Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Report Cards


Year


2007-2008


MESSAGE FROM THE COMMISSIONER

This special report on the performance of federal institutions under the Access to Information Act (the Act) covers my first full year as Information Commissioner. It also introduces important changes to the Office of the Information Commissioner’s report cards process.

Shortly after taking office, through discussions with members of the access to information community, I came to realize that this process — as useful as it was — could be improved by providing the whole picture of institutional compliance while reflecting efforts by institutions to improve their performance. More importantly, it could shed light on contextual factors affecting the capacity of institutions to fulfill their obligations under the Act, and help to identify system-wide issues beyond the control of any given institution.

Consequently, I have introduced an enhanced assessment framework which allows us to examine such issues while uncovering best practices which would deserve to be more widely replicated. We focused our efforts this year on analyzing factors that create delays across the system, such as the rising number of consultation requests, the use of lengthy extensions and multi-layered approval processes.

As Information Commissioner, I am often asked about my views on the state of the access to information regime and on ways to improve it. Although I would caution readers that this year’s assessment does not constitute a scientific audit, I do believe that its results provide a grim picture of the federal government’s access to information regime.

The most significant and wide-reaching finding attests to the fact that the 30-day period intended by Parliament to be the norm in responding to information requests is the exception. The prevalence of extensions and consultation requests has significantly slowed down the treatment of requests, to the point that some institutions take an average of 120 days to respond to requesters. This is unacceptable.

Our assessment identified significant information management challenges which greatly influence the capacity of institutions to provide complete, accurate and timely responses to information requests. It has also confirmed important shortcomings with respect to staffing and training in the area of access to information.

The current context clearly mandates a more sophisticated compliance model for access to information, which will include adequate performance incentives. Modernizing the legislative framework and the administrative process will not be sufficient. As the report suggests, a stronger regime requires the will and leadership necessary to guide a cultural change away from a tendency to withhold information to a true climate of openness. Government officials must be empowered and learn to act in the spirit as well as the letter of the law when it comes to access to information.

It is my hope that the recommendations contained in this report will generate the kind of action and debate required to update and strengthen Canada’s access to information regime, which is so critical to upholding our democratic way of life.

Robert Marleau
Information Commissioner of Canada


Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiches de rendement


Année


MESSAGE DU COMMISSAIRE

Le présent rapport spécial porte sur le rendement des institutions fédérales aux termes de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information durant ma première année complète d’exercice à titre de Commissaire à l’information. Il fait également état des modifications substantielles que le Commissariat à l’information a apportées au processus servant à l’établissement des fiches de rendement.

Peu de temps après mon arrivée en poste, il m’est apparu à la lumière de mes discussions avec les représentants du milieu de l’accès à l’information qu’on pouvait améliorer ce processus — déjà fort utile — en fournissant un tableau global de la conformité des institutions et en décrivant les efforts consentis par chacune d’elles pour améliorer son rendement. On pourrait ainsi faire ressortir certains facteurs contextuels influençant la capacité des institutions à se conformer à la Loi, tout en cernant les problèmes communs à l’ensemble du système sur lesquels les institutions n’ont pas de contrôle immédiat.

Par conséquent, j’ai mis en place un cadre d’évaluation amélioré qui permet non seulement d’examiner ces questions, mais également de faire état des meilleures pratiques pouvant servir d’exemple. Cette année, nous avons concentré nos efforts sur l’analyse des facteurs susceptibles d’entraîner des retards dans l’ensemble du système, notamment l’augmentation du nombre de demandes de consultation, le recours à de longues prorogations de délai, ainsi que la présence de processus d’approbation multiniveaux.

On me demande fréquemment mon point de vue, à titre de Commissaire à l’information, sur la situation du régime d’accès à l’information et sur la façon de l’améliorer. Tout en signalant que la présente évaluation ne constitue pas une vérification scientifique, j’estime que les résultats obtenus donnent une bien piètre image du régime d’accès à l’information.

La conclusion la plus importante, vu sa portée, confirme que le délai de 30 jours prévu par le Parlement pour donner suite aux demandes de communication est devenu l’exception plutôt que la norme. La prévalence des prorogations de délai et des demandes de consultation ralentit considérablement le traitement des demandes, au point où certaines institutions prennent en moyenne 120 jours pour répondre aux demandeurs. Cette situation est inacceptable.

Notre évaluation a permis de relever d’importants défis liés à la gestion de l’information, qui influencent la capacité des institutions à répondre de façon complète, exacte et en temps opportun aux demandes d’accès à l’information. Elle a également confirmé l’existence d’importantes lacunes au chapitre de la dotation et de la formation dans le secteur de l’accès à l’information.

Le contexte actuel fait clairement ressortir la nécessité d’un modèle de conformité plus élaboré, comprenant des incitatifs au rendement appropriés. Il ne suffira pas de moderniser le cadre législatif ou le processus administratif. Comme le rapport le suggère, une amélioration du régime suppose la volonté et le leadership nécessaires pour guider un changement de culture institutionnelle consistant à inverser la tendance à conserver l’information en faveur de l’établissement d’un véritable climat d’ouverture. En matière d’accès à l’information, les fonctionnaires fédéraux doivent être habilités et incités à respecter à la fois l’esprit et la lettre de la Loi.

J’ose espérer que les recommandations énoncées dans le présent rapport déboucheront sur le genre de mesures et de débats nécessaires pour actualiser et renforcer le régime canadien d’accès à l’information, si essentiel au maintien de notre mode de vie démocratique.

Robert Marleau
Commissaire à l’information du Canada


Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant