Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Report Cards


Year


Citizenship and Immigration Canada

Status report on the 2005 report card

Table of contents

1. Background

2. Compliance History

3. Current Status

4. Further Recommendations

5. Status of 2005 Recommendations

6. Questionnaire and Statistical Report

1. Background

Every department reviewed has been assessed against the following grading standard:

% of Deemed Refusals

Comment

Grade

0-5%

Ideal compliance

A

5-10%

Substantial compliance

B

10-15%

Borderline compliance

C

15-20%

Below standard compliance

D

More than 20%

Red alert

F

 

This report reviews Citizenship and Immigration Canada’s (CIC) progress to attain ideal compliance with the time requirements of the Access to Information Act, since the previous report. In addition, this report contains information on the status of the recommendations made in the Status Report of January 2005.

2. COMPLIANCE HISTORY

In early 1999, the Office of the Information Commissioner issued a Report Card on the department’s compliance with the statutory time requirements of the Access to Information Act. In the 1999 Report Card, the department received a red alert grade of "F" with a 48.9% request to deemed-refusal ratio.

In January 2000, the Office of the Information Commissioner reviewed the status of the recommendations made in the Report Card and made further recommendations for measures to reduce the number of access requests in a deemed-refusal situation. From April 1 to November 30, 1999, the deemed-refusal ratio for access requests improved to 23.4%, still a grade of "F".

In January 2001, the Commissioner’s Office review reported that the department had set an objective in 2000-2001 of completing 70% of access requests within the timelines of the Act. The view of the Office of the Information Commissioner was that the objective fell short of what was needed to comply with the time requirements of the Act. The actual performance of the department for 2000-2001 was a 19.6% new request to deemed-refusal ratio resulting in a grade of "D", denoting a below standard performance.

In January 2002, the Commissioner’s Office issued another Status Report and recommendations. For the period of April 1 to November 30, 2001, the new request to deemed-refusal ratio was reduced to 13%, denoting a grade of "C". The momentum was sustained for the full fiscal year of 2001-2002, achieving a grade of "C" with a new request to deemed-refusal ratio of 12%.

The January 2003 review reported that CIC had joined a select group of departments who have achieved a grade of "A" that denoted ideal compliance with the statutory time requirements of the Access to Information Act. For the period from April 1 to

November 30, 2002, the new request to deemed-refusal ratio was 3.8%, with the ratio slipping only marginally to 4.9% for the full fiscal year, still a grade of "A". This constituted a significant achievement by CIC departmental staff and management in dealing with the access request process. The department was highly commended for its efforts and encouraged to maintain this performance.

In the Status Report of 2004, it was reported that, although CIC had made steady progress in reducing the number of access requests in a deemed- refusal situation, the department slipped considerably in its performance for the period April 1 to November 30, 2003. CIC’s deemed refusal to requests received ratio was 15.4% for a grade of "D", reflecting below standard performance.

In the 2005 Report Card, the department received a substantial compliance grade of "C" with a 13.8% request to deemed-refusal ratio for requests received from April 1 to November 30, 2004. This was the first year that requests carried over from the previous year, and the number of requests already in a deemed-refusal status on April 1, were taken into consideration.

 

For fiscal year 2004-2005, CIC received a grade of " F ", with a 20.2% request to deemed-refusal ratio.

3. Current Status

For this reporting period, requests carried over from the previous year, and the number of requests already in a deemed-refusal status on April 1, were also taken into consideration. As a result, for the reporting period April 1 to November 30 2005, the department’s request to deemed-refusal ratio was 15.3%, a grade of "D".

During the reporting period, CIC received 6,811 requests. This is 774 more than the previous year. Also, complexity and sensitivity of the requests were factors in the time taken to process requests.

CIC started the year with 1,732 pending access requests with 579 or 33% in a deemed-refusal situation. Many of the pending requests belonged to one requester. The inventory of requests from that requester has now been eliminated.

With 9,034 new access requests received in fiscal year 2004-2005 and 6,811 new access requests received in the first nine months of 2005-2006, a trend of a continuing backlog of access requests in a deemed-refusal situation at the start of the year represents a burden to the ATIP Division. This backlog constitutes a serious problem that must be dealt with to comply with the time requirements of the Access to Information Act.

The actual grade of CIC is deceiving considering that CIC undertook the following initiatives last year to gain efficiencies and/or improve client service under the Accessto Information Act:

  • Development of an internet site to assist the public obtain forms and information about ATIP at CIC;
    • Creation of an internal website to assist CIC employees in the processing of ATIP requests;
    • Changes to the delegation of authority to gain efficiencies and reduce bottlenecks in the Public Rights Administration Division (PRAD);
    • Distribution of promotional messages, workshops, training courses and awareness sessions to increase the awareness and understanding of ATIP across the department. PRAD delivered seven training sessions in the regions and at National Headquarters. Two branch-specific information sessions were also given. In addition, PRAD presented the basics of ATIP at all "Welcome to CIC" courses given by the department;
    • Changes to processes and procedures to gain efficiencies in processing (particularly with respect to the use of technology);
    • Development of a partnership with Information Management Branch to increase awareness of information management across the department and its relation to ATIP;
  • The Public Rights Administration Division (PRAD) has finalized an ATIP Coordinator’s manual to assist NHQ and regional coordinators in the exercise of their function. A list of responsibilities for NHQ ATIP coordinators was also created, distributed, and posted on PRAD’s intranet site. Information and Q&As are being regularly circulated to ATIP coordinators and posted on PRAD’s intranet site;
    • A comprehensive review of ATIP processes across the department, of resourcing, and the organizational structure of PRAD was completed. As a result of this review, changes to the processes have been undertaken;
    • An action plan was developed and approved in 2005.

     

    4. RECOMMENDATIONS

    Because of the factors described in this report, CIC was not able to achieve ideal compliance with the time requirements of the Access to Information Act.

    Recommendation #1

    That CIC attain ideal compliance and a grade of "A" by March 31, 2007.

    Additional resources will permit CIC to eliminate backlog. Further, to improve the efficiency of the ATIP processing, CIC has undertaken an extensive revision of business practices which is being reflected in new, formalized ATIP procedures.

    5. STATUS OF 2005 RECOMMENDATIONS

    The following recommendations were made to support CIC’s continuing efforts to process requests within the time requirements of the Access to Information Act:

    Previous Recommendation #1

    CIC commit to attaining substantial compliance with the time requirements of the Access to Information Act for 2005-2006.

    Action Taken:

    CIC continues to make adjustments to processes and to analyze the situation with a view to improving its compliance rate. Overtime continues to be used to meet deadline pressures. The turnover of employees and the temporary nature of the opportunities offered in PRAD was a source of concern that has been addressed this year, through the provision of more permanent funding.

    Previous Recommendation #2

    The ATIP Division prepare and present a business plan to Senior Management in order to obtain the resources needed to eventually attain ideal compliance with the time requirements of the Access to Information Act.

    Action Taken:

    PRAD’s Director made a presentation on ATIP issues to the Executive Committee in February 2005. As a result of this, permanent resources were obtained to staff 40 positions permanently (up from 21).

    Previous Recommendation #3

    The ATIP Division’s processing manual be placed on CIC’s Intranet site during the fiscal year 2005-2006.

    Action Taken:

    The Coordinator’s processing manual has been completed and posted in the intranet site.

    6

    . QUESTIONNAIRE AND STATISTICAL REPORT

    Questionnaire for Statistical Analysis Purposes in relation to official requests made under the Access to Information Act

    Part A: Requests carried over from the prior fiscal period.

    Apr. 1/04 to

    Mar. 31/05

    Apr. 1/05 to

    Nov. 30/05

    1.

    Number of requests carried over:

    1350

    1732

    2.

    Requests carried over from the prior fiscal — in a deemed refusal situation on the first day of the new fiscal:

    286

    579

    Part B: New Requests — Exclude requests included in Part A.

    Apr. 1/04 to

    Mar. 31//05

    Apr. 1/05 to

    Nov. 30/05

    3.

    Number of requests received during the fiscal period:

    9034

    6811

    4.A

    How many were processedwithin the 30-day statutory time limit?

    5596

    5156

    4.B

    How many were processed beyond the 30-day statutory time limit where no extension was claimed?

    1004

    461

    4.C

    How long after the statutory time limit did it take to respond where no extension was claimed?

     

    1-30 days:

    832

    289

     

    31-60 days:

    104

    98

     

    61-90 days:

    22

    30

     

    Over 91 days:

    46

    44

    5.

    How many were extended pursuant to section 9?

    1341

    628

    6.A

    How many were processedwithin the extended time limit?

    807

    389

    6.B

    How many exceeded the extended time limit?

    233

    61

    6.C

    How long after the expiry of the extended deadline did it take to respond?

     

    1-30 days:

    118

    33

     

    31-60 days:

    56

    16

     

    61-90 days:

    14

    5

     

    Over 91 days:

    45

    7

    7.

    As of November 30, 2005, how many requests are in a deemed-refusal situation?

    203

    Date modified:

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiches de rendement


Année


Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada

Rapport d’étape sur les demandes de communication en présomption de refus

1. Contexte

2. Historique en matière de respect

3. Situation actuelle

4. Recommendations

5. État de l'application des recommendations de 2005

6. Questionnaire et rapport statistique


1. CONTEXTE ▲HAUT

Tous les ministères examinés ont été évalués en fonction de la norme de notation suivante :

% de présomptions de refus

Commentaires

Note

0-5 %

Conformité idéale

A

5-10 %

Conformité substantielle

B

10-15 %

Conformité à la limite

C

15-20 %

Conformité inférieure à la norme

D

Plus de 20 %

Alerte rouge

F

Le présent rapport fait état des progrès réalisés par Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada (CIC) quand il s’agit d’atteindre une conformité idéale aux délais prévus dans la Loi sur l’accès à l’information depuis le rapport précédent. Il contient également des renseignements sur l’état de la mise en œuvre des recommandations faites dans le rapport d’étape de janvier 2005.

2. HISTORIQUE EN MATIÈRE DE RESPECT ▲HAUT

Au début de 1999, le Commissariat à l’information du Canada a publié une fiche de rendement sur la conformité du ministère aux délais réglementaires visés dans la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Dans cette fiche de rendement, le ministère avait reçu la note « F » (alerte rouge), le rapport entre les présomptions de refus et les nouvelles demandes s’élevant à 48,9 %.

En janvier 2000, le Commissariat a examiné l’état de la mise en oeuvre des recommandations formulées dans la fiche de rendement et a fait d’autres recommandations visant la réduction du nombre de demandes de communication en présomption de refus. Du 1er avril au 30 novembre 1999, le rapport entre les présomptions de refus et les demandes de communication s’est amélioré, passant à 23,4 %, mais représentait toujours la note « F ».

En janvier 2001, le Commissariat à l’information a signalé que le ministère s’était fixé pour objectif en 2000-2001 de répondre à 70 % des demandes de communication dans les délais prévus par la Loi. De l’avis du Commissariat à l’information, cet objectif était inférieur aux exigences de la Loi. En 2000-2001, le rapport réel du ministère entre les présomptions de refus et les nouvelles demandes s’élevait à 19,6 %, ce qui correspond à la note « D » (rendement « inférieur à la norme »).

En janvier 2002, le Commissariat a publié une autre fiche de rendement et d’autres recommandations. Pour la période du 1er avril au 30 novembre 2001, le rapport entre les présomptions de refus et les nouvelles demandes a diminué, passant à 13 %, soit la note « C ». Le ministère a maintenu ce rythme de croisière pendant tout l’exercice 2001-2002, obtenant la note « C » pour un rapport de 12 % entre les présomptions de refus et les nouvelles demandes.

L’examen de janvier 2003 a révélé que Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada (CIC) avait joint le groupe sélect des ministères qui ont atteint la note « A », soit une conformité idéale aux délais prévus dans la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Pour la période du 1er avril au 30 novembre 2002, en effet, le rapport entre les présomptions de refus et les nouvelles demandes s’élevait à 3,8 %, pour cependant monter légèrement à 4,9 % pour l’exercice au complet, ce qui correspond toujours à la note « A ». Voilà qui représente une réalisation remarquable pour les employés et les cadres de CIC ayant pris part au traitement des demandes de communication. Le ministère a été vivement félicité pour ses efforts et encouragé à maintenir son rendement.

Dans le rapport d’étape 2004, on révèle que même si CIC a réalisé des progrès constants dans la réduction du nombre de demandes de communication en présomption de refus, le rendement du ministère a diminué considérablement pour la période du 1er avril au 30 novembre 2003. En effet, le rapport entre les présomption de refus et les nouvelles demandes à CIC s’établissait alors à 15,4 % (note « D »), ce qui dénote un rendement inférieur à la norme.

La fiche de rendement de 2005 accordait au ministère une conformité à la limite, soit la note « C », en raison d’un rapport de 13,8 % entre les présomptions de refus et les nouvelles demandes reçues du 1er avril au 30 novembre 2004. C’était la première fois que les demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent, ainsi que le nombre de demandes déjà en présomption de refus au 1er avril, étaient prises en considération.

Pour l’exercice 2004-2005, CIC a reçu la note « F », le rapport entre les présomptions de refus et les nouvelles demandes s’élevant à 20,2 %.

3. SITUATION ACTUELLE

▲HAUT

Pour la période visée par le présent rapport, les demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent, ainsi que le nombre de demandes déjà en présomption de refus au 1er avril, ont été prises en considération. Par conséquent, pour la période visée du 1er avril au 30 novembre 2005, le ministère avait un rapport de 15,3 % (note « D ») entre les présomptions de refus et les nouvelles demandes.

Au cours de cette période, CIC a reçu 6811 demandes, soit 774 de plus que l’année précédente. De plus, la complexité des demandes a influé sur la durée de leur traitement.

Au début de l’année, CIC comptait 1732 demandes de communication en suspens, dont 579 (33 %) étaient en présomption de refus. Plusieurs des demandes en suspens provenaient d’un seul requérant. L’inventaire des demandes de ce requérant a maintenant été éliminé.

Les 9034 nouvelles demandes de communication reçues au cours de l’exercice 2004-2005 et les 6811 nouvelles demandes reçues au cours des neuf premiers mois de 2005-2006 font état de la tendance à l’accumulation continuelle d’arriérés de demandes de communication en présomption de refus en début d’exercice, qui constitue un fardeau pour la Division de l’AIPRP. Cet arriéré est un problème grave qui doit être réglé afin que les délais prévus dans la Loi sur l’accès à l’information soient respectés.

La note actuelle de CIC est trompeuse puisque le ministère a entrepris les mesures suivantes l’an dernier dans le but d’être plus efficace et d’améliorer le service à la clientèle en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information :

  • Création d’un site Internet afin d’aider le public à obtenir des formulaires et des renseignements sur l’AIPRP à CIC;
    • Création d’un site Web interne afin d’aider les employés de CIC à traiter les demandes d’AIPRP;
    • Modifications apportées à la délégation de pouvoirs afin d’accroître l’efficacité et de réduire les goulots d’étranglement à la Division de l’administration des droits du public (DADP);
    • Distribution de messages promotionnels, présentation d’ateliers, de cours de formation et de séances de sensibilisation dans le but d’accroître la compréhension de l’AIPRP dans l’ensemble du ministère. La DADP a donné sept séances de formation dans les régions et à l’administration centrale. Deux séances d’information adaptées à des bureaux ont aussi été offertes. La DADP a également présenté les principes essentiels de l’AIPRP dans le cadre de tous les cours « Bienvenue à CIC » donnés par le ministère;
    • Modifications apportées aux processus et aux procédures afin d’être plus efficace dans le traitement (surtout en ce qui a trait à l’utilisation des technologies);
    • Établissement d’un partenariat avec la Direction générale de la gestion de l’information afin d’accroître la sensibilisation à la gestion de l’information dans l’ensemble du ministère et sa relation avec l’AIPRP;
  • La Division de l’administration des droits du public (DADP) a achevé un manuel du coordonnateur de l’AIPRP pour aider l’administration centrale et les coordonnateurs régionaux dans l’exercice de leurs fonctions. Une liste des responsabilités pour les coordonnateurs de l’AIPRP à l’administration centrale a aussi été créée, distribuée et affichée sur le site intranet de la DADP. L’information et les Q et R sont régulièrement communiqués aux coordonnateurs de l’AIPRP et affichés sur le site intranet de la DADP;
    • Une revue complète des processus d’AIPRP dans l’ensemble du ministère, du renouvellement des ressources et de la structure organisationnelle de la DADP a été faite. On a par la suite entrepris d’apporter des modifications aux processus;
    • Un plan d’action a été élaboré et approuvé en 2005.

    4. RECOMMANDATIONS ▲HAUT

    En raison des facteurs décrits dans le présent rapport, CIC n’a pas pu atteindre une conformité idéale aux délais prévus dans la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

    Recommandation no 1

    CIC devrait atteindre une conformité idéale et la note « A » d’ici le 31 mars 2007.

    Des ressources supplémentaires permettront à CIC d’éliminer l’arriéré de travail. En outre, pour augmenter l’efficacité du traitement de l’AIPRP, CIC a entrepris une révision approfondie des pratiques qui se reflète dans de nouvelles procédures d’AIPRP officialisées.

    5. ÉTAT DE L’APPLICATION DES RECOMMANDATIONS DE 2005 ▲HAUT

    Les recommandations suivantes ont été faites à l’appui des efforts constamment déployés par CIC pour traiter les demandes de communication dans les délais prévus dans la Loi sur l’accès à l’information :

    Recommandation no 1 précédente

    CIC devrait s’engager à atteindre une bonne conformité aux délais prévus dans la Loi sur l’accès à l’information en 2005-2006.

    Suites données :

    CIC continue d’ajuster ses processus et d’analyser la situation dans le but d’améliorer son taux de conformité. On continue de faire des heures supplémentaires afin de respecter les délais. Le roulement des employés et la nature temporaire des possibilités offertes par la DADP ont été une source de préoccupation. Cette année, l’établissement d’un financement plus permanent a été une façon de régler ces problèmes.

    Recommandation no 2 précédente

    La Division de l’AIPRP devrait préparer et présenter à la haute direction un plan d’activités afin d’obtenir les ressources nécessaires pour atteindre une conformité idéale aux délais prévus dans la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

    Suites données : Le directeur de la DADP a fait une présentation sur l’AIPRP devant le Comité exécutif en février 2005. Il en a résulté l’octroi de ressources permanentes pour doter 40 postes (en augmentation par rapport aux 21 existants).

    Recommandation no 3 précédente

    Le manuel de traitement des demandes de la Division de l’AIPRP devrait être affiché sur le site intranet de CIC pendant l’exercice 2005-2006.

    Suites données :

    Le manuel de traitement des demandes du coordonnateur a été achevé et mis sur le site intranet.


    6. QUESTIONNAIRE ET RAPPORT STATISTIQUE▲HAUT

    Questionnaire aux fins d’analyse statistique à propos des demandes officielles effectuées en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information

    Demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent.

    1er avr. 2004 -  31 mars 2005

    1er avr. 2005 - 30 nov. 2005

    1.

    Nombre de demandes reportées :

    1350

    1732

    2.

    Demandes reportées du dernier exercice — en présomption de refus le premier jour du nouvel exercice :

    286

    579

    Part B: Nouvelles demandes — Demandes de la Partie A exclues.

    1er avr. 2004 – 31 mars 2005

    1er avr. 2005 – 30 nov. 2005

    3.

    Nombre de demandes reçues durant l’exercice :

    9034

    6811

    4.A

    Combien de demandes ont été traitées dans le délai obligatoire de 30 jours?

    5596

    5156

    4.B

    Combien de demandes pour lesquelles on n’a demandé aucune prorogation de délai ont été traitées après le délai de 30 jours?

    1004

    461

    4.C

    Dans quel délai après l’échéance a-t-on répondu aux demandes pour lesquelles aucune prorogation de délai n’avait été demandée?

     

    De 1 à 30 jours :

    832

    289

     

    De 31 à 60 jours :

    104

    98

     

    De 61à 90 jours :

    22

    30

     

    Plus de 91 jours :

    46

    44

    5.

    Combien de demandes ont fait l’objet d’une prorogation de délai en vertu de l’article 9?

    1341

    628

    6.A

    Combien de demandes ont été traitées dans le délai prorogé?

    807

    389

    6.B

    À combien de demandes a-t-on répondu après le délai prorogé?

    233

    61

    6.C

    Combien de temps après l’expiration du délai prorogé a-t-on mis pour répondre?

     

    De 1 à 30 jours :

    118

    33

     

    De 31 à 60 jours :

    56

    16

     

    De 61 à 90 jours :

    14

    5

     

    Plus de 91 jours :

    45

    7

    7.

    Au 30 novembre 2004, combien de demandes étaient en présomption de refus?

    203