Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Report Cards


Year


Royal Canadian Mounted Police

Status report on access requests in a deemed-refusal situation

1. Background

Every department reviewed has been assessed against the following grading standard:

% of Deemed Refusals

Comment

Grade

0-5%

Ideal compliance

A

5-10%

Substantial compliance

B

10-15%

Borderline compliance

C

15-20%

Below standard compliance

D

More than 20%

Red alert

F

This report reviews the Royal Canadian Mounted Police’s (RCMP) progress, since the previous report, in coming into compliance with the time requirements of the Access to Information Act. In addition, this report contains information on the status of the recommendations made in the 2006 Status Report.

  1. COMPLIANCE HISTORY

The Office of the Information Commissioner conducted a first Report Card on the RCMP last year. The department was far from ideal compliance during that period of review. Thus, the RCMP has not been able to meet its obligations under the Access to Information Act to respond to access requests in a timely manner.

In 2004-2005, the department received 1,096 new access requests and carried over 144 access requests from the previous fiscal year, for a total of 1,240 access requests. Of the 1,240 access requests, 531 were completed in a deemed-refusal situation, 92 were carried over from the previous fiscal year in a deemed-refusal situation, and a further 340 were carried over to the next fiscal year in a deemed-refusal situation. The deemed-refusal ratio for 2004-2005 was 78%, resulting in an "F".

For the first eight months of 2005-2006, the department received 686 new access requests and carried over 430 access requests from the previous fiscal year, for a total of 1,116 access requests. By November 30, 2005, of the 1,116 access requests, 121 were completed in a deemed-refusal situation, 340 were carried over from the previous fiscal year in a deemed-refusal situation, and a further 420 remained in a deemed-refusal situation at the end of the eight-month period. The deemed-refusal ratio for the first eight months of 2005-2006 was 79%, resulting in an "F".

 

3. CURRENT STATUS

For the reporting period April 1 to November 30, 2006, the RCMP’s deemed-refusal ratio was once again below standards. For the first eight months of 2006-2007, the RCMP received 566 new access requests and carried over 498 access requests from the previous fiscal year, for a total of 1,064. By November 30, 2006, out of the 1,064 requests, 423 were still outstanding from previous periods in deemed-refusal situations, and 125 remained in a deemed-refusal situation at the end of the eight-month period. Moreover, during this period, 143 files were completed beyond the statutory time limit where no extension was claimed. Out of the 77 requests extended pursuant to section 9, 22 were completed beyond the extended time limit. As a result, for the second year in a row, the RCMP receives a score of "F". In fact, this year’s score of 67% deemed-refusal ratio is more than three times the 20% "red alert" grade. This score is one of the most catastrophic scores since the Report Cards began.

We note that the RCMP failed to address most of last year’s recommendations. As a result, the RCMP is carrying over almost as many requests as it received during the same period. It is predictable that, because of this situation, the RCMP will still find itself in a "red alert" situation in next year’s report.

Last year, the department cited a lack of staff to explain its poor performance. A further 20 staff positions were allocated to the ATIP Office. By December 2006, none of these positions were staffed. In our view, a major reason for the continuing poor performance at the RCMP is the lack of Senior Management leadership.

4. RECOMMENDATIONS

Recommendation #1

That the Commissioner of the RCMP take responsibility to ensure the implementation of our recommendations in the Report Cards and personally commit to guarantee that the department attains and maintains ideal compliance without further delay.

Recommendation #2

That the ATIPOfficers Reference Book be updated to document criteria for clarifying or modifying an access request, which could be used to provide requesters with information on how to formulate a clear access request.

Recommendation #3

That the ATIP Office develop a fee waiver policy for access requests and document the basis for its fee waiver decisions.

 

Recommendation #4

That the ATIP Officers Reference Book incorporate criteria to consider for treating an access request informally.

Recommendation #5

Where the RCMP consults with, or is consulted by, a department routinely, that it enter into a Memorandum of Understanding to cover each department’s responsibilities in the consultation process including the provision of rationales for claiming exemptions.

Recommendation #6

If an extended date will not be met, that the ATIP Office contact the requester to indicate it will be late, provide an expected response date, and inform the requester of the right to complain to the Information Commissioner.

