Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Report Cards


Year


2007-2008

Human resources and training 

Every institution interviewed for this report referred to the difficulty of identifying, attracting and retaining staff qualified to work in access to information units. The general view is that demand for access to information staff far outstrips the supply. As an illustration of the instability of the access to information workforce, four out of the ten coordinators working for the institutions reviewed this year changed during this report cards process.

The human resource shortage has become especially acute following the proclamation of the Federal Accountability Act, which created a sudden demand for staff to serve in access to information units by increasing the number of institutions subject to the Act by 37 percent. More than 250 institutions are now subject to the Act.

Many access to information coordinators reported that they are attempting to cope with this problem over the short term by hiring consultants to deal with especially time-consuming files and/or to reduce information request backlogs. While access to information managers observed that the use of consultants has its place, especially with respect to highly technical files where outside expertise may be required, they would prefer not to use consultants as a means to manage the normal workload. They regard the practice as unsustainable over the long term, from the perspectives of both human and financial resource management. They express concern about the long-term human resource capacity of their institution, and of the Government of Canada in general, to meet its obligations under the Act.

The need for training access to information staff was a recurring theme during this year’s report cards process. Some institutions have put forward initiatives such as mentoring and coaching programs as well career development initiatives. These programs, however, even if they eventually achieve their goals, will not provide system-wide relief. We believe the way forward is to set standards for recruiting access to information specialists and recognize them as professionals, according to a certification process. In April 2007, during an appearance before the Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics, the Information Commissioner said:

“If I can just make a parallel here with internal audit, the Government of Canada, Treasury Board, has set standards for recruitment of internal auditors. They set standards for recruitment of financial officers, and certification is required. I believe the same thing should apply to ATI coordinators, so that a deputy minister who gets a report from his coordinator's office that says “This has to be divulged” can look at that report with the same kind of confidence as if he were getting it from an SFO or from an internal auditor.” 8

A year later, in its Access To Information Request For The Department Of Foreign Affairs And International Trade Internal Report Entitled “Afghanistan 2006: Good Governance, Democratic Development And Human Rights,” the Standing Committee recommended that the Government provide mandatory and extensive training to access to information and privacy coordinators, such as the Information Access and Protection of Privacy Certificate Program at the University of Alberta, and be certified pursuant to national standards.9 In its formal response, the Government of Canada indicated that the Treasury Board Secretariat was currently renewing its curriculum of courses as well as exploring various training and certification options.

We trust that the Standing Committee will follow up on its recommendations early in the 40th Parliament. We feel strongly that training and certification are integral parts of any solution to the staffing shortage. It is also a major factor in the retention of qualified people in the access to information and privacy community in the public service.

Recommendation 7

That the Treasury Board Secretariat, in collaboration with relevant institutions and agencies, develop and implement, as a matter of urgency, an integrated human resources action plan to address the current shortage of access to information staff. 

Recommendation 8

That the Treasury Board Secretariat accelerate its review, development and implementation of an extensive training program for access to information specialists, and establish certification standards for federal professionals. 

Access to information officials in several institutions described how their offices had undertaken training programs to raise awareness among colleagues about the Actin general and about the role and functions of the access to information unit. Their general impression is that, by helping to build understanding of and eliminate misconceptions about the Act and the methods of the ATI unit, these training programs have helped improve relations between the access to information unit and other parts of the organization and have led to more efficient processing of information requests. One interviewee said that “these efforts have a high payoff. They reduce considerably the back-and-forth between the access to information unit and offices of primary interest.” In this regard, it is worth noting that there is currently no mandatory staff training on access to information in federal institutions.  

Recommendation 9

That the Treasury Board Secretariat in collaboration with the Canada School of Public Service and the Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada develop an integrated learning strategy for all employees of the public service.  

Treasury Board Secretariat Response to recommendations 7, 8 and 9

The Treasury Board Secretariat recognizes the importance of organizing and providing training and development opportunities related to the Access to Information Act. To this end, the Policy on Access to Information contains a requirement for heads of institutions to make their employees aware of the policies, procedures and legal responsibilities under the Act. The Directive on the Administration of the Access to Information Act will contain more specific requirements to increase awareness for all employees and to provide opportunities for officials who have functional responsibility for the administration of the Act to gain greater knowledge of the Act.

9 Report of the Standing Commitee on Access to Information Privacy and Ethics, April 2008, http://www2.parl.gc.ca/HousePublications/Publication.aspx?DocId=3369467&Mode=1&Parl=39&Ses=2&Language=E

The Secretariat has for several years offered a training program to meet the specific needs of the ATIP community, providing on an ongoing basis, free of charge and in both official languages, sessions on a variety of ATIP-related topics. The Secretariat's commitment to training is evident in its efforts. Since April 1, 2008, 51 sessions have been delivered, with 628 participants attending. Another 26 sessions are planned for this fiscal year, and additional sessions may be added depending on registration. As the common learning provider to public servants, the Canada School of Public Service will assume the responsibility of delivering the ATIP Community training program. In addition, the Canada School, with the expertise of the Treasury Board Secretariat, will undertake the development of new courses to meet the growing needs of the ATIP Community.

Further, the Treasury Board Secretariat conducted a survey of the ATIP community to better understand the challenges it faces, assess its strengths and identify its needs. The conclusions drawn from the responses to the survey provided information that will be crucial in terms of the continued improvement of training program and examining how to alleviate difficulties affecting the community. The Secretariat, in collaboration with CSPS, is also examining broader issues related to community development, including competency profile development and, in the longer term, the possible professionalization of all ATIP practitioners within the Governmentof Canada.

The Canada School and the Treasury Board Secretariat will undertake further work towards identifying federal employee learning needs with respect to Access to Information within the first quarter of the 2009-2010 fiscal year. This should culminate in the establishment of an integrated learning strategy. A cornerstone is the Access to Information and Privacy overview course which is currently under development by the Canada School with the support of the Secretariat. The course, which will be piloted during the summer months, should be available across Canada in both official languages by September 2009. Also, commencing 2009/2010 fiscal year, the Canada School will be reviewing and updating all of its courses which have components related to Access to Information and Privacy Acts to ensure they reflect changes brought to the ATIP legislation, recent jurisprudence as well as the new policy instruments.

Specifically, the Canada School will be targeting training to ensure a learning continuum that starts with the Orientation of all new public servants, and the four mandatory Authority Delegation Training courses for public service managers. The Canada School maintains attendance records for all authority delegation training courses and is in a position to provide statistical information on the successful completion of the mandatory online assessment tools that aim at confirming the knowledge acquisition through this training.

In addition, the Secretariat prepared an introductory presentation on ATIP for senior officials. The presentation was sent to all Deputy Ministers to assist them in briefing their Ministers' Offices. The Secretariat also offers individual briefings on access to information and privacy to Governor in Council appointees. Finally, the Secretariat provides strategic advice and support to the ATIP community by issuing guidance documents on emerging issues and by holding regular community meetings. It also offers immediate assistance to ATIP officials on specific issues through its toll-free number or by electronic mail. 

Canada School of Public Service Response to Recommendation 9

The Canada School and the Treasury Board Secretariat will undertake further work towards identifying federal employee learning needs with respect to Access to Information within the first quarter of the 2009-2010 fiscal year. This should culminate in the establishment of an integrated learning strategy. A course, which will be piloted during the summer months, should be available across Canada in both official languages by September 2009.

More specifically, the Canada School will continue its work with representatives of the Treasury Board Secretariat to identify the nature and scope of training and the field of Access to Information required by employees of the public service. Furthermore, work is in progress in collaboration with the Treasury Board Secretariat to redesign a course that will provide a sound knowledge base for public servants. This course will certainly be an important part of the integrated learning strategy.

Currently, the Canada School offers a continuum of required training courses spanning from the Orientation to the Public Service program for all new public servants, to four mandatory Authority Delegation Training courses for public service managers at all levels. These courses convey key information on Access to Information from a legislative perspective, articulating roles and responsibilities, formal disclosure processes and the function of Access to Information units within departments and agencies. The School, with the support of the Treasury Board Secretariat, intends to review these courses during the 2009-2010 fiscal year at which time the ATIP components will be updated.


Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiches de rendement


Année


Les ressources humaines et la formation 

Toutes les institutions interviewées aux fins du présent rapport ont fait valoir la difficulté de repérer, d’attirer et de maintenir des candidats qualifiés pour travailler au sein des unités d’accès à l’information. On considère généralement que la demande de personnel qualifié en la matière dépasse largement l’offre. Pour illustrer l’instabilité de cette main-d’œuvre, soulignons que quatre des dix coordonnateurs rattachés aux institutions faisant l’objet de la présente évaluation ont changé de poste au cours de la période à l’étude.

La pénurie de ressources humaines est devenue particulièrement grave à la suite de l’adoption de la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité. Celle-ci a entraîné un accroissement soudain de la demande de personnel dans les unités d’accès à l’information en augmentant de 37 p. 100 le nombre des institutions visées par la Loi, qui s’élève maintenant à plus de 250 institutions.

De nombreux coordonnateurs de l’accès à l’information ont confié au Commissariat qu’ils s’efforçaient de surmonter ce problème à court terme en embauchant des consultants pour traiter les dossiers les plus coûteux en temps ou pour réduire l’arriéré des demandes de communication. Tout en reconnaissant l’utilité des consultants – notamment pour les dossiers très techniques pouvant nécessiter une expertise externe – les gestionnaires de l’accès à l’information préféreraient ne pas devoir s’en remettre à des consultants pour gérer le travail de routine. Il s’agit là d’une pratique qui, selon eux, n’est pas viable à long terme, tant sur le plan de la gestion des ressources humaines que pour la gestion financière. Les gestionnaires concernés s’interrogent sur la capacité de leur institution et du gouvernement du Canada en général, sur le plan des ressources humaines, de s’acquitter à long terme des obligations aux termes de la Loi.

La nécessité de former du personnel en matière d’accès à l’information a été soulignée à maintes reprises au cours du processus d’établissement des présentes fiches de rendement. Certaines institutions ont mis en place des initiatives telles que le mentorat ou l’assistance professionnelle en plus de programmes de perfectionnement professionnel. Même s’ils permettent d’atteindre les objectifs visés, ces programmes ne pourront cependant pas régler le problème de pénurie. La voie à suivre, selon le Commissariat, consiste à établir des normes pour le recrutement des spécialistes de l’accès à l’information et de reconnaître ces derniers en tant que professionnels, en fonction d’un processus d’accréditation. En avril 2007, lors de sa comparution devant le Comité permanent de l’accès à l’information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l’éthique, le Commissaire à l’information a déclaré :

Si vous me le permettez, j’aimerais faire un parallèle ici avec la vérification interne. Le gouvernement du Canada, le Conseil du Trésor, ont établi des normes pour le recrutement des vérificateurs internes. Ils ont établi des normes pour le recrutement des agents financiers pour lesquels une accréditation est exigée. Je pense qu’il faudra faire de même pour les coordonnateurs de l’accès à l’information, afin qu’un sous-ministre qui reçoit un rapport du bureau de son coordonnateur qui indique que l’information doit être communiquée, puisse examiner ce rapport avec la même confiance que s’il le recevait d’un agent financier supérieur ou d’un vérificateur interne.8

8 Témoignages présentés à la 1re session de la 39e législature du Parlement,http://www2.parl.gc.ca/HousePublications/Publication.aspx?DocId=2875419&Mode=1&Parl=39&Ses=1&Language=F

Un an plus tard, dans sa demande d’Accès à l’information pour le rapport interne du ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international intitulé « Afghanistan 2006 : Bonne gouvernance, démocratie et droits de la personne », le Comité permanent a recommandé que le gouvernement assure une formation obligatoire et approfondie aux coordonnateurs de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels, s’inspirant par exemple du Information Access and Protection of Privacy Certificate Program de l’Université de l’Alberta, et que ces derniers fassent l’objet d’une accréditation en fonction de normes nationales.9 Dans sa réponse officielle, le gouvernement du Canada a fait savoir que le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor était à renouveler son programme de cours et explorait diverses possibilités en matière de formation et d’accréditation.

Le Commissariat ose croire que le Comité permanent donnera suite à ses recommandations à brève échéance durant la 40e législature. Nous sommes convaincus que toute solution à la pénurie d’effectifs passe notamment par la formation et l’accréditation, qui jouent également un rôle primordial dans la rétention de fonctionnaires compétents en matière d’accès à l’information et de protection des renseignements personnels.

Recommandation 7

Que le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, en collaboration avec les institutions et organismes concernés, élabore et mette en œuvre, dans les plus brefs délais, un plan d’action intégré visant les ressources humaines pour résorber la pénurie actuelle du personnel des unités d’accès à l’information.

Recommandation 8

Que le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor accélère l’examen, l’élaboration et la mise en œuvre d’un programme de formation d’envergure visant les spécialistes de l’accès à l’information et qu’il établisse des normes d’accréditation des professionnels du gouvernement fédéral.  

Les responsables de l’accès à l’information de plusieurs institutions ont fait état des efforts de leurs bureaux pour offrir des programmes de sensibilisation auprès de leurs collègues concernant la Loi en général ainsi que le rôle et les fonctions de l’unité d’accès à l’information. Ils en retiennent que ces programmes de formation – qui favorisent la compréhension de la Loi et des méthodes de l’unité d’accès à l’information tout en dissipant les idées fausses à cet égard – ont permis d’améliorer les relations entre l’unité d’accès à l’information et d’autres services de l’organisation et ont engendré une plus grande efficacité dans le traitement des demandes de communication. Selon l’une des personnes interviewées, « de tels efforts donnent de très bons résultats. Ils entraînent une réduction considérable du va et vient entre l’unité d’accès à l’information et les bureaux de première responsabilité. » Cela dit, il convient de noter qu’il n’existe actuellement aucune formation obligatoire du personnel en matière d’accès à l’information dans les institutions fédérales.

Recommandation 9

Que le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, en collaboration avec l’École de la fonction publique du Canada et le Commissariat à l’information du Canada, élabore une stratégie intégrée d’apprentissage visant l’ensemble des employés de la fonction publique.  

Réponse du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor aux recommandations 7, 8 et 9 

Le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor reconnaît l’importance d’offrir de la formation et du perfectionnement concernant la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. C’est pourquoi la Politique sur l’accès à l’information prévoit que les chefs des institutions fédérales doivent informer leurs employés des politiques, procédures et responsabilités juridiques associées à la Loi. La Directive sur l’administration de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information contiendra des exigences plus précises pour sensibiliser davantage les employés et fournir plus d’information sur la Loi aux fonctionnaires chargés de responsabilités fonctionnelles concernant son application.

9 Rapport du Comité permanent de l’accès à l’information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l’éthique, avril 2008,http://www2.parl.gc.ca/HousePublications/Publication.aspx?DocId=3369467&Mode=1&Parl=39&Ses=2&Language=F

Depuis plusieurs années, le Secrétariat offre un programme de formation répondant aux besoins des responsables de l’AIPRP. Des séances sont ainsi offertes régulièrement, gratuitement et dans les deux langues officielles, sur toutes sortes de sujets ayant trait à l’AIPRP. L’engagement du Secrétariat à fournir de la formation est évident. Depuis le 1er avril 2008, il a organisé 51 séances, auxquelles ont participé 628 personnes. Vingt-six autres séances sont prévues pour l’exercice en cours, et d’autres pourraient s’y ajouter selon le nombre d’inscriptions reçues. Comme fournisseur des services de formation commune à l’ensemble des fonctionnaires, l’École de la fonction publique du Canada sera chargée d’exécuter le programme de formation des responsables de l’AIPRP. Avec l’aide du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, elle élaborera également de nouveaux cours pour répondre aux besoins croissants des intéressés. 

Le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor a mené une enquête auprès des responsables de l’AIPRP pour mieux comprendre leurs difficultés, évaluer leurs atouts et circonscrire leurs besoins. Les conclusions de cette enquête joueront un rôle fondamental dans l’amélioration continue du programme de formation et dans l’examen des moyens visant à remédier aux difficultés. De concert avec l’École, le Secrétariat est en train d’examiner des questions plus générales concernant le perfectionnement des responsables, dont l’élaboration d’un profil de compétences et, à plus long terme, l’éventuelle professionnalisation de tous les praticiens de l’AIPRP au sein du gouvernement du Canada.

Au cours du premier trimestre de l’exercice 2009-2010, l’École de la fonction publique et le Secrétariat du Canada du Trésor continueront de circonscrire les besoins des fonctionnaires fédéraux en matière d’apprentissage concernant la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Ce travail devrait se solder par l’élaboration d’une stratégie d’apprentissage intégrée. L’une des pierres angulaires de ce travail est le cours d’initiation sur l’accès à l’information et la protection des renseignements personnels que l’École est en train d’élaborer avec l’aide du Secrétariat. Ce cours, qui sera mis à l’essai au cours de l’été, devrait être offert dans tout le pays et dans les deux langues officielles d’ici septembre 2009. À partir de 2009-2010, l’École commencera également à examiner et à mettre à jour tous les cours dont un volet a trait à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels pour s’assurer qu’ils tiennent compte des nouveaux textes législatifs relatifs à l’AIPRP, de la jurisprudence récente et des nouveaux instruments stratégiques. Plus précisément, l’École visera à offrir un éventail continu allant de l’orientation des nouveaux fonctionnaires aux quatre cours obligatoires sur la délégation de pouvoirs, qui s’adressent aux gestionnaires de la fonction publique. L’École tient des relevés de présence à tous les cours de formation sur la délégation de pouvoirs et elle est en mesure de fournir des données statistiques sur l’utilisation des instruments d’évaluation en ligne obligatoires qui permettent de confirmer l’acquisition de connaissances au moyen de cette formation.

Par ailleurs, le Secrétariat a préparé une présentation de base sur l’AIPRP à l’intention des cadres supérieurs et l’a adressée à tous les sous-ministres pour les aider à informer leur personnel. Il offre également aux personnes désignées par le gouverneur en conseil des séances d’information individuelles sur l’accès à l’information et la protection des renseignements personnels. Enfin, il fournit des conseils stratégiques et de l’aide aux responsables de l’AIPRP en publiant des documents d’orientation sur les enjeux émergents et en organisant régulièrement des réunions. Il offre également une aide immédiate aux responsables de l’AIPRP qui doivent régler certains problèmes, au moyen d’une ligne sans frais ou par courriel.  

Réponse de l’École de la fonction publique du Canada à la recommandation 9  

Au cours du premier trimestre de l’exercice 2009-2010, l’École de la fonction publique et le Secrétariat du Canada du Trésor continueront de circonscrire les besoins d’apprentissage des fonctionnaires fédéraux en matière d’accès à l’information. Ce travail devrait se solder par l’élaboration d’une stratégie d’apprentissage intégrée. Un cours, qui sera mis à l’essai durant l’été, devrait être offert dans tout le pays et dans les deux langues officielles d’ici septembre 2009.

Plus précisément, l’École poursuivra son travail en collaboration avec des représentants du Secrétariat pour déterminer la nature et l’ampleur de la formation à offrir et les aspects de l’accès à l’information que les fonctionnaires ont besoin de mieux comprendre. Toujours en collaboration avec Secrétariat, l’École en est à refondre un cours qui servira à fournir une solide base aux fonctionnaires. Ce cours sera certainement un élément important de la stratégie d’apprentissage intégrée.

À l’heure actuelle, l’École offre un éventail continu de cours allant de l’orientation des nouveaux employés aux quatre cours obligatoires sur la délégation de pouvoirs, qui sont offerts aux gestionnaires de tous niveaux. Ces cours fournissent de l’information de base sur l’accès à l’information du point de vue des exigences législatives : rôles et responsabilités, procédures de communication formelle et fonction des unités d’accès à l’information dans les ministères et organismes. L’École, avec l’appui du Secrétariat, a l’intention de réviser ces cours pendant l’exercice 2009-2010, et c’est à ce moment-là que les volets relatifs à l’AIPRP seront mis à jour.

Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant