Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Report Cards


Year


Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade

Status report on the 2005 report card

Table of contents

1. Background

2. Compliance History

3. Current Status

4. Further Recommendations

5. Status of 2005 Recommendations

6. Questionnaire and Statistical Report

1. Background

Every department reviewed has been assessed against the following grading standard:

% of Deemed Refusals

Comment

Grade

0-5%

Ideal compliance

A

5-10%

Substantial compliance

B

10-15%

Borderline compliance

C

15-20%

Below standard compliance

D

More than 20%

Red alert

F

This report reviews the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade’s (DFAIT) progress in attaining ideal compliance with the time requirements of the Access to Information Act, since the previous report. In addition, this report contains information on the status of the recommendations made in the Status Report of January 2005.

2. COMPLIANCE HISTORY

In early 1999, the Office of the Information Commissioner issued a Report Card on DFAIT’s compliance with the statutory time requirements of the Access to Information Act. The Report Card contained a number of recommendations on measures that could be taken to reduce the number of requests in a deemed-refusal situation. In the 1999 Report Card, the department received a red alert grade of "F" with a 34.9% request to deemed-refusal ratio for access requests received from April 1 to November 30, 1998.

In December 1999, the review assessed the status of the recommendations made in the Report Card and made further recommendations for measures to reduce the number of requests in a deemed-refusal situation. At that time, the statistics showed that, from April 1 to November 30, 1999, the deemed-refusal ratio for access requests improved to 20.6%.

The progress in reducing the number of requests in a deemed-refusal situation regressed for the reporting period from April 1 to November 30 in 2000-2001, the deemed-refusal ratio having moved back to 29.3%, or a red alert grade of "F" while the full fiscal year to deemed-refusal ratio increased to 31.3%.

The January 2002 report noted that DFAIT had made substantial progress in meeting the time requirements of the Access to Information Act for the period of April 1 to

November 30, 2001. The new request to deemed-refusal ratio improved to 17.7%, a grade of "D". Subsequently, the percentage of requests in a deemed-refusal situation increased to 22% for the fiscal year 2001-2002, which constituted a grade of "F".

The January 2003 report indicated that DFAIT continued to make progress in reducing the number of requests that are answered beyond the time requirements of the Access to Information Act. DFAIT had achieved a grade of "B" with a new request to deemed-refusal ratio of 7.9% for the period of April 1 to November 30, 2002. This grade represented substantial progress by the department, although this figure fell slightly for the full fiscal 2002-2003 to 10.1%, a grade of "C".

In the January 2004 Status Report, it was noted that DFAIT was unable to maintain the "B" grading of the past year, regressing with a new request to deemed-refusal ratio of 17%, for a grade of "D", denoting below standard compliance.

In the 2005 Report Card, the department received a substantial compliance alert grade of

"F" with a 28.8% request to deemed-refusal ratio for requests received from April 1 to November 30, 2004. This was the first year, requests carried over from the previous year, and the number of requests already in a deemed-refusal status on April 1, were taken into consideration.

For fiscal year 2004-2005, DFAIT received a grade of "F", with a 42.0% request to deemed-refusal ratio.

3. Current Status

For this reporting period, requests carried over from the previous year, and the number of requests already in a deemed-refusal status on April 1, were also taken into consideration. As a result, for the reporting period April 1 to November 30, 2005, the department’s request to deemed-refusal ratio was 60.1%, a grade of "F".

The Deputy Minister (USS) addressed the failing grade by stating that this level of performance was unacceptable and that measures would be taken to improve the department’s rating. In fact, they have devoted some $500,000 in new resources and developed a comprehensive Business Plan to bring the department into ideal compliance with response deadlines.

As a result of its persistent problems in respecting deadlines imposed by the Access to information Act, DFAIT conducted a review of the ATIP functions, which was conducted by the Evaluation Division (ZIE) of the Office of the Inspector General. The Business Plan also included an increase of staff by 15 person-years over the next two years, along with a number of initiatives to support the overall ATIP function.

Of special significance was the purchase, in March 2005, of the imaging software ATIPImage, which will give the department the capacity to process records electronically. Its implementation will provide an opportunity to re-engineer the ATIP process for greater efficiency and increase the department’s processing capacity and quality of case management.

Recognizing the need for managers to better understand ATIP legislation and their own responsibilities in the Business Plan, the department will develop a comprehensive ATIP awareness training program for delivery starting in the fall 2006. ATIP awareness training was delivered to new Directors, new Foreign Service Officers and employees through the department’s Security of Information modules. Ad hoc training was also give to sectors/divisions by invitation. Approximately 200 employees attended this training in 2005-06.

4. RECOMMENDATIONS

Because of the factors described in this report, DFAIT was not able to achieve ideal compliance with the time requirements of the Access to Information Act.

Recommendation #1

That DFAIT attain ideal compliance and a grade of "A" by March 31, 2007.

Recommendation #2

That DFAIT address the information management problems with a view to retrieve information more effectively.

The current status of information management at DFAIT is problematic. Information is decentralized, fragmented, and spread over branches at headquarters and missions overseas. Also, this information is mostly held in paper format, which can cause OPIs and the ATIP Office to spend a significant amount of time looking for requested records. In addition, the current situation does not enable the department to demonstrate that it is providing all of the requested records.

The problem is caused by a combination of factors. The department operates mostly in a hard copy environment, with paper documents put in files. At the same time, because of the fact that many of the officers in OPIs are rotational, there is a lack of corporate memory at the division level, making retrieval of information even more difficult.

The decision by the government to separate the department into two departments in December 2003, and the decision of the new government to reintegrate them in

February 2006, have contributed to making the present information management situation even more difficult. Branches and sub-units of the department are identified through the use of symbols which, unfortunately, were subject to massive changes because of the reorganization. As a result, it is often difficult to find out which part of the department a document originates, contributing to delays in processing.

Recommendation #3

That DFAIT’s ATI Office prepare a mandatory training program for all officers and senior managers, including Assistant Deputy Ministers and Deputy Ministers.

The ATI Office is in the position to identify where ATI training is required in the department. Training requirements can be identified from daily interaction with OPIs, dealing with complaints under the Access to Information Act and dealing with briefings on policy and other issues involving the Act. The training requirements should be prioritized to strategically plan where most value will be derived from ATI training. The department Business Plan recognizes the need for managers to better understand ATIP legislation and their own responsibilities and commits to provide comprehensive ATIP awareness training program for delivery starting in the fall 2006.

Recommendation #4

Senior Management oversee the development of an access to information vision that can be communicated to DFAIT employees.

Continued improvement in performance is unlikely without more upper management participation and leadership. The Deputy Minister must take a hands-on role by receiving weekly reports showing the number of requests in a deemed-refusal situation, where the delays are occurring, and what remedial action is being taken or proposed. The Deputy Minister should directly oversee the ATI Improvement Plan under which DFAIT will come into ideal compliance with the time requirements of the Access to Information Act.

Until Senior Management is actively engaged in the measures to identify and improve the factors that lead to requests in a deemed-refusal situation in the department, it will be difficult to come into ideal compliance with the Act’s timelines. Senior Management should understand the nature of the problem and be involved in monitoring the success of the plan to reduce the number of requests in deemed-refusal situation.

5. STATUS OF 2005 RECOMMENDATIONS

The following recommendations were made to support DFAIT’s continuing efforts to process requests within the time requirements of the Access to Information Act:

Previous Recommendation #1

That Senior Management communicate to OPIs that providing records for access requests in a timely manner is a priority of the department.

Action Taken:

Senior Management has made a clear commitment to making compliance with the Access to Information Act a reality within the department. In addition, the department has adopted an aggressive strategy to respond to the existing delay situation. According to the department, this strategy will produce positive results in the short term.

Previous Recommendation #2

That a study is conducted to identify any bottlenecks, duplication and any other deficiencies in the ATI process and that appropriate remedial action is taken.

Action Taken:

A consultant has been retained to conduct a review of the ATI process and a draft report has been produced to the department proposing remedial action to be taken.

Previous Recommendation #3

For the period 2005-2006, all OPIs to receive training regarding their roles and responsibilities with respect to the Access to Information Act

.Action Taken:The department will develop an ATIP awareness training program for delivery starting in the fall 2006. ATIP awareness training was delivered to new Directors, new Foreign Service Officers and employees through the Security of Information modules. Ad hoc training was also given to sectors/divisions by invitation. Approximately 200 employees attended this training in 2005-2006.

Previous Recommendation #4

That DFAIT attain ideal compliance with the time requirements of the Access to Information Act by March 31, 2007.

Action Taken:

Although DFAIT did not attain substantial compliance, the ATIP office undertook a very aggressive strategy to deal with the backlog, while addressing the active requests, all at the same time. By year end, 153 delay complaints against the department were completed or are being processed in accordance with specific commitment dates. In the short term, the ATIP office relied heavily on the assistance of ATIP consultants, while addressing the human resources shortage identified.

The ATIP Division has submitted a Business Plan to Senior Management addressing the various concerns and needs of the division. Senior Management’s support of the Business Plan will go a long way towards achieving acceptable compliance with the Access to Information Act.

6. QUESTIONNAIRE AND STATISTICAL REPORT

Questionnaire for Statistical Analysis Purposes in relation to official requests made under the Access to Information Act

Part A: Requests carried over from the prior fiscal period.

Apr. 1/04 to

Mar. 31/05

Apr. 1/05 to

Nov. 30/05

1.

Number of requests carried over:

108

163

2.

Requests carried over from the prior fiscal — in a deemed refusal situation on the first day of the new fiscal:

46

108

Part B: New Requests — Exclude requests included in Part A.

Apr. 1/04 to

Mar. 31//05

Apr. 1/05 to

Nov. 30/05

3.

Number of requests received during the fiscal period:

402

286

4.A

How many were processed within the 30-day statutory time limit?

249

76

4.B

How many were processed beyond the 30-day statutory time limit where no extension was claimed?

31

74

4.C

How long after the statutory time limit did it take to respond where no extension was claimed?

 

1-30 days:

20

32

 

31-60 days:

5

18

 

61-90 days:

2

7

 

Over 91 days:

4

17

5.

How many were extended pursuant to section 9?

170

27

6.A

How many were processed within the extended time limit?

63

4

6.B

How many exceeded the extended time limit?

29

1

6.C

How long after the expiry of the extended deadline did it take to respond?

 

1-30 days:

13

0

 

31-60 days:

4

1

 

61-90 days:

6

0

 

Over 91 days:

6

0

7.

As of November 30, 2005, how many requests are in a deemed-refusal situation?

87

EXCERPT FROM DEPUTY MINISTER’S RESPONSE TO STATUS REPORT

"As you are aware, the Department has been advised informally that it can expect to receive an "F grade" for its performance during the 2005-2006 fiscal year. That being said, you are also aware of the steps which have been undertaken, beginning with a third-party review of the ATIP function followed by the development of a comprehensive business plan, to put the Department on track to meet its goal of reaching an "A grade" for the 2007-08 fiscal year.

…The implementation of the business plan has seen the allocation of an additional fifteen FTE’s to the ATIP Division and the purchase of ATIPImage software for a total cost of nearly $500,000.

…In the coming year we will be working to regularize the status of the fifteen new FTE’s by staffing these positions with indeterminate employees rather than consultants. Training and improved physical work conditions will be provided to these new employees, as well as to current employees, in order to enhance our ability to attract and retain ATIP analysts. We will also be instituting new and more sophisticated tracking systems to ensure that the need for extensions and consultations with other government departments and agencies is determined early in the process following the receipt of an ATIP request. Senior management in the Department is being provided with regular statistical reports on performance, including a clear identification of areas where short-comings are occurring."

Date modified:

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiches de rendement


Année


Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international

Rapport d’étape sur les demandes de communication en présomption de refus

1. Contexte

2. Historique en matière de respect

3. Situation actuelle

4. Recommendations

5. État de l'application des recommendations de 2005

6. Questionnaire et rapport statistique


1. CONTEXTE ▲HAUT

Tous les ministères examinés ont été évalués en fonction de la norme de notation suivante :

% de présomptions de refus

Commentaires

Note

0-5 %

Conformité idéale

A

5-10 %

Conformité substantielle

B

10-15 %

Conformité à la limite

C

15-20 %

Conformité inférieure à la norme

D

Plus de 20 %

Alerte rouge

F

Le présent rapport fait état des progrès réalisés par le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (MAECI) pour ce qui est d’atteindre un niveau de conformité idéale en matière de respect des délais prévus par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information depuis le rapport précédent. De plus, il contient de l’information sur l’état de la mise en œuvre des recommandations qui ont été faites dans le rapport d’étape de janvier 2005.

2. HISTORIQUE EN MATIÈRE DE RESPECT ▲HAUT

Au début de 1999, le Commissariat à l’information du Canada a publié une fiche de rendement sur le respect par le MAECI des délais visés par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Cette fiche de rendement contenait un certain nombre de recommandations à propos des mesures qui pourraient être prises pour réduire le nombre de demandes qui sont en présomption de refus. La fiche de rendement de 1999 avait attribué au Ministère la note « F » (alerte rouge), en raison d’un rapport de 34,9 % entre les présomptions de refus et les demandes de communication reçues du 1er avril au 30 novembre 1998.

En décembre 1999, l’examen portait sur l’état de la mise en œuvre des recommandations formulées dans la fiche de rendement et d’autres recommandations ont été faites afin de réduire le nombre de demandes qui font l’objet d’une présomption de refus. À l’époque, les statistiques révélaient que du 1er avril au 30 novembre 1999, le rapport entre les présomptions de refus et les demandes de communication s’était amélioré, passant à 20,6 %.

Pour la période visée par le rapport, en 2000-2001, les progrès réalisés pour réduire le nombre de demandes en présomption de refus ont subi un recul; le rapport entre les présomptions de refus et les demandes reçues a en effet augmenté à 29,3 %, soit la note « F » (alerte rouge), et à 31,3 % pour l’exercice en entier.

Le rapport de janvier 2002 indiquait que le MAECI avait réalisé des progrès considérables sur le plan des délais visés par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information pour la période du 1er avril au 30 novembre 2001. Le nouveau rapport entre les demandes et les présomptions de refus était alors passé à 17,7 %, ce qui correspond à la note « D ». Par la suite, le pourcentage de demandes faisant l’objet d’une présomption de refus a augmenté pour passer à 22 % pour l’exercice 2001-2002, ce qui a valu au Ministère une autre note « F ».

Le rapport de janvier 2003 indiquait que le MAECI avait continué de réaliser des progrès en ce qui concerne la réduction du nombre de demandes traitées hors des délais visés par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Le MAECI avait obtenu la note « B », le rapport entre les présomptions de refus et les nouvelles demandes s’établissant à 7,9 % pour la période du 1er avril au 30 novembre 2002. En obtenant cette note, le Ministère a réalisé des progrès considérables même si le rapport avait légèrement augmenté pour tout l’exercice 2002-2003, passant à 10,1 %, ce qui correspond à la note « C ».

Dans le rapport d’étape de janvier 2004, on indiquait que le MAECI était incapable de conserver la note « B » obtenue l’année précédente, enregistrant un recul avec un nouveau rapport de 17 % entre les présomptions de refus et les nouvelles demandes. Cela équivaut à la note « D », dénotant un rendement inférieur à la norme.

La fiche de rendement de 2005 a attribué au Ministère la note « F » (alerte rouge), en raison d’un rapport de 28,8 % entre les présomptions de refus et les demandes de communication reçues du 1er avril au 30 novembre 2004. C’était la première année où les demandes de l’année précédente qui avaient été reportées et le nombre de demandes déjà en présomption de refus au 1er avril ont été prises en considération.

Pour l’exercice 2004-2005, le MAECI a obtenu la note « F », en raison d’un rapport de 42,0 % entre les présomptions de refus et les demandes.

3. SITUATION ACTUELLE

▲HAUT

Pour la période de référence, les demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent ainsi que le nombre de demandes déjà en présomption de refus le 1er avril ont été prises en considération. Par conséquent, en ce qui concerne la période du 1er avril au 30 novembre 2005, le rapport entre les demandes et les présomptions de refus au Ministère s’élevait à 60,1 % et correspond à la note « F ».

Le sous-ministre des Affaires étrangères (USS) a déclaré, en réaction à la mauvaise note, que ce rendement était inacceptable et que des mesures seraient prises pour améliorer la notation du Ministère. En fait, le MAECI a consacré quelque 500 000 $ à de nouvelles ressources et a élaboré un plan d’activités complet pour atteindre un niveau de conformité idéale en ce qui concerne les délais de réponse.

Compte tenu de ses problèmes persistants pour ce qui est du respect des délais imposés par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, le MAECI a procédé à un examen des fonctions relatives à l’Accès à l’information et protection des renseignements personnels (AIPRP), qui a été mené par la Direction de l’évaluation (ZIE) du Bureau de l’inspecteur général. Le plan d’activités englobait également l’accroissement du personnel de 15 postes au cours des deux prochaines années, de même qu’un certain nombre d’initiatives pour appuyer la fonction globale relative à l’AIPRP.

L’achat de l’imagiciel ATIPimage, en mars 2005, a été particulièrement important. Grâce à ce logiciel, le Ministère pourra traiter électroniquement des dossiers. Sa mise en œuvre donnera une occasion de restructurer le processus relatif à l’AIPRP pour accroître l’efficacité ainsi que la capacité de traitement et la qualité concernant la gestion de cas du Ministère.

Dans la mesure où il reconnaît que les gestionnaires doivent mieux comprendre la législation se rapportant à l’AIPRP et leurs propres responsabilités dans le cadre du plan d’activités, le Ministère élaborera un programme complet de formation sur la sensibilisation à l’AIPRP à exécuter à compter de l’automne 2006. De la formation sur la sensibilisation à l’AIPRP a été donnée aux nouveaux directeurs, ainsi qu’aux nouveaux agents et employés du service extérieur, par le biais des modules du Ministère sur la sécurité de l’information. Des secteurs et des directions ont également reçu de la formation adéquate sur invitation. Environ 200 employés ont suivi cette formation en 2005-2006.

4. RECOMMANDATIONS ▲HAUT

En raison des facteurs exposés dans ce rapport, le MAECI n’a pas réussi à atteindre un niveau de conformité idéale aux délais prévus par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Recommandation no 1

Le MAECI devrait atteindre un niveau de conformité idéale et obtenir la note « A » d’ici le 31 mars 2007.

Recommandation no 2

Le MAECI devrait s’employer à résoudre les problèmes de gestion de l’information pour récupérer les renseignements plus efficacement.

À l’heure actuelle, la gestion de l’information est problématique au MAECI. Les renseignements sont décentralisés, fragmentaires et disséminés dans les directions générales à l’administration centrale et dans les missions à l’étranger. En outre, comme ces renseignements sont surtout conservés sur support papier, les bureaux de première responsabilité (BPR) et le Bureau de l’AIPRP peuvent passer beaucoup de temps à chercher les documents demandés. Par ailleurs, la situation actuelle ne permet pas au Ministère de démontrer qu’il fournit tous les dossiers requis.

