Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Report Cards


Year


Institutions assessed in 2007–2008 and reassessed in 2008–2009

Health Canada

Health Canada helps Canadians maintain and improve their health. In partnership with provincial and territorial governments, Health Canada develops health policy, enforces regulations, promotes disease prevention and enhances healthy living for all Canadians. It also ensures that health services are available and accessible to First Nations and Inuit communities.

2008–2009 report card at a glance

whole star whole star empty star empty star empty star
D

  • The deemed refusal rate was 19.3 percent; it has been approximately 20 percent since 2004.
  • The average time to complete a request was 132 days.
  • Health Canada carried over 359 files into 2008–2009; the carry-over into 2009–2010 was 494 files.
  • 68 percent of overdue requests were completed more than 30 days after their due date.
  • Health Canada submitted the required notices of extensions of more than 30 days 72 percent of the time.
  • Until November 2009, Health Canada had a protracted approval process and delayed the release of records deemed to be of “high sensitivity.” Health Canada reported that it eliminated this process in November 2009.
  • More than half (52 percent) of all the extensions Health Canada took were under paragraph 9(1)(a) and 31 percent of these were for more than 90 days.
  • The access to information office had a 50 percent staff turnover in 2008–2009.
  • Health Canada senior management endorsed the three-phase Access to Information Transformation Action Plan in February 2009.
  • An early intake unit was created in the access to information office in late 2008–2009.
  • Health Canada is in the process of implementing a number of institutional records management initiatives.

Some facts about access to information operations at Health Canada in 2008–2009

Number of requests carried over from 2007–2008
359
Number of new requests
1,158
Number of requests completed
950
Deemed refusal rate
19.3%*
Average time to complete a request (in days)
132
Number of consultation requests
204
Number of complaints registered with the Office of the Information Commissioner
43
Number of complaints the Office of the Information Commissioner resolved
9**
Number of full-time equivalents in access to information office, as of March 31, 2009
19.5
 

* Percentage of carried over and new requests delayed beyond the deadlines (30 days and extended) set out in the Access to Information Act. (See Appendix B for the formula the Office of the Information Commissioner used to calculate this rate.)

** A complaint is resolved when the Office of the Information Commissioner finds it has merit, and the institution resolves it to the Commissioner’s satisfaction.


Follow-up on 2007–2008 report card

Health Canada’s compliance with the Access to Information Act has been below average in recent years, following two years of good grades (2002 and 2003). The institution managed a slight improvement in 2007–2008, which brought its deemed refusal rate down to 16.6 percent, the lowest in four years, despite a 97 percent increase in the number of pages it had to process. The institution committed to continuing to make process changes in an effort to improve compliance. In particular, Health Canada committed to developing and introducing a new case processing model that respects the timelines set out in the Access to Information Act and ensures more efficient management of requests. Health Canada routinely delayed requests categorized as sensitive, due to problems getting the release package to senior officials promptly for review and only giving the package to communications officials on the day it was to be released. Health Canada committed to reviewing its processes to determine where efficiencies could be introduced to bring them within legislated timelines. Health Canada started 2008–2009 looking forward to a pilot test of a new document management system, which officials hoped would help reduce the time required for records holders to retrieve records. The Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) is encouraged that Health Canada has addressed several of the shortcomings identified in the recommendations in the 2007–2008 report card. However, at the end of 2008–2009, the OIC was still not satisfied that Health Canada has ceased to delay the processing of files its dubs “high sensitivity.”

2008–2009 report card

Despite the promise of various initiatives, Health Canada’s deemed refusal rate slipped to 19.3 percent for 2008–2009, negating the gains of the previous year. More disturbing is the institution’s inability to make any significant improvement on that figure. Health Canada’s deemed refusal rate has been around 20 percent since 2004.

A backlog of access to information requests continued to hamper Health Canada’s ability to improve its compliance. The institution did clear the backlog of its oldest files (from 2004 to 2006) in 2008–2009 but must now process the files from 2007 onwards, as well as the 494 requests it carried over into 2009–2010.

