Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Report Cards


Year


Institutions assessed in 2008–2009

Canada Revenue Agency

The Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) administers the federal Income Tax Act, as well as the tax laws for most provinces and territories. It also delivers economic and social benefit and incentive programs through the tax system.

2008–2009 report card at a glance

whole star whole star half star empty star empty star
D

  • Deemed refusal rate was 15.1 percent.
  • Average time to complete a request was 73 days.
  • CRA’s backlog grew to more than 900 files by the end of the year.
  • CRA’s delegation order gives authority to approve the release of records to multiple senior managers.
  • CRA extended one quarter of new requests under paragraph 9(1)(a) of the Access to Information Act to accommodate operational pressures; 52 percent of these extensions were for more than 90 days.
  • The Office of the Information Commissioner resolved 89 out of 96 complaints it registered against CRA about its use of time extensions in 2008–2009.
  • CRA cited the increasing volume of pages to review (650,000 pages in 2008–2009) and the impact on operations of bulk requesters as enormous challenges.
  • CRA is introducing an intake unit to triage requests, dedicating new resources to the backlog and exploring technological innovations, such as a common information platform for easy information records storage and retrieval, to improve compliance.

Some facts about access to information operations at CRA in 2008–2009

Number of requests carried over from 2007–2008
690
Number of new requests
1,770
Number of requests completed
1,540
Deemed refusal rate
15.1%*
Average time to complete a request (in days)
73
Number of consultation requests
125
Number of complaints registered with the Office of the Information Commissioner
302
Number of complaints the Office of the Information Commissioner resolved
110**
Number of full-time equivalents in access to information office, as of March 31, 2009
44
 

* Percentage of carried over and new requests delayed beyond the deadlines (30 days and extended) set out in the Access to Information Act. (See Appendix B for the formula the Office of the Information Commissioner used to calculate this rate.)

** A complaint is resolved when the Office of the Information Commissioner finds it has merit, and the institution resolves it to the Commissioner’s satisfaction.


2008–2009 report card

The Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) was assessed as part of the report card process each year from 1999 to 2004 and achieved various rates of compliance with the Access to Informaton Act during that time. In response to recommendations contained in the Office of the Information Commissioner’s (OIC) 1999 report card, CRA began to improve its compliance through concerted attention, resources and effort. The institution reported that a change in culture, the addition of substantial and permanent human resources, sound technology and training initiatives were key to its success in achieving optimal compliance ratings from 2003 through 2005. Fast forward to 2008–2009 and, given some challenging circumstances, the institution’s compliance worsened, such that its deemed refusal rate in 2008–2009 was 15.1 percent. To compound the problem, the backlog of requests grew rapidly, with CRA carrying 920 requests over into 2009–2010 (representing 808,000 pages).

CRA defines its workload as increasingly complex, since it engages with the provinces and territories in tax-related matters. The number of pages to review has also significantly increased in the last few years. The workload has largely been due to two frequent requesters, who accounted for 35 percent of CRA’s backlog at the start of 2008–2009. Strategies to manage the workload include a triage system, through which CRA handles incoming requests informally, if possible, to cut down on unnecessary administration. Although the current practice at CRA is to have the access to information coordinator and sub-delegates sign off on the majority of access requests, the August 2009 delegation order gives signing authority to a long list of senior officials, including the commissioner, deputy commissioner, assistant commissioners, deputy assistant commissioners, chief audit executive, director general of program evaluation, and the directors and assistant directors of the access to information office.

The OIC is concerned with CRA’s use of extensions under paragraph 9(1)(a) of the Act, which allows an institution to extend the deadline for responding to an information request that involves a large volume of records (or a search through a large volume of records) such that meeting the 30-day limit would impose an undue burden on the institution’s program operations. Of the 1,770 new requests CRA received in 2008–2009, it extended 25 percent under paragraph 9(1)(a). According to the notices CRA submitted to the OIC, 52 percent of these extensions were for more than 90 days. CRA reported that it uses these extensions to compensate for operational pressures in the access program, citing Appendix A of Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat’s Implementation Report No. 67 as the basis for doing so.

There has been a clear increase in the number of complaints to the OIC about CRA’s use of time extensions. In 2008–2009, the OIC resolved 89 of 96 such complaints. Complaints the OIC resolved about requests being completed late nearly doubled (from 8 to 15) from 2007–2008 to 2008–2009.

Despite the CRA’s worsening compliance, there is demonstrated commitment within CRA’s access office and among senior officials to address the challenges. Access officials report that they have set up an intake unit to assist with the efficient processing of files and have dedicated two full-time resources to reducing the backlog. CRA also has satellite access to information offices in Vancouver and Montréal. Away from the National Capital Region, these have stable staffing situations, which could be a model for other institutions.

Recommendations

1. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that the Minister of National Revenue amend the delegation order to ensure greater autonomy of the access to information coordinator.

Response

CRA recognizes that the delegation order may lead to the assumption that all those listed in the schedules exercise their delegations. However, in practice, those who exercise this delegation are limited to those directly involved in access to information operations, namely, the access to information director, assistant directors and managers, and the assistant commissioners of the Pacific and Quebec regions, the two regions where CRA’s access to information satellite offices are located.

The access to information office will review the delegation order in light of the OIC’s comments to determine whether it should be amended. Following this review, the office will bring forward the analysis to senior management for a decision regarding appropriate delegations. The OIC will then be provided with our assessment for their feedback.

2. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that the Canada Revenue Agency review and continue to document the criteria it uses for extensions taken under paragraph 9(1)(a) of the Access to Information Act to ensure that the extensions are reasonable and legitimate.

Response

CRA agrees that extensions taken under paragraph 9(1)(a) should be reasonable and legitimate, and will continue to explore the means of reducing the use of these extensions.

The access to information office recognizes that extensions of greater length were claimed in 2008–2009; however, the use of extensions is in large part attributable to the exponential growth in the page volume of requests over the past several years. In the first six months of the current fiscal year, for instance, the pages equivalent to the access requests received exceeded one million—greater than the total pages (more than 650,000) received in 2008–2009.

CRA believes that putting aside other critical work in order to direct all possible efforts to avoid time extensions would interfere unreasonably with the processing of other requests and addressing other legislated requirements.

It should also be noted that the use of extensions under section 9 in such circumstances has been legitimized by the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat in Appendix A of Implementation Report No. 67, which states the following:

“The interference with your institution’s operations may be considered ‘unreasonable’ if processing the request within 30 days would require … such a high proportion of the resources of the ATIP office that it would have a significant negative impact on the processing of other requests.”

The access to information office will scrutinize the use of paragraph 9(1)(a) to ensure the extensions are reasonable and legitimate, and to examine whether improvements can be made to existing processes and procedures to expedite the processing of requests. In particular, access to information officials will consult with the OIC to discuss ways to mitigate the impact of bulk requests, which currently strain our operations and impact our ability to comply with the Act within legislated timeframes. Moreover, the access office will closely monitor the effectiveness of new initiatives, such as the introduction of an intake unit, to make any necessary adjustments to its operations.

3. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that the Canada Revenue Agency develop a clear plan to tackle the backlog of access requests.

Response

CRA agrees with this recommendation, and notes that it has already taken concrete steps to address the backlog with notable success. In October 2009, the access to information office diverted two full-time employees and dedicated two additional temporary resources to processing the backlog. As a result of these measures, of the 920 backlog files noted in this report, 515 have been closed—a reduction of 56 percent.

Diverting resources within the office to address the backlog must continually be balanced with the need to respond to incoming requests. Within this context, the office will continue to explore innovative ways to reduce the backlog, including process and technology improvements. Towards this end, CRA will consult with other access to information offices across government to consider best practices for possible implementation within its office. CRA will also work with the OIC to seek innovative means to mitigate the impact of bulk requesters upon our operations.

In its review of the delegation order, the access to information office will explore the feasibility of expanding delegations within the office to expedite the processing of the backlog.

The office recognizes that reducing the backlog will, in part, depend on having the necessary staff to undertake the processing in a timely manner. Towards this end, the office will undertake the staffing processes outlined in its staffing plan to ensure vacancies are quickly filled with candidates from the resulting pools.

Success of these actions will be carefully monitored, and regular updates on progress will be provided to senior management.

4. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that the Canada Revenue Agency strive to reduce its deemed refusal rate to zero.

Response

CRA will continue to strive to reduce its deemed refusal rate. Our continued efforts to reduce our backlog will, over time, result in a reduction in our deemed refusal rate. Given the exponential increase in pages being processed, however, CRA recognizes that progress towards this goal will be incremental. Under the circumstances, the access to information office will strive to ensure that the deemed refusal rate does not increase.

By reducing the backlog, as outlined above, the office will incrementally reduce the deemed refusal rate. Within this context, the office will continue to explore innovative ways to maximize efficiencies through process, procedural and technology improvements. Towards this end, the CRA will consult with other offices across government to consider best practices for possible implementation within the office.

As well, in its review of the delegation order, the office will explore the feasibility of expanding delegations within the office to expedite the processing of requests.

The office recognizes that reducing the deemed refusal rate will hinge on ensuring it has the necessary staff to process requests in a timely manner. Towards this end, the office will undertake the staffing processes outlined in its staffing plan to ensure vacancies are quickly filled with candidates from the resulting pools.

Success of these actions will be carefully monitored, and regular updates on progress will be provided to senior management.

5. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that the Canada Revenue Agency comply with the Access to Information Act and notify the Office of the Information Commissioner of all the extensions it takes for more than 30 days.

Response

CRA fully agrees with this recommendation and will put further processes in place to ensure complete compliance with this recommendation. It is our understanding that the OIC calculated our compliance rate for 2008–2009 to be 85 percent; however, according to our records, our compliance rate is 91 percent. CRA will work with the OIC to clarify why the CRA and OIC calculations are based on different methodologies, in order to rectify this discrepancy.

The access to information office will consult with the OIC to ensure the reporting methodology used by both institutions is synchronized. As well, internal processes and procedures will be reviewed, and best practices will be implemented and communicated to staff through a variety of communication vehicles. CRA will implement necessary measures to ensure that it is fully compliant with the Act in this regard.

 

How long requests completed late were overdue, 2008–2009

CRA reported that it completed 92 of the requests it received in 2008–2009 after their due date. This graph shows how long these requests stayed open beyond that deadline.

Number and outcome of delay-related complaints to the OIC, 2006–2007 to 2008–2009

Number and length of time extensions reported in 2008–2009

This graph shows the number and length of the time extensions CRA reported to have taken in 2008–2009. CRA supplied this information in the notices it sent to the OIC under subsection 9(2) of the Access to Information Act. CRA submitted the notices 85 percent of the time in 2008–2009; the OIC expects this figure to be 100 percent in 2009–2010.

Number and length of time extensions reported in 2008–2009

Number and outcome of delay-related complaints to the OIC, 2006–2007 to 2008–2009

These graphs show the number and outcome of two types of complaint registered against CRA in the last three reporting periods: complaints about deemed refusals (access to information requests that CRA delayed beyond the deadlines—30 days and extended—set out in the Access to Information Act) and complaints about CRA’s use of the time extensions allowed under the Act. Resolved complaints are those that the OIC finds to have merit and that the institution resolves to the Commissioner’s satisfaction.

Deemed refusal complaints

Deemed refusal complaints

The number of deemed refusal complaints increased significantly from 2007–2008 to 2008–2009 (11; 24). The proportion of these complaints that the OIC resolved was high each year (100 percent; 73 percent; 63 percent) but was decreasing.

Time extension complaints

Time extension complaints

The number of time extension complaints rose from 12 in 2007–2008 to 96 in 2008–2009. The proportion of these that the OIC resolved was high in each of the three years (100 percent; 58 percent; 93 percent).


Number and outcome of complaints to the OIC, 2006–2007 to 2008–2009

This table sets out the number and outcome of complaints the OIC registered against CRA in each of the last three reporting periods. Resolved complaints are those that the OIC finds to have merit and that the institution resolves to the Commissioner’s satisfaction.

  Resolved Not
substantiated
Discontinued Pending Total
2006–2007
Administrative 17 5 0 0 22
Refusals 4 4 8 24 40
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 0 0
Total 21 9 8 24 62
2007–2008
Administrative 29 4 4 3 40
Refusals 6 12 6 52 76
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 0 0
Total 35 16 10 55 116
2008–2009
Administrative 106 5 10 20 141
Refusals 4 1 10 146 161
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 0 0
Total 110 6 20 166 302

The number of complaints against CRA that the OIC resolved has risen by more than five times since 2006–2007 (21 to 101). In 2008–2009, the OIC resolved more than one third of the complaints it registered against CRA (110 of 302), although 166 complaints were pending at year-end. Administrative complaints accounted for 96 percent of the resolved complaints in 2008–2009 (106 of 110).

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiches de rendement


Année



Institutions évaluées en 2008–2009

Agence du revenu du Canada

L’Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC) voit à l’application de la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu fédérale ainsi que des lois fiscales de la plupart des provinces et territoires. Elle offre également divers programmes de prestations socioéconomiques et d’encouragement par l’entremise du régime fiscal.

Faits saillants de la fiche de rendement pour 2008–2009

whole star whole star half star empty star empty star
D

  • Le taux de présomption de refus était de 15,1 %.
  • Le délai de traitement moyen des demandes était de 73 jours.
  • Les arriérés de l’ARC ont atteint un sommet de plus de 900 dossiers à la fin de l’année.
  • L’ordonnance de délégation de l’ARC donne le pouvoir à de multiples cadres supérieurs d’approuver la communication de documents.
  • L’ARC a prorogé le quart des nouvelles demandes en vertu de l’alinéa 9(1)a) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information pour tenir compte des contraintes opérationnelles; 52 % de ces prorogations étaient de plus de 90 jours.
  • Le Commissariat à l’information a réglé 89 des 96 plaintes déposées contre l’ARC à propos des prorogations invoquées en 2008–2009.
  • L’ARC a cité le volume croissant de pages à réviser (650 000 pages en 2008– 2009) et l’effet des auteurs de demandes multiples sur les activités comme étant d’énormes défis.
  • L’ARC met en place une unité de réception pour le triage des demandes, et consacre de nouveaux effectifs aux arriérés et à l’exploration des innovations technologiques, notamment une plate-forme d’information commune facilitant le stockage et la récupération des dossiers d’information, afin d’améliorer la conformité.

Quelques faits sur les activités d’accès à l’information à l’ARC en 2008–2009

Nombre de demandes reportées de 2007–2008
690
Nombre de nouvelles demandes
1 770
Nombre de demandes traitées
1540
Taux de présomption de refus
15,1 %*
Délai de traitement moyen des demandes (jours)
73**
Nombre de demandes de consultation
125
Nombre de plaintes déposées au Commissariat à l’information
302
Nombre de demandes résolues par le Commissariat à l’information
110**
Nombre d’équivalents temps plein au bureau d’accès à l’information, au 31 mars 2009
44
 

* Pourcentage de demandes reportées et de nouvelles demandes retardées au-delà des délais (30 jours et prorogés) stipulés par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. (Voir l’Appendice B pour accéder à la formule utilisée par le Commissariat dans le calcul de ce taux.)

** Une plainte est résolue lorsque le Commissariat à l’information juge qu’elle est fondée et que l’institution la règle de façon satisfaisante aux yeux du commissaire.


