Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Report Cards


Year


Department of National Defence

Status report on access requests in a deemed-refusal situation

1. Background

Every department reviewed has been assessed against the following grading standard:

% of Deemed Refusals

Comment

Grade

0-5%

Ideal compliance

A

5-10%

Substantial compliance

B

10-15%

Borderline compliance

C

15-20%

Below standard compliance

D

More than 20%

Red alert

F

This report reviews the Department of National Defence’s (ND) progress to achieve ideal compliance with the time requirements of the Access to Information Act, since the previous report. In addition, this report contains information on the status of the recommendations made in the Status Report of 2006.

2. COMPLIANCE HISTORY

The Office of the Information Commissioner has conducted Report Cards and status reviews on ND on eight occasions. The department has never come into ideal compliance during the period of our reviews. Therefore, ND has not been able to meet its obligations under the Access to Information Act to respond to access requests in a timely manner.

In January 1999, the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) issued the first Report Card on ND’s compliance with the statutory time requirements of the Access to Information Act. In that report, ND received a red alert grade of "F", with a 69.6% request to deemed-refusal ratio for access requests received from April 1 to November 30, 1998. The report included a number of recommendations on measures that could be taken to reduce the number of requests in a deemed-refusal situation.

From April 1 to November 30, 1999, the deemed-refusal ratio for access requests improved to 38.9%, although still a grade of "F".

In January 2001, ND received a grade of "D", with a new request to deemed-refusal ratio of 17%, for the period April 1 to November 30, 2000. This report noted that the trend lines for reducing the number of access requests in a deemed-refusal situation were steadily improving.

 

ND continued to improve its performance in meeting the time requirements of the Access to Information Act, achieving a grade of "C", with a new request to deemed-refusal ratio of 11.8%, for the period from April 1 to November 30, 2001. However, that improvement was not maintained for the full fiscal year; while the grade remained the same at a "C", the ratio declined slightly to 12.7%.

 

For the 2002-2003 reporting period, the department attained a new request to deemed-refusal ratio of 9.1%, for a grade of "B", with this ratio slipping to a 12.7% ratio and a grade of "C" for the full fiscal year.

In the Status Report of 2004, it was reported that the department continued to strive to attain ideal compliance.

In the 2005 Report Card, the department received a substantial compliance grade of "B", with a 9.5% new request to deemed-refusal ratio for requests received from April 1 to November 30, 2004. This was the first year that requests carried over from the previous year, and the number of requests already in a deemed-refusal status on April 1, were taken into consideration.

For the full fiscal year 2004-2005, ND received a grade of "C", with a 13.4% request to deemed-refusal ratio.

In the 2006 Report Card, the department received a borderline compliance grade of "C", with a 14.8% new request to deemed-refusal ratio for requests received from April 1 to November 30, 2005. During this period, ND received 734 requests.

3. Current Status

For the reporting period April 1 to November 30, 2006, the department level of compliance was 8.6%, a grade of "B".

During the reporting period, ND received 1,069 requests. This is 335 more than the previous year. Complexity and sensitivity of the requests were also factors in the time taken to process requests.

With regards to staff resources, ND has continued to suffer from significant staff turnover. The constant stream of new employees with associated security issues, and the need to train them, has continued to impact negatively on the Directorate’s already limited processing resources.

Also, during the present reporting period, ND is still suffering from the move from 101 Colonel By Drive to 112 Kent Street. As it was necessary to re-install all of the communication lines, hardware and software related to ATIPimage, a special customized installation was required due to security requirements. This caused some difficulty with the ATIPimage system.

One of the main challenges encountered this year by the Directorate Access to Information and Privacy (DAIP) was the Canadian Forces transformation. This process involved the reorganization of some of the basis structures of the Canadian Forces through the creation of four Operational Commands reporting directly to the Chief of the Defence Staff. These are: Canada Command; Canadian Expeditionary Force Command; Canadian Special Operations Force Command; and Canadian Operational Support Command. The first practical effect upon DAIP consisted of initial confusion as to who was responsible for responding to ATIP requests for particular subjects. This was compounded by an overall lack of resources in those newly-created organizations, including the capability to respond to ATIP requests. The ATIP tasking structure that was put in place over a number of years had to be re-evaluated and reformed. Personnel in DAIP had to become familiar with the roles and responsibilities of these new and evolving organizations, and the new organizations had to recognize and respond to the necessity of staffing positions for processing ATIP requests – not necessarily a priority in today’s operational environment. A concentration of effort had to be made by DAIP to attempt to keep up with this major reorganization within the department to ensure information was quickly retrieved in order to comply with the Act.

