Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Report Cards


Year


Previous Table of contents Next

Institutions assessed in 2007–2008 and reassessed in 2008–2009

Natural Resources Canada

Natural Resources Canada (NRCan) encourages innovation and expertise in earth sciences, forestry, energy and minerals and metals to ensure the responsible and sustainable development of Canada’s natural resources.

2008–2009 report card at a glance

whole star empty star empty star empty star empty star
F

  • Deemed refusal rate was 22.4 percent. This is more than double the rate for 2007–2008.
  • The average time to complete a request was 65 days, but this is an improvement over the 2007–2008 average of 88 days.
  • NRCan informed the Office of the Information Commissioner about extensions of more than 30 days 17 percent of the time.
  • The access to information office had four access to information coordinators in two years.
  • Delegation of authority is diffuse, with assistant deputy ministers having the same authority as the access coordinator and, consequently, signing off on release packages.
  • All but the most routine requests are held up in the minister’s office.
  • NRCan introduced a graduated progression program to recruit and retain staff.
  • NRCan reports that its information management structure is strong, allowing for ease of records retrieval.
  • With additional funding for three new positions, NRCan believes it is now staffed adequately for the workload.

Some facts about access to information operations at NRCan in 2008–2009

Number of requests carried over from 2007–2008
72
Number of new requests
365
Number of requests completed
370
Deemed refusal rate
22.4%*
Average time to complete a request (in days)
65
Number of consultation requests
170
Number of complaints registered with the Office of the Information Commissioner
11
Number of complaints the Office of the Information Commissioner resolved
1**
Number of full-time equivalents in access to information office, as of March 31, 2009
5.6
 

* Percentage of carried over and new requests delayed beyond the deadlines (30 days and extended) set out in the Access to Information Act. (See Appendix B for the formula the Office of the Information Commissioner used to calculate this rate.)

** A complaint is resolved when the Office of the Information Commissioner finds it has merit, and the institution resolves it to the Commissioner’s satisfaction.


Follow-up on 2007–2008 report card

Natural Resources Canada (NRCan) spent 2007–2008, the year of its first report card, trying to cope with a several-year increase in requests of 79 percent without a corresponding increase in capacity. The institution ended the year with a deemed refusal rate of 10.7 percent. The increase in requests was due in part to the Chalk River nuclear reactor issue and the growing public and media interest the environment. NRCan committed to reviewing its entire process in light of the Office of the Information Commissioner’s (OIC) concern about the surge in numbers of requests deemed “highly sensitive” and also to find efficiencies in its cumbersome approval process. It was imperative that NRCan improve its zero notification rate to the OIC of extensions of more than 30 days. The OIC is not satisfied that an overall, meaningful effort was undertaken to improve compliance with the Access to Information Act, in response to the recommendations in the 2007–2008 report card.

2008–2009 report card

The combination of staffing instability, a diffuse delegation of authority and senior officials being inappropriately involved in approvals resulted in an unacceptable level of access to information compliance at NRCan in 2008–2009. The deemed refusal rate doubled from 2007–2008. There were four coordinators and a 50 percent staff turnover in two years. At one point, the access to information office was without a coordinator for two months, requiring senior management to step in. The coordinator’s position was subsequently reclassified downward, from director to manager.

There is evidence of requests being delayed within the delegated assistant deputy ministers’ offices. These senior officials have the same authority as the coordinator and must sign off proposed release packages. In addition, the minister’s office holds up all but the most routine requests for approval. This is inappropriate.

Despite these considerable challenges, NRCan was able to complete about half of the new requests it received in 2008–2009 in fewer than 30 days and reduce its average completion time for a request to 65 days, from 88 days in 2007–2008. It also took almost no extensions under paragraph 9(1)(a) of the Act to account for the impact of large requests on operations. While the overall number of complaints to the OIC increased from 2007–2008 to 2008–2009, more than one third (36 percent) were unsubstantiated. Delay-related complaints (those involving overdue requests and NRCan’s use of time extensions) increased slightly over the last three fiscal years, with four each in 2006–2007 and 2007–2008, and six in 2008–2009.

The access to information office has begun to recruit and retain staff with a graduated progression program. In recent months, the staffing situation has stabilized, with an almost full staff complement and a new coordinator in place in the fall of 2009.

NRCan reports a strong information management structure, including a Wiki-type central registry for administrative documents, to which access to information staff have access, and from which records can be retrieved.

Access staff acknowledge that it will take time to make access to information a priority at NRCan. The OIC notes that this should not be at the expense of requesters. It will monitor NRCan’s compliance carefully, and look for improvement in the coming years.

Recommendations

1. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that the Natural Resources Canada minister’s office strictly follow the delegated authority order in order to eliminate inappropriate levels of approval.

Response

Briefing sessions have been held with the minister’s staff on the Access to Information Act. NRCan is reviewing its processes to ensure maximum efficiency.

2. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that the deputy minister of Natural Resources Canada allocate the necessary human and financial resources, both in the access to information office, as well as in the program areas, in order to comply with the Access to Information Act.

Response

The Access to Information and Privacy Secretariat is now adequately resourced for the volume of requests that it receives. Additional funding for three positions was provided in 2008–2009. NRCan is closely monitoring resources levels.

3. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Natural Resources Canada continue to reduce its average completion time for requests.

Response

Completion time has been reduced substantially. Further reductions in processing time will require a commitment from other departments to complete the consultation process in a timely fashion. NRCan will continue its commitment to processing requests as quickly and effectively as possible. Recommendations will be provided to the departmental senior management committee before the end of the fiscal year.

4. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Natural Resources Canada reduce its deemed refusal rate to zero.

Response

While staffing has stabilized, it occurred late in this fiscal year. The trend in compliance will likely continue into the next report card cycle before the improvement from this stabilization will be noted. NRCan will continue to strive to improve its compliance rate.

5. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Natural Resources Canada comply with the Act and notify the Office of the Information Commissioner of all the extensions it takes for more than 30 days.

Response

Unfortunately, this administrative issue was not identified until late this fiscal year, so this issue is likely to continue to be noted in next year’s report card process. This will be corrected immediately.


Deemed refusal rate, 2007–2008 to 2008–2009

This graph shows the deemed refusal rate for NRCan for the last two reporting periods. This is the percentage of carried over and new requests delayed each year beyond the timelines set out in the Access to Information Act.

Deemed refusal rate, 2006 to 2008–2009

How long requests completed late were overdue, 2008–2009

NRCan reported that it completed 76 of the requests it received in 2008–2009 after their due date. This graph shows how long these requests stayed open beyond that deadline.

Number and outcome of delay-related complaints to the OIC, 2006–2007 to 2008–2009

Number and length of time extensions reported in 2008–2009

This graph shows the number and length of the time extensions NRCan reported to have taken in 2008–2009. NRCan supplied this information in the notices it sent to the OIC under subsection 9(2) of the Access to Information Act. NRCan submitted the notices 17 percent of the time in 2008–2009; the OIC expects this figure to be 100 percent in 2009–2010.

Number and outcome of delay-related complaints to the OIC, 2006–2007 to 2008–2009

Number and outcome of delay-related complaints to the OIC, 2006–2007 to 2008–2009

These graphs show the number and outcome of two types of complaint registered against NRCan in the last three reporting periods: complaints about deemed refusals (access to information requests that NRCan delayed beyond the deadlines—30 days and extended—set out in the Access to Information Act) and complaints about NRCan’s use of the time extensions allowed under the Act. Resolved complaints are those that the OIC finds to have merit and that the institution resolves to the Commissioner’s satisfaction.

Deemed refusal complaints

Deemed refusal complaints

There were very few deemed refusal complaints against NRCan in the last three reporting periods (0; 1; 2).

Time extension complaints

Time extension complaints

There were very few time extension complaints against NRCan in the last three reporting periods (4; 3; 4). All of these complaints were either not substantiated or discontinued in 2007–2008 and 2008–2009.


Number and outcome of complaints to the OIC, 2006–2007 to 2008–2009

This table sets out the number and outcome of the complaints the OIC registered against NRCan in each of the last three reporting periods. Resolved complaints are those that the OIC finds to have merit and that the institution resolves to the Commissioner’s satisfaction.

  Resolved Not
substantiated
Discontinued Pending Total
2006–2007
Administrative 1 3 0 0 4
Refusals 1 1 3 4 9
Cabinet confidences 1 0 0 1 2
Total 3 4 3 5 15
2007–2008
Administrative 2 2 1 0 5
Refusals 1 0 0 0 1
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 0 0
Total 3 2 1 0 6
2008–2009
Administrative 1 4 1 0 6
Refusals 0 0 0 3 3
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 2 2
Total 1 4 1 5 11

Nine of the eleven complaints registered against NRCan in 2008–2009 were either not substantiated or pending at year-end. Only one was resolved.

Previous Table of contents Next

Date modified:

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiches de rendement


Année



Institutions évaluées en 2007–2008 et réévaluées en 2008–2009

Ressources naturelles Canada

Ressources naturelles Canada (RNCan) encourage l’innovation et l’expertise dans les domaines des sciences de la terre, de l’exploitation forestière, de l’énergie, des minéraux et des métaux afin d’assurer le développement responsable et durable des ressources naturelles du Canada.

Faits saillants de la fiche de rendement pour 2008–2009

whole star empty star empty star empty star empty star
F

  • Le taux de présomption de refus a été de 22,4 %, soit plus du double de celui de 2007–2008.
  • Le délai moyen de traitement des demandes a été de 65 jours, ce qui représente une amélioration par rapport au délai moyen de 88 jours observé en 2007–2008.
  • RNCan a informé le Commissariat à l’information des prorogations de plus de 30 jours dans 17 % des cas.
  • Quatre coordonnateurs de l’accès à l’information se sont succédé au bureau d’accès à l’information en deux ans.
  • La délégation des pouvoirs est diffuse; ainsi, les sous-ministres adjoints ont les mêmes pouvoirs que le coordonnateur de l’accès à l’information et peuvent donc approuver la divulgation de documents.
  • Toutes les demandes sauf les plus élémentaires sont retenues au cabinet du ministre.
  • RNCan a mis en place un programme de cheminement progressif en vue de recruter et de conserver en poste le personnel requis.
  • RNCan affirme posséder une solide structure de gestion de l’information qui permet de retracer facilement les dossiers requis.
  • Grâce aux fonds supplémentaires obtenus pour trois nouveaux postes, RNCan considère être maintenant doté adéquatement en personnel pour faire face à la tâche.

Quelques faits sur les activités d’accès à l’information au ministère de la Justice Canada en 2008–2009

Nombre de demandes reportées de 2007–2008
72
Nombre de nouvelles demandes
365
Nombre de demandes traitées
370
Taux de présomption de refus
22,4 %*
Délai de traitement moyen des demandes (jours)
65
Nombre de demandes de consultation
170
Nombre de plaintes déposées au Commissariat à l’information
11
Nombre de demandes résolues par le Commissariat à l’information
1**
Nombre d’équivalents temps plein au bureau d’accès à l’information, au 31 mars 2009
5,6
 

* Pourcentage de demandes reportées et de nouvelles demandes retardées au-delà des délais (30 jours et prorogés) stipulés par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. (Voir l’Appendice B pour accéder à la formule utilisée par le Commissariat dans le calcul de ce taux.)

** Une plainte est résolue lorsque le Commissariat à l’information juge qu’elle est fondée et que l’institution la règle de façon satisfaisante aux yeux du commissaire.


Suivi de la fiche de rendement pour 2007–2008

En 2007–2008, l’exercice qui a coïncidé avec sa première fiche de rendement, Ressources naturelles Canada (RNCan) a tenté de composer avec une hausse cumulative de 79 %, sur plusieurs années, des demandes d’accès, sans augmentation correspondante de ses ressources. L’institution a terminé l’exercice avec un taux de présomption de refus de 10,7 %. La hausse du nombre de demandes est en partie attribuable au dossier du réacteur nucléaire de Chalk River et à l’intérêt croissant du public et des médias pour l’environnement. RNCan s’est engagé à revoir l’ensemble de son processus à la lumière des préoccupations exprimées par le Commissariat à l’information au sujet de la hausse soudaine du nombre de demandes jugées « très délicates » et du besoin d’améliorer l’efficience de son lourd processus d’approbation. Il était impérieux que RNCan améliore son taux – actuellement nul – d’avis envoyés au Commissariat à l’information pour les prorogations de plus de 30 jours. Le Commissariat à l’information trouve globalement insatisfaisants les efforts faits pour améliorer la conformité à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information en réponse aux recommandations formulées dans la fiche de rendement de 2007–2008.