As the OIC observed during numerous complaint investigations, including the Canadian Newspaper Association complaint Health Canada has a particularly long approval process for what it calls “high sensitivity” files. These represent approximately 10 percent of the requests it receives. The access to information coordinator has fully delegated authority to issue responses. However, once a release package is signed off by the coordinator, it is sent to the deputy minister for review. Prior to November 2009, the release package could be sent out only after receiving the approval of the deputy minister. Health Canada reported that this process was abolished as of November 2009; senior management no longer approves releases, except in exceptional circumstances.

The OIC notes two problems with Health Canada’s use of extensions under paragraph 9(1)(a) of the Access to Information Act. First, these extensions account for 52 percent of all extensions. According to access to information officials, this stemmed from analysts’ large workloads and the effects of the backlog. Officials acknowledged that they should not have taken such extensions, and have stopped the practice. Second, the OIC was concerned that 31 percent of extensions under paragraph 9(1)(a) were for more than 90 days—a sign that the institution was not able to manage the volume of requests in 2008–2009, which Health Canada attributed to a 50 percent turnaround in staff that year. The institution has since made it a priority to document all justifications for extensions, including reasons for their length. Extensions taken under paragraph 9(1)(a) now require approval, typically from a team leader.

Information management continues to be a challenge for Health Canada. Access officials noted that employees at all levels rely heavily on email and common drives to store documents, which makes locating relevant records difficult. The access to information office is actively working with the institution’s information management group to strengthen proper information management practices. Health Canada as a whole is in the process of implementing a number of initiatives to improve records keeping.

The access to information office adopted a new business model that saw the creation of an intake unit late in 2008–2009. Health Canada designed this new unit to take over the front-end administrative functions associated with access requests, which would leave analysts to focus on files. While Health Canada was optimistic about the efficiencies this would bring, it was too early to have measurable results in 2008–2009.

The OIC is especially concerned that Health Canada has gone many years showing only limited improvements in its compliance with the Access to Information Act. The OIC questions whether there is a clear message coming from the senior levels of Health Canada that access to information must be a priority. However, Health Canada’s senior management endorsed a three-year plan to transform the access to information function at the institution in February 2009. The OIC expects that the implementation of this plan will bear fruit in terms of improved compliance in the coming years.

Recommendations

1. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that the deputy minister of Health Canada continue to take a strong leadership role in establishing a culture of compliance throughout the institution. Such a role requires the unwavering endorsement of the minister.

Response

Since February 2009, senior management at Health Canada has been fully engaged in access to information issues in the department. Senior Management Board’s endorsement of an access to information action plan for the department, and its continual support of the access to information function, clearly illustrate that access to information is a priority for the department.

Since February 2009, Health Canada’s senior management has been actively supporting the transformation of access to information at Health Canada and ensuring that key compliance issues are being addressed in a truly transformative and collaborative fashion.

2. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Health Canada strictly follow the delegated authority of the access to information coordinator and eliminate additional levels of approval.

Response

Health Canada continues to follow the delegated authority of the access to information coordinator and has eliminated additional levels of approval.

Health Canada eliminated the HI-SENS approval process. This practice has been replaced with a notification process that results in overall improved compliance.

3. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Health Canada develop a clear plan to tackle the backlog of access requests.

Response

Health Canada continues to address its backlog of access requests via a two-fold approach:

  • Health Canada has maintained its concentrated effort on the closure of all outstanding 2007 files. It began the fiscal year with 73 outstanding files and now has only 17 files left to complete.
  • Health Canada has established a fast-track request processing stream, and will be dedicating a resource to access to information timelines management.

These efforts will decrease the number of new deemed refusals and will provide the continued concentrated effort required to tackle the growth of the backlog.

4. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Health Canada document and review the criteria it uses for extensions to ensure that the extensions are reasonable and legitimate.

Response

Health Canada has examined and reviewed the criteria it uses when invoking extensions to ensure that they are reasonable and legitimate.

