Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Report Cards


Year


Library and Archives Canada

Status report on access requests in a deemed-refusal situation

1. Background

Every department reviewed has been assessed against the following grading standard:

% of Deemed Refusals

Comment

Grade

0-5%

Ideal compliance

A

5-10%

Substantial compliance

B

10-15%

Borderline compliance

C

15-20%

Below standard compliance

D

More than 20%

Red alert

F

This report reviews Library and Archives Canada’s (LAC) progress to attain ideal compliance with the time requirements of the Access to Information Act, since the previous report. In addition, this report contains information on the status of the recommendations made in the Status Report of 2006.

  1. COMPLIANCE HISTORY

The Office of the Information Commissioner has conducted Report Cards and status reviews on LAC on two occasions. The department has never come into ideal compliance during the period of our reviews. Therefore, LAC has not been able to meet its obligations under the Access to Information Act to respond to access requests in a timely manner.

In the 2005 Report Card, LAC received a red alert grade of "F", with a 70% request to deemed-refusal ratio from April 1 to November 30, 2004. This was the first year that requests carried over from the previous year, and the number of requests already in a deemed-refusal status on April 1, were taken into consideration.

For the full 2004-2005 fiscal year, LAC received a grade of "F", with a 64.8% request to deemed-refusal ratio.

In the 2006 Report Card, LAC also received a red alert grade of "F", with a 55.5% deemed-refusal to request ratio.

3. CURRENT STATUS

For the reporting period April 1 to November 30, 2006, LAC’s request to deemed-refusal ratio was 3.8%, a grade of "A".

In September 2004, LAC put in place an internal Access to Government Information Services Task Force. The spring 2005 Report of the Task Force included recommendations to directly address the backlog and also to avoid similar backlogs from materializing in the future.

The most important action that the department took in response to the Task Force recommendations was to directly address the ATIP backlog and commit to its elimination in 2005-2006. The first steps were taken in January 2005, based on the draft of the Task Force recommendations, when the LAC Management Board approved $250,000 in additional resources until March 31, 2005, for a first "blitz" to reduce the backlog.

In May 2005, LAC’s Senior Management approved an additional $600,000 for the second wave of the blitz, with the goal of eliminating the backlog by October 31, 2005. LAC has also committed itself to effectively eliminating all backlogged requests by March 31, 2006.

A critical component of the administration of the Access to Information Act is the leadership role of Senior Management in a department. Senior Management exercises leadership by identifying access to information as a departmental priority and then acting upon this by providing the appropriate resources, technology, and policies. LAC’s Senior Management has well understood this principle and has transmitted a clear message to its employees. As a result of this, a cultural change has been seen across the department.

4. RECOMMENDATIONS

Because of the factors described in this report, LAC was able to attain ideal compliance with the time requirements of the Access to Information Act.

Recommendation #1

That the Librarian and Archivist of Canada take responsibility to ensure that the ATIP Office implement all of our recommendations in the Report Cards and status reviews to ensure that the department attains and maintains ideal compliance without further delay.

5. STATUS OF 2006 RECOMMENDATIONS

Previous Recommendation #1

That LAC attain ideal compliance and a grade of "A" by March 31, 2007.

Action Taken:

Good work has started to pay off. LAC has been able to attain ideal compliance with the time requirements of the Access to Information Act for the first time.

 

Previous Recommendation #2

LAC address the staffing shortfall of the ATIP Directorate with a view to increasing resources as required.

Action Taken:

Actions are being taken to achieve LAC’s Human Resources Plan.

In 2006, LAC has staffed two PM-04, two CR-04, and two senior analyst positions. Most of LAC’s human resources plan should be achieved by March 31, 2007. Some 13 additional positions are expected to be filled by then.

 

 

6. Questionnaire and statistical reporT

 

Questionnaire for Statistical Analysis Purposes in relation to official requests

made under the Access to Information Act

Part A: Requests carried over from the prior fiscal period.

Apr. 1/05 to

Mar. 31/06

Apr. 1/06 to

Nov. 30/06

1.

Number of requests carried over:

160

90

2.

Requests carried over from the prior fiscal year in a deemed-refusal situation on the first day of the new fiscal year:

128

22

Part B: New Requests - Exclude requests included in Part A.

Apr. 1/05 to

Mar. 31/06

Apr. 1/06 to

Nov. 30/06

3.

Number of requests received during the fiscal period:

724

536

4.A

How many were processedwithin the 30-day statutory time limit?

242

339

4.B

How many were processed beyond the 30-day statutory time limit where no extension was claimed?

345

0

4.C

How long after the statutory time limit did it take to respond where no extension was claimed?

1-30 days:

109

0

31-60 days:

106

0

61-90 days:

70

0

Over 91 days:

60

0

5.

How many were extended pursuant to section 9?

87

157

6.A

How many were processedwithin the extended time limit?

32

31

6.B

How many exceeded the extended time limit?

19

0

6.C

How long after the expiry of the extended deadline did it take to respond?

1-30 days:

9

0

31-60 days:

3

0

61-90 days:

3

0

Over 91 days:

4

0

7.

As of November 30, 2006, how many requests are in a deemed-refusal situation?

2

   

 

EXCERPT FROM THE LIBRARIAN AND ARCHIVIST’S RESPONSE TO STATUS REPORT

Library and Archives Canada did not provide any comments.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiches de rendement


Année

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada

Rapport d’étape sur les demandes de communication en présomption de refus

1. CONTEXTE

Tous les ministères examinés ont été évalués en fonction de la norme de notation suivante :

% de présomption de refus

Commentaires

Note

0-5 %

Conformité idéale

A

5-10 %

Conformité substantielle

B

10-15 %

Conformité limite

C

15-20 %

Conformité inférieure à la norme

D

Plus de 20 %

Alerte rouge

F

Le présent rapport fait état des progrès réalisés par Bibliothèque et Archives Canada (BAC) quand il s’agit d’atteindre une conformité idéale quant aux délais prévus dans la Loi sur l’accès à l’information depuis le rapport précédent. Il contient également des renseignements sur l’état de la mise en œuvre des recommandations faites dans le rapport d’étape de 2006.

  1. HISTORIQUE EN MATIÈRE DE RESPECT

Le Commissariat à l’information du Canada a déjà réalisé en deux occasions des fiches de rendement et des examens de la situation concernant BAC. L’organisation n’a jamais réussi à atteindre une conformité idéale durant la période visée par nos examens. Par conséquent, BAC n’a pas été en mesure de respecter ses obligations en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, selon laquelle il doit répondre aux demandes en temps opportun.

Dans la fiche de rendement de 2005, BAC a reçu la note « F » (alerte rouge) étant donné que 70 % des demandes reçues entre le 1er avril et le 30 novembre 2004 se trouvaient en présomption de refus. Pour la première fois, on a tenu compte des demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent et du nombre de demandes déjà en présomption de refus le 1er avril.

Pour tout l’exercice 2004-2005, BAC a reçu la note « F », en raison d’un rapport de 64,8 % entre les demandes reçues et les présomptions de refus.

Dans la fiche de rendement de 2006, l’organisation a encore reçu la note « F » (alerte rouge), avec un rapport de 55,5 % entre les demandes reçues et les présomptions de refus.

 

3. SITUATION ACTUELLE

Pour la période du 1er avril au 30 novembre 2006, le rapport obtenu par BAC en ce qui concerne les demandes reçues et les présomptions de refus atteignait 3,8 %, pour la note « A ».

En septembre 2004, BAC a mis sur pied un groupe de travail sur les services d’accès à l’information gouvernementale. Le rapport déposé au printemps 2005 par le groupe de travail incluait de nombreuses recommandations pour remédier au problème de l’arriéré et éviter l’accumulation des demandes non traitées.

La mesure la plus importante prise par BAC en réponse aux recommandations formulées par le groupe de travail a été de s’attaquer directement à l’arriéré en vue d’éliminer celui-ci complètement en 2005-2006. Les premières interventions en ce sens ont été faites en janvier 2005, en fonction des projets de recommandations du groupe de travail, lorsque la haute direction de BAC a approuvé l’octroi de 250 000 $ jusqu’au 31 mars 2005 pour une première « opération intensive » en vue de la réduction de l’arriéré.

En mai 2005, la haute direction de BAC a approuvé l’octroi de 600 000 $ supplémentaires pour une deuxième opération intensive en vue de l’élimination de l’arriéré au 31 octobre 2005. De plus, BAC s’était engagé à éliminer complètement l’arriéré avant le 31  mars 2006.

L’un des éléments cruciaux de l’application de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information est le leadership de la haute direction. On s’attend que celle-ci fasse de l’accès à l’information une priorité ministérielle et, par conséquent, fournisse les ressources, les technologies et les directives voulues. La haute direction de BAC a bien compris le principe et transmis un message clair à ses employés. Résultat : un vent de transparence a soufflé dans toutes l’organisation.

4. RECOMMANDATIONS

Pour les raisons énoncées dans le présent rapport, BAC a pu atteindre une conformité idéale des délais prescrits par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Recommandation no 1

Le Bibliothécaire et Archiviste du Canada devrait veiller à ce que le Bureau de l’AIPRP mette en œuvre toutes nos recommandations découlant des fiches de rendement et des examens de la situation et à ce que l’organisation atteigne et maintienne une conformité idéale dans les plus brefs délais.

 

5. ÉTAT DE L’APPLICATION DES RECOMMANDATIONS DE 2006

Recommandation no 1 précédente

Le BAC devrait atteindre une conformité idéale et la note « A » au 31 mars 2007.

Mesures prises :

Les efforts déployés commencent à porter leurs fruits. Pour la première fois, BAC a atteint une conformité idéale quant aux délais prescrits par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Recommandation no 2 précédente

BAC doit régler la pénurie d’employés à la Direction de l’AIPRP en augmentant les ressources au besoin.

Mesures prises :

BAC doit faire le nécessaire pour mettre en œuvre son plan des ressources humaines. En 2006, BAC embauchait deux PM-04, deux CR-04 et deux analystes principaux. Pour l’essentiel, le plan des ressources humaines du ministère devrait être appliqué intégralement au 31 mars 2007. On s’attend que quelque 13 autres postes soient dotés d’ici là.

 

6.

QUESTIONNAIRE ET RAPPORT STATISTIQUE

Questionnaire aux fins d’analyse statistique à propos des demandes officielles effectuées en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information

Partie A : Demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent

1er avr. 2005 -

31 mars 2006

1er avr. 2006 -

30 nov. 2006

1.

Nombre de demandes reportées :

160

90

2.

Demandes reportées du dernier exercice en présomption de refus le premier jour du nouvel exercice :

128

22

Partie B : Nouvelles demandes à l’exclusion des demandes inscrites à la Partie A

1er avr. 2005 -

31 mars 2006

1er avr. 2006 -

30 nov. 2006

3.

Nombre de demandes reçues durant l’exercice :

724

536

4.A

Combien de demandes ont été traitées dans le délai obligatoire de 30 jours?

242

339

4.B

Combien de demandes pour lesquelles on n’a demandé aucune prorogation de délai ont été traitées après le délai de 30 jours?

345

0

4.C

Dans quel délai après l’échéance a-t-on répondu aux demandes pour lesquelles aucune prorogation de délai n’avait été demandée?

 

De 1 à 30 jours :

109

0

 

De 31 à 60 jours :

106

0

 

De 61 à 90 jours :

70

0

 

Plus de 91 jours :

60

0

5.

Combien de demandes ont fait l’objet d’une prorogation de délai en vertu de l’article 9?

87

157

6.A

Combien de demandes ont été traitées dans le délai prorogé?

32

31

6.B

À combien de demandes a-t-on répondu après le délai prorogé?

19

0

6.C

Combien de temps après l’expiration du délai prorogé a-t-on mis pour répondre?

 

De 1 à 30 jours :

9

0

 

De 31 à 60 jours :

3

0

 

De 61 à 90 jours :

3

0

 

Plus de 91 jours :

4

0

7.

Au 30 novembre 2006, combien de demandes étaient en présomption de refus?

2

 

EXTRAIT DE LA RÉPONSE DU BIBLIOTHÉCAIRE ET ARCHIVISTE DU CANADA AU RAPPORT D’ÉTAPE

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada n’a fourni aucun commentaire.