Significant numbers of requests were received related to the mission in Afghanistan, and this very sensitive issue continues to remain a high profile matter for the Department of National Defence. On occasion, up to 37 requests per day were received from the same requester, that resulted in searches by a single group/OPI, often located overseas. Unfortunately, these volumes are onerous for groups to cope with, particularly with ongoing operations. This has made it difficult for DAIP to retrieve the information on time in many cases.

4. RECOMMENDATIONS

Because of the factors described in this report, ND was not able to achieve ideal compliance with the time requirements of the Access to Information Act.

Recommendation #1

That the Deputy Minister take responsibility to ensure that the ATIP Office implement all of our recommendations in the Report Cards and status reviews to ensure that the department attains and maintains ideal compliance without further delay.

5. STATUS OF 2006 RECOMMENDATIONS

The following recommendations were made to support ND’s continuing efforts to process requests within the time requirements of the Access to Information Act:

Previous Recommendation #1

That ND attain ideal compliance and a grade of "A" by March 31, 2007.

Action Taken:

The department failed to comply with this recommendation. This is addressed at Recommendation #1of this year’s report.

 

Previous Recommendation #2

The department address the staffing shortfall of the ATIP Directorate with a view to increasing resources as required.

Action Taken:

This is ongoing. The department has established an internal development program in order to address the staffing shortfall.

 

6. QUESTIONNAIRE AND STATISTICAL REPORT

 

Questionnaire for Statistical Analysis Purposes in relation to official requests

made under the Access to Information Act

Part A: Requests carried over from the prior fiscal period.

Apr. 1/05 to

Mar. 31/06

Apr. 1/06 to

Nov. 30/06

1.

Number of requests carried over:

331

225

2.

Requests carried over from the prior fiscal year in a deemed-refusal situation on the first day of the new fiscal year:

84

53

Part B: New Requests - Exclude requests included in Part A.

Apr. 1/05 to

Mar. 31/06

Apr. 1/06 to

Nov. 30/06

3.

Number of requests received during the fiscal period:

1,131

1,069

4.A

How many were processedwithin the 30-day statutory time limit?

547

578

4.B

How many were processed beyond the 30-day statutory time limit where no extension was claimed?

43

21

4.C

How long after the statutory time limit did it take to respond where no extension was claimed?

1-30 days:

25

17

31-60 days:

8

3

61-90 days:

2

0

Over 91 days:

8

1

5.

How many were extended pursuant to section 9?

460

339

6.A

How many were processedwithin the extended time limit?

276

174

6.B

How many exceeded the extended time limit?

65

22

6.C

How long after the expiry of the extended deadline did it take to respond?

1-30 days:

28

10

31-60 days:

15

9

61-90 days:

8

2

Over 91 days:

14

1

7.

As of November 30, 2006, how many requests are in a deemed-refusal situation?

16

 

EXCERPT FROM DEPUTY MINISTER’S RESPONSE TO STATUS REPORT

The Deputy Minister did not provide comments regarding the findings and recommendations. Nevertheless, the department commented on a few inaccuracies in the report.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiches de rendement


Année


Ministère de la Défense nationale

Rapport d’étape sur les demandes de communication en présomption de refus

1. CONTEXTE

Tous les ministères examinés ont été évalués en fonction de la norme de notation suivante :

% de présomption de refus

Commentaires

Note

0-5 %

Conformité idéale

A

5-10 %

Conformité substantielle

B

10-15 %

Conformité limite

C

15-20 %

Conformité inférieure à la norme

D

Plus de 20 %

Alerte rouge

F

Le présent rapport fait état des progrès réalisés par le ministère de la Défense nationale (DN) quand il s’agit d’atteindre une conformité idéale quant aux délais prévus dans la Loi sur l’accès à l’information depuis le rapport précédent. Il contient également des renseignements sur l’état de la mise en œuvre des recommandations faites dans le rapport d’étape de 2006.

  1. HISTORIQUE EN MATIÈRE DE CONFORMITÉ

Le Commissariat à l’information du Canada a réalisé en huit occasions des fiches de rendement et des examens de la situation de la DN. Le ministère n’a jamais réussi à atteindre une conformité idéale durant la période visée par nos examens. Par conséquent, la DN n’a pas été en mesure de respecter ses obligations en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, selon laquelle elle doit répondre aux demandes en temps opportun.

En janvier 1999, le Commissariat à l’information du Canada (CIC) a publié une première fiche de rendement concernant le respect par la DN des délais de traitement prévus dans la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Dans cette fiche, la DN a obtenu la note « F » (alerte rouge) en raison d’un ratio de 69,6 % entre les présomptions de refus et les demandes de communication reçues pendant la période du 1er avril au 30 novembre 1998. Le rapport comportait un certain nombre de recommandations concernant des mesures qui devraient être prises pour réduire le nombre de demandes qualifiées de « présomptions de refus ».

Pour la période du 1er avril au 30 novembre 1999, le ratio entre les présomptions de refus et les demandes de communication s’est amélioré, passant à 38,9 %, ce qui correspond toutefois toujours à la note « F ».

En janvier 2001, la DN a obtenu la note « D » en raison d’un ratio de 17 % entre le nombre de présomptions de refus et le nombre de demandes de communication pour la période du 1er avril au 30 novembre 2000. Le rapport indiquait que la tendance était à la réduction du nombre de demandes de communication en présomption de refus.

La DN a continué à améliorer son rendement sur le plan du respect des délais prévus dans la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, obtenant la note « C » grâce à un ratio de 11,8 % entre les présomptions de refus et les nouvelles demandes pour la période du 1er avril au 30 novembre 2001. Cette amélioration ne s’est toutefois pas maintenue durant tout l’exercice, le ratio ayant légèrement glissé pour atteindre 12,7 %.

Pour la période de rapport 2002-2003, le ministère a obtenu un ratio de 9,1 % entre les présomptions de refus et les nouvelles demandes, ce qui lui a valu la note « B », mais le ratio est passé à 12,7 % pour l’exercice complet, ce qui représentait la note « C ».

Dans la fiche de rendement de 2004, on a indiqué que le ministère maintenait ses efforts afin d’atteindre un niveau idéal de respect des délais.

Dans la fiche de rendement de 2005, le ministère a obtenu la note « B », correspondant à une conformité substantielle, avec un ratio de 9,5 % entre les présomptions de refus et les nouvelles demandes pour la période du 1er avril au 30 novembre 2004. Il s’agit de la première année où l’on prenait en considération les demandes reportées de l’année précédente et le nombre de demandes déjà en présomption de refus au 1er avril.

Pour la totalité de l’exercice 2004-2005, la DN a obtenu la note « C », avec un ratio de 13,4 % entre le nombre de nouvelles demandes et le nombre de présomptions de refus.

Dans la fiche de rendement 2006, le ministère s’est vu attribuer la note C (conformité limite) avec un ratio de 14,8 % entre les présomptions de refus et les nouvelles demandes pour la période du 1er avril au 30 novembre 2005. Durant cette période, la DN a reçu 734 demandes.

3. SITUATION ACTUELLE

Pour la période visée par le présent rapport, soit du 1er avril au 30 novembre 2006, le taux de respect des délais du ministère a atteint 8,6 %, ce qui lui a valu la note « B ».

Durant cette période, la DN a reçu 1 069 demandes, soit 335 de plus que lors de l’exercice précédent. Le caractère complexe et délicat des demandes a représenté un facteur dans le temps qu’il a fallu pour traiter les demandes.

Par ailleurs, la DN a continué à souffrir d’un important roulement de personnel. L’arrivée continue de nouveaux employés, avec les préoccupations relatives à la sécurité qui en découlent, de même que la nécessité de les former, ont eu des répercussions négatives sur les ressources déjà limitées de la Direction.

De plus, pendant la période visée par le présent rapport, la DN a continué à subir les contrecoups d’un déménagement du 101, promenade Colonel By au 112, rue Kent. Comme il a fallu réinstaller l’ensemble des lignes de communication, du matériel et des logiciels liés à ATIPimage, on a dû procéder à une installation personnalisée pour des raisons de sécurité. Cette entreprise de grande envergure a causé de graves problèmes d’utilisation du système ATIPimage.

L’un des principaux défis qui s’est posé cette année à la Direction de l’accès à l'information et la protection des renseignements personnels (DAIPRP), concernait la transformation des Forces canadiennes. Cela a supposé la réorganisation de certaines des structures de base des Forces canadiennes par le biais de la création de quatre commandements opérationnels relevant directement du chef d'état-major de la Défense, à savoir : Commandement Canada; Commandement de la Force expéditionnaire du Canada; Commandement - Forces d'opérations spéciales du Canada; et Commandement du soutien opérationnel du Canada. Les premières conséquences des changements pour la DAIPRP ont été la confusion découlant de la question de savoir qui devait répondre aux demandes d’AIPRP sur des sujets particuliers. Ajoutons à cela le manque général de ressources dans ces organisations nouvellement créées, notamment en ce qui concerne la capacité de traiter les demandes d’AIPRP. Il a donc fallu réévaluer et remanier la structure de responsabilité de l’AIPRP établie depuis plusieurs années. Le personnel de la DAIPRP a dû se familiariser avec les rôles et les responsabilités de ces organisations nouvelles et en cours d’évolution, et les nouvelles organisations ont dû reconnaître la nécessité de doter des postes pour le traitement des demandes d’AIPRP et y donner suite – ce qui ne constitue pas nécessairement une priorité dans l’environnement opérationnel actuel. La DAIPRP a dû s’employer à s’adapter à cette grande réorganisation pour s’assurer que l’information demandée était extraite rapidement pour respecter la Loi.

Le ministère a reçu un nombre important de demandes relatives à la mission en Afghanistan, dossier très délicat qui demeure à l’avant-plan pour la DN. Il est arrivé que le ministère a reçu jusqu’à 37 demandes par jour de la même personne, ce qui supposait la conduite de recherches par un seul groupe ou BPR, souvent situé outremer. Malheureusement, il est difficile pour ces groupes de composer avec de tels volumes de travail, surtout lorsqu’ils viennent s’ajouter aux opérations courantes. Tous ces éléments ont fait en sorte que la DAIPRP a eu du mal à extraire l’information en temps voulu dans de nombreux cas.

 

4. RECOMMANDATIONS

Pour les raisons énoncées dans le présent rapport, la DN n’a pu atteindre une conformité idéale des délais prescrits par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Recommandation no 1

Le sous-ministre devrait veiller à ce que le Bureau de l’AIPRP mette en œuvre nos recommandations découlant des fiches de rendement et des examens de la situation et à ce que le ministère atteigne et maintienne une conformité idéale dans les plus brefs délais.

On s’attend à ce que les mesures prises par le ministère lui permettront d’atteindre cet objectif au cours du prochain exercice.

  1. ÉTAT DE L’APPLICATION DES RECOMMANDATIONS DE 2006

Les recommandations suivantes ont été formulées pour appuyer les efforts continus de la DN en vue du traitement des demandes dans les délais prescrits par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information:

Recommandation no 1 précédente

La DN devrait atteindre un niveau de conformité idéale et la note « A » d’ici le 31 mars 2007.

Mesures prises :

Le Ministère n’a pas pu donner suite à la recommandation. Cette question est traitée à la Recommandation no 1 du rapport de cette année.

Recommandation no  2 précédente

La DN devrait régler le problème de manque de personnel à la Direction de l’AIPRP en augmentant les ressources au besoin.

Mesures prises :

Le ministère est en train d’appliquer cette recommandation. Il a mis sur pied un programme de perfectionnement interne de manière à résoudre la pénurie de personnel.

6.

QUESTIONNAIRE ET RAPPORT STATISTIQUE

Questionnaire aux fins d’analyse statistique à propos des demandes officielles effectuées en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information

Partie A : Demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent

1er avr. 2005 -

31 mars 2006

1er avr. 2006 -

30 nov. 2006

1.

Nombre de demandes reportées :

331

225

2.

Demandes reportées du dernier exercice en présomption de refus le premier jour du nouvel exercice :

84

53

Partie B : Nouvelles demandes à l’exclusion des demandes inscrites à la Partie A

1er avr. 2005 -

31 mars 2006

1er avr. 2006 -

30 nov. 2006

 3.

Nombre de demandes reçues durant l’exercice :

1 131

1 069

 4.A

Combien de demandes ont été traitées dans le délai obligatoire de 30 jours?

547

578

 4.B

Combien de demandes pour lesquelles on n’a demandé aucune prorogation de délai ont été traitées après le délai de 30 jours?

43

21

 4.C

Dans quel délai après l’échéance a-t-on répondu aux demandes pour lesquelles aucune prorogation de délai n’avait été demandée?

 

De 1 à 30 jours :

25

17

 

De 31 à 60 jours :

8

3

 

De 61 à 90 jours :

2

0

 

Plus de 91 jours :

8

1

5.

Combien de demandes ont fait l’objet d’une prorogation de délai en vertu de l’article 9?

460

339

6.A

Combien de demandes ont été traitées dans le délai prorogé?

276

174

6.B

À combien de demandes a-t-on répondu après le délai prorogé?

65

22

6.C

Combien de temps après l’expiration du délai prorogé a-t-on mis pour répondre?

 

De 1 à 30 jours :

28

10

 

De 31 à 60 jours :

15

9

 

De 61 à 90 jours :

8

2

 

Plus de 91 jours :

14

1

7.

Au 30 novembre 2006, combien de demandes étaient en présomption de refus?

16

 

EXTRAIT DE LA RÉPONSE DU SOUS-MINISTRE AU RAPPORT D’ÉTAPE

Le sous-ministre n’a fourni aucun commentaire au sujet des constatations et des recommandations. Cependant, le ministère a souligné quelques inexactitudes dans le rapport.