Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Report Cards


Year


2007-2008

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY 

As part of its mandate to promote open and transparent government, the Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada (OIC) reviews selected federal institutions to assess their compliance with the Access to Information Act (the Act) and identify any problem areas that should be corrected.

The Special Report for 2007-2008 reflects the introduction of a new process for establishing the report cards of institutional performance, which make them more relevant and useful to Parliament in increasing accountability and transparency. The enhanced process provides more information on various contextual factors that affect the performance of an institution. It also allows us to examine important system-wide issues which confront most institutions yet are beyond their immediate control.

In this report, the OIC makes various recommendations to the Treasury Board Secretariat (TBS) and to the individual institutions in order to address these issues.

Systemic issues 

In carrying out its system-wide assessment, the OIC has identified five closely related areas of concern, namely: information management, time extensions, consultations, human resources and leadership.

Information management

Access to information depends heavily on information management practices. If institutions cannot effectively manage their information, they will most likely have difficulty in responding to information requests in a timely, complete and consistent manner.

Therefore, it is of particular concern that standards for information management seem to be poorly applied across the federal government. Outmoded, inconsistent or inefficient records management practices and systems tend to slow down the process of finding and retrieving records. This year’s process also uncovered irregularities and inconsistencies between the information that institutions provided the OIC and data collected by TBS.

Clearly, the federal government has not succeeded in addressing the challenge that the modern digital information environment presents. There is now an urgent need for leadership and government-wide action in this area, including developing and maintaining state of the art information management practices and resources.

Time extensions

A second area of concern is the use of time extensions when institutions are unable to fulfill an access to information request within the statutory 30-day limit.

Contrary to the original intention of the Act, it would seem that extensions have become the norm rather than the exception. The OIC’s analysis shows a trend toward greater use of time extensions and for longer periods of time. Some of the institutions reviewed this year took an average of 120 days to respond to requesters.

There is a variety of possible reasons for this trend. Part of it can be legitimately attributed to the ever-increasing complexity and interdependency of government work, which call for more partnerships and consultations. There could also be underlying challenges — such as a lack of resources — that make it difficult for institutions to respond to requests on a timely basis. Finally, it could be the case that institutions are relying on extensions as a tactic to avoid a poor performance record as measured by deemed refusals.

Also of concern to the OIC is the lack of checks and balances needed to make sure the system is not being abused and that all institutions using extensions are doing so for legitimate and documented reasons. There is currently little guidance on the use of time extensions and their duration. There are limited powers to enforce the existing requirements, and there is no sanction provided in the Act for poor performance.

There is no doubt that more discipline is required on the use of time extensions. Although irregularities and inconsistencies in the data available on extensions do not allow us to draw any definitive conclusions at this point, the OIC has sufficient evidence that the use and duration of time extensions have significantly slowed down the treatment of requests. The OIC will closely monitor the situation while undertaking a systemic investigation of the use of extensions across federal institutions.

Consultations

Consultations have now become an issue of concern for two reasons: first, their increasing volume and impact on institutions’ workload; second, the delays and resulting risk management practices.

Because so much of the government’s work today is shared across several institutions, the sheer number of consultation requests is rapidly increasing and, therefore, adding to the workload of institutions. Yet, this burden on institutions is not currently recognized, measured or appropriately resourced.  

Moreover, only the institution subject to the request is currently accountable for meeting the requirements of the Act. Other institutions that might be consulted are not held to any standard. Institutions have therefore adopted practices in order to manage the risk of long delays resulting from consultation requests.

The magnitude of consultation requests clearly needs to be better documented with a view to allocating adequate resources for this function.

Human resources and training

Because of an acute shortage of experienced personnel in the area, institutions have had a difficult time attracting and keeping qualified professionals to manage access to information operations. They are attempting to cope with the shortage by hiring consultants — a practice which is unsustainable over the long term.

As a matter of urgency, the OIC reiterates its recommendation that the federal government set standards for recruiting access to information specialists and recognize them as professionals pursuant to a certification process.

It is also worth noting that there is currently no mandatory staff training on access to information in federal institutions, despite the high payoff in terms of raising awareness about the Act and improving the processing of access to information requests.

Therefore, the OIC recommends that the Treasury Board Secretariat work with the Canada School of Public Service to develop an integrated learning strategy for all employees of the public service.

Leadership

Leadership is a crucial factor in determining how well an institution meets its obligations under the Act. When a senior manager sends a clear message that access to information requests deserve full and efficient co-operation, performance standards improve. Unfortunately, that leadership currently depends on responsible and committed managers stepping forward. If these managers move on to other institutions, there is no guarantee that their standards will be upheld.

The OIC expects that TBS will fulfill its responsibility and exercise the high-profile and forceful leadership which is required in the area of access to information. To this end, the Office also recommends that TBS review its current criteria to measure institutional performance.

Institutional Report Cards 

The system-wide issues discussed in this report emerge from a detailed analysis of the performance of ten federal institutions covered by the Act. The institutions were sampled according to specific criteria including: their previous performance, the number of consultations with other institutions on access requests, their use of extensions, the approval process, and good practices.

The assessment framework used for this year’s report has been expanded to provide a broader picture of institutional performance. Where appropriate, the report card includes a description of contextual factors — such as changes in workload, capacity, process or leadership — which might have impacted the ability of the institution to fulfill its obligations under the Act.

Institutions received a score — ranging from one to five stars — according to their overall performance. For 2007-2008, the Department of Justice Canada achieved the best score despite significant challenges, such as a steep increase in the number of consultation requests from other departments. This outstanding performance results from new practices introduced in recent years which have allowed the department, among other things, to complete two thirds of the new requests received during the year within 30 days and to fulfill most extended requests within 90 days. Library and Archives Canada maintained a high level of performance from the previous review period and succeeded in responding to roughly three quarters of requests within 30 days. However, it was determined that the length of the vast majority of time extensions could not be justified.

Two institutions had a fair level of compliance in 2007-2008: the Privy Council Office and Natural Resources Canada. Although the OIC assessed the performance of the Privy Council Office’s ATIP Office on many occasions in the last decade, it is the first time the performance of the Privy Council Office’s Cabinet Confidences/Counsel was reviewed. This group is responsible for determining whether records containing Cabinet confidences should be protected from disclosure. There is much criticism expressed by federal institutions about mandatory consultations with Cabinet Confidences/Counsel and the time it takes to receive a response. The questionnaire used this year only provided a glimpse into the consultation process related to Cabinet confidences. A more precise tool will be developed for future assessments.

The remaining six institutions performed at a below average level in 2007-2008 for a variety of reasons. Most institutions struggled due to a significant increase in their workload (the number of requests received, the number of pages reviewed and/or the number of requests for consultation received). Some also made great use of prolonged time extensions, have convoluted approval processes and lack expediency in responding to consultation requests.

The Canadian Border Services Agency and Public Works and Government Services Canada have elaborated and implemented a three-year improvement plan, which allowed them to reduce significantly their backlog of requests during the review period and improve various elements of their operations.

Health Canada and the Royal Canadian Mounted Police also put a lot of efforts to reduce their backlog of requests. However, Health Canada needs to review and streamline its processing model to avoid additional delays and the Royal Canadian Mounted Police should enhance its case management system to monitor more closely all aspects of its operations.

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada’s overall workload significantly increased during the review period, especially considering the volume of consultation requests it received from other federal institutions. Due to limited resources, its turnaround time on consultation requests is on average 75 days. Prolonged consultations are a major concern to the OIC because of their effects on the access to information system.

Finally, Canada’s mission in Afghanistan and the associated complexity of processing records stemming from an ongoing mission continued to be a challenge for the Department of National Defence. This situation has led to an increase in the workload as well as in the use of time extensions to alleviate this increase, and the creation of an internal task group to review sensitive information related to the ongoing mission. Overall, the access process has been delayed.

Office of the Information Commissioner Commitments 

In implementing its new report cards process, the OIC has devised ways to further improve its own work. As a result, it will review the classification used to describe the outcome of complaints so that it provides more useful and fairer information about institutions’ responses. Moreover, by 2009-2010, the Office will implement criteria for measuring the degree to which institutions are releasing information in compliance with the Act. It also commits to better inform federal institutions about the report card process and its requirements well ahead of time.


Previous Table of contents Next
Date modified:

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiches de rendement


Année


SOMMAIRE

Dans le cadre de son mandat qui vise notamment à promouvoir l’ouverture et la transparence de l’appareil gouvernemental, le Commissariat à l’information du Canada (le Commissariat) examine le rendement de certaines institutions fédérales pour évaluer leur degré de conformité aux dispositions de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information (la Loi) et ainsi cerner les problèmes à régler.

Le présent rapport spécial, portant sur l’exercice 2007-2008, reflète l’introduction d’un nouveau processus pour l’établissement des fiches de rendement des institutions fédérales, qui s’avère encore plus pertinent et utile pour aider le Parlement à accroître la reddition de comptes et la transparence. Ce processus amélioré renseigne davantage sur divers facteurs contextuels ayant une incidence sur le rendement d’une institution. Il permet également d’examiner d’importants problèmes qui se posent à l’échelle du système et auxquels la plupart des institutions sont confrontées sans pouvoir les contrôler.

Dans ce rapport, le Commissariat fait diverses recommandations au Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor ainsi qu’aux institutions visées pour les aider à remédier aux problèmes.

PROBLÈMES SYSTÉMIQUES

Lors de son évaluation globale du système, le Commissariat a cerné cinq éléments interreliés qui soulèvent des préoccupations, en l’occurrence la gestion de l’information, les prorogations de délai, les consultations, les ressources humaines et la formation, ainsi que le leadership.

La gestion de l’information

L’accès à l’information est largement tributaire des pratiques de gestion de l’information. Si certaines institutions ne gèrent pas efficacement l’information, il est fort probable qu’elles aient de la difficulté à répondre aux demandes d’information de façon complète et uniforme, dans les délais prévus.

Par conséquent, il est particulièrement préoccupant de constater que le respect des normes relatives à la gestion de l’information laisse à désirer dans l’ensemble du gouvernement fédéral. Des pratiques et des systèmes de gestion des documents dépassés, disparates ou inefficaces tendent à ralentir la recherche et l’obtention des dossiers. L’évaluation de cette année a également permis de relever certaines irrégularités ou incohérences entre l’information que les institutions ont fournie au Commissariat et les données recueillies par le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor.

De toute évidence, le gouvernement fédéral n’a pas réussi à relever le défi de l’environnement moderne axé sur l’information numérique. Il est urgent de faire preuve de leadership et de prendre les mesures appropriées à l’échelle du gouvernement, dont l’élaboration et le maintien de pratiques et de ressources de gestion de l’information à la fine pointe de la technologie.

Les prorogations de délai

Une deuxième source de préoccupation réside dans l’utilisation des prorogations de délai, auxquelles les institutions ont recours lorsqu’elles ne sont pas en mesure de donner suite à une demande de communication dans le délai de 30 jours prévu par la Loi.

Contrairement à l’objectif prévu par la Loi, il semble que les prorogations de délai sont devenues la norme plutôt que l’exception. L’analyse du Commissariat révèle une tendance à recourir davantage aux prorogations de délai et pour des périodes plus longues. Certaines des institutions ayant fait l’objet d’un examen cette année ont mis en moyenne 120 jours pour répondre aux demandeurs.  

Diverses raisons peuvent expliquer cette tendance. Elle peut en partie être attribuable à la complexité et l’interdépendance accrues des activités gouvernementales, qui exigent davantage de partenariats et de consultations. Cela résulte peut-être aussi de certains défis sous-jacents — notamment un manque de ressources — qui compliquent la tâche des institutions lorsqu’il s’agit de répondre aux demandes en temps opportun. Enfin, il est possible que les institutions utilisent les prorogations de délai comme tactique pour éviter les présomptions de refus qui nuisent à la fiche de rendement.

Le Commissariat est également préoccupé par l’absence des freins et contrepoids nécessaires pour empêcher les abus et faire en sorte que les institutions recourent aux prorogations de délai pour des motifs légitimes et bien documentés. À l’heure actuelle, on trouve peu de lignes directrices sur les recours aux prorogations de délai et sur leur durée. De surcroît, peu de pouvoirs ont été accordés pour faire respecter les exigences actuelles et la Loi ne prévoit aucune sanction en cas de mauvais rendement.

De toute évidence, une plus grande discipline s’impose en ce qui concerne le recours aux prorogations de délai. Les irrégularités et les incohérences parmi les données disponibles ne permettent pas de tirer de conclusions définitives pour le moment. Toutefois, le Commissariat a recueilli suffisamment d’éléments qui montrent que le recours aux prorogations de délai et la durée de celles-ci ralentissent considérablement le traitement des demandes. Le Commissariat surveillera la situation de près et mènera une enquête systémique sur le recours aux prorogations de délai dans l’ensemble des institutions fédérales.

Les consultations

Les consultations sont devenues une source de préoccupation pour deux raisons : d’abord, l’augmentation de leur volume et leur incidence sur le volume de travail des institutions; ensuite, à cause des retards qu’elles entraînent et des pratiques de gestion du risque auxquelles elles donnent lieu.

Puisqu’une part considérable des activités gouvernementales suppose aujourd’hui la collaboration de plusieurs institutions, le nombre de demandes de consultations augmente rapidement et, par conséquent, alourdit le volume de travail des institutions. Or, ce fardeau additionnel n’est ni reconnu ni mesuré, et donc les ressources pour y répondre ne suffisent pas.

En outre, seule l’institution visée par la demande est actuellement tenue responsable du respect des exigences prévues par la Loi. Les institutions consultées n’ont aucun compte à rendre. Par conséquent, les institutions ont adopté certaines pratiques pour gérer le risque des longs délais liés aux demandes de consultation.

De toute évidence, il faut mieux documenter l’ampleur des demandes de consultation dans le but d’y allouer des ressources adéquates.

Les ressources humaines et la formation

Compte tenu d’une pénurie grave de personnel expérimenté dans le domaine, les institutions éprouvent de la difficulté à attirer et à garder des professionnels qualifiés pour gérer les activités liées à l’accès à l’information. Elles tentent de faire face à la pénurie en embauchant des consultants — mais cette pratique est insoutenable à long terme.

Le Commissariat estime urgent de recommander à nouveau que le gouvernement fédéral établisse des normes concernant l’embauche de spécialistes de l’accès à l’information et qu’il leur accorde une reconnaissance professionnelle dans le cadre d’un processus de certification.

Il faut noter qu’il n’y a actuellement aucune formation obligatoire dans le domaine de l’accès à l’information dans les institutions fédérales, en dépit des retombées positives considérables en termes de sensibilisation à la Loi et de l’amélioration du traitement des demandes d’accès à l’information.

Par conséquent, le Commissariat recommande que le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor collabore avec l’École de la fonction publique du Canada pour élaborer une stratégie d’apprentissage intégré destinée à l’ensemble de la fonction publique fédérale.

Le leadership

Le leadership constitue un facteur essentiel de la mesure suivant laquelle une institution respecte ses obligations aux termes de la Loi. Quand un cadre supérieur dit clairement que les demandes d’accès à l’information doivent faire l’objet d’une collaboration entière et efficace, les normes de rendement s’améliorent. Malheureusement, ce genre de leadership dépend de la volonté de gestionnaires responsables et engagés à passer à l’action. Si ces mêmes gestionnaires s’en vont à d’autres institutions, rien ne garantit le maintien de ces normes.

Le Commissariat s’attend à ce que le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor (SCT) s’acquitte de ses responsabilités et exerce le leadership fort et de haut niveau que requiert le domaine de l’accès à l’information. À cette fin, le Commissariat recommande également que le SCT revoie ses critères actuels de mesure du rendement des institutions.

LES FICHES DE RENDEMENT DES INSTITUTIONS FÉDÉRALES

C’est l’analyse détaillée du rendement de dix institutions fédérales assujetties à la Loi qui a mis en lumière les problèmes systémiques dont il est fait état dans le présent rapport. Cet échantillon d’institutions a été choisi selon des critères précis, notamment, le rendement antérieur, le nombre de consultations auprès d’autres institutions à l’égard de demandes d’accès à l’information, le recours aux prorogations de délai, le processus d’approbation et les bonnes pratiques.

Le cadre d’évaluation utilisé cette année a été élargi pour offrir un tableau global du rendement des institutions. La fiche de rendement fournit une description des facteurs contextuels pertinents — par exemple, les modifications du volume de travail, la capacité, le processus ou le leadership — qui ont pu avoir une incidence sur la capacité de l’institution à respecter ses obligations aux termes de la Loi.