Health Canada has implemented a graduated approval process for the invoking of extensions, and requires that its staff both document and justify any time extensions taken.

This review was undertaken last year and the focus on the appropriate taking of extensions continues to be a focus of Health Canada.

This recommendation is not necessary.

5. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Health Canada identify and implement the necessary enhancement to records management systems to ensure a quick and proper search of records in response to an access to information request.

Response

Health Canada is in the process of implementing a number of departmental records management initiatives. These would support more efficient search and retrieval responses for records related to access to information requests and include the following:

  • a storage management strategy, in line with the Government of Canada information management guidelines;
  • testing of a powerful search engine in January 2010 that, if supported, may increase office of primary interest search capability;
  • building a new business enterprise software that has single instance storage and a potential file classification system for data over the next two years; and
  • implementing the Directive on Recordkeeping announced by Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat/ Library and Archives Canada.

6. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Health Canada strive to reduce its deemed refusal rate to zero.

Response

Health Canada continues to strive to reduce its deemed refusal rate to zero.

Since the fall of 2008, the department has seen an 85 percent increase in files closed year-to-date, compared to last fiscal, closing 1,072 files between April 1, 2009, and January 8, 2010, compared to 579 files the previous year.

The access to information office has also experienced a significant drop, from 50 percent to 10 percent, in turnover of operations staff (projected to be 20 percent by year-end).

Health Canada developed the three-phase Access to Information Transformation Action Plan. Implementation began in the fall of 2008.

The action plan addresses challenges in meeting legislative requirements and includes governance of access to information at Health Canada, partnerships with both internal clients and other government institutions, supporting release readiness and teamwork, integration of collaborations with offices of primary interest, and the need to strengthen the access to information operations workforce.


Deemed refusal rate, 2004 to 2008–2009

This graph shows the deemed refusal rate for Health Canada for the last five reporting periods. This is the percentage of carried over and new requests Health Canada delayed each year beyond the deadlines (30 days and extended) set out in the Access to Information Act.

Deemed refusal rate, 2006 to 2008–2009

How long requests completed late were overdue, 2008–2009

Health Canada reported that it completed 142 of the requests it received in 2008–2009 after their due date. This graph shows how long these requests stayed open beyond that deadline. It is of concern that 68 percent of these requests were late by more than 30 days.

Number and outcome of delay-related complaints to the OIC, 2006–2007 to 2008–2009

Number and length of time extensions reported in 2008–2009

This graph shows the number and length of the time extensions Health Canada reported to have taken in 2008–2009. The institution supplied this information in the notices it sent to the OIC under subsection 9(2) of the Access to Information Act. Health Canada submitted the notices 72 percent of the time in 2008–2009; the OIC expects this figure to be 100 percent in 2009–2010.

Number and outcome of delay-related complaints to the OIC, 2006–2007 to 2008–2009

Number and outcome of delay-related complaints to the OIC, 2006–2007 to 2008–2009

These graphs show the number and outcome of two types of complaint registered against Health Canada in the last three reporting periods: complaints about deemed refusals (access to information requests that Health Canada delayed beyond the deadlines—30 days and extended—set out in the Access to Information Act) and complaints about Health Canada’s use of the time extensions allowed under the Act. Resolved complaints are those that the OIC finds to have merit and that the institution resolves to the Commissioner’s satisfaction.

Deemed refusal complaints

Deemed refusal complaints

The total number of deemed refusal complaints decreased from 2006–2007 to 2007–2008, and then remained about the same in 2008–2009 (33; 23; 22). The number of resolved deemed refusal complaints decreased each year (31; 21; 5), particularly between 2007–2008 and 2008–2009, but the OIC discontinued 4 complaints at the request of complainants and 13 complaints were pending at the end of 2008–2009.

Time extension complaints

Time extension complaints

The number of time extension complaints increased significantly from 2006–2007 to 2007–2008, and then decreased the subsequent year (3; 23; 11). The number of resolved time extension complaints was highest in 2007–2008 (16), and subsequently decreased to 4 in 2008–2009.


Number and outcome of complaints to the OIC, 2006–2007 to 2008–2009

This table sets out the number and outcome of the complaints the OIC registered against Health Canada in each of the last three reporting periods. Resolved complaints are those that the OIC finds to have merit and that the institution resolves to the Commissioner’s satisfaction.

  Resolved Not
substantiated
Discontinued Pending Total
2006–2007
Administrative 38 5 0 0 43
Refusals 8 3 1 2 14
Cabinet confidences 0 0 1 0 1
Total 46 8 2 2 58
2007–2008
Administrative 38 2 7 3 50
Refusals 2 1 4 8 15
Cabinet confidences 0 1 0 0 1
Total 40 4 11 11 66
2008–2009
Administrative 9 1 10 14 34
Refusals 0 1 0 7 8
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 1 1
Total 9 2 10 22 43

The number of administrative complaints (which includes complaints about overdue requests and time extensions) the OIC resolved was very high in both 2006–2007 and 2007–2008 (38 of 43; 38 of 50) but decreased in 2008–2009 (9 of 34). At the end of 2008–2009, 22 complaints were pending.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiches de rendement


Année



Institutions évaluées en 2007–2008 et réévaluées en 2008–2009

Santé Canada

Santé Canada aide les citoyens à conserver et à améliorer leur santé. En partenariat avec les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, Santé Canada élabore des politiques sur la santé, fait appliquer des règlements, fait la promotion de la prévention des maladies et améliore la qualité de vie de tous les Canadiens. Le Ministère veille également à ce que des services de santé soient offerts et accessibles aux collectivités des Premières nations et des Inuits.

Faits saillants de la fiche de rendement pour 2008–2009

whole star whole star empty star empty star empty star
D

  • Le taux de présomption de refus était de 19,3 %; le taux est d’environ 20 % depuis 2004.
  • Le délai de traitement moyen des demandes a été de 132 jours.
  • Santé Canada a reporté 359 dossiers à 2008–2009, tandis que le nombre de dossiers reportés à 2009–2010 a été de 494 dossiers.
  • 68 % des demandes en retard ont été traitées plus de 30 jours après leur date d’échéance.
  • Santé Canada a soumis les avis requis pour la prorogation du délai de plus de 30 jours dans 72 % des cas.
  • Jusqu’en novembre 2009, Santé Canada avait un processus d’approbation laborieux et il retardait la communication des dossiers dont la nature a été jugée « très délicate ». Selon Santé Canada, ce processus a été éliminé en novembre 2009.
  • Plus de la moitié (52 %) des prorogations de Santé Canada ont été faites en vertu de l’alinéa 9(1)a) et 31 % d’entre elles ont prorogé le délai de plus de 90 jours.
  • Le bureau d’accès à l’information avait un taux de roulement du personnel de 50 % en 2008–2009.
  • En février 2009, la haute direction de Santé Canada a approuvé le plan d’action pour la transformation de l’accès à l’information en trois étapes.
  • Une unité de réception rapide a été créée dans le bureau d’accès à l’information à la fin de l’exercice 2008–2009.
  • Santé Canada mettra bientôt en œuvre des initiatives institutionnelles de gestion des dossiers.

Quelques faits sur les activités d’accès à l’information à Santé Canada en 2008–2009

Nombre de demandes reportées de 2007–2008
359
Nombre de nouvelles demandes
1 158
Nombre de demandes traitées
950
Taux de présomption de refus
19,3 %*
Délai de traitement moyen des demandes (jours)
132
Nombre de demandes de consultation
204
Nombre de plaintes déposées au Commissariat à l’information
43
Nombre de demandes résolues par le Commissariat à l’information
9**
Nombre d’équivalents temps plein au bureau d’accès à l’information, au 31 mars 2009
19,5
 

* Pourcentage de demandes reportées et de nouvelles demandes retardées au-delà des délais (30 jours et prorogés) stipulés par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. (Voir l’Appendice B pour accéder à la formule utilisée par le Commissariat dans le calcul de ce taux.)

** Une plainte est résolue lorsque le Commissariat à l’information juge qu’elle est fondée et que l’institution la règle de façon satisfaisante aux yeux du commissaire.


Suivi de la fiche de rendement pour 2007–2008

La conformité de Santé Canada à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information a été sous la moyenne dans les dernières années après deux années de bon classement (2002 et 2003). Le Ministère s’est un peu amélioré en 2007–2008, réduisant ainsi le taux de présomption de refus à 16,6 %, soit le taux le plus bas en quatre ans, malgré une augmentation de 97 % du nombre de pages à traiter. Le Ministère s’est engagé à poursuivre le changement des processus afin d’augmenter la conformité. Santé Canada s’est engagé notamment à élaborer et à mettre en place un nouveau modèle de traitement des cas qui respecte le délai fixé par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et qui garantit une gestion efficace des demandes. Santé Canada retarde couramment les demandes jugées délicates, en raison de problèmes de soumission rapide des renseignements à communiquer aux hauts fonctionnaires, et il fournit seulement les renseignements aux fonctionnaires des communications le jour où ils doivent être communiqués. Santé Canada s’est engagé à revoir ses processus pour déterminer où il serait possible d’apporter des améliorations pour les ramener dans les délais prescrits. En 2008–2009, Santé Canada a commencé l’essai d’un nouveau système de gestion des documents qui devrait permettre, selon ses représentants, de réduire le temps requis pour la récupération des dossiers par ceux qui les détiennent. Le Commissariat à l’information est heureux que Santé Canada ait comblé plusieurs des lacunes faisant l’objet de recommandations dans la fiche de rendement de 2007–2008. Toutefois, à la fin de 2008– 2009, le Commissariat n’avait toujours pas eu la satisfaction de voir Santé Canada cesser de retarder le traitement des dossiers dont la nature est jugée « très délicate. »

Fiche de rendement pour 2008–2009

Malgré les diverses initiatives prometteuses, le taux de présomption de refus de Santé Canada est passé à 19,3 % en 2008–2009, effaçant ainsi l’amélioration de l’exercice précédent. L’incapacité du Ministère à améliorer ce chiffre de façon significative est encore plus dérangeante. Depuis 2004, le taux de présomption de refus de Santé Canada est d’environ 20 %.

Des arriérés dans les demandes d’accès à l’information continuent d’empêcher Santé Canada d’améliorer sa conformité. En 2008–2009, le Ministère a réussi à s’occuper des arriérés pour les plus vieux dossiers (de 2004 à 2006), mais il doit maintenant traiter les dossiers de 2007 et des années ultérieures ainsi que les 494 demandes reportées à 2009–2010.

Comme le Commissariat à l’information l’a constaté lors de nombreuses enquêtes sur des plaintes, y compris la plainte de l’Association canadienne des journaux, Santé Canada a un processus d’approbation particulièrement long pour les dossiers dont la nature est jugée « très délicate ». Ces dossiers représentent environ 10 % des demandes qu’il reçoit. Le coordonnateur de l’accès à l’information a le pouvoir délégué nécessaire pour envoyer des réponses; cependant, une fois que les renseignements à communiquer sont approuvés par le coordonnateur, ils sont soumis au sousministre. Avant novembre 2009, les renseignements à communiquer ne pouvaient être envoyés qu’après la réception de l’approbation du sous-ministre. Selon Santé Canada, ce processus a été aboli et, depuis novembre 2009, la haute direction n’approuve plus les communications, sauf dans des circonstances exceptionnelles.