Fiche de rendement pour 2008–2009

L’Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC) a été évaluée chaque année selon le processus de fiche de 1999 à 2004 et a atteint différents taux de conformité à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information pendant cette période. En réponse aux recommandations intégrées à la fiche de rendement de 1999 du Commissariat à l’information, l’ARC a commencé à améliorer sa conformité grâce à la concertation d’attention, de ressources et d’efforts. L’institution a indiqué que le changement de culture, l’ajout d’un effectif considérable et permanent, une technologie solide et des initiatives de formation ont été essentiels à l’atteinte de taux de conformité optimaux de 2003 à 2005. Puis, en 2008–2009, en raison de circonstances difficiles, la conformité de l’institution s’est dégradée, à un point tel que son taux de présomption de refus en 2008–2009 atteignait 15,1 %. En outre, le problème s’est aggravé puisque les arriérés de demandes se sont rapidement accumulés tandis que l’ARC reportait 920 demandes en 2009-2010 (pour un total de 808 000 pages).

L’ARC juge sa charge de travail de plus en plus complexe puisqu’elle collabore avec les provinces et les territoires pour les questions liées à l’impôt. Le nombre de pages à réviser a également augmenté de façon considérable au cours des dernières années. La charge de travail est en grande partie le résultat de deux demandeurs habituels qui représentaient 35 % des arriérés de l’ARC au début de 2008–2009. Parmi les stratégies de gestion de la charge de travail, notons le système de triage, grâce auquel l’ARC traite les demandes qu’elle reçoit de façon informelle, si possible, afin de réduire les pratiques d’administration inutiles.

Bien que la pratique courante à l’ARC soit de faire signer la majorité des demandes d’accès par le coordonnateur de l’accès à l’information et les sous-délégués, l’ordonnance de délégation d’août 2009 accorde le pouvoir de signature à une longue liste de hauts fonctionnaires, y compris le commissaire, le commissaire délégué, les sous-commissaires, les sous-commissaires adjoints, le dirigeant principal de la vérification, le directeur général de l’évaluation des programmes et les directeurs et directeurs adjoints du bureau d’accès à l’information.

Le Commissariat s’inquiète de l’utilisation des prorogations par l’ARC en vertu de l’alinéa 9(1)a) de la Loi, qui permet à une institution de prolonger le délai de réponse à une demande d’information qui fait intervenir un grand nombre de documents (ou une recherche parmi un grand nombre de documents) et lorsque l’observation du délai de 30 jours imposerait un fardeau inopportun sur les opérations des programmes de l’institution. Des 1 770 nouvelles demandes reçues en 2008–2009, l’ARC en a prorogé 25 % en vertu de l’alinéa 9(1)a) de la Loi. Selon les avis soumis au Commissariat par l’ARC, 52 % de ces prorogations excédaient 90 jours. L’ARC a indiqué qu’elle utilise ces prorogations pour pallier les contraintes opérationnelles, invoquant à l’appui l’Annexe A du Rapport de mise en œuvre no 67 du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada.

On a observé une augmentation apparente du nombre de plaintes déposées au Commissariat à propos de l’utilisation des prorogations par l’ARC. En 2008–2009, le Commissariat a réglé 89 de ces 96 plaintes. Le nombre de plaintes résolues par le Commissariat au sujet des demandes traitées en retard a presque doublé (passant de 8 à 15) de 2007–2008 à 2008–2009.

Malgré la détérioration de la conformité de l’ARC, on note un engagement clair au sein du bureau d’accès de l’ARC et parmi les hauts fonctionnaires à l’égard de la résolution de ces problèmes. Les agents de l’accès rapportent qu’ils ont mis en place une unité de réception visant à favoriser un traitement efficace des documents et ont consacré deux employés à temps plein à la réduction des arriérés. L’ARC a également des bureaux d’accès à l’information satellites à Vancouver et à Montréal. Loin de la région de la capitale nationale, ces bureaux jouissent d’une situation stable sur le plan de la dotation et pourraient servir de modèle aux autres institutions.

