Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Report Cards


Year


Health Canada

Status report on access requests in a deemed-refusal situation

1.

Background

Every department reviewed has been assessed against the following grading standard:

% of Deemed Refusals

Comment

Grade

0-5%

Ideal compliance

A

5-10%

Substantial compliance

B

10-15%

Borderline compliance

C

15-20%

Below standard compliance

D

More than 20%

Red alert

F

This report reviews Health Canada’s (HCan) progress in to attain ideal compliance with the time requirements of the Access to Information Act, since the previous report. In addition, this report contains information on the status of the recommendations made in the Status Report of January 2006.

2. COMPLIANCE HISTORY

The Office of the Information Commissioner has conducted Report Cards and status reviews on HCan on six occasions. Although the department attained ideal compliance, a grade of "A", in the past, it has not been able to maintain that grade. Therefore, HCan has not been able to meet its obligations under the Access to Information Act to respond to access requests in a timely manner.

In the January 1999 Report Card, Health Canada (HCan) received a red alert grade of "F", with a 51.2% deemed-refusal to request ratio for requests received from April 1 to November 30, 1998. For the complete 1998-1999 fiscal year, the ratio was 61.8%.

The next year, for the period April 1 to November 30, 1999, the ratio improved dramatically to 3.1%, or an "A" grade. In addition, the backlog of deemed-refusal requests was entirely eliminated.

HCan had continued to achieve a grade of "A",for each of the reporting years since, with compliance ratios varying between 4.5-5% as in the last reporting period. However, the end of the fiscal year 2002-2003 found the department slipping to a 7.2% ratio of deemed refusals, resulting in a grade of "B".

In the 2004 Status Report, it was noted that HCan achieved a 5.4% deemed-refusal ratio for the period April 1 to November 30, 2004, signaling another grade of "B".

In the 2005 Report Card, HCan received a below standard compliance of "D", with a 17.2% request to deemed-refusal ratio for requests received from April 1 to November 30, 2004. This was the first year that requests carried over from the previous year, and the number of requests already in a deemed-refusal status on April 1, were taken into consideration.

For fiscal year 2004-2005, HCan received a grade of "D", with a 19.6% request to deemed-refusal ratio.

In fiscal year 2005-2006, HCan achieved an 18.9% deemed-refusal ratio, another grade of "D".

3. Current Status

For the reporting period April 1 to November 30,2006, HCan’s request to deemed-refusal ratio was 21.9%, a grade of "F".

While this represents a step back, many factors contributed to this situation. We believe this situation is temporary as the department rigorously followed last year’s recommendations and as the ATIP Coordinator is highly motivated to come into ideal compliance with the Act’s deadlines.

In 2005, the ATIP Office was provided with additional funding to hire 15 additional person-years. The hiring process was extended from August 2005 to February 2006. At the present time, 30 FTEs are dedicated to processing requests versus 15 FTEs in the past.

Some other reasons for the step back are:

  • there was a 35% increase in the number of requests – from 1,363 to 1,842 in one single year;
  • tardiness in retrieval of records due to poor records management and staff shortages in OPIs was also a problem. The department addressed this problem as it reduced record retrieval time from 15 to 7 days. It also increased awareness of timeframes by OPIs by increasing enforcement;
  • the department suffered difficulties during consultation process with third parties and other government institutions. The main problem concerns the training of OPIs dealing with third-party exemptions;
  • in the past, the department suffered from heavy approval processes, including issues regarding sensitive requests and delays in the Minister’s Office. The department had addressed this problem by implementing a new process for the Minister’s Office, Deputy Minister’s Office and Communications when dealing with sensitive requests to ensure that no delays occur. That process allowed three days for the entire approval process, and it was working well. Regrettably, this effective process was again changed in February 2007, by the new Executive Director of the Deputy Minister and has greatly added unnecessary delays in the approval process. We also noted that the department has just recently implemented Recommendation #2 of the 2004-2005 status report that recommended that the Delegation Order be amended to provide the ATIP Coordinator with similar delegated powers for the administration of the Privacy Act as for the administration of the Access to Information Act. Since March 20, 2007, the ATIP Coordinator holds full delegated authority. While we commend this achievement, because files are still being selected by the Deputy Minister’s Office for review before the records are being disclosed, we find that the new Delegation Order does not carry any weight;
  • the department also suffered from poor communication with requesters in clarifying requests;
  • finally, the department is still processing requests for the Public Health Agency of Canada (PHAC), which adds to the existing workload of the department.

4. RECOMMENDATIONS

Because of the factors described in this report, HCan was not able to achieve ideal compliance with the time requirements of the Access to Information Act.

Recommendation #1

That the Delegation Order be amended to provide the ATIP Coordinator with similar delegated powers for the administration of the Privacy Act as for the administration of the Access to Information Act.

At the time the ATIP Coordinator was interviewed for this report, the Delegation Order had not been amended as recommended in our previous 2004-2005 status report. However, we recently learned that the Delegation was modified on March 20, 2007.

Recommendation #2

That the approval process be streamlined to reflect the proper powers of the ATIP Coordinator for the administration of the Access to Information Act.

Recommendation #3

That the Deputy Minister take responsibility to ensure that the ATIP Office implement all of our recommendations in the Report Cards and status reviews to ensure that the department attains and maintains ideal compliance without further delay.

 

5. status OF 2006 RECOMMENDATIONS

The following recommendations were made to support HCan’s continuing efforts to process requests within the time requirements of the Access to Information Act:

Previous Recommendation #1

The ATIP Division produce a monthly report that provides the ATIP Division and Senior Management at HCan with information on how well timelines are met when responding to access requests. The reports will provide Senior Management and the ATIP Division with information needed to gauge overall HCan compliance with the Act’s and HCan’s time requirements for processing access requests

.

Action Taken:

This was accomplished. The department has implemented a monthly report providing the ATIP Division and Senior Management with information on how well timelines are met. This report assisted in identifying current problems with processing access requests.

Previous Recommendation #2

HCan should come into substantial compliance with the Act’s deadlines no later than March 31, 2007.

Action Taken:

HCan has set as a goal coming into ideal compliance before the deposit of the present report.

 

6. Questionnaire and Statistical Report

 

Questionnaire for Statistical Analysis Purposes in relation to official requests

made under the Access to Information Act

1

Part A: Requests carried over from the prior fiscal period.

Apr. 1/05 to

Mar. 31/06

Apr. 1/06 to

Nov. 30/06

1.

Number of requests carried over:

273

575

2.

Requests carried over from the prior fiscal year in a deemed-refusal situation on the first day of the new fiscal year:

103

243

Part B: New Requests - Exclude requests included in Part A.

Apr. 1/05 to

Mar. 31/06

Apr. 1/06 to

Nov. 30/06

3.

Number of requests received during the fiscal period:

1,841

1,020

4.A

How many were processedwithin the 30-day statutory time limit?

896

397

4.B

How many were processed beyond the 30-day statutory time limit where no extension was claimed?

59

36

4.C

How long after the statutory time limit did it take to respond where no extension was claimed?

1-30 days:

40

32

31-60 days:

6

1

61-90 days:

6

0

Over 91 days:

7

3

5.

How many were extended pursuant to section 9?

734

515

6.A

How many were processedwithin the extended time limit?

278

250

6.B

How many exceeded the extended time limit?

116

60

6.C

How long after the expiry of the extended deadline did it take to respond?

1-30 days:

54

27

31-60 days:

28

26

61-90 days:

14

4

Over 91 days:

20

3

7.

As of November 30, 2006, how many requests are in a deemed-refusal situation?

11

   

 

 

EXCERPT FROM DEPUTY MINISTER’S RESPONSE TO STATUS REPORT

"According to the formula established by your office, Health Canada was meeting deadlines in 78 percent of its cases when we submitted our statistics in November 2006 for the current report. As you noted, the grade was lower than forecasted primarily because of a 35 percent increase in requests received during the previous fiscal year. This, in turn, resulted in a higher than usual number of requests being carried over.

The Department is making progress. Our calculations indicated that, as of March 31, 2007, we were meeting deadlines in 86 percent of the cases for a grade of "C". While this is an improvement, it is still below our goal of greater than 95 percent compliance. This is because, during the past year, we processed a large number of complex and voluminous files that had been dormant in a backlog accumulated over several years. In addition, the Public Health Agency depends on the services of Health Canada’s Access to Information and Privacy Division due to difficulties in engaging a Coordinator and staff."

Date modified:

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiches de rendement


Année


Santé Canada

Rapport d’étape sur les demandes de communication en présomption de refus

1. CONTEXTE

Tous les ministères examinés ont été évalués en fonction de la norme de notation suivante :

% de présomption de refus

Commentaires

Note

0-5 %

Conformité idéale

A

5-10 %

Conformité substantielle

B

10-15 %

Conformité limite

C

15-20 %

Conformité inférieure à la norme

D

Plus de 20 %

Alerte rouge

F

Le présent rapport examine les progrès réalisés par Santé Canada en vue d’une conformité idéale quant aux délais prévus dans la Loi sur l’accès à l’information depuis le rapport précédent. De plus, il contient de l’information sur l’état de la mise en application des recommandations qui ont été faites dans le rapport d’étape de janvier 2006.

2. HISTORIQUE EN MATIÈRE DE CONFORMITÉ

Le Commissariat à l’information du Canada a déjà réalisé en six occasions des fiches de rendement et des examens de la situation concernant Santé Canada (SC). Bien que le ministère ait atteint par le passé une conformité idéale – soit la note « A » – il n’a pas réussi à maintenir ce niveau. Par conséquent, SC n’a pas été en mesure de respecter ses obligations en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, selon laquelle il doit répondre aux demandes en temps opportun.

La fiche de rendement de janvier 1999 attribuait à Santé Canada la note « F » (alerte rouge) en raison d’un rapport de 51,2 % entre les présomptions de refus et les demandes reçues du 1er avril au 30 novembre 1998. Pour la durée complète de l’exercice 1998-1999, ce rapport s’élevait à 61,8 %.

L’année suivante, du 1er avril au 30 novembre 1999, ce rapport s’était amélioré de façon spectaculaire, passant à 3,1 %, soit la note « A ». En outre, les arriérés des demandes en présomption de refus avaient été entièrement éliminés.

SC a maintenu la note « A », qui correspond à une conformité idéale pour chacune des années suivantes, les rapports de conformité se maintenant entre 4,5 et 5 % pour la dernière période visée par le rapport. Toutefois, à la fin de l’exercice 2002-2003, le pourcentage de présomptions de refus est passé à 7,2 %, ce qui correspond à la note « B ».

Dans le rapport d’étape pour 2004, on signalait que SC avait atteint un rapport de 5,4 % entre les présomptions de refus et les demandes reçues pour la période du 1er avril au 30 novembre 2004, ce qui représente une autre note « B ».

Dans la fiche de rendement pour 2005, SC s’est vu attribuer une note inférieure à la norme, soit « D », pour avoir présenté une fiche de 17,2 % comme rapport entre les présomptions de refus et les demandes reçues pour les demandes présentées entre le 1er avril et le 30 novembre 2004. C’était la première année où les demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent et le nombre de demandes déjà en présomption de refus au 1er avril étaient pris en considération.

Pour l’exercice financier 2004-2005, SC a reçu la note « D », car son rapport entre les présomptions de refus et les demandes reçues était de 19,6 %.

Au cours de l’exercice 2005-2006, SC a atteint un rapport de 18,9 % entre les demandes reçues et les présomptions de refus, soit encore une fois la note « D ».

3. SITUATION ACTUELLE

Pour la période visée par l’examen, soit du 1er avril au 30 novembre 2006, le rapport entre les demandes reçues et les présomptions de refus pour SC s’élevait à 21,9 %, ce qui lui vaut la note « F ».

Il s’agit d’un recul, mais de nombreux facteurs expliquent la situation. Nous croyons qu’il s’agit là d’une situation temporaire étant donné que le ministère a rigoureusement suivi les recommandations de l’année dernière et que le coordonnateur de l’AIPRP est très déterminé à atteindre une conformité idéale des délais prescrits par la Loi.

En 2005, le bureau de l’AIPRP a reçu des fonds supplémentaires pour le recrutement de 15 années-personnes additionnelles. Le processus d’embauche a été prolongé d’août 2005 à février 2006. À l’heure actuelle, 30 ETP sont consacrés au traitement des demandes, comparativement à 15 dans le passé.

Voici d’autres raisons expliquant ce recul :

  • le nombre de demandes reçues s’est accru de 35 % ─ de 1 363 à 1 842 en une seule année;
  • il faut beaucoup de temps pour trouver les documents, en raison d’une mauvaise gestion des documents et d’un manque de personnel dans les BPR. Le ministère s’est attaqué au problème et a réussi à réduire le temps d’extraction, de 15 à 7 jours. Il a également sensibilisé les BPR aux échéances en intensifiant l’application des règles;
  • SC a également eu des difficultés durant le processus de consultation des tiers et des institutions fédérales. Le principal problème touche la formation des employés des BPR au sujet des exceptions applicables aux tiers;
  • le ministère avait par le passé un processus d’approbation fastidieux, qui entraînait des préoccupations concernant les demandes de nature délicate et les retards au niveau du Cabinet du Ministre. Santé Canada s’est attaqué au problème en mettant en œuvre un nouveau processus pour le Cabinet du Ministre, le Cabinet du sous-ministre et les Communications applicable aux demandes de nature délicate pour éviter les retards. Ce système prévoit trois jours pour tout le processus d’approbation, ce qui fonctionne bien. Malheureusement, en février 2007, le nouveau directeur exécutif du sous-ministre a modifié ce système pourtant efficace ce qui a entraîné beaucoup de retards inutiles dans le processus d’approbation. Nous avons également observé que le ministère vient tout juste de mettre en œuvre la Recommandation no 2 du rapport d’étape de 2004-2005, à savoir que l’ordonnance de délégation des pouvoirs soit modifiée afin que le coordonnateur de l’AIPRP jouisse de pouvoirs délégués similaires pour l’application de la Loi sur la protection de la vie privée et de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.Depuis le 20 mars 2007, le coordonnateur de l’AIPRP détient les pleins pouvoirs délégués. Bien que nous saluions cette réalisation, nous trouvons peu utile la nouvelle ordonnance de délégation étant donné que le Cabinet du sous-ministre continue à choisir les documents devant faire l’objet d’un examen avant la communication;
  • le ministère a également subi les contrecoups de problèmes de communication avec les demandeurs dans le processus consistant à préciser les demandes;
  • enfin, le ministère continue à traiter les demandes présentées à l’Agence de santé publique du Canada (ASPC), ce qui alourdit sa charge de travail.

4. RECOMMANDATIONS

En raison des facteurs décrits dans le présent rapport, SC n’a pas pu atteindre une conformité idéale des délais prévus dans la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Recommandation no 1

Que l’ordonnance de délégation des pouvoirs soit modifiée afin que le coordonnateur de l’AIPRP jouisse de pouvoirs délégués similaires pour l’application de la Loi sur la protection de la vie privée et de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Au moment de l’entrevue avec le coordonnateur de l’AIPRP pour l’établissement du présent rapport, l’ordonnance de délégation n’avait pas été modifiée comme il était recommandé dans le rapport d’étape précédent pour 2004-2005. Toutefois, nous avons récemment appris que des modifications avaient été apportées le 20 mars 2007.

Recommandation no 2

Que le processus d’approbation soit simplifié en fonction des pouvoirs effectivement dévolus au coordonnateur de l’AIPRP en ce qui touche l’application de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Recommandation no 3

Le sous-ministre devrait veiller à ce que le Bureau de l’AIPRP mette en oeuvre toutes nos recommandations découlant des fiches de rendement et des examens de la situation et à ce que le ministère obtienne et maintienne une conformité idéale dans les plus brefs délais.

5. ÉTAT DE L’APPLICATION DES RECOMMANDATIONS DE 2006

Les recommandations ci-après avaient été formulées à l’appui des efforts continus de SC pour traiter les demandes de communication dans les délais prescrits par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information :

Recommandation no 1

La Division de l’AIPRP doit produire un rapport mensuel qui lui fournisse, à lui comme à la haute direction de Santé Canada, de l’information sur le respect des échéances dans le traitement des communications. Les rapports donneront à la haute direction et à la Division de l’AIPRP les données voulues pour évaluer le respect global à SC de la Loi et des échéances établies pour le traitement des demandes de communication.

Mesures prises :

Appliquée. Le ministère a mis en œuvre un rapport mensuel offrant à la Division de l’AIPRP et à la haute direction de l’information sur le respect des échéances. Le rapport aide à cerner les problèmes rencontrés dans le traitement des demandes de communication.

Recommandation no 2 précédente

Santé Canada devrait atteindre une conformité idéale des délais prévus dans la Loi au plus tard le 31 mars 2007.

Mesures prises :

SC entend atteindre une conformité idéale avant le dépôt du présent rapport.

 

6. QUESTIONNAIRE ET RAPPORT STATISTIQUE

Questionnaire aux fins d’analyse statistique à propos des demandes officielles effectuées en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information

Partie A : Demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent

1er avr. 2005 -

31 mars 2006

1er avr. 2006 -

30 nov. 2006

1.

Nombre de demandes reportées :

273

575

2.

Demandes reportées du dernier exercice en présomption de refus le premier jour du nouvel exercice :

103

243

Partie B : Nouvelles demandes à l’exclusion des demandes inscrites à la Partie A

1er avr. 2005 -

31 mars 2006

1er avr. 2006 -

30 nov. 2006

3.

Nombre de demandes reçues durant l’exercice :

1 841

1 020

4.A

Combien de demandes ont été traitées dans le délai obligatoire de 30 jours?

896

397

4.B

Combien de demandes pour lesquelles on n’a demandé aucune prorogation de délai ont été traitées après le délai de 30 jours?

59

36

4.C

Dans quel délai après l’échéance a-t-on répondu aux demandes pour lesquelles aucune prorogation de délai n’avait été demandée?

 

De 1 à 30 jours :

40

32

 

De 31 à 60 jours :

6

1

 

De 61 à 90 jours :

6

0

 

Plus de 91 jours :

7

3

5.

Combien de demandes ont fait l’objet d’une prorogation de délai en vertu de l’article 9?

734

515

6.A

Combien de demandes ont été traitées dans le délai prorogé?

278

250

6.B

À combien de demandes a-t-on répondu après le délai prorogé?

116

60

6.C

Combien de temps après l’expiration du délai prorogé a-t-on mis pour répondre?

 

De 1 à 30 jours :

54

27

 

De 31 à 60 jours :

28

26

 

De 61 à 90 jours :

14

4

 

Plus de 91 jours :

20

3

7.

Au 30 novembre 2006, combien de demandes étaient en présomption de refus?

11

 

 

EXTRAIT DE LA RÉPONSE DU SOUS-MINISTRE AU RAPPORT D’ÉTAPE

« Selon la formule établie par votre Commissariat, Santé Canada respectait les délais prescrits dans 78 % des cas lorsque nous avons présenté nos statistiques en novembre 2006 pour le rapport actuel. Comme vous l’avez souligné, la note a été plus basse que prévu essentiellement en raison d’une hausse de 35 % du nombre de demandes reçues au cours de l’exercice financier précédent, ce qui a entraîné un report de demandes en nombre plus élevé qu’habituellement.

Le ministère fait des progrès. Selon nos calculs, au 31 mars 2007, nous respections nos échéances dans 86 % des cas, pour une note « C ». Même si c’est une amélioration, c’est moins que notre objectif, qui est un respect de plus de 95 %. La raison est qu’au cours de la dernière année, nous avons traité un grand nombre de dossiers complexes et volumineux qui étaient demeurés inactifs dans un arriéré accumulé sur plusieurs années. Par ailleurs, l’Agence de santé publique compte sur les services de la Division de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels de Santé Canada parce qu’elle éprouve des difficultés à embaucher un coordonnateur et du personnel. »