Fiche de rendement pour 2008–2009

L’effet conjugué de l’instabilité de la dotation, d’une délégation de pouvoirs diffuse et de l’intervention indue de cadres supérieurs dans le processus d’approbation s’est soldé par un taux inacceptable de conformité aux règles d’accès à l’information à RNCan en 2008–2009. Le taux de présomption de refus a doublé par rapport à 2007–2008. Le roulement de l’effectif a touché quatre coordonnateurs et 50 % du personnel en deux ans. À un certain point, le bureau d’accès à l’information a été privé de coordonnateur pendant deux mois, obligeant des cadres supérieurs à prêter main forte. La classification du poste de coordonnateur a subséquemment été revue à la baisse, passant de directeur à gestionnaire.

Il y a certaines indications selon lesquelles des demandes d’accès seraient retardées au bureau de sous-ministres adjoints détenant des pouvoirs délégués. Ces cadres ont les mêmes pouvoirs que le coordonnateur et doivent approuver les documents que l’on s’apprête à divulguer. En outre, le cabinet du ministre retient la presque totalité des demandes d’accès, sauf les plus élémentaires, afin de les approuver. Cela n’est pas approprié.

En dépit de ces défis redoutables, RNCan a été en mesure de compléter en moins de 30 jours le traitement d’environ la moitié des nouvelles demandes reçues en 2008–2009 et d’abaisser son délai de traitement moyen à 65 jours; il était de 88 jours en 2007– 2008. Il n’a fallu pratiquement aucune prorogation en vertu de l’alinéa 9(1)a) de la Loi pour neutraliser les répercussions des demandes volumineuses sur les opérations. Tandis que le nombre de plaintes déposées au Commissariat a augmenté de 2007–2008 à 2008–2009, plus du tiers (36 %) n’étaient pas fondées. Les plaintes liées aux délais (celles portant sur les retards de traitement et le recours, par RNCan, aux prorogations de délai) ont augmenté légèrement au cours des trois derniers exercices, passant de 4 en 2006–2007 et 2007–2008 à 6 en 2008–2009.

Le bureau d’accès à l’information a entrepris un programme de cheminement progressif pour recruter et conserver en poste du personnel qualifié. Au cours des derniers mois, la situation de la dotation s’est stabilisée; à l’automne 2009, un nouveau coordonnateur et un effectif presque complet étaient en poste.

RNCan affirme posséder une solide structure de gestion de l’information, y compris un registre central de type Wiki pour les documents administratifs, que le personnel de l’accès à l’information peut consulter et qui permet de récupérer les dossiers.

Le personnel de l’accès à l’information reconnaît qu’il faudra un certain temps pour faire de l’accès à l’information une priorité à RNCan. Le Commissariat souligne que cela ne devrait pas se faire au détriment des demandeurs. Il surveillera attentivement la conformité de RNCan et cherchera son amélioration au cours des prochains exercices.

Recommandations

1. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que le cabinet du ministre de Ressources naturelles Canada suive rigoureusement l’ordre des pouvoirs délégués afin d’éliminer les paliers d’approbation inappropriés.

Réponse

Des séances d’information consacrées à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information ont eu lieu avec le personnel du cabinet du ministre. RNCan examine actuellement ses processus pour s’assurer qu’ils ont une efficience maximale.

2. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que le sous-ministre de Ressources naturelles Canada affecte les ressources humaines et financières nécessaires, tant au bureau d’accès à l’information qu’aux secteurs de programmes, pour assurer la conformité à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Réponse

Le Secrétariat de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels dispose maintenant de ressources adéquates par rapport au volume de demandes qu’il reçoit. Des fonds supplémentaires pour combler trois postes lui ont été fournis en 2008–2009. RNCan surveille de près ses niveaux de ressources.

3. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que Ressources naturelles Canada continue de réduire son délai de traitement moyen des demandes.

Réponse

Les délais de traitement ont été réduits de manière importante. D’autres réductions des délais de traitement nécessiteront un engagement de la part des autres ministères afin de mener à terme le processus de consultation en temps opportun. RNCan demeure engagé à traiter les demandes d’accès aussi rapidement et efficacement que possible. Des recommandations seront présentées au Comité de gestion de la haute direction du Ministère avant la fin de l’exercice.

4. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que Ressources naturelles Canada s’efforce de réduire le taux de présomption de refus à zéro.