Recommendation #7

That the ATIP Office institute requirements in the ATIPOfficers Reference Book for consistent file documentation to record the actions and decisions taken to process an access requests.

Recommendation #8

That the ATIP Office include a requirement in the ATIPOfficers Reference Book to document the rationale for properly exercising discretion.

Recommendation #9

That the ATIP Office consider the use of contractors to provide additional processing resources for the short term, as part of the strategy to reduce the deemed-refusal situation.

Recommendation #10

That Senior Management initiate the development of an access to information vision that can be communicated to RCMP employees.

Recommendation #11

That the ATIP Office develop an ATI Operational Plan to support the departmental access to information vision and the ATI objectives.

 

Recommendation #12

That the ATIP Office develop an ATI Improvement Plan to eliminate the deemed-refusal situation, including a weekly report that provides information on access requests that are required to be completed at each stage in the request processing model, in order to proactively manage the deemed-refusal situation.

Due to the critical situation, we strongly believe it is imperative that an ATI Improvement Plan be developed.

Recommendation #13

That the ATIP Office update the ATIP Officer Reference Book.

Recommendation #14

That the ATIP Office develop and implement an ATI Training Plan.

Recommendation #15

That the ATIP Office review its use of ATIPflow to provide proactive management of ATIP administration, including routine reporting to Senior Management.

Recommendation #16

That the RCMP determine further categories of information that could be disclosed proactively.

5. status OF 2006 RECOMMENDATIONS

The following recommendations were made to support the RCMP’s continuing efforts to process requests within the time requirements of the Access to Information Act:

Previous Recommendation #1.1

The ATIPOfficers Reference Book be updated to document criteria for clarifying or modifying an access request.

Action Taken:

The department failed to follow this recommendation. The department is still using the same reference book, which has not been updated. According to the former ATIP Coordinator, the RCMP receives many requests, the subjects of which are too diversified to properly document criteria for clarifying or modifying an access request. With all due respect for this opinion, many departments also receive diversified access requests and have proper documentation on criteria for clarifying or modifying an access request. Accordingly, the same recommendation will be maintained this year.

 

Previous Recommendation #1.2

The ATIP Office develop a fee waiver policy for access requests.

Action Taken:

The department failed to follow this recommendation. According to the former ATIP Coordinator,the crisis situation in which the department finds itself prohibits the department from taking such action as all efforts are concentrated on the processing of access requests. In our respectful view, the RCMP finds itself in a crisis situation because it failed to develop proper procedures to assist staff in processing access requests. Accordingly, the same recommendation will be maintained this year.

Previous Recommendation #1.3

The ATIP Officers Reference Book incorporate criteria to consider for treating an access request informally.

Action Taken:

The department failed to follow this recommendation. Accordingly, the same recommendation will be maintained this year.

Previous Recommendation #1.4

At intake, the ATIP Office have an experienced analyst review access requests to make an initial determination if the access request is a potential candidate for a time extension as well as institute control measures to ensure that any claim for a time extension is made within the 30-day time limit.

Action Taken:

The department followed this recommendation. However, the results are disappointing. Last year, the department received 686 requests during the period of April 1 to November 30. Out of these requests, only one was extended pursuant to section 9. This year, for the same period, the department received 566 requests, and 77 were extended pursuant to section 9. Out of these 77 requests, 22 were completed beyond the extended time limit. This means the department took numerous extensions of time compared to the previous year, but failed to meet the deadline 28.5% of the time.

Previous Recommendation #1.5

Where the RCMP consults with or is consulted by a department routinely, they enter into a Memorandum of Understanding to cover each department’s responsibilities in the consultation process including the provision of rationales for claiming exemptions.

Action Taken:

The department failed to follow this recommendation. Accordingly, the same recommendation will be maintained this year.

 

Previous Recommendation #1.6

If an extended date will not be met, the ATIP Office should contact the requester to indicate it will be late, provide an expected response date and inform the requester of the right to complain to the Information Commissioner.

Action Taken:

The department failed to follow this recommendation. According to the former ATIP Coordinator,it would be impossible to provide an expected response date due to the significant amount of files in deemed-refusal situations. The reality is that the department is so profoundly procrastinating that it will not even consider this simple task, which would alleviate some of the requester’s frustration. Accordingly, the same recommendation will be maintained this year.

Previous Recommendation #1.7

At intake, the ATIP Office have an experienced analyst review access requests to make an initial determination whether or not the access request is a potential candidate for a transfer to another institution, and institute control measures to ensure that any transfer is made within the 15-day time limit for all access requests that are to be transferred to another institution.

Action Taken:

The department followed this recommendation.

Previous Recommendation #1.8

The ATIP Office institute requirements in the ATIPOfficers Reference Book for consistent file documentation to record the actions and decisions taken to process an access request.

Action Taken:

The department failed to follow this recommendation. Accordingly, the same recommendation will be maintained this year.

Previous Recommendation #1.9

The ATIP Office include a requirement in the ATIPOfficers Reference Book to document the rationale for exercising discretion.

Action Taken:

The department failed to follow this recommendation. Accordingly, the same recommendation will be maintained this year.

 

Previous Recommendation #2.1

The ATIP Office produce a monthly report that provides the ATIP Office and Senior Management at the RCMP with information on how well timelines are met when responding to access requests.

Action Taken:

The department partly followed this recommendation as a quarterly report is produced for Senior Management. However, there is no evidence that Senior Management acted to remedy the problems set out in the reports.

Previous Recommendation #2.2

The RCMP should come into ideal compliance with the Act’s deadlines no later than March 31, 2007.

Action Taken:

The department failed to follow this recommendation. Rather, it obtained the unprecedented score of 70% deemed-refusal ratio. It is estimated by the former ATIP Coordinator that he would require two years, with twice as many employees, to obtain this result. The department lost six experienced supervisors. It also failed to staff a single position.

Previous Recommendation #3.1

The ATIP Office consider the use of contractors to provide additional processing resources for the short term as part of the strategy to reduce the deemed-refusal situation.

Action Taken:

Only two consultants were hired at the time of completion of this report. The former ATIP Coordinator claims that it is difficult to retain consultants as the candidate for this position requires a good knowledge of investigation techniques and must possess a valid security clearance. Most departments have to process access requests requiring specialized knowledge; this problem is not unique to the RCMP. Accordingly, the same recommendation will be maintained this year.

Previous Recommendation #4.1

Senior Management initiate the development of an access to information vision that can be communicated to RCMP employees.

Action Taken:

The department failed to follow this recommendation. Accordingly, the same recommendation will be maintained this year.

 

Previous Recommendation #4.2

The ATIP Office develop an ATI Operational Plan to support the departmental access to information vision and the ATI objectives.

Action Taken:

The department failed to follow this recommendation. Accordingly, the same recommendation will be maintained this year.

Previous Recommendation #4.3

The ATIP Office develop an ATI Improvement Plan to eliminate the deemed-refusal situation.

Action Taken:

The department failed to follow this recommendation. Accordingly, the same recommendation will be maintained this year.

Previous Recommendation #4.4

The ATIP Office update the ATIP Officer Reference Book.

Action Taken:

The department failed to follow this recommendation. Accordingly, the same recommendation will be maintained this year.

Previous Recommendation #4.5

The ATIP Office develop and implement an ATI Training Plan.

Action Taken:

According to the former ATIP Coordinator, the burden of work of the ATIP Officeprohibits the RCMP from providing training to employees. In our view, proper training would make employees more efficient. Accordingly, the same recommendation will be maintained this year.

Previous Recommendation #4.6

The ATIP Office review its use of ATIPflow to provide proactive management of ATIP administration, including routine reporting to Senior Management.

Action Taken:

The department failed to follow this recommendation. Accordingly, the same recommendation will be maintained this year.

Previous Recommendation #5.1

The RCMP determine further categories of information that could be disclosed proactively.

Action Taken:

The department failed to follow this recommendation. Accordingly, the same recommendation will be maintained this year.

 

6. Questionnaire and statistical report

 

Questionnaire for Statistical Analysis Purposes in relation to official requests

made under the Access to Information Act

Part A: Requests carried over from the prior fiscal period.

Apr. 1/05 to

Mar. 31/06

Apr. 1/06 to

Nov. 30/06

1.

Number of requests carried over:

437

498

2.

Requests carried over from the prior fiscal year in a deemed-refusal situation on the first day of the new fiscal year:

347

423

Part B: New Requests - Exclude requests included in Part A.

Apr. 1/05 to

Mar. 31/06

Apr. 1/06 to

Nov. 30/06

3.

Number of requests received during the fiscal period:

937

566

4.A

How many were processedwithin the 30-day statutory time limit?

75

161

4.B

How many were processed beyond the 30-day statutory time limit where no extension was claimed?

408

143

4.C

How long after the statutory time limit did it take to respond where no extension was claimed?

1-30 days:

54

68

31-60 days:

49

33

61-90 days:

32

9

Over 91 days:

273

33

5.

How many were extended pursuant to section 9?

18

77

6.A

How many were processedwithin the extended time limit?

4

38

6.B

How many exceeded the extended time limit?

0

22

6.C

How long after the expiry of the extended deadline did it take to respond?

1-30 days:

0

13

31-60 days:

0

5

61-90 days:

0

4

Over 91 days:

0

0

7.

As of November 30, 2006, how many requests are in a deemed-refusal situation?

125

 

EXCERPT FROM THE RCMP COMMISSIONER’S RESPONSE TO STATUS REPORT

"First, let me assure you that the RCMP is committed to providing the highest quality service to all Canadians in the exercise of their access to information rights and, to this end, I want to reiterate our strong commitment to continued cooperation with your office. I would like to note that since your last reporting period, our compliance rate, even though deficient, has improved significantly in comparison with the same time period last year.

… I will ensure that a closer examination of your identified recommendations is conducted by our ATIP Coordinator."

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiches de rendement


Année


Gendarmerie royale du Canada

Rapport d’étape sur les demandes de communication en présomption de refus

1. CONTEXTE

Tous les ministères examinés ont été évalués en fonction de la norme de notation suivante :

% de présomption de refus

Commentaires

Note

0-5 %

Conformité idéale

A

5-10 %

Conformité substantielle

B

10-15 %

Conformité limite

C

15-20 %

Conformité inférieure à la norme

D

Plus de 20 %

Alerte rouge

F

Le présent rapport fait état des progrès réalisés par la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC) quand il s’agit d’atteindre une conformité idéale quant aux délais prévus dans la Loi sur l’accès à l’information depuis le rapport précédent. Il contient également des renseignements sur l’état de la mise en œuvre des recommandations faites dans le rapport d’étape de 2006.

2. HISTORIQUE EN MATIÈRE DE CONFORMITÉ

L’année dernière, le Commissariat à l’information du Canada réalisait pour la première fois une fiche de rendement sur la GRC. L’organisation n’a pas réussi à atteindre la conformité idéale durant cette période d’examen. Par conséquent, la GRC n’a pas été en mesure de respecter ses obligations en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, selon laquelle elle doit répondre aux demandes en temps opportun.

Lors de l’exercice 2004-2005, l’organisation a reçu 1 096 nouvelles demandes de communication et en a reporté 144 de l’exercice précédent, pour un total de 1 240 demandes. De ce nombre, 531 étaient en présomption de refus, 92 des demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent étaient considérées en présomption de refus, et 340 autres reportées sur l’exercice suivant sont assimilées à des présomptions de refus. La pourcentage des présomptions de refus pour l’exercice 2004-2005 s’élève à 78 %, ce qui représente la note « F » sur l’échelle de classement.

Pour les huit premiers mois de l’exercice 2005-2006, l’organisation a reçu 686 nouvelles demandes de communication et a reporté 430 demandes de l’exercice précédent pour un total de 1 116 demandes. De ce nombre, au 30 novembre 2005, 121 étaient en présomption de refus, 340 des demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent étaient considérées comme des présomptions de refus, et 420 autres demeuraient en présomption de refus à la fin de la période de huit mois. La pourcentage des présomptions de refus pour les huit premiers mois de l’exercice 2005-2006 s’élève à 79%, soit la note « F » sur l’échelle de classement.

3. SITUATION ACTUELLE

Pour la période visée par le présent rapport, soit du 1er avril au 30 novembre 2006, la proportion de demandes en présomption de refus de la GRC était encore inférieure à la norme. En ce qui concerne les huit premiers mois de l’exercice 2006-2007, la GRC a reçu 566 nouvelles demandes de communication et en a reporté 498 de l’exercice précédent, pour un total de 1 064. De ce nombre, au 30 novembre 2006, 423 étaient déjà en suspens et en présomption de refus, puisqu’elles provenaient de périodes antérieures, et 125 étaient encore en présomption de refus à la fin de la période de huis mois. En outre, durant cette période, 143 dossiers ont été terminés au-delà de la limite de temps réglementaire sans qu’aucune prorogation n’ait été demandée. Des 77 demandes prorogées aux termes de l’article 9, 22 ont été terminées au-delà du délai prorogé. Par conséquent, pour la deuxième année consécutive, la GRC reçoit la note « F ». Pour tout dire, le taux de 67 % de demandes en présomption de refus de cette année est trois fois supérieur à la proportion de 20 % qui équivaut à une alerte rouge. Ce résultat est jusqu’ici l’un des plus catastrophiques enregistrés depuis l’existence des fiches de rendement.

La GRC n’a pas donné suite à la plupart des recommandations de l’année dernière. Par conséquent, la GRC reporte presque autant de demandes qu’elle en reçoit durant la même période. Dans un tel contexte, il est prévisible que la GRC se retrouvera encore en situation d’alerte rouge dans le rapport de l’an prochain.

L’an dernier, l’organisation avait fait état d’un manque d’employés pour expliquer cet arriéré surprenant. On a approuvé l’affectation de 20 postes au Bureau de l’AIPRP. En décembre 2006, aucun de ces postes n’avaient été doté. Selon nous, la principale raison de l’arriéré écrasant à la GRC est l’absence de leadership de la part de la haute direction.

4. RECOMMANDATIONS

Recommandation no 1

Le Commissaire de la GRC devrait veiller à ce que le Bureau de l’AIPRP mette en œuvre toutes nos recommandations découlant des fiches de rendement et s’engage personnellement à faire en sorte que l’organisation atteigne et maintienne une conformité idéale dans les plus brefs délais.

Recommandation no 2

Que le manuel de référence de l’agent d’AIPRP soit mis à jour pour énoncer les critères relatifs à l’éclaircissement ou à la modification d’une demande de communication dont on pourrait se servir pour fournir aux demandeurs de l’information sur la manière de formuler une demande de communication claire.

 

Recommandation no 3

Que le Bureau de l’AIPRP élabore une politique de dispense de frais pour les demandes de communication et qu’il précise les critères relatifs aux décisions prises à l’égard des dispenses.

Recommandation n4

Que le manuel de référence de l’agent d’AIPRP inclue des critères qui permettent de juger quand traiter une demande sans passer par la procédure officielle.

Recommandation no 5

Lorsque la GRC consulte un ministère ou est régulièrement consultée par celui-ci, que les deux concluent un protocole d’entente énonçant les responsabilités de chacun dans la procédure, notamment une disposition concernant la justification des exceptions.

Recommandation no 6

Si un délai prorogé n’est pas respecté, que le Bureau de l’AIPRP contacte systématiquement le demandeur pour le lui indiquer, lui préciser la date de réponse escomptée et l’informer de son droit de porter plainte auprès du Commissaire à l’information.

Recommandation no 7

Que le Bureau de l’AIPRP inscrive dans le manuel de référence de l’agent d’AIPRP des directives concernant les inscriptions au dossier pour consigner les mesures et les décisions prises dans le traitement des demandes de communication.

Recommandation no 8

Que le Bureau de l’AIPRP inclue dans le manuel de référence de l’agent d’AIPRP une directive voulant qu’on mette par écrit la justification de l’exercice du pouvoir discrétionnaire.

Recommandation no 9

Que le Bureau de l’AIPRP envisage le recours aux services d’entrepreneurs à titre de ressources additionnelles à court terme pour le traitement des demandes, dans le cadre de la stratégie de réduction du nombre de présomptions de refus.

Recommandation no 10

Que la haute direction élabore une vision de l’accès à l’information qui puisse être communiquée au personnel de la GRC.

Recommandation no 11

Que le Bureau de l’AIPRP élabore un plan opérationnel de l’AI à l’appui de la vision et des objectifs en matière d’AI du Ministère.

Recommandation no 12

Que le Bureau de l’AIPRP élabore un plan d’amélioration de l’AI pour l’élimination des présomptions de refus, y compris un rapport hebdomadaire qui offre de l’information sur les demandes de communication qu’il faut mener à terme à chacune des étapes du modèle de traitement afin de gérer de manière dynamique les présomptions de refus.

En raison de la situation critique, nous sommes fermement convaincus qu’il est indispensable d’élaborer un plan d’amélioration de l’AI.

Recommandation no 13

Que le Bureau de l’AIPRP mette à jour le manuel de référence de l’agent d’AIPRP.

Recommandation no 14

Que le Bureau de l’AIPRP élabore et mette en œuvre un plan de formation sur l’AI.

Recommandation no 15

Que le Bureau de l’AIPRP examine l’utilisation qu’il fait d’ATIPflow en vue d’une gestion proactive de l’AIPRP, y compris des rapports courants à la haute direction.

Recommandation no  16

Que la GRC détermine les autres catégories d’information pouvant faire l’objet d’une divulgation proactive.

5. ÉTAT DE L’APPLICATION DES RECOMMANDATIONS DE 2006

Les recommandations ci-après ont été formulées pour appuyer les efforts continus de la GRC pour traiter les demandes de communication dans les délais prescrits par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information :

 

Recommandation no 1.1 précédente

Que le manuel de référence de l’agent d’AIPRP soit mis à jour pour inclure les critères relatifs à l’éclaircissement ou à la modification d’une demande de communication.

Mesures prises :

L’organisation a négligé de suivre cette recommandation. Elle utilise encore le manuel de référence désuet. Selon l’ancien coordonnateur de l’AIPRP, la GRC reçoit de nombreuses demandes, dont les sujets sont trop diversifiés pour établir comme il se doit des critères permettant d’éclaircir ou de modifier une demande de communication. Bien que nous respections cette opinion, il faut reconnaître que bon nombre de ministères reçoivent aussi diverses demandes de communication et ont élaboré des critères pour l’éclaircissement ou la modification des demandes. Par conséquent, nous maintenons la recommandation.

Recommandation no 1.2 précédente

Que le Bureau de l’AIPRP élabore une politique de dispense de frais pour les demandes de communication.

Mesures prises :

La GRC a également négligé de suivre cette recommandation. Selon l’ancien coordonnateur de l’AIPRP,la situation extrême dans laquelle se trouve la GRC l’empêche d’appliquer une telle mesure étant donné que tous ses efforts sont concentrés sur le traitement des demandes de communication. À notre avis, la GRC a créé cette situation extrême parce qu’elle n’a pas élaboré de procédures adéquates pour aider le personnel à traiter les demandes de communication. C’est pourquoi la recommandation est maintenue.

Recommandation no 1.3 précédente

Que le manuel de référence de l’agent d’AIPRP inclue des critères qui permettent de juger quand traiter une demande informellement.

Mesures prises :

La GRC n’a pas donné suite. Par conséquent, nous maintenons la recommandation.

Recommandation no 1.4 précédente

Que le Bureau de l’AIPRP affecte un analyste expérimenté à l’accueil des demandes de communication pour que celui-ci détermine celles qui pourraient nécessiter une prorogation de délai et qu’il instaure des mesures de contrôle de sorte que toute demande de prorogation de délai est présentée dans le délai prescrit de 30 jours.

Mesures prises :

La GRC a donné suite. Toutefois, les résultats sont décevants. L’année dernière, la GRC a reçu 686 demandes durant la période du 1er avril au 30 novembre. De ces demandes, seulement une a été prorogée conformément à l’article 9. Cette année, pour la même période, elle a reçu 566 demandes, dont 77 ont été prorogées aux termes de l’article 9. De ces 77 demandes, 22 ont été terminées au-delà de la limite de temps prévue. En d’autres mots, la GRC a invoqué de nombreuses prorogations de délais par rapport à l’année précédente, mais n’a pas respecté le nouveau délai dans une proportion de 28,5 %.

Recommandation no 1.5 précédente

Lorsque la GRC consulte un ministère ou est consultée régulièrement par un ministère, que les deux concluent un protocole d’entente énonçant les responsabilités de chacun dans la procédure, notamment une disposition concernant la justification des exceptions.

Mesures prises :

La GRC n’a pas donné suite. La recommandation est maintenue.

Recommandation no 1.6 précédente

Si un délai prorogé n’est pas respecté, que le Bureau de l’AIPRP communique systématiquement avec le demandeur pour le lui indiquer, lui préciser la date de réponse escomptée et l’informer de son droit de porter plainte auprès du Commissaire à l’information.

Mesures prises :

La GRC n’a pas donné suite non plus. Selon l’ancien coordonnateur de l’AIPRP, il serait impossible de fournir une date de réponse en raison du nombre élevé de dossiers en présomption de refus. La réalité est que la GRC a tellement l’habitude de tout remettre à plus tard qu’elle n’envisagera même pas d’appliquer cette simple mesure qui permettrait d’atténuer en partie la frustration du demandeur. Pour cette raison, la recommandation est maintenue.

Recommandation no 1.7 précédente

Que le Bureau de l’AIPRP affecte un analyste expérimenté à l’accueil des demandes de communication pour que celui-ci détermine celles qui sont susceptibles d’être transférées à une autre institution et qu’il instaure des mesures de contrôle de sorte que tout transfert est effectué dans le délai de 15 jours prévu par la Loi.

Mesures prises :

La GRC a donné suite.

Recommandation no 1.8 précédente

Que le Bureau de l’AIPRP inscrive dans le manuel de référence de l’agent d’AIPRP des obligations uniformes concernant les documents versés aux dossiers pour consigner les mesures et les décisions prises dans le traitement des demandes de communication.

Mesures prises :

La GRC n’a pas donné suite à cette recommandation. Nous la maintenons.

Recommandation no 1.9 précédente

Que le Bureau de l’AIPRP inclue dans le manuel de référence de l’agent d’AIPRP une obligation voulant qu’on mette par écrit la justification de l’exercice du pouvoir discrétionnaire.

Mesures prises :

La GRC n’a pas donné suite. Pour cette raison, la recommandation est maintenue.

Recommandation no 2.1 précédente

Que le Bureau de l’AIPRP produise un rapport mensuel fournissant au Bureau et à la haute direction de la GRC des renseignements sur la mesure dans laquelle les délais de traitement des demandes de communication sont respectés.

Mesures prises :

 La GRC a partiellement donné suite à la recommandation puisqu’un rapport trimestriel est produit pour la haute direction. Toutefois, rien n’indique que la haute direction ait pris des mesures afin de régler les problèmes décrits dans les rapports.

Recommandation no 2.2 précédente

Que la GRC atteigne le niveau de conformité idéale aux délais prévus par la Loi d’ici le 31 mars 2007.

Mesures prises :

La GRC n’a manifestement pas donné suite à la recommandation. Elle a plutôt obtenu un résultat sans précédent de 70 % de demandes en présomption de refus. Selon l’ancien coordonnateur de l’AIPRP, il faudrait deux années avec le double d’employés pour obtenir ce résultat. La GRC a perdu six superviseurs d’expérience et n’a doté aucun poste.

Recommandation no 3.1 précédente

Que le Bureau de l’AIPRP envisage le recours aux services d’entrepreneurs à titre de ressources additionnelles à court terme pour le traitement des demandes, dans le cadre de la stratégie de réduction du nombre de présomptions de refus.

Mesures prises :

La GRC n’avait embauché que deux consultants au moment d’aller sous presse. L’ancien coordonnateur de l’AIPRP soutient qu’il est difficile de conserver des consultants à l’effectif, car il faut pour occuper un tel poste une bonne connaissance des techniques d’enquête et une autorisation de sécurité valide. La plupart des ministères doivent traiter des demandes de communication très spécialisées. Ce problème n’est pas particulier à la GRC. Par conséquent, la recommandation est maintenue.

 

Recommandation no 4.1 précédente

Que la haute direction élabore une vision de l’accès à l’information qui puisse être communiquée au personnel de la GRC.

Mesures prises :

La GRC n’a pas donné suite. La recommandation est donc maintenue.

Recommandation no 4.2 précédente

Que le Bureau de l’AIPRP élabore un plan opérationnel de l’AI à l’appui de la vision de l’accès à l’information et des objectifs en matière d’AI du Ministère.

Mesures prises :

La GRC n’a pas donné suite. La recommandation est donc maintenue.

Recommandation no 4.3 précédente

Que le Bureau de l’AIPRP élabore un plan d’amélioration de l’AI pour l’élimination des présomptions de refus.

Mesures prises :

La GRC n’a pas donné suite à cette recommandation. Nous maintenons donc la recommandation.

Recommandation no 4.4 précédente

Que le Bureau de l’AIPRP mette à jour le manuel de référence de l’agent d’AIPRP.

Mesures prises :

La GRC n’a pas donné suite à cette recommandation. Nous maintenons donc la recommandation.

Recommandation no 4.5 précédente

Que le Bureau de l’AIPRP élabore et mette en œuvre un plan de formation sur l’AI.

Mesures prises :

Selon l’ancien coordonnateur de l’AIPRP, la lourde charge de travail au Bureau de l’AIPRP empêche la GRC d’offrir une formation à ses employés. Nous estimons pourtant qu’une formation adéquate rendrait les employés plus efficaces. Ce n’est là qu’un des nombreux exemples de l’inertie de la GRC. Par conséquent, la recommandation est maintenue.

 

Recommandation no 4.6 précédente

Que le Bureau de l’AIPRP examine l’utilisation qu’il fait d’ATIPflow en vue d’une gestion proactive de l’AIPRP, y compris des rapports courants à la haute direction.

Mesures prises :

La GRC n’a pas donné suite, de sorte que nous maintenons la recommandation.

Recommandation no 5.1 précédente

Que la GRC détermine les autres catégories d’information pouvant faire l’objet d’une divulgation proactive.

Mesures prises :

La GRC n’a pas donné suite à cette recommandation. Pour cette raison, nous la maintenons.

 

6. QUESTIONNAIRE ET RAPPORT STATISTIQUE

Questionnaire aux fins d’analyse statistique à propos des demandes officielles effectuées en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information

Partie A : Demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent

1er avr. 2005 -

31 mars 2006

1er avr. 2006 -

30 nov. 2006

1.

Nombre de demandes reportées :

437

498

2.

Demandes reportées du dernier exercice en présomption de refus le premier jour du nouvel exercice :

347

423

Partie B : Nouvelles demandes à l’exclusion des demandes inscrites à la Partie A

1er avr. 2005 -

31 mars 2006

1er avr. 2006 -

30 nov. 2006

 3.

Nombre de demandes reçues durant l’exercice :

937

566

 4.A

Combien de demandes ont été traitées dans le délai obligatoire de 30 jours?

75

161

 4.B

Combien de demandes pour lesquelles on n’a demandé aucune prorogation de délai ont été traitées après le délai de 30 jours?

408

143

 4.C

Dans quel délai après l’échéance a-t-on répondu aux demandes pour lesquelles aucune prorogation de délai n’avait été demandée?

 

De 1 à 30 jours :

54

68

 

De 31 à 60 jours :

49

33

 

De 61 à 90 jours :

32

9

 

Plus de 91 jours :

273

33

5.

Combien de demandes ont fait l’objet d’une prorogation de délai en vertu de l’article 9?

18

77

6.A

Combien de demandes ont été traitées dans le délai prorogé?

4

38

6.B

À combien de demandes a-t-on répondu après le délai prorogé?

0

22

6.C

Combien de temps après l’expiration du délai prorogé a-t-on mis pour répondre?

 

De 1 à 30 jours :

0

13

 

De 31 à 60 jours :

0

5

 

De 61 à 90 jours :

0

4

 

Plus de 91 jours :

0

0

7.

Au 30 novembre 2006, combien de demandes étaient en présomption de refus?

125

 

EXTRAIT DE LA RÉPONSE DU COMMISSAIRE DE LA GRC AU RAPPORT D’ÉTAPE

« Tout d’abord, je tiens à vous assurer que la GRC est déterminée à fournir le service de la meilleure qualité à tous les Canadiens et Canadiennes dans l’exercice de leurs droits d’accès à l’information et, à cette fin, je veux réitérer notre ferme engagement à poursuivre notre collaboration avec votre Commissariat. J’aimerais souligner que depuis votre dernière période de rapport, notre taux de respect, bien qu’il soit encore faible, s’est amélioré considérablement comparativement à la même période l’an dernier.

[...] Je m’assurerai que notre coordonnateur de l’AIPRP étudie en profondeur les recommandations que vous avez formulées à notre intention. »