Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Report Cards


Year


2007-2008

Leadership 

Many access to information coordinators remarked on the critical importance of executive leadership to their institution’s performance. For example, one official observed that attitudes in his institution toward access to information compliance shifted significantly after the executive team sent a clear message to all staff that there would be zero tolerance for anything less than full co-operation with requests for information under the Act. Another official observed that a significant increase in resources for his access to information unit would not have been possible without firm support from the Deputy Minister. Unfortunately, there are also examples of inadequate leadership and this has a ripple effect in an institution, leading staff to believe that access to information is not a priority. One official observed that many senior executives are still unaware of their institution’s obligations under the Act. 

We have also heard from some access to information coordinators that a culture of openness is completely dependent on who makes the decisions in the institution and how well the organization supports its leaders. A good performance on access to information in the past would be no guarantee of future good performance if the leadership were to change.

Since the Treasury Board Secretariat has overall responsibility within the federal government for ensuring that all federal institutions subject to the Act implement their responsibilities properly, we would expect to see it exercising high-profile and forceful leadership in this area. Specifically, as suggested by the recommendations above, we would expect the Treasury Board Secretariat to be playing a much stronger role in undertaking data gathering and analysis of how the access to information system is working, including trends brought to light in this report, and developing a government-wide approach to dealing with the shortage of staff, deficiencies in records management, the need for a learning strategy and professional development for all employees on access to information. We would also expect the Treasury Board Secretariat to monitor closely the compliance of federal institutions with respect to their responsibilities under the Act.

Recommendation 10

That, as part of the Management Accountability Framework, the Treasury Board Secretariat review current criteria to ensure that they are measuring the overall performance of federal institutions in meeting their obligations under the Access to Information Act

Response

Parliament put in place a mechanism to ensure accountability for the administration of the Access to Information Act. Section 72 of the Act requires the head of every government institution to table an annual report on the administration of the Act within their institution before the House of Commons and the Senate. While this legal requirement applies to all 255 institutions subject to the ATIP legislation, only 20% of those institutions are assessed pursuant to the Management Accountability Framework (MAF). 

As part of the MAF, activities related to the administration of the Access to Information Act have been assessed since fiscal year 2005-2006. The Treasury Board Secretariat assessed the performance of 53 institutions in the first year and is currently assessing the performance of 49 institutions for fiscal year 2007-2008. This evaluation comprises a review and analysis of the institution's annual report, its Info Source chapter, Departmental Performance Report, Report on Plans and Priorities, Program Activity Architecture structure and website to determine if the institution is providing complete, comprehensive and up-to-date descriptions of its functions, programs, activities and related information holdings. The annual report of the Information Commissioner is also reviewed to establish if issues specific to an institution were identified.

The methodology used for the assessments is reviewed each year and revised as required. It is anticipated that the ongoing review and refinement of the MAF methodology will continue in the future to ensure alignment with new policies, directives as well as the new statistical data collected. This refinement process will ensure the harmonization of all compliance assessment processes and reduce the administrative burden on institutions.

Previous   Table of contents   Next
Date modified:

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiches de rendement


Année


Le leadership 

De nombreux coordonnateurs de l’accès à l’information ont fait valoir l’importance critique du leadership des dirigeants pour le rendement de leur institution. Ainsi, un fonctionnaire a constaté que les attitudes concernant la conformité en matière d’accès à l’information ont changé nettement dans son institution à la suite d’un message que l’équipe de direction a clairement adressé à l’ensemble du personnel selon lequel l’organisation n’accepterait rien de moins qu’une entière collaboration à l’égard des demandes de communication reçues en vertu de la Loi. Un autre fonctionnaire a affirmé que son unité d’accès à l’information n’aurait pas bénéficié de ressources additionnelles importantes sans l’appui énergique accordé par le sous-ministre. Malheureusement, il existe également des exemples de direction vacillante, ce qui n’est pas sans avoir un effet d’entraînement dans une institution, de telle sorte que les membres du personnel ne considèrent pas l’accès à l’information comme prioritaire. Un fonctionnaire dit avoir constaté que bon nombre de hauts dirigeants ne sont toujours pas au fait des obligations qui incombent à leur institution aux termes de la Loi.

Certains coordonnateurs de l’accès à l’information ont également fait valoir au Commissariat que l’ouverture d’une organisation dépend entièrement de la personnalité de ses décideurs et de la qualité de l’appui que l’organisation leur accorde. Ainsi, un bon rendement antérieur en matière d’accès à l’information ne garantit nullement de bons résultats futurs advenant un changement de direction.

Puisque le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor a la responsabilité de veiller à ce que toutes les institutions fédérales visées par la Loi s’acquittent correctement de leurs obligations, le Commissariat s’attend à ce qu’il assume son leadership en matière d’accès à l’information de façon visible et dynamique. Plus particulièrement, comme le suggèrent les recommandations précédentes, le Commissariat s’attend à ce que le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor joue un rôle beaucoup plus important dans la cueillette et l’analyse de données sur le fonctionnement du système d’accès à l’information, y compris les tendances mises en lumière dans le présent rapport. Le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor devrait aussi se charger d’élaborer une approche globale pour remédier à la pénurie de personnel, corriger les lacunes en matière de gestion de documents et répondre au besoin d’une stratégie d’apprentissage et de perfectionnement professionnel visant tous les employés en matière d’accès à l’information. Le Commissariat s’attend également à ce que le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor exerce un contrôle rigoureux de la conformité des institutions fédérales à l’égard de leurs responsabilités aux termes de la Loi.

Recommandation 10

Que le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor examine les critères actuels, dans l’optique du Cadre de responsabilisation de gestion, de façon à s’assurer qu’ils permettent de mesurer le rendement global des institutions fédérales pour ce qui est de satisfaire à leurs obligations aux termes de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information 

Réponse à la recommandation 10

Le Parlement a instauré un mécanisme visant à garantir la reddition des comptes concernant l’application de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Selon l’article 72 de la Loi, le chef de chaque institution fédérale doit remettre à la Chambre des communes et au Sénat un rapport annuel sur l’application de la Loi dans son organisation. Cette disposition s’applique aux 255 institutions visées par les lois sur l’AIPRP, mais 20 % d’entre elles seulement sont évaluées en vertu du Cadre de responsabilisation de gestion (CRG).  

C’est en fonction du CRG que les activités associées à l’application de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information sont évaluées depuis 2005-2006. Le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor a évalué le rendement de 53 institutions au cours de la première année et il est en train d’évaluer celui de 49 autres pour l’exercice 2007-2008. Cette évaluation comprend un examen et une analyse du rapport annuel de l’institution, de sa section dans Info Source, du rapport ministériel sur le rendement, du rapport sur les plans et les priorités, de la structure de l’architecture des activités de programme et du site Web. Cela permet de déterminer si l’institution fournit des descriptions complètes et actuelles de ses fonctions, de ses programmes, de ses activités et des renseignements qu’elle possède. On examine également le rapport annuel du Commissaire à l’information pour vérifier si celui-ci a décelé certains problèmes particuliers dans l’institution en question.

La méthode employée pour effectuer ces évaluations est examinée tous les ans et révisée au besoin. L’examen et l’amélioration de cette méthode se poursuivra dans l’avenir de façon à tenir compte des nouvelles politiques et directives et des nouvelles données statistiques recueillies. Ce processus continu de mise au point permettra de garantir l’harmonisation de toutes les procédures d’évaluation de la conformité et de réduire le fardeau administratif des institutions. 

Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant