Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Report Cards


Year


Health Canada

Status report on the 2005 report card

Table of contents

1. Background

2. Compliance History

3. Current Status

4. Further Recommendations

5. Status of 2005 Recommendations

6. Questionnaire and Statistical Report

1. Background

Every department reviewed has been assessed against the following grading standard:

% of Deemed Refusals

Comment

Grade

0-5%

Ideal compliance

A

5-10%

Substantial compliance

B

10-15%

Borderline compliance

C

15-20%

Below standard compliance

D

More than 20%

Red alert

F

This report reviews Health Canada’s (HCan) progress to obtain ideal compliance with the time requirements of the Access to Information Act, since the previous report. In addition, this report contains information on the status of the recommendations made in the Status Report of January 2005.

2. COMPLIANCE HISTORY

In the January 1999 Report Card, Health Canada (HCan) received a red alert grade of "F" with a 51.2% deemed-refusal to request ratio for requests received from April 1 to November 30, 1998. For the complete 1998-1999 fiscal year, the ratio was 61.8%.

The next year, for the period April 1 to November 30, 1999, the ratio improved dramatically to 3.1%, or an "A" grade. In addition, the backlog of deemed-refusal requests was entirely eliminated.

HCan had continued to achieve a grade of "A", which signals ideal compliance with the Access to Information Act,for each of the reporting years since, with compliance ratios varying between 4.5-5% as in the last reporting period. However, the end of the fiscal year 2002-2003 found the department slipping to a 7.2% of deemed refusals, resulting in a grade of "B".

In the 2004 Status Report, it was noted that HCan achieved a 5.4% deemed-refusal ratio for the period April 1 to November 30, 2004, signaling another grade of "B" and substantial compliance with the Access to Information Act.

In the 2005 Report Card, HCan received a below standard compliance of "D" with a

17.2% request to deemed-refusal ratio for requests received from April 1 to November 30, 2004. This was the first year that requests carried over from the previous year, and the number of requests already in a deemed-refusal status on April 1, were taken into consideration.

For fiscal year 2004-2005, HCan received a grade of "D", with a 19.6% request to deemed-refusal ratio.

3. Current Status

For this reporting period, requests carried over from the previous year, and the number of requests already in a deemed-refusal status on April 1, were also taken into consideration. As a result, for the reporting period April 1 to November 302005, HCan’s request to deemed-refusal ratio was 18.9%, a grade of "D".

A total of 1,164 requests were received during the period April 1 to November 30, 2005, compared to 901 requests received in the same time period last year. 273 requests were carried into the period April 1 to November 30, 2005, and this contributed to HCan’s backlog.

For fiscal year 2005/2006, HCan started the year with 273 pending access requests with 102 or 37% in a deemed-refusal situation.

With 1,363 new access requests received in fiscal year 2004-2005 and 1,164 new access requests received in the first nine months of fiscal year 2005/2006, a trend of a continuing backlog of access requests in a deemed-refusal situation at the start of the year represents a burden to the ATIP Division. This backlog constitutes a serious problem that must be dealt with to comply with the time requirements of the Access to Information Act.

One of the reasons for the backlog of access requests and the deemed-refusal situation was a chronic lack of resources needed to process access requests. In 2005, the ATIP Office was provided with additional funding to hire 15 additional person-years. The additional funding should permit to effectively eliminate all requests backlog by December 31, 2006.

4. RECOMMENDATIONS

Because of the factors described in this report, HCan was not able to achieve ideal compliance with the time requirements of the Access to Information Act.

Recommendation #1

The ATIP Division produce a monthly report that provides the ATIP Division and Senior Management at HCan with information on how well timelines are met when responding to access requests. The reports will provide Senior Management and the ATIP Division with information needed to gauge overall HCan compliance with the Act’s and HCan’s time requirements for processing access requests
.

A critical component of the administration of the Access to Information Act is the leadership role of the ATI Coordinator and Senior Management in a department. Senior Management exercises leadership by identifying access to information as a departmental priority and then acting upon this by providing the appropriate resources, technology and policies. Together with the ATI Coordinator, it is important for Senior Management to create a culture of openness and access to departmental information. The ATI Coordinator is the departmental champion of access to information. In this respect, the Coordinator and their staff provide the skilled policy and procedural leadership and training for the access process to work effectively in a department.

Recommendation #2

HCan should come into ideal compliance with the Act’s deadlines no later than March 31, 2007.

5. STATUS OF 2005 RECOMMENDATIONS

The following recommendations were made to support HCan’s continuing efforts to process requests within the time requirements of the Access to Information Act:

Previous Recommendation #1

The ATIP office be provided with the necessary resources needed to re-attain ideal compliance with the Access to Information Act.

Action Taken:

The most important action that the department took in response to last year’s report was to commit an additional $1,600,000 in funding.

Budget increases will permit the department to double the number of staff to meet the ATI processing needs of the department.

Previous Recommendation #2

That the Delegation Order be amended to provide the ATIP Coordinator with similar delegated powers for the administration Privacy Act as for the administration of the Access to Information Act.

Action Taken

: The Delegation Order has not yet been amended. A new Delegation Order is being studied by the department.

6. Questionnaire and Statistical Report

Questionnaire for Statistical Analysis Purposes in relation to official requests made under the Access to Information Act

Part A: Requests carried over from the prior fiscal period.

Apr. 1/04 to

Mar. 31/05

Apr. 1/05 to

Nov. 30/05

1.

Number of requests carried over:

355

273

2.

Requests carried over from the prior fiscal — in a deemed refusal situation on the first day of the new fiscal:

112

102

Part B: New Requests — Exclude requests included in Part A.

Apr. 1/04 to

Mar. 31/05

Apr. 1/05 to

Nov. 30/05

3.

Number of requests received during the fiscal period:

1,363

1,164

4.A

How many were processedwithin the 30-day statutory time limit?

643

528

4.B

How many were processed beyond the 30-day statutory time limit where no extension was claimed?

25

26

4.C

How long after the statutory time limit did it take to respond where no extension was claimed?

 

1-30 days:

17

24

 

31-60 days:

3

0

 

61-90 days:

2

1

 

Over 91 days:

3

1

5.

How many were extended pursuant to section 9?

640

451

6.A

How many were processed within the extended time limit?

350

158

6.B

How many exceeded the extended time limit?

98

42

6.C

How long after the expiry of the extended deadline did it take to respond?

 

1-30 days:

58

28

 

31-60 days:

20

10

 

61-90 days:

12

2

 

Over 91 days:

8

2

7.

As of November 30, 2005, how many requests are in a deemed-refusal situation?

102

Date modified:

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiches de rendement


Année


Santé Canada

Rapport d’étape sur les demandes de communication en présomption de refus

1. Contexte

2. Historique en matière de respect

3. Situation actuelle

4. Recommendations

5. État de l'application des recommendations de 2005

6. Questionnaire et rapport statistique


1. CONTEXTE ▲HAUT

Tous les ministères examinés ont été évalués en fonction de la norme de notation suivante :

% de présomption de refus

Commentaires

Note

0-5 %

Conformité idéale

A

5-10 %

Conformité substantielle

B

10-15 %

Conformité à la limite

C

15-20 %

Conformité inférieure à la norme

D

Plus de 20 %

Alerte rouge

F

Le présent rapport examine les progrès réalisés par Santé Canada en vue d’obtenir une conformité « idéale » aux délais prévus dans la Loi sur l’accès à l’information depuis le rapport précédent. De plus, il contient de l’information sur l’état de la mise en application des recommandations qui ont été faites dans le rapport d’étape de janvier 2005.

2. HISTORIQUE EN MATIÈRE DE RESPECT ▲HAUT

La fiche de rendement de janvier 1999 attribuait à Santé Canada (SC) la note « F » (alerte rouge) en raison d’un rapport de 51,2 % entre les présomptions de refus et les demandes reçues du 1er avril au 30 novembre 1998. Pour la durée complète de l’exercice 1998-1999, ce rapport s’élevait à 61,8 %.

L’année suivante, du 1er avril au 30 novembre 1999, ce rapport s’était amélioré de façon spectaculaire, passant à 3,1 %, soit la note « A ». En outre, les arriérés des demandes en présomption de refus avaient été entièrement éliminés.

SC a maintenu la note « A », qui correspond à une conformité idéale aux délais prévus dans la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, pour chacune des années suivantes, les rapports de conformité se maintenant entre 4,5 et 5 % pour la dernière période visée par le rapport. Toutefois, à la fin de l’exercice 2002-2003, le pourcentage de présomptions de refus est passé à 7,2 %, ce qui correspond à la note « B ».

Dans le rapport d’étape pour 2004, on signalait que SC avait atteint un rapport de 5,4 % entre les présomptions de refus et les demandes reçues pour la période du 1er avril au 30 novembre 2004, ce qui représente une autre note « B » et une conformité substantielle aux délais prévus dans la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Dans le rapport d’étape pour 2005, Santé Canada s’est vu attribuer une note inférieure à la norme, soit « D », pour avoir présenté une fiche de 17,2 % comme rapport entre les présomptions de refus et les demandes reçues entre le 1er avril et le 30 novembre 2004. C’était la première année où les demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent et le nombre de demandes déjà en présomption de refus au 1er avril étaient prises en considération.

Pour l’exercice financier 2004-2005, Santé Canada s’est vu attribuer une note « D », car son rapport entre les présomptions de refus et les demandes reçues était de 19,6 %.

3. SITUATION ACTUELLE ▲HAUT

Pour la période faisant l’objet du présent rapport, les demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent ainsi que le nombre de demandes déjà en présomption de refus le 1er avril ont été prises en considération. Le rendement du Ministère pour la période du 1er avril au 30 novembre 2005 atteint 18,9 %, ce qui correspond à la note « D ».

SC a reçu 1 164 demandes entre le 1er avril et le 30 novembre 2005. Le ministère avait reçu 901 demandes au cours de la même période l’an dernier. Au total, 273 demandes ont été reportées à la période du 1er avril au 30 novembre 2005, ce qui a accru l’arriéré de Santé Canada.

Santé Canada a entrepris l’exercice 2005-2006 avec un arriéré de 273 demandes de communication et 102 demandes, soit 37 %, en présomption de refus.

Avec 1 363 nouvelles demandes de communication reçues durant l’exercice 2004-2005 et 1 164 nouvelles demandes de communication reçues au cours des neuf premiers mois de l’exercice 2005-2006, une tendance au maintien d’un arriéré de demandes de communication en présomption de refus au début de l’année représente un fardeau pour la Direction de l’AIPRP. Cet arriéré constitue un problème grave que le Ministère doit régler pour se conformer aux exigences de respect des délais de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

L’une des raisons invoquées pour expliquer l’arriéré des demandes de communication et les présomptions de refus est un manque chronique des ressources nécessaires au traitement des demandes de communication. En 2005, le bureau de l’AIPRP a obtenu un financement supplémentaire lui permettant d’embaucher 15 nouvelles années-personnes. Le financement supplémentaire devrait permettre d’éliminer efficacement tout l’arriéré des demandes d’ici le 31 décembre 2006.

4. RECOMMANDATIONS ▲HAUT

À cause des facteurs décrits dans le présent rapport, Santé Canada n’a pas été en mesure d’obtenir un respect idéal des délais prévus dans la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Recommandation n1

La Direction de l’AIPRP doit produire un rapport mensuel qui lui fournisse et fournisse à la haute direction de Santé Canada des renseignements sur la façon dont sont respectés les délais de réponse aux demandes de communication, de sorte qu’il soit possible de mesurer la conformité globale de SC à la Loi et ses délais de traitement des demandes de communication.

Un élément crucial de l’application de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information concerne le rôle de leadership au coordonnateur de l’AIPRP et de la haute direction d’un ministère. La haute direction exerce un leadership en faisant de l’accès à l’information une priorité ministérielle et en concrétisant une telle priorité par l’établissement des ressources, de la technologie et des politiques appropriées. Il est important que la haute direction crée, de concert avec le coordonnateur de l’AIPRP, une culture de l’ouverture et de l’accès à l’information ministérielle. Le coordonnateur de l’AIPRP est le chef de file ministériel de l’accès à l’information. À cet égard, le coordonnateur et son personnel fournissent le leadership et la formation compétentes pour que le processus d’accès fonctionne bien dans un ministère.

Recommandation n2

Santé Canada devrait parvenir à une conformité idéale aux délais prévus dans la Loi au plus tard le 31 mars 2007.

5. ÉTAT DE L’APPLICATION DES RECOMMANDATIONS DE 2005 ▲HAUT

Les recommandations suivantes ont été faites afin d’appuyer les efforts continus déployés par SC pour traiter les demandes dans les délais prévus par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information :

Recommandation n1 précédente

Le bureau de l’AIPRP de SC doit être doté des ressources nécessaires à l’obtention d’une conformité idéale aux délais visés par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Suites données :

La mesure la plus importante prise par le Ministère pour répondre au rapport de l’année dernière a été l’engagement d’un financement supplémentaire de 1 600 000 $.

Cette augmentation du budget permettra au Ministère de doubler le nombre d’employés chargés de répondre aux besoins de traitement des demandes de communication que reçoit le Ministère.

Recommandation n2 précédente

Que l’ordonnance de délégation des pouvoirs soit modifiée afin que le coordonnateur de l’AIPRP jouisse de pouvoirs délégués similaires pour l’application de la Loi sur la protection de la vie privée et pour l’application de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Suites données :

L’ordonnance de délégation des pouvoirs n’a pas encore été modifiée. Le Ministère étudie actuellement une nouvelle ordonnance de délégation.

6. QUESTIONNAIRE ET RAPPORT STATISTIQUE ▲HAUT

Questionnaire aux fins d’analyse statistique à propos des demandes officielles effectuées en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information

Partie A : Demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent.

1er avr. 2004 - 31 mars 2005

1er avr. 2005 - 30 nov. 2005

1.

Nombre de demandes reportées :

355

273

2.

Demandes reportées du dernier exercice — en présomption de refus le premier jour du nouvel exercice :

112

102

Partie B : Nouvelles demandes — Demandes de la Partie A exclues.

1er avr. 2004 - 31 mars 2005

1er avr. 2005 - 30 nov. 2005

3.

Nombre de demandes reçues durant l’exercice :

1363

1164

4.A

Combien de demandes ont été traitées dans le délai obligatoire de 30 jours?

643

528

4.B

Combien de demandes pour lesquelles on n’a demandé aucune prorogation de délai ont été traitées après le délai de 30 jours?

25

26

4.C

Dans quel délai après l’échéance a-t-on répondu aux demandes pour lesquelles aucune prorogation de délai n’avait été demandée?

 

De 1 à 30 jours :

17

24

 

De 31 à 60 jours :

3

0

 

De 61à 90 jours :

2

1

 

Plus de 91 jours :

3

1

5.

Combien de demandes ont fait l’objet d’une prorogation de délai en vertu de l’article 9?

640

451

6.A

Combien de demandes ont été traitées dans le délai prorogé?

350

158

6.B

À combien de demandes a-t-on répondu après le délai prorogé?

98

42

6.C

Combien de temps après l’expiration du délai prorogé a-t-on mis pour répondre?

 

De 1 à 30 jours :

58

28

 

De 31 à 60 jours :

20

10

 

De 61 à 90 jours :

12

2

 

Plus de 91 jours :

8

2

7.

Au 30 novembre 2004, combien de demandes étaient en présomption de refus?

102