Réponse

Bien que la situation de la dotation se soit stabilisée, cela est survenu assez tard durant le présent exercice. La tendance observée pour la conformité se poursuivra vraisemblablement au cours du prochain cycle d’évaluation du rendement avant que les améliorations découlant de cette stabilisation soient perceptibles. RNCan continuera de chercher à améliorer son taux de conformité.

5. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que Ressources naturelles Canada se conforme à la Loi et avise le Commissariat à l’information de toutes les prorogations qu’il utilise pour une période de plus de 30 jours.

Réponse

Malheureusement, cette question administrative n’est ressortie que tard durant l’exercice en cours, de sorte qu’il est probable qu’elle apparaisse à nouveau dans la fiche de rendement du prochain exercice. Le problème sera corrigé sans délai.


Taux de présomption de refus, 2007–2008 à 2008–2009

Ce graphique illustre le taux de présomption de refus à Ressources naturelles Canada pour les deux dernières périodes de référence. Il montre le pourcentage de demandes reportées et de nouvelles demandes retardées à chaque exercice au-delà des délais stipulés par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Taux de présomption de refus, 2007–2008 à 2008–2009

Importance du délai des demandes traitées en retard, 2008–2009

RNCan a indiqué qu’il a traité 76 demandes reçues en 2008–2009 après leur date d’échéance. Le graphique illustre la période durant laquelle ces demandes sont demeurées en suspens au-delà de l’échéance.

Importance du délai des demandes traitées en retard, 2008–2009

Nombre et durée des prorogations signalées en 2008–2009

Ce graphique illustre le nombre et la durée des prorogations signalées par RNCan en 2008–2009. RNCan a fait état de cette information sur les avis envoyés au Commissariat en vertu du paragraphe 9(2) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. RNCan a soumis un avis dans 17 % des cas en 2008–2009. Le Commissariat s’attend à ce que ce nombre atteigne 100 % en 2009–2010.

Nombre et durée des prorogations signalées en 2008–2009

Nombre et issue des plaintes relatives au délai déposées au Commissariat de 2006–2007 à 2008–2009

Ces graphiques illustrent le nombre et l’issue de deux types de plaintes déposées contre RNCan au cours des trois dernières périodes de référence : plaintes au sujet de la présomption de refus (demandes d’accès à l’information que RNCan a retardées au-delà des délais – 30 jours et prorogés – stipulés par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information) et plaintes concernant l’utilisation, par RNCan, des prorogations autorisées en vertu de la Loi. Les plaintes résolues sont celles que le Commissariat estime fondées et que l’institution règle à la satisfaction du commissaire.

Plaintes sur la présomption de refus

Plaintes sur la présomption de refus

Il y a eu très peu de plaintes liées à une présomption de refus déposées contre RNCan au cours des trois dernières périodes de référence (0; 1; 2).

Plaintes sur le délai de prorogation

Plaintes sur le délai de prorogation

Il y a eu très peu de plaintes sur le délai de prorogation déposées contre RNCan au cours des trois dernières périodes de référence (4; 3; 4). Toutes ces plaintes étaient non fondées ou abandonnées en 2007–2008 et en 2008–2009.


Nombre et issue des plaintes déposées au Commissariat de 2006–2007 à 2008–2009

Ce tableau illustre le nombre et l’issue des plaintes déposées au Commissariat contre RNCan durant chacune des trois dernières périodes de référence. Les plaintes résolues sont celles que le Commissariat estime fondées et que l’institution règle à la satisfaction du commissaire.

  Résolues Non fondées Abandonnées En suspens Total
2006–2007
Questions administratives 1 3 0 0 4
Refus 1 1 3 4 9
Documents confidentiels
du Cabinet
1 0 0 1 2
Total 3 4 3 5 15
2007–2008
Questions administratives 2 2 1 0 5
Refus 1 0 0 0 1
Documents confidentiels
du Cabinet
0 0 0 0 0
Total 3 2 1 0 6
2008–2009
Questions administratives 1 4 1 0 6
Refus 0 0 0 3 3
Documents confidentiels
du Cabinet
0 0 0 2 2
Total 1 4 1 5 11

Neuf des onze plaintes déposées contre RNCan en 2008–2009 étaient soit non fondées ou en suspens à la fin de l’exercice. Une seule plainte a été résolue.