Selon le Commissariat à l’information, l’utilisation faite par Santé Canada de la prorogation du délai en vertu de l’alinéa 9(1)a) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information pose deux problèmes. Premièrement, ces prorogations de délai représentent 52 % de toutes les prorogations. Selon les fonctionnaires de l’accès à l’information, elles sont dues à la grande charge de travail des analystes et aux effets des arriérés. Les fonctionnaires reconnaissent qu’ils n’auraient pas dû proroger ainsi les délais et ils ont cessé de le faire. Deuxièmement, le Commissariat s’est inquiété du fait que 31 % des prorogations de délai en vertu de l’alinéa 9(1)a) étaient pour plus de 90 jours, soit un signe que l’organisation n’a pas été en mesure de gérer le volume de demandes en 2008– 2009, un fait que Santé Canada attribue au taux de roulement du personnel de 50 % au cours de cet exercice. Depuis, l’organisation s’est fait une priorité de documenter la justification de chaque prorogation, y compris la raison pour sa durée. Les prorogations faites en vertu de l’alinéa 9(1)a) doivent maintenant être approuvées, en règle générale par un chef d’équipe.

La gestion de l’information continue d’être un défi pour Santé Canada. Les fonctionnaires de l’accès à l’information ont remarqué que les employés de tous les niveaux se fient grandement au courriel et aux lecteurs communs pour stocker les documents, rendant ainsi difficile la récupération de dossiers pertinents. Le bureau d’accès à l’information travaille activement avec le groupe de gestion de l’information de Santé Canada pour établir de saines pratiques de gestion de l’information. L’ensemble du Ministère travaille à la mise en œuvre d’initiatives pour améliorer la tenue des dossiers.

Le bureau d’accès à l’information a adopté un nouveau mode opérationnel qui a permis la création d’une unité de réception en 2008–2009. Santé Canada a conçu cette nouvelle unité pour la prise en charge des fonctions administratives initiales liées aux demandes d’accès à l’information, afin que les analystes puissent se concentrer sur les dossiers. Si Santé Canada a été optimiste quant à l’efficacité qu’apporterait l’unité, il était trop tôt en 2008–2009 pour en mesurer les résultats.

Le Commissariat est notamment préoccupé par le fait que, pendant de nombreuses années, Santé Canada n’a fourni que des efforts limités pour améliorer sa conformité à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Il se demande si les cadres de Santé Canada envoient un message clair que l’accès à l’information doit être une priorité. Toutefois, la haute direction de Santé Canada a adopté en février 2009 un plan triennal pour transformer la fonction d’accès à l’information de l’institution. Les experts du Commissariat s’attendent à ce que la mise en œuvre du plan mène à l’amélioration de la conformité dans les prochaines années.

Recommandations

1. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que le sous-ministre de Santé Canada continue d’avoir un leadership solide pour l’adoption d’une culture de conformité au sein de l’institution. Un tel rôle nécessite un appui inconditionnel du ministre.

Réponse

Depuis février 2009, la haute direction de Santé Canada a été entièrement engagée à régler les problèmes d’accès à l’information au sein du Ministère. L’adoption d’un plan d’action pour l’accès à l’information par le Conseil de la haute direction et son appui continuel à la fonction d’accès à l’information illustrent clairement que l’accès à l’information est une priorité pour l’institution.

Depuis février 2009, la haute direction de Santé Canada soutient activement l’amélioration de l’accès à l’information au sein du Ministère et veille à ce que les principaux problèmes de conformité soient réglés de manière réellement transformatrice et collaborative.

2. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que Santé Canada respecte scrupuleusement le pouvoir délégué du coordonnateur de l’accès à l’information et qu’il élimine les niveaux d’approbation additionnels.

Réponse

Santé Canada continue de respecter le pouvoir délégué du coordonnateur de l’accès à l’information et il a éliminé les niveaux d’approbation additionnels.

Santé Canada a éliminé le processus d’approbation pour les dossiers de nature très délicate. Cette pratique a été remplacée par un processus d’avis qui permet une meilleure conformité générale.

3. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que Santé Canada élabore un plan clair pour s’attaquer aux arriérés des demandes d’accès à l’information.

