Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Report Cards


Year


Fisheries and Oceans Canada

Status report on access requests in a deemed-refusal situation

1.

Background

Every department reviewed has been assessed against the following grading standard:

% of Deemed Refusals

Comment

Grade

0-5%

Ideal compliance

A

5-10%

Substantial compliance

B

10-15%

Borderline compliance

C

15-20%

Below standard compliance

D

More than 20%

Red alert

F

This report reviews Fisheries and Oceans Canada’s (F&O) progress to achieve ideal compliance with the time requirements of the Access to Information Act, since the previous report. In addition, this report contains information on the status of the recommendations made in the Status Report of 2006.

2. COMPLIANCE HISTORY

The Office of the Information Commissioner has conducted Report Cards and status reviews on F&O on six occasions. Although the department attained ideal compliance, a grade of "A", on two occasions, it has not been able to maintain that grade. Therefore, F&O has not been able to meet its obligations under the Access to Information Act to respond to access requests in a timely manner.

In the 2003 Report Card, it was reported that F&O had achieved a very significant turnaround in its performance results for access requests in a deemed-refusal situation. For the period from April 1 to November 30, 2002, a grade of "A" was achieved, which constituted ideal compliance with the time requirements of the Access to Information Act. It was further confirmed that this level of compliance was maintained to the end of the fiscal year. This is in stark contrast to previous years ("F" grades for both the 2001 and 2002 ReportCards).

In the 2004 Status Report, it was noted that F&O continued to maintain this remarkable turnaround by attaining ideal compliance with the time requirements of the Access toInformation Act. The department achieved a 1.9% deemed-refusal ratio for the period from April 1 to November 30, 2003, for a grade of "A".

In the 2005 Report Card, F&O received a substantial compliance grade of "B", with a 5.2% request to deemed-refusal ratio for requests received from April 1 to November 30, 2004. This was the first year that requests carried over from the previous year, and the number of requests already in a deemed-refusal status on April 1, were taken into consideration.

In the 2005-2006 Report Card, F&O’s deemed-refusal ratio was 12.7%, a grade of "C". Out of an average of 300 requests received from April 1 to November 30, 2005, 120 had been carried over from the previous year. This is why the backlog constituted a serious problem for F&O.

3. Current Status

For the reporting period April 1 to November 30, 2006, F&O’s level of compliance was 5.9%, a grade of "B".

A total of 329 requests were received duringthe period April 1 to November 30, 2006, compared to 304 requests received in the same time period last year. 92 requests were carried into the period April 1 to November 30, 2006, which contributed to F&O slipping slightly over ideal compliance at 5.9%.

For FY 2006, F&O started the year with 92 pending access requests with 12 (13%) in a deemed-refusal situation – 50% less than the previous year.

4.

RECOMMENDATIONS

Because of the factors described in this report, F&O was not able to maintain ideal compliance with the time requirements of the Access to Information Act.

Recommendation #1

That the Deputy Minister take responsibility to ensure that the ATIP Office implement all of our recommendations in the Report Cards and status reviews to ensure that the department attains and maintains ideal compliance without further delay.

In order to achieve this, F&O should proceed to full staffing of approved manning levels. Last year, at the same time, 18 of the 25 FTEs were staffed. At the present time, 19 of the 25 FTEs are staffed. The main problem encountered by the department is the burdensome procedure to staff positions.

Recommendation #2

That the ATIP Division produce a weekly report that provides the ATIP Division and Senior Management with information on how well timelines are met when responding to access requests.

F&O failed to follow this recommendation made in last year’s report. The reports will provide Senior Management and the ATIP Division with information needed to gauge overall F&O compliance with the Act’s and F&O’s time requirements for processing access requests.

5. status OF 2006 RECOMMENDATIONS

The following recommendations were made to support F&O’s continuing efforts to process requests within the time requirements of the Access to Information Act:

Previous Recommendation #1

F&O strive to attain ideal compliance with the time requirements of the Access to Information Act for 2005-2006.

Action Taken:

F&O failed to attain ideal compliance. This is addressed at Recommendation #1 in this year’s report.

Previous Recommendation

#2

The ATIP Division produce a monthly report that provides the ATIP Division and Senior Management at F&O with information on how well timelines are met when responding to access requests.

Action Taken:

F&O’s Acting ATIP Director believes that, because F&O, at the time of the writing of this report, carried over only one late file from last year, this recommendation is not worth the effort especially as ATIPflow could not produce enough details to create a report intelligible to Senior Management.

Senior Management requires up-to-date information on a regular basis on how the ATIP Office is managing the processing of requests. While F&O carried over only one file from the previous year, it received 329 requests during this period. Up-to-date information will inform Senior Management and assist them in assessing the challenges ahead.

 

6. Questionnaire and Statistical Report

 

Questionnaire for Statistical Analysis Purposes in relation to official requests

made under the Access to Information Act

Part A:Requests carried over from the prior fiscal period.

Apr. 1/05 to

Mar. 31/06

Apr. 1/06 to

Nov. 30/06

1.

Number of requests carried over:

120

92

2.

Requests carried over from the prior fiscal year in a deemed-refusal situation on the first day of the new fiscal year:

28

12

Part B:New Requests - Exclude requests included in Part A.

Apr. 1/05 to

Mar. 31/06

Apr. 1/06 to

Nov. 30/06

3.

Number of requests received during the fiscal period:

447

329

4.A

How many were processedwithin the 30-day statutory time limit?

241

212

4.B

How many were processed beyond the 30-day statutory time limit where no extension was claimed?

18

1

4.C

How long after the statutory time limit did it take to respond where no extension was claimed?

1-30 days:

12

0

31-60 days:

2

1

61-90 days:

1

0

Over 91 days:

3

0

5.

How many were extended pursuant to section 9?

160

86

6.A

How many were processedwithin the extended time limit?

87

31

6.B

How many exceeded the extended time limit?

18

4

6.C

How long after the expiry of the extended deadline did it take to respond?

1-30 days:

6

2

31-60 days:

9

2

61-90 days:

1

0

Over 91 days:

2

0

7.

As of November 30, 2006, how many requests are in a deemed-refusal situation?

8

 

 

EXCERPT FROM DEPUTY MINISTER’S RESPONSE TO STATUS REPORT

The department did not provide any comments.

Date modified:

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiches de rendement


Année


Pêches et Océans Canada

Rapport d’étape sur les demandes de communication en présomption de refus

1. CONTEXTE

Tous les ministères examinés ont été évalués en fonction de la norme de notation suivante :

% de présomption de refus

Commentaires

Note

0-5 %

Conformité idéale

A

5-10 %

Conformité substantielle

B

10-15 %

Conformité limite

C

15-20 %

Conformité inférieure à la norme

D

Plus de 20 %

Alerte rouge

F

Le présent rapport fait état des progrès réalisés par Pêches et Océans (P et O) quand il s’agit d’atteindre une conformité idéale quant aux délais prévus dans la Loi sur l’accès à l’information depuis le rapport précédent. Il contient également des renseignements sur l’état de la mise en œuvre des recommandations faites dans le rapport d’étape de 2006.

2. HISTORIQUE EN MATIÈRE DE CONFORMITÉ

Le Commissariat à l’information du Canada a réalisé en six occasions des fiches de rendement et des examens à l’égard de P &  O. Bien que le ministère ait affiché une conformité idéale, soit la note « A » en deux occasions, il n’a pu maintenir ce niveau. Par conséquent, P & O n’a pas été en mesure de respecter ses obligations en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, selon laquelle il doit répondre aux demandes de communication en temps opportun.

La fiche de rendement de 2003 indiquait que P & O avait réalisé des progrès considérables dans le traitement des demandes de communication en présomption de refus. Pour la période du 1er avril au 30 novembre 2002, le ministère avait obtenu la note « A », ce qui représente une conformité idéale quant aux délais de traitement prévus dans la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. On a de plus confirmé que ce degré de conformité s’était maintenu jusqu’à la fin de l’exercice. Voilà qui présente un contraste marqué par rapport aux années précédentes (la note « F » pour les fiches de rendement de 2001 et de 2002).

Dans le rapport d’étape de 2004, on signalait que P & O avait maintenu ces résultats remarquables en atteignant une conformité idéale des délais prévus dans la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Le ministère faisait en effet état d’un taux de présomptions de refus de 1,9 % pour la période du 1er avril au 30 novembre 2003, méritant ainsi la note « A ».

Dans la fiche de rendement de 2005, P & O a obtenu la note « B », ce qui représente un bon respect des délais, en raison d’un rapport de 5,2 % entre les présomptions de refus et les nouvelles demandes reçues du 1er avril au 30 novembre 2004. Pour la première fois, on a tenu compte des demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent et du nombre de demandes déjà en présomption de refus au 1er avril.

Dans la fiche de rendement de 2005-2006, les demandes en présomption de refus du ministère représentaient 12,7 % des demandes, ce qui équivaut à la note « C ». Sur une moyenne de 300 demandes reçues du 1er avril au 30 novembre 2005, 120 avaient été reportées de l’exercice précédent. C’est la raison pour laquelle nous avons indiqué que l’arriéré constituait un grave problème pour P & O.

3. SITUATION ACTUELLE

Pour la période visée par le rapport, soit du 1er avril au 30 novembre 2006, le niveau de respect de P & O était de 5,9 %, ce qui lui vaut la note « B ».

En tout, le ministère a reçu 329 demandes durant la période du 1er  avril au 30 novembre 2006, comparativement aux 304 reçues pendant la même période l’an dernier. Comme 92 demandes ont été reportées sur la période du 1er avril au 30 novembre 2006, P & O a glissé sous la barre de la conformité idéale avec son taux de 5,9 %.

P & O a amorcé l’exercice 2006 avec 92 demandes de communication en suspens, dont 12 ou 13 % en présomption de refus, soit 50 % de moins que pour l’exercice précédent.

4.

RECOMMANDATIONS

Pour les raisons énoncées dans le présent rapport, P & O n’a pu conserver une conformité idéale quant aux délais prescrits par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Recommandation no 1

Le sous-ministre devrait veiller à ce que le Bureau de l’AIPRP mette en oeuvre toutes nos recommandations dans les fiches de rendement et les examens de la situation de sorte que le ministère atteigne et maintienne une conformité idéale dans les plus bref délais.

Pour mettre en œuvre cette recommandation, P & O devrait procéder à la dotation des postes approuvés. Durant la même période, l’année dernière, sur les 25 ETP, 18 postes étaient dotés. Aujourd’hui, on compte un poste de plus, soit 19. Le principal problème éprouvé par le ministère a trait à la lourdeur des procédures administratives liées à la dotation en personnel.

Recommandation no 2

La Division de l’AIPRP devrait produire un rapport hebdomadaire qui lui fournisse de même qu’à la haute direction de P & O des renseignements sur la mesure dans laquelle les délais de réponse aux demandes de communication sont respectés.

P & O a négligé de suivre cette recommandation formulée dans le rapport de l’an dernier. Les rapports procureront à la haute direction et à la Division de l’AIPRP l’information nécessaire pour mesurer le respect global à P & O des dispositions de la Loi et la rapidité avec laquelle l’on traite les demandes de communication.

5. ÉTAT DE L’APPLICATION DES RECOMMANDATIONS DE 2006

Les recommandations ci-après ont été formulées afin d’appuyer P & O dans ses efforts continus pour traiter les demandes de communication à l’information dans les délais prescrits par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information :

Recommandation no 1 précédente

P & O devrait atteindre une conformité idéale aux délais prévus dans la Loi sur l’accès à l’information pour 2005-2006.

Mesures prises

 : Tel qu’il est indiqué ci-dessus, P & O n’a pas réussi à atteindre une conformité idéale. L’organisation a toutefois atteint un respect substantiel. Cette question est traitée à la Recommandation no 2.

Recommandation no 2 précédente

La Division de l’AIPRP devrait produire un rapport mensuel fournissant à la Division et à la haute direction de P & O des renseignements sur la mesure dans laquelle les délais de réponse aux demandes de communication sont respectés.

Mesures prises :

Selon le directeur intérimaire de la Division de l’AIPRP de P & O, parce que le ministère n’avait reporté qu’un dossier de l’exercice précédent au moment d’aller sous presse, la mise en œuvre de la recommandation n’est pas nécessaire. De plus, le système ATIPflow ne peut pas produire de données suffisamment détaillées de manière à créer un rapport intelligible pour la haute direction.

La haute direction requiert de manière régulière des renseignements à jour quant à la façon dont la Division de l’AIPRP gère le traitement des demandes. S’il est vrai que P & O n’a reporté qu’un dossier de l’exercice précédent, l’organisation a reçu 329 demandes durant cette période. Avec de l’information à jour, la haute direction sera mieux informée et, partant, mieux à même d’évaluer les défis de demain.

 

6. QUESTIONNAIRE ET RAPPORT STATISTIQUE

Questionnaire aux fins d’analyse statistique à propos des demandes officielles effectuées en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information

Partie A : Demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent

1er avr. 2005 -

31 mars 2006

1er avr. 2006 -

30 nov. 2006

1.

Nombre de demandes reportées :

120

92

2.

Demandes reportées du dernier exercice en présomption de refus le premier jour du nouvel exercice :

28

12

Partie B : Nouvelles demandes à l’exclusion des demandes inscrites à la Partie A

1er avr. 2005 -

31 mars 2006

1er avr. 2006 -

30 nov. 2006

3.

Nombre de demandes reçues durant l’exercice :

447

329

4.A

Combien de demandes ont été traitées dans le délai obligatoire de 30 jours?

241

212

4.B

Combien de demandes pour lesquelles on n’a demandé aucune prorogation de délai ont été traitées après le délai de 30 jours?

18

1

4.C

Dans quel délai après l’échéance a-t-on répondu aux demandes pour lesquelles aucune prorogation de délai n’avait été demandée?

 

De 1 à 30 jours :

12

0

 

De 31 à 60 jours :

2

1

 

De 61 à 90 jours :

1

0

 

Plus de 91 jours :

3

0

5.

Combien de demandes ont fait l’objet d’une prorogation de délai en vertu de l’article 9?

160

86

6.A

Combien de demandes ont été traitées dans le délai prorogé?

87

31

6.B

À combien de demandes a-t-on répondu après le délai prorogé?

18

4

6.C

Combien de temps après l’expiration du délai prorogé a-t-on mis pour répondre?

 

De 1 à 30 jours :

6

2

 

De 31 à 60 jours :

9

2

 

De 61 à 90 jours :

1

0

 

Plus de 91 jours :

2

0

7.

Au 30 novembre 2006, combien de demandes étaient en présomption de refus?

8

 

EXTRAIT DE LA RÉPONSE DU SOUS-MINISTRE AU RAPPORT D’ÉTAPE

Le ministère n’a fourni aucun commentaire.