfaction.

Deemed refusal complaints

Deemed refusal complaints

The number of deemed refusal complaints increased from two in 2007–2008 to seven in 2008–2009; however, only two (29 percent) of the latter requests were resolved.

Time extension complaints

Time extension complaints

The number and outcome of time extension complaints against CIDA were mixed in the last three years.


Number and outcome of complaints to the OIC, 2006–2007 to 2008–2009

This table sets out the complaints the Office of the Information Commissioner registered against CIDA and completed in each of the last three reporting periods. Resolved complaints are those that the OIC finds have merit and that the institution resolves to the Commissioner’s satisfaction.

  Resolved Not
substantiated
Discontinued Pending Total
2006–2007
Administrative 6 0 0 1 7
Refusals 0 1 0 0 1
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 0 0
Total 6 1 0 1 8
2007–2008
Administrative 3 1 8 1 13
Refusals 0 3 2 0 5
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 0 0
Total 3 4 10 1 18
2008–2009
Administrative 4 1 5 0 10
Refusals 0 0 0 1 1
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 0 0
Total 4 1 5 1 11

The proportion of resolved complaints to the total was high in 2006–2007 at 75 percent. There were no resolved refusal complaints in any year, although one case was pending at the end of 2008–2009.

Previous Table of contents Next

Date modified:

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiches de rendement


Année



Institutions évaluées en 2008–2009

Agence canadienne de développement international

L’Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI) assure l’aide au développement officiel partout dans le monde, s’efforçant à réduire la pauvreté, à promouvoir les droits de l’homme et à appuyer le développement durable.

Faits saillants de la fiche de rendement pour 2008–2009

whole star empty star empty star empty star empty star
F

  • Le taux de présomption de refus était de 37,7 %.
  • Le délai de traitement moyen était de 157 jours.
  • À l’exception des communications très rudimentaires, tous les documents à communiquer sont envoyés au bureau du ministre aux fins d’approbation.
  • Les prorogations de plus de 30 jours sont courantes : 45 % excèdent plus de 90 jours.
  • La difficulté de récupérer des dossiers, en raison de la portée internationale des travaux de l’ACDI, complique le processus d’attribution des tâches.
  • Un arriéré de 102 dossiers s’est accumulé depuis le dernier exercice financier; l’ACDI l’a réduit de 18 dossiers en 2008–2009.
  • Le nombre de pages examinées a doublé en 2008–2009.
  • L’ACDI conclut des ententes avec ses principaux partenaires – Affaires étrangères et Commerce international, ministère de la Justice Canada, ministère de la Défense nationale et Bureau du Conseil privé – pour favoriser les consultations rapides.
  • Reconnaissant que sa conformité était inadéquate en 2008–2009, l’ACDI a instauré un plan d’action exhaustif afin d’aborder nombre d’enjeux qui nuisent à son taux de conformité, en prenant notamment les mesures suivantes :
    • modification du processus d’approbation, de sorte que le cabinet du ministre soit avisé des documents à communiquer 72 heures avant ladite communication;
    • attribution de ressources supplémentaires pour accroître le personnel afin de réduire les arriérés, de réduire la charge de travail et d’assurer la formation du personnel responsable de l’accès à l’information ainsi que d’offrir des séances de sensibilisation aux employés.

Quelques faits sur les activités d’accès à l’information à l’ACDI en 2008–2009

Nombre de demandes reportées de 2007–2008
102
Nombre de nouvelles demandes
150
Nombre de demandes traitées
168
Taux de présomption de refus
37,7 %*
Délai de traitement moyen des demandes (jours)
157**
Nombre de demandes de consultation
86
Nombre de plaintes déposées au Commissariat à l’information
11
Nombre de demandes résolues par le Commissariat à l’information
4**
Nombre d’équivalents temps plein au bureau d’accès à l’information, au 31 mars 2009
8,29
 

* Pourcentage de demandes reportées et de nouvelles demandes retardées au-delà des délais (30 jours et prorogés) stipulés par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. (Voir l’Appendice B pour accéder à la formule utilisée par le Commissariat dans le calcul de ce taux.)

** Une plainte est résolue lorsque le Commissariat à l’information juge qu’elle est fondée et que l’institution la règle de façon satisfaisante aux yeux du commissaire.


Fiche de rendement pour 2008–2009

En 2008–2009, la nouvelle équipe de gestion et d’employés du bureau d’accès à l’information de l’Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI) a consacré la majorité de ses efforts à instituer des politiques et des procédures visant à rassurer les membres du cabinet du ministre quant aux documents communiqués afin de réduire le niveau d’approbation requis pour la majorité de ces derniers. À l’exception des demandes administratives les plus rudimentaires, le cabinet du ministre examinait toutes les demandes, représentant près de 98 % des 150 demandes reçues à l’ACDI. L’approbation requise par le cabinet du ministre pour la communication de documents nuisait à la capacité de l’ACDI de se conformer aux délais prévus par la Loi et allait à l’encontre de la pleine délégation de pouvoirs du coordonnateur de l’accès à l’information. Les agents de l’accès à l’information de l’ACDI ont toutefois signalé ne pas accorder de délai supplémentaire pour l’approbation du ministre. L’institution, qui fait l’objet d’une fiche de rendement pour une première fois en 2008–2009, affiche un taux de présomption de refus de 37,7 %, ainsi qu’un délai moyen de traitement de 157 jours, en plus d’un arriéré de 102 cas (tout de même réduit de 18 cas par la suite en 2008– 2009). Les prorogations de longue durée sont courantes : 45 % des prorogations invoquées par l’ACDI en 2008–2009 excédaient 90 jours.

Les représentants de l’ACDI estiment que leur capacité en matière d’accès à l’information a été considérablement mise à l’épreuve lorsque le Canada s’est engagé dans le conflit en Afghanistan. Si un effectif de deux personnes suffisait auparavant pour traiter les demandes de l’ACDI, il en faut maintenant 10 pour gérer la charge de travail. Le nombre de pages traitées a doublé, malgré la stabilisation du nombre de demandes. En raison de la nature des opérations variées et internationales de l’ACDI, il est parfois difficile de récupérer des documents.

L’ACDI doit fréquemment consulter d’autres institutions, pays et organisations étrangères. Les demandes de portée internationale sont particulièrement longues à traiter et contribuent à accroître les délais. La situation n’est guère mieux au pays, alors que la longue durée des consultations auprès des autres institutions fédérales contraint l’ACDI à communiquer les documents qui sont prêts et à fermer les dossiers avant même de connaître les résultats des consultations. L’ACDI a pris des mesures pour faire face à la situation en concluant des ententes avec ses principaux partenaires pour favoriser les consultations rapides.

L’ACDI a lancé un plan d’action visant à maximiser le plein soutien de la direction pour l’établissement de normes, la formation et le perfectionnement du personnel à tous les niveaux ainsi que pour susciter la confiance dans les activités d’accès à l’information. On espère que ce plan permettra d’améliorer les activités qui limitent la conformité, notamment de modifier le mécanisme d’approbation.

Maintenant qu’elle dispose d’un financement stable pour dix postes, l’ACDI espère fidéliser ses employés grâce à un programme de perfectionnement professionnel qui permettra notamment d’ajouter des analystes aux dossiers plus complexes et d’éviter de promouvoir certains employés à des postes tant qu’ils n’auront pas acquis les compétences requises.

La gestion de l’information est un autre secteur qui a reçu une attention particulière récemment. L’ACDI a renouvelé son équipement et ses logiciels afin de normaliser la mise en mémoire des documents. L’institution s’est également dotée d’un nouveau mécanisme de communication qui permet à la Division des communications de gérer les demandes d’enquête publique en même temps qu’a lieu le processus d’accès à l’information afin de ne pas retarder la communication des documents.

Malgré le faible niveau de conformité de l’ACDI, les responsables de l’accès à l’information de l’Agence se disent convaincus de pouvoir démontrer les progrès réalisés dans la mise en place du plan d’action. Le Commissariat à l’information suivra l’évolution de la situation avec intérêt dans les années à venir.

Recommandations

1. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande au cabinet du ministre de la Coopération internationale de respecter rigoureusement l’ordonnance de délégation des pouvoirs afin d’éliminer tout niveau d’autorisation inutile.

Réponse

L’ACDI a consulté d’autres ministères et a relevé les meilleures pratiques d’approbation.

Un nouveau processus sera mis en place afin que le cabinet du ministre soit avisé de la communication des documents 72 heures avant ladite communication.

2. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande à l’Agence canadienne de développement international d’élaborer et de mettre en œuvre un plan pluriannuel visant à améliorer la conformité à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, en accordant une attention particulière à l’élimination des arriérés.

Réponse

Le programme d’accès à l’information de l’ACDI a adopté des mesures proactives pour améliorer sa conformité et éliminer les arriérés.

L’ACDI élabore un plan pluriannuel visant l’amélioration de la conformité à la Loi et à éviter les arriérés subséquents. L’ACDI met en œuvre simultanément des mesures ciblées pour éliminer les arriérés d’ici la fin de l’exercice financier 2009–2010.

À court terme, l’ACDI a embauché (en juillet 2009) deux consultants assignés aux arriérés. En outre, la haute direction participe activement à la mise à jour des procédures internes, à la mise en place de mesures de dotations adéquates, à la restructuration du bureau d’accès à l’information et à la prestation de séances de sensibilisation et de formation aux gestionnaires et employés de l’ACDI.

L’ACDI mettra continuellement en place de nouvelles procédures et initiatives de formation et de sensibilisation et mettra à jour son plan pluriannuel pour améliorer sa conformité à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information annuellement.

3. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande à l’Agence canadienne de développement international d’élaborer des protocoles avec d’autres institutions fédérales afin d’accélérer le processus de consultation.

Réponse

Le programme d’accès à l’information de l’ACDI a conclu une entente avec les autres institutions fédérales afin d’accélérer le processus de consultation. Les conseillers à l’accès devront discuter des prorogations pour certains types de demandes de consultation avec les autres institutions fédérales au besoin, et assurer le suivi régulier auprès des institutions consultées une fois le délai écoulé.

Nous avons déjà conclu des ententes avec nos principaux partenaires : Affaires étrangères et Commerce international, ministère de la Défense et ministère de la Justice Canada. Une entente avec le Bureau du Conseil privé relative aux exclusions est en vigueur depuis le 15 décembre 2009.

4. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande au directeur de l’accès à l’information de l’Agence canadienne de développement international de s’assurer que, lorsque les dossiers de demandes associés à des consultations obligatoires en suspens sont fermés, les demandeurs sont avisés de la possibilité d’une communication ultérieure et de l’issue des consultations même si aucun autre dossier n’est communiqué, ainsi que de leur droit de recours auprès du Commissariat à l’information à chaque étape de la procédure.

Réponse

Un processus visant à aviser les demandeurs lorsque les demandes d’accès assorties de consultations obligatoires en suspens sont fermées et à les informer de leur droit de recours auprès du Commissariat à l’information à chaque étape du processus a été instauré à l’automne 2009.

Un paragraphe spécial est inclus dans la réponse pour aviser les demandeurs des dossiers de consultations en suspens, et toutes nos correspondances comprennent un paragraphe avisant les demandeurs de leur droit de recours auprès du Commissariat à chaque étape du processus.

5. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande à l’Agence canadienne de développement international de communiquer avec l’institution qu’elle entend consulter pour connaître le délai approximatif de réponse et proroger la demande uniquement selon le temps requis.

Réponse

Se reporter à la réponse de la recommandation 3 ci-dessus.

6. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que l’Agence canadienne de développement international se conforme à la Loi et avise le Commissariat à l’information de toute prorogation excédant 30 jours.

Réponse

Un processus a été mis en place pour aviser le Commissariat de toute prorogation de plus de 30 jours.

L’ACDI continuera de suivre le processus d’avis, selon lequel le Commissariat à l’information doit être avisé de toute prorogation de plus de 30 jours.

Importance du délai des demandes traitées en retard, 2008–2009

L’ACDI a indiqué qu’elle a traité 30 demandes reçues en 2008–2009 après leur date d’échéance. Ce graphique illustre la durée pendant laquelle ces demandes sont restées en suspens au-delà de cette échéance.

Importance du délai des demandes traitées en retard, 2008–2009

Nombre et durée des prorogations signalées en 2008–2009

Ce graphique illustre le nombre et la durée des prorogations signalées par l’ACDI en 2008–2009. L’ACDI a fait état de cette information dans les avis envoyés au Commissariat en vertu du paragraphe 9(2) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. L’ACDI a soumis les avis dans 79 % des cas en 2008–2009; le Commissariat s’attend à ce que ce nombre atteigne 100 % en 2009– 2010.

Nombre et durée des prorogations signalées en 2008–2009

Nombre et issue des plaintes relatives au délai déposées au Commissariat de 2006–2007 à 2008–2009

Ces graphiques illustrent le nombre et l’issue de deux types de plaintes déposées contre l’ACDI au cours des trois dernières périodes de référence : plaintes relatives à la présomption de refus (demandes d’accès à l’information reportées par l’ACDI au-delà des délais – 30 jours et prorogés – stipulés par dans la Loi sur l’accès à l’information) et plaintes relatives à l’utilisation des prorogations par l’ACDI en vertu de la Loi. Les plaintes résolues sont celles que le Commissariat estime fondées et que l’institution règle à la satisfaction du commissaire.

Plaintes sur la présomption de refus

Plaintes sur la présomption de refus

Le nombre de plaintes sur la présomption de refus a augmenté de deux en 2007–2008 à sept en 2008–2009; toutefois, seulement deux de ces plaintes (soit 29 %) ont été résolues.

Plaintes sur le délai de prorogation

Plaintes sur le délai de prorogation

Le nombre et l’issue des plaintes sur le délai de prorogation contre l’ACDI étaient variables au cours des trois derniers exercices.


Nombre et issue des plaintes déposées au Commissariat de 2006–2007 à 2008–2009

Ce tableau illustre le nombre et l’issue des plaintes déposées au Commissariat à l’information contre l’ACDI et traitées dans chacune des trois dernières périodes de référence. Les plaintes résolues sont celles que le Commissariat à l’information estime fondées et que l’institution règle à la satisfaction du commissaire.

  Résolues Non fondées Abandonnées En suspens Total
2006–2007
Questions administratives 6 0 0 1 7
Refus 0 1 0 0 1
Documents confidentiels
du Cabinet
0 0 0 0 0
Total 6 1 0 1 8
2007–2008
Questions administratives 3 1 8 1 13
Refus 0 3 2 0 5
Documents confidentiels
du Cabinet
0 0 0 0 0
Total 3 4 10 1 18
2008–2009
Questions administratives 4 1 5 0 10
Refus 0 0 0 1 1
Documents confidentiels
du Cabinet
0 0 0 0 0
Total 4 1 5 1 11

La proportion des plaintes résolues s’élevait à 75 % en 2006–2007. Il n’y a aucune plainte de présomption de refus résolue pour quelque année que ce soit, malgré un cas en suspens à la fin de 2008–2009.