Recommandations

1. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que le ministre du Revenu national modifie l’ordonnance de délégation afin d’assurer une plus grande autonomie du coordonnateur de l’accès à l’information.

Réponse

L’ARC reconnaît que l’ordonnance de délégation peut laisser croire que toutes les personnes figurant aux annexes peuvent exercer une délégation. Toutefois, dans la pratique, les personnes qui exercent cette délégation sont limitées aux personnes directement touchées par les activités d’accès à l’information, notamment le directeur du bureau d’accès à l’information, les directeurs adjoints et les gestionnaires, et les sous-commissionnaires des régions du Pacifique et du Québec, les deux régions où sont situés les bureaux d’accès à l’information satellites de l’ARC.

Le bureau d’accès à l’information fera l’examen de l’ordonnance de délégation à la lumière des commentaires du Commissariat afin de déterminer si elle doit être modifiée ou non. À la suite de cet examen, le bureau transmettra l’analyse à la haute direction qui prendra une décision relative aux délégations appropriées. Le Commissariat recevra ensuite notre évaluation de cette rétroaction.

2. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que l’Agence du revenu du Canada révise les critères utilisés pour invoquer les prorogations en vertu de l’alinéa 9(1)a) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et qu’elle continue de les documenter pour s’assurer du caractère raisonnable et légitime des prorogations.

Réponse

L’ARC convient que les prorogations invoquées en vertu de l’alinéa 9(1)a) de la Loi doivent être raisonnables et légitimes. Elle continuera à chercher les moyens de réduire l’utilisation de ces prorogations.

Le bureau d’accès à l’information reconnaît que des prorogations plus longues ont été demandées en 2008–2009; toutefois, l’utilisation des prorogations est en grande partie attribuable à la croissance exponentielle du nombre de pages des demandes au cours des dernières années. Par exemple, pendant les six premiers mois de l’exercice en cours, le nombre de pages équivalant aux demandes d’accès reçues dépassait le million, soit plus que le nombre total de pages (plus de 650 000) reçues en 2008–2009.

L’ARC croit que le fait de délaisser les travaux critiques afin de concentrer tous les efforts possibles à la réduction des prorogations viendrait interférer de façon déraisonnable dans le traitement des autres demandes et des autres exigences prévues par la Loi.

Il faudrait aussi noter que l’utilisation des prorogations en vertu de l’article 9 de la Loi dans de telles circonstances a été rendue légitime par le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada à l’Annexe A du Rapport de mise en œuvre no 67, qui stipule ce qui suit :

« L’entrave au fonctionnement de votre institution pourra être considérée sérieuse si, pour donner suite à une demande dans un délai de trente jours, il vous faut […] affecter à la demande une partie si importante des ressources du service d’accès à l’information et de protection des renseignements personnels que le traitement des autres demandes en souffrira. »

Le bureau d’accès à l’information décortiquera l’utilisation de l’alinéa 9(1)a) de la Loi afin d’assurer le caractère raisonnable et légitime des prorogations et d’évaluer si des améliorations peuvent être apportées aux processus et procédures en place pour accélérer le traitement des demandes. En particulier, les agents de l’accès à l’information consulteront le Commissariat pour discuter des moyens d’atténuer l’effet des demandes multiples qui pèsent sur nos opérations et influent sur notre capacité à respecter les délais prescrits par la Loi. De plus, le bureau d’accès supervisera étroitement l’efficacité des nouvelles initiatives, comme la mise en place d’une unité de réception, afin d’apporter les ajustements nécessaires à ses opérations.

3. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que l’Agence du revenu du Canada élabore un plan explicite pour s’attaquer aux arriérés de demandes d’accès.

Réponse

L’ARC est d’accord avec cette recommandation et indique qu’elle a déjà entrepris des étapes concrètes, dont le succès est notable, pour régler les arriérés. En octobre 2009, le bureau d’accès à l’information a affecté deux équivalents temps plein et a affecté deux employés temporaires supplémentaires au traitement des arriérés. Par conséquent, des 920 dossiers en arriéré indiqués dans ce rapport, 515 ont été clos, ce qui représente une réduction de 56 %.

L’affectation d’effectifs au sein du bureau pour s’occuper des arriérés doit constamment s’ajuster au besoin de répondre aux demandes reçues. Dans ce contexte, le bureau poursuivra sa recherche de nouveaux moyens de réduire les arriérés, y compris des améliorations au processus et à la technologie. À cette fin, l’ARC consultera les autres bureaux d’accès à l’information du gouvernement afin de considérer les meilleures pratiques pouvant être mises en œuvre à son bureau. En outre, l’ARC et le Commissariat rechercheront des moyens d’atténuer l’effet des demandeurs multiples sur les opérations de l’ARC.

Dans son examen de l’ordonnance de délégation, le bureau d’accès à l’information envisagera la faisabilité de l’expansion des délégations au sein du bureau pour accélérer le traitement des arriérés.

Le bureau reconnaît que la réduction des arriérés dépendra en partie de la disponibilité du personnel nécessaire pour entreprendre le traitement en temps utile. À cette fin, le bureau entreprendra les processus de dotation décrits dans son plan de dotation pour pourvoir rapidement les postes vacants selon les candidatures obtenues.

Le succès de ces activités sera soigneusement supervisé, et des comptes rendus réguliers seront transmis à la haute direction.

4. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que l’Agence du revenu du Canada s’efforce de réduire son taux de présomption de refus à zéro.

Réponse

L’ARC s’efforcera de continuer à réduire son taux de présomption de refus. Ses efforts constants pour réduire les arriérés auront pour effet, avec le temps, de réduire le taux de présomption de refus. En raison de l’augmentation exponentielle des pages à traiter, l’ARC reconnaît que le progrès vers l’atteinte de cet objectif sera progressif. Dans ces circonstances, le bureau d’accès à l’information s’efforcera d’éviter une augmentation du taux de présomption de refus.

En réduisant les arriérés, comme il a été mentionné ci-dessus, le bureau réduira progressivement le taux de présomption de refus. Dans ce contexte, le bureau poursuivra sa recherche de nouveaux moyens pour maximiser l’efficacité par l’entremise d’améliorations des processus, des procédures et de la technologie. À cette fin, l’ARC consultera les autres bureaux de l’ensemble du gouvernement afin d’examiner les meilleures pratiques pouvant être mises en œuvre dans son bureau.

De plus, dans son examen de l’ordonnance de délégation, le bureau envisagera la faisabilité de l’expansion des délégations au sein du bureau pour accélérer le traitement des demandes.

Le bureau reconnaît que la réduction du taux de présomption de refus dépendra de l’assurance qu’il dispose du personnel nécessaire pour traiter les demandes en temps utile. À cette fin, le bureau entreprendra les processus de dotation décrits dans son plan de dotation pour pourvoir rapidement aux postes vacants selon les candidatures obtenues.

Le succès de ces activités sera soigneusement supervisé, et des mises à jour régulières seront transmises à la haute direction.

5. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que l’Agence du revenu du Canada se conforme à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et qu’elle avise le Commissariat de toutes ses prorogations de plus de 30 jours.

Réponse

L’ARC est tout à fait d’accord avec cette recommandation et mettra de nouveaux processus en place afin d’assurer l’entière conformité à cette recommandation. Selon sa compréhension, le Commissariat a évalué son taux de conformité pour 2008–2009 à 85 %; toutefois, d’après ses dossiers, son taux de conformité est de 91 %. L’ARC collaborera avec le Commissariat afin d’élucider la raison pour laquelle les calculs de l’ARC et du Commissariat s’appuient sur des méthodes différentes afin de rectifier cet écart.

Le bureau d’accès à l’information consultera le Commissariat pour assurer le synchronisme des méthodes de rapport des deux institutions. De plus, les processus et les procédures internes seront révisés, et les meilleures pratiques seront mises en œuvre et communiquées au personnel par l’entremise de différents moyens de communication. L’ARC mettra en œuvre les mesures nécessaires afin d’assurer sa pleine conformité à la Loi à cet égard.

Importance du délai des demandes traitées en retard, 2008–2009

L’ARC a indiqué qu’elle a traité 92 des demandes reçues en 2008–2009 après leur date d’échéance. Ce graphique illustre la durée pendant laquelle ces demandes sont restées en suspens au-delà de cette échéance.

Importance du délai des demandes traitées en retard, 2008–2009

Nombre et durée des prorogations signalées en 2008–2009

Ce graphique illustre le nombre et la durée des prorogations signalées par l’ARC en 2008–2009. L’ARC a fait état de cette information dans les avis envoyés au Commissariat en vertu du paragraphe 9(2) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. L’ARC a soumis les avis dans 85 % des cas en 2008–2009; le Commissariat s’attend à ce que ce nombre atteigne 100 % en 2009–2010.

Nombre et durée des prorogations signalées en 2008–2009

Nombre et issue des plaintes relatives au délai déposées au Commissariat de 2006–2007 à 2008–2009

Ces graphiques illustrent le nombre et de l’issue de deux types de plaintes déposées contre l’ARC au cours des trois dernières périodes de référence : plaintes au sujet de la présomption de refus (demandes d’accès à l’information que l’ARC a retardé au-delà des délais – 30 jours et prorogés – stipulés par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information) et plaintes concernant l’utilisation par l’ARC des délais autorisés en vertu de la Loi. Les plaintes résolues sont celles que le Commissariat estime fondées et que l’institution règle à la satisfaction du commissaire.

Plaintes sur la présomption de refus

Plaintes sur la présomption de refus

Le nombre de plaintes sur la présomption de refus a augmenté considérablement de 2007–2008 à 2008–2009 (11; 24). La proportion de ces plaintes que le Commissariat a résolues était élevée pour chaque exercice (100 %; 73 %; 63 %) mais à la baisse.

Plaintes sur le délai de prorogation

Plaintes sur le délai de prorogation

Le nombre de plaintes sur le délai de prorogation est passé de 12 en 2007–2008 à 96 en 2008–2009. La proportion de ces plaintes que le Commissariat a résolues était élevée pour chacun des trois exercices (100 %; 58 %; 93 %).


Nombre et issue des plaintes déposées au Commissariat de 2006–2007 à 2008–2009

Ce tableau illustre le nombre et l’issue des plaintes déposées au Commissariat à l’information contre l’ARC dans chacune des trois dernières périodes de référence. Les plaintes résolues sont celles que le Commissariat estime fondées et que l’institution règle à la satisfaction du commissaire.

  Résolues Non fondées Abandonnées En suspens Total
2006–2007
Questions administratives 17 5 0 0 22
Refus 4 4 8 24 40
Documents confidentiels
du Cabinet
0 0 0 0 0
Total 21 9 8 24 62
2007–2008
Questions administratives 29 4 4 3 40
Refus 6 12 6 52 76
Documents confidentiels
du Cabinet
0 0 0 0 0
Total 35 16 10 55 116
2008–2009
Questions administratives 106 5 10 20 141
Refus 4 1 10 146 161
Documents confidentiels
du Cabinet
0 0 0 0 0
Total 110 6 20 166 302

Le nombre de plaintes déposées contre l’ARC et résolues par le Commissariat à l’information a plus que quintuplé depuis 2006–2007 (21–101). En 2008–2009, le Commissariat à l’information a réglé plus du tiers des plaintes déposées contre l’ARC (110 plaintes sur 302), même si 166 plaintes étaient toujours en suspens à la fin de l’exercice. Les plaintes administratives représentaient 96 % des plaintes résolues en 2008–2009 (106 sur 110).