Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Report Cards


Year


2007-2008

INSTITUTIONAL REPORT CARDS 

For this assessment, as for previous ones, the OIC selected a small sample of ten institutions covered by the Act and undertook a detailed analysis of their performance in responding to information requests.

In selecting the institutions, the OIC considered various factors, namely the rate of deemed refusals in 2006,10 the institution’s complaints profile, trends of interests (such as anecdotal use of extensions, the institution’s processing model and its interconnectedness with other federal institutions), and the institution’s record of efforts to improve its compliance with the Act. We looked for a set of institutions that had a mixed record, with some having a history of problematic performance and others having a reputation for being among the best performers in relation to the Act.

The data used to prepare this report card came from:

  • institutions’ responses to our questionnaire, which was sent out in May 2008;
  • the Treasury Board Secretariat’s database on access to information activities;
  • institutions’ reports to Parliament on their access to information activities;
  • individual communications with access to information staff in the institutions under review; and
  • a review of our internal database on time extension notices and complaint files.

This year’s assessment does not constitute a scientific audit. The OIC has noted irregularities and inconsistencies in the data received from institutions, beyond those that can be explained by the shortcomings of the questionnaire. We are, however, confident that the assessment provides a fair appreciation of institutional performance.

The assessment framework we used retained the deemed refusal ratio but also looked at a broader picture of institutional performance such as its compliance rate with the statutory obligation to notify the Information Commissioner every time it invokes a time extension for more than 30 days. We also paid particular attention to data on the use and duration of time extensions. We did a qualitative analysis of processes used by institutions to respond to requests and the practices in place that ensure timely response. This analysis provides insight into, among other things, the extent to which institutions are fulfilling their obligations under the Act. We also included a description of contextual factors, such as major changes in workload and availability of human resources, that affect the capacity of institutions to fulfill their obligations under the Act.

Scores ranging from one to five stars, as explained in Annex A, have been assigned to institutions based on their overall performance in responding to access to information requests. The rating guide was modified during the 2007-2008 process when it became obvious that the information available for a reliable review of completeness and accuracy was not sufficient.

10 Grading from previous years is for the period of April 1st to November 30th.
Previous   Table of contents   Next
Date modified:

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiches de rendement


Année


FICHES DE RENDEMENT DES INSTITUTIONS

Pour la présente évaluation, à l’instar des précédentes, le Commissariat a choisi un petit groupe de dix institutions assujetties à la Loi et a effectué une analyse détaillée de leur rendement sur le plan du traitement des demandes d’accès à l’information (ou « demandes de communication »).

Pour le choix des institutions, le Commissariat a tenu compte de divers facteurs, notamment le taux de présomptions de refus enregistré en 2006,10 le profil en matière de plaintes, certaines tendances intéressantes (tels le recours aux prorogations de délai, le modèle de traitement des demandes et l’interdépendance avec d’autres institutions fédérales), ainsi que les efforts consentis par l’institution pour mieux respecter la Loi. Le Commissariat a arrêté son choix sur un groupe d’institutions ayant des feuilles de route différentes, certaines ayant déjà affiché un rendement problématique, d’autres ayant une excellente réputation pour ce qui est du respect de la Loi.

Les données qui ont servi à préparer le présent rapport sont tirées des sources suivantes :

  • les réponses des institutions au questionnaire que le Commissariat leur a fait parvenir en mai 2008;
  • la base de données du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor sur les activités liées à l’accès à l’information;
  • les rapports que les institutions ont présentés au Parlement sur les activités en matière d’accès à l’information;
  • les communications individuelles avec des responsables de l’accès à l’information des institutions faisant l’objet de l’évaluation;
  • un examen de la base de données du Commissariat sur les avis de prorogation et sur les plaintes.

La présente évaluation ne constitue nullement une vérification scientifique. D’ailleurs, le Commissariat a noté des irrégularités et des incohérences parmi les données fournies par les institutions, autres que celles qui pourraient s’expliquer par certaines faiblesses du questionnaire. Le Commissariat estime néanmoins que cette évaluation donne une bonne idée du rendement des institutions.

Le cadre d’évaluation utilisé tient toujours compte du taux de présomptions de refus, mais il prend également en considération le rendement global des institutions, notamment le respect de l’obligation prévue par la Loi d’aviser le Commissaire pour chaque prorogation de plus de 30 jours. Le Commissariat a accordé une attention particulière aux données sur l’utilisation et la durée des prorogations. Il a fait une analyse qualitative des processus qu’utilisent les institutions pour répondre aux demandes et des pratiques en place pour y répondre en temps opportun. Cette analyse fournit un bon aperçu de la mesure suivant laquelle les institutions s’acquittent de leurs obligations aux termes de la Loi. Enfin, le Commissariat a inclus une description des facteurs contextuels, notamment toute modification importante du volume de travail et de la disponibilité des ressources humaines, qui ont une incidence sur la capacité des institutions à s’acquitter de leurs obligations aux termes de la Loi.

Des notes — allant de une à cinq étoiles, comme l’explique l’annexe A — ont été attribuées aux institutions en fonction de leur rendement global sur le plan du traitement des demandes d’accès à l’information. Le guide de notation a été modifié au cours du processus lorsqu’il est apparu que les données disponibles ne permettaient une étude fiable de l’exhaustivité et de l’exactitude de l’information communiquée.

10 Les évaluations antérieures portaient sur la période allant du 1er avril au 30 novembre.
Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant