Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Report Cards


Year


Previous Table of contents Next

Message from the Interim Commissioner

I am pleased to submit to Parliament this special report, which is part of my office’s Three-Year Plan for Report Cards and Systemic Issues. This plan takes a comprehensive approach to the assessment of delays in responses to access requests in order to better identify and address the issues at play.

Despite warnings and recommendations, delays continue to be the Achilles’ heel of the access to information system and have yet to be appropriately addressed across the government. Chronic delays are generating an increasing number of complaints, which compound the pressure on institutions, particularly those that are under-resourced. As a result, delays continue to erode requesters’ right to timely access to information.

This right is at risk of being totally obliterated because delays threaten to render the entire access regime irrelevant in our current information economy. Ever-evolving information and communications technologies have increased expectations for a quick dissemination of information enabling content creation and innovation. The government should be leading this new development or, at the very least, keeping up with the pace.

In preparing the report cards, we sought the representations of access coordinators—key players within institutions— about what contributes to or inhibits their operations. The process has largely benefited from the collaboration and experience of the coordinators and their staff. These public servants have a unique perspective as their mandate is about ensuring transparency, yet they work within an increasingly risk averse environment.

We have enlarged our sample of institutions this year to obtain a sound, fact-based assessment of the extent and sources of access delays across the government.

Where institutions are doing well, strong leadership overwhelmingly predicates success. These are institutions that have actively committed to transparency through the development and execution of comprehensive plans for their access programs, which typically take several years to fully realize their objectives. This is a realistic approach that requires focused and sustained support from the executive cadre.

However, these institutions represent the minority. Elsewhere, the continued denial of timely information to Canadians results from a number of factors. Insufficient resources, poor information management, misuse of time extensions, frequent and lengthy consultations, protracted review and approval processes, and inappropriate or ill-enforced delegation orders can delay the release of information for months on end.

Last fall, in response to the report from the House of Commons Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics proposing legislative changes to the Access to Information Act, the government indicated that any legislative amendments must be examined in the context of administrative alternatives.

Accordingly, this report analyzes issues that have direct and significant impact on the ability of institutions to meet their statutory deadlines for responding to access requests. I have recommended various measures for the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat to implement as the policy centre for the administration of the Act. Some of these are new measures; others reiterate recommendations from last year’s report cards process. These are sound, straightforward and overdue measures that will improve accountability while ensuring that access to information does not fall victim to the next wave of budgetary restraints.

The status quo whereby citizens want information that the government wants to control no longer works. The technical arcana of bureaucracy are neither a reasonable explanation nor an excuse for increasingly lengthy delays. As the custodians of information that belongs to Canadians, Parliament, the Information Commissioner and government must work with all stakeholders to achieve dynamic solutions that embrace democracy through the free flow of information.

Previous Table of contents Next

Date modified:

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiches de rendement


Année



Message de la commissaire par intérim

J’ai le plaisir de présenter au Parlement ce rapport spécial, qui s’inscrit dans le plan triennal du Commissariat portant sur les fiches de rendement et les problèmes systémiques. Ce plan établit une démarche exhaustive pour l’évaluation des retards dans les réponses aux demandes d’accès afin de mieux cerner et corriger les problèmes en cause.

Malgré avertissements et recommandations, les retards constituent toujours le talon d’Achille du système d’accès à l’information, n’ayant pas encore fait l’objet d’une attention adéquate à l’échelle du gouvernement. Les retards chroniques engendrent un nombre croissant de plaintes, qui entraînent des pressions additionnelles sur les institutions, particulièrement celles où les ressources font défaut. Par conséquent, les retards continuent de porter atteinte au droit qu’ont les demandeurs d’accéder rapidement à l’information.

Ce droit risque même l’oblitération puisque les retards menacent de faire perdre toute pertinence au système d’accès dans notre présente économie axée sur l’information. L’évolution constante des technologies de l’information et des communications a accru les attentes en faveur d’une diffusion rapide de l’information à même de favoriser la création de contenu et l’innovation. Le gouvernement devrait montrer l’exemple en ce domaine ou, du moins, emboîter le pas.

En vue d’élaborer nos fiches de rendement, nous avons demandé aux principaux intervenants dans les institutions, soit les coordonnateurs de l’accès, de nous indiquer ce qui favorise ou entrave leurs activités. La collaboration et l’expérience des coordonnateurs et de leur personnel nous ont été très précieuses. Leur perspective est d’autant plus instructive que leur mandat consiste à assurer la transparence au sein même d’un environnement de plus en plus réfractaire au risque.

Cette année, nous avons élargi notre échantillon d’institutions afin d’obtenir suffisamment de faits pour bien étayer notre évaluation de l’ampleur et des causes de retard dans l’accès à l’information à l’échelle du gouvernement

Les institutions qui obtiennent une bonne note doivent largement leur succès à un solide leadership. Il s’agit d’institutions qui se sont activement engagées en faveur de la transparence en mettant en place des plans d’action détaillés pour leurs programmes d’accès, lesquels requièrent habituellement plusieurs années pour atteindre tous les objectifs visés. Cette démarche des plus réalistes suppose un soutien marqué et constant de la part des cadres de direction.

De telles institutions représentent toutefois la minorité. Ailleurs, le refus d’accorder aux Canadiens un accès à l’information en temps opportun s’explique par plusieurs facteurs. Ressources insuffisantes, mauvaise gestion de l’information, utilisation inappropriée des prorogations de délai, consultations fréquentes et prolongées, longs processus d’examen et d’approbation, délégation de pouvoirs inadéquate ou mal appliquée, voilà autant d’éléments susceptibles de retarder la communication pendant des mois et des mois.

L’automne dernier, en réponse au rapport du Comité permanent de l’accès à l’information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l’éthique qui proposait des modifications législatives à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, le gouvernement a indiqué que toute modification législative doit s’inscrire dans le cadre d’un examen des solutions administratives.

Par conséquent, le présent rapport analyse les éléments qui ont une incidence directe et marquée sur la capacité des institutions de respecter les délais prescrits par la Loi pour répondre aux demandes d’accès. Il contient mes recommandations à mettre en œuvre par le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada, en sa qualité de centre décisionnel pour l’administration de la Loi. Certaines recommandations proposent de nouvelles mesures; d’autres réitèrent les recommandations issues des fiches de rendement de l’année dernière. Il s’agit là de mesures simples, sensées et fort attendues, qui amélioreront la reddition de comptes tout en veillant à ce que l’accès à l’information ne devienne pas la cible de la prochaine vague de compressions budgétaires.

Le statu quo selon lequel les citoyens veulent l’information que le gouvernement veut contrôler ne fonctionne plus. Les arcanes techniques de la bureaucratie ne sont ni une explication raisonnable, ni une excuse acceptable pour des délais de plus en plus longs. À titre de gardiens de l’information qui appartient aux Canadiens, le Parlement, le Commissariat et le gouvernement doivent travailler avec tous les intervenants pour trouver des solutions dynamiques qui font honneur à la démocratie en favorisant la libre circulation de l’information.