Le problème est attribuable à une combinaison de facteurs. Le Ministère fonctionne en grande partie dans un environnement de copies papier où les documents papier sont classés dans divers dossiers. En même temps, étant donné qu’un grand nombre d’agents des BPR sont permutés, la mémoire institutionnelle à l’échelon des directions est insuffisante et fait en sorte que les renseignements sont encore plus difficiles à repérer.

La décision du gouvernement, en décembre 2003, de scinder le Ministère en deux ministères distincts, et la décision du nouveau gouvernement, en février 2006, de les refusionner, ont rendu encore plus difficile la situation actuelle en matière de gestion de l’information. Les directions générales et les sous-unités du Ministère sont désignées à l’aide de symboles qui ont malheureusement fait l’objet de changements considérables en raison de la réorganisation. Par conséquent, comme il est souvent ardu de découvrir le secteur du Ministère d’où provient un document, les retards dans le traitement sont accentués.

Recommandation no 3

Le Bureau de l’accès à l’information (AI) du MAECI devrait préparer un programme de formation obligatoire à l’intention de tous les agents et cadres supérieurs, notamment les sous-ministres adjoints et les sous-ministres.

Le Bureau de l’AI est en mesure d’établir les secteurs du Ministère qui ont besoin d’une formation en accès à l’information. Des exigences de formation peuvent être déterminées d’après l’interaction quotidienne avec les bureaux de première responsabilité (BPR) en ce qui concerne le traitement de plaintes déposées en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et des séances d’information sur les politiques et diverses questions se rapportant à la Loi. Les exigences de formation devraient être classées par ordre de priorité pour prévoir de façon stratégique où il serait le plus profitable de donner une formation en AI. Dans son plan d’activités, le Ministère reconnaît que les gestionnaires doivent mieux comprendre la législation concernant l’AIPRP et leurs propres responsabilités et s’engage à présenter un programme complet de formation sur la sensibilisation à l’AIPRP à mettre en œuvre à compter de l’automne 2006.

Recommandation no

 4
La haute direction devrait superviser l’élaboration d’une vision en matière d’accès à l’information qui puisse être communiquée aux employés du MAECI.

Sans la participation et le leadership de la haute direction, le rendement ne peut être amélioré de façon continue. Le sous-ministre doit assumer un rôle concret en recevant des rapports hebdomadaires présentant le nombre de demandes de communication en présomption de refus, les secteurs responsables des retards et les mesures correctives qui sont prises ou proposées. Il devrait directement coordonner le plan d’amélioration en AI qui permettra au MAECI d’atteindre un niveau de conformité idéale en matière de respect des délais prévus par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Tant que la haute direction ne participera pas activement aux mesures pour établir et améliorer les facteurs responsables de demandes en présomption de refus au Ministère, il sera difficile d’atteindre un niveau de conformité idéale pour ce qui est des délais prévus par la Loi. La haute direction devrait comprendre la nature du problème et prendre part au suivi de l’efficacité du plan pour réduire le nombre de demandes de communication en présomption de refus.

5. ÉTAT DE L’APPLICATION DES RECOMMANDATIONS DE 2005 ▲HAUT

Les recommandations ci-dessous ont été faites afin d’appuyer les efforts continus du MAECI pour traiter les demandes de communication en respectant les délais fixés par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information:

Recommandation no 1 précédente

La haute direction devrait faire savoir aux BRP que la prestation de documents en temps opportun pour répondre aux demandes de communication est une priorité du Ministère.

Suites données :

La haute direction s’est clairement engagée à faire en sorte que la conformité avec la Loi sur l’accès à l’information devienne une réalité au Ministère. En outre, le Ministère a adopté une stratégie dynamique pour prendre des mesures à l’égard de la situation de retard existante. Selon le MAECI, cette stratégie produira des résultats positifs à court terme.

Recommandation no 2 précédente

Une étude devrait être menée afin de relever les goulets d’étranglement, le double-emploi et tout autre lacune dans le processus d’accès à l’information et les mesures correctives voulues devraient être prises.

Suites données :

Un consultant a été engagé pour analyser le processus d’accès à l’information et l’ébauche d’un rapport a été rédigée à l’intention du Ministère où des mesures correctives sont proposées.

Recommandation no 3 précédente

Pour la période 2005-2006, tous les bureaux de première responsabilité (BPR) devraient recevoir une formation sur leurs rôles et leurs responsabilités en ce qui concerne la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Suites données :

Le Ministère élaborera un programme de formation sur la sensibilisation à l’AIPRP à mettre en œuvre à compter de l’automne 2006. De la formation sur la sensibilisation à l’AIPRP a été donnée aux nouveaux directeurs, ainsi qu’aux nouveaux agents et employés du service extérieur, par le biais des modules sur la sécurité de l’information. Des secteurs et des directions ont également reçu de la formation adéquate sur invitation. Environ 200 employés ont assisté à cette formation en 2005-2006.

Recommandation no 4 précédente

Le MAECI devrait se fixer pour objectif d’atteindre un niveau de conformité idéale en ce qui concerne le respect des délais prévus par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information d’ici le 31 mars 2007.

Suites données :

Le MAECI n’a pas atteint un niveau de conformité substantielle, mais le Bureau de l’accès à l’information et protection des renseignements personnels (AIPRP) a déployé une stratégie très dynamique pour traiter l’arriéré des demandes et répondre aux demandes actives en même temps. Avant la fin de l’exercice, 153 plaintes de retard contre le Ministère ont été complétées ou sont traitées conformément aux dates d’engagement précises. À court terme, le Bureau de l’AIPRP a beaucoup compté sur l’aide de consultants en AIPRP, tout en tenant compte de la pénurie de ressources humaines constatée.

La Direction de l’AIPRP a soumis un plan d’activités à la haute direction où des préoccupations et des besoins divers de la Direction sont abordés. L’appui de la haute direction à l’égard du plan d’activités permettra en grande partie d’atteindre un niveau de conformité acceptable à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

6. QUESTIONNAIRE ET RAPPORT STATISTIQUE ▲HAUT

Questionnaire aux fins d’analyse statistique à propos des demandes officielles effectuées en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information

Demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent.

1er avr. 2004 - 31 mars 2005

1er avr. 2005 - 30 nov. 2005

1.

Nombre de demandes reportées :

108

163

2.

Demandes reportées du dernier exercice — en présomption de refus le premier jour du nouvel exercice :

46

108

Part B: Nouvelles demandes — Demandes de la Partie A exclues.

1er avr. 2004 – 31 mars 2005

1er avr. 2005 – 30 nov. 2005

3.

Nombre de demandes reçues durant l’exercice :

402

286

4.A

Combien de demandes ont été traitées dans le délai obligatoire de 30 jours?

249

76

4.B

Combien de demandes pour lesquelles on n’a demandé aucune prorogation de délai ont été traitées après le délai de 30 jours?

31

74

4.C

Dans quel délai après l’échéance a-t-on répondu aux demandes pour lesquelles aucune prorogation de délai n’avait été demandée?

 

De 1 à 30 jours :

20

32

 

De 31 à 60 jours :

5

18

 

De 61à 90 jours :

2

7

 

Plus de 91 jours :

4

17

5.

Combien de demandes ont fait l’objet d’une prorogation de délai en vertu de l’article 9?

170

27

6.A

Combien de demandes ont été traitées dans le délai prorogé?

63

4

6.B

À combien de demandes a-t-on répondu après le délai prorogé?

29

1

6.C

Combien de temps après l’expiration du délai prorogé a-t-on mis pour répondre?

 

De 1 à 30 jours :

13

0

 

De 31 à 60 jours :

4

1

 

De 61 à 90 jours :

6

0

 

Plus de 91 jours :

6

0

7.

Au 30 novembre 2004, combien de demandes étaient en présomption de refus?

87