Les institutions ont reçu une note pour leur rendement global, allant de une à cinq étoiles. Pour 2007-2008, Justice Canada a obtenu la meilleure note en dépit de défis substantiels, notamment une hausse marquée du nombre de demandes de consultation de la part des autres institutions. Cette réussite est attribuable à la mise en œuvre, au cours des dernières années, de nouvelles pratiques qui ont entre autres permis à Justice Canada de répondre aux deux tiers des nouvelles demandes reçues au cours de l’exercice dans un délai de 30 jours et de traiter la plupart des demandes prorogées dans un délai de 90 jours. Bibliothèque et Archives Canada a, pour sa part, maintenu un rendement élevé par rapport à la période d’examen précédente, réussissant à répondre à environ trois quarts des demandes dans un délai de 30 jours. Cependant, il a été établi que la durée de la grande majorité des prorogations ne pouvait être justifiée.

Deux institutions ont présenté un degré de conformité acceptable en 2007-2008, soit le Bureau du Conseil privé (BCP) et Ressources naturelles Canada. Le Commissariat a évalué le rendement du bureau de l'accès à l'information et de la protection des renseignements personnels du BPC à maintes reprises au cours de la dernière décennie, mais c’est la première fois qu’il évalue le rendement du service préposé aux Renseignements confidentiels du Cabinet/conseillers juridiques. Ce service est chargé d’établir si des documents contenant des renseignements confidentiels du Cabinet devraient être protégés de toute divulgation. Les institutions fédérales ont exprimé de nombreuses critiques concernant l’obligation de consulter ce service, se plaignant de ses délais de réponse. Le questionnaire utilisé cette année ne donne qu’un mince aperçu du processus de consultation relatif aux renseignements confidentiels du Cabinet. Un outil plus précis sera élaboré pour les évaluations à venir.

Les six autres institutions ont affiché un rendement inférieur à la moyenne en 2007-2008 pour diverses raisons. La plupart ont éprouvé des difficultés à cause d’une augmentation substantielle du volume de travail (nombre de demandes reçues, nombre de pages examinées et nombre de demandes de consultation reçues). Certaines ont eu recours à de nombreuses prorogations de délai prolongées, suivent des processus d’approbation compliqués et manquent de diligence lorsqu’il s’agit de répondre aux demandes de consultation.

L’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada et Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada ont élaboré et mis en œuvre un plan triennal d’amélioration, qui leur a permis de réduire considérablement l’arriéré de demandes au cours de la période visée par l’examen et d’améliorer divers éléments de leurs activités.

Santé Canada et la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC) ont également consenti énormément d’efforts pour réduire l’arriéré de demandes. Toutefois, Santé Canada doit examiner et rationaliser son modèle de traitement pour éviter des délais additionnels et la GRC doit améliorer son système de gestion des demandes pour surveiller de plus près les divers aspects de ses activités.

Le volume de travail du ministère des Affaires étrangères a considérablement augmenté au cours de la période visée par l’examen, particulièrement à cause du nombre de demandes de consultation provenant des autres institutions fédérales. Comme ses ressources sont limitées, le délai moyen de réponse aux demandes de consultation est de 75 jours. Le Commissariat est sérieusement préoccupé par les consultations prolongées à cause de leur incidence sur tout le système d’accès à l’information.

Enfin, la mission canadienne en Afghanistan et la complexité du traitement des dossiers liés à une mission en cours demeurent un défi pour la Défense nationale. Cette situation a entraîné une augmentation du volume de travail et un recours croissant aux prorogations de délai pour alléger la tâche. De plus, elle a donné lieu à la création d’un groupe de travail interne chargé d’examiner l’information de nature délicate liée à la mission en cours. Dans l’ensemble, le processus d’accès à l’information a été ralenti.  

LES ENGAGEMENTS DU COMMISSARIAT À L’INFORMATION

Tout en mettant en œuvre son nouveau processus d’établissement des fiches de rendement, le Commissariat a trouvé des façons d’améliorer son propre travail. Ainsi, il remaniera la classification utilisée pour décrire l’issue des plaintes, afin que celle-ci fournisse de l’information plus utile et plus juste concernant les réponses des institutions. En outre, d’ici 2009-2010, le Commissariat mettra en place des critères pour évaluer la mesure suivant laquelle les institutions communiquent de l’information conformément aux dispositions de la Loi. Enfin, le Commissariat s’engage à mieux informer les institutions fédérales, suffisamment à l’avance, du processus entourant l’établissement de la fiche de rendement et des exigences qui y sont liées.


Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant