Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Report Cards


Year



Executive summary

This special report is part of the Office of the Information Commissioner’s Three-Year Plan for Report Cards and Systemic Issues. This Plan aims to assess and investigate the extent and root causes of chronic delays across federal institutions in handling access to information requests.

Pursuant to the Access to Information Act, institutions have 30 days to complete access requests, or may claim a time extension in limited and specific circumstances. In 2008–2009, 44 percent of all complaints received by the Office of the Information Commissioner related to delays and time extensions. And of those delay-related complaints that were completed with a finding, three out of four were resolved with merit.

We enlarged our sample for this year’s report cards process to 24 institutions, which represent 88 percent of all access requests submitted in 2008–2009. We selected all institutions against which we had received at least five delay-related complaints (requests completed late and problems due to the time extensions that institutions claimed to process requests) during the reference period. This sample generated enough statistical data and information on contextual factors for a sound, fact-based assessment of delays.

Access delays

For a detailed assessment of delays, we used three indicators, which together expose different facets of timeliness. Looking at the deemed refusal rate—i.e. the percentage of requests that have exceeded the statutory timelines—we found a very large range between institutions, from 0 percent for Telefilm Canada to 59.6 percent for Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada (DFAIT).

As for the average completion time, only one institution—Citizenship and Immigration Canada with 34 days—managed to come close to the 30-day timeframe. The figure reached as high as 157 days on average for the Privy Council Office and 163 days for Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada. This is of great significance given the high number of mandatory consultation requests these two institutions process.

We also looked at the number of requests responded to after statutory deadlines have been missed as an indicator of institutions’ commitment to assist requesters as promptly as possible. We found that over one-fourth (27 percent) of all overdue requests took more than 60 days to close after their original due date (either 30 days or an extended deadline).

Our analysis clearly confirmed the increasing misuse of time extensions as well as the number and duration of inter-institutional consultations as the most common causes of delay. Under-resourced institutions are increasingly using extensions as an administrative measure to cope with heavy workloads, which in our view is contrary to the spirit of the Act and the intent behind the provision for extensions. The increasing number of consultations creates bottlenecks within the system. At the time of going to press, recent complaints also highlighted the risk of delays stemming from alleged interferences in the processing of requests or delegation authorities.

Institutional report cards

As this year’s report cards indicate, timeliness was once again an issue for all institutions. Of the 24 institutions assessed this year, 13 had a below average or inferior performance in 2008–2009.

Both Citizenship and Immigration Canada and Department of Justice Canada achieved a perfect score primarily due to senior management’s ongoing support for a compliance-prone culture. Three institutions achieved greater success than in the previous reporting year. The Canada Border Services Agency and Public Works and Government Services Canada had an above average performance due to effectively implementing three-year action plans aimed at improving compliance. The Royal Canadian Mounted Police substantially improved its performance by introducing procedures to reduce turnaround time for record retrievals and reducing its deemed refusal rate.

Twelve institutions performed at a below average or unsatisfactory level. They accounted for 9,047 (or 27 percent) of all the access requests made to the federal government in 2008–2009. (This percentage increases to 45 percent if we remove the large share of requests sent to Citizenship and Immigration Canada.) Most of them had deemed refusal rates of well over 20 percent, reaching a high of nearly 60 percent, as indicated above. Their poor performance resulted from the following factors to varying degrees: insufficient resources, dispersed delegation orders, drawn out review and approval processes, high staff turnover, and extensive or inappropriate use of time extensions. Some of these institutions also had a major impact on the access system as a whole given their pivotal role in the mandatory consultation process. Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada’s performance was so poor that the OIC could not rate it against its established criteria.

Systemic issues

Our holistic approach to assessing delays in responses to access requests enables a more in-depth analysis of recurring and system-wide issues facing most institutions. This year’s report cards process confirmed across a wider spectrum of institutions the presence and persistence of the five systemic issues that were identified last year. It has also highlighted flawed or ill-enforced delegation orders as another significant obstacle to timely access.

Delegation orders set out the powers, duties and responsibilities that are being delegated by the institutional head for administering the Act within the organization. Our process uncovered oral evidence of delegation orders with multiple layers of review and approval which, in some instances, resulted in additional and unwarranted delays. Given this evidence, we will examine through a systemic investigation whether these practices further delay responses to access requests or whether they have a negative impact on the amount of information disclosed. Greater guidance is also required to achieve appropriate, efficient and transparent delegation orders and prevent improper influence on the processing of access requests.

Leadership is clearly the single most important determinant of how well institutions fulfill their obligations under the Act. Senior management’s commitment to the access regime determines the level of resources allocated to their access program as well as the degree of institutional openness. The criteria under the Management Accountability Framework must be revised to adequately measure institutional compliance, which will serve to hold institutional heads and senior managers accountable for their performance.

As stated earlier, the misuse of time extensions represents an important cause of delay within the system. We observed an inconsistent application of paragraph 9(1)(a), which provides for the use of time extensions in specific circumstances. Contrary to the spirit of the Act, under-resourced institutions are increasingly using extensions as an administrative measure to cope with heavy workloads. The OIC will closely monitor the use of time extensions through the extension notices it receives. These notices are the only means of accountability for extensions provided for by the Act aside from complaints. Better statistics are also required to accurately track the use and length of time extensions and thereby hold institutions accountable.

Inter-institutional consultations represent a definite challenge for the timely delivery of information. Only the institution subject to the request is currently accountable for meeting the requirements of the Act. This compounds the problem of bottlenecks resulting from the increasing number of mandatory consultations. There are still no data to measure the magnitude and impact of consultations.

Evidence shows that insufficient resources—funds, staff and tools—undermine the effectiveness of access to information. This deficiency also creates excessive risks, including the erosion of requesters’ right to information. Sustained compliance can only be achieved with permanent and qualified staff and proper tools. An integrated human resources action plan is urgently required to address the shortage of staff.

Finally, access to information relies heavily on sound records management. Institutions that are unable to effectively manage information requested under the Act face time-consuming retrieval of records, uncertain, incomplete or unsuccessful searches, as well as the risk of substantial delays and complaints. Long-term initiatives have been undertaken to address information management deficiencies across government, but they require sustained efforts and commitment to achieve the expected results.

Recommendations and commitments

Despite warnings and recommendations to individual institutions as well as the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat, little progress has been achieved so far to remedy the root causes of delay across the system. As mentioned, there is an urgent need for an action plan to address the current shortage of access to information staff. In the absence of legislated reform, more detailed and reliable information is also required—notably on time extensions, consultations, workload and outcomes—to accurately measure institutions’ overall performance in meeting their obligations under the Act and improve accountability mechanisms.

For its part, the Office of the Information Commissioner has fulfilled the commitments contained in last year’s report. Specifically, revised disposition categories for closed complaints will soon be introduced to provide a more accurate picture of institutional performance. We have also taken steps to begin measuring the degree to which institutions are releasing records in accordance with the Act. After updating our Three-Year Plan in light of recent developments, we will move ahead with a thorough systemic investigation into the causes and sources of delays across the system.

As the Interim Commissioner stated before the House of Commons Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics, the Office of the Information Commissioner will work closely with institutions to better understand the challenges they face in providing greater access to information. It will provide greater guidance through practice directions and other means to improve the timeliness of responses to access requests and accelerate the resolution of complaints.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiches de rendement


Année



Sommaire

Le présent rapport spécial s’inscrit dans le plan triennal que le Commissariat à l’information a prévu pour les fiches de rendement et les problèmes systémiques. Ce plan vise à évaluer et à investiguer l’ampleur et les causes sous-jacentes des retards chroniques dont l’administration fédérale fait preuve dans le traitement des demandes d’accès à l’information.

Conformément à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, les institutions disposent de 30 jours pour traiter les demandes d’accès. Elles peuvent se prévaloir d’une prorogation de délai dans des circonstances limitées et précises. En 2008–2009, 44 % des plaintes reçues par le Commissariat portaient sur des retards et des prorogations. Parmi toutes les plaintes liées aux retards ayant mené à des conclusions, trois plaintes sur quatre se sont révélées fondées.

Cette année, nous avons élargi notre échantillon pour les fiches de rendement à 24 institutions, lesquelles représentent 88 % de toutes les demandes d’accès soumises en 2008–2009. Nous avons sélectionné toutes les institutions au sujet desquelles nous avions reçu au moins cinq plaintes liées à des retards (demandes réglées en retard et problèmes attribuables aux prorogations dont se prévalent les institutions pour traiter les demandes) durant la période de référence. Cet échantillon a fourni suffisamment de données statistiques et d’information contextuelle pour permettre une évaluation des retards à la fois rigoureuse et bien étayée.

Retards dans l’accès à l’information

Pour réaliser une évaluation détaillée des retards, nous avons utilisé trois indicateurs qui révèlent différentes facettes de la rapidité d’exécution. En examinant les taux de présomption de refus – à savoir le pourcentage de demandes pour lesquelles les échéances prévues par la Loi n’ont pas été respectées –, nous avons constaté une très grande variation entre les institutions, allant de 0 % pour Téléfilm Canada à 59,6 % pour Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada.

Pour ce qui est du délai de traitement moyen, une seule institution – Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada, avec une moyenne de 34 jours – a réussi à s’approcher de l’échéance de 30 jours. La statistique culmine à 157 jours pour le Bureau du Conseil privé et à 163 jours pour Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada. Ces chiffres revêtent une grande importance compte tenu du nombre élevé de demandes de consultation obligatoire que traitent ces deux institutions.

Nous avons également examiné le nombre de demandes complétées une fois passée l’échéance prévue par la Loi. Il s’agit là d’un bon indicateur de l’engagement des institutions à assister les demandeurs aussi rapidement que possible. Nous avons constaté qu’il fallait plus de 60 jours pour fermer plus du quart (27 %) de toutes les demandes non réglées après l’échéance originale (soit 30 jours ou une échéance prorogée).

Notre analyse a clairement confirmé que l’usage abusif croissant des prorogations de délai, ainsi que le nombre et la durée des consultations interinstitutionnelles, sont les causes les plus courantes des retards. Les institutions à cours de ressources utilisent de plus en plus les prorogations comme mesure administrative pour composer avec de lourdes charges de travail. À notre avis, cela est contraire à l’esprit de la Loi et à l’intention qui sous tend la disposition sur les prorogations. Le nombre croissant de consultations crée des goulots d’étranglement dans le système.

Au moment de mettre sous presse, certaines plaintes ont également mis en relief le risque de retard dû à de présumées ingérences dans le traitement des demandes ou dans la délégation de pouvoirs.

Fiches de rendement des institutions

Comme l’indiquent les fiches de rendement de cette année, la rapidité d’exécution posait encore une fois problème pour toutes les institutions. En tout, 13 des 24 institutions évaluées ont fait preuve d’un rendement sous la moyenne ou inférieur en 2008–2009.

Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada et le ministère de la Justice Canada ont obtenu un résultat parfait, dû essentiellement à l’importance que la haute direction démontre en faveur d’une culture favorable à la conformité. Trois institutions ont atteint un résultat supérieur à celui de l’année précédente. L’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada de même que Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada ont présenté un rendement supérieur à la moyenne grâce à la mise en œuvre efficace de plans d’action triennaux visant à améliorer la conformité. La Gendarmerie royale du Canada a considérablement amélioré son rendement en adoptant des procédures pour réduire les délais de récupération des documents et le taux de présomption de refus.

Douze institutions ont affiché un rendement sous la moyenne ou insatisfaisant. Elles représentaient 9 047 (ou 27 %) de toutes les demandes d’accès soumises à l’administration fédérale en 2008–2009. (Ce pourcentage s’élève à 45 % si nous retirons la vaste proportion des demandes reçues par Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada.) La plupart de ces institutions affichaient des taux de présomption de refus bien supérieurs à 20 %, culminant à près de 60 % dans le cas mentionné plus tôt. Leur faible rendement était attribuable, dans diverses mesures, aux facteurs suivants : ressources insuffisantes, délégation de pouvoirs diffuse, longs processus d’examen et d’approbation, fort roulement de personnel, et utilisation abusive ou inappropriée des prorogations de délai. Certaines de ces institutions ont également eu une forte incidence sur le système d’accès dans son ensemble compte tenu de leur rôle pivot dans le processus de consultation obligatoire.

Le rendement d’Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada s’est avéré si faible que le Commissariat n’a pu le coter suivant les critères établis.

Problèmes systémiques

Notre approche globale pour l’évaluation des retards dans les réponses aux demandes d’accès favorise une analyse plus approfondie des problèmes récurrents et systémiques auxquels font face la plupart des institutions. L’exercice des fiches de rendement de cette année a confirmé la présence, voire la persistance, auprès d’un éventail d’institutions encore plus large, des cinq problèmes systémiques recensés l’année dernière. L’exercice a également mis en lumière l’incidence que les ordonnances de délégation de pouvoirs inadéquates ou mal appliquées peuvent avoir sur la rapidité d’accès à l’information.

Les ordonnances de délégation de pouvoirs établissent les pouvoirs, les tâches et les responsabilités qui sont délégués par le responsable institutionnel aux fins de l’administration de la Loi au sein de l’organisation. Notre exercice nous a permis d’obtenir des preuves orales d’ordonnances de délégation comportant de nombreux niveaux d’examen et d’approbation, qui auraient entraîné, dans certains cas, des retards supplémentaires injustifiés. Vu ces témoignages, nous chercherons à vérifier dans le cadre d’une enquête systémique si de telles pratiques tendent à retarder davantage les réponses aux demandes d’accès ou si elles ont eu une incidence négative sur la quantité d’information divulguée. Une meilleure orientation est nécessaire pour assurer des ordonnances de délégation pertinentes, efficaces et transparentes et prévenir une influence inappropriée sur le traitement des demandes d’accès.

Le leadership est sans doute le déterminant le plus important quant à l’efficacité avec laquelle les institutions s’acquittent de leurs obligations en vertu de la Loi. L’engagement de la haute direction envers le système d’accès détermine le niveau de ressources attribuées au programme d’accès ainsi que le degré d’ouverture de l’institution. Il importe de réviser les critères qui sous tendent le Cadre de responsabilisation de gestion pour bien mesurer la conformité institutionnelle et faire en sorte que les responsables des institutions et les gestionnaires supérieurs soient comptables de leur rendement.

Comme nous l’avons mentionné précédemment, l’utilisation abusive des prorogations de délai constitue une cause importante de retards dans le système. Nous avons constaté une application inégale et parfois non conforme de l’alinéa 9(1)a), qui prévoit le recours aux prorogations dans des circonstances précises. Contrairement à l’esprit de la Loi, les institutions qui n’ont pas suffisamment de ressources utilisent de plus en plus les prorogations comme mesure administrative pour gérer les lourdes charges de travail. Le Commissariat en contrôlera étroitement l’utilisation par le biais des avis de prorogation qu’il reçoit. Outre les plaintes, ces avis constituent le seul moyen prévu par la Loi pour rendre compte de l’utilisation des prorogations. Il faut également de meilleures statistiques pour mieux suivre l’utilisation et la durée des prorogations et, par conséquent, responsabiliser les institutions.

Les consultations interinstitutionnelles posent un véritable défi pour l’accès rapide à l’information. Seule l’institution à qui s’adresse la demande est actuellement responsable du respect des prescriptions de la Loi. Cette situation aggrave le problème des goulots d’étranglement découlant du nombre croissant de consultations obligatoires. On ne dispose pour le moment d’aucune donnée pour mesurer l’amplitude et les répercussions des consultations.

Les preuves tendent à démontrer que l’insuffisance des ressources – fonds, personnel et outils – mine l’efficacité du processus d’accès à l’information. Cette insuffisance engendre également des risques excessifs, notamment l’érosion du droit d’accès à l’information. Seules des ressources humaines permanentes et qualifiées de même que des outils adéquats peuvent assurer une conformité soutenue. La pénurie de main-d’œuvre exige, de toute urgence, la mise en œuvre d’un plan d’action intégré des ressources humaines.

Finalement, l’accès à l’information repose en grande partie sur une saine gestion des documents. Une gestion inefficace de l’information demandée en vertu de la Loi ralentit la récupération des documents, donne lieu à des recherches incertaines, incomplètes ou infructueuses, et risque d’engendrer de longs retards et des plaintes. Certaines initiatives à long terme ont été entreprises pour remédier aux lacunes en matière de gestion de l’information à l’échelle de l’administration, mais elles devront être appuyées d’un engagement et d’efforts soutenus pour atteindre les résultats escomptés.

Recommandations et engagements

En dépit des avertissements et des recommandations à l’intention des institutions concernées et du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada, peu de progrès ont été enregistrés jusqu’ici pour corriger les causes sous-jacentes aux retards dans le système. Il faut de toute urgence un plan d’action pour résoudre la pénurie actuelle d’employés chargés de l’accès à l’information. En l’absence d’une réforme législative, il faut davantage d’éléments d’information détaillés et fiables – notamment sur les prorogations de délai, les consultations, la charge de travail et les résultats – pour mesurer avec précision la façon dont les institutions remplissent leurs obligations aux termes de la Loi et améliorer les mécanismes de responsabilisation.

Pour sa part, le Commissariat s’est acquitté des engagements énoncés dans le rapport de l’an dernier. Nous introduirons bientôt de nouvelles catégories pour le classement des plaintes réglées afin de mieux rendre compte du rendement des institutions. Nous avons également entrepris d’évaluer la mesure selon laquelle les institutions communiquent l’information en conformité avec la Loi. Après la mise à jour de notre plan triennal pour tenir compte des nouveaux développements, nous irons de l’avant avec une enquête systémique approfondie sur les causes et les sources de retard à l’échelle du système.

Comme l’a indiqué la commissaire par intérim devant le Comité permanent de l’accès à l’information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l’éthique, le Commissariat travaillera étroitement avec les institutions pour mieux comprendre les défis que celles-ci doivent relever pour faciliter davantage l’accès à l’information. Le Commissariat fournira une orientation plus précise sous forme de directives sur les pratiques et autres moyens pour accélérer le traitement des demandes ainsi que la résolution des plaintes.