Réponse

Santé Canada continue de s’occuper des arriérés des demandes d’accès par une approche en deux volets :

  • Santé Canada a maintenu ses efforts concentrés sur la fermeture de tous les dossiers en suspens de 2007. Il a commencé l’exercice financier avec 73 dossiers en suspens et il lui en reste 17 à régler.
  • Santé Canada a mis sur pied un mode de traitement rapide des demandes et il affectera une personne à la gestion des échéances pour l’accès à l’information. Ces efforts diminueront le nombre de nouvelles présomptions de refus et permettront de concentrer les efforts nécessaires pour s’attaquer à l’accumulation d’arriérés.

4. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que Santé Canada documente et revoie les critères qu’il utilise pour les prorogations afin de veiller à ce qu’elles soient raisonnables et légitimes.

Réponse

Santé Canada a examiné et revu les critères utilisés pour justifier les prorogations afin qu’elles soient raisonnables et légitimes.

Santé Canada a mis en œuvre un processus d’approbation graduel pour les prorogations et il exige que le personnel documente et justifie toute prorogation de délai.

Cet examen a été réalisé l’an dernier et l’accent mis sur les prorogations appropriées continue d’être une priorité pour Santé Canada.

Cette recommandation n’est pas nécessaire.

5. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que Santé Canada cerne et mette en œuvre des améliorations nécessaires aux systèmes de gestion des dossiers afin de veiller à ce que les dossiers soient trouvés rapidement et facilement en réponse à une demande d’accès à l’information.

Réponse

Santé Canada travaille à la mise en œuvre d’initiatives ministérielles de gestion des dossiers. Ces initiatives appuieront l’efficacité de la recherche et des réponses de récupération des dossiers aux demandes d’accès à l’information. Ces initiatives comprennent les démarches suivantes :

  • une stratégie de gestion du stockage conforme aux directives du gouvernement fédéral en matière de gestion de l’information;
  • l’essai en janvier 2010 d’un puissant moteur de recherche qui, s’il convient, pourrait augmenter la capacité de recherche du bureau de première responsabilité;
  • la création au cours des deux prochains exercices d’un nouveau logiciel opérationnel à stockage d’instance simple et d’un possible système de classement des dossiers;
  • la mise en œuvre de la Directive sur la tenue des documents annoncée par le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada et Bibliothèque et Archives Canada.

6. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que Santé Canada s’efforce de réduire le taux de présomption de refus à zéro.

Réponse

Santé Canada s’efforce de réduire à zéro son taux de présomption de refus.

Depuis l’automne 2008, il y a eu une hausse de 85 % des dossiers fermés au Ministère : 1 072 dossiers ont été fermés du 1er avril 2009 au 8 janvier 2010, par rapport aux 579 dossiers fermés au cours de l’exercice précédent.

Le bureau d’accès à l’information a aussi connu une baisse importante du taux de roulement au sein du personnel opérationnel; le taux est passé de 50 % à 10 % (le taux devrait être de 20 % à la fin de l’exercice).

Santé Canada a élaboré le plan d’action pour la transformation de l’accès à l’information en trois étapes, dont la mise en œuvre a commencé à l’automne 2008.

Le plan d’action tient compte des défis à relever pour satisfaire les exigences de la Loi et comprend la gouvernance de l’accès à l’information au sein de Santé Canada, les partenariats avec les clients internes et les autres institutions fédérales, le soutien pour la préparation des renseignements à communiquer et pour le travail d’équipe, l’intégration de collaborations avec des bureaux de première responsabilité ainsi que la nécessité de renforcer l’effectif pour les activités d’accès à l’information.


