Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Report Cards


Year


Previous Table of contents Next

Institutions assessed in 2008–2009

Canadian Heritage

Canadian Heritage is responsible for national policies and programs that promote Canadian content, foster cultural participation, active citizenship and participation in Canada’s civic life, and strengthen connections among Canadians.

2008–2009 report card at a glance

whole star empty star empty star empty star empty star
F

  • Deemed refusal rate was 40.8 percent.
  • The average time to complete a request was 107 days; 35 percent of requests took more than 120 days to complete.
  • Processing of records is delayed at the records retrieval and review stages, due to a two-step review process. Moreover, this process involves assistant deputy ministers, who do not have delegated authority for access to information at the institution.
  • The access to information function was funded on an ad hoc basis, which contributes to instability.
  • The access to information office was very short-staffed during the reporting period. Among other impacts, access officials were unable to take a proactive approach to providing awareness training to Canadian Heritage employees.
  • Canadian Heritage submitted the required notices of extensions longer than 30 days to the Office of the Information Commissioner 62 percent of the time.
  • The Office of the Information Commissioner resolved 13 out of the 25 complaints it registered against Canadian Heritage in 2008–2009. All the resolved complaints had to do with delays getting information to requesters.
  • Recent developments are a step in the right direction:
    • The access office brought in new employees on special assignments.
    • Canadian Heritage is now reviewing the resources required for the access function.
    • A senior analyst is now dedicated to closing requests in the backlog.
    • In 2009–2010, access officials offered more access awareness sessions than previously and are developing a plan for enhanced training throughout the institution.

Some facts about access to information operations at Canadian Heritage in 2008–2009

Number of requests carried over from 2007–2008
93
Number of new requests
294
Number of requests completed
239
Deemed refusal rate
40.8%*
Average time to complete a request (in days)
107
Number of consultation requests
106
Number of complaints registered with the Office of the Information Commissioner
25
Number of complaints the Office of the Information Commissioner resolved
13**
Number of full-time equivalents in access to information office, as of March 31, 2009
5.4
 

* Percentage of carried over and new requests delayed beyond the deadlines (30 days and extended) set out in the Access to Information Act. (See Appendix B for the formula the Office of the Information Commissioner used to calculate this rate.)

** A complaint is resolved when the Office of the Information Commissioner finds it has merit, and the institution resolves it to the Commissioner’s satisfaction.


2008–2009 report card

Despite the fact that access to information is a statutory requirement, access to information officials at Canadian Heritage reported during the interview for this report card that the function is given considerably less priority than the institution’s mandate-related programs.

Canadian Heritage took more than 120 days to complete 35 percent of the requests it received in 2008–2009; its overall average completion time was 107 days. The institution’s approach to retrieving and reviewing documents is delaying the processing of requests. Records holders retrieve the records, make severing recommendations and then send the proposed package to their own assistant deputy minister before it goes to the access to information office for processing. Then, the assistant deputy minister sees the records again in their final, highlighted version. Canadian Heritage reports that this two-step process creates an administrative burden, takes analysts away from the business of handling other requests and makes it harder to meet its legislated deadlines.

This review process involving assistant deputy ministers has too many layers and is questionable in light of the delegation order, which gives only the deputy minister, corporate secretary and director of the access to information office full delegated authority to approve and release information. The one mitigating factor in terms of delays is that when several assistant deputy ministers are involved in reviewing documents, their input is sought concurrently, not consecutively, as was formerly the case. The proposed disclosure package is also sent to communications and the minister’s office for information purposes only.

The Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) registered 25 complaints against Canadian Heritage in 2008–2009 and resolved 13 of them. All the resolved complaints had to do with delays getting information to requestors.

Access to information officials said that Canadian Heritage funds the access to information office on an ad hoc, rather than a fixed, basis, which compromises its stability.

The access to information office was very short of staff in 2008–2009 after a complete turnover. Given the shortage, a temporary staff member was hired to work on the backlog, which Canadian Heritage acknowledged was not a sustainable strategy but was necessary.

The personnel shortage meant that access officials were unable to take a proactive approach to access awareness training across the institution. This compounded the overall problem of compliance, since lack of organizational awareness is detrimental to the success of any access program. Canadian Heritage’s access to information trainer reported that employees are sometimes surprised when apprised of their responsibilities under the Access to Information Act.

As a staffing strategy, Canadian Heritage subsequently took advantage of a federal program (the Special Assignment Pay Plan) to bring experienced public servants into the access office on special assignments to quickly augment the access staff team.

Canadian Heritage reports that it is taking a number of steps to improve compliance with the Access to Information Act. This is encouraging; however, the institution’s poor compliance in 2008–2009, which was the first year it was part of the report card process, indicates that there is an urgent need for further efforts to streamline the document retrieval and review process, to stabilize funding, and recruit and train new staff.

Recommendations

1. The OIC recommends that Canadian Heritage senior executives strictly follow the delegated authority order to eliminate inappropriate levels of approval.

Response

The delegated authority is followed by the institution.

The program areas with their expertise in the subject matter review the material and provide recommendations; they do not approve the application of exemptions.

The communications branch and the minister’s office are provided with release packages of requests for information purposes only.

2. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that the deputy minister of Canadian Heritage allocate the necessary human and financial resources in order to comply with the Access to Information Act.

Response

The deputy minister has supported the increase in resources in the Access to Information and Privacy Secretariat to properly administer the Access to Information Act.

A review of the financial and human resources requirements of the Secretariat is currently being conducted.

3. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Canadian Heritage develop and implement a multi-year plan to improve compliance with the Act, with particular attention to eliminating its backlog.

Response

Canadian Heritage has initiated several changes in procedures to improve compliance.

Several strategies to reduce the backlog have been established. A senior officer is dedicated full time to the backlog.

Processes will continue to be reviewed for further streamlining possibilities.

Timeliness of responses from program areas will continue to be closely monitored.

4. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Canadian Heritage develop a training plan for access to information staff and records holders.

Response

Canadian Heritage supports increasing the awareness of the access to information and privacy legislation within the institution.

Staff in the Secretariat have learning plans and are encouraged to continuously develop their skills.

An increased number of training sessions for program areas have taken place this fiscal year.

Access to information is discussed in the Working @ PCH orientation sessions for employees who are new to the department.

A training plan is being developed that includes the following:

  • updating learning tools on the access to information and privacy intranet site;
  • creating a training session for program access to information and privacy liaisons; and
  • establishing joint training sessions with the department’s information management and information technology groups for departmental employees.

5. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Canadian Heritage comply with the Act and notify the Office of the Information Commissioner of all the extensions it takes for more than 30 days.

Response

Notifying the Office of the Information Commissioner when extensions are taken for more than 30 days is part of the procedures of the Secretariat.

The Secretariat will ensure that the procedures are followed.

 

How long requests completed late were overdue, 2008–2009

Canadian Heritage reported that it completed 57 of the requests it received in 2008–2009 after their due date. This graph shows how long these requests stayed open beyond that deadline. It is of concern that 53 percent of these requests were late by more than 30 days.

How long requests completed late were overdue, 2008–2009

Number and length of time extensions reported in 2008–2009

This graph shows the number and length of the time extensions Canadian Heritage reported to have taken in 2008–2009. Canadian Heritage supplied this information in the notices it sent to the OIC under subsection 9(2) of the Access to Information Act. Canadian Heritage submitted the notices 62 percent of the time in 2008–2009; the OIC expects this figure to be 100 percent in 2009–2010.

Number and length of time extensions reported in 2008–2009

Number and outcome of delay-related complaints to the OIC, 2006–2007 to 2008–2009

These graphs show the number and outcome of two types of complaint registered against Canadian Heritage in the last three reporting periods: complaints about deemed refusals (access to information requests that Canadian Heritage delayed beyond the deadlines—30 days and extended—set out in the Access to Information Act) and complaints about Canadian Heritage’s use of the time extensions allowed under the Act. Resolved complaints are those that the OIC finds to have merit and that the institution resolves to the Commissioner’s satisfaction.

Deemed refusal complaints

Deemed refusal complaints

The OIC resolved 10 out of the 12 deemed refusal complaints registered against Canadian Heritage in 2008–2009.

Time extension complaints

Time extension complaints

The number and outcome of time extension complaints against Canadian Heritage were mixed in the last three years.


Number and outcome of complaints to the OIC, 2006–2007 to 2008–2009

This table sets out the number and outcome of the Office of the Information Commissioner registered against Canadian Heritage in each of the last three reporting periods. Resolved complaints are those that the OIC finds to have merit and that the institution resolves to the Commissioner’s satisfaction.

  Resolved Not
substantiated
Discontinued Pending Total
2006–2007
Administrative 3 6 0 0 9
Refusals 3 0 1 2 6
Cabinet confidences 0 2 0 0 2
Total 6 8 1 2 17
2007–2008
Administrative 0 4 6 0 10
Refusals 0 0 1 1 2
Cabinet confidences 0 0 1 0 1
Total 0 4 8 1 13
2008–2009
Administrative 13 2 5 1 21
Refusals 0 0 0 4 4
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 0 0
Total 13 2 5 5 25

Each year, administrative complaints, which include those about delays and time extensions, accounted for the majority of the complaints (9 of 17; 10 of 13; 21 of 25). The number of resolved administrative complaints rose sharply from 2007–2008 to 2008–2009 (from 0 to 13). In contrast, there were no resolved refusal complaints in either 2007–2008 or 2008–2009.

Previous Table of contents Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiches de rendement


Année



Institutions évaluées en 2008–2009

Patrimoine canadien

Patrimoine canadien est responsable des politiques et programmes nationaux visant à promouvoir le contenu canadien, à consolider les liens qui unissent les Canadiens et les Canadiennes, à encourager la participation à la vie culturelle et communautaire ainsi qu’à favoriser la citoyenneté active.

Faits saillants de la fiche de rendement pour 2008–2009

whole star empty star empty star empty star empty star
F

  • Le taux de présomption de refus était de 40,8 %.
  • Le délai de traitement moyen des demandes était de 107 jours; 35 % des demandes ont exigé un délai de traitement supérieur à 120 jours.
  • Le traitement des dossiers est retardé par la récupération et l’examen des documents en raison d’un processus d’examen à deux étapes. De plus, ce processus vise les sous-ministres adjoints, qui n’ont pas la délégation de pouvoirs d’accès à l’information pour l’institution.
  • La fonction d’accès à l’information est établie selon les besoins du moment, ce qui contribue à son instabilité.
  • Le bureau d’accès à l’information souffrait d’une pénurie de personnel au cours de la période de référence. Parmi les répercussions, les agents d’accès étaient incapables d’adopter une démarche proactive pour assurer la formation visant à sensibiliser les employés de Patrimoine canadien.
  • Patrimoine canadien a soumis les avis de prorogations requises supérieures à 30 jours au Commissariat à l’information dans 62 % des cas.
  • Le Commissariat à l’information a résolu 13 des 25 plaintes déposées contre Patrimoine canadien en 2008–2009. Toutes les plaintes réglées portaient sur les délais de transmission d’information aux demandeurs.
  • Les récentes améliorations constituent un pas dans la bonne direction :
    • Le bureau d’accès a embauché de nouveaux employés dans le cadre d’affectations spéciales.
    • Patrimoine canadien examine maintenant les ressources requises pour la fonction d’accès.
    • Un analyste principal se consacre maintenant à la fermeture des demandes en arriéré.
    • En 2009–2010, les agents de l’accès ont offert davantage de séances de sensibilisation qu’avant et élaborent un plan de formation amélioré dans l’ensemble de l’institution.

Quelques faits sur les activités d’accès à l’information à Patrimoine canadien en 2008–2009

Nombre de demandes reportées de 2007–2008
93
Nombre de nouvelles demandes
294
Nombre de demandes traitées
239
Taux de présomption de refus
40,8 %*
Délai de traitement moyen des demandes (jours)
107
Nombre de demandes de consultation
106
Nombre de plaintes déposées au Commissariat à l’information
25
Nombre de demandes résolues par le Commissariat à l’information
13**
Nombre d’équivalents temps plein au bureau d’accès à l’information, au 31 mars 2009
5,4
 

* Pourcentage de demandes reportées et de nouvelles demandes retardées au-delà des délais (30 jours et prorogés) stipulés par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. (Voir l’Appendice B pour accéder à la formule utilisée par le Commissariat dans le calcul de ce taux.)

** Une plainte est résolue lorsque le Commissariat à l’information juge qu’elle est fondée et que l’institution la règle de façon satisfaisante aux yeux du commissaire.


Fiche de rendement pour 2008–2009

En dépit du fait que l’accès à l’information constitue une exigence de la Loi, les agents de l’accès à l’information à Patrimoine canadien ont signalé pendant l’entrevue relative à cette fiche de rendement que la fonction est considérée moins prioritaire que les programmes liés au mandat de l’institution.

Patrimoine canadien a pris plus de 120 jours pour traiter 35 % des demandes qu’il a reçues en 2008–2009, le délai moyen de traitement s’élevant à 107 jours. L’approche de l’institution relative à la récupération et à l’examen des documents retarde le traitement des demandes. Les détenteurs de dossiers doivent récupérer les documents, soumettre des recommandations de prélèvement et acheminer la documentation à leur sousministre adjoint avant de la transmettre au bureau d’accès à l’information aux fins de traitement. Ensuite, le sous ministre adjoint reprend à nouveau les documents, en version définitive surlignée. Selon Patrimoine canadien, ce processus à deux étapes constitue un fardeau administratif, détourne les analystes de leurs activités de gestion des autres demandes et nuit au respect des échéances prévues par la Loi.

Ce processus d’examen faisant intervenir les sous-ministres adjoints est constitué d’un trop grand nombre d’étapes et est discutable à la lumière de l’ordonnance de délégation des pouvoirs, laquelle octroie uniquement au sous-ministre, au secrétaire général et au directeur du bureau d’accès à l’information le plein pouvoir d’approuver et de communiquer l’information. Le seul facteur atténuant relativement au délai est que lorsque plusieurs sous-ministres adjoints interviennent dans l’examen des documents, leur opinion est sollicitée de façon simultanée et non consécutive, comme c’était le cas auparavant. Les documents devant être communiqués sont également envoyés aux communications et au cabinet du ministre à titre informatif.

Le Commissariat à l’information a enregistré 25 plaintes contre Patrimoine canadien en 2008–2009 et en a réglé 13. Toutes les plaintes résolues portaient sur les délais de transmission de l’information aux demandeurs.

Les agents de l’accès à l’information estiment que Patrimoine canadien finance le bureau d’accès à l’information selon les besoins du moment plutôt que sur une base fixe, ce qui compromet sa stabilité.

Le bureau d’accès à l’information a vécu une forte pénurie de personnel en 2008– 2009 après un remaniement complet du personnel. Compte tenu de cette pénurie, un employé temporaire a été embauché pour voir aux arriérés, ce que Patrimoine canadien reconnaissait ne pas être une stratégie durable, mais toutefois nécessaire.

La pénurie de personnel a fait en sorte que les agents d’accès ont été incapables d’adopter une approche proactive à l’égard de la formation visant la sensibilisation au sein de l’institution. Ce dernier élément n’a fait qu’aggraver le problème de conformité, puisque le manque de sensibilisation organisationnelle nuit au succès d’un programme d’accès. Le formateur de Patrimoine canadien en matière d’accès à l’information a signalé que les employés étaient parfois surpris lorsqu’ils prenaient connaissance de leurs responsabilités en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Comme stratégie de dotation, Patrimoine canadien a par la suite tiré profit d’un programme fédéral (le Programme de rémunération d’affectation spéciale) pour attirer des fonctionnaires expérimentés au bureau d’accès de l’information dans le cadre d’affectations spéciales pour renforcer rapidement les effectifs.

Patrimoine canadien souligne qu’il prend certaines mesures pour améliorer sa conformité à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Bien qu’il s’agisse d’une bonne nouvelle, la mauvaise conformité de l’institution en 2008–2009, premier exercice de participation au processus de la fiche de rendement, témoigne du besoin urgent d’efforts supplémentaires afin de simplifier le processus de récupération et d’examen des documents, de stabiliser le financement et de recruter et de former de nouveaux employés.

Recommandations

1. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que les cadres supérieurs de Patrimoine canadien respectent rigoureusement l’ordonnance de délégation des pouvoirs afin d’éliminer tout niveau supplémentaire d’autorisation.

Réponse

La délégation des pouvoirs est respectée par l’institution.

Les secteurs de programme, en raison de leur expertise dans le domaine, étudient la documentation et émettent des recommandations; ils n’approuvent pas les demandes d’exception.

La Direction générale des communications et le cabinet du ministre reçoivent des exemplaires des demandes à titre informatif seulement.

2. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que le sous-ministre de Patrimoine canadien affecte les ressources humaines et financières nécessaires pour se conformer à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Réponse

Le sous-ministre a appuyé l’augmentation des ressources au Secrétariat de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels afin d’appliquer adéquatement la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Un examen des exigences en matière de ressources humaines et financières est en cours au Secrétariat.

3. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que Patrimoine canadien rédige et mette en œuvre un plan pluriannuel afin d’améliorer la conformité à la Loi, en portant une attention particulière à l’élimination des arriérés.

Réponse

Patrimoine canadien a amorcé plusieurs changements de procédures afin d’améliorer sa conformité.

Différentes stratégies visant à réduire les arriérés ont été mises en place. Un cadre supérieur est assigné à temps plein aux arriérés.

Les processus continueront d’être examinés afin d’y déceler les possibilités de simplification.

La rapidité de réponse des secteurs de programme continuera d’être suivie de près.

4. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que Patrimoine canadien élabore un plan de formation à l’intention du personnel d’accès à l’information et des détenteurs de documents.

Réponse

Patrimoine canadien appuie la hausse de la sensibilisation aux lois sur l’accès à l’information et sur la protection des renseignements personnels dans l’ensemble de l’institution.

Les membres du personnel du Secrétariat disposent de plans d’apprentissage et sont encouragés à perfectionner continuellement leurs compétences.

On remarque un nombre plus élevé de séances de formation dans les secteurs de programme pour l’exercice en cours.

L’accès à l’information est abordé dans les séances d’orientation Travailler@PCH à l’intention des employés qui font leur entrée au Ministère.

Un plan de formation est en cours d’élaboration et comprendra ce qui suit :

  • mise à jour des outils de formation sur le site intranet de l’accès à l’information et protection des renseignements personnels;
  • création d’une séance de formation pour les agents de liaison d’accès à l’information et protection des renseignements personnels;
  • mise en œuvre de séances de formation conjointes avec les groupes de gestion de l’information et de technologie de l’information du Ministère à l’intention des employés ministériels.

5. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que Patrimoine canadien se conforme à la Loi et avise le Commissariat de toute prorogation excédant 30 jours.

Réponse

La transmission des avis de prorogations de plus de 30 jours au Commissariat à l’information fait partie des procédures du Secrétariat.

Le Secrétariat veillera au suivi des procédures.


Importance du délai des demandes traitées en retard, 2008–2009

Patrimoine canadien a indiqué avoir traité 57 demandes reçues en 2008–2009 après leur date d’échéance. Ce graphique illustre la durée pendant laquelle ces demandes sont restées en suspens au delà de cette échéance. Il y a lieu de se préoccuper du fait que 53 % de ces demandes ont subi des délais de plus de 30 jours.

Importance du délai des demandes traitées en retard, 2008–2009

Nombre et durée des prorogations signalées en 2008–2009

Ce graphique illustre le nombre et la durée des prorogations signalées par Patrimoine canadien en 2008–2009. Patrimoine canadien a fait état de cette information dans les avis envoyés au Commissariat en vertu du paragraphe 9(2) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Patrimoine canadien a soumis des avis dans 62 % des cas en 2008–2009; le Commissariat s’attend à ce que ce nombre atteigne 100 % en 2009–2010.

Nombre et durée des prorogations signalées en 2008–2009

Nombre et issue des plaintes relatives au délai déposées au Commissariat de 2006–2007 à 2008–2009

Ces graphiques illustrent le nombre et l’issue des deux types de plaintes déposées contre Patrimoine canadien au cours des trois dernières périodes de référence : plaintes relatives à la présomption de refus (demandes d’accès à l’information reportées par Patrimoine canadien au-delà des délais – 30 jours et prorogés – stipulés par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information) et plaintes relatives à l’utilisation des prorogations par Patrimoine canadien en vertu de la Loi. Les plaintes résolues sont celles que le Commissariat à l’information estime fondées et que l’institution règle à la satisfaction du commissaire.

Plaintes sur la présomption de refus

Plaintes sur la présomption de refus

Le Commissariat a résolu 10 des 12 plaintes de présomption de refus déposées contre Patrimoine canadien en 2008–2009.

Plaintes sur le délai de prorogation

Plaintes sur le délai de prorogation

Le nombre et l’issue des plaintes relatives au prorogation de délais déposées contre Patrimoine canadien ont été variables pendant les trois derniers exercices.


Nombre et issue des plaintes déposées au Commissariat de 2006–2007 à 2008–2009

Ce tableau illustre le nombre et l’issue des plaintes déposées au Commissariat à l’information contre Patrimoine canadien dans chacune des trois dernières périodes de référence. Les plaintes résolues sont celles que le Commissariat à l’information estime fondées et que l’institution règle à la satisfaction du commissaire.

  Résolues Non fondées Abandonnées En suspens Total
2006–2007
Questions administratives 3 6 0 0 9
Refus 3 0 1 2 6
Documents confidentiels
du Cabinet
0 2 0 0 2
Total 6 8 1 2 17
2007–2008
Questions administratives 0 4 6 0 10
Refus 0 0 1 1 2
Documents confidentiels
du Cabinet
0 0 1 0 1
Total 0 4 8 1 13
2008–2009
Questions administratives 13 2 5 1 21
Refus 0 0 0 4 4
Documents confidentiels
du Cabinet
0 0 0 0 0
Total 13 2 5 5 25

Chaque année, les plaintes administratives, y compris les plaintes relatives aux délais et aux prorogations, constituent la majorité des plaintes (9 de 17; 10 de 13; 21 de 25). Le nombre de plaintes administratives résolues a grimpé de façon marquée de 2007–2008 à 2008–2009 (de 0 à 13). À l’opposé, il n’y a aucune plainte de présomption de refus résolue en 2007–2008 ou en 2008–2009.