Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Report Cards


Year


2007-2008

INTRODUCTION 

The Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) helps to ensure that federal institutions respect the Access to Information Act (the Act)and make information more readily available in order to keep the federal government accountable to Canadians.

The Act gives any Canadian citizen, resident or company the right to request and receive information that federal institutions have. This could include documents, pictures, letters, emails and memos. There are some limitations, however: Cabinet documents; information that could harm Canada’s security or economy, federal-provincial relations or international affairs; as well as personal information about individuals.

Once an institution receives an access to information request, it must answer within 30 days, or justify a time extension. For example, the institution might need to consult with another institution, particularly about records which might involve Cabinet confidences or about records that if released, might affect Canada’s international relations. If it fails to answer within 30 days, the institution is deemed to have refused to give access (deemed refusal). In this and other cases where it is believed that the institution is not complying with the provisions of the Act, requesters can complain to the OIC.

The Office also conducts annual reviews of samples of federal institutions to assess their overall compliance with the Act and identify any problem areas that should be corrected. A new report cards process with an enhanced assessment framework was introduced for 2007-2008.

In addition to the usual data on deemed refusals and time extensions, the new framework includes contextual factors such as changes in workload, capacity, process or leadership, which provide a broader picture of institutional performance. The process has also allowed us to identify and analyze five issues that impact the ability of most institutions to fulfill their obligations under the Act. These system-wide issues are: information management, time extensions, consultations, human resources and leadership.

Based on a range of specific criteria, we selected a sample of ten institutions, including: Canada Border Services Agency; Department of Justice Canada; Department of National Defence; Foreign Affairs and International Trade; Health Canada; Library and Archives Canada; Natural Resources Canada; the Privy Council Office; Public Works and Government Services Canada; and the Royal Canadian Mounted Police.

These institutions were asked to complete a questionnaire about their access to information activities from April 1, 2007 to March 31, 2008.1 OIC staff met representatives of each institution to gather qualitative contextual information. A copy of each institution’s report card was then sent to the key access to information officials in that institution, asking for clarifications where needed and for an action plan to respond to our recommendations.  

Chapter three contains the report card for each institution, along with a discussion of key challenges which have affected its performance in responding to access requests. It also includes our recommendations to help the organization improve its performance as well as the institution’s response. The analysis of system-wide issues is provided in Chapter one. While refining our assessment framework, we also looked for additional ways to improve the report cards process. Chapter two details our commitments in this regard.

1 The questionnaire and the answers provided by all en federal institutions can be consulte by clicking the questionnaire

Previous   Table of contents   Next
Date modified:

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiches de rendement


Année


INTRODUCTION

Le Commissariat à l’information du Canada (le Commissariat) contribue à faire en sorte que les institutions fédérales respectent la Loi sur l’accès à l’information (la Loi) et rendent l’information plus accessible afin que le gouvernement fédéral continue de rendre des comptes aux Canadiens.

La Loi accorde à tout citoyen, résident permanent, particulier ou groupe constitué en personne morale se trouvant au Canada, le droit de demander et d’obtenir des renseignements détenus par une institution fédérale. Il peut s’agir de documents, d’images, de lettres, de courriels et de notes de service. Il existe toutefois des restrictions, notamment en ce qui concerne les documents du Cabinet et les renseignements susceptibles de nuire à la sécurité ou à l’économie canadienne, aux relations fédérales-provinciales ou aux relations internationales, ainsi que les renseignements personnels au sujet des particuliers.

Lorsqu’une institution reçoit une demande de communication, elle doit y répondre dans les 30 jours ou justifier toute prorogation de délai. Par exemple, l’institution peut devoir en consulter une autre, notamment au sujet de documents pouvant contenir des renseignements confidentiels du Cabinet ou des dossiers qui, si leur contenu était divulgué, risqueraient d’avoir une incidence sur les relations internationales du Canada. Si l’institution ne répond pas dans les 30 jours, ou avant l’échéance de la prorogation, cela équivaut à un refus de communication (présomption de refus). En pareil cas ou si on croit qu’une institution ne respecte pas les dispositions de la Loi, il est possible de déposer une plainte auprès du Commissariat.

Le Commissariat effectue également un examen annuel du rendement d’un échantillon d’institutions fédérales pour évaluer globalement dans quelle mesure celles-ci respectent leurs obligations en vertu de la Loi et pour cerner les problèmes à régler. Un nouveau processus d’établissement des fiches de rendement, jumelé à un cadre d’évaluation amélioré, a été mis en œuvre pour l’exercice 2007-2008.

Outre les données habituelles sur les présomptions de refus et les prorogations de délai, le nouveau cadre prend en compte certains facteurs contextuels — par exemple, les modifications du volume de travail, la capacité, le processus ou le leadership — qui fournissent un aperçu plus vaste du rendement des institutions. Le processus a également permis au Commissariat de cerner et d’analyser cinq éléments qui ont une incidence sur la capacité de la plupart des institutions de s’acquitter de leurs obligations aux termes de la Loi. Ces problèmes systémiques concernent la gestion de l’information, les prorogations de délai, les consultations, les ressources humaines et le leadership.

Selon un certain nombre de critères bien précis, le Commissariat a choisi d’examiner le rendement des dix institutions suivantes: Affaires étrangères et Commerce international; Agence des services frontaliers du Canada; Bibliothèque et Archives Canada; Bureau du Conseil privé; Gendarmerie royale du Canada; ministère de la Défense nationale; ministère de la Justice Canada; Ressources naturelles Canada; Santé Canada; Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada.

Le Commissariat a demandé à ces institutions de remplir unquestionnaire concernant leurs activités en matière d’accès à l’information, pour la période du 1er avril 2007 au 31 mars 20081. Les représentants du Commissariat ont rencontré des fonctionnaires de chacune de ces institutions pour obtenir des renseignements contextuels pertinents; ils ont ensuite fait parvenir un exemplaire de la fiche de rendement à chacun des responsables de l’accès à l’information des institutions en leur demandant des précisions au besoin et un plan d’action pour donner suite aux recommandations du Commissariat.

Le chapitre 3 contient la fiche de rendement de chaque institution visée par l’examen ainsi qu’un exposé des principaux défis qui ont influé sur son rendement dans le traitement des demandes de communication. Ce chapitre présente également les recommandations du Commissariat pour aider chacune des institutions à améliorer son rendement, ainsi que la réponse des institutions à ces recommandations. Le chapitre 1 renferme l’analyse des problèmes relevés à l’échelle du système. Tout en raffinant son cadre d’évaluation, le Commissariat a cherché d’autres façons d’améliorer le processus d’établissement des fiches de rendement. Le chapitre 2 détaille les engagements du Commissariat à cet égard.

1 En cliquant sur le mot questionnaire, vous pourrez consulter les réponses fournies par les dix institutions fédérales visées.

Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant