Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Report Cards


Year


Transport Canada

Status report on access requests in a deemed-refusal situation

1. Background

Every department reviewed has been assessed against the following grading standard:

% of Deemed Refusals

Comment

Grade

0-5%

Ideal compliance

A

5-10%

Substantial compliance

B

10-15%

Borderline compliance

C

15-20%

Below standard compliance

D

More than 20%

Red alert

F

This report reviews Transport Canada’s (TC) progress to attain ideal compliance with the time requirements of the Access to Information Act, since the previous report. In addition, this report contains information on the status of the recommendations made in the Status Report of January 2006.

  1. COMPLIANCE HISTORY

The Office of the Information Commissioner has conducted Report Cards and status reviews on TC on seven occasions. The department has never come into ideal compliance during the period of our reviews. Therefore, TC has not been able to meet its obligations under the Access to Information Act to respond to access requests in a timely manner.

In early 2000, the Office of the Information Commissioner issued a Report Card on Transport Canada’s compliance with the statutory time requirements of the Access to Information Act. In the Report Card, the department received a red alert grade of "F" for its compliance with the statutory time requirements of the Access to Information Act. The grade represented a 30.6% new request to deemed-refusal ratio for access requests received from April 1 to November 30, 1999.

Some improvement was noted the following year. Between April 1 and November 30, 2000, the new request to deemed-refusal ratio was reduced to 23.7%, but still a grade of "F".

In January 2002, a further Status Report reviewed the progress of the department to come into compliance with the time requirements of the Access to Information Act, since the January 2001 report. To the department’s credit at the time, a grade of "C", for the period April 1 to November 30, 2001, was attained. However, the grade dropped to a "D", for the fiscal year 2001-2002.

In January 2003, it was reported that TC had received a grade of "D" denoting below standard compliance with the time requirements of the Access to Information Act. This level of compliance slipped even further with the final statistics indicating a 29.9% ratio of deemed refusals in relation to requests received for the fiscal year 2002-2003.

In the Status Report of January 2004, the department continued to experience problems. The new request to deemed-refusal grading remained at a "D" level, although the ratio did improve marginally to 17.2%, for the period from April 1 to November 30, 2003.

In the 2005 Report Card, TC received a grade alert of "B", with a 7.2% request to deemed-refusal ratio for requests received from April 1 to November 30, 2004. This was the first year requests carried over from the previous year, and the number of requests already in a deemed-refusal status on April 1, were taken into consideration.

For the full fiscal year 2004-2005, TC received a grade of "B", with an 8.9% request to deemed-refusal ratio.

In the 2006 Report Card, TC maintained a grade of "B", with a deemed-refusal ratio of 9.2%, even though, for this reporting period, TC received 123 more requests than the previous year.

3. CURRENT STATUS

For the reporting period April 1 to November 30, 2006, the department’s level of compliance was 16.6%, a grade of "D".

During this period, TC received 968 requests. This is 301 more, a 50% increase in volume, from the previous year.

Other than the increase in the volume of access requests, some important factors, not under the control of the department, explain this draw back. These factors are described further in this report.

Over the last few years, the ATIP Division has worked at finding solutions in order to meet legislated timeframes. The Minister has delegated full authority under the Access to Information Act to the ATIP Coordinator’s position, and the ATI process has been streamlined and refined. Training awareness sessions continue to be given to employees throughout the department, and the ATIP advisors are being encouraged to contact requesters and keep them apprised of all developments related to their requests. Several performance reports are issued to the groups/regions as well as the ATIP Division, which increases accountabilities in the processing of ATI requests in a timely manner.

 

4. RECOMMENDATIONS

Because of the factors described in this report, TC was not able to achieve ideal compliance with the time requirements of the Access to Information Act.

Recommendation #1

That the Deputy Minister take responsibility to ensure that the ATIP Office implement all of our recommendations in the Report Cards and status reviews to ensure that the department attains and maintains ideal compliance without further delay.

Recommendation #2

That the department address the staffing shortfall of the ATIP Directorate with a view to increasing resources as required.

5. STATUS OF 2006 RECOMMENDATIONS

The following recommendations were made to support TC’s continuing efforts to process requests within the time requirements of the Access to Information Act:

Previous Recommendation #1

TC attain ideal compliance and a grade of "A" by March 31, 2007.

Action Taken:

TC should have been able to meet this goal, but was still faced with a staffing shortfall problem, a 50% increase in volume of access requests, and a greater volume of consultations being required during that period. This is addressed at Recommendation #1 of this year’s report.

Previous Recommendation #2

The department address the staffing shortfall of the ATIP Directorate with a view to increasing resources as required.

Action Taken:

TC was, and is, still faced with a staffing shortfall problem. Many employees were on extended leave at the same time and the onus was on the remaining staff to carry the additional workload.

Many attempts to staff positions were made during the current year. Competitions were made to staff PM-04 and PM-05 positions. Also, PM-03 and PM-05 positions were deployed. An attempt was also made to hire consultants to address the increasing volume of access requests, but a complaint was made to the Canadian International Trade Tribunal by a consultant who was not retained. Since November 9, 2006, the Tribunal made an order pursuant to subsection 30.13(3) of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal preventing the adjudication of the contract. This order significantly prohibited any short-term effort by the department to comply with the timeframes imposed by the Access to Information Act.

 

 

6. QUESTIONNAIRE AND STATISTICAL REPORT

 

Questionnaire for Statistical Analysis Purposes in relation to official requests

made under the Access to Information Act

Part A: Requests carried over from the prior fiscal period.

Apr. 1/05 to

Mar. 31/06

Apr. 1/06 to

Nov. 30/06

1.

Number of requests carried over:

87

146

2.

Requests carried over from the prior fiscal year in a deemed-refusal situation on the first day of the new fiscal year:

20

31

Part B: New Requests - Exclude requests included in Part A.

Apr. 1/05 to

Mar. 31/06

Apr. 1/06 to

Nov. 30/06

3.

Number of requests received during the fiscal period:

901

968

4.A

How many were processedwithin the 30-day statutory time limit?

640

688

4.B

How many were processed beyond the 30-day statutory time limit where no extension was claimed?

26

48

4.C

How long after the statutory time limit did it take to respond where no extension was claimed?

1-30 days:

16

35

31-60 days:

5

10

61-90 days:

3

2

Over 91 days:

2

1

5.

How many were extended pursuant to section 9?

205

103

6.A

How many were processedwithin the extended time limit?

68

21

6.B

How many exceeded the extended time limit?

27

11

6.C

How long after the expiry of the extended deadline did it take to respond?

1-30 days:

13

5

31-60 days:

6

4

61-90 days:

4

2

Over 91 days:

4

0

7.

As of November 30, 2006, how many requests are in a deemed-refusal situation?

95

   

 

 

EXCERPT FROM DEPUTY MINISTER’S RESPONSE TO STATUS REPORT

"Please note that the department is committed to meeting is obligations under the Access to Information Act and is currently in the process of taking the necessary steps to meet the time requirements of the Act. In this regard, the department will endeavour to address the recommendations that were made in your report."

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiches de rendement


Année


Transports Canada

Rapport d’étape sur les demandes de communication en présomption de refus

1. CONTEXTE

Tous les ministères examinés ont été évalués en fonction de la norme de notation suivante :

% de présomption de refus

Commentaires

Note

0-5 %

Conformité idéale

A

5-10 %

Conformité substantielle

B

10-15 %

Conformité limite

C

15-20 %

Conformité inférieure à la norme

D

Plus de 20 %

Alerte rouge

F

Le présent rapport fait état des progrès réalisés par Transports Canada (TC) quand il s’agit d’atteindre une conformité idéale quant aux délais prévus dans la Loi sur l’accès à l’information depuis le rapport précédent. De plus, il contient des renseignements sur l’état de la mise en application des recommandations qui ont été faites dans le rapport d’étape de janvier 2006.

  1. HISTORIQUE EN MATIÈRE DE CONFORMITÉ

Le Commissariat à l’information du Canada a déjà réalisé en sept occasions des fiches de rendement et des examens de la situation concernant TC. Le ministère n’a pas réussi à atteindre une conformité idéale durant la période visée par nos examens. Par conséquent, Transports Canada n’a pas été en mesure de respecter ses obligations en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, selon laquelle il doit répondre aux demandes en temps opportun.

Au début de 2000, le Commissariat à l’information a publié une fiche de rendement sur le respect à TC des délais de traitement prévus par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Dans cette fiche, le Commissariat attribuait au ministère la note « F » (alerte rouge) au plan du respect des délais visés par la Loi. Cette note découlait d’un rapport de 30,6 % entre les présomptions de refus et les nouvelles demandes de communication reçues du 1er avril au 30 novembre 1999.

Des progrès ont été réalisés l’année suivante. Entre le 1er avril et le 30 novembre 2000, le rapport entre les nouvelles demandes et les présomptions de refus s’était amélioré, passant à 23,7 %, ce qui correspondait tout de même encore à la note « F ».

En janvier 2002, un autre rapport d’étape examinait les progrès réalisés par le ministère depuis le rapport d’étape de janvier 2001 en vue de la conformité quant aux délais prévus à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Il faut cependant reconnaître que le ministère avait reçu la note « C » pour la période du 1er avril au 30 novembre 2001. Par la suite, cette note a baissé pour passer à « D » au cours de l’exercice 2001-2002.

En janvier 2003, Transports Canada (TC) a reçu la note « D », dénotant un rendement inférieur à la norme en ce qui concerne le respect des délais prévus dans la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Ce niveau de respect a continué de chuter, les statistiques finales indiquant un rapport de 29,9 % entre les présomptions de refus et les demandes reçues au cours de l’exercice 2002-2003.

Dans le rapport d’étape de janvier 2004, le ministère a continué d’éprouver des difficultés. Le rapport entre les présomptions de refus et les nouvelles demandes correspondait toujours à la note « D », même s’il s’était légèrement amélioré, atteignant 17,2 % pour la période du 1er avril au 30 novembre 2003.

Dans la fiche de rendement de 2005, TC a reçu la note « B », avec un rapport de 7,2 % entre les présomptions de refus et les nouvelles demandes reçues entre le 1er avril et le 30 novembre 2004. Il s’agissait de la première année où l’on prenait en considération les demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent et le nombre de demandes déjà en présomption de refus au 1er avril.

Pour tout l’exercice 2004-2005, TC a obtenu la note « B », avec un taux de 8,9 % de demandes en présomption de refus.

Dans la fiche de rendement de 2006, TC a maintenu la note « B » avec un taux de 9,2 % de demandes en présomption de refus même si, pour la période visée, TC avait reçu 123 demandes de plus que lors de l’exercice précédent.

3. SITUATION ACTUELLE

Pour la période visée par le présent rapport, du 1er avril au 30 novembre 2006, TC affiche un taux de respect de 16,6 %, ce qui équivaut à la note « D ».

Durant cette période, TC a reçu 968 demandes, soit 301 de plus que lors de l’exercice précédent, ce qui représentait une hausse de 50 %.

Outre la hausse du volume de demandes de communication, certains facteurs importants indépendants de la volonté du ministère peuvent expliquer ce recul. Ces facteurs sont décrits plus loin dans le présent rapport.

Au cours des dernières années, la Division de l’AIPRP s’est employée à trouver des moyens de respecter les délais prévus par la Loi. Le ministre a délégué les pleins pouvoirs en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information au coordonnateur de l’AIPRP, et le processus d’AI a été rationalisé et amélioré. On continue de dispenser aux employés de tout le ministère des séances de sensibilisation, et les conseillers en matière d’AIPRP sont encouragés à contacter les demandeurs et à tenir ceux-ci au courant de l’avancement de leur demande. Plusieurs rapports sur le rendement sont fournis aux groupes et (ou) régions de même qu’à la Division de l’AIPRP, rapports qui augmentent la responsabilisation à l’égard du traitement des demandes d’AI dans les délais.

4. RECOMMANDATIONS

En raison des facteurs décrits dans le présent rapport, TC n’a pas pu atteindre une conformité idéale des délais prévus dans la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Recommandation no 1

Le sous-ministre devrait veiller à ce que le Bureau de l’AIPRP mette en œuvre toutes nos recommandations découlant des fiches de rendement et des examens de la situation et à ce que le ministère atteigne et maintienne une conformité idéale dans les plus brefs délais.

Recommandation no 2

Que le ministère règle la pénurie de personnel à la Direction de l’AIPRP en augmentant le nombre d’employés au besoin.

5. ÉTAT DE L’APPLICATION DES RECOMMANDATIONS DE 2006

Les recommandations ci-après ont été formulées pour appuyer les efforts continus de TC  afin de traiter les demandes de communication dans les délais prescrits par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information :

Recommandation no 1 précédente

TC devrait atteindre une conformité idéale et la note « A » d’ici le 31 mars 2007.

Mesures prises :

TC aurait pu atteindre cet objectif, mais doit encore composer avec une pénurie de personnel. En outre, le ministère est aux prises avec une hausse de 50 % du nombre de demandes de communication. Malheureusement, il a également dû mener un plus grand nombre de consultations cette année aussi. Cette question est traitée à la Recommandation no 1 du rapport de cette année.

Recommandation no 2 précédente

Le ministère devrait régler le problème de manque de personnel à la Direction de l’AIPRP afin d’augmenter le nombre d’employés au besoin.

Mesures prises :

TC est encore aux prises avec une pénurie d’employés. Bon nombre d’employées étaient en congé prolongé en même temps, ce qui a obligé le personnel restant à assumer une charge de travail additionnelle.

Le ministère a déployé des efforts pour doter des postes durant le présent exercice. Il a lancé des concours pour doter les postes PM-04 et PM-05 et procédé à des mutations aux niveaux PM-03 et PM-05. Il a également tenté d’embaucher des experts-conseils pour traiter le nombre croissant de demandes de communication, mais un expert-conseil dont le ministère n’avait pas retenu les services a porté plainte devant le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur. Le 9 novembre 2006, le Tribunal a rendu une ordonnance conformément au paragraphe 30.13(3) de la Loi sur le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur empêchant l’attribution du contrat. Cette ordonnance a considérablement restreint les efforts à court terme du ministère en vue du respect des délais imposés par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

 

6.

QUESTIONNAIRE ET RAPPORT STATISTIQUE

Questionnaire aux fins d’analyse statistique à propos des demandes officielles effectuées en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information

Partie A : Demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent

1er avr. 2005 -

31 mars 2006

1er avr. 2006 -

30 nov. 2006

1.

Nombre de demandes reportées :

87

146

2.

Demandes reportées du dernier exercice en présomption de refus le premier jour du nouvel exercice :

20

31

Partie B : Nouvelles demandes à l’exclusion des demandes inscrites à la Partie A

1er avr. 2005 -

31 mars 2006

1er avr. 2006 -

30 nov. 2006

3.

Nombre de demandes reçues durant l’exercice :

901

968

4.A

Combien de demandes ont été traitées dans le délai obligatoire de 30 jours?

640

688

4.B

Combien de demandes pour lesquelles on n’a demandé aucune prorogation de délai ont été traitées après le délai de 30 jours?

26

48

4.C

Dans quel délai après l’échéance a-t-on répondu aux demandes pour lesquelles aucune prorogation de délai n’avait été demandée?

 

De 1 à 30 jours :

16

35

 

De 31 à 60 jours :

5

10

 

De 61 à 90 jours :

3

2

 

Plus de 91 jours :

2

1

5.

Combien de demandes ont fait l’objet d’une prorogation de délai en vertu de l’article 9?

205

103

6.A

Combien de demandes ont été traitées dans le délai prorogé?

68

21

6.B

À combien de demandes a-t-on répondu après le délai prorogé?

27

11

6.C

Combien de temps après l’expiration du délai prorogé a-t-on mis pour répondre?

 

De 1 à 30 jours :

13

5

 

De 31 à 60 jours :

6

4

 

De 61 à 90 jours :

4

2

 

Plus de 91 jours :

4

0

7.

Au 30 novembre 2006, combien de demandes étaient en présomption de refus?

95

 

 

EXTRAIT DE LA RÉPONSE DU SOUS-MINISTRE AU RAPPORT D’ÉTAPE

«  Veuillez noter que le ministère tient à honorer ses obligations en vertu de la Loi sur l’acces à l’information et prend actuellement les mesures nécessaires pour respecter les délais prescrits dans la Loi. À cet effet, le ministère s’efforcera de répondre aux recommandations que on été formulées dans votre rapport. »