Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Report Cards


Year


2007-2008

OFFICE OF THE INFORMATION COMMISSIONER COMMITMENTS 

Classification of complaints 

As noted previously, this is a transition year for the report cards process. It marks a first attempt to introduce a significant change to the performance assessment framework. The OIC is confident that the new framework will represent a major improvement over what we have used until now. During the course of the process, we have identified additional areas for improvement. We also solicited the views of institutions on issues to be factored in the development of a better and more effective performance measurement framework.

A common concern focused on the way the OIC classifies the outcomes of our investigations. These outcomes fall into one of three disposition categories:

  • resolved: the complainant has a justifiable complaint and the institution has resolved the complaint to the Commissioner’s satisfaction;
  • not substantiated: the applicant’s complaint was dismissed as unjustifiable and the institution took no further action; and
  • not resolved: the complaint was found to have merit but resolution would only be achieved by way of court action.

Institutions have argued that the resolved category comprises too many types of outcomes. Some of these cases may indeed be instances of improper application of the Act by an institution, for example, withholding of information that should not have been exempted or excluded. But in many cases, a resolved complaint may be one in which the reasons for withholding information have changed with the passage of time or in which minimal additional information is released as a result of the intervention of our office. It has been argued that describing all investigations that lead to additional disclosure of information as having been resolved does not appropriately reflect the dialogue that takes place between the OIC and the institution as we work to resolve a complaint. It may also give a misleading impression of the institutional performance.

Commitment 1

The Office of the Information Commissioner will review how closed complaints are classified with a view to developing and implementing by 2009–2010 a new set of disposition categories that provide a more accurate picture of institutional performance. 

Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiches de rendement


Année


ENGAGEMENTS DU COMMISSARIAT À L’INFORMATION

La classification des plaintes 

Comme il a été mentionné précédemment, il s’agit d’une année transitoire pour ce qui est de l’établissement des fiches de rendement. Elle marque une première tentative à mettre en œuvre des modifications substantielles au cadre d’évaluation du rendement. Le Commissariat a bon espoir que ce nouveau cadre d’évaluation sera nettement supérieur au précédent. Au cours du processus, il a relevé certains autres éléments susceptibles d’être améliorés.

La classification des conclusions établies à l’issue des enquêtes sur les plaintes constitue une préoccupation commune. Les plaintes sont classées selon les trois catégories suivantes en fonction de la conclusion de l’enquête :

  • réglée : la plainte est valable et l’institution l’a réglée à la satisfaction du Commissaire;
  • non fondée : la plainte a été rejetée comme n’étant pas valable et l’institution n’a pris aucune autre mesure;
  • non réglée : la plainte est fondée, mais elle ne peut être réglée que par un recours devant les tribunaux.

Les institutions soutiennent que trop de plaintes sont classées comme étant réglées. Certaines plaintes peuvent effectivement être liées à une mauvaise application de la Loi — par exemple, si une institution retient des renseignements qui n’auraient pas dû faire l’objet d’une exemption ou d’une exclusion. Par contre, de nombreuses autres plaintes sont dites réglées simplement parce que les raisons justifiant la non-communication de l’information ont changé avec le temps ou alors une quantité minimale d’information a été communiquée suite à l’intervention du Commissariat. Certains soutiennent que le fait de classer comme réglées toutes les plaintes qui mènent à la communication d’information additionnelle, ne reflète pas de façon appropriée le dialogue qui a lieu entre le Commissariat et l’institution dans le but d’en arriver à un règlement. Ce classement peut également donner une fausse impression du rendement des institutions.

Premier engagement

Le Commissariat à l’information du Canada examinera la classification des plaintes dans le but d’élaborer et de mettre en œuvre, d’ici l’exercice 2009–2010, de nouvelles catégories de classement reflétant plus fidèlement le rendement des institutions.  

Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant