Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Report Cards


Year


Previous Table of contents Next

Institutions assessed in 2007–2008 and reassessed in 2008–2009

Royal Canadian Mounted Police

The Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) enforces throughout Canada laws made by or under the authority of Parliament, with the exception of the Criminal Code, the enforcement of which is delegated to the provinces. The RCMP provides police services in all provinces (except Ontario and Quebec) and territories, and in 180 municipalities.

2008–2009 report card at a glance

whole star whole star whole star empty star empty star
C

  • Deemed refusal rate was 18.3 percent. This rate has decreased steadily each year since 2005.
  • Average completion time was 38 days.
  • Officials from the RCMP reported that the access to information office has yet to reach its full potential for compliance.
  • The RCMP submitted the required notices to the Office of the Information Commissioner for extensions of more than 30 days 49 percent of the time.
  • The RCMP received 21 percent more requests in 2008–2009 than in 2007–2008. Despite this, the RCMP kept its backlog from increasing.
  • The access to information office introduced a new triage unit. This meant that the policy unit could take over responsibility for answering large number of informal queries relating to access to information matters (mostly from serving members) and for delivering access awareness sessions across the institution.
  • Low staff turnover led to an optimal workload at any one time of between 6 and 10 files per analyst.
  • A new procedure facilitates 48-hour turnaround time for records retrieval.

Some facts about access to information operations at RCMP in 2008–2009

Number of requests carried over from 2007–2008
256
Number of new requests
2,008
Number of requests completed
1,976
Deemed refusal rate
18.3%*
Average time to complete a request (in days)
38
Number of consultation requests
531
Number of complaints registered with the Office of the Information Commissioner
105
Number of complaints the Office of the Information Commissioner resolved
15**
Number of full-time equivalents in access to information office, as of March 31, 2009
19.05
 

* Percentage of carried over and new requests delayed beyond the deadlines (30 days and extended) set out in the Access to Information Act. (See Appendix B for the formula the Office of the Information Commissioner used to calculate this rate.)

** A complaint is resolved when the Office of the Information Commissioner finds it has merit, and the institution resolves it to the Commissioner’s satisfaction.


Follow-up on 2007–2008 report card

The Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) continued to improve its compliance with the Access to Information Act in 2007–2008, although with a deemed refusal rate of 49.5 percent, it was still far from being fully compliant. As part of ongoing efforts to improve compliance, the RCMP’s access to information office completed staffing actions for 13 full-time equivalents at the end of the fiscal year and made a concerted effort to train officers in detachments and offices across the country, in order to shorten response times. Challenges remain, however, since the institution’s records are held in nearly 900 locations, many of which are small detachments, which must focus their time and energy on law enforcement as well as compliance with the Access to Information Act. Access to information officials committed to working with these offices to facilitate prompt records retrieval. They also committed to making process improvements, including tracking the length of the time extensions taken under the Act and promoting the practice of releasing records informally to shorten response times. Since the RCMP’s deemed refusal rate was 79 percent in 2005 (its first year being subject to the report card process) and the institution has subsequently made steady progress lowering it, the Office of the Information Commis­sioner (OIC) watched its progress with interest in 2008–2009, in the hope that it continued. The OIC is satisfied with the RCMP’s response to the recommendations in the 2007–2008 report card.

2008–2009 report card

The RCMP is moving in the right direction on most access to information fronts. The institution brought its deemed refusal rate down to 18.3 percent. Moreover, access to information officials reported that the institution had yet to reach its full potential for compliance.

The RCMP received 21 percent more access requests in 2008–2009 than it did the previous year, while continuing to tackle its backlog. The OIC notes that the RCMP was successful in processing these requests without allowing the backlog to increase significantly: it was nearly identical in size at the beginning and the end of the year.

The RCMP approved a new business case in 2003 to expand the access to information office. Staffing of the new positions was completed in 2007 and 2008. With these new staff on board, the RCMP was able to create a triage unit to deal more effectively with complex requests and the increasing volume of formal requests. The access to information policy unit was subsequently better able to handle informal requests for information, since analysts could concentrate on reviewing records. It was further possible to offer access awareness training across the RCMP. The augmented workforce, and the fact that there was practically no staff turnover, also allowed for an ideal caseload of 6 to 10 files per analyst at any one time.

The RCMP has developed a new process to ensure prompt records retrieval: the detachment commander and/or records manager are responsible for responding to requests for records within 48 hours, regardless of staff availability.

With its deemed refusal rate on a solid downward track, the RCMP is clearly doing something right. The OIC encourages the RCMP to work to bring that rate down to zero.

Recommendations

1. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that the Royal Canadian Mounted Police strive to reduce its deemed refusal rate to zero.

Response

The RCMP agrees with this recommendation. The performance exemplified by the access to information program in recent years attests to the RCMP’s commitment to this important function of the government. The RCMP has invested significant resources and efforts into the program and will continue to do so. As a result, the RCMP is confident that its compliance will continue to improve.

2. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that the Royal Canadian Mounted Police comply with the Act and notify the Office of the Information Commissioner of all the extensions it takes for more than 30 days.

Response

The RCMP agrees with this recommendation. In 2009, the Access to Information and Privacy Branch developed a new systematic process that automatically alerts the analyst to the notification requirement for all the extensions he or she takes for more than 30 days. The RCMP is confident that this will considerably boost our compliance in that regard.

3. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that the Royal Canadian Mounted Police continue with its improvement plan to achieve optimal compliance with the Act.

Response

The RCMP agrees with this recommendation. As stated above, the Royal Canadian Mounted Police has invested significant resources and efforts into the access to information program. Despite the marked increase in volume of requests in recent years, the RCMP’s compliance has steadily been improving. New initiatives aimed at improving processes and overall compliance are being put in motion, and the RCMP is confident that its ability to fulfill its legislative obligations will continue to peak.

Deemed refusal rate, 2005 to 2008–2009

This graph shows the deemed refusal rate for the RCMP for the last four reporting periods. This is the percentage of carried over and new requests the RCMP delayed each year beyond the deadlines (30 days and extended) set out in the Access to Information Act.

Deemed refusal rate, 2006 to 2008–2009

How long requests completed late were overdue, 2008–2009

The RCMP reported that it completed 236 of the requests it received in 2008–2009 after their due date. This graph shows how long these requests stayed open beyond that deadline. It is of concern that 51 percent of these requests were late by more than 30 days.

Number and outcome of delay-related complaints to the OIC, 2006–2007 to 2008–2009

Number and length of time extensions reported in 2008–2009

This graph shows the number and length of the time extensions the RCMP reported to have taken in 2008–2009. The RCMP supplied this information in the notices it sent to the OIC under subsection 9(2) of the Access to Information Act. The RCMP submitted the notices 49 percent of the time in 2008–2009; the OIC expects this figure to be 100 percent in 2009–2010.

Number and outcome of delay-related complaints to the OIC, 2006–2007 to 2008–2009

Number and outcome of delay-related complaints to the OIC, 2006–2007 to 2008–2009

These graphs show the number and outcome of two types of complaint registered against the RCMP in the last three reporting periods: complaints about deemed refusals (access to information requests that the RCMP delayed beyond the deadlines—30 days and extended—set out in the Access to Information Act) and complaints about the RCMP’s use of the time extensions allowed under the Act. Resolved complaints are those that the OIC finds to have merit and that the institution resolves to the Commissioner’s satisfaction.

Deemed refusal complaints

Deemed refusal complaints

The number of deemed refusal complaints decreased significantly each year (40; 15; 7). The proportion of resolved complaints to the total was high each year (100 percent; 67 percent; 86 percent)

Time extension complaints

Time extension complaints

The number of time extension complaints increased each year (1; 8; 21); however, the proportion of resolved time extension complaints to the total number of such complaints decreased significantly over the same period (100 percent; 75 percent; 5 percent).


Number and outcome of complaints to the OIC, 2006–2007 to 2008–2009

This table sets out the number and outcome of the complaints the OIC registered against the RCMP in each of the last three reporting periods. Resolved complaints are those that the OIC finds to have merit and that the institution resolves to the Commissioner’s satisfaction.

  Resolved Not
substantiated
Discontinued Pending Total
2006–2007
Administrative 43 5 2 0 50
Refusals 17 20 5 2 44
Cabinet confidences 0 0 1 0 1
Total 60 25 8 2 95
2007–2008
Administrative 20 5 7 0 32
Refusals 19 42 7 29 97
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 0 0
Total 39 47 14 29 129
2008–2009
Administrative 14 21 3 1 39
Refusals 1 13 5 47 66
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 0 0
Total 15 34 8 48 105

The overall number of resolved complaints decreased each year (60; 39; 15). There was a significant increase in the number of administrative complaints the OIC found to be not substantiated from 2007–2008 to 2008–2009 (from 5 to 21). There were many refusal complaints pending at the end of both 2007–2008 and 2008–2009 (29; 48).

Previous Table of contents Next

Date modified:

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiches de rendement


Année



Institutions évaluées en 2007–2008 et réévaluées en 2008–2009

Gendarmerie royale du Canada

La Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC) applique partout au pays les lois élaborées et adoptées par le Parlement, exception faite du Code criminel, dont l’application est déléguée aux gouvernements provinciaux. La GRC fournit à contrat des services de police dans l’ensemble des provinces (sauf le Québec et l’Ontario) et des territoires, et dans 180 municipalités.

Faits saillants de la fiche de rendement pour 2008–2009

whole star whole star whole star empty star empty star
C

  • Le taux de présomption de refus était de 18,3 %. Ce taux a décru de façon constante d’année en année depuis 2005.
  • Le délai de traitement moyen était de 38 jours.
  • Les responsables de la GRC ont indiqué que le bureau d’accès à l’information n’a pas encore atteint son plein potentiel en matière de conformité.
  • La GRC a soumis au Commissariat à l’information, dans une proportion de 49 %, les avis requis pour les prorogations de plus de 30 jours.
  • La GRC a reçu 21 % plus de demandes en 2008-2009 qu’en 2007–2008. Malgré cela, l’institution a su empêcher son arriéré de s’accroître.
  • Le bureau d’accès à l’information s’est doté d’une nouvelle unité de tri. En d’autres mots, l’unité stratégique pourrait hériter de la responsabilité de répondre à un grand nombre de demandes officieuses ayant trait à l’accès à l’information (principalement de la part de membres actifs) et de donner des séances de sensibilisation à l’accès à l’information dans toute l’institution.
  • Le faible taux de roulement a favorisé une charge de travail optimale où chaque analyste gérait en tout temps entre six et dix dossiers.
  • La mise en place d’une nouvelle procédure facilite un délai d’exécution de 48 heures pour la récupération des documents.

Quelques faits sur les activités d’accès à l’information à la GRC en 2008–2009

Nombre de demandes reportées de 2007–2008
256
Nombre de nouvelles demandes
2 008
Nombre de demandes traitées
1 976
Taux de présomption de refus
18,3 %*
Délai de traitement moyen des demandes (jours)
38
Nombre de demandes de consultation
531
Nombre de plaintes déposées au Commissariat à l’information
105
Nombre de demandes résolues par le Commissariat à l’information
15**
Nombre d’équivalents temps plein au bureau d’accès à l’information, au 31 mars 2009
19,05
 

* Pourcentage de demandes reportées et de nouvelles demandes retardées au-delà des délais (30 jours et prorogés) stipulés par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. (Voir l’Appendice B pour accéder à la formule utilisée par le Commissariat dans le calcul de ce taux.)

** Une plainte est résolue lorsque le Commissariat à l’information juge qu’elle est fondée et que l’institution la règle de façon satisfaisante aux yeux du commissaire.


Suivi de la fiche de rendement pour 2007–2008

La Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC) a continué d’améliorer sa conformité à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information en 2007– 2008. Par contre, son taux de présomption de refus, qui atteignait 49,5 %, donne à entendre que l’institution est encore loin de la pleine conformité. Dans le cadre des efforts constants pour rehausser la conformité, le bureau d’accès à l’information de la GRC a réalisé des mesures de dotation pour 13 équivalents temps plein à la fin de l’exercice en plus de fournir un effort concerté pour former des agents dans les détachements et les bureaux à l’échelle du pays afin de réduire les délais de réponse. Il reste néanmoins des difficultés à surmonter puisque les documents de l’institution sont répartis dans près de 900 emplacements, dont un grand nombre sont de petits détachements, qui doivent consacrer temps et énergie à l’application des lois ainsi qu’à la conformité à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Les responsables de l’accès à l’information se sont engagés à travailler avec ces bureaux pour faciliter la récupération rapide des documents. Ils se sont également donné pour tâche d’améliorer les processus, notamment en faisant le suivi de la durée des prorogations prises en vertu de la Loi et en faisant la promotion de la pratique qui consiste à communiquer les documents de manière informelle pour raccourcir les délais de réponse. Puisque le taux de présomption de refus de la GRC s’élevait à 79 % en 2005 (la première année où l’institution était assujettie au processus de la fiche de rendement) et que l’institution a par la suite réalisé des progrès constants dans ses efforts pour l’abaisser, le Commissariat à l’information a surveillé la situation avec intérêt en 2008–2009 dans l’espoir que la GRC poursuive sur sa lancée. Le Commissariat à l’information est satisfait de la réponse de la GRC aux recommandations qu’elle a formulées dans la fiche de rendement de 2007–2008.

Fiche de rendement pour 2008–2009

La GRC avance dans la bonne direction pour la plupart des aspects de l’accès à l’information. L’institution a abaissé son taux de présomption de refus à 18,3 %. De plus, les responsables de l’accès à l’information ont indiqué que l’institution n’avait pas encore atteint son plein potentiel en matière de conformité.

La GRC a 21 % de plus de demandes d’accès en 2008–2009 que lors de l’année précédente, ce qui ne l’a pas empêchée de s’attaquer à son arriéré. Le Commissariat à l’information retient que la GRC a connu du succès dans le traitement de ces demandes sans que son arriéré n’ait beaucoup augmenté puisque son volume était presque identique au début et à la fin de l’exercice.

La GRC a approuvé en 2003 une nouvelle analyse de rentabilisation pour élargir le bureau d’accès à l’information. La dotation des nouveaux postes a été réalisée en 2007 et 2008. Avec ces nouveaux employés dans les rangs, la GRC a été en mesure de créer une unité de tri pour gérer plus efficacement les demandes complexes et le volume croissant de demandes officielles. Cela a permis à l’unité stratégique de l’accès à l’information de mieux s’occuper des demandes d’information officieuses puisque les analystes avaient le loisir de se concentrer sur l’examen des documents. Il a également été possible d’offrir des séances de sensibilisation à l’accès à l’information à l’échelle de la GRC. L’effectif augmenté et la quasi-absence de roulement de personnel ont également permis d’établir un volume de travail idéal de six à dix dossiers par analyste en tout temps.

La GRC a élaboré un nouveau processus pour favoriser une récupération rapide des documents : le chef de détachement ou le gestionnaire des documents voient à ce qu’on réponde aux demandes de documents en moins de 48 heures, peu importe la disponibilité du personnel.

Avec un taux de présomption de refus qui ne cesse de baisser, il est clair que la GRC fait quelque chose de bien. Le Commissariat à l’information encourage la GRC à agir de manière à ramener ce taux à zéro.

Recommandations

1. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que la Gendarmerie royale du Canada s’efforce de réduire le taux de présomption de refus à zéro.

Réponse

La GRC est d’accord avec cette recommandation. Le rendement démontré par le programme d’accès à l’information ces dernières années est une preuve de l’engagement de l’institution envers cette importante fonction du gouvernement. Elle a investi des quantités appréciables de ressources et d’efforts dans le programme et poursuivra sur cette lancée. Par conséquent, la GRC est convaincue que sa conformité continuera de s’améliorer avec le temps.

2. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que la Gendarmerie royale du Canada se conforme à la Loi et l’avise de toutes les prorogations de plus de 30 jours auxquelles elle a recours.

Réponse

La GRC est d’accord avec cette recommandation. En 2009, la Sous-direction de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels a élaboré un nouveau processus systématique qui avertit automatiquement l’analyste de la nécessité d’émettre un avis pour toutes les prorogations de plus de 30 jours auxquelles l’institution a recours. La GRC est convaincue que ce processus rehaussera considérablement sa conformité à cet égard.

3. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que la Gendarmerie royale du Canada poursuive son plan d’amélioration pour parvenir à une conformité optimale à la Loi.

Réponse

La GRC est d’accord avec cette recommandation. Tel qu’il est mentionné ci-dessus, la Gendarmerie royale du Canada a investi beaucoup de ressources et d’efforts dans le programme d’accès à l’information. En dépit de la hausse marquée du volume de demandes des dernières années, l’institution a régulièrement rehaussé son taux de conformité. Elle est à mettre en œuvre de nouvelles initiatives visant à améliorer les processus et la conformité globale, et elle a confiance que sa capacité de répondre à ses obligations prévues par la Loi continuera de prendre de l’ampleur.


Taux de présomption de refus, 2005 à 2008–2009

Ce graphique illustre le taux de présomption de refus de la GRC pour les quatre dernières périodes de référence. Il s’agit du pourcentage de demandes reportées et de nouvelles demandes retardées par la GRC chaque année au delà des délais (30 jours et prorogés) stipulés par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Taux de présomption de refus, 2005 à 2008–2009

Importance du délai des demandes traitées en retard, 2008–2009

La GRC a indiqué qu’elle a traité 236 demandes reçues en 2008–2009 après leur date d’échéance. Ce graphique illustre la durée pendant laquelle ces demandes sont restées en suspens au delà de cette échéance. Il y a lieu de se préoccuper du fait que 51 % de ces demandes ont accumulé un retard de plus de 30 jours.

Importance du délai des demandes traitées en retard, 2008–2009

Nombre et durée des prorogations signalées en 2008–2009

Ce graphique illustre le nombre et la durée des prorogations signalées par la GRC en 2008–2009. L’institution a fait état de cette information dans les avis envoyés au Commissariat en vertu du paragraphe 9(2) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. La GRC a soumis les avis dans 49 % des cas en 2008-2009. Le Commissariat s’attend à ce que ce nombre atteigne 100 % en 2009–2010.

Nombre et durée des prorogations signalées en 2008–2009

Nombre et issue des plaintes relatives au délai déposées au Commissariat de 2006–2007 à 2008–2009

Ces graphiques illustrent le nombre et l’issue de deux types de plaintes déposées contre la GRC au cours des trois dernières périodes de référence : plaintes au sujet de la présomption de refus (demandes d’accès à l’information que la GRC a retardées au-delà des délais – 30 jours et prorogés – stipulés par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information) et plaintes concernant l’utilisation par la GRC des prorogations autorisées en vertu de la Loi. Les plaintes résolues sont celles que le Commissariat estime fondées et que l’institution règle à la satisfaction du commissaire.

Plaintes sur la présomption de refus

Plaintes sur la présomption de refus

Le nombre de plaintes sur la présomption de refus a diminué de manière marquée d’un exercice à l’autre (40; 15; 7). La proportion de plaintes résolues par rapport au total était élevée pour chaque exercice (100 %; 67 %; 86 %).

Plaintes sur le délai de prorogation

Plaintes sur le délai de prorogation

Le nombre de plaintes sur le délai de prorogation s’est accru d’un exercice à l’autre (1; 8; 21); toutefois, la proportion de plaintes résolues à ce chapitre par rapport au nombre total de telles plaintes a diminué considérablement durant la même période (100 %; 75 %; 5 %).


Nombre et issue des plaintes déposées au Commissariat de 2006–2007 à 2008–2009

Ce tableau illustre le nombre et l’issue des plaintes déposées au Commissariat à l’information contre la GRC dans chacune des trois dernières périodes de référence. Les plaintes résolues sont celles que le Commissariat estime fondées et que l’institution résout à la satisfaction de la commissaire.

  Résolues Non fondées Abandonnées En suspens Total
2006–2007
Questions administratives 43 5 2 0 50
Refus 17 20 5 2 44
Documents confidentiels
du Cabinet
0 0 1 0 1
Total 60 25 8 2 95
2007–2008
Questions administratives 20 5 7 0 32
Refus 19 42 7 29 97
Documents confidentiels
du Cabinet
0 0 0 0 0
Total 39 47 14 29 129
2008–2009
Questions administratives 14 21 3 1 39
Refus 1 13 5 47 66
Documents confidentiels
du Cabinet
0 0 0 0 0
Total 15 34 8 48 105

Le nombre global de plaintes résolues a diminué d’un exercice à l’autre (60; 39; 15). On constate une hausse marquée du nombre de plaintes à l’égard de questions administratives que le Commissariat a déclarées non fondées de 2007–2008 à 2008–2009 (de 5 à 21). Il y avait beaucoup de plaintes en suspens sur la présomption de refus à la fin de 2007–2008 et 2008–2009 (29; 48).