Taux de présomption de refus, de 2004 à 2008–2009

Ce graphique illustre le taux de présomption de refus de Santé Canada pour les cinq dernières périodes de référence. Il s’agit du pourcentage de demandes reportées et de nouvelles demandes retardées par Santé Canada chaque année au-delà des délais (30 jours et prorogés) stipulés par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Taux de présomption de refus, de 2004 à 2008–2009

Importance du délai des demandes traitées en retard, 2008–2009

Santé Canada a indiqué qu’il a traité 142 demandes reçues en 2008–2009 après leur date d’échéance. Ce graphique illustre la durée pendant laquelle ces demandes sont restées en suspens au-delà de cette échéance. Il y a lieu de se préoccuper du fait que 68 % de ces demandes ont accumulé un retard de plus de 30 jours.

Importance du délai des demandes traitées en retard, 2008–2009

Nombre et durée des prorogations signalées en 2008–2009

Ce graphique illustre le nombre et la durée des prorogations signalées par Santé Canada en 2008–2009. Santé Canada a fait état de cette information dans les avis envoyés au Commissariat en vertu du paragraphe 9(2) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Santé Canada a soumis les avis dans seulement 72 % des cas en 2008–2009; le Commissariat s’attend à ce que ce nombre atteigne 100 % en 2009–2010.

Nombre et durée des prorogations signalées en 2008–2009

Nombre et issue des plaintes relatives au délai déposées au Commissariat de 2006–2007 à 2008–2009

Ces graphiques illustrent le nombre et l’issue de deux types de plaintes déposées contre Santé Canada au cours des trois dernières périodes de référence : plaintes au sujet de la présomption de refus (demandes d’accès à l’information que Santé Canada a retardées au-delà des délais – 30 jours et prorogés – stipulés par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information) et plaintes concernant l’utilisation par Santé Canada des prorogations autorisées en vertu de la Loi. Les plaintes résolues sont celles que le Commissariat estime fondées et que l’institution règle à la satisfaction du commissaire.

Plaintes sur la présomption de refus

Plaintes sur la présomption de refus

Le total des plaintes sur la présomption de refus a diminué de 2006–2007 à 2007–2008 et il est demeuré sensiblement le même en 2008–2009 (33; 23; 22). Le nombre de plaintes résolues sur la présomption de refus a diminué chaque exercice (31; 21; 5), notamment de 2007–2008 à 2008–2009, mais le Commissariat a abandonné 4 plaintes à la demande des plaignants et 13 plaintes étaient en suspens à la fin de 2008–2009.

Plaintes sur le délai de prorogation

Plaintes sur le délai de prorogation

Le nombre de plaintes sur le délai de prorogation a augmenté de façon importante de 2006–2007 à 2007–2008, puis il a diminué dans l’exercice suivant (3; 23; 11). Le nombre de plaintes résolues sur le délai de prorogation a été plus élevé en 2007–2008 (16), puis il a diminué en 2008–2009 (4).


Nombre et issue des plaintes déposées au Commissariat de 2006–2007 à 2008–2009

Ce tableau illustre le nombre et l’issue des plaintes déposées au Commissariat contre Santé Canada dans chacune des trois dernières périodes de référence. Les plaintes résolues sont celles que le Commissariat estime fondées et que l’institution règle à la satisfaction du commissaire.

  Résolues Non fondées Abandonnées En suspens Total
2006–2007
Questions administratives 38 5 0 0 43
Refus 8 3 1 2 14
Documents confidentiels
du Cabinet
0 0 1 0 1
Total 46 8 2 2 58
2007–2008
Questions administratives 38 2 7 3 50
Refus 2 1 4 8 15
Documents confidentiels
du Cabinet
0 1 0 0 1
Total 40 4 11 11 66
2008–2009
Questions administratives 9 1 10 14 34
Refus 0 1 0 7 8
Documents confidentiels
du Cabinet
0 0 0 1 1
Total 9 2 10 22 43

Le nombre de plaintes sur les questions administratives (qui comprennent les plaintes sur le retard et le délai de prorogation) que le Commissariat a résolues a été très élevé en 2006–2007 et en 2007–2008 (38 sur 43; 38 sur 50), mais a diminué en 2008–2009 (9 sur 34). À la fin de 2008–2009, 22 plaintes étaient en suspens.