Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Report Cards


Year


Public Works and Government Services Canada

Status report on access requests in a deemed-refusal situation

1. Background

Every department reviewed has been assessed against the following grading standard:

% of Deemed Refusals

Comment

Grade

0-5%

Ideal compliance

A

5-10%

Substantial compliance

B

10-15%

Borderline compliance

C

15-20%

Below standard compliance

D

More than 20%

Red alert

F

This report reviews Public Works and Government Services Canada’s (PWGSC) progress to attain ideal compliance with the time requirements of the Access to Information Act, since the previous report. In addition, this report contains information on the status of the recommendations made in the Status Report of 2006.

2. COMPLIANCE HISTORY

The Office of the Information Commissioner has conducted Report Cards and status reviews on PWGSC on four occasions. The department has never come into ideal compliance during the period of our reviews. Therefore, PWGSC has not been able to meet its obligations under the Access to Information Act to respond to access requests in a timely manner.

In February 2003, the Office of the Information Commissioner issued a Report Card on PWGSC’s compliance with the statutory time requirements of the Access to Information Act. The Report Card contained a number of recommendations on measures that could be taken to reduce the number of requests in a deemed-refusal situation. In the 2003 Report Card, the department received a red alert grade of "F", with a 26.3% request to deemed-refusal ratio for access requests received from April 1 to November 30, 2002. PWGSC’s record slipped further to a ratio of 29.9%, for the fiscal year 2002-2003.

The department made considerable improvements in a number of areas. All of these initiatives led to a substantial turnaround in the deemed-refusal situation resulting in borderline compliance with the time requirements of the Access to Information Act. The new request to deemed-refusal ratio improved to 14.5%, for the period from April 1 to November 30, 2003, for a grade of "C".

In the 2005 Report Card, the department received a "below standard compliance" grade of "D", with a 17.7% request to deemed-refusal ratio for requests received from April 1 to November 30, 2004. This was the first year that requests carried over from the previous year, and the number of requests already in a deemed-refusal status on April 1, were taken into consideration.

For the full fiscal year 2004-2005, PWGSC received a grade of "D", with a 19.1% request to deemed-refusal ratio.

In the 2006 Report Card, PWGSC’s request to deemed-refusal ratio significantly fell from 19.1% to 7.3%, a grade of "B".

3. Current Status

For this reporting period of April 1 to November 30, 2006, the department request to deemed-refusal ratio was 9.7%, a grade of "B".

During the reporting period, PWGSC received 613 requests, 46 less than the previous year. However, the number of records increased by 5,329 in one year.

The most important problem for the department was employee turnover. Out of the 27 ATIP positions within PWGSC, 19 left during the current year. This represents a significant leadership problem that the new incoming ATIP Coordinator will have to address.

Attracting and retaining skilled staff is a significant challenge for departments as the demand for qualified employees far exceeds the supply. In order to respond to the skills shortage in the ATIP community, PWGSC has developed a framework for a development program to recruit individuals already within the Public Service and students currently part of the federal student work experience program. The objective of the program is to address immediate and mid-term shortages by recruiting post-secondary graduates, at the junior level, with the goal of preparing them to fill middle and senior ATIP officer roles.

The main goal is to recruit individuals at the PM-01 level and promote them to the PM-04 level within 3 years.

While interesting, the actual draft development program only projects to hire 8 individuals within a four-year period. This seems too little for the department’s needs.

In November 2005, the department hired 24 FTEs, 6 consultants and 1 student. At the same period in 2006, the department hired 22 FTEs, 4 consultants and 1 temporary aid.

 

4. RECOMMENDATIONS

Because of the factors described in this report, PWGSC was not able to attain ideal compliance with the time requirements of the Access to Information Act.

Recommendation #1

That the Deputy Minister take responsibility to ensure that the ATIP Office implement all of our recommendations in the Report Cards and status reviews to ensure that the department attains and maintains ideal compliance without further delay.

  1. STATUS OF 2006 RECOMMENDATIONS

The following recommendations were made to support PWGSC’s continuing efforts to process requests within the time requirements of the Access to Information Act:

Previous Recommendation #1

That PWGSC obtain ideal compliance and a grade of "A" for the full 2005-2006 fiscal year and the following years.

Action Taken:

As described above, PWGSC failed to attain ideal compliance. This is addressed at Recommendation #1 in this year’s report.

 

 

6

. QUESTIONNAIRE AND STATISTICAL REPORT

 

Questionnaire for Statistical Analysis Purposes in relation to official requests

made under the Access to Information Act

Part A: Requests carried over from the prior fiscal period.

Apr. 1/05 to

Mar. 31/06

Apr. 1/06 to

Nov. 30/06

1.

Number of requests carried over:

187

211

2.

Requests carried over from the prior fiscal year in a deemed-refusal situation on the first day of the new fiscal year:

51

23

Part B: New Requests - Exclude requests included in Part A.

Apr. 1/05 to

Mar. 31/06

Apr. 1/06 to

Nov. 30/06

3.

Number of requests received during the fiscal period:

834

613

4.A

How many were processedwithin the 30-day statutory time limit?

384

240

4.B

How many were processed beyond the 30-day statutory time limit where no extension was claimed?

10

6

4.C

How long after the statutory time limit did it take to respond where no extension was claimed?

1-30 days:

8

4

31-60 days:

1

2

61-90 days:

0

0

Over 91 days:

1

0

5.

How many were extended pursuant to section 9?

406

351

6.A

How many were processedwithin the extended time limit?

234

153

6.B

How many exceeded the extended time limit?

12

14

6.C

How long after the expiry of the extended deadline did it take to respond?

1-30 days:

9

11

31-60 days:

2

1

61-90 days:

0

2

Over 91 days:

1

0

7.

As of November 30, 2006, how many requests are in a deemed-refusal situation?

37

 

EXCERPT FROM DEPUTY MINISTER’S RESPONSE TO STATUS REPORT

"I am pleased with the significant improvements made by Public Works and Government Services Canada since your first report card in 2003. The department has now achieved a grade of "B" for a second consecutive year.

I acknowledge your recommendations that the department attain an ideal compliance grade of "A". Please rest assured that every effort will be made to work towards meeting this goal. We will continue to actively recruit and retain skilled staff, and consideration will be given to expand the departmental Access to Information and Privacy Development Program. The Access to Information and Privacy Directorate will also undertake an organizational review this year to determine whether sufficient resources are in place to meet the increasing workloads."

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiches de rendement


Année


Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada

Rapport d’étape sur les demandes de communication en présomption de refus

1. CONTEXTE

Tous les ministères examinés ont été évalués en fonction de la norme de notation suivante :

% de présomption de refus

Commentaires

Note

0-5 %

Conformité idéale

A

5-10 %

Conformité substantielle

B

10-15 %

Conformité limite

C

15-20 %

Conformité inférieure à la norme

D

Plus de 20 %

Alerte rouge

F

Le présent rapport examine les progrès réalisés par Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada (TPSGC) quand il s’agit d’atteindre une conformité idéale quant aux délais prévus dans la Loi sur l’accès à l’information depuis le rapport précédent. Il contient également des renseignements sur l’état de la mise en œuvre des recommandations faites dans le rapport d’étape de janvier 2006.

2. HISTORIQUE EN MATIÈRE DE CONFORMITÉ

Le Commissariat à l’information du Canada a déjà réalisé en quatre occasions des fiches de rendement et des examens de la situation concernant TPSGC. Le ministère n’a pas réussi à atteindre une conformité idéale durant la période visée par nos examens. Par conséquent, TPSGC n’a pas été en mesure de respecter ses obligations en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, selon laquelle il doit répondre aux demandes en temps opportun.

En février 2003, le Commissariat à l’information du Canada publiait une fiche de rendement sur le respect, par TPSGC, des délais de traitement prévus dans la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. La fiche de rendement contenait un certain nombre de recommandations relatives à des mesures à prendre en vue de la réduction du nombre de demandes en présomption de refus. Dans la fiche de rendement de 2003, le ministère avait reçu la note « F » (alerte rouge), en raison d’un rapport de 26,3 % entre les présomptions de refus et les demandes reçues du 1er avril au 30 novembre 2002. Le rendement de TPSGC a continué de diminuer, atteignant un taux de 29,9 % pour l’exercice 2002-2003.

Le ministère a apporté des améliorations considérables dans un certain nombre de domaines. Toutes ces initiatives ont entraîné des progrès remarquables dans les cas de présomption de refus, se soldant par une conformité limite des délais prévus dans la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Le rapport entre les présomptions de refus et les nouvelles demandes a été ramené à 14,5 % du 1er avril au 30 novembre 2003, soit la note « C ».

Dans la fiche de rendement de 2005, le ministère a obtenu la note « D » (conformité inférieure à la norme), en raison d’un rapport de 17,7 % entre les présomptions de refus et les demandes reçues du 1er avril au 30 novembre 2004. Pour la première fois, on a tenu compte des demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent et du nombre de demandes déjà en présomption de refus le 1er avril.

Pour tout l’exercice 2004-2005, TPSGC a reçu la note « D », à la suite d’un rapport de 19,1 % entre les demandes reçues et les présomptions de refus.

Dans la fiche de rendement de 2006, le taux de demandes en présomption de refus de TPSGC avait considérablement diminué, passant de 19,1 % à 7,3 %, ce qui équivaut à la note « B ».

3. SITUATION ACTUELLE

Pour la période visée par le présent rapport, soit du 1er avril au 30 novembre 2006, le ratio des demandes par rapport aux présomptions de refus atteignait 9,7 %, soit la note « B ».

Durant la période visée, TPSGC a reçu 613 demandes, soit 46 de moins que l’année précédente. Toutefois, le nombre de documents s’est accru de 5 329 en un an.

Le roulement de personnel a posé la plus grosse difficulté. Durant l’exercice en cours, le ministère a perdu les titulaires de 19 des 27 postes dans la Division de l’AIPRP. Voilà qui pose un important problème de leadership sur lequel devra rapidement se pencher le prochain coordonnateur de l’AIPRP.

Le recrutement et le maintien à l’effectif d’employés qualifiés représentent un défi de taille pour les ministères étant donné que la demande dépasse de beaucoup l’offre. Pour pallier la pénurie de main-d’œuvre dans le milieu de l’AIPRP, TPSGC a élaboré un cadre de programme de perfectionnement pour le recrutement d’agents parmi les employés déjà en poste dans la fonction publique et les étudiants inscrits au Programme d'expérience de travail étudiants. Ce programme vise à combler les pénuries immédiates et à moyen terme par le recrutement des diplômés de collèges et d’universités, au niveau subalterne, dans le but de préparer ceux-ci à assumer des fonctions de cadre intermédiaire et supérieur dans le domaine de l’AIPRP. L’objectif principal de l’initiative consiste à recruter des gens au niveau PM-01 et de les promouvoir au niveau PM-04 en moins de trois ans.

Bien qu’intéressant, le projet de programme de perfectionnement actuel ne projette d’embaucher que huit personnes en quatre ans, ce qui semble très peu compte tenu des besoins du ministère.

En novembre 2005, le ministère a embauché 24 ETP, six experts-conseils et un étudiant. Durant la même période, en 2006, il a recruté 22 ETP, quatre experts-conseils et un employé temporaire.

4. RECOMMANDATIONS

Pour les raisons énoncées dans le présent rapport, TPSGC n’a pu atteindre une conformité idéale quant aux délais prescrits par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Recommandation no 1

Le sous-ministre devrait veiller à ce que le Bureau de l’AIPRP mette en œuvre toutes nos recommandations découlant des fiches de rendement et des examens de la situation et à ce que le ministère atteigne et maintienne la conformité

idéale dans les plus brefs délais.

5. ÉTAT DE L’APPLICATION DES RECOMMANDATIONS DE 2006

Les recommandations ci-après ont été formulées pour appuyer les efforts continus de TPSGC en vue du traitement des demandes de communication dans les délais prescrits par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information :

Recommandation no 1 précédente

TPSGC devrait atteindre une conformité

idéale des délais et la note « A » pour la durée de l’exercice 2005-2006 et les années à venir.

Mesures prises :

Tel qu’il est indiqué ci-dessus, TPSGC n’a pas réussi à atteindre une conformité idéale. Cette question est traitée à la Recommandation no 1 du rapport de cette année.

 

6.

QUESTIONNAIRE ET RAPPORT STATISTIQUE

Questionnaire aux fins d’analyse statistique à propos des demandes officielles effectuées en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information

Partie A : Demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent

1er avr. 2005 -

31 mars 2006

1er avr. 2006 -

30 nov. 2006

1.

Nombre de demandes reportées :

187

211

2.

Demandes reportées du dernier exercice en présomption de refus le premier jour du nouvel exercice :

51

23

Partie B : Nouvelles demandes à l’exclusion des demandes inscrites à la Partie A

1er avr. 2005 -

31 mars 2006

1er avr. 2006 -

30 nov. 2006

3.

Nombre de demandes reçues durant l’exercice :

834

613

4.A

Combien de demandes ont été traitées dans le délai obligatoire de 30 jours?

384

240

4.B

Combien de demandes pour lesquelles on n’a demandé aucune prorogation de délai ont été traitées après le délai de 30 jours?

10

6

4.C

Dans quel délai après l’échéance a-t-on répondu aux demandes pour lesquelles aucune prorogation de délai n’avait été demandée?

 

De 1 à 30 jours :

8

4

 

De 31 à 60 jours :

1

2

 

De 61 à 90 jours :

0

0

 

Plus de 91 jours :

1

0

5.

Combien de demandes ont fait l’objet d’une prorogation de délai en vertu de l’article 9?

406

351

6.A

Combien de demandes ont été traitées dans le délai prorogé?

234

153

6.B

À combien de demandes a-t-on répondu après le délai prorogé?

12

14

6.C

Combien de temps après l’expiration du délai prorogé a-t-on mis pour répondre?

 

De 1 à 30 jours :

9

11

 

De 31 à 60 jours :

2

1

 

De 61 à 90 jours :

0

2

 

Plus de 91 jours :

1

0

7.

Au 30 novembre 2006, combien de demandes étaient en présomption de refus?

37

 

EXTRAIT DE LA RÉPONSE DU SOUS-MINISTRE AU RAPPORT D’ÉTAPE

« Je suis heureux des progrès appréciables de Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada depuis votre première fiche de rendement en 2003. Le ministère a maintenant atteint la cote « B » pour une deuxième année consécutive.

Je prends note de votre recommandation à l’effet que le ministère atteigne la conformité idéale de « A ». Je vous assure que le ministère fera tous ses efforts en vue d’atteindre cet objectif. Nous continuerons à recruter et à conserver des employés qualifiés et nous examinerons la possibilité d’accroître le Programme ministériel de développement de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels. Cette année, la Division de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels entreprendra aussi un examen organisationnel afin de déterminer si des ressources suffisantes sont en place afin de satisfaire à une charge de travail en croissance. »