Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Report Cards


Year


Previous Table of contents Next

Institutions assessed in 2007–2008 and reassessed in 2008–2009

Department of Justice Canada

The Department of Justice Canada oversees all matters relating to the administration of justice at the federal level. It provides a range of legal advisory, litigation and legislative services to government departments and agencies, and supports the Minister of Justice in advising Cabinet on all legal matters, including the constitutionality of government initiatives and activities.

2008–2009 report card at a glance

whole star whole star whole star whole star whole star
A

  • Deemed refusal rate of 3.6 percent.
  • Leadership on the part of senior officials helped ensure a second consecutive A rating, after three consecutive F ratings.
  • The Department of Justice received nearly three times as many consultation requests as access requests.
  • Support for access to information from senior management has created a culture of compliance across the organization.
  • The access to information coordinator has full delegation, which is respected throughout the institution.
  • Only three requests were completed after their due date, and each was closed within 30 days of that deadline.
  • The Office of the Information Commissioner resolved 2 out of 29 complaints, finding 14 of them to be not substantiated.
  • The Department of Justice submitted notices of extensions of more than 30 days in 82 percent of cases.

Some facts about access to information operations at the Department of Justice Canada in 2008–2009

Number of requests carried over from 2007–2008
69
Number of new requests
289
Number of requests completed
305
Deemed refusal rate
3.6%*
Average time to complete a request (in days)
59
Number of consultation requests
902
Number of complaints registered with the Office of the Information Commissioner
29
Number of complaints the Office of the Information Commissioner resolved
2**
Number of full-time equivalents in access to information office, as of March 31, 2009
18.9
 

* Percentage of carried over and new requests delayed beyond the deadlines (30 days and extended) set out in the Access to Information Act. (See Appendix B for the formula the Office of the Information Commissioner used to calculate this rate.)

** A complaint is resolved when the Office of the Information Commissioner finds it has merit, and the institution resolves it to the Commissioner’s satisfaction.


Follow-up on 2007–2008 report card

The Department of Justice Canada’s strong report card in 2007–2008 came on the heels of several years of poor ratings, starting in 2004. Through leadership at senior levels and by implementing numerous process improvements, the institution’s deemed refusal rate in 2007–2008 was just 4.4 percent, which put it among the top institutions surveyed. A significant factor in any year for the institution is the number of consultation requests it receives; in 2007–2008, these outnumbered access requests three to one for the Department of Justice. Nonetheless, the institution responded to them in 16 days on average, through fast-tracking procedures and memoranda of understanding with numerous institutions. One area of concern for the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) was the Department of Justice’s practice of closing access requests that had outstanding mandatory consultations. Access to information officials assured the OIC, however, that these situations were limited and specific and, most importantly, that officials advise requesters that additional records could be forthcoming, as well as of their redress rights. The OIC has not received complaints on this practice. The Department of Justice generally complied with the OIC’s recommendations in the 2007–2008 report card.

2008–2009 report card

The Department of Justice had another successful year in 2008–2009, with only 3.6 percent of its requests falling into the deemed refusal category. Moreover, it completed only three of the requests it received in 2008–2009 after their due date, and closed them all within the subsequent 30 days. The institution has shown considerable determination in maintaining its now two-year track record of excellent compliance, and the OIC acknowledges this accomplishment.

As testament to the notion that a successful access to information operation depends on the support of institutional leadership, the Department of Justice access to information office counts on firm commitment from its senior management, which is well communicated throughout the institution.

The access to information coordinator has full delegated authority, which is respected throughout the institution. Further, there is confidence in the access to information office, which has a number of experienced employees and reportedly healthy staff morale. Given these positive features and the strong institutional support, it would seem to follow that the Department of Justice would have the edge in attracting and retaining staff. However, it reported that it, too, has fallen victim to the aggressive recruitment that takes place among institutions competing for qualified personnel. Competitive processes involving two employees were concluded when both successful candidates decided to remain with their current employer.

The Department of Justice reports frustration with other institutions for lengthy consultation processes on some files, and continues to close partial release files, ensuring that applicants are advised that more records may be forthcoming, at which time complaint rights will still be in effect. In addition, the institution suggests to requesters that they could get their information faster by not asking for records likely to contain Cabinet confidences. The OIC has concerns about this practice, given its potential to diminish the number of records requestors would otherwise have a right to receive or to compromise requestors’ rights. The Department of Justice should exercise considerable caution if it chooses to continue this practice. A better approach in the OIC’s view would be for it to follow the required procedure and consult with the Privy Council Office on records containing any potential Cabinet confidences, bearing in mind court decisions that require certain information, such as background material, and analysis of problems or policy options, to be severed from records containing Cabinet confidences.

The access to information community is well aware of the Department of Justice’s success, and the OIC is encouraged to learn that federal institutions, as well as their provincial counterparts in Quebec, have approached the institution to find out more about its success. Initiatives such as memoranda of understanding, service standards for consultation turnaround times and a streamlined approval process—all within a very structured and supported environment—position this institution for continued success.

Recommendations

1. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that the Department of Justice Canada cease suggesting to requesters that they eliminate potential Cabinet confidences from their requests and follow due process to ensure that requesters receive all the documents to which they are legally entitled.

Response

The Department of Justice informs the applicant when the majority of the records are subject to Cabinet confidences (i.e. draft bills and memoranda to Cabinet). This is done with the assistance of the office of primary interest within the department.

In addition, the institution is being transparent by giving requesters the opportunity to provide informed consent as to how to proceed throughout the process. It also provides them with options when volume or search time is at issue. To assist requesters, and as part of the “duty to assist,” an overview of the content of the records is provided up front. Moreover, this practice is consistent with our service standards, which are posted on the Department of Justice website, under “Principles for Assisting Applicants.”

2. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that the Department of Justice Canada reduce its deemed refusal rate to zero.

Response

It has always been the Department of Justice’s goal to reduce its deemed refusal rate to zero. It will continue to strive to achieve that goal.

3. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that the Department of Justice Canada reduce its average completion time for requests.

Response

It has always been the Department of Justice’s goal to reduce the average completion time. It will continue to strive to achieve that goal.

4. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that the Department of Justice Canada comply with the Act and notify the Office of the Information Commissioner of the extensions it takes for more than 30 days.

Response

It is the Department of Justice’s practice to notify the OIC of the extensions it takes for more than 30 days. A reminder will be sent to all employees of the access to information office.


Deemed refusal rate, 2006 to 2008–2009

This graph shows the deemed refusal rate for the Department of Justice for the last five reporting periods. This is the percentage of carried over and new requests delayed each year beyond the deadlines (30 days and extended) set out in the Access to Information Act.

Deemed refusal rate, 2006 to 2008–2009

How long requests completed late were overdue, 2008–2009

The Department of Justice reported that it completed only three of the requests it received in 2008–2009 after their due date. This graph shows that the institution closed all three of them in fewer than 30 days.

Number and outcome of delay-related complaints to the OIC, 2006–2007 to 2008–2009

Number and length of time extensions reported in 2008–2009

This graph shows the number and length of the time extensions the Department of Justice reported to have taken in 2008–2009. The institution supplied this information in the notices it sent to the OIC under subsection 9(2) of the Access to Information Act. The Department of Justice submitted the notices 82 percent of the time in 2008–2009; the OIC expects this figure to be 100 percent in 2009–2010.

Number and outcome of delay-related complaints to the OIC, 2006–2007 to 2008–2009

Number and outcome of delay-related complaints to the OIC, 2006–2007 to 2008–2009

These graphs show the number and outcome of two types of complaint registered against the Department of Justice in the last three reporting periods: complaints about deemed refusals (access to information requests that the Department of Justice delayed beyond the deadlines—30 days and extended—set out in the Access to Information Act) and complaints about the Department of Justice’s use of the time extensions allowed under the Act. Resolved complaints are those that the OIC finds to have merit, and that the institution resolves to the Commissioner’s satisfaction.

Deemed refusal complaints

Deemed refusal complaints

The number of deemed refusal complaints decreased significantly from 2006–2007 to 2008–2009 (from seven to one). In 2008–2009, the Office of the Information Commissioner found the one deemed refusal complaint to be not substantiated.

Time extension complaints

Time extension complaints

There were two resolved time extension complaints in each of the first two reporting periods; there were none in 2008–2009.


Number and outcome of complaints to the OIC, 2006–2007 to 2008–2009

This table sets out the number and outcome of the complaints the OIC registered against the Department of Justice in each of the last three reporting periods. Resolved complaints are those that the OIC finds to have merit and that the institution resolves to the Commissioner’s satisfaction.

  Resolved Not
substantiated
Discontinued Pending Total
2006–2007
Administrative 8 3 1 0 12
Refusals 1 7 3 4 15
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 0 0
Total 9 10 4 4 27
2007–2008
Administrative 3 18 4 0 25
Refusals 6 5 3 5 19
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 3 3
Total 9 23 7 8 47
2008–2009
Administrative 0 12 4 0 16
Refusals 2 2 2 5 11
Cabinet confidences 0 0 1 1 2
Total 2 14 7 6 29

The total number of complaints decreased significantly from 2007–2008 to 2008–2009 (47 to 29). The overall number of complaints the OIC resolved also decreased in that period (9; 9; 2). Each year, the proportion of resolved complaints to overall complaints decreased (33 percent; 19 percent; 7 percent). Not substantiated complaints equalled nearly one half of all complaints in 2008–2009 (14 out of 29).


Previous Table of contents Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiches de rendement


Année



Institutions évaluées en 2007–2008 et réévaluées en 2008–2009

Ministère de la Justice Canada

Le ministère de la Justice Canada supervise toutes les affaires relatives à l’administration de la justice au fédéral. Il offre une gamme de services, soit des conseils juridiques, des services de contentieux et des services législatifs aux ministères et organismes gouvernementaux; il soutient le ministre de la Justice pour les conseils au Cabinet relativement à toutes les questions juridiques, y compris la constitutionnalité des initiatives et des activités gouvernementales.

Faits saillants de la fiche de rendement pour 2008–2009

whole star whole star whole star whole star whole star
A

  • Le taux de présomption de refus a été de 3,6 %.
  • Le leadership des hauts fonctionnaires a contribué à l’attribution d’un A pour la deuxième fois de suite après avoir reçu consécutivement trois F.
  • Le ministère de la Justice a reçu environ trois fois plus de demandes de consultation que de demandes d’accès.
  • Le soutien de l’accès à l’information par la haute direction a créé une culture d e conformité dans tout le Ministère.
  • Le coordonnateur de l’accès à l’information a la pleine délégation des pouvoirs, lesquels sont respectés dans tout le Ministère.
  • Seulement trois demandes ont été traitées après leur date d’échéance et dans chaque cas, le dossier a été fermé dans les 30 jours après l’échéance.
  • Le Commissariat à l’information a résolu 2 des 29 plaintes et a jugé que 14 d’entre elles n’étaient pas fondées.
  • Le ministère de la Justice a soumis au Commissariat les avis de prorogations de plus de 30 jours dans 82 % des cas.

Quelques faits sur les activités d’accès à l’information au ministère de la Justice Canada en 2008–2009

Nombre de demandes reportées de 2007–2008
69
Nombre de nouvelles demandes
289
Nombre de demandes traitées
305
Taux de présomption de refus
3,6 %*
Délai de traitement moyen des demandes (jours)
59
Nombre de demandes de consultation
902
Nombre de plaintes déposées au Commissariat à l’information
29
Nombre de demandes résolues par le Commissariat à l’information
2**
Nombre d’équivalents temps plein au bureau d’accès à l’information, au 31 mars 2009
18,9
 

* Pourcentage de demandes reportées et de nouvelles demandes retardées au-delà des délais (30 jours et prorogés) stipulés par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. (Voir l’Appendice B pour accéder à la formule utilisée par le Commissariat dans le calcul de ce taux.)

** Une plainte est résolue lorsque le Commissariat à l’information juge qu’elle est fondée et que l’institution la règle de façon satisfaisante aux yeux du commissaire.


Suivi de la fiche de rendement pour 2007–2008

L’excellente fiche de rendement du ministère de la Justice Canada pour 2007–2008 suit de près plusieurs années de piètres résultats (à partir de 2004). Grâce au leadership des cadres et par la mise en œuvre de nombreuses améliorations au processus, le taux de présomption de refus du Ministère en 2007–2008 n’était que de 4,4 %, le plaçant ainsi parmi les meilleurs ministères évalués. Au cours d’un exercice, un des facteurs importants pour le Ministère est le nombre de demandes de consultation qu’il reçoit; en 2007–2008, les demandes de consultation ont été trois fois plus nombreuses que les demandes d’accès à l’information. Néanmoins, le Ministère a répondu à ces demandes en 16 jours en moyenne, grâce à des procédures accélérées et à des protocoles d’entente avec de nombreuses organisations. Un aspect qui a inquiété le Commissariat à l’information est la pratique du ministère de la Justice de fermer des demandes d’accès à l’information en suspens nécessitant une consultation obligatoire. Cependant, les fonctionnaires de l’accès à l’information ont affirmé au Commissariat que ces cas étaient limités et particuliers, et que, de façon plus importante, les fonctionnaires préviennent les demandeurs que des renseignements additionnels leur seront peut-être communiqués et ils leur font part de leur droit de recours. Le Commissariat n’a pas reçu de plainte concernant cette pratique. De façon générale, le ministère de la Justice a suivi les recommandations du Commissariat pour la fiche de rendement de 2007–2008.

Fiche de rendement pour 2008–2009

Le ministère de la Justice a eu à nouveau un excellent classement en 2008–2009 : seulement 3,6 % des demandes sont entrées dans la catégorie des présomptions de refus. En outre, il a traité après leur date d’échéance seulement trois demandes reçues en 2008–2009, et cela, dans les 30 jours qui ont suivi. Le Ministère a fait preuve d’une grande détermination à maintenir son excellente conformité, depuis deux exercices consécutifs déjà, et le Commissariat reconnaît cette réalisation.

Comme preuve que des activités réussies d’accès à l’information dépendent de l’appui du leadership organisationnel, le bureau d’accès à l’information du ministère de la Justice compte sur l’engagement ferme de sa haute direction, un engagement qui est bien communiqué au sein du Ministère.

Le coordonnateur de l’accès à l’information a la pleine délégation des pouvoirs, lesquels sont respectés dans tout le Ministère. De plus, il y a une confiance envers le bureau d’accès à l’information, lequel comporte un personnel d’expérience qui aurait un bon moral. Étant donné ces points positifs et un solide appui organisationnel, il semblerait logique que le ministère de la Justice ait la capacité d’attirer des candidats et de maintenir le personnel en poste. Toutefois, selon le Ministère, le bureau aussi a été victime du recrutement acharné qui s’effectue entre les organisations qui sont en concurrence pour le personnel qualifié. Des processus concurrentiels visant deux employés se sont terminés lorsque les deux candidats intéressants ont décidé de ne pas changer d’employeur.

Le ministère de la Justice a soulevé la frustration ressentie par d’autres organisations à l’égard des processus de consultation très longs qui touchent quelques dossiers; il continue de traiter des dossiers à communiquer partiellement, et s’assure que les demandeurs soient au courant que d’autres renseignements pourraient suivre prochainement et qu’ils peuvent porter plainte à n’importe quel moment du processus. De plus, le Ministère laisse savoir aux demandeurs qu’ils pourraient recevoir les renseignements plus rapidement s’ils évitent de demander des dossiers pouvant contenir des documents confidentiels du Cabinet. Le Commissariat à l’information s’inquiète de cette pratique; en effet, elle pourrait diminuer le nombre de dossiers auxquels les demandeurs auraient autrement eu droit, ou encore compromettre leurs droits. Le ministère de la Justice devrait faire preuve d’une grande prudence s’il choisit de conserver cette pratique. Selon le Commissariat, une meilleure méthode consisterait à suivre la procédure établie et à consulter le Bureau du Conseil privé au sujet des dossiers pouvant contenir des documents confidentiels du Cabinet, compte tenu des décisions des tribunaux qui exigent que certains renseignements, comme des documents d’information ainsi que des analyses de problèmes ou de possibilités stratégiques, soient retirés des dossiers contenant des documents confidentiels du Cabinet.

La communauté de l’accès à l’information est au courant de la réussite du ministère de la Justice, et le Commissariat à l’information est satisfait d’apprendre que des organisations fédérales ainsi que leurs contreparties québécoises ont communiqué avec le Ministère pour en savoir davantage sur ce qui a mené à cette réussite. Des initiatives, comme des protocoles d’entente, des normes de service pour le délai de traitement des consultations et un processus d’approbation simplifié, qui se trouvent toutes dans un environnement très structuré et soutenu, permettront au ministère de la Justice d’en faire une réussite durable.

Recommandations

1. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que le ministère de la Justice Canada cesse de proposer aux demandeurs d’éliminer de leur demande les dossiers pouvant contenir des documents confidentiels du Cabinet et qu’il suive la procédure établie afin que les demandeurs reçoivent tous les documents auxquels ils ont droit en vertu de la Loi.

Réponse

Le ministère de la Justice informe le demandeur lorsque la majorité des dossiers contiennent des documents confidentiels du Cabinet (p. ex. des avant-projets de loi et des mémoires au Cabinet). La suggestion est faite avec l’aide du bureau de première responsabilité du Ministère.

De plus, le Ministère a fait preuve de transparence en donnant l’occasion aux demandeurs de donner un consentement éclairé sur la manière de procéder tout au long du processus. Les demandeurs ont aussi des options lorsque le volume ou le temps de recherche pose un problème. Pour aider les demandeurs, et dans le cadre de l’« obligation de prêter assistance », un aperçu du contenu des dossiers est fourni d’avance. En outre, la pratique est conforme aux normes de service, lesquelles sont publiées sur le site Web du ministère de la Justice dans la section « Principes sur l’assistance aux auteurs de demandes ».

2. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que le ministère de la Justice Canada s’efforce de réduire le taux de présomption de refus à zéro.

Réponse

La réduction à zéro du taux de présomption de refus a toujours été un objectif pour le ministère de la Justice et il s’efforcera de l’atteindre.

3. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que le ministère de la Justice Canada réduise le délai de traitement moyen des demandes.

Réponse

La réduction du délai de traitement moyen des demandes a toujours été un objectif pour le ministère de la Justice et il s’efforcera de l’atteindre.

4. Le Commissariat à l’information recommande que le ministère de la Justice Canada respecte la Loi et avise le Commissariat à l’information des prorogations de plus de 30 jours.

Réponse

Le ministère de la Justice a comme pratique d’aviser le Commissariat à l’information des prorogations de plus de 30 jours. Un rappel sera envoyé aux employés du bureau d’accès à l’information.


Taux de présomption de refus, 2004 à 2008–2009

Ce graphique illustre le taux de présomption de refus du ministère de la Justice pour les cinq dernières périodes de référence. Il s’agit du pourcentage de demandes reportées et de nouvelles demandes retardées par le ministère de la Justice chaque année au-delà des délais (30 jours et prorogés) stipulés par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Taux de présomption de refus, 2004 à 2008–2009

Importance du délai des demandes traitées en retard, 2008–2009

Le ministère de la Justice a indiqué qu’il a traité seulement 3 demandes reçues en 2008–2009 après leur date d’échéance. Ce graphique illustre que le Ministère les a traitées en moins de 30 jours.

Importance du délai des demandes traitées en retard, 2008–2009

Nombre et durée des prorogations signalées en 2008–2009

Ce graphique illustre le nombre et la durée des prorogations signalées par le ministère de la Justice en 2008–2009. L’institution a fait état de cette information dans les avis envoyés au Commissariat en vertu du paragraphe 9(2) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Le ministère de la Justice a soumis les avis dans 82 % des cas en 2008–2009; le Commissariat s’attend à ce que ce nombre atteigne 100 % en 2009–2010.

Nombre et durée des prorogations signalées en 2008–2009

Nombre et issue des plaintes relatives au délai déposées au Commissariat de 2006–2007 à 2008–2009

Ces graphiques illustrent le nombre et l’issue de deux types de plaintes déposées contre le ministère de la Justice au cours des trois dernières périodes de référence : plaintes au sujet de la présomption de refus (demandes d’accès à l’information que le ministère de la Justice a retardées au-delà des délais – 30 jours et prorogés – stipulés par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information) et plaintes concernant l’utilisation par le ministère de la Justice des prorogations autorisées en vertu de la Loi. Les plaintes résolues sont celles que le Commissariat estime fondées et que l’institution règle à la satisfaction du commissaire.

Plaintes sur la présomption de refus

Plaintes sur la présomption de refus

Le nombre de plaintes sur la présomption de refus a diminué de façon importante de 2006–2007 à 2008–2009 (de 7 à 1). En 2008–2009, le Commissariat à l’information a déterminé que la plainte sur la présomption de refus n’était pas fondée.

Plaintes sur le délai de prorogation

Plaintes sur le délai de prorogation

Deux plaintes sur le délai de prorogation ont été résolues dans chacune des deux premières périodes de référence; aucune plainte sur le délai de prorogation n’a été portée en 2008–2009.


Nombre et issue des plaintes déposées au Commissariat de 2006–2007 à 2008–2009

Ce tableau illustre le nombre et l’issue des plaintes déposées au Commissariat contre le ministère de la Justice dans chacune des trois dernières périodes de référence. Les plaintes résolues sont celles que le Commissariat estime fondées et que l’institution règle à la satisfaction du commissaire.

  Résolues Non fondées Abandonnées En suspens Total
2006–2007
Questions administratives 8 3 1 0 12
Refus 1 7 3 4 15
Documents confidentiels
du Cabinet
0 0 0 0 0
Total 9 10 4 4 27
2007–2008
Questions administratives 3 18 4 0 25
Refus 6 5 3 5 19
Documents confidentiels
du Cabinet
0 0 0 3 3
Total 9 23 7 8 47
2008–2009
Questions administratives 0 12 4 0 16
Refus 2 2 2 5 11
Documents confidentiels
du Cabinet
0 0 1 1 2
Total 2 14 7 6 29

Le total de plaintes a diminué de façon importante de 2007– 2008 à 2008–2009 (de 47 à 29). L’ensemble des plaintes que le Commissariat a résolu a aussi diminué au cours de cette période (9; 9; 2). Chaque exercice, la proportion de plaintes résolues par rapport aux plaintes en général a diminué (33 %; 19 %; 7 %). Les plaintes non fondées représentent près de la moitié de toutes les plaintes en 2008–2009 (14 sur 29).